Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"Samaritan Snare"

**1/2

Air date: 5/15/1989
Written by Robert L. McCullough
Directed by Les Landau

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Wesley must complete his Starfleet Academy entrance exams and is booked by shuttle to travel to a nearby starbase. Picard goes along with him when Pulaski orders him to have heart surgery at the starbase's medical facility, for reasons Picard would like to keep as quiet as possible. With Riker in command, the Enterprise answers the distress call from a disabled ship of Pakleds, a race of humanoids that might best be described as ... slow. Riker agrees to send Geordi to repair their engines.

Our attention is flagged when Worf repeatedly urges caution in answering a call from a race the Enterprise knows nothing about. The Pakleds seem harmless, even stupid, but it might all be a ruse. Then again, maybe not. The fact that they feel confident (as Troi intuits) and not helpless might be beside the point when considering their intelligence. Riker finds himself managing a potentially deadly standoff when the Pakleds take Geordi's phaser and hold him hostage, demanding all of the data in the Enterprise's computer.

Even though the episode is always watchable, the problem is that the Pakleds should never have gotten the upper hand in the first place — not based on what we see of their intelligence. The standoff is created by the Enterprise's own shortsightedness: For example, why would they send Geordi over with a phaser just so it can be used against him? Besides, I find the plausibility of the Pakleds dubious. They're either too smart or too dumb to be behaving this way, and for a long time the episode doesn't know which. How could they have stolen so many others' technology using similar ruses? Somehow, I don't see the Klingons or Romulans caving in to a hostage standoff, or even being Good Samaritans that could become the victim of such a ruse in the first place. The Enterprise's solution to the problem is an elaborate con that proves my point: If the Pakleds are dumb enough to be taken in by such ham-handed trickery, they couldn't possibly be able to travel through space in the first place.

The subplot involving Wesley and Picard is actually pretty good, mostly because of the issue of Picard's image. He doesn't want to have surgery on the Enterprise — and, for that matter, his whole dilemma involving his artificial heart is established with a wonderfully told piece of backstory that brings a whole new dimension to his character.

Previous episode: Q Who
Next episode: Up the Long Ladder

Season Index

15 comments on this review

Bill - Tue, Oct 4, 2011 - 11:19pm (USA Central)
Samaritan Snare gets 2.5 stars? LOL! the Pakleds are the dumbest and most ridiculous species ever seen in Trek. "Down Syndrome" aliens, no? I would probably give it 2.5 stars, though, for the absolute hilarity. One of the funniest episodes I have ever seen. Our ship, it is broken!
Latex Zebra - Thu, Apr 19, 2012 - 2:46am (USA Central)
Another reviewer once described the Pakled's as 'The Forest Gump's of the Universe).
Love this episode and think this was a good choice after the rather ominous Q Who.
Amongst my friends and even my Wife, if we have car trouble someone will always say 'My ship is broke, can you make it go.' and if we're on Holiday someone will usually say 'We are far from home.'

As quatablity goes this is the Ron Burgundy of Star Trek.
Latex Zebra - Thu, Jul 12, 2012 - 2:57am (USA Central)
Just seen that Captain Thomas Halloway was original choice of Captain and designer of the Enterprise D. This only came out in the books though.
Got to love the authors of Trek novels, they do mine some obscurities.
Mike Caracappa - Mon, Sep 24, 2012 - 4:04am (USA Central)
Rikers command of the situation is a little confusing. For instance why does he not listen to his officers when they tell him it might be a trap? Of all people especially, why does Riker ignore Troi when she flat out tells him the aliens are deceiving them, especially since the two of them have a bond and a trust? Why does he not listen to her?
Rosario - Sun, Nov 4, 2012 - 11:48am (USA Central)
Riker obviously knew just how hilarious seeing Geordi rag-dolled around with a phaser would be to watch so that's obviously the reason he ignored all the precautions and sent him alone and unnecesarily armed. I mean really, that phaser was just throwing Geordi around haha He'll be fine!
xaaos - Tue, Nov 20, 2012 - 1:04pm (USA Central)
Wes didn't want the sandwich Picard offered, but he ate two afterall...
Shane - Tue, Dec 11, 2012 - 1:24am (USA Central)
This episode is a bit sloppy in the script department and as far as editing does but I do enjoy it immensely. It is quite absurd that Riker would be duped by the Pakleds and that they themselves could travel through space without being killing by an accident or ticking off the Romulans or Klingons.

I've got to agree with an earlier reviewer on the quotability front. My Trek friends and I all enjoy imitating the Pakleds. "It is broken!" "We are not strong." :-)

Although a stronger element to the show, I was a bit bothered by Picard's retelling of his incident getting stabbed in the heart. Suddenly he takes a new way of speaking "My mates and I..."

I suppose in all fairness 2.5 stars is a fair rating but as far as enjoyment I'd probably give it 4 stars, perhaps a bit more.
Jay - Mon, Jan 14, 2013 - 12:35pm (USA Central)
So whose space does this take place in...Federation space? I can't imagine there is "Pakled space" to speak of.
Rikko - Tue, Mar 26, 2013 - 8:37pm (USA Central)
"We are smart"! The Pakleds are some hilariously stupid race, aren't they?

That part with them was the kind that's so bad it's good, and totally overshadowed the real good stuff with Picard and Wesley.

You said it guys, quotability is off the charts!

DutchTrekkie - Mon, Dec 2, 2013 - 7:39pm (USA Central)
This race makes me want to slaughter them.
-> I cant stand idiot people in real life either.
: in that regard I may be a klingon where death and weak (and stupid IS weak) are the same word.

the star trek universe often is FAR to meak.
1 : why would I risk my captain for total strangers, what GAIN is there for the Terran Empire?
2 : seing how stupid they are, I most likely would have left them to rot (not worth that mercifull shot)
3 : even IF they offered me something of enough value to offer help (and that should be something worth a whole planet giving their race-not-worth-living) I would not send my CHIEF engineer, it was a simple problem, let ensign cannonfodder go.
4 : the second they attacked my crewman they were dead meat they and their race : you attack one of us, you attack all of us. Dumb AND decietfull : find their planet and sterilse their race.. show the galaxy thou shalth not mess with the Terran Empire.
-> drink bloodwine with our klingon allies afterwards.
Adam - Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - 6:12am (USA Central)
I enjoy this one. The Pakled are just so ridiculously stupid , you have no choice but to love them. I need to find a good situation where I can utter 'my (insert object here, computer, car, watch, etc) is broken. Can you make it go?'

The plot with Picard and Wes on the shuttle is indeed pretty good. I have only a few small gripes with it. And they're in the script and editing. First of all, the Klingons never joined the Federation! I guess they were still working out some of the finer details of the 24th century universe in the second season. Secondly, Picard eats that sandwich really quickly. He goes from one bite taken out of the sandwich in one shot, to one bite left, in just a few camera angles! The continuity editor was asleep at the wheel.

I can't see the Romulans, Klingons, or Jarada falling for the Pakleds obvious trick.

But aside from a few gripes, it's quite a fun episode, due to the perhaps intentional, perhaps not, hilarity of the Pakleds.
Adam - Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - 6:20am (USA Central)
The Pakleds are as quotable as the episode 'Darmok'! (Sokath, his eyes uncovered!)

'We look for things'

'He is smart'

'We are far from home'

'Our ship is broken. Can you make it go?'
Andy's Friend - Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - 8:11pm (USA Central)
@Adam: you're so right! I regularly quote this episode ― or have it quoted to me! :D

Whenever a couple of my friends and I lovingly want to tease one another when one of us is say, stating the obvious ― or actually says or does something useful for a change ― the line "He is smart!" is a classic! :D

In fact, all the lines you quote are. I cannot begin to count the times that I, when asked what I was looking for by my girlfriend, simply answered, goofily, of course: "I look for things. Things that make me go." :) And when ever I'm in need of something or something isn't working, I just have to say: "My [whatever] is broken. Can you make it go?" to see a smile on her face ;) It's a silly, great episode! :)
Andy's Friend - Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - 8:26pm (USA Central)
...reading the comments now, I see we're not alone, Adam :)

@Latex Zebra: I always suspected we were two of a kind :)
@Shane: same here (and what a great film "Shane" is, btw)
@Rikko: ditto

@DutchTrekkie: you have to start smiling a bit more, buddy. Come on, sing along:

"If life seems jolly rotten
There's something you've forgotten
And that's to laugh and smile and dance and sing
When you're feeling in the dumps
Don't be silly chumps
Just purse your lips and whistle - that's the thing.
And... always look on the bright side of life..."

Have a Coke and a smile, DutchTrekkie ;)


Latex Zebra - Tue, Mar 18, 2014 - 5:48am (USA Central)
@Andy's Friend - Haha, got to love a kindred spirit. Especially in a place with as many opposing views as this.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer