Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"Day of the Dove"

***

Air date: 11/1/1968
Written by Jerome Bixby
Directed by Marvin Chomsky

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

The mutual distrust between the Klingons and the Federation becomes the center of attention for Kirk when he takes Klingon prisoners aboard the Enterprise for trespassing in Federation space and attacking a Federation outpost. Once aboard the ship, an alien entity that thrives on hostility allows the opposing forces to lock into a repetitive cycle of combat—allowing an equal number of Kirk's men for every Klingon on board to fight above decks in a sort of arena of violence.

"Day of the Dove" isn't great, but it's good—showing more promise than many third-season offerings. Michael Ansara as Kang provides a good adversary for Kirk, as the distrust between the two sides elevates into an all-out battle of swordplay, courtesy of the animosity-inducing alien presence.

The "violence is bad" message is pretty obvious, but it manages to work fairly well in the story's context. I particularly liked the scene where Kirk and his crew come to realize that they're feeding off racially motivated hatred, even if it was a little overplayed. The end provides a classic Trek solution, where the two sides end hostilities to be rid of the alien entity's cycle of pointless bloodshed. Not groundbreaking, but respectable.

Previous episode: Spectre of the Gun
Next episode: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Season Index

10 comments on this review

Paul - Mon, Nov 26, 2012 - 11:24am (USA Central)
Just caught this one the other day. One of the funniest things is spotting the normal TOS extras (the guy who alternates with Chekov/Sulu, Spock's stand-in, the big guy who was Kirk's bodyguard in "Mirror, Mirror") appear as Klingons.

It's a pretty good episode, though I couldn't quite figure out why the alien's ability to mess with people worked faster on some people than others. Chekov is almost instantly affected, then McCoy, then Kirk, Spock and Scotty.

And was there actually a colony on Beta XII-A?
Brundledan - Wed, May 29, 2013 - 2:59am (USA Central)
What if they gave a war and no one came?
Adara - Tue, Oct 29, 2013 - 2:21am (USA Central)
This is a 4-star episode IMHO. An away team redshirt made it through an entire episode without dying, the foundation for what the Klingons became was laid out, we saw the first site-to-site transport, and the sword fighting scenes were classic. What's not to love?
NoPoet - Fri, Dec 13, 2013 - 2:14am (USA Central)
I haven't seen this episode yet, but I wonder why nobody complains about repetitive storylines in TOS when people were ravaging Voyager every week. TOS had two tricks: stick an away team in a recreation of Earth's past, and have supreme beings making everyone fight each other. It's a bit like Time Team crossed with a bunch of schoolboys who put a wasp in a jar with a load of ants.
Moonie - Sat, Feb 15, 2014 - 12:23pm (USA Central)
@ NoPoet, this s exactly why I'm having so much trouble with season 3 of TOS. I've seen too many of the same plots and at this point, they just leave me cold.
Jo Jo Meastro - Mon, Feb 17, 2014 - 4:42am (USA Central)
I pretty much fully agree with the review; good and a very respectable effort, but not quite ground breaking.

Although I do think the episode deserves some brownie points for giving us a memorable Klingon villain with genuine charisma, depth of character and intelligence (TOS Klingons normally lack all three!). And praise for the effective anti-war sentiment showing us the hideous nature of hatred and those in power who feed on it.

3 stars is my rating too. One scene which really surprised me was when Checkov nearly raped Kangs' wife, I didn't think TOS could go that dark! A scene showing Checkovs' remorse and apology for that incident would have been nice even if he wasn't in control of his actions, it would make for a good character moment.
Adam - Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - 3:30am (USA Central)
Although I enjoy TOS , NoPoet is right. There are an awful lot of 'superior being judging humanity and/or making them fight each other' plots, and 'going into the past , in whatever era we have standing sets on the Paramount lot' plots
Alex - Sun, Mar 16, 2014 - 1:13am (USA Central)
I agree with NoPoet about TOS in general. It's a dated show with it's share of shortcomings. This episode, however, is one of its best as far as I'm concerned. It also reminded me a bit of the DS9 episode "Battle Lines" as well perhaps "The Last Outpost". Plus we also got to see Klingon women for the first time. Fun episode.

One minor detail that threw me off was when the Enterprise fired on the damaged Klingon ship and destroyed it. Why did this need to happen? My impression was that this action would backfire since the evidence of the initial attack on the Klingon ship would be destroyed, thus increasing the suspicion that it was a Federation attack. Of course, it didn't play out that way.
NCC-1701-Z - Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - 4:47pm (USA Central)
@Alex I think Scotty mentioned in dialogue that the Klingon ship was emitting too much radiation and becoming a danger to the area.
Jerry - Wed, Apr 16, 2014 - 3:01pm (USA Central)
I agree with the 3 / 4 stars given. I think Michael Ansara was one of the high points of the episode, and the other was the 2nd most famous Klingon proverb - Only a Fool Fights in a Burning House.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer