Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Mark of Gideon"

**

Air date: 1/17/1969
Written by George F. Slavin and Stanley Adams
Directed by Jud Taylor

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Upon beaming down to the planet Gideon, Kirk finds himself on a duplicate of the Enterprise, where he meets a woman named Odona (Sharon Acker) who yearns for a chance to live far away from her vastly overpopulated world—a world where no one dies.

The subject of the story is overpopulation and the need for extreme measures to combat the problem, as the Gideons hope to introduce into the population a rare disease carried by Kirk, allowing their people to age and die as they once did centuries ago. Unfortunately, the plot tackles its message in such a roundabout way that it's hard to swallow a lot of it. For one, I find it highly unlikely that the Gideons would build an exact duplicate of the Enterprise just to fool Kirk into helping them—an approach they should know is destined to fail.

Then comes the idea of billions of people literally piled up together upon each other because of overpopulation, which strikes me as somehow implausible. (How does anything in society function given this sort of problem? The idea of urgent overpopulation is fine, but the absurdity of showing crowds of people unable to move is simply unnecessary.) There's also far too much time spent on the plots where Kirk ponders the nature of being on an empty Enterprise while Spock attempts to locate the captain ... although I somewhat enjoyed the contest of semantics between Spock and Gideon Prime Minister Hodin (David Hurst).

It's a watchable episode, but there are too many dubious ideas, and the moral questions are not presented in a way that allows any realistic debate or analysis. There's a much better story lurking beneath some of the concepts inefficiently jammed together here.

Previous episode: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield
Next episode: That Which Survives

Season Index

9 comments on this review

Sel - Thu, Aug 18, 2011 - 1:35am (USA Central)
Just finished watching the third season and I have to say it's not as bad as I previously imagined. The thing with Trek, at least TOS, is that it can be very very good, or very very bad. Both are entertaining. However, what it can't be, and what most of the third season was is boring. For me, the Mark of Gideon has to be the worst episode because it is incredibly boring. If I was flipping the channels and that came on, I would perhaps watch a little bit and then change the channel, and probably not give Star Trek a second chance.
Strider - Sat, Jun 30, 2012 - 11:00pm (USA Central)
It definitely moves a little slowly. And the plot points are extremely far-fetched, stretching credibility to the breaking point. Also, I want to know why Spock beams onto Fake Enterprise unarmed. He KNOWS there are hostile forces up to no good! Of course, I've always wondered why they walk around the Enterprise unarmed, when we know that hostile aliens can show up on the ship at any time.

But there are some good scenes. Spock dealing with the bureaucracy...you'd think that being Sarek's son he'd have picked up some tricks! And he did do pretty well, actually, until he had to deal with Starfleet. I liked seeing the crew get so upset about Starfleet and Federation red tape and the intransigence of the Gideons.

I also thought that Spock was pretty funny at several places, and imho, there's nothing better tan Spock's wry, don't-blink-or-you'll-miss-it humor. Best line of the whole show: "Please do not try to interfere, Your Excellency. I already have one serious problems with the upper echelons."
Mel - Tue, Jul 24, 2012 - 10:49am (USA Central)
What troubles me is the fact that letting many people of Gideon die of a horrible disease is supposed to be the "good" ending... I mean really, it would be better to simply execute them - at least that would be a quick death.
How killing people is better than birth control also eludes me.
And why not simply start a new colony on a different planet, if overpopulation is such a huge problem?
The plot doesn't make any sense.
Paul - Mon, Jan 28, 2013 - 4:14pm (USA Central)
Sel nailed it. This episode is just epically boring. Other than 'And the Children Shall Lead', I think I'd rather watch any third-season episode that this one, even 'Spock's Brain' or 'The Way to Eden.'

It's also just really dumb. An exact duplicate of the Enterprise was clearly done as a way to save money and make this a bottle show.

Yuck.
Lorene - Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - 9:31am (USA Central)
"There's a much better story lurking beneath..." Perfect analysis. Only 2 stars is too high. 1 star at most for this episode. Maybe 0.5...
Adara - Fri, Nov 22, 2013 - 11:37am (USA Central)
Someone really needs to get these people a guillotine.
Moonie - Sat, May 10, 2014 - 2:02pm (USA Central)
Two stars?? This must be the TOS bonus.

Awful, boring, terrible.

Markus - Sun, Aug 17, 2014 - 8:00am (USA Central)
I seem to be the only one who really enjoyed this one. I remember that the first time it was a big mystery to me why there was this duplicate. And even now I find the idea to infect Kirk interesting. Sometimes an interesting story is worth at least some logical flaws, as this duplicate certainly was. The effect was nice.
William B - Mon, Nov 17, 2014 - 2:52pm (USA Central)
After spending a while writing about "LTBYLB," I am glad that this and the next episode will be extremely quick. In "The Mark of Gideon," we learn that extreme overpopulation would be so devastating that people will want to die. We get a glimpse of what overpopulation looks like -- a bunch of people in one-piece suits with their face cut out wandering around bumping into each other, but never quite moving away from each other, like they're a bunch of molecules in a liquid. As for why overpopulation is such a problem, we helpfully have this exchange:

HODIN: And so it was! A long, long time ago what we described was true! The atmosphere on Gideon has always been germ-free. And the people flourished in their physical and spiritual perfection. Eventually, even the life span increased. Death became almost unknown to us. It occurred only when the body could no longer regenerate itself, and that happens now only to the very old.
KIRK: Those are conditions most people would envy.
HODIN: But Gideon did not find it enviable. The birth rate continued to rise, and the population grew, until now Gideon is encased in a living mass who can find no rest, no peace, no joy.
KIRK: Then why haven't you introduced any of the new techniques to sterilise men and women?
HODIN: Every organ renews itself. It would be impossible.
KIRK: Then let your people learn about the devices to safely prevent conception. The Federation will provide anything you need.
HODIN: But you see, the people of Gideon have always believed that life is sacred. That the love of life is the greatest gift. That is the one unshakable truth of Gideon. And this overwhelming love of life has developed our regenerative capacity and our great longevity.
KIRK: And the great misery which you now face.
HODIN: That is bitterly true, Captain. Nevertheless, we cannot deny the truth which shaped our evolution. We are incapable of destroying or interfering with the creation of that which we love so deeply. Life, in every form, from foetus to developed being. It is against our tradition, against our very nature. We simply could not do it.
KIRK: Yet you can kill a young girl.

Well, I think it's weird that Kirk *started* with sterilization and then moved to contraception. Also, I think that someone should explain to Hodin the difference between contraception and abortion. And also, it occurs to me that sex among the people of Gideon must be quite the affair, if the whole planet is as tightly packed as we saw it. Must be rough without privacy! No, but really, it's very, *very* hard for me to find Hodin sympathetic when he pretty genuinely seems to believe that introducing a virus to kill off large segments of the population is a far better long-term solution than teaching people about barrier methods.

Why, exactly, is introducing a virus any better than just taking a gun and shooting people in the head? About the only thing I can think of is that the people of Gideon just LOVE LIFE SO MUCH that they view a virus as a living entity, with just as much right to exist and kill the host, as anyone. This is not stated in the episode, but it's the type of argument I suspect Hodin as written would make, and the type of thing that would fit this episode as written. I'm willing to accept a fair amount of silliness from this show but something of this episode just passes my limits.

And that is a shame because there is something interesting in the idea of a planet so overpopulated that a virus must be introduced into the system to allow for a higher quality of life, or indeed long-term survival of the species. There are ways in which this idea can be examined, but this is not it.

Some of the Spock/Hadin scenes are fairly fun, though I think that Hadin's slippery use of words is a little overrated by the episode -- Hodin's statement that Spock requested a "most thorough search" is treated by the characters as if Hodin is technically telling the truth, but missing the meaning behind the words Spock used, but that's not actually true, since Hodin was the one who used that phrase the first time. This subplot lacks the grace of the similar subplot between Picard and the Sheliak in "The Ensigns of Command," but at least there's some fun to be had.

As for Odona, I think there is something a little bit wistful about Odona's joy at being able to be alone with Kirk; the emptiness of the Enterprise does actually work to create some of the atmosphere required to convey the horror of the overpopulation by contrast. So some points for that. Still, I don't find her love for Kirk, which I think we're meant to see as "real," believable, except maybe if we're meant to see this as the first time she's been alone with a suitor.

The episode isn't really actively painful but it's boring and silly. I guess 1.5 star, though I could go down to 1.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer