Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"Masks"

*

Air date: 2/21/1994
Written by Joe Menosky
Directed by Robert Wiemer

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

The Enterprise discovers an ancient computerized alien spaceship/library at the core of an 87-million-year-old comet. The library latches onto the Enterprise with an energy beam and begins using the ship's replicators to create ancient artifacts and mysterious symbols — before then proceeding to transform the Enterprise wholesale into an alien museum. Or something. (It literally transforms objects on the ship into other objects; it's more like magic than technology.) It also takes over Data, who begins channeling odd personalities of various people from this long-dead civilization. The crew must figure out what all this means before the entire ship is transformed and nothing is left of the Enterprise. (I hate it when that happens.)

"Masks" might be the most flat-out bizarre episode of TNG ever made. It's conceptually ambitious but ultimately an epic failure of an episode. I mean, this is an utter mess. The story is at times so incomprehensible, impenetrable, and incoherent as to require three synonyms starting with the letter "I" for me to adequately convey its bewildering effect. I was staring blankly at the screen in disbelief. If this were also enlightening that might offset some of its impenetrability, but it unfortunately suffers from being as hopelessly flat, dull, and pretentious as it is impossible to decipher.

Could I go back and watch/listen more closely and to figure out what this episode is trying to say? I suppose I could try, but I sure don't want to. Some puzzles are simply not worth solving. This is a story so desperately in search of subtext that it forgets to supply whatever it is that exists above that — the "text," I guess? Joe Menosky, the Trek writer who has explored ancient societies, myths, and oblique concepts more than any other, stuffs "Masks" so full of symbology and ancient characters that it becomes an archaeologist's turgid self-parody. The actors can't save it; Data's downloaded split-personality disorder is portrayed by Brent Spiner as an array of broad caricatures and silly voices, none of which I cared about in the slightest. And the way the Enterprise is transformed into this alien museum (for reasons I could never understand) is so utterly unbelievable as to venture into pure fantasy. The script itself is beaming in from another galaxy.

"Masks" is basically the story of the much-feared ancient Queen Masaka, whose authority can only be challenged by the mighty Korgano, or something. What is all this supposed to mean? Don't know. Don't care. The ancient power struggle must be played out by the crew for some reason, in order to satisfy the computerized gods of the alien archive. (The concept of a re-enacted power struggle was much more straightforward and entertaining in DS9's "Dramatis Personae," also a Menosky script.) The hokey payoff at the end, with Picard and Data facing off in their titular masks, owes more to trick-or-treating than ancient mythology. And yet as goofy as this is, the story plays itself deadly serious. As long as the computerized archive gods are happy with Picard's performance while wearing a mask, all is well in the world.

I suppose, intellectually speaking, I prefer the ambitious failure that is "Masks" to the brain-dead failure that is "Sub Rosa." Then again, maybe not; "Sub Rosa" was at least humorously, simplistically watchable in its unabashed wretchedness. "Masks" plays more like a dirge. A dirge scoring a Shakespearean dramatization of Sophocles translated into Klingon and projected through a malfunctioning holodeck during a self-destruct countdown. What is that sentence supposed to mean? Exactly.

Previous episode: Thine Own Self
Next episode: Eye of the Beholder

Season Index

46 comments on this review

Dimitris Kiminas - Wed, Dec 5, 2012 - 5:13am (USA Central)
Come now, only one star? This episode was the whole Lord of the Rings trilogy compressed into 40 minutes! :)
karatasiospa - Wed, Dec 5, 2012 - 6:49am (USA Central)
i didn't find this episode incoherent or incomprehensible and i don't understand why others do. It is true that more explanations were needed but i find the whole idea fascinating.
Paul - Wed, Dec 5, 2012 - 8:19am (USA Central)
We agree again, Jammer. But I would make one other point ...

TNG in its later seasons (as other shows have done) seemed to forget about the 1,000 people living on the Enterprise who weren't the senior staff (other than 'Lower Decks', of course). Why there's less concern that the Enterprise crew might be in danger as the ship turns into ... well, whatever it turns into is goofy. Even first season TNG would have made more of an effort to consider the safety of the ship's families.
dan - Wed, Dec 5, 2012 - 1:18pm (USA Central)
zero stars. unwatchable
Alex - Thu, Dec 6, 2012 - 1:22pm (USA Central)
What can I say, I actually enjoyed the mystique of Masks, and thought that Spiner's performance made it captivating. It was trippy, for a lack of a better word.
Jon - Thu, Dec 6, 2012 - 4:33pm (USA Central)
I have to say that I laughed when I got to Masaka's name, as "masaka" an expression in Japanese that indicates shock or disbelief at something.

I've gotta say, it fit pretty well with my thoughts as I read the summary of the episode.
Dean Grr - Thu, Dec 6, 2012 - 7:03pm (USA Central)
Jammer, I disagree on this one for the following:
*I didn't find the underlying story that hard to understand and the archaeological angle was fascinating. It reads as a story about balance in nature, light & dark, yin & yang.
*I remember reading Menosky was not happy with this episode, but a large detractor for me was the cheap production: it was a bottle show with cheaper props (the artifacts in Ten Forward were pretty funny). If they had a cgi battle between two transformed gods, that might have been different ...
*I thought Brent Spiner did a fine job with the different mythological characters, and it was chilling to think that a malfunction (or misunderstanding) of an ancient library could lead to real world death. As a writer above mentioned, it would be like LotR wih the holodeck safeties off, :).

In short, it was more the production than the story that hurt the episode. The idea was cool, the execution lacked, but when I think of season 7, I think about Data's mask. Probably a good Halloween costume, as a nod to Trekkies and to have fun with anyone that hated this episode, ;).
-Dean
SolidCastADM - Fri, Dec 7, 2012 - 7:00am (USA Central)
Riker has my favorite line from this episode: "I don't know what you did Sir, but it looks like everything's back to normal."
Jay - Fri, Dec 7, 2012 - 2:59pm (USA Central)
@ Paul...even earlier in TNG's run, it often neglected the families, but at least not always within the contents of one script. For example, The episode "The Game" aired just a week after "Disaster", which means that the one-week old Molly O'Brien wasn't being cared for by her parents, since that episode explicitly states that eventually everyone on board other than Wesley was addicted to the game.
methane - Fri, Dec 7, 2012 - 8:00pm (USA Central)
I have to say I enjoyed the oddity of it all.

I'd probably give it 2 stars; not great, but not a clunker (of which their are many this season).
Nathan - Sat, Dec 8, 2012 - 10:00pm (USA Central)
I wanted to like this, in the same way as I want to like a lot of the New Wave science fiction I read.
Mikael - Thu, Dec 13, 2012 - 4:39am (USA Central)
I LOVE "Masks" just because it's such a mystery shrouded in an enigma. The episode has a completely unique flavor, it looks fascinatingly dreamlike and is backed by great acting. And the fact that such an alien tone infinitely boils down to a very universal mythology completes the conceptual circle. I think "Masks" really boils down what Trek and sci-fi are about: an encounter with something incomprehensible, yet utterly intriguing.
Dan L. - Sat, Dec 15, 2012 - 5:38pm (USA Central)
Hi Jammer,

"Masks" wasn't so bad it was good. "Masks" wasn't so bad it was bad. It provided not a shred of entertainment value, was mind-numbingly vacuous, and committed the cardinal sin of being unforgivably boring. No other episode of any "Trek" series has managed to hit this trifecta so well - or so poorly.
Nick P. - Wed, Dec 19, 2012 - 12:56pm (USA Central)
This episode just epitomizes what was wrong with this show by this point. This episode in the 3rd or 4th season could have worked. But somehow the tone was off, the characters weren't Gelling as in seasons past, the music was non-existant, the acting was boring, the plot being ridiculous is just icing on the cake of this one. It doesn't make any more sense than "Time Squared" from season 2, but somehow that ridiculous plot was executed 1000 times better.

I would say this isn't the worst episode of the series (that was "Force of Nature" in my book), but this might be the hardest to watch. I just start yawning before the teaser is even over!
Nick P. - Wed, Dec 19, 2012 - 1:13pm (USA Central)
@ Dan L.

You really nailed it....Season 7 just isn't entertaining. There is just nothing FUN anymore. I will admit the finale has elements of it.

I had a friend tell me the other day that the 1st five seasons of TNG seemed like a fun ride with a lot of science thrown in. the last 2 seasons seemed like episode after episode of 7 people reciting math functions that they don't understand.

@Paul and Jay, I addressed that very point a few episodes ago. If you compare any random 1st season episode to any ep this season, the Enterprise really seems like a "city in the stars" in the first season, as Roddenberry intended. It seems like there are 7 crew and cast of the week by season 7. Jay, Paul isn't talking about the "focus" of the plot, in that sense I agree with you, TNG rarely addressed families, he is referring to just the feeling of having 1000 other people. You "feel" it more in earlier seasons, the 1st in particular.
Mike - Thu, Dec 20, 2012 - 12:26am (USA Central)
I always liked this one, even if it's a bit clunky. It's still more interesting to me than a standard fight the bad guy story. It has ideas, even if they aren't fully realized or executed overly well. I really don't see how it's hard to understand though, the plot seems pretty clear. I'm with those who liked it for it's archeological elements, something I always find fascinating.
Paul - Thu, Dec 20, 2012 - 1:26pm (USA Central)
@Nick P: Yeah, TNG just flat ran out of gas. I'd say season 6 is miles and away better than season 7, but season 7 is just so lifeless (other than Pegasus, Parallels, Lower Decks, Preemptive Strike and the finale).

I'm curious to see what Jammer has to say about Journey's End, which I think is one of the more passable season 7 affairs. I'd probably put it in with Inheritance, Attached, Interface and the Freud episode (blanking on the name) as OK.
Rosario - Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - 1:50pm (USA Central)
"Joe Menosky, the Trek writer who has explored ancient societies, myths, and oblique concepts more than any other, stuffs "Masks" so full of symbology and ancient characters that it becomes an archaeologist's turgid self-parody."

I can't tell if you're being serious or not but symbology isn't actually a word. The word you're looking for is 'symbolism.' Watch "Boondock Saints" and Willem Dafoe will explain it. Sssssssssymbolism!
Jammer - Mon, Dec 24, 2012 - 2:37pm (USA Central)
"Symbology" is indeed a word, meaning the study of symbols. If I meant symbolism, I'd have said that, though use of either word would've been true in this case.
Shane - Fri, Dec 28, 2012 - 8:49am (USA Central)
Yes, this is an absolutely ridiculous episode but I still love it and it was one of my favorites as a kid. Whenever a rerun of TNG came on I usually hoped for a bizarre episode like Masks, Genesis, or Phantasms over the more famous episodes such as Tapestry, Best of Both Worlds, or Measure of a Man.

So here we have an ANCIENT computer system inhabiting Data while the alien archive transforms the Enterprise. Even as a kid I found this premise to be somewhat flawed and wondered how the Enterprise held together and remained inhabitable while being transformed. Not to mention the far fetched idea of a multi-million year old computer system yet alone one that could interface with and cause changes to the Enterprise. But being that Contagion had a touch of that I guess the writers saw no problem doing it here.

As a kid I found this episode somewhat creepy and Osaka scary but as an adult I think Spiner's performances are a bit goofy. I always thought Picard dawning the mask was goofy.

Lots of folks like to suggest TNG was out of gas and it was time to end but Season 7 was planned to be the last so I think that contributed to more unusual ideas making it to production. Maybe the actors were getting fatigued but I'm thinking the "weaker" storytelling was simply due to the a-team writers giving additional attention to DS9, while other staff were starting work on the forthcoming TNG film, and Voyager.
Brian D - Sun, Dec 30, 2012 - 11:51pm (USA Central)
Agree completely with the 1 star rating, although I have to say that your comment about the fantasy nature of the ship being transformed is debatable. The reason being that I don't think transforming one object into something else is any more unbelievable than Replicators, Holodecks or Transporters in Star Trek terms.
TMLS - Wed, Jan 2, 2013 - 12:02pm (USA Central)
Absolutely awful. If given the option of being forced to watch this or Shades of Gray, it'd be the latter.
Nic - Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 9:49am (USA Central)
I would give this episode at least a little credit for trying to say something meaningful and thought-provoking, even though it failed spectacularly. I may not understand what they were going for, but I can at least believe that they were going for SOMETHING. That's more than I can say for "Sub Rosa" and especially "Genesis".
Dom - Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 1:21am (USA Central)
"What is all this supposed to mean? Don't know. Don't care."

Funny, that's how I felt throughout the entire last two seasons of Battlestar Galactica.
Rosario - Mon, Jan 14, 2013 - 7:15pm (USA Central)
'"Symbology" is indeed a word, meaning the study of symbols. If I meant symbolism, I'd have said that, though use of either word would've been true in this case.'

Yes, in between that posting and seeing the response now, I was being a bit snarky in exactly the same way and got educated the same way. Consider me educated. And chagrined.
Paul - Tue, Jan 15, 2013 - 3:59pm (USA Central)
Apparently this took almost twice as long to film as normal as the actors kept bursting into laughter at the dreadfulness of it all. Brent Spiner said "The crew hated us." Terrible ep.
Ace - Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - 7:24am (USA Central)
I definitely think that there are a couple of different kinds of Trek fans, or at least Trek fans who are looking for different things. Just as I've never understood the Lwaxana hate, I thought this episode and even Sub Rosa were absorbing I like to think - and this is going to sound pretentious, but it isn't meant that way; we're all looking for different things in our entertainment - because I approached them on their own terms: this isn't a ridiculously mishandled sci-fi about Data incarnating one-note characters we don't care about, it's a drama of mythology that uses Trek as a frame story. Seen that way - myths don't have to have fleshed-out characters (though I would have liked to know more about Ihat) - i feel the episode works much better. Likewise, Sub Rosa isn't a hilariously I'll-thought-out Trek, it's a Gothic romance, and a reasonable one at that. (I also have a fairly high camp tolerance.)

Again, if one of the reasons you watch Trek is consistency of genre, these won't work for you. That's fine (although I don't really hold with the extreme emanation of this, which hates DS9 apparently for no better reason than its difference for other Treks). Nobody's required to enjoy Gothic romances or explorations of mythology. But the badness of there episodes, I think, is largely a matter of perspective, rather than the flat-out incompetent storytelling of a Shades of Gray or a Let He Who Is Without Sin.
Ace - Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - 7:27am (USA Central)
Yikes. Autocorrect much? Period after absorbing, ill not I'll, these not there.
Comp625 - Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - 12:17pm (USA Central)
I think "Ace" is right; each person approaches Star Trek with a different want and need. It also depends on that person's mood during the episode. If you had a bad day, you may not appreciate the episode as much, or you may love the episode since it helps you temporarily escape reality for 45 minutes.

I love that science fiction is able to create its own rules that help to shape a fantasy universe that viewers use for entertainment. However, there's a fine line where absurdity simply takes over, regardless of genre. For me, that's when the entertainment factor is diminished, because you feel like your intelligence was questioned and that your time has been wasted.

"Masks" was an atrocious episode, save for Brent Spiner's humorous performance. It goes to show that an actor/actress can take a very sub-par script and turn it into a decent piece of work. It also doesn't come as a surprise that the TNG crew had trouble filming this episode.

Think about it: an alien society creating its jungle onboard the Enterprise while demonly possessing our beloved characters is absurd. Even more absurd is communicating to these aliens by posing as one of their own kind via the use of a mask.

Going back to my point about science fiction and entertainment, the absurdity detracts from our fantasty universe that viewers have been escaping to for almost 7 seasons. I agree with Jammer in that I'll take "Masks" over the ghost sex in "Sub Rosa." However, I still can't help but wonder if the TNG writers were trying to make a parody of themselves.

My rating: 1 out of 4 stars
duhknees - Tue, Mar 12, 2013 - 9:31pm (USA Central)
Worst. Episode. Ever.
Matt - Wed, Mar 13, 2013 - 1:03pm (USA Central)
I'm not a rabid Star Trek fanatic and I am not as well-versed as the lot of you, but I am nearing the end of watching through the entire series. This is - by far - the worst episode of the series.
Matt - Wed, Mar 13, 2013 - 1:10pm (USA Central)
Another point: as I watch the series, I check Jammer's star rating for the episode as I start watching. It clues me whether I'll enjoy the episode. Jammer gave this episode 1 star, so I thought it would be watchable. It's obviously far from watchable. I think Jammer owes me (and anyone else who fell victim to his rating) a huge apology. :)
fluffysheap - Sat, Apr 20, 2013 - 2:03am (USA Central)
In good Trek episodes, the characters solve a problem, and in so doing they reveal something about the human condition or at least about themselves. When there's no problem to solve, you're going away from the formula - which means the episode is going to be unusual, either in a good way or a bad way.

To me, this episode is like "The Inner Light"'s evil twin. In both cases you have an ancient alien society that has left a cultural archive which the Enterprise happens to discover. Neither episode has a real problem to solve (I don't consider deciphering the alien symbologism to be a real "problem"). Everyone is basically just waiting for the magic alien gadget to finish. Is symbologism a word? It is now!

But in that episode, it's done by showing us what amounts to an alternate-universe version of Picard. Not only do we learn what Picard would have been like in a very different situation, we also learn what the people of the ancient society are all about. We see them caring for their families and building their future, even though we know they are all doomed. They aren't that different from us, really.

This one doesn't really involve any of our actual characters. It uses Data's body, but not actually Data. And we don't really learn much about the alien culture. We only see it in such disconnected pieces that it's hard to get much of a feel for it, and we don't really get to know any individual characters either, certainly not to the level that we get to know the individual ancient Kataanians. We only really learn about one myth. I'm not even sure if any of the various personalities here are supposed to be real, or if they're all mythological.

You might also compare this episode to "Darmok," because both of them are basically an incomprehensible muddle until the crew manages to piece together the outlines of an alien myth. I think the difference again comes down to characters. Darmok has them, and even without real communication, you learn about the Tamarian captain and what their society considers important.

Anyone who's been in a foreign country and managed to make a friend without knowing the local language can probably relate to "Darmok." This episode is more like getting lost on the way to physics lab and finding yourself in the midterm for a comparative religion class.
Patrick - Sat, Apr 20, 2013 - 12:00pm (USA Central)
@fluffysheap

Actually, "Shades of Grey" is "The Inner Light"'s evil twin. Or perhaps better described as "The Inner Light" on opposite day.
T'Paul - Tue, Jun 25, 2013 - 8:34pm (USA Central)
I agree with ace... what's wrong with exploring a society based on mythology here? I think it as at least as interesting as the so-called "political" dramas with the Klingons and the Cardassians...
Steve - Mon, Aug 5, 2013 - 4:49pm (USA Central)
I still find this episode to be extremely memorable, and actually pretty fascinating. The bit with the symbol about the "Line like the endless horizon, the curve like the rolling hillside, the point like a distant bird, the ray like the rising son" was one of those ultimate moments in college, where when originally watching this with my friend, we turned to each other with a blank faced stare and said, we have to write that down!! I liked the weird mood of this one and considered it a tour de force of Brent Spiner's acting. This is a 3 out of 4 stars for me.
Chris - Sun, Aug 18, 2013 - 11:44am (USA Central)
This is a really underrated episode in my eyes. I agree with you though, ambitious but flawed. Like a lot of great things. Then again I do have quite a bit of nostalgia for this one.
Cheyne - Thu, Nov 7, 2013 - 9:14am (USA Central)
Some points for originality surely...

But this did feel more like a Voyager episode, down to the music and everything.

As someone else has said, the ship seemed very, very empty in this episode, almost as much as when everyone was disappearing into Wesley's Wacky Warp bubble.

But yes, there was a certain "mojo" missing here that meant a possibly good idea fell to bits.

Stewart seems especially wooden here, Worf out of place in a number of scenes, Troi seems to have gone back 5 years.
mephyve - Thu, Jan 30, 2014 - 12:18am (USA Central)
I could have used Masaka when I was 7. A teacher put on a record and told the class to draw what the music felt like. I saw everybody else making all these shapes but it made no sense to me so I sat there and cried.
I guess when Troi gave Data the same dumb assignment I should have taken it as an omen that this episode was going to suck. Somebody must have been smoking the peace pipe when they wrote this mess.
Smith - Thu, Feb 27, 2014 - 12:25pm (USA Central)
Not as bad as people make it out to be. The visual props were outstanding, the score was nice and it had a "Zelda" feel to it which was unique and welcome.

What didn't work was trying to fit an entire civilization into Data. This wasn't Menosky's original idea...his original script was much different and the other writers butchered what he submitted from Europe. The execs felt that script was "too complicated" so they dumbed it down for us which was unfortunate.

Spiner wasn't even given a full day to prepare for this script which unfairly hurt his performance.
Adara - Fri, Apr 11, 2014 - 4:52pm (USA Central)
Steve, were you high? Be honest.
NCC-1701-Z - Sat, Aug 16, 2014 - 8:06pm (USA Central)
I can kind of see what they were going for, but...how do I put this gently?

Shaka, when the walls fell!
Y'know Somebody - Sat, Aug 30, 2014 - 10:51am (USA Central)
Has no one else considered their dubious use of the Masaka-Korgano relationship as an analogy of the Sun-Moon relationship?

The Sun-Moon relationship is only applicable on planets like Earth. Forcing some establishing piece that the place the comet comes from also happened to have 1 moon would be rather out of place.

I feel they ought to have used some more... applicable dichotomy.
Paul M. - Sun, Aug 31, 2014 - 1:38am (USA Central)
I don't think that is particularly problematic and nowhere near the top of the list of this episode's biggest problems (though I kinda like its wackiness).

Still, you do raise an interesting point. The dualism many older religions and myths ascribe to the Sun and the Moon stem from the fact that the two celestial bodies appear to be of exactly the same size - the Sun's radius is some 400 times greater than the Moon's while it's 400 times farther out from Earth, effectively cancelling each other out where an observer standing on our planet is concerned. It really is a curious turn of events dictated by mere cosmic chance.
Y'know Somebody - Sun, Aug 31, 2014 - 6:09am (USA Central)
Yeah, I realize it's not nearly the biggest problem, but I felt it was rather telling to overlook something conspicuous like that.
SkepticalMI - Mon, Sep 1, 2014 - 11:39am (USA Central)
Aw nertz, I had my comments for this episode all planned a week or so ago, but got sidetracked by that annoying thing known as life. And now I'm going to look like a copycat of Y'know Somebody. Because that's the exact same thought I had. Well, not the same thought, but basically I felt that this episode's largest flaw was in ignoring its source material.

Fluffysheap compared the episode to Darmok, and I like that comparison. In my comments on that episode, I mentioned that I felt the story did a great job of presenting a truly alien community. It wasn't just the language, but their decisions, their rituals, everything pointed well to a people who had a low sense of identity and focused more on narratives. I liked that about Darmok. And it would have been nice to see it here. Rather than the somewhat generic plot we got, it would have been nice if the plot focused more on learning and discovering who this lost civilization is. After all, that would fit more with the Trek ethos of seeking out new life and new civilizations. And it would have made the symbolism more pronounced, more impressive than a simple sun/moon story. As it stands, what we got was a jumble.

I like mythology. I like sci-fi. I like examining alien cultures. So why couldn't we really delve into it here? With Picard as an archaeologist, this could have been an episode tailor made for him. But anything interesting about these people was dropped and ignored without a single sideways glance to us. I noticed three main issues that were worth exploring, which I think would have greatly improved the episode.

1) Masaka was a bad guy! The sun-goddess was feared rather than worshipped and celebrated! This is hardly consistent with Earth mythologies. Ra, Sol, Shamesh, Utu, Apollo, and probably all the ones I don't know tend to be associated with positive imagery like truth and justice and so forth. Which, of course, makes perfect sense for ancient human cultures. The sun brings out light and warmth and drives predators away. The sun allows crops to grow. Of course we would celebrate and not fear the sun. So why do all the characters fear Masaka?

Here's one interesting sci-fi answer that took all of 10 seconds to think up. I'm not an expert on orbital mechanics, but what if this planet was in a binary star system? It orbits one star similarly to Earth orbiting the Sun, but the second star is in an eccentric orbit. This orbit brings the second star close to the planet every 100-200 years or so, and wrecks havoc on the climate for a few years during that time. Thus, the inhabitants called the second star Masaka, and would have a reason to truly fear her return. And maybe the solution to the plot here involved Picard and company finding out something about this civilization, and thus required Picard to make this logical leap. Now, the symbolism present would be a key aspect to the plot itself, as well as relating to the sci-fi nature of the TV show.

2) All the characters suggested that Korgano was no longer chasing Masaka. Isn't that weird? The plot suggests that's only because the Korgano symbol hadn't been downloaded yet, but that's just silly. Isn't it more interesting to think that something actually happened? If Korgano is the moon, then why did the moon stop chasing Masaka? Was it destroyed? Just how would that impact this society? Maybe that's why they all fear Masaka now. Or maybe that's why the civilization itself was lost. Again, this is something weird in the symbolism itself that the story ignored, and I think it would have been much better to embrace this symbolism rather than just move on with the plot. Again, a destroyed moon would have been an interesting story to deal with.

3) On a meta-example, why did this civilization take so much effort to preserve their mythology? They are undoubtedly an incredibly advanced civilization, and undoubtedly would have discovered the principles of orbital mechanics and the likes. So there is no longer any need for myths to state how the stars and moons and suns move across the sky. And yet, that seemed to be the primary thing that this civilization preserved. If we could recreate part of our society in space, would we recreate Mt. Olympus? Or would we recreate New York or London or whatever? Undoubtedly the latter. Heck, we'd probably be more likely to preserve Marvel's Thor than the Norse Thor... We keep our mythology, but our interest in it is very shallow and doesn't impact our day to day lives.

So why is this civilization different? Like with Darmok, the unique plot aspect (speaking in metaphors, preserving a mythology) should speak to the alienness of the culture. But while TNG succeeds with the Children of Tama, we don't really get a chance to understand the Mask people at all. Why are they so interested in preserving their mythology? Do they still talk like that?

I'm reminded of a Calvin and Hobbes comic strip. Calvin asks his dad how wind appears, and his dad says the answer is trees sneezing. Calvin asks "really?" and the dad responds no, but the truth is more complicated. The last panel has Calvin walking outside on a windy day and commenting that the trees are really sneezing today.

So is that the answer? Do the people not care about truth, but only care about convenient answers? Leave the actual science to the scientists, but we'll just choose to believe the easy answer? Or maybe they just like anthropomorphization? And if so, how would that impact the rest of society?

Maybe this would have been better as a novel than a 43 minute episode. Maybe its impossible to really delve into a culture in a plot like this. But it would have been more interesting than what was given. I know most people look at this episode and just declare it to be a waste, but I think of it mostly as a lost opportunity.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer