Star Trek: The Next Generation

"The Loss"

**

Air date: 12/31/1990
Teleplay by Hilary J. Bader and Alan J. Adler & Vanessa Greene
Story by Hilary J. Bader
Directed by Chip Chalmers

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

The Enterprise becomes ensnared in a field that pulls the ship along like a boat in a current. It turns out the current is actually a swarm of two-dimensional life forms that exist in space on a flat plane (which, of course, is not unlike how space travel is often depicted in Trek anyway). The crew must figure out how to escape the current without hurting the 2D-beings. The sci-fi gobbledygook surrounding this storyline is not one of TNG's best examples of sci-fi gobbledygook.

Coinciding with this encounter, Counselor Troi's telepathic abilities suddenly vanish. Is there a connection? Gee, what do you think? Will Troi have her abilities back before the hour is up? I wonder. "The Loss" is a better title than "Two-Dimensional Life Forms" and it describes the more relatable of the story's equal-time-shared plot. I had sympathy for Troi's loss of her ability to sense other people's feelings, whom she aptly now describes as "surfaces without depth" and "projections." But the depiction of this just doesn't work. Troi has a meltdown where she snaps on Beverly, and I didn't buy it. And her almost immediately resigning her post borders on silly as knee-jerk overreactions go. Dramatically, the net effect of a helpless Troi feels more shrill than effective. Aren't TNG characters supposed to be more perfect than this?

The 2D-beings plot turns to tedium and forced jeopardy simultaneously. We've got the 2D-beings headed toward a cosmic-string fragment (with the gravity of 1,000 black holes, if I heard right, although one would've been sufficient) and the only way for the Enterprise to escape comes when Troi hits on the idea of "moths to a flame." Of course, creating another "flame" in this instance involves reams of cascading technobabble that … oh, never mind.

Previous episode: Final Mission
Next episode: Data's Day

◄ Season Index

57 comments on this review

Jake
Wed, Mar 5, 2008, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
I actually thought the moment in "The Loss" where Troi loses her temper to Crusher & Riker was first-rate.
Josh
Thu, Mar 6, 2008, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
You were nicer to "The Loss" than I would have been. Nice to read some new Trek reviews. Season Four was a great season for TNG.
TH
Fri, Mar 7, 2008, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
PS: I just thought I'd add, since you didn't seem to touch on it, that the premise of "The Loss" SEEMS to be (and is analogized by Troi in the episode) a sci-fi analogy to a handicap like blindness or deafness, or the loss of a limb or something like that suddenly thrust upon a person, it can be life-changing. I don't think they managed to play this analogy out well enough, however. Perhaps in part due to the obvious reset at the end of the episode, but I think there was something more missing in the writing or performance. I think even having sen the whole series, Troi's empathic ability was not showcased enough (in frequency and in depth) for us to really understand what she was missing, whereas if she had gone blind, we might be able to relate better. It just seems like in her everyday conversations that are shown on the show, she isn't using her power - at least we're not aware of her using it; so it seems odd that she'd feel so lost talking to someone without that power.
Fanner
Mon, Jul 11, 2011, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
The Loss: Marina was never (imo) effective conveying shock/startled loss, spontanaiety etc ... Where she WAS good was doing her job as a counselor (except on the bridge where she was atrocious) ... When someone actually had an appointment with her to be counseled, Marina posessed a calm competence that I liked ... when they needed quick reactions from her, it often came across as vapid/

Data's Day - One of the funniest things ever in television is when Beverley has just finished working so hard with Data on tap dancing (because he had said he needed to learn 'dancing') and then he concludes that he is fit for dancing at the WEDDING! Gates' reactions are HILARIOUS!!!
Tony
Wed, May 23, 2012, 4:50am (UTC -5)
You dislike this episode because of the way Troi's understandable breakdown occurs, yet you gave "Crossfire" 3 stars even though Odo moping for Kira almost got Bajor's First Minister KILLED!
Funny, I don't recall Troi's moping getting anyone killed. Indeed, Picard encourages her to help the crew even though she doesn't have her abilities, whereas Worf saves Odo's shapeshifting ass by catching Shakaar's would-be assassin.
There's goes your DS9 bias again. Sheesh.....
Yaro
Sun, Dec 2, 2012, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Bleh. I've never been a fan of Troi-based episodes. I found the 2D life forms far more engaging in this than MArina Sirtis playing Deanna whining for most of the episode. It just comes off as Troi deciding her problems are more important than the Enterprise being in danger.

Her episodes usually tend to boil down to either falling in love with some Mary Sue of the week or going around whining about her problems in a very self-centered way. Troi is my least favorite character.
William B
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
I agree with Tony above that while Troi's meltdown is unprofessional, it's still never dangerous to anyone and I think this helps keep her panic in perspective. While it's stupid for Troi to resign as quickly as she does, she also avoids spreading her problems to others after some of her initial freakouts, and in particular she snaps at people mostly when they actually keep pushing her. The one major exception -- which I find hilarious, and I can't tell whether I think it's because it's convincing or because it's so unconvincing -- is when she freaks out at Geordi's saying that he wishes they knew whether the 2D life forms were sentient and she yells "What's THAT supposed to mean?" Ha, great stuff. But no -- when Troi is "whining" it is almost always because someone else has started the conversation, and so while I don't always approve of what she says and I don't always find her behaviour convincing, I don't think she's really indicating that her problems are worse than the ship's overall.

Really, Troi's reaction to her loss of empathy does make sense -- after all, she has just been disabled. Worf's reaction to finding out he has lost his mobility in "Ethics" is to try to *kill himself*, and so I think Troi going around yelling at people trying to help her and threatening to quit her job are pretty tame in comparison. That said, something still doesn't work for me about this story. For one, it's fairly clear that her powers are likely to come back when the 2D life forms go away, and the episode mostly obscures this point by cheating -- having Beverly announce that Troi has permanent brain damage which might not repair itself, and then having Troi regain her powers instantly when the Enterprise is out of the 2D life forms' wake. That the episode makes no reference at all to the fact that there is a *disabled main character* to whom Troi might possibly talk also annoys me, though yes Geordi's being born blind is different from Troi's loss of her powers. Part of it may be that, in the end, I'm not actually that sure that Troi is very good at her job most of the time -- so many episodes involve Troi being inappropriately pushy, for example -- so that I find an episode devoted to Troi learning how she doesn't need her powers to be a good counselor somewhat unconvincing. Ideally, I wish that Troi had learned from her experience being badgered by Riker and Crusher that going on to someone in pain that they aren't dealing with their pain enough and invading their personal space to do so is not always the best way to get them to realize what they are doing wrong, and that she might become a better counselor simply by realizing what it's like to be the patient. Some elements of the dialogue hit on this -- Beverly's saying that therapists make the worst patients ("except for doctors") and Riker's suggesting that Troi likes being in emotional control of every situation and that she needs to learn to accept lack of control point to this, and those do help the episode work for me; but neither are quite enough.

I do find the attempt to link the two plots thematically especially hamfisted and funny -- "Why, everyone feels as flat to me as those two dimensional life forms!" and whatnot -- and indeed about as far as the episode ever got to developing the "2D life form" idea is "Maybe 2D life forms aren't affected by gravity the same way 3D objects are," which is a fine premise I guess but is not very imaginative. (When they mentioned the cosmic string, I thought they were going to argue that the cosmic string was essentially a one-dimensional object for all intents and purposes, and that that would be relevant somehow, but no dice.) That Troi was able to psychoanalyze these 2D life forms as acting on instinct was meant to prove that she doesn't need empathy to be useful, which is good I guess? But her speculation doesn't feel convincing enough to really establish this thing.

I guess I agree with 2 stars.
William B
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
That no one in the show suggests that maybe Troi could take a leave of absence as a middle ground between "being competent to return to her job immediately" and "quitting Starfleet forever" is also annoying.
William B
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
One last point: I love it when Troi responds to Riker saying, "Imzadi..." with an annoyed "Oh, please!", and also her rejection of his kiss at the episode's end. I don't quite know why it's so satisfying -- maybe it's that Riker, more than Troi, acts as if the Riker/Troi relationship could be picked up at any time, but has no actual interest in giving anything up at all for it.
Shane
Thu, Aug 1, 2013, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Actually the string has a force of 100 stars. Not unreasonable I think, especially compared to a blackhole.
Moonie
Thu, Nov 7, 2013, 7:06am (UTC -5)
I think this just might be the single most boring TNG episode I ever watched.

I like Troi, I just think the writers have done a really poor job with her character, her lines and her stories.
"Flat" describes this episode very well.
Tom
Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 1:42am (UTC -5)
I think it was an interesting idea to see how Troi would react to losing her abilities. However, this show was pretty much a failure. Troi doesn't have the acting ability to carry a show. Her crying scene was not convincing at all. Actually, pretty much all of her scenes were not convincing. When she's finally cured, she just puts on a fake smile.

It's harder to empathize with a character who loses a power that normal humans don't have. As Riker says, there's something aristocratic about it. The show didn't succeed in showing us what it was like for her to lose her sensing abilities and making us care about it. I agree with William that they also missed a great opportunity to have her interact with Geordi.

Also, the 2D life forms plot was pretty bad. I don't find the idea of 2D life forms convincing. Is that even physically possible?
dlpb
Fri, Aug 1, 2014, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Some good parts to this episode, in interactions between characters. But man is Trek science a load of nonsense. Who is the idiot they hired as a science adviser? Or did they just not bother? It's like high school standard.
dlpb
Fri, Aug 1, 2014, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Troi's empathic ability was not showcased enough (in frequency and in depth) for us to really understand what she was missing
========

How do you propose we understand something that has never happened, and will probably never happen? And something we have never experienced. You can't understand qualia if you don't experience it. No matter how "well explained" it is. You also can't go into depth about something that is absolute fiction.
Peremensoe
Tue, Aug 5, 2014, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
DLPB: "How do you propose we understand something that has never happened, and will probably never happen? And something we have never experienced. You can't understand qualia if you don't experience it. No matter how "well explained" it is. You also can't go into depth about something that is absolute fiction."

WHAT? It sounds like you don't believe in the power of (the best) writing to be convincing and transportive.
DLPB
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
You aren't understanding. Troi losing her powers can be conveyed as compared to a person losing their sight, but you can never hope to understand it, because it will never happen to a human. It is also not possible for you to really gauge what a loss of sight is like, since it hasn't happened to you.
CPUFP
Tue, Jan 20, 2015, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Well, I suppose that losing her empathic abilities might be devastating for Troi. But Picard is right: They sure are no requirement for her job as ship's counselor. In fact, the only situations where her abilities come in handy are when the Enterprise is looking for life forms which cannot be traced by their ominous "life signs". At any point in the series where real counseling is concerned, they are worthless. In fact, Troi does her best counseling jobs when she didn't use her abilities at all, but focuses on understanding the other person's thoughts (on which their feelings are based), like in this episode, where she senses that her patient is in denial, or in "The Nth Degree", where she helps Barclay by understanding (not feeling) his fears.
Luke
Sat, Jul 4, 2015, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Is "The Loss" good? No. Is it bad? No. It's just another run-of-the-mill episode that does virtually nothing for me either way.

Well, okay, it does do a few things bad. What was the point of Troi's outbursts and general attitude about her loss? Was it to make her look unprofessional and all-around unlikeable? If that was the case then mission accomplished, I guess. And, the way she gets her empathic abilities back is just absurd. A short circuit in her brain because she couldn't handle such intense emotion? Give me a break! If that's the case, why is there verifiable brain damage (which is hand-waved away in the end)?

I would have rather had a techno-babble explanation for her impairment with something like the organisms blocking her abilities with a subspace field or something - because.... wait for it.... techno-babble doesn't bother me. Shock, horror, surprise, fainting, screams, sighs, pants-shitting, mass hysteria ensues and the internet explodes!

Then life goes on. On to "Data's Day."

4/10
Riker's Beard
Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
This was a pretty lame episode. I did however appreciate the exchange at the very beginning between Riker and Data when Riker notices that Data didn't relay the time in milliseconds. This is great continuity from two episodes ago when Riker was questioning his reality by challenging Data's processing speed. Riker questioning Data in this episode shows how deeply Riker was effected by his experience and perhaps now he will always be looking out for indications that he is not part of normal reality. Also Data's reason for not supplying the information showed good character development. Thank you Michael Piller!
Diamond Dave
Sun, Sep 13, 2015, 9:43am (UTC -5)
A well intentioned but ultimately ham-fisted attempt to look at disability and how it is handled by those affected and those around them. As others have noted, because Troi's empathic abilities are notional it is difficult to get too involved. The character's whiny and histrionic reaction adds to the difficulty. The only sparky moment is when Riker tells her that her problem is she is no longer using her senses to remain in control of her relationships - a welcome change to the well-meaning advice delivered elsewhere.

The plot with the 2D beings is also difficult to associate with, as they don't react to anything the Enterprise does and are therefore just 'there'. Ballsy move though to have Worf recommend firing photon torpedoes yet again - and for Picard to actually agree to it! 1.5 stars.
IIII
Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 1:20am (UTC -5)
Troi has always been a "know-it-all-character" and as I said on The Price episode, she's a hypocrite. The Loss episode shows us that without her know-it-all powers, she's useless and insufferable.
RandomThoughts
Wed, Oct 28, 2015, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Hello Everyone

I always attempt to look at the episodes the way I did when I first saw them, recorded to VHS tape (I've still got them).

The beginning wasn't too bad, with Troi interacting with the crew-woman. Normal stuff, but setting the stage...

Only an idiot would not completely tie in the 2D beings and Troi's loss of her abilities, since they happened at the same time. I mean, really? When first viewing this, I thought 'Oh, the little critters are messing with her'. They sort of thought this as well, but only mention it for a bit.

It was mentioned above that they said Betazoid's have great brain-healing abilities, and that they never mentioned it again. Perhaps they (the writers) saw it as Troi trying to rationalize things, as folks do when disaster strikes. But why say they can heal better than most, then completely forget about it?

On first viewing, I thought she needed to wait out the current crisis, because things might change. And heck, how many hours was this crisis? Not that long, I think. Troi reacts as if it's been weeks or months she's been without her abilities, but it's only been a few hours. She ends up with a nasty attitude that reminded me of the voice Marina used in the episode where she was taken over by an alien, later in the series. But I digress: On first viewing, I couldn't suspend reality long enough to think she was really in a peril we were worried about. THE SHIP IS GOING TO DIE!... and we're worried about two crew-women who are having a terrible day? ...

And we need to be interested in that crew-woman? At that exact moment towards the end? When she goes to Troi and explains Troi was correct all along? With the next scene telling us how many Minutes are left until the are all GOING TO DIE?!

Heck, I just watched this a few hours ago and cannot quickly recall the techno-babble they used to save the day. But... it seemed Troi took Wesley's spot this week: she figured out something that they could try, and it worked. Yea!

This episode was an instant dislike for me when it first aired. Not that it was... totally... horrible, but it seemed Troi was completely out of character, like she'd been written by someone who knew about the series, but hadn't watched many of them. I really thought she would handle this problem better, especially since it happened at the same time as the alien 2D problem.

I believe the Troi I recall from earlier episodes would be smarter about the problem, try to help with the resolution, and not bother with an appointment when they were all GOING TO DIE!

Enjoy the day Everyone!



RandomThoughts
Wed, Oct 28, 2015, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Oh, I just recalled Troi said, at the end, she'd forgotten to cancel the appointment. As if that should have been a consideration at that time. We're ABOUT TO DIE, and the crew-woman still shows up, not to talk about their impending doom, but to talk about what they'd talked about, like everything was a normal day...
Dave
Mon, Feb 22, 2016, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
awwww... poor Deanna can't invade people's privacy for an episode.

Funny how horrible this is for her. Imagine having to function without knowing people's private and personal feelings and emotions; and without having to violate people against their will.

Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 23, 2016, 9:10am (UTC -5)
The point they were trying to make is it'd be like you suddenly not being able to see or hear. To us, yeah it's all BOO HOO you're just like the rest of us now but to her it's losing one of your main senses.

I thought it was funny she was so willing to up and quit being a counseler though at the drop of a hat lol.
Pam
Thu, Feb 25, 2016, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Watching this series as an adult, I have a hard time understanding why I liked Troi so much when I was little. Maybe it was just because she was pretty and I wanted to look like her. She's insufferable to me these days, as much as I still want to like her. Nostalgia, I suppose.

Did anyone else notice how over it Stewart was about a third of the way into the episode? I don't think he'd rate it among his favorites. It seemed almost like two different stories at the same time. I mean, who resigns their position on the ship in the middle of a crisis? Who starts packing their crap up when the ship's about to be destroyed? Where did she think she was going to go? There didn't seem to be much urgency from...well, anyone in this episode, really. The bridge crew acted mildly concerned, but that's about as far as it got. Ho hum, we're about to be sucked into a cosmic string. How unfortunate. That will surely put a crimp in my holodeck plans.

And seriously, it took four people to write this stinker?
Pam
Thu, Feb 25, 2016, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Oh, 'scuse me. Three people.
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
I do understand why people wouldn't like Deanna for going off on people after they were trying to help her. But otherwise, I think this is a good episode about loss of senses.

Let's compare it to DS9's "Melora" shall we? Troi becomes this sort of angry woman who doesn't like people "walking on eggshells" because of her disability. Ensign Melora was the same way, and the episode spent time showing how great Melora was just as she is.

So, this episode also shows us how great Troi can be as a professional without her empathic powers. And...it works to some degree. I like Troi puzzle-solving with Data for a change. There are also some great scenes for Riker and Troi where Riker gives Troi some tough love (and Troi of course gets back at him later).

And finally to address people's complaints about Troi's attitude, I think Siritis was trying to act out the emotional range of a newly handicapped person. It may come off strong, yet I think her off-putting demeanor shows just how painful it is to lose an important sense in a small amount of time.

3 stars.
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
I also wanted to add that Whoopi Goldberg is terrific in this episode. Her method of "counseling the counselor" was great and all the scenes she was in were hilarious and heartwarming.
Mr
Fri, Jun 24, 2016, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Blah, blah, blah, blah, Troi loses her powers and then get them back... yawn! This episode is for the easily amused ST and Troi fans. It's hard to be moved and touched by an insufferable Mary Sue bitch who did nothing but whine throughout the whole episode and didn't care what's going to happen to everyone else on the ship. Although, Marina Sirtis is an insufferable bitch in real life, so it probably wasn't hard her to act like this. I know that no one is perfect... but damn...
www.youtube.com/watch?v=UX70f7ovNl8
www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycAyqaFh84o

This episode could have been about a real disablement, like Wolf in episode Ethics, that was being disabled, even in the far future. Losing your "know it all abilities" comes across more as a dumb joke, "I lose my powers, I hate everyone! I got my powers back, now I love everyone!"

One and half Star
Aaron
Sat, Aug 13, 2016, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
It's funny -- I picked this episode to watch randomly a few months ago after not seeing any tng for years and I pretty much hated it. Now, after re-watching the show in chronological order I actually really liked it.

I felt the way that Troi described it ("surfaces without depth") was a great descriptor. It would be like humans going about their life but feeling an emptiness not unlike depression.

The only thing that truly bothered me and it extends beyond this episode is that Troi is the only counsellor onboard the entire ship? Sure there's some crew members with degrees in psychology but no other counsellors. Yes, people in a more perfect society can probably handle their mental and emotional health better than we can, but come on! For example look at "Q Who" -- 19 crew members were killed by the Borg. It rattled Ensign Gomez and she probably didn't get a chance to meet any of them. I imagine the crew members and possible family members of the dead would need counselling. It would have been nice if they had introduced someone who worked under Troi but oh well.

I like the idea of an empath being on the bridge for the captain and in other situations but shouldn't there be some sort of disclosure of her abilities to whomever they're dealing with? Seems somewhat underhanded to me.
~!@#$%^&*()-_=+\|
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
The excuses for this episode are so weak and desperate... "not unlike depression"... oh please, give me a break. When you have a character that can only rely on special powers and no real skill, like that of an actual therapist, throws a fit about it, treats others like crap and when she gets them back and acts all nice... that's a character that's useless, unlikable and unrelatable.

While Star Trek VOY was not the best ST series (it's still far better than ENT), I have to give credit where credit is due, they at least got rid of Kes, you know the blonde version of Troi.

"Listening to Counselor Troi's pedantic psychobabble."

Thank you Q

Zero stars
Rob
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Rikers comment about Troi being "aristocratic" was the equivalent of the more down-to-earth 21st century phrase of "poor little rich girl", which is exactly what she is.
TNG writers didn't try to make Troi a particularly likeable character - she just floated around, reading minds, making judgements, playing victim and eating chocolate.
Quincy Scott
Sat, Dec 17, 2016, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
I wonder do all the people complaining about Troi's "know it all" abilities also complain about Jordie's "know it all" visor that can see neutrinos (you know... those itty bitty things it takes swimming pools full of dry-cleaning fluid to detect?) or Data's "know it all" petaflops processor? These people probably shouldn't be watching Star Trek at all.
DLPB
Mon, Jan 9, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
I believe the problem with Troi is that she was there for one reason originally. And it wasn't a good reason. It was to give the male pervs watching the show the chance to peek at some panties with her short skirt (and, yeah, I was one of those pervs!). In fact, Gates McFadden left the show after Season 1 (and returned in Season 3), and she mentioned this type of stunt as one of the reasons for her decision to leave. She was asked to return by Berman and Stewart.

But as nice as a skimpy costume is, it's an insult to the character and the story—especially when the writer hasn't given a care for anything beyond moronic titillation. That's why Troi is such a useless pile of rubbish. It isn't Marina Sirtis' fault; she did her best with the material she was given. The problem is that the character was only there for some sneak peak panties, and nothing else. The writers didn't think about ANYTHING ELSE when they conjured her up.

Even the job itself—Counsellor—was dull and pathetic. If such a position were available on the Enterprise, she still wouldn't be on the Bridge. So, with a total lack of character development, or backstory, or prognosis, they simply forced Troi to repeat "I sense..." "I feel..." And even THAT wasn't consistent. When a scene would genuinely benefit greatly from having her talent, there was some silly reason why her power wouldn't work.

It was just really, really lazy and insulting to the audience. At least Marina got paid. I consider the character a total failure—not only did we not receive a character with depth, we also didn't get to see any lovely Marina Siritis/Troi panties!

I sense a very disappointed reviewer.
Chrome
Mon, Jan 9, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
@DLPB

Then you have episodes like "Face of the Enemy" where Sirtis and Troi play out a fantastic Hunter for the Red October-like story. And to be fair, this episode itself did a good job of showcasing Troi's psychology abilities minus her powers. I don't think overall the writers did a stellar job with the character but credit where credit is due.
DLPB
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Yes, they attempted much later to rectify the damage - but it was mostly too late.
SteveRage
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Ugh...... absolute dreck!

Troi acts like a brat for the majority of the episode. The technobabble sci-fi plot was stupid and the resolution was even dumber. An exceptionally dull episode in a so-far excellent season. 0.5 stars from me
N
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 3:55am (UTC -5)
1.5 stars. The tech plot is zero-star and the Troi material, while featuring worthwhile moments with Riker and Guinan (Frakes and Goldberg are especially good), is overplayed - I normally like Sirtis in the role, and she conveys upset and distress well, but isn't so good at conveying anger in this episode when the script (prematurely and excessively) calls on her to go into aggressive meltdown towards Beverly and others (I agree with Jammer's assessment that the early scenes of her reaction, especially towards Beverly, are not credible and "more shrill than effective"). The ending of the episoe is banal and absurd - even though the ship is supposedly minutes away from destruction, there's no sense of jeopardy, urgency or panic among the totally calm crew, the solution is contrived, and the "they're home!" moment super-corny...
Michb
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Not a very enjoyable episode. Troi's emotions appeared as shallow as her perception of her crewmates. I also consider it a missed opportunity to explore the theme of disability more. Geordi could and should have had a bigger role in this episode (possibly also Data, since there is a sense of loss in him to some extent). That would have also made it a lot more interesting, because that would make the episode revolve around multiple characters, instead of just one.

Guinan was excellent, as always.
Chrome
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
@Michb

Geordi was born blind and never "lost" anything. He seems pretty content with his VISOR as we see in episodes like "The Masterpiece Society". What did Data lose?
Peter G.
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
@ Chrome,

"Geordi was born blind and never "lost" anything. He seems pretty content with his VISOR as we see in episodes like "The Masterpiece Society". What did Data lose?"

Funny you should ask, I had to check the episode order just to make sure. Not seven episodes earlier Data lost the emotion chip that would have given him the thing he'd been after for years. I'd say that's more of a loss than Troi losing some special ability that no one else even had in the first place.

Regarding Geordi, I agree that he never 'lost' his sight, but I do think it would be fair to still say he has a disability that he's had to learn to live with. He has some advantages there, but if you remember from "Hide and Q" it's pretty clear that despite his scanner-vision he is missing out on a lot of what others take for granted, and I'm sure he's aware of that at all times.I definitely think he could have contributed something to the discussion of how to cope with feeling left out or having suffered a misfortune.
Chrome
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 10:34am (UTC -5)
@Peter G.

Data losing a chance at feeling emotion isn't really the same as what Troi's going through in this episode, I'm not sure Data could relate. But even so, Data does have a scene with Troi where explains that he lacks human insight anyway.

As for Geordi and his blindness, pardon the pun, but I don't see it. "Hey Deanna, I've lived without sight all my life, so you'll be fine without empathic powers?" What? Guinan was really a good choice because she actually does have a skillset and capabilities similar to Troi.
William B
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Right, but part of this episode seems to be a disability metaphor. Troi's disability is hard to relate to in some ways because she loses a power that most humans don't have. Nevertheless, if they *are* going for disability, there's an opportunity to deal with it by having Troi interact with the disabled member of the cast. It's not even that Geordi could necessarily help Troi that much, but I think it'd add a lot to the episode as a drama.

But it's possible the episode is a bit of a non-starter because she loses a power that no one in our world actually has. This is why Riker's "aristocratic" accusation maybe has some weight -- there is a bit of a "poor little rich girl" vibe here, where Troi has to suffer the unbearable fate of...being like other people. And I think that doesn't mean that it isn't a horrible and painful loss, at all -- anything that is central to a person's identity is hard to lose. But it also seems as if Troi doesn't quite get to the point where she adjusts to recognizing that her experience post-loss is actually what other people go through all the time. She sort of does, but I'm not sure if she learns that much, besides some generic "have confidence in yourself" lesson. I think that she maybe does view her empathic powers at the episode's end much more as a gift that she should treasure, rather than a default setting she takes for granted, the loss of which she should mourn, which is something.

This is one frame, though; if we look at it from Troi's perspective, it's awful, especially since this is part of her connection to (one of her) species. But I think that element of the story gets lost, too. I mean, imagine how her relationship with her mother would change if she could no longer communicate telepathically. There are lots of angles the episode could have taken, I think, to make the episode richer and deeper. I don't hate it like many do, but it plays to me as (jokey reference intended) pretty 2D.
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -5)
@ Chrome,

Data doesn't experience emotions, but what he experienced would qualify to most humans as a major trauma. His brother killed their father than stole his birthright, which included the completion of his programming. There is something Edward-Scissorhands-ish about that; very sad, I should think. His experience isn't a 1-to-1 comparison with Troi, but he (and heck, even Worf) could certainly have something to say about things being suboptimal compared to what they hoped for.

About Geordi, we can talk about the tech behind his VISOR all day, but ultimately his character was originally about how even disabled people will have a place right alongside everyone else in the future and will be able to contribute. The idea isn't that he *isn't* disabled, but that in the future being disabled won't have all the negative consequences that it does today. It's one thing to say that he's afforded the chance to contribute, but quite another to write off his disability and say that since he's 'used to it' that he has nothing to add to someone's experience of recently becoming disabled. The point isn't that his experience and hers are identical, but that he is a role model for the audience in how lacking some capability others have doesn't mean you can't be useful or participate. Troi's problem isn't that she lost her empathic powers; it's that she was obviously hanging on them as a crutch and can't cope without them. Her problem is emotional rather than technical, and that's how Geordi could help, because he no doubt went through a gamut of emotions of the course of his life regarding his blindness.

Of course you'll get no argument from me that Guinan was a prime candidate to assist. I'm just agreeing with Michb that this was a bit of a wasted opportunity. When anyone else on the ship has problems we are usually treated to them hearing advice from various crew members. Whether it's Data, Worf, or whomever else, they'll go through the gauntlet of hearing various comments from the different perspectives. We often even get humorous scenes when Worf or Data try to give people advice. Just saying, they could have done better using the crew in this one, rather than zeroing in on how upset Troi was. It ended up feeling like a giant tantrum rather than giving her a chance to finally lean on others for support like they do on her. Isn't the show supposed to be about how everyone can help each other?
William B
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
In fact, I actually like some things about this episode -- the Riker "aristocratic" scene I mentioned is pretty great. I don't mind Troi dealing with her loss in a way that reads as (and is) self-absorbed, because I find it pretty believable and realistic. I don't think the episode does much to have Troi actually break through and gain real understanding of other people, or of the crew to gain a real understanding of Troi, which is why I think it largely deserves the general disdain it's held in, despite the things I like about it.
William B
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Also what Peter G. said.
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
I also like the Riker scene. I think it would have had more impact, though, if Troi had already brushed off earnest attempts by others to help her. It could have been made clear that not only was she mistreating herself but the others as well by acting like she was above their points of view. The 'aristocratic' comment would have hit home even harder, I think. Maybe we could have even been treated to a "you're more like your mother than you think" jab, which could have been really biting :)
Chrome
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 11:16am (UTC -5)
@Wiiliam B./Peter G.

Actually, TNG in general really plays down Geordi considering his blindness a disability. No crew member ever mentions it, and Geordi never seems discouraged or left out because of it. In fact, I can really only think of one episode, "The Enemy", where Geordi's blindness even affects his performance. I think being blind is something we might consider a terrible disability today, but not such a big deal in the 24th century, and I'm sure that the writers purposefully avoided making us feel bad for Geordi, but rather liked to show off how incredibly capable Geordi was with his blindness.

So sure, in another show, a blind guy having a heart-to-heart with a woman who lost a sense would work, but it's somewhat antithetical to TNG's message of inclusiveness.

As for Data, I'm still not convinced. In order to experience the trauma you speak of, Data would need to have emotions. Since Data never had emotions, he has nothing to "feel" traumatic about. "Brothers" was just another interesting day for him.
William B
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Geordi indicates in The Naked Now how much he misses that he can never see a sunrise or Tasha's beautiful face, and does *want* to see in Hide and Q, even though he ultimately rejects it as a lie. I think we can reasonably believe that people generally don't discriminate against Geordi for being blind without it meaning that he doesn't feel a sense of sadness at being shut out from an experience felt by most humans.
Robert
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
@William B - " I think we can reasonably believe that people generally don't discriminate against Geordi for being blind without it meaning that he doesn't feel a sense of sadness at being shut out from an experience felt by most humans. I think we can reasonably believe that people generally don't discriminate against Geordi for being blind without it meaning that he doesn't feel a sense of sadness at being shut out from an experience felt by most humans. "

The only time I felt that Geordi may have experienced discrimination from blindness was in his conversation with the woman engineer in "The Masterpiece Society". I feel like LeVar added a bit of a chip on Geordi's shoulder in his acting in that scene. It was quite good.
William B
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 11:43am (UTC -5)
@Robert, I thought of "The Masterpiece Society" too, and I agree LeVar adds a great edge to it. (I added "generally" to the discrimination line to account for moments like that -- and any others I can't think of.)

I think that it's worth noting that the Romulans' using his VISOR in "The Mind's Eye" is especially despicable because of using his disability against him -- not exactly "discrimination" in the sense we're talking about, but very brutal.
Chrome
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
@William B

I forget about "The Naked Now" because season one's full of early installation weirdness, but I suppose Geordi does lament being blind when "drunk". It might even be safe to say Geordi would only mind being blind if he was out of his senses from intoxication.

I did think about "The Mind's Eye", but we never really get a moment where Geordi reflects on being used as a tool by the Romulans (and later again by the Klingons in "ST: Generations"). That might make for a darkly humorous conversation with Troi, though:

Geordi: You think it's hard losing your mind-reading skills? How do you think I feel being, after Data, the single biggest security risk to the Enterprise because I have to use tech to live a normal life?

Then again, we might just end up feeling worse for Geordi than we do for Troi. :)
Rahul
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
One of the more boring TNG overall and weaker TNG S4 episodes so far. Can tell from Jammer's review he wasn't a fan of it either.

A Troi-focused episode is not a good recipe for me -- she has had her annoying moments in prior seasons. Here she's lashing out at Crusher, Riker etc. for losing her empathic abilities -- perhaps hard to care about it if you don't know what it's like to lose a sense.

I think the sci-fi aspect here of 2D beings and their pull on the ship was poorly done. The technobabble didn't make much sense to me -- seems like the Enterprise tried the appropriate things but the moths/flame solution didn't have any logic for me or how the ship could create the reverse phenomena.

The 1st 30 mins. was pretty forgettable, the opening dreadfully dull. Like I said, hard to empathize with Troi's "loss". And I thought her petulant actions were unprofessional -- but I guess it's all meant to show what it could be like for a therapist to become a patient. But resigning as ship's councillor too? I really liked how Guinan showed an interest in the job -- she should really be the ship's councillor. Riker had some good parts trying to help Troi but also putting her in her place a bit with the "aristocrat" comment.

"The Loss" doesn't quite make it to 2 stars for my rating. You got 2 mediocre plots, weak sci-fi, and very slow pacing. So I think 1.5 stars is more appropriate. I don't know what more they could do with the interesting idea of 2D beings, but definitely more could be done with a key crew member losing a sense.
Mikey
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Speaking for those of us who don't find Troi physically attractive (I think she's actually quite ugly), this is an insufferable episode. I wish I could find her attractive, then maybe I could overlook what a whiny, know it all bitch she really is.
Robert
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:20am (UTC -5)
@Mikey - Do you enjoy the Picard, Riker, Geordi, Data or Worf episodes? I mean... you probably don't right? Do you find Worf attractive?

Sorry all, that was borderline trolling, but I couldn't resist.
Chrome
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Totally, Robert, that's why all the Ezri Dax episodes are awesome!!1one

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.