Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Omega Glory"

*

Air date: 3/1/1968
Written by Gene Roddenberry
Directed by Vincent McEveety

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Kirk, Spock, McCoy and a doomed red-shirt beam down to investigate a Prime Directive issue when they believe Captain Tracey (Morgan Woodward) has used his phaser to help a group of people called the "Kohms" in their slaughter of the barbaric "Yangs."

Potentially interesting, "The Omega Glory" quickly degenerates into wretched excess, the first of many problems being the extreme to which the insane Tracey takes his treachery against Kirk, even when the rationale for it disappears. This episode is one of the most colossally huge messes I've ever seen on Trek. This is a plot that prompts one to start scanning the screen for the kitchen sink, and specializes in out-and-out incoherence. The attempt to politicize the material proves inept—the Yangs (Yankees) versus the Kohms (Communists) requires a leap of credulous faith I'm not willing to take. The "parallel Earth" arguments are dubious, to say the least, but when it goes so far as to use the American flag and the Constitution as symbols of an alien ideology gone wrong, it becomes preposterously overly patriotic—especially through Kirk's final speech.

All meaning is lost in a sea of seemingly random ideas posing as allegory, none of which is slightly believable on one very important level—the story's surface. Gene Roddenberry may be known for many things, but one would hope he's not known for writing "The Omega Glory."

Previous episode: By Any Other Name
Next episode: The Ultimate Computer

Season Index

12 comments on this review

John Pate - Tue, Dec 1, 2009 - 3:57pm (USA Central)
The Omega Glory - surely that should get minus 4. How did it get even 1?!
LWG - Sun, Jul 11, 2010 - 1:28am (USA Central)
The Omega Glory wasn't that bad of an episode. It was a decent one that was just tragically overshadowed by an awful ending. I'm an American and I love my country, but when I saw them bring out the flag I couldn't help but roll my eyes and say, "This has no place on Trek".
Looking past that though, the character interaction and dialogue was alright. It had the token redshirt death, good fight scenes with accompanying soundtrack, and an interesting nemesis for Kirk in Captain Tracey, who manages to best him in a fight (initially). Definitely one of the better guest appearances. The plot did hold together well enough until the aformentioned lame ending; I wasn't bored watching this one like I have been with some episodes. I also thought it was kind of funny how after Kirk and Spock escape and subdue the guard, meeting up with McCoy, he just says "Good morning, Jim" as he was expecting them all along. Any episode that makes good use of that trio has at least something going for it.
Destructor - Tue, Jan 18, 2011 - 4:27pm (USA Central)
I have to agree with John Pate- TOG is just the worst episode of Star Trek. I'm currently re-watching the whole series and that will be the ONLY episode I intend to skip over- it's just that bad.
Mike Meares - Sat, Jan 22, 2011 - 10:32pm (USA Central)
I have to admit when I first watched The Omega Glory in 1968 I liked it. However, over the years of rewatching the first two years of The Orginal Series I have come to realize it is a very poor episode. To even think that another planet could develop into two cultures like the Americans and the Chinese is too far fetched. And to have Kirk side with the whites against the yellows smacks of racism. I can barely believe this was one of the orginal stories that was proposed for the second pilot. Gene should have left this story on the shelf.
Stubb - Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 1:56pm (USA Central)
Also, one Redshirt quibble: Lt. Galloway (David Ross) in "Omega Glory" is NOT just another doomed Redshirt. He starred in several other episodes, including "A Taste Of Armageddon".
Strider - Tue, Jun 19, 2012 - 9:42am (USA Central)
I agree with the comment about the good use of the 3-some, but this whole thing felt to me like 15 minutes of plot stretched over 50 minutes. Even with the 3 men I like, they aren't really in character. Spock's comments in that whole jail scene were sarcastic and juvenile--so out of character. Spock was just off for the whole episode.

And isn't this like the 3rd ENTIRE starship whose crew was ENTIRELY destroyed? How can Star Fleet bear the loss of 1500 crew or more in just a few short years? And since when can Spock plant thoughts in people's heads without touching them? And how do people with spears and swords overcome people with phasers--why don't they use the stun setting? And now we know that the ship can stun the whole planet--why not just stun the planet and beam up the landing party? And why couldn't Spock or McCoy just tell the Yangs where Spock's heart was--"it's not there; it's over here!" And then Kirk performing the Constitution...wow.

I don't know...so many crazy weird things in here. So much lack of character consistency.
Corey - Thu, Mar 28, 2013 - 8:12pm (USA Central)
It's not nearly that bad. The camera work is more intimate, and it was during the Cold War era and a spurt of pride for the USA during the time. It might be a tad hokey but still, it's not that bad at all. Cpt. Tracey was a great antagonist. It also made spiritual hokum look downright silly, which I'm a huge fan of!
mike - Thu, May 2, 2013 - 11:50am (USA Central)
The only word that comes to mind is ridiculous. The American flag AND the Constitution on an alien world? I understand that this has to be seen in context with the times -- the Viet Nam years-- but this episode begs too much to be allegorical. Especially irritating, Shatner has taken his hammy acting so far over the line at the end that he is actually a parody of himself. Spock should have nerve pinched him.
Moonie - Wed, Jan 8, 2014 - 10:32am (USA Central)
Oh my.
Dan A. - Thu, Feb 20, 2014 - 8:23pm (USA Central)
I really thought an episode where primitives worshiped their flag, the Constitution, and intertwined both with their bible, was basically just misinterpreted. Think about it, this could reasonably be a lost colony, not parallel society.
Seem to recall they also treated any source of science and logic as demonic.

This is obviously Gene speculating on the far end of patriotism blending with religion in a retrograde society. Either that, or it was the foretelling of the Tea Party.
dgalvan - Wed, May 14, 2014 - 2:34pm (USA Central)
This episode had several really good ideas which were hamstrung by poor execution.

---------------
Likes:

*The concept of original ideals (the constitution) being misunderstood/misinterpreted by distant future generations was cool and interesting, IMO. It sort of hearkened back to "planet of the apes" style of post apocalyptic story telling.

The plot about trying to find the serum (fountain of youth), and then it turning out that the people live longer on that planet simply due to natural selection, was good as well. That explained (at least on a surface, sci-fi level of believability) why you couldn't extract a serum that gave people long life. Just like we humans can't just make a serum from turtles or trees that makes us live as long as them.

---------------
Dislikes:

*The biggest problem was that it required too big a suspension of disbelief regarding the "parallel Earth" being so exactly like our Earth in that this planet even had the same exact American flag and the same U.S. constitution, word for word. I kept waiting for the explanation: ("oh and by the way a time-traveling star fleet ship accidentally went back in time and delivered the U.S. constitution and Flag to this planet"). But it never came! Roddenberry meant for us to just believe that this planet developed identically to Earth, including the creation of the United States of America. I mean, if he wanted to do that he could have used time travel in this episode and sent the Enterprise into an alternate future Earth. Or he could have just had all the same themes, but not have the exact flag and verbatim constitution. . . instead something that was recognizably analogous but not identical, having developed on a different planet and all.

*And, yeah, there was probably too much plot for one episode, but IMO it could have still been a great episode if the above problem had been corrected.
dgalvan - Wed, May 14, 2014 - 2:41pm (USA Central)
I also notice the trend that Strider mentioned above:

several episodes this season had the basic formula:
Enterprise goes to planet where previous Earth-based ship had been, with original crew meeting demise somehow, and the surviving crew members playing a role in the indigenous society.
-Omega Glory (other star fleet captain participates in fight between factions.)
-Patterns of Force (Federation historian crafts society based on Nazi Earth)
-Bread and Circuses (Freighter ship captain becoming First Citizen in modern-day-Rome society)

With three formulaic episodes, I think this counts as another Trek stereotype right up there with Kirk outsmarting a computer!

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer