Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"The Naked Now"

**1/2

Air date: 10/5/1987
Teleplay by J. Michael Bingham
Story by John D.F. Black and J. Michael Bingham
Directed by Paul Lynch

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

A deadly incident on a research vessel prompts the Enterprise to investigate why the crew went crazy and ended up accidentally killing themselves. The away team brings back a virus from the research ship which has the effect of severe alcoholic intoxication. Dr. Crusher must race to find a cure before the Enterprise becomes a victim of a similar disastrous event caused by drunken behavior.

The plot, let's face it, is a transparent excuse for the crew to act weird and play out the series' various would-be sexual-tension entanglements in comic form. Why doesn't Beverly detect the disease and quarantine Geordi from the outset? Because "our instruments don't show it!" that's why. How conveeeeenient.

It's probably a bad sign when you're cribbing from original series storylines by Episode 2 (see TOS's "The Naked Time"). Also probably a bad sign that you're playing the sexual tension games so early, before we've had time to learn who these characters are. Picard/Crusher, Riker/Troi, Data/Yar — that's two-thirds of the regular cast tied up in these games already, in Episode 2. The Data/Yar coupling I suppose is interesting, solely for the informative value: Data can get drunk and have sex.

And yet, there's a certain memorable quality to this episode, despite its campy, overplayed comedy. A fragment of a collapsed star is careening toward the ship, which can't move because some fool has pulled out all of the control chips from a console. Data must race to put them back in. Wesley, the boy wonder, has the dubious distinction of taking control of the ship and putting it in danger before then saving it, while everyone else looks on helplessly. No wonder the character is so loathed. Ron Jones scores the show as if it were an episode of TOS.

Ultimately, the show is too goofy for its own good, but it's at least not boring.

Previous episode: Encounter at Farpoint
Next episode: Code of Honor

Season Index

15 comments on this review

Joe Ford - Sun, Feb 10, 2008 - 5:01pm (USA Central)
How funny is The Naked Now? This is not just bad Trek but seriously bad television. I was trying to decide which scene was funnier...
"Tasha...help me to not give into these wild feelings!"
"But Geordi my job is security! No, you're right...helping people is better!"

or...

"The virus leaves you with a severe lack of judgement...and I find you very, very attractive!" (Crusher to Picard)

Just pure cheese
Eduardo - Wed, Oct 1, 2008 - 2:38pm (USA Central)
The Naked Now contains a glaring wording error in a specific line of dialogue. It happens when Picard and Data uncover the information about the same virus that infected Kirk's crew in the 1960's.

PICARD: Data, DOWNLOAD this information to medic immediately.
DATA: Aye sir. DOWNLOADING.

This line makes no sense. Data is working on a bridge acces panel. He should be UPLOADING data to sickbay, not the other way around.

It's not surprising that Trek's writers were still clueless how to even write regular computer terminology, let alone the more complicated technobabble.
charlie - Fri, May 7, 2010 - 7:56pm (USA Central)
Yes, some of the early TNG episodes were just ripoffs of TOS stories, but I'm actually kinder to "The Naked Now" than some others because it actually ACKNOWLEDGES that it's a replay of "The Naked Time." Like Jammer said, it's never boring & the Data/Yar sex scene has become classic.
Voyager never did this with its many ripoffs, of course I guess it would've been silly to have references to past Trek series in almost every episode.
NCC-1701-Z - Fri, Mar 23, 2012 - 11:57pm (USA Central)
Ugh...THIS is the second ep?! Not a good sign if the second ep is such a blatant ripoff of TOS. True, they acknowledged it, but still, a bad sign.

Starting off pretty good, the ep derails around the first/second act when the crew starts to go bonkers. The Data/Yar sex scene was utterly pointless and stupid, I'm sorry. Low point of the ep.

Not that the rest of the ep fared much better. The acting from most of the cast was really subpar this time around. Especially when Riker near the end says "I can't take it anymore" when his control starts to break--completely unconvincing. And don't forget Wesley saving the ship at the end singlehandedly--no wonder why they keep replacing chief engineers each week, a drunk teenager can do stuff better than they can!

I guess it's a good thing that the ep never becomes boring, and it is structured quite effectively, but the execution leaves much to be desired. The point when Crusher cures the disease comes off as anticlimactic. I wished they'd spent just a few more minutes showing her working frantically in the lab while resisting the disease. That would have improved the ep quite a bit, IMHO.

I'm going to go ahead and call this a fail. 1.5 out of 4.
Rikko - Mon, Apr 9, 2012 - 11:35am (USA Central)
I'm with NCC-1701-Z.

This one is a fail.

What annoys me the most is the fact that's just the second episode proper, and they were already making fun of the series?? (and while they were at it, ripping off the original series)

It was too soon to jump in the comedy bandwagon. The same episode, played much later, would have been better (Maybe after "The Battle" or some other pseudo serious ep of Season 1).

As one of the very first eps of TNG ever, it's an epic fail.
Van Patten - Mon, Jun 18, 2012 - 12:10am (USA Central)
I can recall, at the tender age of 15, having just begun watching TNG in earnest whilst being replayed on British terrestrial TV (First episode 'Future Imperfect') eagerly heading out to the now collapsed 'Our Price' chain and picking up the First four VHS tapes of TNg. Having watched 'Encounter' and been somewhat unimpressed by its relatively cerebral nature versus the Iriginal Trek, 'The Naked Nw' was something new for me. At the time, I would have given this about 3 stars, but with the benefit ofv20 years hindsight, how does it compare now?

I'd ave to say, the review here is on the money. The episode is of course, a blatant rip off of 'The Naked Time' but it does at least acknowledge that fact! Thus is one of the more tolerable Wesley episodes, although the assistant Chief engineer and the first Chief engineer are very badly played. The dialogue is also, at times, excruciating. However, thus us Frakes' best episode for some time (probably until 'Hide and Q', and as a while the episode is at least mildly entertaining -that said, in the current era many have pointed out, TNG would've been pulled after Season 1with current TV execs pullin the strings. Who's to say, based on this and subsequent offerings, it'd have even made it to episode 25?

A 2 star episode once again. Reasonable but too many flaws to overlook.
Mike Caracappa - Thu, Aug 30, 2012 - 3:29am (USA Central)
This episode is stupid, but it's got some amusing moments. The only part that annoys me is Picards moralizing at the end. "I think we shall end up a fine crew...if we avoid temptation." What's that supposed to mean? It's not like the crew had any control over what they were doing!
Paul - Tue, Oct 23, 2012 - 4:29pm (USA Central)
Yes, this is a bad episode. But decrying the fact that it's a TOS ripoff/homage is kind of dumb. The creators were clearly TRYING to get TOS fans on board by doing this. I bet the original promos mentioned something about TOS.

Now, beyond that, a lot of what's done in the episode is stupid. Data getting drunk is clearly just ridiculous. It would have made more sense to have Data man ops for the length of the episode and not involved Worf at all (at this point in the series, it wasn't odd to not have one of the secondary characters appear in an episode).

Still, I'll take this over "Code of Honor" or "Haven" any day of the week. It's campy and dumb, but at least it's somewhat entertaining.
DPC - Tue, Nov 13, 2012 - 8:35pm (USA Central)
"The Naked Time" put thought into the characters and what happens if their ability to control themselves is put aside.

"Naked Now" turns everything into a brainless foreplayfest, and given how early in TNG's run this was, they really missed out on an opportunity to hit a home run...

1 star, mostly because of LeVar Burton's performance as the compromised Geordi is the closest thing this episode got to making use of how people feel and act without the social protocols and graces. It's the one thing the story got right. Riker getting Data down to Engineering would be the other moment... Jonathan Frakes plays it all straight, thankfully!
DPC - Tue, Nov 13, 2012 - 8:37pm (USA Central)
I forgot to add; the contrivances to make Data succumb to the virus were just pathetic...

And Yar seeking affection from an android? Indeed, what did Dr Soong intend when deciding to make Data anatomically correct and "fully functional"? He's not a mobile fire hydrant meant to extinguish burning buildings...
Nick P. - Tue, Nov 20, 2012 - 9:14am (USA Central)
I love this episode. 3.5 stars. I have the same opinion of this I do "genesis" from season 7. Just FUN. Stupid, campy, implausible, but ridiculous fun. I really do wish there were more fun episodes like this over the next 7 years.

I love that there was a "core?" flying at the enterprise, and a drunk data had to put the chips in something to save the day! Who cares that it is stupid.

And Jammer, Jones didn't score this like it was TOS, he scores like it is Star Wars!


I say this all the time, but I would take this innocent, bombastic fun style of season 1 episodes any day over the monotonous, boring, endless, tiring, methodical style of season 7 any day of the week.
Qermaq - Fri, Jan 11, 2013 - 7:38pm (USA Central)
The best thing about this episode: Benjamin Lum as Shimoda playing with the control chips as if he were a toddler with toys.

The worst thing: nearly everything else.

It was important to character exposition but served little actual value otherwise.
Kate - Tue, Jan 29, 2013 - 7:11am (USA Central)
The less said about this episode, the better.

I think Wil Wheaton made a good point when he talked about "The Naked Now." We barely knew these people at this point, so were we really supposed to truly *know* that this was out of character behavior for them, or were we just told that it was so and just shrugged and went with it?
Corey - Mon, Mar 11, 2013 - 11:07am (USA Central)
I liked some of the scenes in this episode, but also thought a lot of the acting was still weak.

I also don't like the fact that in order for the events of the episode to even occur, the crew has to act incompetent rather than than professionals. Their scans showed no life signs. Likely causes are 1) aliens boarded and killed crew 2) contagion 3) severe mechanical failure aboard the science vessel. The crew detected no signs of an alien, therefore 2 or 3 were pretty likely. So as such, the crew should have boarded in environmental suits. In the TOS episode, Spock and a red shirt DID wear an environmental suit, and for the Enterprise crew to not take such a simple precaution makes them look like amateurs. Two star episode, at best.
William B - Mon, Mar 18, 2013 - 4:29am (USA Central)
I think 2.5 stars is somewhat generous, but it's nice to see someone who doesn't dismiss the episode entirely. There are some good things here -- I actually enjoy some of the flirty dialogue between Picard and Crusher, which might put me in a minority. Well, not the "I have gone so long without a husband!" line, but the "Beverly."/"Jean-Luc."/"You will address me as Captain!"/"You will address me as Chief Medical Officer or Doctor."/"Oh right, I started by calling you Beverly so of course you are going to...." exchange was something of a highlight.

Still, it's a bad idea to show the crew acting "out of character" this early -- I particularly love the crew talking about how they know Geordi is acting unusually because there's nothing in his file about being sad he can't see, because they clearly have not had time to find out any of this. The gender politics of the episode are also deeply weird -- all three female characters are distracted by sex and are the pursuers of all three of those relationships, whereas the male characters are actually given individualized desires (Geordi's sight, Wesley's desire to control the ship, the assistant chief engineer's desire to play with those chip things). It is nice to see women as the sexual aggressors, though.

Probably 1.5 stars from me, though I might go up to 2.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer