Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Original Series

"The Naked Time"

***

Air date: 9/29/1966
Written by John F.D. Black
Directed by Marc Daniels

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

After beaming down to investigate a research post whose team had apparently gone mad and killed themselves, members of the landing party bring back a virus that has intoxicating side effects. As the virus spreads through the ship and crew members start acting strangely, Kirk finds himself with a crisis on hand when Lt. Riley (Bruce Hyde) locks himself in the engine room and shuts down the engines ... causing the Enterprise to spiral down out of planetary orbit.

A lot of the sophomoric silliness involving the ship's officers in "drunk mode" is goofy and didn't do much for me. But the real core of "The Naked Time" emerges in its analysis of Spock; when he becomes affected we see just how torn he is between his human emotions and his Vulcan sense of reason and control. Leonard Nimoy's rendition of the role is exceptional. Also of interest is Nurse Chapel's confession of buried feelings for Spock, as well as Kirk's discussion about being essentially married to the ship.

The ending, involving a sci-fi tech procedure that results in time moving backwards, is a non sequitur that's tough to swallow. But at least it shows the writers were trying something imaginative.

Previous episode: Where No Man Has Gone Before
Next episode: The Enemy Within

Season Index

7 comments on this review

Garrison - Wed, May 28, 2008 - 9:49pm (USA Central)
The reason for the time travel non sequitur at the end of Naked Time was that the episodes Naked Time and Tomorrow is Yesterday were originally written as a two part episode. The decision was made to make them two seperate episodes, so NT got the non sequitur and TiY got the Enterprise hitting a black star.

It looks extremly cheesy and fake now, but I remember as a kid being freaked out at the scene in Charley X in which Charley removes the face of the laughing crewwoman.
Strider - Fri, Jun 1, 2012 - 8:15am (USA Central)
I'm all about Spock, but I've seen better performances from Nimoy. I just don't see Spock as a weepy drunk. Maybe LN was working with what he was given, and I was pleased at the idea, at least, that Spock's emotions run silent, run deep, but Spock's emotionalism is usually the more powerful for the restraint he expresses--people with strong self-control usually have something strong TO control. That's the essence of Spock for me, so I don't think it was the best move for the writers to bash us over the head with Spock's emotions.

I think though that at this time, they didn't quite know what the show was really about. Maybe in a later episode, they'd have played it differently.
Strider - Wed, Jun 27, 2012 - 9:07am (USA Central)
Actually, I want to revise my opinion above a little bit. Watching it again, I can still do without the weeping, but I'm not sure there was another way to convey Spock expressing emotion so uncharacteristically. But his intensity during the scene with Chapel and the one with Kirk, and his ability to overcome his own intoxiation in the face of Jim's pain, are both extremely powerful.
Moonie - Sun, Sep 15, 2013 - 6:07am (USA Central)
I enjoyed this episode a lot, especially the scenes with Spock and Kirk. Great acting from both in my opinion. I just loved seeing them both so, well, emotional :)
Koovan - Wed, Oct 16, 2013 - 8:44am (USA Central)
Other than the non-sequitur which also serves the astonishing purpose of opening up time as an arena for exploration for the series as well as the vastness of space, I really enjoyed this episode.

Spock's inability to cope, not just with his emotions, but with his inability to cope with his emotions, is well thought out and played. Kirk's essential loneliness and concomitant relationship with his ship goes some way to explaining his regular dalliances that allow him some closeness, however fleeting, to the numerous available females that cross his path.

Watching these early episodes serves to remind me how much of a caricature Kirk became in the popular imagination and how that then impacted on the character's personna to such a degree that he is a rogue in the rebooted movies who is almost entirely driven by and dependent on his passion.

It is much clearer to me that Kirk and Spock's relationship is firmly bound in their willingness to make enormous personal sacrifice in order to serve their ideals.
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 8:23am (USA Central)
Character story lines jerky, acting bad, oreillys singing, spock crying? Awful. Nurse chapels part only thing brings up to 1.5 for me.
Morianus - Sun, Oct 12, 2014 - 5:39am (USA Central)
What is up with the Hazmat suits at the beginning that allow you to scratch your nose and touch the skin on your face? If those things had a zipper this tragedy may have been averted lol

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer