Star Trek: The Original Series

"A Piece of the Action"

***1/2

Air date: 1/12/1968
Teleplay by David P. Harmon and Gene L. Coon
Story by David P. Harmon
Directed by James Komack

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

A Prime Directive issue becomes a lively comic piece when the landing party beams down to a planet to correct the social damage inflicted upon the culture, which is based on the Chicago gangsters of the 1920s because of a single book left behind by a Federation starship a century before.

Unfortunately, after beaming down, Kirk & Co. constantly find themselves on the business end of several machine guns, in the middle of the war between leading gangsters Bela Oxmyx (Anthony Caruso) and Jojo Krako (Victor Tayback), who both want a supply of Kirk's "heaters" (phasers).

The running gag of Kirk and Spock getting guns pulled on them proves quite amusing; every time it looks like they've gained the upper hand, ka-chack—two more goons with guns. Meanwhile, we get to see Kirk and Spock in gangster suits, a hilarious game of "Fizzbin," Spock saying "Check!", and Kirk in full role-playing mode, chewing the scenery in some genuinely funny scenes as he tries to work out everybody's piece of the action. It's an enjoyable gem with sharp dialog and good timing, as well as an undercurrent that still manages to say something relevant about intervening in other societies.

Previous episode: The Gamesters of Triskelion
Next episode: The Immunity Syndrome

◄ Season Index

9 comments on this review

mike
Thu, May 2, 2013, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
You pretty lose track of how many times Kirk, Spock and McCoy get the upper hand on the gangsters or vice-versa. Guess you just have watch whose holding the tommy gun at any given moment. No matter. This is just one of those fun comedic dress up episodes. It really gets going when Kirk throws reason and protocol out the window and he just cuts a deal like a gangster complete with a suddenly proficient Chicago accent. Sharp suits, gangster slang and a Vulcan trying gamely to keep up his part of the improvisation. What's not to like? It's all just great fun like The Trouble With Tribbles.
Moonie
Sat, Jan 4, 2014, 4:28pm (UTC -6)
Generally I dislike episodes where our heroes end up on planets that look like earth at various times so I didn't expect I would enjoy this episode. But, what a pleasant surprise, I did! It was pure comedy gold. From Kirk's lackluster driving skills to him talking like a 1920s gangster - highly entertaining and very very funny.
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Ditto, "spocko".
Ian
Wed, Jun 4, 2014, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Not a bad episode not great either. It's entertaining in all of its silliness. I'm usually not a fan of TOS episodes were Kirk and company clown around in some facsimile of earth's past. I realize they did it for budget reasons. The creative staff would basically event a story that would allow an episode to be filmed on whatever sets that were lying around the Paramount lot at the time. So I can't be too harsh on it.
Grumpy
Mon, Aug 11, 2014, 12:34am (UTC -6)
Too late to meet the 1992 publication date, but the market still has room for a book about Chicago mobs of the 1920s that not only is morally ambivalent or outright admiring of the gangsters' outlaw but also -- and this is important -- contains blueprints for fabricating all the buildings, clothing, vehicles, and weapons necessary to emulate them, plus a primer on their slanguage.

Of course, for all we know, Iotia was already mostly a parallel for 20th century Earth before Horizon visited. Wouldn't be the first time.
DSL
Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:53am (UTC -6)
My favorite part of of this episode, and I'm not sure the scene survives the syndication cuts every time:
Kirk's on the blower -- sorry, communicator -- to Scotty and he's outlining the telephone-transporter scam about to be pulled.
Camera angle is on Scotty standing next to the captain's chair, Uhura visible behind him at her console.
As Kirk outlines the scam and what it entails from the Enterprise's end, Scotty's not quite catching on -- but Uhura is. And the delighted and satisfied grin that slowly spreads across Uhura's face is priceless.
Pam
Thu, Jan 14, 2016, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Ouch. I guess I stand alone on this one. I found the plot aimless yet repetitive, and the ganster theme just annoying. The only good part was the game of "Fizzbin." Spock, as usual, was used to good effect, but no one else was. DeForrest Kelley actually looked embarassed to be in several of the scenes. When I saw the three and a half star rating Jammer gave it, I was looking forward to this. Unfortunately, it did not hold up. Not nearly as much fun, nor as clever, as "The Trouble With Tribbles."
wanderer2575
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Pam, you're not alone. I just saw this one again and thought it was insipid. Yes, there were some cute comic moments. But the whole "who's got the upper hand" changing every five minutes isn't an amusing running gag; it drained any momentum and plausibility from the plot. Worst of all is when suddenly it's The End and we have (a) no resolution to the planetary situation which set this whole thing up in the first place and (b) an additional Prime Directive issue because of an irrelevant piece of goofiness -- McCoy left his communicator behind. Kirk cracks a funny and we cut to credits. So WTF was the point of the whole story?
Skeptical
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
I know this is generally considered a good episode, but even with that in mind, I think this is still a guilty pleasure of mine. One of my favorite episodes. There's a lot of cliches about the original series, things like cheap sets, silly period costumes, and human-like aliens. Usually, those stories tend to be the dumb ones, but this is an exception. Sure, the 20s gangster set was probably used to save money with something CBS or Desilu or whoever had on hand, but thankfully the plot was actually quite clever and ends up being perhaps the best Prime Directive piece in the series, perhaps of all the shows. And the use of the gangster atmosphere gave it a wonderful sense of levity and humor to keep the pace moving and enjoyable the entire way through.

Don't get me wrong, there's obviously a giant logical leap here. One would assume the book left behind didn't have so much detail as to describe the suits, the accents, the intricacies of how Tommy guns work, to say nothing of 1920s style and architecture. And the throwaway line that the aliens are very imitative still makes it hard to swallow that they would radically change that much. But who cares? It set up an interesting plot, so I can willingly suspend disbelief for the sake of the action.

On the Prime Directive side, this works better than the "dying peoples" storylines. We see how something as simple as a book can contaminate a culture. Yes, this is an extreme example, but if they assumed that that book was how the Federation actually operated, and they saw how advanced the Federation actually was, maybe they would try to incorporate those ideals into their life. It's interesting, too, that the problem isn't actually interference in this case, but rather limited interference. If the Horizon stayed behind and talked to the Iotians more, they would certainly explain to them that this culture is just one of many that sprung up on Earth, that was a short lived culture, and is certainly not one that should be emulated. If the Federation decided to be fully invested in this planet (as they are after Kirk's visit), then there could certainly be some positive ramifications. But a fly-by visit? We can see how the lack of full communication could cause the other culture to get some wrong ideas. And so one could argue that unless the Federation was interested in a permanent presence on this planet, it is better to simply stay away entirely. It does not fully justify the Prime Directive, but that's ok. It tells one little piece of the Prime Directive story, and does it well.

And one reason why it does it well is because it's in the background. We don't get into a philosophical debate on the PD like what seems to happen too often. Instead, the situation is presented simply: these people were contaminated, and we can see pretty quickly that the contamination is a negative. Instead, the plot is, besides all the twists and turns of who has the drop on who, about Kirk trying to find a way past this mess and to get it to work. I'm a bit confused about wanderer's statement that there was no resolution; I thought the resolution was very clever. We saw that scene where the two women complain about services while pointing out that they pay their cut. It showed Kirk that, as messed up as the situation is, the Iotians were making it work somehow, and that things were still functioning. It showed that the mob bosses were actually performing as a government. We also see that both Oksmyx and Krako did have grander aspirations, and we could see why Kirk thought he could use them. And naturally, given the reverence the people had for The Book, any reversion to normal would have to be gradual. Kirk couldn't just give a speech and expect everyone to abandon their ways. So his subtle solution, to basically declare that he is the top mob boss and that the rest of them would have to work together to give him his cut, serves the primary purpose of unifying the people and stopping all the "hits". The secondary goal, moving away from a gangster culture, would take more time, and Kirk even got a head start on it by basically creating a tax that would be reinvested in changing their status. I'm not necessarily on board with the solution, but it is in fact a resolution to the story. And a good one. It solved both of the two major plot issues (Kirk must fix what once was wrong, and Kirk must outwit the two mob bosses) quite effectively.

And yeah, it was funny. Shatner, Nimoy, everyone seemed to be at their best here. The levity involved made the obviously silly concept a lot of fun to watch, and the jokes and humorous moments hold up well I think. I even like Spock's grimace at the end when Kirk declares that his solution was completely logical. Like he didn't want to admit Kirk might have had a point. Especially since he was probably embarrassed about the whole outing the entire time. Well, he may have been mortified at having to dress as a gangster and talk in slang, but his loss was our gain.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.