Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Empath"

***1/2

Air date: 12/6/1968
Written by Joyce Muskat
Directed by John Erman

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

A little money can go a long way, which is proved by "The Empath," an episode made on an obvious shoestring budget, but having the style and story strength to pull off something quite moving. Kirk, Spock, and McCoy beam down to a research outpost, but soon find themselves the captives of alien experimenters (Willard Sage and Alan Bergmann) who had killed the missing research scientists. Also captive is a mute alien woman whom Bones names "Gem" (Kathryn Hays), and who possesses the ability to cure another's injuries by absorbing them into herself.

The episode becomes a classic Trekkian test of human qualities when it's revealed that the landing party has been made captive (and is to be subjected to life-threatening injuries) as a way of testing Gem's ability of self-sacrifice. Kirk, Spock, and McCoy each show a selflessness that is respectable, and the two aliens hope Gem will, also.

The money-saving all-black staging and minimized props actually enhance the eerieness of the situation. And without saying a single word, Kathryn Hays brings a powerful empathy to Gem through skillfully exaggerated gestures and facial expressions—an approach that brings a great deal of poignancy to the material. It's a refreshing hour of nice ideas.

Previous episode: Wink of an Eye
Next episode: Elaan of Troyius

Season Index

11 comments on this review

Captain Dippy - Sat, Nov 5, 2011 - 6:51am (USA Central)
I don't agree with all the ratings and that is natural given that I watched these in the 70's reruns and I am sure that the reviewer watched them after the 90's. Different sensibilities at play.
However, "The Empath", to me is the single biggest piece of flotsam that exists in the Star Trek galaxy. All the emoting. All the strained acting.
I get the simplifed set. It really worked in "Spectre of the Gun". However in this episode, it forces a few characters to fill the screen - and they don't. As much as "Eden" was the hippie-with-a-message episode under the guise of being "current", this had to be the art-house episode and as such it rates a 1-time viewing.
If I could scratch that episode on the DVD so that it never plays, I would.
It may have been the pre-cursor to the "Voyager Reset Syndrome".
"Empath" - zero stars.
KokoLeQ - Mon, Feb 20, 2012 - 4:40am (USA Central)
I got yer back, Stubb. It was cheap, and not exactly a complex plot, but there is something about the way "TWS" winds out that always stayed wih me, and is really rather poignant. She is eternally standing guard to protect a world that's been dead for centuries...
:-(
And the Empath? Really?
REALLY?
I read somewhere online a review along the lines of the way that actress (I use the term oh-so-loosely) wafted and grimaced and fluttered and emoted and mimed her way through the episode looked like it was her community college drama class' final project. I simply can't stomach her silent mascara'd close-ups.
Strider - Thu, Jun 28, 2012 - 10:53am (USA Central)
I completely agree about the actress. Just really bad stuff.

There was some satisfaction for me in seeing the 3 sacrifice for and protect each other--that's the kind of thing I like. Other than that, there was a LOT to be annoyed with in this, and I was.
Kioma - Thu, Jun 13, 2013 - 6:15pm (USA Central)
I think Jamahl's review on this is right on.

Definitely agree the budget dictated a lot of the elements of this episode, but also that in this case the minimalism added a great deal to the play, being skillfully integrated into it. Sometimes every element of an episode comes together, and I think this was definitely one of those times.

Here I need to say a few words about the context in which I view this episode and Star Trek in general. I think this is one of the BEST Star Trek episodes because of what Star Trek was all about, and how this episode fits into it. Gene Roddenberry's vision of the future was about a society that had cured or at least managed to tame many of the ills that plague our time. The future society of Star Trek therefore had a great deal of resources and the adventurous will to embark on a 5 year mission, exploring the edges of the known galaxy, which is revealed to still often be a very rough and even vicious place. This is why I feel The Empath is such a great Star Trek episode, because it puts these discongruent but integral elements of the Star Trek universe into direct conflict. As the drama plays out, it reveals exactly what is so hopeful and compelling about Star Trek.

Of course not everybody will be comfortable with those elements of conflict. Some people watch Star Trek more for the western 'shoot-em-up' element, and though our team prevails in the end, teaching the Vaians (sp?) a lesson, anyone looking for phaser bolts and fist fights versus emotion and sacrifice will definitely be disappointed. It is from episodes such as The Empath that Star Trek earned it's 'intellectual' reputation.

Yes, the story itself is told for very different sensibilities from the 21st century - anyone familiar with golden age sci-fi of the 40's and 50's will instantly recognize many elements - but there are also some elements that for their day were revolutionary, such as the pivotal moment of Kirk 'turning the other cheek' and giving the advantage back to the Vaians, along with his scathing appraisal on which the story turns. I found it so easy to get lost in the story, as it were, and let the action carry me along to it's very satisfactory ending.

Bravo Jamahl on your four and a half star rating for this episode, for which I award you four and a half stars. ;)
Mark - Sat, Jun 15, 2013 - 12:48am (USA Central)
As us Brits would say, a real 'Marmite' episode. You either love it or hate it. I'm the former, for me it is wonderful and shows the deep friendship Kirk, Spock and McCoy have for each other better than any other episode.
Lorene - Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - 9:28am (USA Central)
Certainly a lot of bible references in this one: Starts with the scientist on the video tape quoting the Old Testament, then the crucifixion scenes with Kirk and McCoy along with the concept of voluntary self-sacrifice, the test being whether Gem has compassion, and the final scene has Scotty quoting from the New Testament about a "pearl of great price". I enjoy theological ideas as much as anyone, but this just wasn't very interestingly portrayed. 1 star from me.
Nissa - Wed, Nov 13, 2013 - 11:17pm (USA Central)
While the concept of this episode was good, the execution was terrible. The girl in question could not act, Kirk was hamming it up worse than usual, and at times both Spock and McCoy felt off from their usual characterizations. It just feels like the three of the crew would have figured out this situation far sooner than they did. Really, there just wasn't quite enough thinking in this episode for me to agree with Jammer, and I don't feel any urge to ever watch it again.
Alex - Mon, Feb 10, 2014 - 11:54pm (USA Central)
Whether you liked this episode or not, it had a couple of interesting scenes between Spock and McCoy. One is when McCoy stabs Spock in the back with a tranquilizer needle, which seems to catch Spock completely by surprise. And two is when McCoy compliments Spocks on his bedside manner. Those were two A+ moments.
Fred - Sun, Jun 22, 2014 - 6:49pm (USA Central)
How about zero stars? I went through the agony of this episode. Dull. Much of the dark set and bigheads looked more like a higher-class Lost in Space scene.
Low budget? Yep, it looked that way except for the abundance of opticals. The might have been better off recycling The Doomsday Machine or another classic TOS.
The third season is essentially dreadful with Spock's Brain batting leadoff.
William B - Thu, Nov 6, 2014 - 5:06pm (USA Central)
I'm amused by how polarizing this episode seems to be based on these comments, and Jammer's review, and things elsewhere (i.e. the AV Club review gives it a D or something). I sort of agree with some of the criticisms, but ultimately I'm more firmly "love" end of the "love/hate" spectrum.

First of all, on the actress: I agree, to a point, that Kathryn Hays' extreme emoting is perhaps over the top. I think I'd say that her acting style, and in many respects the episode itself, owes a lot to silent film, in which more exaggerated, overdramatized acting was more common. That doesn't necessarily mean her performance is "good," because I think there is a difference between good overemoting and bad overemoting, and here I'll just plead ignorance -- I don't really know how to distinguish between the two. Hays' performance works for me, but I can't really identify why, nor can I really argue with criticisms of her performance.

The episode has something that I associate with other Trek greats like "The Inner Light," though not quite to that extent, in that it deals fairly directly with mortality on a long scale. The solar system is dying. The Vians are going to die along with it. They have the ability to move one species, and have already more or less made the call that it's not going to be them. We are not told explicitly why the Vians don't save themselves with their ability to save one species; there may be some technical reasons why not. But I suspect it's because the Vians start with the premise that they are testing in Gem: they believe that for life to be worthy, beings have to be willing to sacrifice themselves. If the Vians are willing to let other species in the solar system die out and save themselves only, are they really worthy of that salvation? I think it's also, on some level, perhaps even something more haunting -- that the Vians recognize that they have reached the end of their "natural lifespan," and are willing to let themselves die with dignity rather than work to preserve themselves, but they hope that they may contribute something to the rest of the galaxy by saving another species which, in terms of its ability to allow empathy and self-sacrifice in its members, is just in its infancy.

I think that knowledge that the Vians themselves are already, preemptively willing to die, to sacrifice their entire species, is what saves them in my mind from being purely tyrannical or sadists. It is true, what Kirk says, at the episode's end, that they have lost touch with the compassion they are trying to see instilled in Gem. I think it's also worth noting immediately that the Vians don't use one of their own species in this experiment in the role of the humans, for some reason, and that is pretty weird and dark. (My suspicion is that any Vian would be able to simply use their mind to get out of the deadly situation, and it would be difficult to see Gem sacrifice herself for a being so superior to her in mind and power.) But they are also already essentially done with themselves; they are already on another plane of thinking when it comes to self-sacrifice, willing to essentially sacrifice their whole *species* for another species, which is a concept rather beyond Kirk et al.'s reckoning.

One question is, why do they have to prove that Gem is capable of self-sacrifice, in order to save her? I think that the test has something a little similar to Q's testing humanity in TNG: if Gem's species is saved, they will be out in the galaxy, and there will be no Vians to watch over them and to restrict them if they become evil and destructive. In some respects, this is a dying parent testing their child's capacity for goodness before sending them out in the world; it's something that is generally *not* necessary or a good idea at all, but the amount of damage that could be done by an unsupervised species who also have some degree of empathic powers is probably pretty great (if Gem can remove pain, can she instill it?). But mostly, it strikes me that the Vians view their own goodness and sophistication entirely in terms of their (correct, IMO) view that it is good to be willing to sacrifice oneself for another, even while still caring about what's own life. In prioritizing this so much that they are willing to let themselves be killed to save a different species, they are obsessed with it to the point of being unable to conceive of worthiness to survive in any other terms, and so go on to do an experiment which is cruel.

AND YET -- I think the result of the experiment, that Gem learns to sacrifice for another by following the example of Kirk et al., is also a good thing. The episode's structure, following the Vians' design, is pretty effective: first, Kirk et al. try to find a way to escape, thus proving to the audience and to Gem how much they value their lives and their freedom. Then, once the torturous experiments begin, the Big Three start finding ways to sacrifice for each other, demonstrating that in spite of their genuine desire to live and be free, they will put themselves in chains for each other, with no other options available. Without the first section of the attempted escape and the mirages and so forth, their self-sacrifice could be read as a desire to just get death over with.

Gem learns from the humans' example, and the escalation of injuries from relatively minor to life-threatening allows for Gem's willingness to use her powers to increase in proportion. That Gem cannot communicate directly -- she is mute (and may not understand speech at all) -- means that emotional and physical "language" is all she gets; the concept of love, desire to live, pain and self-sacrifice are stripped down to their absolute essentials, and self-sacrifice becomes a literal thing, not protected by a level of displacement or even intellectualism like someone willing to chain themselves up for torture -- which, ultimately, is not *quite* the same thing, since there is at least some possibility that McCoy might have taken the opportunity to get off the cross once he was on it, and that his resolve was based on the fact that his decision was made by him while *not* in pain. Like the episode's stripped-down, black background look, Gem's self-sacrifice is more literal, direct, stripped of all but the essential act. And, of course, when she's ready to Give All, McCoy stops her, because humans, at least some of them, are too good at this thing. Along similar lines, the element of self-sacrifice is certainly in the Vians, but they have stopped *feeling* it directly -- their survival instinct has withered at least a little bit, and their intellectual willingnes to die as a species is not quite the same thing as *feeling* the pain and certainty of their death; that they don't "feel" Gem's certainty that she is going to die and willingness to go to it, and only look for external signs of it, is a sign of their intellectualism and disconnection from their own emotion and life-urge.

There is thus a spectrum of sorts between the Vians on the one hand, and Gem on the other -- from intellect and Big Picture thinking to emotion/body and the intimate -- with Kirk et al. in the middle. For the record, I think Spock is closer to the Vians and McCoy closer to Gem, in the show's usual intellect to emotion spectrum; McCoy is the one who names Gem, and Spock is the one who figures out the Vians' mind-controlled devices, after all. Anyway, they teach Gem to think beyond herself and the moment -- to be able to feel the pain outside her own body. And they teach the Vians that the Big Picture fate of entire species is blinding them to what is going on in their very own room. Lessons all around. In the process, the Vians help communicate to the crew and the audience a sense of grace and even dignity in the acceptance of death, on a long enough time scale, and willingness to use one's last days to try to find another species to save, and Gem helps communicate the actual agony of moment-to-moment existence. Group and individual, mind and feelings/body.

I think the episode is indeed a bit slow, but I really like it quite a bit. I'd also say 3.5 stars.
William B - Thu, Nov 6, 2014 - 5:22pm (USA Central)
For fun and since it's such a slow process watching season three, a halfway point breakdown. I feel like a few episodes are worth marking down at this point.

episodes ranked from best to worst IMO:

1. The Enterprise Incident (4)
2. The Empath (3.5)
3. The Tholian Web (3)
4. Is There In Truth No Beauty? (3)
5. Day of the Dove (3)
6. Spectre of the Gun (2.5)
7. Plato's Stepchildren (2.5)
8. For the World is Hollow... (2)
9. Wink of an Eye (1.5 -- marking this down too)
10. The Paradise Syndrome (1.5 -- also marking down)
11. Spock's Brain (.5)
12. And the Children Shall Lead (.5)

So with a median of 2.5 stars and a mean of 2 3/8, that's actually surprisingly not-terrible. I do still feel pretty disappointed by the first half of this season, and I'm more annoyed by eps like "For the World is Hollow...," "Wink of an Eye" and "The Paradise Syndrome" than "Spock's Brain" and "And the Children Shall Lead," because they had some degree of potential to work and do on some level, and yet just fall apart into a boring mess. "For the World is Hollow," especially, is *almost* a decent Bones story for some of its running time, and then it isn't. Anyway, (having only rewatched "Elaan of Troyius" and "Whom Gods Destroy" already) I suspect that the second half of the season will be much worse -- though at least there's "All Your Yesterdays" and a few others to look forward to...

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer