Star Trek: Voyager

"Blood Fever"

***

Air date: 2/5/1997
Written by Lisa Klink
Directed by Andrew Robinson

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Did you know that fracturing a clavicle on the wedding night is actually considered a blessing on the marriage?"
"As a matter of fact, I didn't."

— Doc and Janeway, on Klingon mating rituals

Nutshell: Par for course. Pretty superficial, particularly near the end, but a fairly diverting hour.

When Ensign Vorik finds himself at the mercy of his first Pon Farr cycle, the Vulcan mating instinct, he announces to Torres his desire to take her as his mate. She refuses, at which point he briefly attempts to force a mental bond between them—before Torres slugs some sense back into him. Because of the failed bond, Torres soon finds herself with the same chemical imbalance Vorik has, and must fight her own sexual urges. Intertwined with this situation is a subplot within the caves of a vacant M-class planet containing a valuable mineral which Torres, Paris, and Neelix beam down to retrieve.

"Blood Fever" is basically "Amok Time" in the Delta Quadrant, where a Vulcan does not have the luxury to return home to take a spouse. This is not an extremely deep episode of Voyager, but it is effective on its own terms. The best single-word recap for this episode may be "entertaining." Then again, words like "shallow" and "glib" also come to mind.

The early acts work fairly well, as Doc attempts to help Vorik proceed through the Pon Farr with medical assistance; to which Vorik answers that it's merely a "Vulcan" matter that he has to resolve on his own with meditation. "How well a Vulcan deals with the Pon Farr is a test of his character," Vorik tells the Doctor, refusing to discuss it further. A subsequent discussion with Tuvok gives Doc little further enlightenment.

Much of the early material (for those who are not already familiar with the Pon Farr from TOS's "Amok Time," that is) is background about Vulcan mating cycles (i.e., every seven years an adult male must either (1) take a mate, (2) fight a ritualistic battle of competition, or (3) resolve it with deep meditation—or else the chemical imbalance could kill him). None of this stands out as particularly special, though it is sensibly handled with some occasional bits of effective dialog. One interesting exchange in particular reveals some perspectives:

Doc: "For such an intellectually enlightened race, Vulcans have a remarkably Victorian attitude about sex."
Tuvok: "That is a very human judgment, Doctor."
Doc: "Then here's a Vulcan one: I fail to see the logic in perpetuating ignorance about a basic biological function."
Tuvok: "There is nothing logical about the Pon Farr. It is a time when instinct and emotion dominate over reason."

Doc comes up with an alternative for Vorik, by programming him a holographic "mate," which, as Doc puts it, may be able to help him with the short-term problem. The solution appears to work at first (though I don't quite understand how Vorik would form a telepathic link with a computer program).

As Vorik's situation is analyzed on board the Voyager, Torres begins slowly losing control as the chemical imbalance begins to release her Klingon urges, interfering with the away mission in the caves. Worse comes to worse when it's revealed that the planet isn't truly vacant, but occupied by a race of aliens who are hiding underground. The aliens transport out of the area, taking Chakotay and Tuvok prisoner, leaving Torres and Paris alone, lost in the caves.

The aliens are suspicious of outsiders, ever since they were attacked and conquered more than a half century ago by a powerful group of unknowns, in a swift defeat that left them ruined in less than an hour. Chakotay negotiates a trade with Ishan, their alien captor (Bruce Bohne) after assuring them Voyager isn't a threat.

The remainder of the episode is mostly devoted to the issue of B'Elanna's intense need to appease her case of "blood fever" by using Tom's, well, male presence; which, as one could probably expect, is where the character core of the story lies. Dawson, as usual, delivers a compelling performance, creating a instinct-driven B'Elanna whose mental awareness strives to remain in control over the vehement, irrepressible desires. Tom plays the part of a good guy—making sure B'Elanna doesn't do anything she'll later regret—and him too, given that B'Elanna is someone he's been subtly chasing after for months.

On more than one occasion she throws herself at him (literally), but Tom handles the delicate situation as best possible—pushing her away because it's in the best interests of their friendship. Both Dawson and McNeill are believable in the extreme situation—the former as a distressed, confused person pushed to the limits of sanity and her own endurance and ready to crawl out of her skin; the latter as the calm, cool-headed sense of reason and survival. Amidst the background of some handsomely-produced cave-ins and rock slides, the results are good.

Unfortunately, the conclusion, like many episode conclusions, does not have a payoff that's in sync with the rest of the story. As Torres and Paris are rescued by Chakotay and Tuvok, Torres' time runs out, and the away team loses contact with the ship. Tuvok explains that Paris must "help" Torres now, or she will die as a result of her chemical imbalance. I didn't necessarily have a problem with this—in fact, to see what would've happened as a result of this extreme solution to such an extreme situation could've potentially been interesting (although I don't see how it could've been pulled off without seriously risking the apparent friendship between these two characters).

What does strike me as superficial, however, is Vorik's appearance out of nowhere (apparently Doc's holodeck solution was a failure) to assault Paris and claim Torres as his mate. This leads B'Elanna to face Vorik (in accordance with Vulcan tradition) in a glib fight scene concept that's straight out of "Amok Time"—an idea suited more to the lighter hokiness of TOS's reign. This fight, like much of the show, is entertaining and kind of fun; but as drama goes, it's as transparent as a piece of Plexiglas. The stuntwork is decent, but Chattaway's "action" score could use work. Alexander Enberg's portrayal of Vorik in the closing struggle is annoyingly overacted; Dawson, on the other hand, remains within the realm of credibility.

The fight purges the "blood fever," as upon B'Elanna's, er, KO of Ensign Vorik, Tuvok announces that both will return to normal.

What does "Blood Fever" add up to besides a diverting hour? Not tons, but there is a hint that Torres will look at Paris differently from now on because of what he did for her.

What will be most impacting from this episode, though, comes with Chakotay's discovery of a dead invader in the ruins of Ishan's world—a Borg. (That's right, Voyager crew, there are Borg in the Delta Quadrant to keep you company.) This revelation works because it certainly makes sense that the Borg would be behind an attack like this—and a Borg threat could also potentially re-energize the series. (I'm looking forward to next week's "Unity" in particular.) Still, this revelation would've been much more powerful had it not been shown on last week's trailer. So it goes.

I think that a very low-end "good" seems fair for a rating of "Blood Fever." Glib entertainment is still entertainment.

Previous episode: Coda
Next episode: Unity

◄ Season Index

47 comments on this review

mlk
Sun, Dec 23, 2007, 9:47am (UTC -5)
This show was certainly interesting but a few things seemed so strange. First off, is it me or does Vorik's voice just seem way too constructed, he sounds like a sociopath or something.

Second, hands up guys, who here would refuse to be with a hot woman if she actualy wanted you AND she needed it so she wouldn't die? Noone? Well Tom Paris would. It's just so stupid, any guy, in ANY century would have done B'Elanna right there and then.

Also I agreew with Jammer, the whole ending was stupid and would have felt much more fullfilled without the fight and Stuvok's fight.


And to agree with Jammer,
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Jan 7, 2008, 6:46am (UTC -5)
I think the whole story would have been a LOT more interesting if Tuvok had gone through his Pon Farr-cycle, including his dilemma of being married but far away from his wife - this could have been a terrific episode!
Chris H
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
i agree with mlk i most certainly wud have done b'leanna right there and then, no questions asked! ;)
John Pate
Fri, Dec 25, 2009, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
There had been a hint of Vorik-Torres-Paris in "Alter Ego," if you go back and check.

Entertainment is the point of TV. A good episode, tho the fight was a bit disappointing.

If the fight had been in a larger arena, with a bit more throwing around of bodies, it might have been a little more complete. Neither Dawson nor Enberg particularly looked much like fighters - tho I suppose it's a bit much to expect better than the customary Trek Fu. Otherwise, the acting was fine and the characters all played to type. Dawson turned in a charismatic performance, as usual.

Seems reasonable to me to put in a nod to "Amok Time." There's no pleasing some people.

The aliens managed to be integral to the plot and not simply an excuse for space battle of the week.

They were repairing Voyager and talking about that being an on-going concern. It foreshadowed the Borg plots, Torres-Paris for the future. 3 and half stars I'd say.
navamske
Sat, Aug 14, 2010, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
"It's just so stupid, any guy, in ANY century would have done B'Elanna right there and then."

You are mistaken.
navamske
Sat, Aug 14, 2010, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
I was glad that Jammer touched on this: The notion that a Vulcan could address a pon farr problem with a holodeck character is absurd. Yes, there have been several intimations in various incarnations of Trek that "organics" can have physical relations with holograms, but Vulcans, as I understand it, aren't seeking merely a physical release -- they need to bond with their mates on a telepathic, or at least mental, level. I don't know the limits of holographic programming; perhaps the Doctor did create something more than a simulacrum of a hot Vulcan chick, something that could assuage Vorik's mental or psychic distress as well. This would have been more believable in the later episode in which Tuvok had to resort to "holographic sex therapy"; presumably he could have programmed a holo-T'Pel with some of her characteristics, possibly including some mental ones.
Nic
Thu, Sep 30, 2010, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Fight scene aside, this has always been one of my favorite episodes. Perhaps viewing it without having seen "Amok Time" helped. I thought both Paris and Torres were very true to character, and yes I do believe that he would have been able to resist her, seeing as how giving in could have destroyed any chances of having a serious relationship later on.

What a frustrating trailer, though. It's bad enough they usually five away half the plot, now they actually gave away the ending!
JAcob Teetertotter
Mon, Dec 27, 2010, 8:24am (UTC -5)
i didnt understand the ending. In AMok time it was a fight to the death right? Here a punch and a throw and 1,2,3. its over and we have a new WWF Intercontental Champion
Destructor
Tue, May 31, 2011, 12:42am (UTC -5)
The only thing wrong with the fight scene was that they didn't start playing the Decapodian national anthem on top of it. Yes it would have been ridiculous and over the top, but at least it would have shown committment to the over-the-top ridiculousness the episode had already embarked on. Admit it, if they'd done that, this episode would have totally gone down in history as being totally megarad awesome.
duhknees
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 10:22am (UTC -5)
I wish they had not scrimped on Voyager so much. The off-world sets are claustrophic and reused. The fight scene needed more space, and how do they always manage to beam down to the same cave entrance? But B'elana and Partial I liked, and I wish they'd kept the Enberg character longer.
Sintek
Sun, May 26, 2013, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Yikes, whole lotta rapists here. If you claim you would take advantage of a person in obvious psychological distress, sorry, but you are a sexual predator.
Lt. Yarko
Mon, Jun 17, 2013, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Although I'm not buying the idea of a Vulcan forcing another species into Pon Farr, I really enjoyed Roxann's performance in this.

And, yeah, I wouldn't have sex with a person I knew wanted me due to health problems. I am a bit saddened by some of these posts. I hope many of them are kidding.
Jordy
Tue, Jul 23, 2013, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
So, at the end Torres and Vorik are fighting over whether or not she's going to be his mate. No-one seems to have considered what would have happened if he'd won - would he have got to force himself on her? That was a very questionable thing to include.
Nancy
Sat, Jul 27, 2013, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Good point, Jordy. I also found Tuvok's "You have to help her, Tom" command disturbing. In the same way, would B'elanna have been ordered to "help" Vorik after he basically tried to rape her? Surely not, but that is exactly what Tom was told to do. Yes, he likes her and would enjoy it, but the fact is he did not want to have sex with her and was ordered to. That's messed up.

This was not a well thought-out concept.
Mike P
Sat, Aug 17, 2013, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
"And, yeah, I wouldn't have sex with a person I knew wanted me due to health problems. I am a bit saddened by some of these posts. I hope many of them are kidding."

Sadly, they most likely aren't kidding, these are the same guys who think if a "chic" passes out drunk in your bed, then she obviously wants it.

I've never thought twice about sleeping with any women who's judgment was impaired in any way, no matter how much she "asked for it" and any guy who would has to seriously reevaluate his moral compass.
Chris P
Wed, Jan 29, 2014, 11:53am (UTC -5)
"I've never thought twice about sleeping with any women who's judgment was impaired in any way"

That's not what that conflict was about so I'm a bit curious about yours and the previous posters' intentions and biases in steering the conversation in this direction. It's made very clear that she is suffering from the Pon Farr and the solutions to resolver her issue are clearly defined in the episode.

That you, Nancy, and Jordy seem to view women as vulnerable but also superior to men (Where is your sympathy for the male character who is suffering from the exact same symptoms, only without the fortune of having someone willing to help him alleviate his issue) says something about you. Sure, something bad is happening to her, but if during a journey in which she's had plasma coils explode in her face, various life threatening viruses/parasites/genetic experiments performed on her, you take issue with her needing sex and having a man she likes willing to provide it then I submit that you have major hangups about sexuality.

In the episodes where bad things happen to Torres I haven't seen reviewers get hung up about her well being until it involved her vagina. How strange.




K'Elvis
Fri, Mar 28, 2014, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Pon Farr is not analogous to a woman being passed out. A person who is drunk can't consent to anything, while Torres isn't just consenting, she's demanding it. Lust is a basic motivation to have sex, it would be peculiar at best to say "I can't have sex with you, because you're experiencing lust! Come back when you're not horny." I wonder how many would be objecting if another female member of the crew were to have sex with Vorik.

It's not so clear-cut whether or not Torres is capable of consenting - or demanding - sex. Aphrodisiacs that make people become lusty don't really exist, so this is a situation were we don't have any good real-world analogy. Is Torres condition more like someone who is drunk or someone who is just experiencing lust? Normally, lust is a perfectly understandable reason for someone to consent to sex, but perhaps we have a special case here? I am not saying it is appropriate to have sex with someone under these circumstances, only that it is not analogous to someone passed out.

As far as the fight resolving the Pon Farr, I think that was a misinterpretation. Spock was shocked out of his Pon Farr from the horror at realizing (so he thought) that he had killed Kirk. The Vulcans have probably tried the holodeck solution and found it didn't work, because the holodeck can't provide the telepathic connection. I don't think they considered finding another woman on Voyager who might like to mate with Vorik, perhaps there was someone who had a secret crush on him.
Ric
Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 2:09am (UTC -5)
"I'm a bit curious about yours and the previous posters' intentions and biases in steering the conversation in this direction".

If you read all comments since the first, you will understand that the later comments were addressing the first ones. So, be curious no more.

"(...) you take issue with her needing sex and having a man she likes willing to provide it then I submit that you have major hangups about sexuality"

Sure, IF Paris really knew before that she had previous feelings for him, then maybe your sentence could even begin to make sense. However, he didn't. And he made it quite clear. When Torres told him she had previous interest on him, he was skeptical that she could have been saying these things due to the situation. Now, in this case, under such circunstances (that are NOT the ones in you example), i.e. having any room for doubts, it would be morally sick for him to go on. Sorry, but it would, and slashing commenters on regards of how they deal with their sexuality will not make it less sick.

"In the episodes where bad things happen to Torres I haven't seen reviewers get hung up about her well being until it involved her vagina. How strange."

Let's be intelectually honest, shall we? It is pretty obvious that everyone knew from the start that nothing really bad would happen to Torres. Would we really expect comments here saying "wow, I was almost crying because I really thought that Torres would die today!". Second: as far as I have noticed, many debates on the comments of this website (if not most of them) are about moral issues that were either raised by the episodes on purpose, or have emerged as an externality. So this is just the case. Criticizing people because they do so instead of being concerned about the safety of a character they know will be all right makes no sense at all.

Now, for me personally, of course it is disturbing to hearh Tuvok saying "you have to help her now". Nancy was 100% right in the question "would B'elanna have been ordered to 'help' Vorik after he basically tried to rape her?". Of course not. One could say: oh, but Torres didn't like Vorik before, but Paris did like her. But it is not true. There was no previous indication that the rest of the crew knew Paris was in love with Torres. Oh yes I see, he does not need to have feelings for her, since used to be the jackass so sure he would not mind doing the business. Please, this is just wrong. More than that: there was no indication that the crew would have thought that Torres liked Paris. So you just send a guy she might disgust to go there and "help" her? Ok, I see, it was for her own good.... I am sure a lot of women heard that before throughout history. Sure, not with their lives depending on having sex, but it was, to say the least, a disastrous - even it unintentional - analogy.

Besides that, I found this to be a really good episode. Very well acted, brave enough to touch on moral issues that are not always presente in the episodes. Not to mention fresh enough to deal a bit with how humans and other species deal with sex in the 24th. Also, it managed to be funny sometimes, like in the performance of The Doctor. Oh yes, and finding the Borg in the end was na amazing surprise (I am glad this is the first time I am watching Voyager, so I chose never saw the dumb trailers before watching the episodes).
kapages
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Its just sex. People 3 centuries from now should not have the same ethical issues about the act.
And even if they did, for Volcan reasoning, it is not logical to risk dying for sex morality.

Consider this.
You are willing to consent to Belana and Vorik fighting for pon far,
but not Paris "taking advantage" of poor Belana.
Fight vs sex 1-0. What kind of moral compass is this?

If you are honest about it, Paris actually acted selfishly, not gallantly.
He knew that if he did it, Belana would be off limits, and he also didnt want to compromise his moral self-image "i dont do unconsenting girls".
Coward not hero.

If I were Paris, I would allow belana to have sex with me, but in a not very satisfactory/physical way for her Klingon side. I would lie still and let her do the work.


leaf
Sat, Jul 5, 2014, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Seriously... this episode really creeped me out. Given all the principles of the Federation (and Star Trek as a show), how is it possible that they would have no protocol in place for sexual misconduct on the ship. And even at that if two people end up in sick bay because one made a violent physical sexual advance of another crew member.... how in the world could this go un-noticed, undiscussed, etc.? He forced himself on her. It's great that she happens to be tough and could fight him off but.... hello? How is it that that issue is not addressed?

Not only that, but are holodeck people simply able to be used as prostitutes? There is no discussion of the holodeck woman's consent either.

And yes.... similarly having Tom be expected to consent as such is also insane.

This whole episode was severely disappointing to me. Even if there are different customs among crew members, portraying their sexual needs as things that other crew members should be forced into "helping with" puts across an insane perspective on sex. One that it seems is extremely out of line with all the other principles of Star Trek.
MP
Sat, Jul 26, 2014, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
To "Leaf" above:

The questions/thoughts you mentioned are the result of Voyager (and most of Trek) bringing up questions and situations with little explanation or resolution. With decades of hindsight, this seems to have been more lazy writing than anything else.

For example, all the Trek's which included holographic characters highlight their seemingly-sentience. Yet only Voyager even began to tackle the issue; and only with the Doctor. Yet we see evidence that many random holographic characters are fully aware yet blatantly killed at the simplest command. And that doesn't even begin to talk about the ethical issues of creating sentient, aware "people" with memories and lives for entertainment.

Something that no-one has mentioned yet about the Tom/Belanna issue are the extreme conditions Voyager faces of being far from home with limited supplies and resources. This was played up in the first two seasons, then completely dropped as the show became more episodic and "monster-of-the-week."

Specifically, with what Voyager faces, is it right to hurt the ship's chances of survival by depriving it of all the experience and expertise of its Chief Engineer in order to respect sexual morality in a highly alien situation? At what point does the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the one?

To be fair, Trek has never been one to delve deeply into such dark issues. It is no BSG. And true, its ridiculous that Belanna is so critical and has no second who could take her place easily.

But that's the problem with Trek, especially in the later shows. It raises, intentionally or not, deep and often disturbing questions that are barely if even explored. We're given contrived or techno babble conclusions and told to shut up and forget about what happened.

I don't want to see Star Trek: Supreme Court; but I would have loved to have at least frank discussions about this stuff. Sexual morality, holographic rights for ALL holograms, the limits of human morality in contrast to survival, and more.
MP
Sat, Jul 26, 2014, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Addendum: I meant
"To Leaf AND kapages"
Vylora
Mon, Aug 25, 2014, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
For the most part, this is a very enjoyable outing with some nice performances and another interesting take on the issue of Pon'Farr. I really liked the idea of centering it around Vorik as opposed to Tuvok. Not all major things have to only happen to a character based solely on star billing.

Entertaining with a lot of logical dialogue within the context of the given situation. Vorik being able to cut off communications, transporters, and shuttlebay at the end was a little too easy, though. A better resolution would've had to of been going through with the Paris/Torres scenario. But then we wouldn't have the nicely-choreographed, yet obligatory, fight scene.

Some good stuff here and not really much to complain about. I think I have enjoyed it more than Jammer, though, the star-rating seems about right.

3 stars.
Petrus
Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Just rewatched this; and I think I must have only seen it once before, a long time ago. As people here probably know, usually I will take whatever B'Elanna fanservice I can get, but I actually agree with Leaf on this one. I think I know what they were going for here, but this episode was just plain awkward. The teaser with Vorik forcing himself on B'Elanna was cringe inducing.

As for the rape issue with Tom, I agree with people that that was icky as well. There is one particular scene where she is repeatedly kissing him, which does leave you wondering what you'd do if you were in Tom's shoes, but it's over almost as quickly as it starts, and then that is basically it.

Alexander Enberg's acting was mostly good, and it particularly reminded me of some of the chaotic Vulcan emotionalism we saw at times on *Enterprise.* It was a bit forced and off-key at times, yes; but said times were rare.

I'd probably give this one 2.5 stars, simply due to the ickiness/awkwardness factor.
jk
Thu, Jan 29, 2015, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
The authors cheated: wasn't there supposed to be a fight to the death? Not that Spock actually died in Amok Time. I guess the death thing was some kind of Vulcan scam, like what they say about turning blind.

Also I think someone shold mention how B'Elanna knew exactly that she didn't want the bad ugly Vulcan nobody, as opposed to how she couldn't resist awesome Tom Paris. The discrimination between the two made the consent issue much less relevant for me. She seemed to know what she wanted after all.
Yanks
Thu, Aug 13, 2015, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Interesting responses in this one.

Everything from rape to "you know you would da"

Jesus... it's not a human "urg".

Again, Roxann brings it. Goodness, she nails it every time!!

I have more respect for Tom each episode. You have to admire his discipline here. B'Elanna is sa-mokin hot.

OK, Amok Time question here.... why did B'Elanna have to go off with Tom after she defeated Vorik? When Spock defeated Kirk, he didn't need to mate.

This "Pon-far" episode was done much better than Enterprise's attempt.

I'm at 3 stars right now because of Roxann's performance. I'll wait for an answer before I rate.

Thanks
Robert
Thu, Aug 13, 2015, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Will watch tonight and get back to you tomorrow morning if nobody answers by then.
Robert
Fri, Aug 14, 2015, 9:19am (UTC -5)
@Yanks - She doesn't end up mating with Tom.
Yanks
Sat, Aug 15, 2015, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
I just watched the episode the other night.

They did run off together at the end of the fight?

Yanks
Mon, Aug 17, 2015, 10:00am (UTC -5)
I'll go 3 stars regardless.
Pippy
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
No she did not run off with Tom. They had an awkward conversation in the Turbo lift where she thanked him for what he was willing to do...and that was that.
Yanks
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
OK guys... I'm not nuts...

h ttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eyb-DmhvVGY

They did mate.

So my question still applies.
John
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 4:19am (UTC -5)
"any guy, in ANY century would have done B'Elanna right there and then."

I wouldn't. I am not enthusiastic about physical fighting, severe injury, and blood spillage during sex. If you're into that kinky Klingon shit, I'm not here to judge. But I need a human woman who isn't PMSing.
John
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 4:35am (UTC -5)
"A person who is drunk can't consent to anything"

I strongly disagree. Many women choose to get drunk precisely so they can lower their own inhibitions in order to feel relaxed about having sex guilt free. In their sober state, they may feel guilty due to a lot of puritanical brainwashing, so they purposely try to bypass their own cultural/religious programming with alcohol so they can have a good time. Refusing to have sex with these drunk women is precisely disrespecting their wishes, ironically in the name of respecting their wishes!

To all of you who think that Tom fucking Torres would have been rape: Um, you do know how the Pon Farr is supposed to work, right? It gets you in touch with your most primal animalistic self. During the Pon Farr, you are MORE likely, not less, to sleep with the person you really want to sleep with, and reject all the unattractive people even more ruthlessly than in your every day life. The Pon Farr brings your truest sexual self to the surface where you mate based on the purest and sincerest lusts that you have in your deepest heart.

In other words, sex is even more honest and consensual during the Pon Farr than normally, not less. If the Pon Farr were to simply drive you out of your mind with lust towards people whom you're otherwise not attracted to, than Torres would have fucked Vorik. But she didn't because her purest primal self doesn't want him. She wants Paris.

Rape is when you force yourself on someone who is unwilling. During the Pon Farr, your truest willingness comes out the strongest based on the purest, more primal, and most honest compatibility/chemistry. If Paris would have fucked her, it would have been even further away from rape than any normal consensual act of intercourse.

I still wouldn't do it though because I'm not into Klingon kink. But that's just me.
John
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 4:52am (UTC -5)
Yanks - yes, you are nuts! They didn't mate. The scene you linked to was before Vorik came and stopped them. Then Torres and Vorik fought and she knocked him out, thus inexplicably purging both of their lusts.

Of course, this makes no sense. On TOS, it was established that the fight must be to the death (or at least the one going through the Pon Farr must be convinced that the other person is dead) in order to quench the blood fever. Whereas here, she just knocks him out, which heals both her and him. And yet, it's implied that him knocking her out would not have purged his blood fever without him raping her afterwards. Again, it makes no sense and contradicts TOS.
John
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 4:57am (UTC -5)
"Not only that, but are holodeck people simply able to be used as prostitutes? There is no discussion of the holodeck woman's consent either."

Is this some kind of absurd feminist joke? The holodeck "people" are non-living tricks of light programmed by the computer. They are computer subroutines, nothing more. See Tuvok's speech to Kim in Alter Ego.

The Doctor programmed the Vulcan female to consent. She's not a real person.

The only artificial, self-aware holographic life forms are the Doctor, Moriarty from TNG, and Vic from DS9.
Robert
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 7:55am (UTC -5)
I approve that Paris did not want to do it. But I think he didn't want to do it because it wasn't "earned". He'd rather have gotten to a place with her where all the parts of her (primal and otherwise) wanted him. He certainly would have been willing to do it to save her (and it wouldn't be rape), but it's not how he wanted it to go down.
Robert
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 8:01am (UTC -5)
@John - The "A person who is drunk can't consent to anything" line you are quoting comes from "Pon Farr is not analogous to a woman being passed out. A person who is drunk can't consent to anything, while Torres isn't just consenting, she's demanding it."

The discussion is being a level of drunk that you are nearly passing out/can't stand up. A person in that state can't consent. I do agree that if two people at a club have a few drinks, go home together and one of them has buyer's remorse the next morning that they didn't rape each other. But the person you're screwing isn't awake you should probably reconsider the possibility that you don't have consent!
Yanks
Tue, Nov 17, 2015, 9:30am (UTC -5)
@ John - Tue, Nov 17, 2015 - 4:52am (USA Central)

Yanks - yes, you are nuts! They didn't mate. The scene you linked to was before Vorik came and stopped them. Then Torres and Vorik fought and she knocked him out, thus inexplicably purging both of their lusts.

Of course, this makes no sense. On TOS, it was established that the fight must be to the death (or at least the one going through the Pon Farr must be convinced that the other person is dead) in order to quench the blood fever. Whereas here, she just knocks him out, which heals both her and him. And yet, it's implied that him knocking her out would not have purged his blood fever without him raping her afterwards. Again, it makes no sense and contradicts TOS.
=============================

Got it, thanks.

...and yes, it is all messed up... :-)
John
Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Robert - Of course I agree that you don't have a woman's consent if she is literally unconscious, falling in and out of consciousness, or so drunk that she can't even stand up straight. I was just quoting the drunk line because I felt that the person who said it was being overly broad and too general with the whole "women can't consent while drunk" concept.

I know that's what our PC culture is pushing at the moment, but it's too sweeping. That's all I was saying. Of course there is a level of drunk in which consent becomes impossible, but the woman would have to drink a lot to achieve that level. It is my opinion that most drunken hook ups are fine. Only a small minority are not. Sorry if I took the larger discussion out of context.
Robert
Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 7:17am (UTC -5)
@John - No worries! I didn't think you meant that. It's just that the word drunk occurred 4 words away from "passed out". So I just read that post as being "drunk drunk" so to speak... not as a symptom of our overly PC culture. I agree with you for the most part though, some opinions on the topic basically means we've all raped somebody at some point. A
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Funny how Voriks apparently only options are sex with Torres, sex with a hologram or die. No one mentioned that one Vulcan ex-Maquis woman we saw with Chakotay in "Repression", she must have been on the ship all this time. I'm sure laying back and taking one for the team would have been "logical" given Voyager's situation.
Phoebe
Thu, Jan 7, 2016, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
I think that this episode was very well done and I liked the fact that Tom was holding back from taking advantage of Torres, since he knew that it would destroy their frienship, possibly for good. He transcended his notorious playboy personality and actually had a growth moment. I believe that, if it were any other female from Boyager stuck with him in the caves, he would have just had sex with her. With B'Elanna, it's different because he actually cares about her and when a guy has feelings for a woman, he wouldn't take advantage of her in this kind of situation. Tom did the honorable thing and rebuffed her. This episode made me love him even more because of the way he handled the situation. Yeah, I dislike what Vorik did to B'Elanna; it was akin to rape, yes. I always kind of grimaced every time I saw him after this episode. I don't think that being afflicted with the pon farr is not an excuse to attack someone. Anyway, the good thing was that B'Elanna kicked his butt and purged her blood fever. Because there was no way she was going to sleep with him. Ugh. Roxann did a remarkable job, considering that she was a couple months pregnant at the time. Robert's performance was plain aces and I applaud their great job for this episode. This episode also officially began the Tom/B'Elanna romantic arc, so it gets even higher marks in its favor from me. Roxann and Robert both like this episode and think fondly of it, so, for me, the subject is closed. Blood Fever rules and I love it. Peace out, folks.
Phoebe
Thu, Jan 7, 2016, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
I think that this episode was very well done and I liked the fact that Tom was holding back from taking advantage of B'Elanna, since he knew that it would destroy their frienship, possibly for good. He transcended his notorious playboy personality and actually had a growth moment here. I believe that, if it were any other female from Voyager stuck with him in the caves, he probably would have been more easily compelled to have sex with her. With B'Elanna, it's different, because he actually cares about her and when a guy has feelings for a woman, he wouldn't take advantage of her - well, if he were truly an honorable man. Tom did the right thing and resisted her. It's not particularly flattering or romantic to have sex with someone when it has no meaning. Tom would want B'Elanna to be truly herself, to actually desire him, and not be afflicted by a sickness that could kill her and is driving her to behave uncharacteristically. This is alluded to when he says, "I hope you say that to me one day and mean it." What a great guy.

I dislike what Vorik did to B'Elanna; it was an uninvited mental rape attack. I always kind of grimaced every time I saw him after this episode. I know he was dealing with pon farr and all, but that doesn't matter. I don't think that being afflicted with the pon farr is an excuse to attack someone. That is the main concept that I will never like about this episode. It reminds me of that scum in TNG who mentally raped Troi in the fifth season and put her in a coma. That episode pisses me off, too. Even more so because Troi couldn't protect herself and if Worf and his security team hadn't shown up right then, she would have been raped physically.

Anyway, the good thing was that B'Elanna kicked Vorik's butt and purged her blood fever. Because there was no way she was going to sleep with him. I highly doubt that Chakotay and Tuvok would have allowed that, and definitely not Janeway either. Roxann did a remarkable job in this episode, considering that she was a couple months pregnant at the time; Robert's performance was aces as well and I applaud their great job on this episode. Blood Fever also officially began the Tom/B'Elanna romantic arc, so it gets even higher marks from me. Plus, Roxann and Robert both like this episode and think fondly of it, so, for me, the subject is closed. Blood Fever rules and I love it. Peace out, folks.
Diamond Dave
Thu, Jan 28, 2016, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
It has to be said this episode takes some strange decisions in its choices, not least of which Tuvok's eyebrow-raising demand for Tom to step up and get his man on.

To me, that kind of summed up the problem here - the episode didn't really know what direction it wanted to go. Was it making a social commentary? A relationship story for B'Elanna and Tom? Something else? So what we got was a mish-mash of scenes, few of which that were actually compelling at all. Indeed Vorik's was probably the best performance, all suppressed passion and emotion. 2 stars.
Diamond Dave
Thu, Jan 28, 2016, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
And I should have said that the last 10 seconds were by far the best bit - introducing the Borg for the first time comes right out of the blue.
dipads
Mon, May 23, 2016, 7:33am (UTC -5)
T'Paul's presence (all of Vulcan in one package) during the pon farr in Amok Time made for a spectacular episode. VOY episode is lame in comparison. I give it a failing grade.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.