Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"Wolf in the Fold"

***

Air date: 12/22/1967
Written by Robert Bloch
Directed by Joseph Pevney

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

In a Trek murder mystery of galactic proportions, a series of killings on the hedonistic world Argelius II puts Scotty in the middle when he becomes the prime suspect. Worse yet, he can't even remember if he was responsible for the killings or not—he suffers from blackouts and memory loss at the instant of two of the three killings. As for the third murder ... he's certain it wasn't him—and had noticed a strange presence in the room after, as they say, the lights went out. The search for the truth eventually heads back to the Enterprise, where effective use of lie-detector equipment and extensive computer databases eventually leads to the uncovering of another suspect: the Argelian administrator Hengist (John Fledler).

This episode makes for a solid, interesting murder investigation with a few neat twists—including the revelation that the murderer is an alien entity that has jumped from body to body and planet to planet for centuries in its quest to feed upon other people's terror. At one point, the story explains, this presence even manifested itself as Earth's Jack the Ripper.

Although the plot is a little on the fantastic side, and Scotty's blackouts are never explained, the story pulls itself together nicely as Kirk and Spock find the vital clues in the database. I must admit, however, that the light-and-chummy ending seems a little out of place in an episode where confronting "ultimate evil" is a major theme.

Previous episode: Obsession
Next episode: The Trouble With Tribbles

Season Index

7 comments on this review

Mike Meares - Sat, Jul 9, 2011 - 9:59pm (USA Central)
Although, I generally believe Jammer's reviews of the second season are good ones, I take exception with the Wolf in the Fold rating of three stars.

I think it is a very weak episode and contains many weaknesses.

The main problem with the story is the way women are portrayed. The role of women in Star Trek was always a little weak, but in Wolf in the Wolf it is out and out chauvinism.

I always had a problem with Star Trek stories that tried to say Scotty was a womanizer, which I feel was stupid. I just never beleived that Scotty would have behaved like that.

And for Captain Kirk to say that the best way to "heal" a man under his command was to set him up with the nearest woman was beyond belief. And for Dr. McCoy to go along with the plan only compounded the problem.

And then to make matters worse Mr. Spock jumped on the male chauvinist band wagon when he explained about the entity that was killing women, "And I suspect it preys on women because women are more easily and more deeply terrified, generating more sheer horror than the male of the species." This was the most rankest form of male chauvinism and something I do not beleive Mr. Spock would have ever said. It isn't logical.

Near the end of the story instead of taking control of Captain Kirk or Mr. Spock, which would have been the logically thing to do, the entity choose the weakest people to inhabit. Nothing about this story made sesne.

Wolf in the Fold was actually a sheep in wolf's clothing.

Paul - Tue, Nov 29, 2011 - 6:14pm (USA Central)
I liked the review of Wolf in the Fold, but had to comment about its light hearted ending. If you want inappropriate levity, look at the Galileo 7 episode. Several crewman have died, Spocks command abilities on the planet were lacking and yet the final scene is a rip-roaring, rib tackling laughter session. If this was vaudeville, they be rolling on the floor or slapping each other on the back. Its almost as if the deaths and so on were irrelevant.
terri - Thu, Aug 2, 2012 - 6:33am (USA Central)
WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!!!
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
Piglet was Jack the Ripper? It's always the one you least suspect, isn't it?
Chris L - Thu, Feb 7, 2013 - 11:57pm (USA Central)
This one produced a moment of unintentional humor the first time my wife and I watched it together. There is a scene on the ship where the killer is revealed and a fight ensues. The character was being played by a short (not much over 5 feet I'd say) actor, but the stunt double in the fight was well over 6 feet tall. This discrepancy led to my wife (who didn't know about the limits of 1960's TV production) to shout "Look honey, he's changing!" After I stopped laughing, I explained to her that it was a problem of bad editing, though her idea would have been a lot cooler. Yes, bad editing can be funny.
Plain Simple - Tue, Apr 23, 2013 - 5:26pm (USA Central)
Although this episode overall was reasonable entertaining, I too was bothered by the multiple instances of sexism Mike Meares points out above.

One thing I do like about the murder mystery side of things, is that early on they put in a subtle hint, which they never come back to and thus leave it up to the viewer to pick up on it or not. Either that, or it was an unintentional slip up by the writer(s). After the second murder when Hengist tries to put the blame on Scotty he says that Scotty was found with both the victims when they were found. But how would he know that Scotty was with the second victim? No one told him that yet at that point, I think? Subtle clue or inconsistent writing?
Moonie - Sun, Dec 1, 2013 - 10:02am (USA Central)
One of those annoying episodes full of blatant sexism.

I keep hearing that TOS was so far ahead of its time, well maybe it was, in some ways, but the writers certainly lacked imagination when it came to womens' roles.

Depressing.

Corey - Wed, Apr 23, 2014 - 7:25am (USA Central)
As others have noted, this is a pretty great and tense episode, but the sexism displayed by the Enterprise crew is disgusting (the entire season is sex obsessed), especially in light of the episode's broader story, which is ABOUT the sexism and violence of a crazy serial killer. In essense, the good guys are portrayed as being no better than the bad guy, but we're positioned to accept this because they're only "casually sexist" and dont kill people. Oh my.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer