Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Squire of Gothos"

2 stars

Air date: 1/12/1967
Written by Paul Schneider
Directed by Don McDougall

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

The Enterprise is snagged by an unknown force near a barren planet, and Sulu and the captain are kidnapped. Upon beaming down to search for them, the landing party finds itself the unwilling guests of the quirky Trelane (William Campbell), a strange lifeform with unusual powers and particular tastes for being amused.

"The Squire of Gothos" is a lot like its central character Trelane: It can be fun to watch but it's ultimately undisciplined and meandering. The story provides Kirk with one obstacle after another, as he and Trelane become adversaries in a series of potentially deadly games, but few of these gimmicks enhance the storyline. More is not better. Also, this episode isn't sure if it's out-and-out comedy or something more relevant.

The ending sequence is overly obvious and overlong, with a theme (a powerful being turns out to have the mind of a child) that is little more than a rehash of the far superior "Charlie X," which had a far more sympathetic antagonist. Sure, some of the gimmicks are interesting, and Campbell does a good job with a selfish character, but it's not enough.

Previous episode: The Galileo Seven
Next episode: Arena

◄ Season Index

14 comments on this review

Kang
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
I've been reading through your reviews, Jammer, and once again you've got this one pretty spot on. Personally, I'd probably add half a star as it kept me consistently entertained. There's no real depth or substance here aside from the basic theme that intelligence and power without discipline is destructive, which is applied pretty obviously. It's obvious that Gene Roddenberry drew Q from the character from Trelane, but I actually prefer The Squire of Gothos to Encounter at Farpoint, due to EaT being "a little all over the place". My major criticism of this episode would be the ending. I thought it was just a little overdone, with Trelane literally acting like a spoiled little brat. It kind of reminds me of the ending of Day of the Dove, where the crew members and Klingon's break in to bouts of laughter to rid the ship of a disruptive entity; not an episode breaker, but it did leave me with a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.
Adara
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 2:19am (UTC -6)
It's Melllvar!
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Review is pretty much dead on except I would not give it 2 stars... Maybe not even 1.
Thelia
Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:29am (UTC -6)
I have to point out that ya'll are saying that Trelane "had the mind of a child'and was "acting like a spoiled little brat",when in fact,Trelane WAS a child. His parents showed up and apologized for their child's selfish and immature behavior and even went so far as to assure Kirk that he would be punished for his bad behavior. The female parental figure even takes some of the blame saying they "spoiled" him. I think this justifies the characters' behavior completely. He acted like a child because he was a child.
Beth
Sun, Nov 30, 2014, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
I agree with the rating pretty much, but I had fun watching this episode. Trelane is a delightfully spoiled brat, and the actor plays that role well. I didn't mind the ending. Yeah, it's not as good or nearly as tragic as "Charlie X", but it was fun nonetheless.

As an aside, I'm also glad that the Wiki for "Trelane's Parents" confirmed that the voice of the father was NOT James Doohan. I'd heard that it was, but it didn't sound anything at all like his voice.
Stephen
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 6:53am (UTC -6)
Just watched this episode last night, and it was better than I remember* (*my experience with TOS as a whole so far, really - maybe I've mellowed out, but when I watched TOS last time, and read Jammer's reviews, I thought his scores were too high, now i feel the opposite... but that was like a decade ago?).

Anyway, this time through, having watched the rest of Star Trek canon with me, my wife was apt to point out the similarities with Trelane and Q. Like Q, (in his 2nd appearance), Trelane is dressed as a French Military commander facinated by Napoleonic Era France. Also, later he plays the part of a Judge. I thought these were pretty good observations.

Finally, I would add, that in Voyager we see that the Q do have children. Could Trelane be a young Q (or even, *the* Q, as played by John De Lancie)?

Q de Lancie does, after all pull the same stunts, and is likewise reprimanded by "the Q continuum" - maybe the continuum thought his parents were doing a poor job of raising him, and took him away, or he's an adult and Q societies problem now instead of his parents.
Rahul
Wed, Feb 1, 2017, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
This was a weak episode, very similar to "Charlie X" but worse. The plot is simplistic and does drag on and the ending is extremely similar to "Charlie X". Otherwise there's no way for the Enterprise to get out of their pickle -- an even more superior power (parents) is needed to restore order.

Trelane is an interesting character and does turn out to be a child of the advanced life form that he is -- but he still throws a tantrum in front of his parents and Kirk at the end.

I don't think the episode goes far enough with making the point about wise use of tremendous powers or whatever the point is. Not an episode to generate enough intrigue, tension, entertainment for me to watch again. For me, 1.5/4 stars.
Jason R.
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
"Anyway, this time through, having watched the rest of Star Trek canon with me, my wife was apt to point out the similarities with Trelane and Q. Like Q, (in his 2nd appearance), Trelane is dressed as a French Military commander facinated by Napoleonic Era France. Also, later he plays the part of a Judge. I thought these were pretty good observations. "

There was a Peter David book as I recall called "Q Squared" that had Trelane as an infant member of the Q Continuum.

After having re-watched this episode, I too enjoyed it more than I expected. William Campbell really imbues the Trelane character with a combination of childish exuberance, petulance and creepy menace that yields a really compelling performance. I actually prefer him to Delancy as Q, at least in the early appearances in STNG season 1. The story in this case is nothing special, but I do enjoy watching this character in action, even if there is little else compelling about the episode.
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -6)
Re-watching this episode for the first time in many years while on a bit of a TOS nostalgia tour, I found the similarities between Trelane and Q from TNG to be very uncanny. Perhaps the writers of TNG were, ahem, inspired by this episode when they wrote "Encounter at Farpoint" and "Hide and Q"? I seem to remember hearing about an expanded universe Trek novel confirming that Trelane was an infant Q. It would certainly explain a lot!

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode on second viewing - William Campbell was great! I feel that Jammer sometimes takes TOS eps too seriously - some eps are just supposed to be pure fun and not meant to be overanalyzed. Then again, I guess everyone has that one series they view through rose-colored glasses. For me it's TOS (I was born in the 90s and was hooked on TOS via my dad, who grew up watching TOS in 70s reruns), and for Jammer it's TNG/DS9. I don't mean this as a criticism - it's inherently subjective, and everyone brings their own perspectives and biases to the party - that's part of the fun!
Alex
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
I think it goes without saying that Q in Season 1 of TNG is directly inspired by Trelane.

#1 - The Napoleonic military uniform. Seen in 'Hide and Q'.
#2 - The trial. Seen in "Encounter at Farpoint".
#3 - The playful aspect of the character.
#4 - The ability to transform energy to matter and vice-versa via thought.

I think the TNG writers took Trelane and adjusted it. Q would be a peer in his realm, not a child. Also his concerns would be broader than mere game playing.
Alex
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Rahul - agreed that Trelane seems repititous of Charlie X. However the big difference is Trelane meant well, while Charlie would have murdered millions due to his unbalanced mind. Charlie was not really interested in humanity like Q, more of a sociopath, a 'user'.
Rahul
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Hi Alex,

I've never heard/read anywhere if Q was inspired by Trelane but your point about the direct inspiration makes a lot of sense to me. That's the great thing about TOS -- it left plenty of ideas on the table for future series to flesh out.

I'd actually say the difference between Trelane and Charlie is more subtle. They're both immature. Trelane would have killed Kirk and then presumably tortured/killed other members of the Enterprise when they refused to cooperate. Charlie was just even more immature and short-tempered, so he'd make people disappear or murder them at the snap of his fingers.

But yes, it's true that Trelane is interested in humanity (like Q) whereas Charlie just wants to be accepted etc. so that is the main difference in the episodes. The Trelane episode plays out as a bad Q episode (reminds me of TNG's "Qpid") whereas there is more substance to "Charlie X".
Alberto
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 3:20pm (UTC -6)
Some people have already pointed out the similarities between this and Charlie X. However, I must say that the first season of TOS have too many episodes with the "the crew gets saved from powerful being that can do anything at will by some Deus Ex Machina or by something not really consistent to the adversary being all powerful". Charlie X and Squire are already pointed out, but The Cage, Where No Man Has Gone Before, The Corbomite Maneuver, all fit to the description.

Besides, did anyone else think that one of Trelane's statues (that he phasers away) look A LOT like the creature from The Man Trap?
Trek fan
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
This is the original "Q" episode -- bear in mind that nearly everything in first half of TNG is a direct lift from TOS, from the ship models to the themes it picks up and develops further -- and it's a lot of fun. William Campbell, also known for his Klingon captain Koloth in "Tribbles" and DS9, turns in a terrifically fun performance as the iconic Squire of Gothos Trelane. The games get a bit repetitive before we finally get some insight into Trelane, but I dig the TOS universe where humans struggle to survive as a lower species on the food chain, and I like how the "Squire of Gothos" continues to explore encounters with powerful beings who mean well but lack the emotional maturity needed to temper their hostile instincts -- a nice critique of our own cultural hubris. It's not top tier Trek, as the crew's powerlessness to escape Trelane becomes repetitive without advancing the plot, but it's good stuff and an iconic hour of Star Trek. I give it 3 or 3 1/2 stars.

Spock has some zingers in his considered distaste for Trelane, including his response to the question of whether Vulcans are predatory: "Not normally, but there have been exceptions." And the little nods to continuity, like McCoy's double-take on seeing the stuffed and mounted Salt Vampire ("Man Trap") on Trelane's trophy wall, are fun. Also nice to see Uhura make it into the landing party, albeit unintentionally when Trelane snatches her and the yeoman -- Nichelle Nichols has wonderful physical expressions, especially the look she gives Trelane when she pulls her hand away after his "Nubian princess" insult. Trelane's stereotyping of the crew according to their ancestry (African, German, French, Asian, etc.) is presented as distasteful to Kirk and his officers, underscoring the racial harmony of TOS that remains one of its strong suits.

Overall, I loved this one and the Q episodes of TNG/DS9/VOY as a kid because I grooved on the pure ID of Trelane and Q, but now that I'm older I share the crew's irritation (Kirk and crew lay the template for all the later crews who find Q annoying) at these childish supreme beings. It's an interesting shift in perspective for me; part of me still enjoys "Squire of Gothos," but not as much as I used to like it. And yet it's still pretty good as an archetypal and quintessentially Trekkian story.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.