Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"Too Short a Season"

*1/2

Air date: 2/8/1988
Teleplay by Michael Michaelian and D.C. Fontana
Story by Michael Michaelian
Directed by Robert Bowman

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Two hoary cliches — the Hostage Crisis and the Fountain of Youth — converge/collide to create one of the more forgettable and emotionally impenetrable episodes in TNG's run. This is hardly the worst of TNG, but I'd be lying if I said I could turn my empathy over to anybody in this story's scenario. One of the odd aspects of the show is that it makes the guest character the central character without giving us any notable reason to care about him.

The hostage standoff has to do with a vendetta that dates back 45 years. Karnas (Michael Pataki) has taken hostages and is promising to execute them unless an ancient Starfleet admiral, Mark Jameson (Clayton Rohner), turns himself over to answer for his crime: arming both sides of a conflict (rather than just Karnas' side), which led to four decades of civil war. Who are these hostages, who are the hostage-takers, and who exactly is Jameson? Most of all, what does any of this have to do with Jameson's sick need to answer this hostage negotiation in the middle of a risky drug regimen intended to reverse his aging? Better question: Who cares?

Clayton Rohner is not convincing as an old man — not in the makeup and certainly not in the performance, which seems to equate old age with a (very fake) gruff voice. By the time we get to the revelation that Jameson armed both sides of the conflict, the ship containing our interest has long since sailed. The final act falls victim to its boundless overacting, with Karnas shouting and refusing to believe the young Jameson is who he says he is, despite the lack of any reasonable motive for such a convoluted deception. The story makes too much of proving to Karnas that Jameson is actually himself. Meanwhile, the audience is sitting on the sidelines with blank stares.

Previous episode: 11001001
Next episode: When the Bough Breaks

Season Index

12 comments on this review

Nic - Sat, Jul 25, 2009 - 10:10am (USA Central)
I thought your comment about the center of "Too Short a Season" being the guest character. Did you know that this episode was originally conceived as an episode where Kirk comes back to face a decision he made in an episode of TOS (I think it was "A Private Little War"). However, William Shatner refused to do a guest appearence because he said the show was trash (though I'm sure his ego was involved in the decision).
It makes you wonder how different the series would have been if Kirk had appeared in this episode. For one thing, all subsequent Star Trek films (especially "Generations") would have been very different.
Duge - Thu, Apr 19, 2012 - 4:37pm (USA Central)
I see this episode as being generally despised by ST fans, however I thought that it was a fairly solid-by S1 standards-story. I thought that the story was actually quite interesting with an elderly starfleet admiral being forced to confront the consequences of his secret actions many years ago, as well as the tragic implications of his decision to use an alien de-aging drug, not only for himself but also his wife, who was left in the dark about Jameson's decision to use the drugs so that he could be part of this mission. I liked how the episode dealt with Jameson's past decisions to arm both sides and acknowledges that Jameson (probably) made a huge mistake by arming combatants on both sides that cost Karnas' world years of death and devastation BUT also smartly acknowledges the fact, as Picard points out, Karnas didn't have to keep the fighting going either and that he could have worked for peace.
Edax - Sat, May 26, 2012 - 2:09pm (USA Central)
Hey, let's face it, TNG in the first two seasons sucked. Voyager was far better then this, so it's not hard to see why Shatner wouldn't want to do it, cause yeah, TNG was going the way of show Enterprise at the time.
Rikko - Tue, Jul 31, 2012 - 5:29pm (USA Central)
This ep was so boring, couldn't agree more with Jammer. The Karnas guy was so bad at his role that it put a smile on my face.

@ Nic: That would have been pretty cool, dunno how good the plot could have been, though. Haven't seen much of TOS, so I don't know that ep you're talking about.

@ Duge: One man's trash is another man's treasure, huh? Imo, the plot wasn't so bad, but the acting killed it.

@ Edax: Completely agree with you until that S2 episode "The Measure of a Man". The series seems to have made a significant leap in quality ever since (I'm only 5 episodes after that one, and so far so good)
DPC - Tue, Nov 13, 2012 - 8:58pm (USA Central)
They are cliches yet the story feels oddly innovative.

Wisely, the "fountain of youth" trope would always be a cliche, so they kept that aspect shallow while focusing on other events. Which is best, the more they discussed the de-aging Admiral's love life with his wife the more I started to cringe, but they kept the thought minimal. So it's realistic (for the scope of the concept) without descending into the drivel other S1 stories would descend into. Thankfully.

The hostage crisis/arms dealing was one of the "real life" things TOS was known for. It feels like it's trying to be a reversal of what TOS' "A Private Little War" was doing.

Admiral Jameson's makeup was very iffy at times, but the younger he got the better he got...

Michael Pataki excelled as Karnas...

I then just read Nic's response above. It's cool to know the story started as a sequel to "A Private Little War". At the time, Shatner wasn't wrong (but his ego, "GET A LIFE!!!" bit notwithstanding, wasn't why he claimed the show was trash, if he had indeed do so...)



I rate it 3 of 4 stars.
Van_Patten - Wed, Dec 12, 2012 - 6:54pm (USA Central)
After the heights of the last Outing '11001001' odds are we were due a clunker and 'Too Short a Season' doesn't fail to disappoint. The plot such as it is is pretty well derivative of a dozen other shows and the episode rarely rises above the level of cliche. The Enterprise is called To a hostage crisis on Morden IV and Starfleet requests they take along the Admiral who negotiated the Original ceasefire on the planet, Mark Jameson (Clayton Rohner), although it quickly transpires that neither the situation nor he are what they appear to be.

This episode was for me, arguably the weakest of the season - very close run with 'Angel One' or 'Code of Honor', it tends to get overlooked when worst lists are being considered. But th olotmisnshot full of holes. Michael Pataki overacts dreadfully as Karnas and Rohner's performance, although improving somewhat when he sheds the 'Old Age' makeup is still pretty poor. With the two guest stars failing to impress, a weak, predictable plot, it would look to someone watching TNG fresh that the excellence of the previous episode was an isolated 'lucky strike' - Certainly the episode seems to go on interminably, and as a result merits a low score for simple boredom value alone.

For me, extremely weak and I'd strongly consider dropping it below the 1 star I believe it merits. I'll settle for that, though given what comes next.
William B - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 4:11am (USA Central)
I think Jammer has the problem(s) here nailed down really well. There is no particular reason to combine Hostage Situation and Fountain of Youth in this story, and the whole episode is devoted to a guest character. Essentially, while it's nice and all that Picard made the effort to figure out what was going on and to try to curb Admiral Jameson's excesses, this episode would have worked out exactly the same had the Enterprise crew not bothered participating in this plot at all. Not only that, but the episode hardly even requires *Jameson* to do anything at all after his (off-screen before the episode starts) downing a bunch of anti-aging drugs, since ultimately he just...dies from those.

Anyway, nothing in this story requires Trek, for that matter, nor even any sci-fi/fantasy elements outside the basic "fountain of youth" angle, even though that is hardly necessary for the revenge plotline. Heck, the story could play almost exactly the same in modern setting, non-SF/fantasy, with a hostage negotiator (who armed some rival gangs in the past) taking a bunch of steroids or some such so he can stare down the gang leader he had dealt with before, and then dies in front of him. Or as a Twilight Zone episode (hopefully a half-hour one) with nearly the same plot. And even that assumes that there is some reason why the "revenge hostage-taking" plot needs to be wed to any drug-taking plot at all.

I mean, I don't object to stories that don't require a sci-fi element. But there should be some sense of why exactly this episode exists on this series -- some relevance to character or theme. And this episode is mystifying because there is none. "Fountain of Youth" is genuinely as far as this story went as far as locating it within a sci-fi context, and it went absolutely no further to find some kind of resonances with any of the Enterprise crew. That means that in its own way it is less clear why this exists than the season's actual low points ("Code of Honour," "Justice," "Angel One"), which are worse than this episode but have some effort (albeit botched) to relate the episode story to the main cast and the series' themes more directly.

The aged-Jameson makeup and acting are laughable even by season one standards. Fortunately, the episode stopped being laughable once he got somewhat younger, but then it just stopped being...anything. 1.5 stars is probably reasonable, but I can't help but go lower for the absolute lack of reason for this episode to exist. 1 star.
William B - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 4:16am (USA Central)
To elaborate a bit more -- the actual idea that Jameson armed both sides and that this led to a civil war, and then his need to atone for this act, is actually potentially strong enough to carry an episode, if this were given the proper focus it is due. Contra Jammer, I think that this scene in which Jameson admits this to Picard is the one (only?) effective scene in this episode, and I managed to care in spite of myself. But this aspect is still badly buried, and almost nothing else in this episode works.

I also want to stress how perfunctory this episode's action sequence was.

I like DPC's point that this feels like a follow-up to Kirk's idea in "A Private Little War." There is another TOS reference -- I think that the design of Jameson's wheelchair is meant to evoke Christopher Pike's from "The Menagerie."
Nick P. - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 11:29pm (USA Central)
I am one of the few that really enjoy this episode. I am sure it is 7 year old me, but whatever, I love it. As I have stated numerous times, I would take the S1 overacting, over the S7 underacting bore any day of the week. Why shouldn't Karnas yell everything? His mortal enemy is showing up 45 years too young.

I really loved that ending too, "annie with the hair of Gold", I say it was done pretty well.

the ONLY thing that annoys me here is the Star Trek trope of discovering the cure for death, and forgetting it by next week....WTF.
Paul - Wed, May 8, 2013 - 10:35am (USA Central)
@Nick P: I just watched this the other day. There's a good episode dying to get out.

The story is interesting in concept. If this had been done in the third or fourth seasons, the acting would have been better. I also think the writing would have been better. The fountain of youth stuff is cliched, but at least here it's a means and not an end.

This is better than a lot of first season fair, because the concept is stronger. But the episode suffers from a lot of the first season's problems.
Grumpy - Wed, May 8, 2013 - 6:18pm (USA Central)
Even if this had been presented as a Kirk story (and thanks, Nic, for that tip), it would've had the same problem of not involving the TNG characters. At least make the admiral a hero, mentor, or close friend of a regular. That's one thing the later TOS crossovers did succeed with.

The Kirk aspect also explains why the de-aging drug was shoved into the plot: to spare Shatner a few days of age makeup (which must've been hell for De Kelly's cameo in "Farpoint"). The question remains, once Shatner said no, when didn't they drop that subplot?
Gabriel - Sun, Dec 15, 2013 - 5:19am (USA Central)
Gates McFadden's beauty saved this episode for me. God, she looks gorgeous here.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer