Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"11001001"

****

Air date: 2/1/1988
Written by Maurice Hurley & Robert Lewin
Directed by Paul Lynch

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

In easily season one's best and most memorable episode, the Enterprise docks at Starbase 74, where they have a number of computer-system problems corrected while most of the crew goes on shore leave. Helping make the repairs are four Bynars, of a peculiar race so interconnected with their computer technology that they talk directly among each other in high-speed digital code. The Bynars represent the series' first truly intriguing, well-conceived, original alien species.

With "11001001," we finally see the series firing on all cylinders, with everything coming together, from plot to character, to sensible use of technology and action. We feel like these are real people in a real universe. The universe may be fictional, stylized, and fantastical, but the story believes in itself and the characters seem real. The Bynars, who have a hidden agenda, distract Riker with a mid-20th-century New Orleans jazz lounge holodeck simulation that features an audience of one — the beautiful and charismatic Minuet (Carolyn McCormick). The scenes in the jazz club all by themselves create such a convincing, atmospheric little universe that they draw us completely into the story's emotional arc — the question of whether a holodeck character can be so real that Riker can fall in love with her. Picard also visits this holodeck simulation, and for perhaps the first time on the series we see both him and Riker as three-dimensional people rather than simply "the captain" and "the first officer." Ironically, this 3D breakthrough is played against a holodeck character.

Meanwhile, the Bynars steal the Enterprise by staging an imminent engineering disaster that requires the immediate evacuation of the ship. It makes for a jeopardy set-piece that's somehow riveting because of its convincing operational detail — not to mention that it's fully integrated into the plot (in stark contrast to, say, the pointlessly drawn-out saucer separation in "Encounter at Farpoint").

In the end, the Bynars' dilemma — at the mercy of a central computer shutdown on their homeworld and needing the Enterprise's computer to preserve their data — becomes the season's most solid sci-fi concept, with the right balance of tech and simplicity. And the character of Minuet — a flawless creation of the Bynars' expert technological grasp — plays a central role in the plot right alongside the questions the character inspires about fantasy and reality. I'm calling it the first great episode of TNG.

Previous episode: Angel One
Next episode: Too Short a Season

Season Index

16 comments on this review

Joe Ford - Sun, Feb 24, 2008 - 5:44am (USA Central)
Okay ive just finished half of season one...and here is the lowdown...

Encounter at Farpoint: Horribly dated and full of embarrassing moments (when compared with later seasons) this is TNG without bothering to struggle out of classic Trek's footsteps. They go for spectacle over logic, and stereotypes rather than character. If it wasn't for a very charming moment with Dr McCoy this would be a write off: 5/10

The Naked Now: The only reason Encounter of Farpoint didn't score lower is because the worst is yet to come and I cannot score in the minuses. A hideous episode that lacks even basic competance. The music is intrusive, the comedy is overplayed, the script defies logic and the crew behaving out of character in the second episode is just plain wrong. Would anybody in the twisted imagination of reality ever make a voice box so they could have orders given to them by the Captain? How does an android contract a virus designed for humans? And would Beverly Crusher really find Jean Luc attractive even under the influence? But don't forget: "It was an adult who did it!: 2/10

Code of Honour: Testing my paitence now. Who would have thought they could dumb down even more than The Naked Now? Tasha Yar is the most useless character so I really didn't mind them leaving her behind but no, instead we get nasty scenes like Troi revealing Tasha's lust for Lutan. Picard talking to Lutan about sex is downright odd and the fight at the end is stagey as hell. Plus could they make a planet look less fake?: 2/10

The Last Outpost: Again, very poor. The Ferengi were touted as the latest big bad but they come across here as a bad joke. Armin Shimmerman gives a really weak performance here compared to his nuanced creation of Quark in DS9 it is impossible to compare the two. Again we have an unconvincing planet, long talky scenes that go nowhere and an ending which goes beyond being an anticlimax. Surely this must get better soon: 2/10

Where No Man Has Gone Before: Finally! A sense of wonder permeates this episode, something that has been missing since the first spisode. If you notice, Rob Bowman's season one episodes tend to be the best, certainly the best made (Datalore, Heart of Glory) and this is an expensive looking trip into fantasy. The dreams that crew conjure up are visually interesting and the quiet moment between Picard and his mother give him the touch of sympathy he has needed. The idea of the Traveller is an intriuging one and im glad they followed it up in subsequent episodes. Even Wesley didn't make me grind my teeth: 8/10

Lonely Among Us: One I remember enjoying when I was seven but it hasn't aged particularly well. The performances from the regulars are still wooden and unconvincing which makes another episode where they act out of character even more disturbing. I quite liked the Selay and Anticans (especially one great scene where they discuss their meal with Tasha) but their plot is not given any room to breathe when there is an exciting blue electricity lifeform that can zap from one person to another. Yawn: 3/10

Justice: Can you believe this is directed by the same man who gave us Duet and Way of the Warrior? Astonishing. More classic Trek with the planet of sex condemning Wesley Crusher to death for crushing a few plants. Im not sure what insults more - Gates McFadden's hilarious over-delivery ("The Edo want to execute my son!"), the mad groping that takes place in every other scene or Picard's awful speech at the climax. Who Watches the Watchers did it much better: 3/10

The Battle: Tense and effective, if a little slight. It is lovely to have some backstory for Picard and seeing him face his demons givens Patrick Stewart a chance to flex his considerable acting muscles. Its a shame that the Ferengi are involved and bizarre that it took seven years to follow the story up but I am not going to criticise what is for the most part an intelligent, involving episode: 7/10

Hide and Q: And we're back in clunker territory. This might be the most butt clenchingly embarrassing episode of the first season if only for Riker's 'How did you know Sir?' at the end. Q is back (which is worth a point) but he's brought with him another studio bound planetscape with some horribly unconvincing pig soldiers (who skewer Wesley Crusher - that's point number two). This is supposed to be a parable about desire and the need to help but it features Riker at his all time low, giving in to temptation and growing a massive ego. I couldn't leave without mentioning the truly bizarre scene on the bridge between Tasha and Picard ("What am I doing, crying?" "It is okay to cry in the penalty box."): 2/10

Haven: Everything about this is bad, bad, bad...except Mrs Troi who is just the sort of rude, arrogant embarrasment this ship desperately needs. Wyatt is introduced to Deanna and tells her he is disapointed she is not someone else? Way to romance a girl! As soon we hear this it is just a matter of some waiting about until this dream woman turns up in some terrible plot contrivance, which she does. An extra point for the vine Mrs Troi brings to dinner: 4/10

The Big Goodbye: After lots of multicoloured planet sets it is a refeshing change to step into the 1940's and have some laughs. This episode brings up lots of questions about the holodeck that Trek will spend the next fifteen years exploring - but it is quite a welcome change of pace here. I even liked Beverly in this one - the bit where she jumps up and down clapping when Whalen gets shot is one of the highlights of the season!: 7/10

Datalore: Another Rob Bowman gem, with a dark script and a briliant central performance by Brent Spiner as Lore. Data's backstory proves fascinating and Lore's introduction to the series only serves to show how good Spiner is at wiping emotion from Data. Any episode where Worf gets beaten up, Picard says "Shut up Wesley!", Data gets kicked in the head and Dr Bev gets shot is okay in my book. The fact that this is an intense psychological thriller is just a bonus: 8/10

Angel One: Jow was this made in the same season as Datalore? Let alone just after it? Another classic Trek episode with heavy handed morality, Riker behaving like a chump (get a beard mate, you seem much more with it!) and another hideous speech to wrap things up. I would rather drink a bottle of bleach than put myself through this again: 2/10

11001001: Great title, great aliens, great episode. This one just has it all: buckets of imagination, visual style, a great pace, interesting character development (even if Riker is snogging his face off - again!) and even a great scene for Wesley. The evacuation of the ship is dynamic and the conclusion is genuinely surprising and affecting. More like this please: 9/10
Jack - Sun, Oct 30, 2011 - 10:49am (USA Central)
SO Riker making out with Minuet...are holograms so detailed that they would have, say, saliva?
Jack - Sun, Oct 30, 2011 - 11:13am (USA Central)
Plus, at the end of 11001001, they say they took Riker along because they would need "someone" to reactivate the planet in case they died, but it took both Riker and Picard, so there really are lucky that Picard "happenstanced" by.

I can't give 4 stars to such a glaring plothole, but it is one of the better S1 episodes, but that bar is very low.
Eduardo - Wed, Dec 7, 2011 - 1:02pm (USA Central)
11001001 is easily one of my top 10 favorite TNG episodes. It's a personal favorite one to me, since it's the first episode of televised Star Trek, I've ever seen.

I thought the concept of the Bynars to be a fascinating one, beautifully framed by a nearly perfect holodeck setting, and a terrific character outing for both Riker and Picard.

Season 1 is a season that really fluctuates between really awful shows and really stellar material as well. Conspiracy is another highlight, as is The Battle. Season 2 was a little more balanced in that regard.
Rikko - Sun, Jul 29, 2012 - 4:04pm (USA Central)
I have "11001001" marked as the first TNG episode with a second half that is actually better than the first half. And that's quite the achievement.

Most eps prior to this one had interesting premises, but terrible execution. This one starts with pathetic-looking aliens, a malfunction that seems like an excuse and just another holodeck story. So, I was ready for disappointment.

Yet it works! The plot actually makes sense, character interaction is fine and the new race turned out to be pretty interesting. Even more, the title is a spoiler that doesn't actually reveal a thing! How clever is that.

But I have a BIG complaint: Riker's romance rubbed me the wrong way. It felt like he was fascinated with a selected fetish, instead of an illusion that could be a real woman. Especially when he started to choose her traits.

Compare Riker's stares to Minuet with Picard's own fascination of the scenery in "The Big Goodbye". Picard was at least enjoying an adventure. Riker seems to be entertaining his lower half.

All in all, one of the best season 1 episodes but I'm with Jack when he said the bar is very low.

3 stars from me.

----

@ Joe Ford: Agree with you for the most part, except on Datalore, that I'd rate lower.

@ Eduardo: You're right. Season 1 is very unbalanced. The bad eps were, obviously, annoying, but more annoying was the fact that the season never got a steady quality. It was more like bad ep, terrible ep, good ep, bad again, great ep, bad again, terrible again...
xaaos - Wed, Oct 31, 2012 - 2:27am (USA Central)
An amazing shot at the start, while docking Enterprise to the space station. Best shot so far in this season.

I didn't like much the diversion used (the holodeck), but it seems kinda logic since Bynars are expert at technology things. Picard and Riker came up with the solution way easily.

One question: the computer asked for both of Picard - Riker to confirm the auto destruction sequence, plus its cancellation. But what would have happened if Riker died while reaching the bridge? The ship would have just blown up?

Overall, a nice episode, a real sci-fi one! I think the best so far. Yep, 4 stars indeed.

Can't wait for the next episodes. Engage!!!
Van _Patten - Thu, Nov 8, 2012 - 9:41pm (USA Central)
With the second half of season one bringing the whole series back down, a Holodeck themed episode with Wesley overseeing Aliens who look like castoffs from 'Alien Nation' had me fearing the worst - however, am delighted to say 11001001 proved me wrong.

The Enterprise undergoes a refit, involving Computer dependent Aliens, the Bynars who come on board to upgrade her systems. Little does the crew realise, the Bynars have an ulterior motive.

This is by some margin the best episode of TNG thus far. The Bynars are great, a genuinely intriguing concept, and it makes me wonder why they were never utilised again? Jonathan Frakes gives his best performance yet, and there is definite chemistry between him and Minuet (Carolyn McCormick) Patrick Stewart is again excellent, and I must mention Wil Wheaton who as ├╝ber geek Wesley actually comes over quite well here, especially when Data gies the order to activate the Enterprise's self-destruct. The ending, whereby the Bynars motives are self- interested but genuinely explicable:

'You might have said no'

Strikes me as an excellent piece of characterisation. Director Paul Lynch is noticeably better than most other First season Directors, and this is certainly the first episode I'd rate as a 'must see' - Given the limitations of Jammer's scale, I'd have to put this at 3.5, as opposed to 4, but it's the first episode I can unambiguously say you have to watch if coming tote series fresh. A great effort -rather a shame the momentum stalled in the next two episodes....
DPC - Tue, Nov 13, 2012 - 8:32pm (USA Central)
Hmmm, Riker trying to get x-rated with a hologram is more than a tad "creepy" (even Geordi e-stalking Leah Brahms can't hold a candle to Riker's antics), never mind what happens when that "special happy moment" happens... I reeeeeeally don't want to think about that...

That aspect aside, and the fact it's just luck that Picard stays on board when the Bynar process always requires two to do things, the plot is coherent and engaging, and makes for a top-notch episode worthy of 4 stars.

The Blu-Ray's release makes the visual f/x even more sweet.

But the hokum at the start where everyone looks around and nods seems like they're all sharing some deep dark secret rather than having a feel-good camaraderie moment... Geordi and Data made a great double-act, but *shhh* is there more going on? Noting Geordi never seems to get into any relationships in the show's run and Data is apparently fully-functional, thanks to one of TNG's worst attempts to take a good story and then ruin it every so quickly by becoming juvenile about it...
Chris - Fri, Dec 14, 2012 - 1:33pm (USA Central)
Here we essentially have benevolent Borg before we meet the real thing...it's strange that the Borg wouldn't have assimilated this race by this point...they're already about 3/4 there as they are.
DG - Thu, Dec 20, 2012 - 7:01am (USA Central)
I waited the whole first half hour for the pianist to say "About that, don't quit your day job..."

Favorite line of that episode.


And Joe Ford--thank you! :) That was fun to read.
William B - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 2:03am (USA Central)
Wow, I had forgotten how good this episode is. I don't know if I'd go to four stars (though where exactly the 3.5 - 4 boundary is for me, I'm not sure), but it's the only episode in the season that gets above 3 from me -- I'd say 4 wouldn't be unreasonable. (I like Conspiracy, the other episode Jammer singled out as a standout, but a lot of it reads to me as fairly stupid.) I am rewatching in order (mostly) so I might change my mind on Heart of Glory I guess. Anyway while there are other good episodes in TNG season one, I think this is the only one which can legitimately be called great.

Watching this episode tonight, I caught for the very first time the logic behind the file name -- the four Bynars are, I believe, in two pairs, and the names of the Bynars in each pair are 11 & 00, 10 & 01. The file name is a concatenation of the four Bynars' names.

In addition to all the other great things about this episode Jammer and others have talked about, we also get a big dose of no-nonsense Data in command -- without any of the "aw, shucks" sense given to Data's explanation of how he broke the intent of Riker's orders while following their literal meaning in "Angel One."

I think the one significant problem I have with the episode is that Riker's end-of-episode decision to return to Minuet doesn't quite work for me. Riker wanting to chill out with a holographic woman makes sense; and him falling for her against his better judgment, and not quite knowing what that means, works even better. But for him to go back to the holodeck eager to embark on something like an actual relationship is something that requires greater consideration. Maybe more importantly, part of the emotional heft of the episode is that Minuet was a decoy created to manipulate Riker. I feel like it would have worked better if Riker were more cautious upon returning to the holodeck -- cautious both from not knowing how to deal with developing feelings for a hologram and from having just been burned by her. His unmitigated glee upon returning doesn't feel real to me. Even if it did, I feel like Picard would have, by this point, warned caution himself. But it's is not wholly ridiculous to think Riker (in particular) could let himself fall that hard for a pretty face (and that Picard would have other things on his mind).

So yeah, probably 3.5 stars from me.



Re: Jack's point, 'Plus, at the end of 11001001, they say they took Riker along because they would need "someone" to reactivate the planet in case they died, but it took both Riker and Picard, so there really are lucky that Picard "happenstanced" by.'

This is glaring and the episode-as-presented doesn't address this point or seek to resolve it. However, while some plot holes are episode-breaking, others are very easy to wallpaper over. Take your pick:

1) they had actually planned to trap another officer in another holodeck, but once Picard entered the Minuet program they realized they didn't need to trap a second person;

2) they had originally planned to modify the computer program to be optionally accessible by a single person so that Riker could run it alone, but decided not to bother installing that failsafe once (again) Picard entered the Minuet program.

Either way, the Bynars didn't screw up on that front, because they presumably knew by the time they created the containment chamber that they had two officers on the ship.

I was going to say that a second plot hole is that the Bynars make it really difficult for Riker & Picard to get to the bridge in order to help. I mean, they barricaded the turbolifts! But I suppose this is also resolvable -- it seems as if the Bynars gave Minuet extra information between Picard & Riker's departure from the holodeck and their arrival on the bridge, so that perhaps Minuet would have informed them that they could beam onto the bridge and what the current situation was.

Or the Bynars could have not been thinking clearly because their planet is dying and they were operating on a much shorter timeline than they expected to be.

Grumpy - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 12:00pm (USA Central)
"The file name is a concatenation of the four Bynars' names."

Took me a couple viewings to get the hint, but now that I know more about binary, it doesn't make much sense. As Jammer probably knows well enough, the Bynars' names are simply Three, Zero, Two, and One. (I shudder to imagine what a Bynar phone directory must look like.) So is the password 3-0-2-1? Or is it 201, which is all 11001001 means in binary?

Not that such confusion would've postponed a solution very long, nor does it spoil the episode.
duhknees - Wed, Apr 3, 2013 - 12:23pm (USA Central)
Just re-rewatched this episode -- hadn't noticed before the number of scenes with Riker and Picard walking, moving in sync, shoulder to shoulder, mimicking the Bynars. Well done. Even sitting at the computer station, they turn toward the Bynars at the same time. Nice direction, and it adds to the theme. Humans, too, work better in teams.
ColoradoGamer - Mon, Dec 2, 2013 - 4:54pm (USA Central)
IMDB Trivia:

Was the creator of the Borg on the TV series Star Trek: The Next Generation (1987) (The episode 'Q Who?'). The Borg were also featured in Star Trek: First Contact (1996), and in the latter seasons of Star Trek: Voyager (1995).

Wrote an alternative treatment to Ronald D. Moore and Brannon Braga's screenplay for Star Trek: Generations (1994). Hurley's version had Captain Kirk featuring in the story primarily as a hologram.

Was responsible for Gates McFadden leaving Star Trek: The Next Generation (1987) after the first season. McFadden returned for season three after Hurley left the show.
Damon Sweeney - Fri, Jan 17, 2014 - 12:22pm (USA Central)
I've just finished watching the first half of Star Trek: TNG season 1 plus "Too Short A Season", so I thought i'd give you my thoughts.

Encounter at Farpoint: I thought this was a very average episode for the start of one of my favorite series of all-time. It did well at introducing the crew but the plot was lacking. It's undeniably dated and my most memorable scene would be the appearance of Star Trek TOS star Deforest Kelley: Grade E- (5/10)

The Naked Now: I believe this is an improvement over the pilot and it felt more like the series. However, I didn't like that they copied an Original Series story as it might indicate to some viewers that they were recycling old plots. I also wasn't so keen on the crew acting out of character as we needed time to know how the characters normally behaved. And with episode 2 they are already acting out of character. Having said that, I thought "The Naked Now" was a good episode and I enjoyed it, I watched it a lot when I was a kid: Grade C (7.5/10)

Code Of Honor: This episode is regarded by many as being the worst episode of The Next Generation. It's definitely not a good episode, but it's underrated. Even though the episode didn't make racial references, I believe that a planet completely run by blacks could make people think it is racist. There are some really weird things in this episode and not all the actors are superb. This episode does use concepts from the Original Series, as does a lot of season one, and not all of them pay off. The costumes look out of place for one, where it suited the Original Series, it seems out of place in TNG. The plot, conflict and acting are all average. One brief scene in which Picard discusses the Prime Directive is memorable, but really this episode is forgettable: Grade E- (5.2/10)

The Last Outpost: Now this episode started out really well and looked as though it was becoming a solid installment. It's intriguing and showed the more interesting side of Sci-Fi and exploration. Having said that, I have some critiscms. I thought that when the crew averted peril at the last possible moment was unrealistic and the basic plot seemed a little silly. This episode is the introduction to the damn annoying Ferengi and I don't believe they can ever be a threatening adversary. It's an unconvincing planet and the ending is what spoils this one for me. It had an intesting concept though: Grade E- (again.) (5.3/10)

Where No One Has Gone Before: This seems to be a love it or hate it episode and I just don't like it. The elements in this episode are of time and space and thought which I thought was a unique idea. I also liked the "traveler" and think he is a wonderfully conceived character. Everything is just too vague though, and it had sooo much potential. The writers took a path which was the worst possible path for this one and although the wonder is wondrous in it, the rest falls flat: Grade F+ (4.8/10)

Lonely Among Us: This is a very underrated episode in my view. Again, with the characters acting out of character so early on in the series is never wise. This reminded me again of TOS, with the crew being "possessed." Of course with the climax you have to suspend disbelief in order to like it as Picard beams himself into the energy field and finds his way back into the ships's computer energy only. It is far-fetched stuff but I really liked the plot of this one and what happened on board the ship: Grade: C- (7.3/10)

Justice: This really is just a silly episode. The people walking about the planet half-naked, their stupid death penalty and the god-like being above. I thought Picard's little speech at the end wasn't so bad, as I love Picard's quotes and morals which is one of my favorite things about the show. Overall though, "Justice" was a letdown: Grade F (4.5/10)


The Battle: A very tense and convincing episode! It features another Picard is "possessed" style story but it is much more effective than the previous installments. The Ferengi are also much more menacing in this episode, more than they were in "The Last Outpost." Picard's old ships gives a warmth to the episode but also a terror from which Picard has no control. It has some flaws but that doesn't stop it from being one of the better episodes of the first season: Grade C+ (7.8/10)

Hide And Q: Back to stinker land here. I hate the Q episodes anyway, besides the finale in season 7. Where a being can do what he wants, when he wants, whenever he wants, it's just not how life is. While De lancie is a brilliant acting and excellent at portraying the character of Q, I just hate the character. The episode felt very informative on how "power corrupts." The episode is again too silly. The enemy soldiers in this were terribly unconvincing and the planet landscape looked cheap and fake. I believe this story is about wanting to hep and desire and staying true to oneself, but it's just not that great. Also, the bridge scene between Picard and Tasha is very awkward, bad move there: Grade F (4.5/10)

Haven: I really don't like this episode, it's just too ridiculous to be taken seriously. I believe the aim of this one is at comedy, but it just doesn't work. It's just bad...bad...bad. I literally had more fun having my teeth pulled, it's so daft. The woman in the painting we knew would soon turn up and we knew Troi wouldn't marry. Mrs Troi is definitely the most annoying Star Trek character ever. She's a good actress, but I hate the character: Grade G (2/10)

The Big Goodbye: A lot of the episodes previously have been set on a multi-colored planets or near strange energy clouds, so It was a refreshing change to have the characters solve a mystery on the ship (the holodeck in fact: a mystery on the holodeck, and yes, literally a mystery.) Around this time I believe the series was understanding itself and what it wanted to be and had some really good episodes hittting the screen. "The Big Goodbye" was the first of the stream and this was the first "true" introduction of the holodeck. I really liked how the characters were fascinated with the simulations found on the holodeck and how real they seemed even though they were computer generated images. There are a few problems with it, it isn't perfect. It may come across as a bit daft to some audiences and the cliche aspect at the end where Wesley gets Captain Picard and the rest out just in time so Picard can make the speech greeting to the species is unrealistic. It's still a cool episode though and was a fun watch: Grade C (7.5/10)

Datalore: Easily a classic TNG. This is my favorite episode of the first season (I also love Conspiracy), but this is my fave. Everything comes together here: from plot, to character, to action and themes. It has a tense and effective atmosphere and the music contained in the episode works really well to give off the nature of what's transpiring and is very reminiscent of the "Alien" movie sounds. The characterization between Data and Lore is brilliant and the writing is very well thought out. The back-story for Data added to the plot's power and I liked how Data and Lore's speech differed which was a very good plot device. Wesley played a good part in this episode and it was directed and crafted perfectly. One of the definite highlights of this episode was Spiner. It really did show how good an actor he is, creating two completely different characters on screen. There are so many classic moments: from Captain Picard's "Shut up Wesley" to Worf getting beat up. I only have two criticisms: one is the head when they find Lore and try to make it look like Spiner's but they couldn't with the technology at the time, and the other is the way the crew treated Wesley when he voiced his suspicions about Lore pretending to be Data. We can forgive both as with the head they couldn't help it, and with Wesley it was necessary to move the story forward and support Lore's position in the plot. I also thought Riker was fooled a little too easily when Data was on the floor but we just accept that as we won't hinder, what was for the most part, an excellent episode: Grade A (9/10)

Angel One: We just go from hero to zero. How the hell is this in the same season as Datalore and more, just after it? The other bad ones had some saving grace like Picard quoting morality or the Prime Directive, but "Angel One" has no such quality. It has nothing enjoyable in it, apart from maybe Data squirting himself with perfume. This is the worst episode of the season for me and I don't think it can get much worse (quite possibly the worst of the entire series.): Grade G- (1/10)

11001001: Amazing title, superb execution. This one has a lot to offer: imagination, intersting Sci-Fi concepts, great character development and a brilliant style and pace. It's a very different episode and the setting is very ambitious, with the ship being docked at a starbase. It's a very intriguing and intelligent episode with lots going off, but everything with a meaning that creates one of the most memorable episodes of the first season. In addition, I liked how Picard and Riker stopped the auto-destruct two minutes before the ship was due to explode rather than the cliche "last second" abort, making it more realistic: Grade B (8.5/10)

Too Short A Season: I really hate this episode. Probably the worst of the season after "Angel One" in my opinion. It drags and the acting is terrible. With a very weak plot, and nothing memorable or enjoyable, it makes for a bad episode: Grade G (2/10)

The first half of season one is a mixed bag. I do believe season one is the weakest of the seven seasons, but it does have some really good ones among the stinkers. Revisiting this season was really fun and I will watch all the other seasons again too, every episode...can't wait.







Trent - Fri, Jan 17, 2014 - 3:36pm (USA Central)
Id give WHERE NO ONE HAS GONE BEFORE a little more points, but otherwise agree. Data Lore and 10101010110 are the best in arguably the weakest season. I might give DATALORE a rewatch based on your review. You make it sound good.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer