Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"And the Children Shall Lead"

1/2

Air date: 10/11/1968
Written by Edward J. Lakso
Directed by Marvin Chomsky

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

The crew discovers that the members of a research colony have been killed by an unknown force, the only survivors being their children, who are remarkably devoid of grief over their parents' deaths. Once beamed aboard the Enterprise, these children exhibit a bizarre power over the crew, inducing hallucination and mental incapacitation in their victims. It turns out that an alien entity named Gorgan (Melvin Belii) is using the children to hijack the starship so he can consume more worlds and cause more death for his own evil purposes. Bwahahaha.

"And the Children Shall Lead"—that is, lead this episode straight into the gutter. A dismally frustrating, repetitive, and bland hour, we're forced to watch five children take over the ship in extremely uninteresting ways, making the crew look helpless (who wants to see that, anyway?). The "magic pump-fist action" gets really, really goofy, becoming what feels like a lame parlor trick. Melvin Belii is terrible as the completely uninteresting Gorgan, reciting his lines like a robot. Meanwhile, Bones has the thankless role of telling Kirk every five or ten minutes that these children have to be treated with kid gloves in order to prevent psychological damage. Funny, you'd think their helping an evil alien that murdered their parents might already have done that.

The one potentially promising aspect of the episode—playing off the crew's fears—is not utilized the least bit effectively. This is an episode created on autopilot, lacking any and all sense of inspiration. At least "Spock's Brain's" level of badness made it somewhat amusing. This episode is simply dull to the point of being unwatchable.

Previous episode: The Paradise Syndrome
Next episode: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Season Index

12 comments on this review

Paul - Mon, Apr 9, 2012 - 5:25pm (USA Central)
Worst episode of TOS. Perhaps the worst in the history of the franchise.
Lanku - Sun, May 20, 2012 - 11:15am (USA Central)
Absolutely worst episode I've ever seen, completely disregarding the fact tat it made no sense. On the planet, Spock cannot feel the anxiety that was influencing the other humans, making it seem as though he was immune to the effects, and then all of a sudden he was magically compromised? This episode totally ignores all of the star trek conventions and blasts the whole crew into a pit of stupidity. The fact that the red shirts questioned and even attacked Scotty, Uhura not being able to make a call because she appeared ugly, Sulu pushing the captain out of the way for fear of magical sword rays that for some reason would magically destroy a ship made to survive space travel.... It's like some random person heard of the show through word of mouth and wrote an episode about it based of lies and superstition. This had a potential (however vague) to be an interesting episode, but that was completely blasted out of existence by the writer, and not even the actors or the director could have honestly saved it.
The Lady in Black - Sun, May 20, 2012 - 11:23am (USA Central)
This episode would have been a lot quicker if Spock had just used his vulcan sleepy grip.... there were SEVERAL places and times when I was just screaming at the scream for him to do it.
NCC-1701-Z - Wed, Mar 20, 2013 - 11:56pm (USA Central)
Lamest. Red. Shirt. Deaths. Ever.

That's all I care to say. At least there was some snark value when the redshirt got shot by a flower in "The Apple".
Adara - Sun, Oct 27, 2013 - 11:21pm (USA Central)
The whole time I just wanted to yell at them, "Put the children in the brig!"
Ben Masters - Wed, Nov 27, 2013 - 4:41am (USA Central)
Much as I dislike admitting it, I have to agree with the review and all the comments. I just wanted to get through it and move on. Not even the remastering could save this turkey!
SpyTV - Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - 1:11am (USA Central)
Just terrible. One of the worst Star Trek episodes (any series).
michael - Sat, Feb 8, 2014 - 8:42pm (USA Central)
I never watch this episode. It has every story element I dislike. A simple villain who is just merely the embodiment of evil--how easy is that?, tedious wooden children and the crew succumbing to mind control. Mind control plots are just such a lazy way to make your characters do things without worrying if there's a believable motive.

And Kirk's solution is so simple it destroys any credibility that evil really had such an iron grip on these kids anyway.
Adam - Sat, Feb 22, 2014 - 5:20pm (USA Central)
This is not only the worst episode of TOS, but probably of the entire franchise
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014 - 9:21pm (USA Central)
Wow, never knew this ep was so hated. I actually always liked this one.

Not the best but a good middle of pack. To each his own I guess.
Peace of Landru - Mon, Apr 28, 2014 - 12:37am (USA Central)
This whole episode is so unbelievably bad, easily my most disliked episode of Star Trek. Aside from all that's been already noted, a few others I'll point out,
1. The kids have just been witness to severe psychological trauma, yet they have access to the bridge. Is there no security on he ship?
2. Same point for engineering. Why do they have access to such key areas of the ship?
3. This one really bugs me - 3 years in space, and Kirk calls Sulu "helmsman." Wut? Seriously?
4. Every time something weird happens, a kid is present doing the magical fist pump action. Uh, so stun the kids or put them in the brig.
5. Seems like there should be a lot more safety protocols in place so that you can't beam someone to the middle of nowhere.
6. Gorgon - the fat, glowing, old kook delivering lines in a robotic monotone - NOT scary. Just stupid.

Lastly, and most important, I just want to smack that ginger kid so freaking bad.

This episode plain sucks. Remastering didn't improve it any.
DutchStudent82 - Fri, May 2, 2014 - 6:08pm (USA Central)
I totally agree with all calling this episode bad.

While it at LEAST include
*an alien planet or ship
*an alien being
*some unknown techology or power
(and thats more than can be said from most TOS series)

they make YET AGAIN the mistake of making the alien look human (come on!) and make this a drama play.

But even than, there are the MAYOR plotholes :

-the children SEE their parents dead perhaps even see them being killed, and are totally fine with than, yet when they rewatch it on tape, suddenly they have a change of hearth?

-Children who are willfulling killing their own parents, and are fully willing to kill all adults on a whole planet, just to gain adult rights before actually being an adult, and hence are complete psychopats, suddenly turn back in totally fine kids after seeing 1 videotape, rather than needing severe psychotherapy?

-Even how ridiculous the air-fist power may be
(it gets on my nerves almost as much as the equally corky "no-bam-bam" from earlier episode)
when kirk sees it performs as does spock, they both don't do a think to stop it?
Yes in the end they conclude KILL THE KIDS, but really could one not have drawn that conclusion much earlier? or at very least stun them all?

-they dont check the actual cordinates where they just beamed 2 people to?? how about checking where you beam people too before beaming, seems like standard protocol to me??

-you just have something that killed many adults, and kids behaving like psychopaths, but you just bring them aboard? ever heard of quarantine untill the cause was found?

-you see a field full of dead humans, on an alien world, but you walk around without rubber gloves or other sensable protection, and even rub inside their wounds, smell their breath, and all? thats a REALLY good way to spread infections! again protocol?

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer