Star Trek: Voyager

"Eye of the Needle"

***

Air date: 2/20/1995
Teleplay by Bill Dial and Jeri Taylor
Story by Hilary J. Bader
Directed by Winrich Kolbe

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Baxter (to Kes): "If I had to get treatment for something serious—if I needed surgery, for instance—would he be performing it?"
Doc: "Of course, and quite expertly, too."
Baxter: "I dunno. I'd have to think twice about that."
Doc: "Fine... and if you were lucky, you wouldn't die on the table while you were making up your mind."

Ensign Kim discovers a wormhole that leads back to the Alpha Quadrant. Although it is too small for the Voyager to travel through, the crew is able to send a communication signal through it, which is received by a Romulan science vessel. Further tests by Lt. Torres show that it may also be possible to send a transporter signal through the wormhole. Could Voyager's crew use it to beam back home?

The basic premise of "Eye of the Needle" is both its biggest strength and weakness. The resulting excitement among the Voyager crew when they realize they may be within striking distance of returning to the Alpha Quadrant leads to a number of well-acted and passionate scenes. At the same time, the tease of "will Voyager get home?" is not a premise that lends itself to a particularly surprising ending—it's a near-painfully foregone conclusion. I guess the bottom line comes down to the effectiveness of the characterization, and on that level, "Eye of the Needle" works pretty well.

The captain of the Romulan science vessel is named Telek (played by Vaughn Armstrong in one of the most sympathetic portrayals of a Romulan in recent memory). Telek isn't your typical villain personality, he's a real person. Initially, he's not forthcoming with assistance. He's suspicious, and severely doubts Janeway's claims that Voyager is transmitting from the Delta Quadrant. He wonders what a Federation ship could possibly gain from pretending to be in the Delta Quadrant.

The first half of the show centers around Janeway's attempts to convince Telek that Voyager poses no threat to his ship. One rather long scene, that takes place entirely in Janeway's quarters, features Mulgrew performing for a number of minutes with only two camera cuts. Mulgrew delivers nicely when you consider that she's essentially talking to herself for an extended period, but the scene, despite being a technical challenge, doesn't have the emotional depth it seems to want to.

Fortunately, the show makes up for it in other sequences. "Eye of the Needle" in most cases, is driven more by emotional responses of the characters than by plot events. I thought the scene where Janeway appeals to Telek's pity ("You must understand what it's like being separated from your family for so long. It will be years before any of my crew sees their families again. Maybe never."), worked well enough, although Telek getting misty-eyed may have been pushing it.

Once Torres realizes the possibility of rigging the transporters to get home, the characters all show an enthusiastic glow. Even Janeway gets caught up in the moment—a moment that could just be a prelude to a substantial disappointment. This makes sense. Unlike some of the silly plots of shows leading up to this one, "Eye of the Needle" uses a situation we can understand and empathize with, instead of just going with the flow.

The most engaging part of the show for me, however, is the B-story, involving the rude way members of the crew treat the Doctor. Like TNG did with Data in its early seasons, "Eye of the Needle" makes good use of the "humanity question," as Kes argues to Janeway that the Doctor deserves the same respect and treatment that any other crew member receives. There are several very thoughtful sequences involving Doc and Kes, and later Doc and Janeway, that prompt him to realize he has to think of himself as a true member of the crew (and that he would also like a name). These moments flesh out the character wonderfully while also giving us sympathy for his unique and lonely situation. (One nicely done long shot in particular features the Doctor sitting all alone in sickbay after he has just received word that the rest of the crew may be beaming off the ship without him.) At the same time, Kes' character is looking better all the time. Her desire for learning and her decision to stand up for the Doctor are highly admirable, and cancel all reservations I had of what she was becoming when I saw how she was used in "Time and Again."

The show, of course, ends the only way it possibly can, but at least it's halfway creative about it. After the Voyager crew successfully beams Telek aboard the ship across the wormhole, Tuvok discovers that the wormhole moves through time as well as space. Telek is from 20 years in the past, and if the Voyager crew were to beam back with Telek, they would end up in the past, too. Due to the possibility of time line contamination (and some paradoxes that the show wisely ignores), the crew realizes that they can't go back through the wormhole. That leaves them with the final option of sending personalized messages for their families back with Telek, who could presumably deliver them to the Federation in 20 years, after the Voyager has vanished.

Tuvok discovers, however, that as the time line plays out, Telek dies four years before Voyager even launches, meaning that the messages were possibly never delivered—there is no way of knowing if Telek gave them to anybody before his death.

Plotwise, most of this is fairly pedestrian, despite the last-minute twist of fate. None of it is particularly surprising; all of it is fairly inevitable. Characteristically speaking, however, this works because the reactions are credible. "Eye of the Needle" successfully puts the Voyager crew in a situation that has no cliches or stupid battles, while putting them through an emotional wringer. In the end, everyone feels a little defeated, but they pull themselves together and move on.

Previous episode: The Cloud
Next episode: Ex Post Facto

◄ Season Index

38 comments on this review

Charlie
Wed, Oct 14, 2009, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Telek recommends that he could tell Starfleet not to launch the mission which sends Voyager in the Delta Quadrant. Chakotay says, though, that that's a bad idea because it'll mean affecting people in the Delta Quadrant.
I've always suspected his real motive in saying that. He wasn't on Voyager when it was launched. If Starfleet cancelled the mission, he & the other Maquis would have to go it alone.
Mal
Sat, Oct 17, 2009, 12:12pm (UTC -6)
"One rather long scene, that takes place entirely in Janeway's quarters, features Mulgrew performing for a number of minutes with only two camera cuts."

Have you gone back and watched that scene recently? In recent years I've finally understood just how bad most scifi actors are (there are exceptions, like Nana Visitor, Peter Jurasik, etc.). In an age where The Wire and Mad Men show us what real acting is like, I guess my bar for good acting is just a lot lot higher than Troi and her "pain, so much pain" routine.

That said, go back and watch the scene. It is exquisite!

Really brought a tear to my eye (as did the whole episode, really). Part of the problem with early VOY was that it didn't hew to any recognized model of loss (i.e., the 5 stages of grief). Well, at least this episode showed the pathos of loneliness in a believable way. Certainly far more believable than a holodeck pool-hall...
Gretchen
Fri, May 14, 2010, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Well, Nana Visitor didn't exactly impress me with her bawling in "Battle Lines" when Opaka dies. Likewise, Marina Sirtis helped Troi become more and more engaging as TNG went along with "The Loss" and "Face of the Enemy".
So there!
Matrix
Thu, May 20, 2010, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Hey Charlie, that's a really interesting comment! Imagine if they'd done one of their timetravel episodes with just the Maquis alone in their raider in the delta quadrant! Tuvok, Chakotay and B'elanna stuck together with seska, jonas etc. Coulda been fun!
Carbetarian
Wed, Apr 6, 2011, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
@Charlie good point! I hadn't thought of that!

I liked this episode a lot. It was emotionally effective without being too obvious or overdone. Of course, I knew they weren't going to make it home. But, I think the twist at the end about Telek dying really made all the previous wormhole shenanigans worth while. I really felt for the crew here.

All in all, this is easily a three star outing for me too. I might even go for three and a half stars!
David H.
Fri, Oct 14, 2011, 12:09am (UTC -6)
Definitely one of the first-season highlights. 3.5 stars from me as well.
Jay
Sat, Jan 28, 2012, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
The ludicrous logic Chakotay used here about warning Starfleet not to launch the mission because of the impact they have had on the Delta Quadrant makes about as much sense as the equally ludicrous logic Bashir used in Time's Orphan to about not being able to retry getting Molly back because then the older Molly wouldn't get to exist.
Jack
Thu, Jun 7, 2012, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Holy @#$%& Charlie is right...if Voyager's mission handl;t occurred, Chakotay and Co. would still have gotten stranded in the DQ...unless Starfleet warned him too.
Ravo
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 3:03am (UTC -6)
I have to disagree with Jammer on this one. I actually really enjoyed the episode and thought it was well acted on all accounts, even Janeway (and I'm no fan of Janeway). I've seen a lot of trek and I thought the story was quite fresh and had me mesmerized the whole time. I even got a little misty eyed at the actors doing such a good job getting worked up over the possibility of returning home. Janeway's final line was unexpected and refreshing. She showed the right attitude just when they crew needed to see it. My score 4 stars.
Dan
Sat, Nov 3, 2012, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Charlie, I have to disagree with you. If Voyager had never been launched, Chakotay and the Maquis would have simply been sent back to the Alpha quadrant by the Caretaker once he was finished with them. There's no way they would have destroyed the array, like Janeway did.
Asian James
Thu, Jan 10, 2013, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
I would agree with Ravo; this was a very refreshing episode. In my opinion, this was one of the best episodes in Season 1. I particularly enjoyed how the writers were able to "tie in" an Alpha Quadrant alien, which is comfort food for viewers who (at this point) may not yet be settled into the Delta Quadrant world.

Even though the viewer knew that Voyager was not coming home at the end of the episode, the intrigue was riding on how this wormhole WASN'T going to pan out. As Jammer said, the actors and actresses portrayed genuine care about this potential wormhole, which added to the emotional strength (and eventual sense of defeat) of the episode.

All in all, this was a great standalone science fiction episode.
Jay
Sat, Mar 9, 2013, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Okay...seems I should read prior comments before making one :) ...in the wake of Charlie's observation, Chakotay's idea makes quite a bit of sense.

I'd be surprised if the writers of his line had Charlie's intent in mind though.
eddie
Fri, May 10, 2013, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
I had never thought about what Charlie said on the top comment before. I liked this episode when it first aired... but thought it should have happened later in the season.

For one thing, it would be more emotionally significant to get a shot to go home after spending more time lost in the Delta Quadrant. I always thought that when they suggested that they couldn't change the timeline, that this was silly. If Voyager doesn't go the Delta Quadrant at this stage, which events would be undone: Voyager doesn't get stuck in an event horizon, the events in Time and Again were already reset at the end of that episode, Voyager doesn't have a minor interaction with the Vidiians, that living nebula doesn't get hurt and healed, and voyager doesn't destroy the caretaker array (but without voyager there to fight with the Kazon, the array self-destruct sequence is not interrupted).

The only consequence I had thought of (until I saw Charlie's comment) had been that Kes would still be a slave of the Kazon. It would had been interesting to have the captain consider altering the timeline against stranding Chakotay's ship and causing harm to Kes.

Some other thoughts. For those that say that there's no character development on this show, Janeway goes from not wanting to risk altering the pretty meaningless timeline voyager has had in the Delta Quadrant at this point to someone who doesn't give a rat's ass about timelines by the series finale. The Doctor was great with his sarcastic comment to Torres that his opening "Please state the nature of the medical emergency" was probably programmed into him because he is to be used for emergencies. And then suggests that if he could reprogram himself, he'd make a family (which of course he eventually did)

navamske
Sat, May 25, 2013, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
It would have been cool if, when the Doctor is explaining to the two Romulans on the Prometheus in "Message in a Bottle" that Voyager is stuck in the Delta quadrant, one of the Romulans had said to the other, "Hey, wasn't that wack-job Telek ranting about a Federation ship in the Delta quadrant just before he kicked off eight years ago?"
inline79
Sat, Jul 27, 2013, 5:42pm (UTC -6)
I thought this episode was really a borderline 3.5 stars. This is a story you will only see on Star Trek, and it was well tailored to Voyager. At this point I'm really starting to get to know the characters and maybe even like some of them.

But I agree with the 3 stars. Unfortunately it deals with Time travel again, and I'm a little unhappy with the writers inserting Telek's death at the end - how could the Federation computers have that detailed knowledge of the Romulans? They do not become allies against the Dominion for about 4 more years! They could have given the crew some hope, but instead the writers really killed all morale on Voyager. Next episode better be a mutiny!
Caine
Wed, Oct 9, 2013, 4:44pm (UTC -6)
This episode is my favorite Voyager outing so far (watching them all for the first time right now).

Both the A and B story are told delicately, with a fine sense of both anticipation and melancholy. I was sucked into the "feeling" of it all, completely forgetting that the crew of the ship (of course)could not get back home already.

On a dise note: Janeway in her private quarters ... wow, what a gorgeous woman! Why couldn't she wear her wonderful, lion-mane-like hair down like that all the time? Yowza!
Adam
Wed, Dec 11, 2013, 7:17pm (UTC -6)
It is often said that there is no character development in Voyager. Not so. I was watching this episode again this morning. It was interesting to see how rudely the crew treat the Doctor in season 1. I think the Doctor's character development is one of the more fascinating character arcs of the series.
Grumpy
Wed, Dec 11, 2013, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
You know what they say about "Never say never," Adam. Much as the rest of the cast was neglected, Picardo was given juicy material right from the start. His character arguably covers a bigger arc than, say, Data. 'Fonly the rest had been so fortunate.
K'Elvis
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 9:54am (UTC -6)
They could have transported through and spent 20 years in suspended animation. But the Romulan government would certainly have extracted information from the crew. The temptation to get intelligence from 20 years in the future would have been too great to resist.

If they contacted a Federation ship from the past, I wonder if it would have been different. How would the Department of Temporal Investigations handled this? We don't know too much about them, perhaps they have temporal "safe houses" just for situations like this. Put them in suspended animation for 20 years, and there is no temporal threat. On the other hand, Section 31 would have wanted to extract information as eagerly as the Romulan government would have.

One thing that has always seemed peculiar is Kes' line "It would be interesting to see an autopsy sometime". To be so eager for an autopsy is to be eager for the death of a crew member. The line seemed unrealistically detached. Of course, they could do all the simulated autopsies they wanted using holographic projections.
Ric
Mon, Mar 3, 2014, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Very powerful episode, quite well done. Good Trek material in wormhole debate. Very good Trek material in the plot-B with The Doctor. In fact, I was hoping that we would become the exotic character who bring the debate about human condition, just like Spok, Data and Odo in previous instalments. Happy to see a bit of it already coming.
Spalding
Thu, Jul 3, 2014, 3:57am (UTC -6)
Four stars Uncle Jammy. Four stars!
Vylora
Mon, Aug 18, 2014, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
This is the second standout episode of the first season after "Phage". Most notably for the dialogue and the little character moments in both A and B plots. The premise of this episode (decaying wormhole) was intriguing and well-utilized. Everything worked well in getting from one point to the next in its pacing and showcased a disheartening and humbling end that, while depressing, was an adeptly written conclusion to what came before.

Maybe a little early in the run to have an episode like this but I won't hold that against it. It works well on its own terms and that's good enough for me.

Nice job.

3.5 stars.
Skeptical
Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 8:57pm (UTC -6)
This was, altogether, a pretty good episode, perhaps even a very good episode, but it did have a few flaws:

1) It came too early. It's a bit silly to have a dramatic "can they get home?" story just six episodes in. It just feels like we're going too fast, that we are blowing all the interesting stories relating to being stuck in the Delta Quadrant too fast. Hey, there's seven seasons to get through, do we have to have it so soon?

2) There should have been more time discussing the ramifications of changing the future with the Romulan. It just seemed too easy for the crew to decide not to pollute the timeline or whatever, even though the timeline would only be about two months or so. Charlie's suggestion, that the Maquis ship would remain stuck in the Delta Quadrant, is an excellent one. Why didn't they expand on that? Instead of immediately dismissing the idea of giving a warning to Starfleet, Chakotay could have spoken up and declared that he probably wouldn't listen to any warning, and thus could have ended up stuck in the Delta Quadrant alone. Like eddie suggested, the thought of Kes remaining a slave to the Kazon might also give Janeway and company pause. We know that this tug of war between her principles and her desire to get home is a big part of the series, and it'd be a foregone conclusion that she would eventually deny permission to warn Starfleet. But that could have been an argument. Especially if one brings up all the nameless extras who died when the Caretaker brought them to the Delta Quadrant. Janeway could have weighed saving their lives vs helping Chakotay, Torres, and Kes. Then again, the dead crew members seemed to have been forgotten 5 minutes after they all died.

K'Elvis also suggested bringing them home, but staying in suspended animation. They also could have brought that idea up, although I think that'd be fairly easy to shoot down. Frankly, I'm not sure I'd trust the Romulans to keep me in suspended animation for 20 years. They are, after all, a nation hostile to the Federation.

3) While this would normally be a good thing, there's no Neelix. One would think it'd be worthwhile to get his perspective. It might have been nice to see an argument between him and Kes, with Kes wanting to return to the Alpha Quadrant with the crew and Neelix not so sure. Yes, he's willing to share the journey, but he realizes the rest of the crew won't care about him when they get back. It might have had an interesting perspective.

But the rest of the episode worked well. There was a great sense of an emotional roller coaster ride, as the crew naturally had their hopes raised and dashed multiple times throughout the show. This was probably a better idea than the normal raise hopes and dash them once. It really gave you a sense of just how much this meant to the crew. Torres in particular was really animated, which is rather surprising coming from her. After all, she mentioned that she had no family interested in her back home. And what does she have to look forward to upon getting home? Being arrested? Sure, perhaps Janeway can influence Starfleet enough to get amnesty for the Maquis, but she wouldn't be allowed to return to her former life. It just goes to show how alien the Delta Quadrant is to these people. Even Torres is desperate for a chance to get home to something more familiar.

Ian
Wed, Oct 22, 2014, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
One point not mentioned. Didn't the Romulan already tell his superiors about Voyager? Thus they already know the future!
I recall later episode mentioning the Romulans having an interest in Voyager. Wonder if that is a subtle nod to this issue
Yanks
Fri, Jun 26, 2015, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Voyager's best thus far.

I always enjoy this episode.

Great point about Chakotay's comment. Although I think I agree, this was not the writers intent or someone would have brought up Kes and I'm sure Kes would have brought up the EMH.

This is the side of Voyager that frankly they do better than anyother trek series. When they tug on the heartstrings, they do it well. This coupled with Doc's wit makes this a really fun series to watch time and again. Janeway in her quarters holding her picture of Mark was touching.

I initially thought this episode came too soon as well, but after thinking about it I think it was fine. It wasn't so much about how long the Voyager crew had been gone as much as all their loved ones etc. have no clue where they are or even if they are alive. I know that would bother me.

Vaughn Armstrong once again brings a character to life. Nicely done.

Let's see, when he told the Senate about Voyager, he wasn't aware of the time difference... so I'm not sure the Senate ever knew of the 20 year difference?

If I'm Janeway, I'm not sure I agree to grouping all the crew in a Romulan troop transport. The Romulans are paranoid... to many unknowns there.

Voyager's first 4 star episode. Well done.
Jack
Sun, Sep 20, 2015, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Dan said:

"Charlie, I have to disagree with you. If Voyager had never been launched, Chakotay and the Maquis would have simply been sent back to the Alpha quadrant by the Caretaker once he was finished with them. There's no way they would have destroyed the array, like Janeway did. "

Well, maybe all of the Maquis except for Torres. She likely would have perished from the experimentation they did on her. Voyager's doctor treated Kim and Torres.
romemmy
Wed, Oct 21, 2015, 1:16am (UTC -6)
For the most part an okay episode (especially so early in the series).. however, I am still puzzled at how the blazes did the ships computer database had the date of death for the Romulan! Until the Shinzon events in Nemesis, Starfleet barely had any info on the Romulans. The episodes stardate (48579.4) is clearly before the Shinzon encounter (56844.9). Even the Dominon War which created a temporary alliance was after (around stardate 50032.7).

Doesn't make sense for Voyager to have such detailed records of the Romulans. I guess this Romulan could have become seriously prominent, but still doesn't seem plausible.

Seems like that "discovery" from Tuvok was purely to make it an unhappy ending (since them thinking their loved ones had received the messages, or not, wouldn't have made a blind bit of difference to the ongoing story line).

Thanks!

S.


Grumpy
Wed, Oct 21, 2015, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
romemmy: "Doesn't make sense for Voyager to have such detailed records of the Romulans."

How detailed must it be? An obituary in the Romulus Morning Herald would suffice, and surely Voyager's archives have enough room for 50 years of back issues on microfiche. Y'know, in case someone gets bored on the mission and needs something to read... beyond the hundreds of Federation newspapers they also must have.
Diamond Dave
Tue, Dec 8, 2015, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
An excellent episode, certainly the best so far and refreshing for being something uniquely Voyager. Yes, obviously the viewer knows that they are not going home so early in the show, but the two good solid kick in the nuts twists at the end come as both a surprise and add to the reflective and melancholic atmosphere the episode creates.

The B-story again adds to the feeling that the Doctor is the breakout character here, offering a genuinely touching insight. It also gives Kes a solid theme to play off. And we have no Neelix - coincidence? Who can say! 3.5 stars.
romemmy
Sun, Dec 13, 2015, 2:09am (UTC -6)
Grumpy - yea, but Romulus isn't part of the Federation and are essentially an enemy of the Federation at the time. It's unlikely every single Federation ship is carrying classified Romulan information when it's not part of their current mission (and random data like newspapers would likely still be classified against an enemy as secretive as the Romulans).

Still doesn't make sense to me that a brand new ship who's first mission is towards Cardassian space, working on the Maquis problem, has that kind of minutia about Romulans on board...

Thanks!

S.
alston49
Thu, Jan 14, 2016, 2:07am (UTC -6)
I know Charlie's comment is over six years old but I also felt compelled to chime in.

If Voyager had not been launched due to the Romulan's warning there would have been tradeoffs in who lives and whom doesn't. Kes would have indeed remained a slave (or at the very least her liberation would have had to come from another source). We never would have met Neelix (no tears y'all, it's just a TV show ;)). And most likely B'alanna would have died. The Ocampans didn't have a cure for that lack of compatibility the caretaker was looking for. And Tom probably would have remained on the penal colony. He'd have changed to that guy we saw in S2's Non-Sequitur.

On the other hand the original first officer and medical doctor would not have been killed, either. And the surviving Maquis that got pulled into the Delta Quadrant would all have most likely joined the Ka-zon faction and did whatever it took to get back. Seska would undoubtedly be the one to push for that (she was a cardassian spy!) and it would have been more convincing with no Starfleet protocols. But remember, Tuvok was still a Starfleet security officer posing as a Maquis spy and he would have been stranded with them in the Delta Quadrant as well. Not sure what he would have done. Adhere to Starfleet principles till death do us part? Or would logic and pragmatism win out for survival?

It was highly unlikely Voyager would not have started one way or the other, since that was half the reason it was launched.

Remember Crewman Suder from S2's Meld? He would have stayed a stone cold killer with no one to keep him in check.

Dan, I might have agreed with your comment but then there was the Equinox. The caretaker didn't send them back. The caretaker was dying and getting desperate to find that 'compatible' match he kept alluding to. So he most likely would have left the Maquis stranded there as well. When Voyager got pulled through he was already on his last gasp.

Oh, and Seven of Nine would have remained a borg drone.

Just some ideas I brainstormed when watching this ep and reading the above reviews.

On a side note: why would Kes be in so excited to go so far from Ocampa to someplace she's never been? She seemed a lot more enthusiastic about that than the crew ever was exploring any planet in the seven seasons it was on. They sure weren't looking forward to staying on any of those planets. Not the way Kes was about going to Earth. It just seems that these other races don't get homesick. Maybe that's possible but that's still stretching it.

3 stars is agreeable. It sure generated a lot of 'what-if' comments which is what a good story does.
JC
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
As with some of the other commenters, I also really enjoyed this episode, and would give it 3.5 stars as well.

I have noticed that Jammer very often raises the inevitability of the conclusion (based on the fact that a series must go on) in reviews. I don't think this is *always* fair. Sometimes it is fair for poorly done jeopardy plots, especially when they wrap up with a contrived last minute twist packed into the last 5 minutes of an episode.

But I don't think it is a fair point for episodes like this one. The premise of this series is the crew trying to get home. So, personally, I don't really have a problem suspending my knowledge that they won't. I enjoy putting myself on the ship, hoping they will get home, and being engaged in the disappointment when they don't. I think it is part of being a "good" viewer of a story. Shoddy writing can make this impossible but this episode did a great job of setting up something I could empathize with, so regardless of the fact that we know there's still more episodes to come, I appreciate what this episode's A story offered.
JC
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
(Another way of looking at it is that if "the conclusion is inevitable" is a basis for criticism, even subtle, then it seems the implication is that the writers should never try such things in the first place. But it isn't reasonable to expect the writers of a series about a crew trying to get home to never attempt to write an episode about a crew trying to get home solely because it's inevitable that the crew won't get home. So you have to appreciate stories with inevitable outcomes for what they are: Stories. Otherwise why even be interested in watching them in the first place? That's why we watch series like these.)
JC
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 2:27pm (UTC -6)
@Charlie That's a decent out-of-story rationalization for Chakotay's logic, although personally I suspect it was just an honest plot hole. I suspect the writers just forgot that cancelling Janeway's mission wouldn't have saved the Maquis crew -- they're all fairly integrated as the Voyager's starfleet crew at this point.

My personal problem with his logic is it doesn't actually seem like the Voyager has had all that big of an impact on the Delta quadrant yet. Sure, butterfly effect, yada yada, but it's too early in the series for anybody to be claiming that they've had a huge impact, we just haven't actually seen all that much yet outside of the Ocampa's one random isolated planet, a couple of lone Frankensteins, and Clifford the big red space dog.
jeroen
Fri, Apr 29, 2016, 3:28pm (UTC -6)
love this episode! first introduction of the romulans for me (this is my first star trek show)
the only thing i don't get is the fact that they teach Kes so much and she talks about medical school but she will die in about 5 year from old age.
they rely on her a lot but if their journey will take 70 year she will only be alive for a really small part of it
Pete328
Sun, Jul 31, 2016, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
This is easily the best episode I've seen so far, six episodes in.

It was very well acted, including by the actor playing the sympathetic Romulan. I also agree that the B plot surrounding the doctor is a highlight. TNG's "Measure of a Man" is easily in my top 2-3 TNG episodes, and largely because it raises the same question: at what point is a self-aware artificial entity given the same rights and basic respect as a human? To me, the answer is obvious. If you are self aware and sentient, what does it matter if you are flesh and blood, plastic and positronic neural nets, or holographic programming -- you are an intelligent being. It's funny that Star Trek characters have less of an issue respecting sentient nebulas, nannies, and space whales than their own crewmembers who aren't conventionally humanoid life forms.

In any case, my only quibble is the minor slip when the Romulan captain is speaking to Janeway on audio and she is in her quarters in a night gown. He says good night and I wondered how he knows it's night on Voyager unless he can secretly see Janeway in her pj's. Shipboard night and day would obviously be an artificial construct for the crew's convenience and would not be standardized across ships. For all we know, the Romulan science probe ship is synced to the time zone of the captain's home back on Romulus and Voyager is set to the local time zone at Star Fleet headquarters on Earth...or somewhere else.
Pete328
Sun, Jul 31, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Correction: that was "nannites" not nannies. There was a TNG episode where Wesley created nannites that started eating the ship's circuitry and it was realized they were living things.

The fun of autocorrect is things like "nannies." I would guess there were some nannies in the Enterprise-D, since there were plenty of little kids. And those nannies would also deserve the same respect as Data or Voyager's doc.
mephyve
Mon, Aug 15, 2016, 8:30am (UTC -6)
As with all stranded shows we get the obligatory and ultimately futile sliver of hope of getting off the island. As always, you know the outcome instantly and the show is a total waste of time

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.