Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Paradise Syndrome"

**1/2

Air date: 10/4/1968
Written by Margaret Armen
Directed by Jud Taylor

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

An attempt to divert an asteroid from crashing into a populated planet brings Kirk and the landing party to investigate a planet of paradise where the planet's American Indian-like tribes live in simplistic peace. But when Kirk goes missing after falling into the trap door of a mysterious obelisk, Spock and the Enterprise are forced to leave him behind in order to divert the asteroid before it's too late. Kirk wakes up with amnesia, and upon climbing from the obelisk is taken in by the nearby tribe, where he falls in love with the beautiful Miramanee (Sabrina Scharf). Meanwhile, the story's subplot follows Spock's failed attempt to deflect the asteroid.

Both stories, which take place over a period of several months, are fairly palatable, but neither turns out to be captivating. Kirk's story benefits from the enlightening idea that, although he can't remember who he is, he realizes that being in love and living a simple life has made him "truly happy" for the first time in his life. Not of much interest, however, are Kirk's confrontations with a rival tribe member who, unlike the rest of the tribe, doubts Kirk is a god. Just why does Kirk subtly allow the others to think he is a god in the first place? Is he taking advantage of a situation? The story, unfortunately, never stops to ask what Kirk thinks about this aspect of his problem.

Meanwhile, the romance angle is sweet at first, but goes overboard into tiring sappiness. Miramanee's subsequent injury results in a melodramatic deathbed scene that I couldn't help but resist. Tragedies work better when they have a greater purpose for existing other than for the sake of closing lamentable dialog.

Previous episode: The Enterprise Incident
Next episode: And the Children Shall Lead

Season Index

10 comments on this review

Jake - Sat, Mar 22, 2008 - 8:54am (USA Central)
While I agree with Jammer's rating for "The Paradise Syndrome," I thought its final scene where Kirk says goodbye to Miramanee was quite moving.
It makes me wonder, though, would Kirk be a widower now, even though he wasn't exactly himself when he married her? The same could be asked about Picard in "The Inner Light."
Mark - Mon, Sep 23, 2013 - 12:22pm (USA Central)
I like the idea of allowing Kirk to live a different life, one that he could never have otherwise. Effectively the price he has paid is to give up his identity as a Starship Captain.

As for the execution well there are so many holes. The obelisk is very specific in what it does, and why even beam down to the planet if time is the essence - not to mention the non interference directive which would suggest let nature take its course.

I find the story on the planet once Kirk has lost his memory rather bland, though the McCoy/Spock dynamic works rather better.

The ultimate nonsense for me though was 'Kirk to Enterprise' triggering the obelisk to open. It seems like so much hogwash. these 'Providers' may have been powerful enough to transport the Indians there and into an environment that is familiar to them, but I cannot see how such a contrivance could possibly make any sense.

I give this 1 1/2 stars because so much of it is ultimately meaningless to me.
Rich - Fri, Oct 4, 2013 - 2:22pm (USA Central)
This was one of my favorite TOS third season episodes. I disagree with the review above. Keep in mind that Trek was on life support regarding production budget. It appears that much of those dollars were spent on this episode as I do not recall seeing live exterior footage in any remaining third season episodes.

The episode works for me in that god does arrive from heaven, at least from the perspective of the planet's inhabitants. To wit - the planet's inhabitants see Kirok as one of their own; only at the end is he deemed a false God who does not meet their self imposed expectation when he cannot activate the obelisk to save them.

When the landing party materializes we witness the locals flee in terror. Keep that in mind. The episode is brilliant. In the end, Miramanee does not accept that Kirok is anything other than the god who saved her people and dies believing as such. Kirk, not Kirok, expresses no emotion in relation to her passing, as he says, "if that's what you want." One of the best and memorable TOS episodes in my book.
Moonie - Tue, Jan 21, 2014 - 6:22am (USA Central)
And yet another episode where it is implied that humans, especially star ship captains, can only find true happiness in simple living. Argh. I can't stand it, it drives me crazy. It was the major problem I had with Insurrection. Or even Generations, with those awkward Nexus scenes.
Jo Jo Meastro - Tue, Jan 21, 2014 - 7:48am (USA Central)
I've been working my way through TOS starting with the third season and ending with the first, simply because I've already seen many of the episodes and I'd prefer to end my run with the strongest season. With regards to commenting I probably only will whenever I feel I've got something to say that hasn't been already said by Jammer or anyone else, 2014 has been a busy year so far!

This was a really good episode despite the little hiccups in logic required to make it work. Each Star Trek incarnation has its own take on the concept of the captian coming to terms with a simplier life away from everything that used to matter to them and TOS did a remarkable job when it set the trend. I was gently moved by the ending and there was a certain vibrant visual beauly held throughout the show which perfectly complemented the story.

One last thing, I got the impression Kirk only went along with the notion of being a god because at that point he feels like he came from the sky and believed it might be true!
Nathan - Fri, Jan 24, 2014 - 9:59am (USA Central)
This is one of the episodes that I love to hate. Mainly the problem I have is the setup of the situation requires our heros to be incompetent and stupid. Star Fleet orders the Enterprise to deflect the asteroid. And as Spock points out in the episode the sooner you do that the easier it is. So what does Captain Jerk do? He goes to the planet first to sightsee. He then falls down a staircase and gets amnesia. Spock then promptly illogically wastes so much time searching for Kirk that he is late to the deflection point and cripples the ship. He could have left a landing party to search for Kirk and gone to deflect the asteroid and come back. Or took the oft repeated statement that you might have to die to protect the Prime Directive and left. Sucks to be you, Kirk.

And Scotty must have been recovering from a bad hangover because this is the one time the miracle worker can't fix the ship. He flat says he can't do anything short of a drydock. The show ends on that point and we never learn how they resolved it. I assume that Kirk had to call AAA for a tow. In real life if you cripple a multi-billion dollar military vessel then tend to end your career. Both Kirk and Spock should have been out of a job at the end of the episode. But hey this is Star Trek and we have a reset button.

And then there's the whole Kirk lets them think he is a God thing. I can kind of forgive him based on that he is coming down off of a bad memory beam high but not much. "Groovy Man this Memory Beam is better than LDS." Kirk's basic character is supposed to be better than that.

And all the Indians are stupid and badly stereotyped. But hey nice rack Miramanee!

And then there is the whole bit about Aliens planting Injuns on doomed planets. Lots of Class M planets around so they pick one with a bad asteroid problem?

The whole episode is Meh. 1 1/2 stars. Typical of the 3rd season.
Alex - Wed, Jan 29, 2014 - 4:53am (USA Central)
Like I'm sure is this case with others, this episode too reminds me of "Inner Life" and makes me wonder how much it influenced the great TNG episode. "Inner Light" did a much better job at creating an alternate life for the protagonist, and perhaps it has this "Paradise Syndrome" to thank for the concept.

The episode also contains a few gags, first when Spock uses two rocks to explain a rudimentary concept to McCoy, and then when Scotty throws his hands up in frustration when the beloved Enterprise engines burn out in the background.
mephyve - Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 10:13pm (USA Central)
Ok this is like deja vu in reverse. I see the seeds sown for 'The Inner Light' and even moreso 'Thine Own Self'. Inner Light is my favorite Star Trek episode of all. Thine Own Self, which is not as revered, is almost a direct copy; Data loses his memory, makes some minor improvements to the society, then the villagers 'kill' him. The close similarities may be part of why Jammer only gave it two stars while this got an extra half.
Kirk was clearly confused. He knew things but didn't know how he knew them. Maybe he thought he might just be a god figure.
mephyve - Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 10:33pm (USA Central)
Just thought about the initials of 'Thine Own Self', TOS. An inside joke maybe?
Inner Light improved on the concept, Thine Own Self just regurgitated it.
Stallion - Wed, Apr 23, 2014 - 2:12pm (USA Central)
This episode would had been a little better if it was uhura translating and figuring out the presever language with spock or chekov instead of having mccoy telling spock to go to bed. Would had been a good use for her character.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer