Star Trek: The Next Generation



Air date: 5/9/1988
Teleplay by Tracy Torme
Story by Robert Sabaroff
Directed by Cliff Bole

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Under Starfleet transmission code 47 — the utmost secrecy and urgency — Picard is called to the surface of a desolate, abandoned mining planet by his good friend, Captain Walker Keel (Jonathan Farwell) of the USS Horatio. Keel warns Picard of a conspiracy growing within Starfleet Command, and ominously tells him to trust no one. The Horatio is shortly afterward destroyed in a disastrous implosion. Coincidence? Yeah, right.

"Conspiracy" is the tensest and most unpredictable of TNG's first season, starting with Keel's wide-eyed "No!" when Picard asks if their meeting can be done with less cloak-and-dagger sneakiness, and proceeding through the slowly building realization that an alien threat has come from beyond and is now attacking by manipulating from within. Ironic that one of the most involving of TNG's first season is also essentially an anti-Trek storyline, in which a malevolent alien threat must be exposed and destroyed with brute force (not to mention visceral reactions of unmasked disgust, particularly from Picard), and an ominous ending that is not at all reassuring.

Admiral Quinn, who alluded to the conspiracy in "Coming of Age," turns out to be under the alien influence here, and throws around like rag dolls (in the following order) Riker, Geordi, and Worf, before being put down by a phaser blast from Dr. Crusher, who subsequently discovers the parasitic being attached to Quinn's upper spine. Meanwhile, Picard's meeting with the admirals at Starfleet Headquarters on Earth is a nicely played escalation of subdued horror — with idle conversation that then proceeds to a meal of live worms, and finally the revelation that Riker has been compromised — or has he?

The mother of all the aliens is hiding in Lt. Cmdr. Remmick (which is somehow amusingly appropriate), which makes for a rather creepy sequence: Somehow, when he says the aliens seek "peaceful coexistence" I'm less than convinced. Neither is Picard. "Conspiracy" is a brawny hour of X-Files-style Trek, and might be the only episode of Trek where a man's head so awesomely gets blowed up real good. The episode perfectly sets itself up for a sequel that, alas, would never come.

Previous episode: We'll Always Have Paris
Next episode: The Neutral Zone

◄ Season Index

45 comments on this review

Sun, Apr 6, 2008, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
When you take into account great episodes like "11001001," "Heart of Glory," and "Conspiracy," is TNG's 1st year really any worse than the 1st seasons of Voyager and Andromeda?
Sat, Oct 11, 2008, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Maybe it's just me but I always thought Conspiracy was one of the worst TNG episodes ever. Way too cheesy and laughable to ever have any tension about the ridiculous plot, and seemed more like a gross out comedy with everyone eating mealworms. It doesn't help that it's in season 1 where everyone seems more stiff and wooden, and they're all wearing those horrible crotch hugging jumpsuits that look like they belong in the Studio 54.
Wed, Jun 3, 2009, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Just in case you're interested, they did pick up the brain leech guys from Conspiracy for a pretty good story in the Star Trek Deep Space 9 novels. Not the same as a true sequel, but it's something.
Mon, Oct 5, 2009, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
I would also like to add that regardless of whether you consider it good entertainment or not, I think "Conspiracy" is the prime example of the kind of episode Star Trek should NEVER do. The graphic violence, the zero respect for alien life (even though they were trying to invade Starfleet), the too-clean conclusion. Nope! I'm glad there was never a sequel.
Tue, Mar 2, 2010, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
"Conspiracy" kicked some serious ass, certainly the best of season 1, and the episode that got me hooked on TNG in the first place. It is surprising though, that this episode was released under Roddenberry, it seems much more suited for DS9. As for Nic's comment about the "zero respect for alien life", how would you have suggested they resolve the situation?
Bad Horse
Fri, Mar 26, 2010, 11:49am (UTC -5)
This is a real minor thing, but if The Neutral Zone and Conspiracy had been swapped in the running order, what a sendoff that would have been.
Fri, Jun 4, 2010, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Allow me to clarify my previous post. I don't think "Conspiracy" is by any means the worst episode of the season, I simply consider it a strange anomaly in the Trek franchise because it contains all the things that Trek in general (Ds9 included) have been very careful to avoid.

I know that originally the conspiracy was just a military coup within Starfleet, that Gene Roddenberry objected, and thus the alien angle was introduced. I also know that the Borg were initially conceived as an insectoid race and that these "parasites" would have been the first wave of the invasion. Nevertheless, I fail to understand how this episode got made, and why Rick Berman, of all people, backed the gory ending despite the objections of Maurice Hurley.
Wed, Aug 3, 2011, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Regarding the episode "Conspiracy":

Warning: There be spoilers ahead!

Don't get me wrong, Conspiracy is one of the handful of season one eps that I find is actually half decent, but I'm making a list of episodes for my friend (who has never seen ST:TNG) to watch, and I think I'm gonna put this one on the "skip it" pile. Not for the reasons that the majority of episodes such as "Angel One" and "Code of Honor" make that list (ie: they suck and are too painful to sit through), but because I think the Star Trek universe as a whole stands up better without it. Here's my rationale -- without this episode, the conspiracy that Picard is warned about in "Coming of Age" becomes a possible reference to Section 31 (the clandestine group from later episodes of DS9). Add the fact that the ending of "Conspiracy" implies we will hear from these aliens again, and yet we never do... well, it's a bit unsatisfying. (and the claymation bugs... Holy cheesy effects, Batman!)

Is there any reason to have her watch this other than to see Picard and Riker viciously blow up a man's head? (Seems like in any other episode of TNG they would've at least explored if there was a way to extract the alien without killing Remmick, but I guess Riker's still holding a grudge from "Coming of Age." Heheh "Eat Phaser, Remmick!")
Wed, Aug 22, 2012, 6:22am (UTC -5)
I suppose Remmick had it coming. He was seen as a rather combative and unpleasant character when first introduced to the series. Riker and Picard exacting revenge? No - more like they knew Remmick could not be saved..after all the mother alien bursts through his chest!

I agree it would have been a better send-off than The Neutral Zone, but that is to sensationalise it, which I think GR would have been against.

The episode may have B-Movie type moments (the meal of maggots and worms for example) but I was completely thrown by Riker - I thought he had been taken over.

The series was still a series or two away from finding itself...Deanna was still in her 'I'm not sure what they are hiding, or who is hiding what' phase - some help to the Captain. They finally starting using her properly from s6 onwards, but I think the episode as a whole was great, and stand up with anything that came later.

I think it is all too easy to dismiss season 1 - it does have some really good episodes. I suppose Angel One, Justice, and the Naked Now are basement episodes - but maybe you have to sit through them just once, to get a balance on how good TNG really is.
Wed, Sep 12, 2012, 1:39am (UTC -5)
This episode by far IMO, should have been a 2-3 part series. When I think back on season 1 this is one of those hidden gems, that made me enjoy TNG as a kid.

Hopefully a future trek will pick up on this show.
Sat, Oct 27, 2012, 8:40am (UTC -5)
How cool I'm reading this now closer to Halloween's time, because this ep always felt like those The Simpsons' Treehouse of Horror specials.

You guys totally nailed it when you say this is the Anti-Trek TNG episode. It was so violent, so creepy and so negative that I really thought they'd play the "It was all a dream" card by the end of the episode (particularly when Riker's loyalty was in doubt). The fact that it was all "real" made it better, imo.

But if this would have been the new direction for the series from then on, I wouldn't care for TNG. Now, as a standalone adventure, it's actually one of the better offerings of S1.

And don't forget this is a direct sequel of "Coming of Age". I like continuity and sequel eps every now and then.

Tue, Nov 6, 2012, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Omg, what the hell have I just watched?

That wasn't Star Trek, that was... Aliens!

There are plenty of episodes where Picard avoids using violence, even if the ship might be in danger, choosing the diplomacy way. But here, he and Riker just shoot Remmick and blow his head away. And what a gory vision, I was about to hear a cruel voice yelling "fatality"!

And btw, why did Geordi was running along with Worf heading to Quinn's quarters? Is Geordi in security team?
Nate Kryptonite
Thu, Dec 20, 2012, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Just watching this on Netflix and in the opening scene Riker tells Geordie to increase speed to Warp 6 and Geordie replies "Aye, sir, full impulse." Lol
Fri, Dec 21, 2012, 3:33am (UTC -5)
The first time I saw them eating 'dinner', I was like "ew, worms".

Now my first thought was "Ooh! Mealworms! Come on Picard, they're not *that* gross..." (Says the guy with a lizard that eats them as treats.)
Nick P.
Sat, Mar 9, 2013, 12:56am (UTC -5)
Well, this is the ONE. The FIRST episode of Star Trek I ever watched. This started everything for me. It is so odd how this is so different from all the other TNG episodes, yet 7 year old me loved every second of it. From the very first scene where the cool bald guy met the weirdo captains on the bizarre planet, and the ending that gave me nightmares for days. But whatever, i LOVED it. My parents let me stay up late for the first time ever (as long as I turned the TV off when I went to bed), and I sometimes wonder if I had turned on the TV to a basketball game or something if my life would have turned out different.

Ironically, I watched it first run, and being a little kid, I didn't understand the repeats that started coming on the next few weeks. I loved the blond security lady, I cried when she died.

Looking back now, I realize how silly and horrible the 1st season is, but I just don't care, this was my version of howdy doody!!!! To this day most of these terrible 1st season episodes are 4 star, I don't care how bad they are, they remind me of an innocent place, a good place, before my parents got divorced and grandparent started dying. I think everyone has that comfort thing, some may be football, some old video games, for me, it is 1st season TNG.

Love ya, Conspiracy!
Mon, Mar 18, 2013, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
They really are to come up the ideas of make a several of creepy special makeup effects horror, sci-fi movies of this episode... 'CONSPIRACY' about the those little alien bugs gets inside the human bodies, necks or throats, and bellies than humans will start to mutate into body swelling bug-alien beings. Hope the moviemaker guys will soon make 'THE CONSPIRACIES' movies 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6.
Mon, Mar 18, 2013, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
I like this episode of STAR TREK: TNG about 'Conspiracy' where a evil guy swallows this alien-like bug and than his throat begins to swells like if he was mutating into body swelling alien creature. They should think about make dozens or more of 'CONSPIRACY' horror movies with a lot of makeup Air-Bladders FX and monster alien FX. I really do hope someday or sooner the horror alien, sci-fi moviemakers will make hundreds of new NECK SWELLING Mutant Alien Movies.
Tue, Mar 19, 2013, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Moviemakers should come up the creepy ideas of making maybe thousands upcoming Alien Science Fiction Films; they will have to hire hundreds of special makeup effects artists to do a lot of Human Body-Inflation Alien Mutations, hire hundreds of good actors, and come up a great horrifying storylines. That's the reason why I like this episode "Star Trek: TNG" 'Conspiracy' so much.

And I hope they will do billions more Throat and Neck Inflation Mutation Horror Movies and whole lot other new creepy sci-fi alien-monster movies that are as good as this "Star Trek: TNG" 'Conspiracy' episode.
William B
Tue, Mar 26, 2013, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
It's moody, atmospheric, and fast-paced. It is action-packed. The twist with Riker is *very* well done -- from the quick cut of a waking Riker surprising Pulaski forward, they play Riker both ways so that he could very well, up until the moment he takes the phaser out, either be possessed or not. It is entertaining and blood-pumping.

It's also kind of dumb. Alien!Quinn just gives up his plan to infect the doctor when he sees Riker because he feels like it? And starts beating up Worf because it's always fun to beat up Worf. The idea that Picard & Riker are enough to take down an entire alien conspiracy mostly *holding command* of Starfleet Command strains credulity.

I don't really hold the action-movie dumbness against it that much, especially since aspects of it were smartly done (the Riker thing, as I mentioned). So I'd say 3 stars.
William B
Tue, Mar 26, 2013, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
I hasten to add that Jammer's review is actually really close to just a listing of events in this episode. I think this captures the spirit of this episode -- it is viscerally exciting and a LOT of stuff, most of it exciting or awesome or creepy, happens. But not much of it really lends itself to thinking or discussion. That's okay every once in a while, and it's certainly an improvement on most of s1 in which the primary discussion worth doing is to discuss why the episode failed to explore its ideas in any effective way.

There is something to this episode about the way conspiracies enthrall the imagination -- I like the scene of Data going through all the information and finding patterns, which is what conspiracy theorists do; it's a fantasy, if an attractive one, that if only we had enough information and the processing power to go through it, we'd be able to know who They are and what They are doing. Most of the episode is kind of undirected paranoia. Which again, is fun to go through every now and then.
Thu, May 23, 2013, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Enjoyed it when the computer basically told Data to shut up... Also, Troi "someone's hiding something but I'm not sure who or what"... don't leave home without your handy part-Betazoid! Ah, and wish I could have heard the rest of Geordi's joke... sounded like quite a spicy one...
Sun, Aug 18, 2013, 9:50am (UTC -5)
This is one of my favourites! As people have said it is very different, which is why I like it. I especially like the way this episode finishes, very creepy and ambiguous.
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Never mind that Roddenberry vetoed this story, the episode is poorly written and produced. The effects for the "bugs" was laughable as was the whole exploding head bit. Exploding head?! You can't get more un-Star Trek than that.
Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Hope that a lot of short horror filmmakers will make hundreds of neck or throat bulging, parasite makeup special effects horror shorts and will make new parasitic body inflation special makeup effects films real soon like hopefully this year or next year.
Wed, Jul 16, 2014, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Like Nick P., this was the first episode I ever saw of TNG - although I was 23 at the time (not 7). I just saw it for the first time since then on BBC America - roughly 25 years later.

Although not representative of the usual Trek shtick, I think it's a great episode. Especially in the first half as the tension builds. I like the sober tone throughout, despite some early Data-generated laughs.

I also agree with xaaos that the resolution is reminiscent of something like Aliens. And how many Trek episodes ended on such a paranoid note?
Sat, Aug 9, 2014, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Like the episode but the Bond-villan-esque dinner at Starfleet is ridiculous. And by the way, WTF happens to Starfleet. Shouldn't this have been a big freakin deal? The senior leadership of Starfleet and several ships being overtaken by an alien lifeform?! And like nothing ever comes of it! (I know, they flirted with the idea of bringing this story back but decided to go in the Borg direction), but just rationally this is one of those episodes where something so crazy happens and the end everyone is all smiles in front of the TV in the living room (bridge). In fairness the implications of this story are bigger than the events of The Best of Both Worlds, where only Picard was captured.

Also after watching JJ's Star Trek movies, which really do a nice job of giving Earth and alien planets their due, its hard to see this cardboard interpretation of Starfleet Headquarters.
Mon, Aug 11, 2014, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
I could not disagree with you more. This was one of the worst episodes they ever made, right up there with Code of Honor and Justice. First off, it's jsut not a good story. It's too much like "Alien", with creatures inhabiting the bodies of Starfleet officers. It's just not Star Trek, but hey, some here clearly enjoyed it, and that's fine too... I would have given this 1.5 stars.
Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Just seen this episode on the 'scyfy' channel here in the UK. They are currently running TNG from the start of season one and it's been interesting to see the episodes again for the first time in order for quite a while. Interestingly they cut out the head explosion scene which kinda disappointed me. Great episode though.
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
This episode was banned in the UK and several other countries because of the exploding head effect. Glad to hear they're finally airing it, even if it is a bit censored.

Also - best 47 ever - "it's a code 47!"
Fri, Jan 16, 2015, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
This is actually one of the lowest rated episodes by fans, probably because it was too much of an Aliens ripoff and a bit too graphic for Trek. I thought the episode was interesting, and would probably give it 3 stars. I liked that the threat was different, similar to the Borg.
Diamond Dave
Sat, Aug 22, 2015, 6:36am (UTC -5)
I think a series really gets going when it is confident to play against type and can pull it off (eg The X-Files introducing comedy episodes in S2). And boy, does this one play against type - but it switches through the gears so smoothly you barely notice.

OK, the basic plot is a sub-Invasion of the Body Snatchers paranoia-fest. But the playful themes running through it (Worf's "Swimming is too much like... bathing", Data's satisfaction at finding he is talking to himself and being cut off by the ship's computer) leaven what grows from conspiracy drama through the creepy (the mealworm dinner) to outright horror at the conclusion (the very un-Trek-like exploding head/chest burster double combo).

With its callbacks to a previous episode, and a highly unusual very downbeat open ending, this ticks all of my boxes. And the simple deconstruction of the conspiracy-laden world we live in today - "When a machination is real, no one knows about it. And when it's suspected, it's almost never real." "Except, of course, in paranoid delusions, for those who believe" - is worthy of a half-point all of its own. 3.5 stars.
Ashton Withers
Sun, Nov 1, 2015, 11:11am (UTC -5)
I enjoy this episode.

I was very spooked throughout most of the episode and the whole idea intrigues me.

4/5 for me.
Wed, Nov 25, 2015, 3:37pm (UTC -5)

Good review, but minor nitpick. The doctor in this episode is Crusher, not Pulaski. Pulaski would never have been able to pull off the fake bluegill so well.
Lt. Yarko
Wed, Dec 2, 2015, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Dumb, dumb dumb. Insanely dumb.

They spend months and months infiltrating and then one of them decides to infiltrate the Enterprise by, what? Fist fighting the entire crew. Good plan, obvious stunt stand-in for the alien old guy. And, god, the fighting was so terribly awkward. Yeah. Geordi could survive being thrown so hard through Enterprise sliding doors that both doors are entirely knocked into the corridor. And, he just gets up and dusts himself off. Yes. Makes sense.

And, then... Let's expose that we are all aliens by serving Picard worms. Don't kill him or take him over as soon as he arrives since they are super strong, there is no one to stop them, and there are like lots of extra claymation aliens hanging out in the mother bug. Just sit him down for dinner a la any lame Bond villain and gross him out. I guess once you carefully infiltrate, you can just be arrogantly uncareful. “We've won, Captain! Eat up! The worms, they are so tasty! What? You don't like worms? HAHAHAHAH! HAHAHAHAH!”

And why were there absolutely no guards with the mother bug? Can only command personnel be taken over? No two lower rank expressionless flunky sentries standing outside the door? And, yes. Just blow that mother bug away. Don't try to trap it so that you can interrogate it or whatever. Gore! Guts!

And then, OF COURSE, all the bugs everywhere conveniently die when the mother does, leaving their hosts in perfect health! KILL THE HEAD VAMPIRE! All the rest will come back from undeath!

I simply cannot believe that anyone could give this such a high rating, except for the guy who saw it when he was seven and will always love it, admittedly, irrationally. :)

1 star for the decent mystery story that was going on before the episode when into la-la land, and then take that star away for the crap after. ZERO stars.
Jason R.
Mon, Jan 4, 2016, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Lt. Yarko, bang on. I can't believe Jammer gave this 3.5 stars. I'll grant it 2, maybe 2.5 at the most to account for the moodiness and menace of the story. But this episode just falls flat on its face in its final act. I guess the aliens in all their fiendish plottings couldn't account for two guys with phasers in the end. My personal favourite scene though has to go to that Admiral smacking Riker and Worf around. Reminds me of the Engineer from Prometheus - after all this buildup and mystery, he just goes Ape-$hit and starts beating people up. Just awesome.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 11:42am (UTC -5)
This episode barely kept me interested, even when Riker then Laforge and Worf were beaten up by an old guy i wasn't impressed,
The aliens were too dumb to check the back of Picard or Rikers neck to see if they was one of them,
and the alien that burst out of Remmik at the end just made me laugh,
over all the episode felt like a rip off of a few sci-fi films and the fact that there was no episode that continued from this one made it feel even more lame, 1 star might be too generous.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 12:09pm (UTC -5)

"The aliens were too dumb to check the back of Picard or Rikers neck to see if they was one of them"

Actually, they did check Riker's neck and found bluegil because Crusher made a fake one. Picard wasn't taken over yet, the bug creatures were just taunting him before they did his conversion.
Fri, Apr 15, 2016, 5:54pm (UTC -5)

I must have missed Crusher playing with Rikers neck, as i said the episode barely kept me interested
Sat, May 21, 2016, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
I'd like to offer a different approach to evaluating this episode.

Let's forget about the merits of the story. And let's set aside how well-written it was or wasn't.

This seems to me to be the first episode of Star Trek TNG where Picard acts like Picard. Or at least it is the one where Patrick Stewart really seems to gel in the role.

The actors spent the first year of the show trying to develop their characters and how they would play them. Picard would not have behaved (in some respects) in later seasons the way he did in the first one. It took awhile for Patrick Stewart to figure out how to play the character and for the writers to figure out how to write him.

Conspiracy is the first episode where I feel like I can recognize the captain we would all come to know and love. That's why I like this episode, even if for no other reason.
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 5:09am (UTC -5)
I agree with other comments here - this should have definitely been a 2-parter with a cliff-hanger at the end of season 1, and part 2 at the beginning of season 2. I'm also disappointed that they never explained what happened to Captain Rixx. I also almost felt sorry for the alien being at the end, being murdered by Picard and Riker. Remmick was dead by that point, so there was really no reason to murder the thing. It's not like the creature posed any real immediate danger to 2 guys holding phasers. Starfleet could have studied it and devised ways of avoiding any future incidents.
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 9:42am (UTC -5)

I don't know David, if I saw a bunch of claymation bugs crawling around trying to take over my body I'd probably shoot first and ask questions later.
Nukey Shay
Sat, Aug 6, 2016, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Don't forget that at this episodes original broadcast date, splatter fans were getting courted by other series (Werewolf, Freddie's Nightmares, War Of The Worlds, Friday The name a few). This episode was an experiment to try to sway part of that audience, which is precisely why it failed...badly. Trek simply does not mesh.
Wed, Sep 7, 2016, 12:23am (UTC -5)
The fighting moves were very .....odd. And did anyone else notice the set moving when Worf was thrown into the wall? The claymation parasites were bothersome, sure, but I liked the mother creature at the end - enjoyably disturbing, especially that last shot where you see all the dead little parasites around it.
Mon, Sep 19, 2016, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Fun episode, but what's missed in this review is the telling, very bad way this episode is resolved, which sets a pattern that the 2nd gen ST series suffered from right through to the end of Enterprise. The first acts of this episode set the stage for something great, a deep, all-encompassing conspiracy at the highest levels of the most powerful entity in the alpha quadrant. All well and good, but then Picard beams down, has dinner with the chief conspirators, and solves the whole thing in 10 minutes with a phaser. WTF? It isn't just that this should have been a 2-parter (it should), it's the lazy quality of the writing that is evident in this resolution that punches the viewer in the face. We suffered from that lazy writing consistently during the ensuing 15+ years, and it needs to be called out if the new ST series is to have any hope of exceeding the quality of the Berman series.
Tue, Sep 20, 2016, 10:25am (UTC -5)

Technically, Picard didn't really solve the problem, as the aliens were able send a beacon out to inform their companions about the opportunities in Starfleet. It's just that "Conspiracy"'s aliens got aborted and replaced by the Borg, which more or less offer a similar type of threat. I recommend reading the article about this on Memory Alpha if you haven't already.

Submit a comment

Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.