Jammer's Review

"Star Trek: Generations"

**1/2

Theatrical release: 11/18/1994
DVD special edition release: 9/28/2004
PG; 1 hr. 57 min.
Screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga
Story by Rick Berman & Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga
Produced by Rick Berman
Directed by David Carson

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

January 20, 2005

When Star Trek: Generations was released in late 1994, Star Trek was at the height of its popularity. The Next Generation had wrapped its television run the previous May, still very highly rated. Deep Space Nine was on the air. Voyager was in production, less than two months from premiering. Sci-fi magazines were devoting half their issues to do season retrospectives of TNG and DS9. Trek was even on the cover of Time magazine.

It was the pop-cultural apex of Star Trek, and Generations was the punctuation mark for that moment, where Captain Kirk would famously meet Captain Picard. On opening weekend, there were sellout crowds. (There were no sellout crowds — or even close — a couple years ago for a Star Trek: Nemesis premiere.)

I was more in anticipation for Generations than any movie that year — a year that, ironically, would end up releasing what would become two of my (and probably many people's) all-time favorite films (Pulp Fiction and The Shawshank Redemption). Strange what a decade can do. Even stranger that it's actually been that long.

Not even the problems with Generations really detracted from the atmosphere that the film enjoyed during its release. The film itself is actually very ordinary — a hit-and-miss affair that does some things right and some things wrong. Maybe the best way to summarize it is that it gets an A for theoretical ambition but a C for actual execution. Sounds like my freshman year of college, also starting in 1994. The C part, anyway.

One thing you're forced to face with the opening sequence aboard the Enterprise-B is that bringing back original crew members — after a perfectly satisfactory sendoff at the end of Star Trek VI — is a double-edged sword. Sure, it sounds great in concept, but does it actually work beyond what it needs to do to set up the end of the movie? It's been said that the original intention was to also bring back Spock and McCoy, but because the actors said no, the screenwriters went with the trio of Kirk, Scotty, and Chekov. Does it service anyone but Kirk to abandon these characters barely a third of the way into the first act of the film?

The opening sequence — while, again, reasonable in concept — plays like something of a compromise. I don't know what it is about the TNG era of humor, but something about it in the movies always felt a little forced (not like the unforced nature in many of the TOS films), and here the TNG humor ailment seems to carry over to the TOS characters: As Kirk and Scotty trade one-liners, something about the proceedings feels vaguely frail.

The Enterprise-B was the only one of the Enterprises we hadn't seen in a story leading up to Generations, so it seems natural to bridge that Trek-history gap in a film that, in essence, is all about bridging generation gaps. Yes, Generations is without a doubt the literal torch-passing affair that it promised to be. It's just that it's not an especially satisfying experience on the whole. It's a bit of a mishmash.

A crisis forces the Enterprise-B, commanded by Captain Cameron Frye — I'm sorry, I mean Captain Harriman (Alan Ruck) — to mount a rescue mission of some El-Aurian refugees whose ships have become trapped in an energy ribbon and are minutes away from being destroyed. There are a couple good moments here, like when Kirk, who is only on board for reasons of publicity, can barely restrain himself from offering unsolicited advice; when Harriman finally gives up the captain's chair, Kirk sits down and relishes the moment, before realizing that he should relinquish the chair back to Harriman. Alas, there's too much meaningless technobabble involving the ribbon and it's gravimetric (or whatever) forces; you can see already that this is a TNG production as opposed to a TOS production.

In the course of the rescue attempt, the Enterprise-B is damaged, and Kirk — inside one of the damaged areas — is swept out into space and presumably killed. This prologue, while necessary and functional and kind of entertaining, is not much more than that. It's a stage-setter that obviously will come up later. The fact that Guinan shows up in this prologue provides an obvious clue (to regular TNG viewers, anyway) that this is part of a master plan.

Move forward 78 years, where Worf is being promoted in the holodeck of the Enterprise-D. The setting is a sailboat at sea — named Enterprise, of course — and it's one of those sequences (albeit one that's perhaps too earnest) that lends more cinematic appeal to the proceedings by filming on location and drawing the nautical parallels that always characterized the TOS films.

Interestingly, one of the inherent drawbacks of essentially relaunching the show as a film series is that the screenwriters have to bring non-followers up to speed. Consider the scene after Worf falls into the water, where Data expresses his confusion to Geordi about what is and isn't funny. This scene would not have to be explained to us on the TV series, and here seems forced upon the characters, as if to say, "Okay, now we're going to bring all you unfamiliar audience members up to speed!"

One thing Generations gets right is the scope of its storytelling. Unlike Insurrection, for example, which felt like just another routine TNG episode, the events of Generations take on much more significance than you would see in a typical TV episode. Promoting Worf, giving Data emotions, killing Picard's brother and nephew, killing the Duras sisters, blowing up and crashing the Enterprise, wiping out entire solar systems — these are the kinds of bigger things that should happen in a movie adapted from a TV series.

Anyway, let's start with Data. In a character development that took a certain amount of guts, the producers finally decide to let him install the emotion chip that had been sitting on his shelf for the past year. (Never mind that the emotion chip would be negated two films later; in this movie it was a good idea.) It's a milestone for the character, and filled with promise. Unfortunately, the writers don't do very much with it, especially early on, in scenes where Data laughs incessantly until everyone else (including the audience) starts to get annoyed. I'll admit that I laughed at some of this goofiness (to this day I still quote, "I cannot help myself!" in situations that warrant that punch line), but there just isn't much depth to the overall arc. As I said before, A for effort, C for execution.

Picard's arc is also a good one in theory, touching on the whole aging/mortality theme that was made so memorable in Star Trek II. In practice, however, it's not all that great. I wasn't much moved by the deaths of Picard's brother Robert and nephew Rene, and while Picard has every reason to grieve, I've never been a fan of the crying scene where Picard breaks down. (Indeed, it's a scene that I have mocked in the past.) Patrick Stewart is a fine actor, no doubt, but there's something about this scene that just doesn't work. I think, in a way, we simply don't want to see the captain of the Enterprise sitting in the dark, crying.

Having the main storylines follow mainly Picard and Data would become the template for the rest of the film series. The remaining characters are supporting players in the tradition of TNG as a TV series. That's fine; it's a big cast and we need a clear focus on a couple storylines.

The movie's villain, Dr. Tolian Soran (Malcolm McDowell), a 300-year-old El-Aurian, is set up in the movie's prologue on the Enterprise-B and is then found by the Enterprise-D crew in the wreckage of the Amargosa observatory, which was attacked by Romulans. Here the movie throws up a smokescreen to give the plot more "plot"; the Romulans are in fact irrelevant to the movie.

Soran is not one of the Trek films' best villains, but he's also not one of the worst. He's not evil so much as obsessed and unbending in his goals (even if it means destroying entire planets and their populations as a side effect, which I guess qualifies as an evil byproduct). McDowell is good at dispensing ominous lines as personal philosophies, such as, "They say time is the fire in which we burn," which points toward his quest against his mortality. Later, on the planet surface, Picard and Soran will share some worthwhile dialog about mortality. "If there's one constant in the universe," Soran says, "it's death."

The central plot device revolves around Soran's obsession with the Nexus, the aforementioned energy ribbon, in which "time has no meaning." Soran has allied himself with Lursa (Barbara March) and B'Etor (Gwynyth Walsh) in a scheme that would give the two Duras sisters a powerful weapon and give Soran the opportunity to get back into the Nexus, which Guinan describes as a place of eternal bliss. As a sci-fi concept, the Nexus provides both the film's biggest success and worst failure. I'll explain.

It's a success in that I really liked the idea of an energy ribbon traveling through space (which looks cool) and Soran trying to alter its course using the shock waves from imploded stars. This is something that is portrayed plausibly, is interesting, and fairly original.

The best scene in the movie is the Data/Picard scene in stellar cartography, which works as plot advancement, character development, and convincing science. The analysis of all the data and evidence is intriguing and believable, demonstrated both visually and with dialog. The cartography graphics are impressive and yet straightforward. They convey what's going on clearly and with visual flair; this looks like what a futuristic stellar cartography room might actually look like. Meanwhile in this scene, Data's struggle with his emotions — and Picard's tough-love approach to the situation — is good dramatically. The balance of all these plot and character elements is right on, acted and directed with precision.

Of course, in terms of scale and perspective, the movement of the Nexus is ludicrous. It must be traveling much faster than light in order to get from one solar system to the next in such a short amount of time, and yet when it gets to the planet, it slows waaaaaaay down to subsonic atmospheric speeds. Obviously, this is necessary for logistic and dramatic reasons for scenes involving the Nexus' approach. But I never understood the rules for how you can or can't get inside the thing. (It destroys ships and yet doesn't crumble a mountaintop or rip your body apart?)

Soran's plan is to implode the Veridian star so that the Nexus will shift course to the surface of the planet Veridian III, where he will be waiting. The resulting shock wave, unfortunately, will also destroy all the Veridian planets, including Veridian IV, which has a population of 230 million. Soran isn't much concerned about that. The Enterprise, obviously, must stop him. This leads to the requisite battle sequence with the Klingons, in which Lursa and B'Etor die in a scene that wants to be as satisfying as when Chang got blown up at the end of Star Trek VI, but no such luck.

From an action standpoint, the film tops out with the Enterprise's evacuation to the saucer section and the separation of the ship — half of which explodes, and the other half crashing on the planet's surface. During the evacuation, I always laugh and shake my head at the shot of the girl who loses her teddy bear; oh, come on. (It's further evidence that TNG's concept of civilians on starships that routinely go into battle is slightly silly.) But the crash sequence is long, loud, intense, and exciting. If you're going to blow up and crash a starship, this is the way to do it. On top of that is the destruction of the planet itself, which is a chilling image. This is some pretty good stuff, and signifies the film's visceral high point.

But then things start to misfire. Picard is pulled into the Nexus, leading to the film's most tedious sequence, in which everything about the plot is explained to us — often in ways we're unwilling to believe.

For starters, I just didn't much care for the overly idyllic Christmas setting with all those cloying kids. I see what they were going for here, but on an entertainment level, this is the sort of scene that the chapter skip on a DVD player was invented for.

Then there's the whole business with Guinan's "echo" in the Nexus, who explains to Picard (and us) how the Nexus works. How you can go anywhere, any time. In this case, Picard can go back and save 230 million lives if that's where/when he wants to go. (Apparently, the Nexus doesn't have the same effect on humans as El-Aurians; Guinan — the real one, that is — earlier told Picard that once he was in the Nexus he absolutely wouldn't want to leave, but that's not at all the way it ends up working here.)

The problem with the Nexus is that it can do whatever the plot requires and therefore is nothing more than a fantasy device that is too consciously driving the plot where it must go. Then we find ourselves asking: Why, if Picard can go anywhere, does he choose to go back in time only a few minutes instead of going back further and simply throwing Soran in a cell until the Nexus has passed?

There are contrivances in most movies. A good contrivance is one you aren't aware of or thinking about; a bad contrivance is one whose rules and loopholes clang loudly to the floor and provide a distraction from the story. This is of the latter variety.

So, Picard decides to recruit Kirk, who was sucked into the Nexus at the beginning of the movie. The resulting scenes are reasonable but somewhat anticlimactic. Picard must convince Kirk to leave the Nexus, there's some dialog about duty and making a difference, the performances are relaxed and pleasant, and there are scenes of horseback riding (which frankly strikes me more as a benefit for William Shatner than the movie).

The final act, in which Kirk and Picard go back to stop Soran, is workable but probably not what most people had in mind when they heard that Kirk was going to meet Picard in a Star Trek movie. There's plenty of action and cliche going on here, and it's always odd to see the conflict of a Star Trek film whittled down to three guys in a fight on a steel bridge in a desert. Personally, I prefer space battles. Kirk's death in this process is merely adequate (some would argue that it's less than adequate). If the movie is asking me to be moved by the passing of a legend and the passing of the torch — well let's just say that I'm glad they filmed it happening, and it was pleasant enough to watch, but I wasn't all that riveted by it.

As a production, the film is solid, but finds itself in an odd transitional phase. It was shot on all the original TV sets with only minor modifications (reportedly there were only 10 days between the last day of shooting on series finale "All Good Things" and the first day of shooting on Generations). The film employed one of its TV directors, David Carson, in his first direction of a feature film. New uniforms, originally redesigned specifically for the film, were scrapped, and instead the cast switched back and forth between the TNG uniforms and the DS9-style uniforms, something some viewers found confusing.

The most dramatic changes were in the special effects (which were naturally amped up to suit the story and the big screen) and the improvements in the lighting of the existing sets (the bridge of the Enterprise-D never looked better).

Not so dramatic is Dennis McCarthy's adequate but underwhelming score, which sometimes feels too restrained, like a TV score. In particular, the main theme lacks oomph (and features too many similarities to the DS9 theme) and feels like a major step backward after Cliff Eidelman's memorable Star Trek VI theme.

The special edition DVD contains a commentary track by screenwriters Ronald D. Moore and Brannon Braga. It must be one the best commentary tracks yet recorded on a Star Trek DVD. Moore and Braga's comments lend great insight to the strengths and weaknesses of the storyline, in detail and with surprising forthrightness. I was nodding in agreement with their assessment of many aspects of the film. It's the sort of incisive look that has especially benefited from a decade of distance. They can critique the movie objectively.

I don't dislike Generations (it has several good scenes and generally the right feel for what TNG was all about), but it doesn't completely satisfy me, either. It serves its purpose in fulfilling all the franchise requirements that were expected of a passing-the-torch story. It's just that it doesn't fulfill all those requirements particularly well.

Picard says at the end, "What we leave behind is not as important as how we've lived." Honestly, I'm not sure what that's really supposed to mean; it's one of those vague philosophical lines that would be more enlightening if the thematic content of the movie were stronger overall. But the film itself doesn't have much to say; it's more about itself and what happens. On those terms, it's a pretty okay movie.

Previous: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country
Next: Star Trek: First Contact

Section Index

61 comments on this review

Mark - Wed, Oct 3, 2007 - 8:21pm (USA Central)
You might enjoy this alternate ending:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wLavmLoC94

The guy made one for all of the films, but the funniest one, IMO, is Search for Spock:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EnZeFTMpvys
Jake - Wed, Dec 5, 2007 - 1:47pm (USA Central)
When TNG announced the end of its run and its plan to instantly do films in 1994, I feared that films like this would be the result.
Granted, there is some good stuff here. Data getting emotions, the eye-popping destruction of the beloved Enterprise-D, the deaths of Picard's brother & nephew. The 3 subsequent films also had great moments like Troi & Riker's marriage, Riker becoming a captain, and, of course, Alice Krige's Borg Queen.
Sadly, however, the movies, for all intents and purposes, became simply stand-alone adventures(a format which Voyager became notorious for).
What they should've done was tie in First Contact with the Dominion in the same way that the TOS films tied in Khan with the Klingons.
TNG itself will always endure but the 4 films it spawned just didn't cut it overall.
Alexander - Mon, Apr 7, 2008 - 6:15pm (USA Central)
I flat out hate this movie. This is the worst Star Trek story of all time, beating VOY and ENT in crapiness. Thats an unforgiveable mistake.

0 out of 4, for me.
Alex - Tue, Apr 15, 2008 - 7:36pm (USA Central)
Wow to the above post!

I actually really enjoyed this movie and thought it the 2nd best of the TNG films. I thought the opening with Enterprise B was good. The destruction of Enterprise D. Data's emotions. Even the concept of the nexus was cool even though it seems very implausible.

Kirk and Picard's meeting and Kirk's death could've been better.
Michael Lee - Sun, Jun 1, 2008 - 9:01pm (USA Central)
Just re-watched this movie last night. I truly enjoyed it. I thought the bridging of the generations was well handled. The destruction of the "D" was stunning (women drivers - bah!).

Thank god they re-shot the ending. The original version, as seen on the special edition DVD, was appalling. The mighty JTK shot in the back? What were they thinking!
levi - Thu, Jun 5, 2008 - 10:25am (USA Central)
This movie more or less sucks. They should have just moved on without bring the tattered remnants of the TOS crew, minus those who had too much dignity (Kelly and Nimoy) or those who weren't asked. A real pointless excercise, and Kirk's death scene is terrible and unnecessary. "It's been fun?!" Christ.
robgnow - Sun, Aug 3, 2008 - 9:41pm (USA Central)
This movie is okay, but it just doesn't thrill me while I'm watching it. I'm not sure what the problem is, except that by this point I was kind of sick of Data's development arc. Enough with the android, already!
It also felt like the scenes were just that... scenes that were being filmed and then put next to each other instead of serving a central story theme. It felt like bits and pieces on screen instead of one contiguous film.
The ease with which Picard shakes off the Nexus' influence after Enterprise-Guinan had built it up was anti-climatic and really... Picard's "wrapped in joy" fantasy life was really, really suckilicious. Especially galling was his 'wife'... this is what he wants in a life partner?! She was insipid.
Killing off Lursa and B'Etor was a huge mistake. They were a riotous pair of villains that could have done so much more on DS9 as recurring characters. Imagine the episode with Toral trying to get the Bat'leth of Kahless with the Duras sisters and tell me it wouldn't have been way more fun!
This movie was just a bit of a disappointment and the scene in Picard's office (lit only by the Amargosa star) was too darned dark.
rdo - Mon, Aug 4, 2008 - 5:11pm (USA Central)
I disagree with some of the above comments about Kirk's final scene. For Shatner, this is the end of a character that has likely been a huge part of his life, and in a way, his final lines reflect well the sentiment of both the character and the actor.

And in the very end, what an awesome understated thing for the great, full of life, James T. Kirk to say when finally, certainly, facing death. "Oh my".
Eric - Wed, Mar 18, 2009 - 8:46pm (USA Central)
I just rewatched this film, and I still hate it. You are certainly right about the contrivances you mentioned, but another thing that always bugged me was the way in which the ENT-D was destroyed. Even without shields, they should've been able to destroy or at least significantly damage the old, tiny bird of pray. One would think Worf, who spent much of the TV series always advocating aggression, would've suggested just launching a barrage of photon torpedoes at the thing. But instead they just shot once with the phasers and then tried to run. And how the hell can Klingon torpedoes be tuned to a shield frequency anyway. Like most of the Picard/Kirk stuff, it was totally contrived, and made the movie frustrating.
Charlie - Tue, Apr 28, 2009 - 2:38pm (USA Central)
Generations was a disappointment for me because I always felt that the film basically invalidated both Star Trek VI & "All Good Things..." in the same way Exorcist II: The Heretic & Alien 3 invalidated their respective predecessors.
Matthew Weflen - Sun, May 3, 2009 - 11:31pm (USA Central)
I enjoyed your review, even if I disagree on the overall rating. Out of 4 stars, I'd give this a solid 3, if not 3.5.

It's not a 4 for a few reasons: Data's scenes with the emotion chip fall flat, and the pacing is some times a bit turgid, especially, as you mention, on the planet, as well as during the Christmas scenes (in which French Picard yet again has British kids). I also agree that Kirk's death was a bit anticlimactic.

On the other hand, all of the Ent-B material is good, everything outside of the Nexus works. The film plays sort of like 'fan service' to TNG faithful, and it does its job very well. Lursa and Betor are big fun, the Worf promotion is pitch perfect, Picard's motives are dovetailed nicely with the classic episode "Family," counselor Troi actually counsels someone, it all just works extremely well for a good 1:20 of its 2:00 run time.

One logic problem, which I forgive, is the notion of firing a rocket at a star. Is this a warp rocket? Because it sure seems to get to that star pretty quickly - and the dimming of the star also seems to proceed instantaneously, as opposed to taking the several minutes that a class-M planet's distance from its star would seem to indicate. It would have been excessively nerdy and even worse for pacing to do this realistically.

Anyway, good review. I'm splitting hairs on an overall rating, it probably chalks up to gut feelings.
Daniel Lebovic - Mon, May 11, 2009 - 4:43pm (USA Central)
As my father and I saw Star Trek XI for the second time (night of Sat. May 9, 2009) we actually found, to our shock, that in our one-showing-every-half-hour (plus a separate IMAX theater with one showing every three hours) that the two half-hour showings that began shortly before we arrived (same for the IMAX showing, which also began shortly before we arrived) were sold out. We saw the film again, but rather late that night, and for the first time in history, I wasn't mad that I missed a showing because it had sold out. We saw Nemesis only once in a theater -the night of its premiere, no less - and there were seats to spare well into the reeling of the trailers. If you asked me right after I viewed Star Trek 10 that there would be another Star Trek film, that it would be a good - no, GREAT one, and on top of all of that, the film would be playing to sold-out audiences, I would have simultaneously laughed and cried in your face. But the prideful fan in me would never have stated that there was NO possibility of any of the above happening..

As Spcok said, both in Star Trek VI and XI, it's all about "faith."
grumpy_otter - Tue, May 19, 2009 - 9:03pm (USA Central)
I agree with many of the assessments of this film, but just wanted to add one of MY biggest objections to it--when Data pushed Crusher in the water, I couldn't believe they all got so indignant about it!
That was the most hilarious moment of the whole series!
Tachyon - Wed, May 27, 2009 - 5:01pm (USA Central)
Worst trek movie ever.
The script was terrible, the whole movie seemed like some TOS hater's childish way of slapping TOS fans in the face and saying 'get over it, TNG is here now'
From killing Kirk, to the blowing up of the Enterprise it was all contrived, childish and poorly executed.
I have removed this movie from my collection and try to remove it from my memory.

"The Undiscovered Country" and "First Contact", now those are proper examples of a Trek film.

"Generations" belongs in the pile with the likes of "Battlefield Earth" and "Dude, where's my car?"

Tachyon.
Jammer - Wed, May 27, 2009 - 8:57pm (USA Central)
^ Ouch.
Mike - Wed, Aug 12, 2009 - 1:45am (USA Central)
This movie could have been so much better. The idea of the nexus was a good one, but one that was wasted. As stated above, what killed the idea was how quickly Picard shook off the effects of the Nexus, as well as Kirk figuring it out and leaving so easily. What was the real impact of leaving the nexus anyway? It was pretty dull if you ask me.


The nexus was supposed to be something that brought the individuals that enter it incredible joy. I assume that Soran wanted to get back to the nexus to be with his loved ones again. the same for Guinan. Imagine having your world destroyed by the Borg. Everything and everyone you know and love, gone forever. Then you are thrust into the Nexus, and you are reunited with all you lost, and then are ripped away again. I too would want to get back.

I would have imagined the nexus "realities" as different for both Kirk and Picard. These charictors have a rich history. Are you telling me the writers could not come up with better nexus experiences for these two? Why not have Kirk be with his true love, Edith Keeler? Picard, I would have had wake up back in his "home" on the planet Kataan, with his wife and children.

Now this would have packed an emotional punch to the viewer, as well as forcing our two captains to truly have to give up something important to them in the nexus to go back and save all those lives. Thats the movie I would have liked to see.
-Mike
robgnow - Wed, Aug 12, 2009 - 12:16pm (USA Central)
I agree wholeheartedly Mike. The Nexus scenes could have had much more of a "punch" if we'd seen scenes with character we knew from our central character's pasts.

I was thinking for Kirk, they should have gone with Carol Marcus and David. Now, do to real life, they'd have to have different actors, but they could easily have shown the mother/son at a far younger age. Perhaps Kirk could have wanted to experience being there with his son as an infant.

Picard's is more challenging - I think. I feel like he's dealt with his Kataan experiences and the fact that they weren't his life. And, I agree - especially after his brother's and nephew's deaths - that family would be on his mind. I just don't agree with the way they were portrayed - especially the wife's character, who seemed hideously stereotypical and not someone you would think a 24th Century man would run around having fantasies about. I'm not sure there could be an appropriate callback - perhaps Vash, now a bit more settled, happily exploring with him some archeological site or another?

That would seem far more in character for Picard.
peter - Tue, Sep 1, 2009 - 4:57am (USA Central)
This film has so many logic holes and stuff that makes no sense the only way that someone could think this film is good is if they switch their brain off. The Enterprise windows smash like glass wtf it is a spaceship they don't have glass windows. The whole hostage scene, and soron having to kill 230 million ppl to get back to the Nexus because there is no other way even though he got there the first time on a ship. Picard and Kirk going back to just before he fires the rocket instead of earlier where Picard could of saved his family. Arrrgghhh!!! Seriously someone gave this a 3.5 it was disgraceful 0/4
peter - Tue, Sep 1, 2009 - 5:15am (USA Central)
There are so many more problems with this crap movie check out the review by redletter media on youtube it points out lots of them and is quite funny as well.
Nic - Mon, Nov 2, 2009 - 7:11pm (USA Central)
I agree with everything you said and most of the comments... except the bit about the lighting on the Enterprise-D. I think they should have kept it like they had it on the series, because first of all it makes no sense storywise for that to change (as Culluh said ironically in "Basics, Part I": 'Why is it so dark in here? Somebody TURN ON THE LIGHTS!') and the sets didn't look as good visually.
David - Tue, Mar 9, 2010 - 8:30am (USA Central)
I fully agree with all those fans who say that Kirk's death was a complete debacle. In fact, they shouldn't have killed him off at all.
Eduardo - Thu, Mar 11, 2010 - 9:56am (USA Central)
I feel sorry this film wasn't all it could have been. There's actually a very good story trying to be told in a compelling manner.

If it weren't for the directives imposed by Paramount on Rick Berman, I don't think this film would have been as convoluted. Kirk and Picard together was a great concept, but the Nexus wasn't the best way to achieve this. Sometimes, I think time travel would have been the best solution.

It had, by far, my favorite DVD commentary of the Trek films. I was surprised at how much I found myself agreeing with Brannon Braga and Ron Moore throughout the film's run. Both are very candid in realizing what went wrong.

Like Braga's own mindset, for me the stellar cartography scene is one that still holds up well today. Moore's tidbit about having to rewrite the script due to budget issues also caught my attention.

It's amazing how much Paramount execs tried to control costs, milking the cow back in the 90's. And now we have JJ Abrams Star Trek, which cost over 100 million, made back three times that amount, and took home a best makeup oscar.
Liz - Wed, Jun 2, 2010 - 11:19am (USA Central)
I agree with your assessment of the movie and the problems and plot holes with it, but I don't think it's as bad of movie as everyone is making it out to be.

I started watching Star Trek this past year. I was having a bad night and the only thing that was on was a marathon of the movie Star Trek Generations on BBC America. I winded up watching the movie three times in a row and loving it and deciding that maybe this television show was worth watching and seeing. The characters just seemed deep and amazing to me, so I could never hate this movie.

And overall, even though other people are upset that it was made, I'm happy about it. Not only did it get me to love Star Trek in the first place, but I'll take any TNG episodes or movies they are willing to give me. I love them all. Even the original season of the television show, which everyone else hates.
Liz - Wed, Jun 2, 2010 - 11:28am (USA Central)
Oh and I just wanted to add this, lol . . . .

Data is my favorite character and my love of him started with this movie. I know someone else mentioned that they were tired of him, but honestly, I could never be tired of his story arcs and the unique way that Star Trek deals with him.

Anyway, I do want to point out one thing that even I found funny before I saw any of the television show. I took french in high school and even though I never watched a single episode, I knew enough about france and french names to know that "Jean Luc" was a french name and that he was obviously from France. So it was a bit funny when everyone in his family had an English accent. At least to me it was.
Latex Zebra - Tue, Jun 22, 2010 - 6:12am (USA Central)
2 Things from me!

1. Picards family didn't need to die. I feel that as they where the last part of the Picard name and it is kind of obvious Picard himself wont be having kids that to kill them was just nasty. Maybe I've missed the point but that really pees me off.

2. Kirk also did not need to die. He could have ended up in the Nexus as the end.
ScooterGirl - Tue, Dec 7, 2010 - 11:38pm (USA Central)
What ruined this movie for me wasn't Soran's flawed reasoning of how to enter the Nexus or Kirk's unheroic death retrieving a remote control but rather Data's emotion chip. What made Data so endearing in TNG were his charming attempts to duplicate, and therefore hopefully understand, human emotions and human relationships. Here he is given emotions and it results in a very unlikable Data. In the TNG episode "Deja Q", Q rewards Data with an actual emotion for a moment, a moment in which Data finds himself having a laughing fit the kind of which we have all experienced at one time or another. I can't speak for anyone else but I laughed right along with Data watching that episode because his laughter seemed genuine. In "Generations" this same Data, who thanks to the chip understands the concept of humor, becomes an idiot whose laughter seems forced and completely without humor. Instead of laughing I cringed. I do recognize that fear can be overwhelming and while Data's reaction to experiencing it for the first time is realistic I found I didn't really like a cowardly Data either, nor the swearing Data aboard the soon to be demolished Enterprise. I suppose the only time I found Data's chip to be redeeming was his touching reaction when he found Spot unharmed. Other than that give me the questing Data over the Data who has found what he has been seeking and ends up being less instead of more.
Josh - Sat, Oct 1, 2011 - 3:52am (USA Central)
I like Generations, though I don't really disagree with any of the criticisms in this review. But one thing that's always really bothered me about it was the re-use of effects sequences from Star Trek VI for the destruction of Lursa and B'Etor's ship - they're the exact sequences from the demise of General Chang! Seems an odd thing to have cheap-ed out on.
Matt - Sun, Oct 16, 2011 - 10:19pm (USA Central)
Over the years, many have (rightfully) said that both The Godfather Part III & Alien 3 would probably be viewed as good films had they been the first in their respective series. Do you think the same could apply to Generations had we never seen Kirk or Picard prior to this film?
Joe-B - Wed, Feb 22, 2012 - 12:44pm (USA Central)
I hated this movie. I don't think this movie did TNG justice by any means. The Bad writing, The Sub plot of Data getting a emotion chip. The way Enterprise-D got destroyed by a Old Bird of Pray. Also continuity flaws.

But If I had to pick I would watch this movie over 1 episode of Enterprise.
Patrick - Sun, Sep 30, 2012 - 12:52am (USA Central)
I thought Dr. Soran was one of the more interesting villains of the Trek movies. While he's evil wasn't as far reaching or as effective as Khan or The Borg Queen, as a character unto himself, he was interesting.

Watch the scene where Picard is trying to persuade Dr. Soran that his destroying Veridian III was no different than when the Borg destroyed his home and family. There's a brief pause where it seems that Picard had gotten through to him. And then that malevolent smile spreads over his face and he says: "Nice try."
That scene alone puts him head and shoulders above R'uafo and Shinzon.
Rosario - Sun, Nov 11, 2012 - 12:32am (USA Central)
I always thought one couldn't use a ship to enter the nexus. You might get it but you still have a physical body in a ship that is about to blow up. Kirk though was sucked out into space and into the Nexus, physically he has entered it. This is what happens to Picard and what Soran wants. Unfortunately as Jammer said, the Nexus is just a wish device that does whatever the writer's need it to do. This movie can't really be assessed as a time travel movie or it falls apart quite swiftly. Agree with the general concensus and review - a middling effort from the franchise.
John the younger - Tue, Dec 18, 2012 - 3:39am (USA Central)
I would rate this as better than Insurrection or Nemesis.
Patrick - Tue, Dec 18, 2012 - 7:53pm (USA Central)
I'd put Generations in the same category as Insurrection and Nemesis--clunky and poorly thought out. First Contact was the only TNG film that came off as polished and properly constructed from beginning to end.
Jack - Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 8:48pm (USA Central)
Demora Sulu says "glad to meet you" to Kirk, but then Chekov mentions they met 12 years ago. Assuming she's fresh out of the academy, that makes her 10 when they'd met...she didn't remember?
Jack - Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 8:50pm (USA Central)
And they're in the Sol system, but there is "no other ship within range" to make the rescue?

Not exactly leaving Earth very well protected...
Jack - Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 9:00pm (USA Central)
Plus...not much of a lifetime for the Enterprise-A, and some 50 year gap between the Enterprise-B and Captain Garrett's Enterprise-C.
Jack - Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 9:53pm (USA Central)
How come when the Klingons were "looking" through Geordi's eyes, they saw things the way normal eyes do rather than how Geordi sees?
alipvz - Tue, Jan 8, 2013 - 1:24am (USA Central)
This movie could have been so much more. It was not well thought out. Just plain assinine!!

The thing that irked me was the fact that it physically took a lot of energy to get into the nexus ( like blowing up stars, flying ships through it, having it come to you etc....). Yet, when the two captains decide to leave, they ride out on horseback!!?? I just never lived down the stupidity.

With Spock's 200 year + lifespan and the fact that Scotty was already in the 24th century, they could have truly made a "generational" film. Leave it to Berman and company to muck it up.

Poor Kirk's death wasn't handled with the heroic standards that he deserved. The Guy didn't even get a 21 gun salute funeral!!! Where were the speeches and bagpipes like in Star Trek 2 when Spock died. This is the way you handle a hero's death? Bury him quietly on a mountain top? One of the greatest captains in Starfleet???I think this film didn't give Kirk the proper respect.

If you were going to have the TOS cast in the film, they should have been utilized throughout the better part of the film interacting with the next generation crew as opposed to being used like props.

Unsatisfying indeed!!!!!
NCC-1701-Z - Thu, Apr 11, 2013 - 2:12pm (USA Central)
A respectable effort, but if I could travel back in time and improve the movie, I would have:

-Completely reworked the battle scene. I would have made the Duras' ship a Vor'cha or Negh'var class cruiser, for starters, or maybe even a D7/Ktinga. Then Geordi's VISOR gives away the shield frequency, and the ship inflicts critical damage on the Enterprise before Riker thinks to remodulate the shield frequency. Riker throws every weapon he has against the ship (a lot more than one phaser blast and one torpedo, I can tell you that!), doing some damage but not much, as the damage sustained before remodulating the shields is just too much. With the warp core about to breach, Riker has an idea. He evacuates the stardrive, separates the ship, then he and a skeleton crew beam over to the battle bridge, plot a collision course with the Duras' ship, then beam back to the saucer section at the last minute (I'm thinking TOS's "The Doomsday Machine"). The stardrive section explodes, taking the Duras' ship with it, but the shockwave disables the saucer's engines and from there everything else is the same. I most certainly would NOT have reused the explosion from Star Trek VI.

-I would have tried to make Kirk's death more meaningful. Not sure how to do that - maybe make it so that some Klingons beamed off Duras' ship before it exploded, and Kirk tries to hold them off as long as he can, getting mortally wounded while Picard battles Soran. It certainly would have been better than "Kirk falls off bridge and dies". Then, other than that, everything else remains the same. But I would have added some much stronger music to the scene.

-I would have toned down Data's "emotion chip" thing. A lot.

-I would have cut the Picard Nexus scene, and in Kirk's Nexus fantasy, I would have paired him with a woman from TOS. Maybe Edith Keeler.

Still a good movie though. I especially loved the stellar cartography scene - good character work - and although the battle left much to be desired I liked the chaos that ensued on the Enterprise - that part was very well done and made you really believe the Enterprise was getting shot to pieces (although having it done by a dinky little BOP made me say "Really?").

2.5 or 3 stars.
David E. Miller - Thu, May 2, 2013 - 2:28pm (USA Central)
Just read the novelization of this film. In the book, Veridian III is a jungle planet, and the breech in the force field is through a hole created by tree roots. Also, Kirk is simply killed by Soran's hand weapon (a "disrupteur" is what the French translation called it). I liked the use of an actual bridge on the planet as the death device (one thinks immediately of a starship bridge, and the fact that the movie is a bridge between generations). But it's true that the Nexus makes no sense whatsoever. I've been to Valley of Fire many times, but unless I took movie photos with me, I wouldn't be able to know exactly where the death scene was shot. The park personnel is a bit more helpful now than back in the day, but....
Paul - Fri, May 3, 2013 - 3:07pm (USA Central)
@David: They originally shot the ending where Kirk is shot in the back. I think you can find it on YouTube. It's funny because Malcolm McDowell was quoted during production as "getting to kill Kirk."

The shot in the back apparently didn't test well, so they changed it. Of course, there's the big question about how in the hell Picard carried Kirk to the top of the hill to bury him. :)
Nick P. - Fri, Jul 12, 2013 - 8:32am (USA Central)
I actually thoroughly enjoy this film, flawed though it is. I may raise some feathers here, but visually, I think this is the best looking ST film. This was at the end of model use in Sci fi movies, before CGI, and the season 1 enterprise has never been more stunning. I loved the slightly dimmer sets, which were clearly to resonate slightly with the episode "yesterdays enterprise". The first 90 minutes of this film are actually quite fun and exciting. I find it interesting that my star wars loving 6 year old son finds this the only Star Trek movie he can sit through. Some may think that in itself is a problem, I disagree, almost al fans of star trek became fans when young, you need to play a little to the younglings.

I think the characters were mostly spot on. I think this point is important because the latter 3 TNG movies (Nemesis in particular) the characters became less and less characters and more the fat old actors portraying them.

I do agree with the criticism of the story. basically Rick Berman said "We need Kirk to die, the Enterprise-D to be destroyed and crash on a planet, and Picard and Kirk to somehow meet, now CONNECT THE DOTS", and that was it.

Now, there is a much bigger problem with this movie that no one has quite mentioned yet, and that is regarding Kirks life in the nexus. Everyone I ever hear comment on this says it should have been Carol Marcus and David over some random Antonia. I think that critique is half right. The problem is that deep down we all know Kirks 1st love is the Enterprise. His Nexus fantasy should have been the original (or movie version) starship enterprise. How satisfying for us as fans have been if Picard walked in on Kirk giving orders to Kirk on the original enterprise and had to convince Kirk to help him and the Enterprise D crew with an existential crisis. That is the way this movie would have been satisfying. The problem is that the Kirk we know would never hide away with some women. Picard maybe, but NEVER Kirk. And that is why this movie, as much as I love it, cannot get more than a 3 out of 4.
Paul - Fri, Jul 12, 2013 - 12:30pm (USA Central)
@Nick P: That's an interesting comment about Kirk, but it's off the mark.

Kirk, circa 2294, is a lonely old man. A big part of the movie is him regretting the choices he made that left him that way. So, it makes sense that his idealized moment in time is with a woman who "got away", rather than him returning to the Enterprise back in the day. Antonia was probably a bad choice, but a love interest made sense. It would have been good to cast a new actress as a young Carol Marcus with an infant David. That would have been powerful.

Now, your premise would have worked if Kirk's problem had been living in the past. Instead of the (edited) orbital skydiving scene, maybe Kirk would have been using some VR technology to relive the old missions. Then, in the Nexus, he could have been back on the old Enterprise and Picard could have said, "It's time to live in the now," or something and Kirk, upon his death, could have said, "My now was 78 years ago. This is your now, Captain. Make the most of it."

All of this ignores the biggest problem with Generations: What the hell does the Nexus do?

At some points, it's a time portal. At others, it's almost like a holodeck where those in it can live scenarios that never happened. This flaw -- combined with the stupid decision by Picard and Kirk to try to stop Soran at a moment when doing so was possible but very difficult -- make Generations a subpar movie.

Oh, and Riker looks incompetent. There were any number of ways he could have kept the Duras sisters from destroying the Enterprise.
Corey - Wed, Jul 24, 2013 - 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: everyone saying it should be Carol Marcus and the infant David - did you guys not see WOK? The movie specifically said that Carol did not tell Kirk about David, because she didn't want David to gallivant across the galaxy like his father. Thus they must have broken up before he was born, or broke up over sub space. Also thus, this means if Kirk really wanted to get back with her (Which WOK doesn't suggest), he would need to fix things BEFORE David was born, because by the time's David is a newborn, it's too late for their relationship.

Kirk wanting to be with Edith Keeler, on the hand, makes a lot of sense - he would have to imagine that her death wasn't necessary, but should be no problem in the Nexus.

As for the movie itself - I thought it was great visually, music, sound effects, and most of the acting. I actually cried 3 times during that movie on a recent re-watch, so apparently they did something right.

However, I do agree this can't be a 4 star movie ( would give it 3) - these are my detractions:

1) While the movie isn't clear, presumably the emotion chip simply adds emotions and reactions, but doesn't change other things that Data does (personal beliefs, policies, habits etc.). Before installing the chip, the TNG establishes Data as a creature with a strong sense of duty, even to the point of self-sacrifice. He should still have this, even with an emotion chip installed. Therefore, when he was wrought with fear, in his head he should have concluded ("I have a duty to protect Geordi - regardless of how I feel") and acted to save his friend. I do NOT buy the movie's premise that he was hit with so much fear that he couldn't act - Data has faced many adversities in his many years of existence, this is just another obstacle to overcome. I believe his strong sense of duty should have allowed him act to save Geordi.
* Like another poster, I don't like the Data with emotion, and could have done without. Also, once he realized he can react to humor, he should have thought about past humorous events off-duty - did he somehow lose his professionalism? He looks stupid, and Geordi looks annoyed like the audience.
* James Kirk was a historic figure who has saved the Federation (or parts of it) a number of times - you would think Starfleet would bother to put him a stasis pod and bury him properly on Earth, either in Iowa, or a Starfleet graveyard. It just made no sense to bury him on a no-name planet UNLESS Picard thought Picard would live there the rest of his life, which he had no reason to think that.
* I agree the dark lighting for Picard's quarters and ready room were unnecessary - just make it the same as it was, the scene would have been fine, Patrick could pull it off. This scene was also hard to hear, the actors were speaking too quietly.

So while I agree this isn't as perfect as Wrath of Khan, I disagree it's as bad as some make it out. This is just my opinion, feel free to disagree.
Paul - Wed, Jul 24, 2013 - 4:15pm (USA Central)
@Corey: Actually, WOK suggests Kirk has a lot of regrets about not being around David. Now, it's true that he might not have known about David until after he was born, he still could have come back and tried to have a family with David and Carol. David's about 28 in WOK, meaning he would have been born in 2256 or so -- well before the original 5-year mission. Heck, Kirk could have even come back after the 5-yeare mission (when David was a teenager) and tried to have a family.

Inserting some random woman into Kirk's backstory was a serious misstep. But Carol/David could have worked with the plot and Trek history.
Corey - Wed, Jul 24, 2013 - 4:43pm (USA Central)
@Paul: You didn't read my comment closely enough. I said WOK didn't indicate that Kirk wanted to be with CAROL, you know, the gal he broke up with? They must have had some problems, or they wouldn't have broken up at all.

Yes, he wanted to part of David's life, but that can be arranged via such things as visitation rights. And the fact that Carol did NOT want her son lead a life like Kirk's (direct quote from WOK) (how the world did they ever hook up with such incompatible attitudes?) shows that there are irreconcilable differences between Kirk and Carol - sure Kirk wanted to patch things up with David, but there's no hope with Carol so Kirk didn't even try!
Paul - Thu, Jul 25, 2013 - 4:33pm (USA Central)
@Corey: Just because they had problems doesn't mean Kirk doesn't have regrets about not being with her. Anyway, it doesn't say who broke up with whom.

And the fact that Kirk didn't patch things up with Carol might indicate he thought it was hopeless. But that doesn't mean in a fantasy-based Nexus after being old and alone he wouldn't change things to be with her.

You're right that there's no indication that he regrets not being with Carol. There's also no indication that he's glad that it ended. So, Carol would have worked as the love interest (certainly better than some chick we'd never heard of).
Corey - Thu, Jul 25, 2013 - 6:20pm (USA Central)
@Paul: I do see where you are coming from. In this magic thing "Nexus", apparently anything can happen, so certainly Kirk could have imagined a Carol a bit more agree-able - and as others have claimed more emotionally powerful than some no-name "Antonia" that as far as we know Kirk never talked about, not even on TOS.

NOT telling Kirk about his son, I would postulate, is a SERIOUS slight. She had to know that Kirk would want to know about his son (what father doesn't? Except low-lifes I suppose, but I can't see how Carol could think that of Kirk no matter how little she liked him). If they parted on good terms she wouldn't have done that. Myself, if I were Kirk, I would have been pretty mad at Carol for keeping such an important fact secret - I need to know my son, and my son needs to know me.

Anyways, no need to belabor a point, I'm done on this particular topic - my final note is with my knowledge of humanity, I don't think Kirk would want (or dream even - hence our talk of the Nexus) of getting back with Carol - he easily could have bitterness about the issue even years later. I understand Paul you disagree, so let's just agree to disagree.
Paul - Thu, Jul 25, 2013 - 9:48pm (USA Central)
@Corey: Cool.
Malcolm - Tue, Jul 30, 2013 - 11:23pm (USA Central)
I absolutely love this movie. While I agree there are some parts that could have been done better, such as the fight scene with Soran/Picard/Kirk or giving Dr. Crusher and Troi something to actually do, overall I think it was the best TNG movie when it comes to emotional impact.

I also feel that this movie has the best cinematography out of any Star Trek movie. The way the camera is used, with both beautiful new sets and familiar sets where we finally get some dramatic lighting (when the Enterprise is in orbit around Amargosa and the interior is bathed in golden light was stunning) really made Star Trek finally look like it belonged on the big screen.

The special effects were wonderful (aside from a recycled bird of prey blowing up of course, the Sisters of Duras deserved a better send off), and I will always remember that feeling of horror I felt at ten years old when the Enterprise and her crew are destroyed by the nova watching this on opening night in the theater.

While the following TNG movies had their good and bad parts, Generations will always remain for me the most satisfying and enjoyable to watch. 4.5/5 stars for me, and a close third behind Wrath of Khan and The Voyage Home.
Brandon - Sun, Sep 1, 2013 - 11:39pm (USA Central)
This was such a hot-and-cold movie for me. The cinematic bravura of the Nexus, crashing the Enterprise, exploding celestial bodies...terrific stuff. But between all that was a bunch of awkward and tough-to-explain set pieces.

I have never been able to understand why this movie was directed in such a dark and tense manner. Practically every room on the Enterprise-D was dimmer than anything on the series, or the bridge of the Enterprise-B for that matter. Am I the only one who felt a ton of discontinuity from the series over this? I've often felt the urge to create one of those fanmade Youtube mishmashes with the Generations dialogue lip-synched to shots from the series.
Petrus - Fri, Dec 6, 2013 - 7:27am (USA Central)
Generations is one of those movies that critics hate for academic reasons, and other people tend to love (or at least periodically enjoy) for emotional reasons.

Yes, it's easy to tear the storyline to shreds, and yes, for the most part, Data's comedy routine with the emotion chip was awful. As someone with a professional diagnosis, however, I nominate "Scanning for Lifeforms," for the Aspergian National Anthem. The autism was strong with Data, and it was never stronger than in this film. ;)

If there's one thing which Generations was, more than probably any other Trek film however, (yes, possibly even First Contact) it was epic. This was a MOTION PICTURE, not a television episode. The special effects, the lighting, the outdoor location scenes, the overall scope of the story, (yes, even the fact that Data got the emotion chip, although the results were unspeakable) this is all cinematic feature film stuff, not TV stuff.

For the guy who compared this with Battlefield Earth, I actually thought that film was a blast as well, albeit in a dissonant, Mystery Science Theatre 3000 kind of way. Haters gonna hate, but if you're going to hate Generations, make sure you hate it on at least an 18 to 21 inch screen. It's just too bad, as Jammer said, that we didn't get a suitably booming soundtrack to go with the visuals.
Tim - Fri, Dec 6, 2013 - 1:19pm (USA Central)
Watched this last night for the first time in years. Good lord, Data is positively obnoxious when he gets his emotion chip.

That business of the battle between the Enterprise and the Klingon ship is silly. It wants to be just like the destruction of Chang's ship in Star Trek VI. Right down to using the same footage of the ship blowing up. By the way, how dumb are the Klingons? They never think to rebuild a ship that can fire while cloaked.

And it was positively painful to see the original crew reciting technobabble about generating subspace fields and life sign phasing out of our space time continuum. How does one know if somebody is leaving our space time continuum anyway?

The whole affair was about getting rid of the old generation and ushering in the new. So how about making the new more interesting without the audience thinking "What the hell are they talking about?"
Paul - Fri, Dec 6, 2013 - 3:09pm (USA Central)
Top 10 problems with this movie:

10) Scotty and Checkov clearly played the roles intended for Spock and McCoy -- complete with Checkov seeing to the medical needs of the refugees. I'm guessing Nimoy and Kelley didn't want to come back for bit parts.

9) Riker's complete incompetence in the battle against the Duras sisters is laughable. Even if they gotten the first shot through the Enterprise's shields, Riker could have just fired all weapons at the Bird of Prey and been done with it. Or, he could have remodulated the shields.

8) It's simply implausible that the Enterprise couldn't have found Soran on the planet.

7) It's simply implausible that the Enterprise couldn't have stopped Soran's device from getting to the Veridian sun -- especially considering it was clearly chemically propelled.

6) Picard's family scene in the Nexus was just poorly done and ham-fisted to say nothing of the really odd crying scene with Troi earlier in the film.

5) Inserting another lost love we'd never heard of in Kirk's backstory was ridiculous. Why not use Carol Marcus or Edith Keeler?

4) I don't hate the stuff with Data's emotion chip. But to pop it in and let Data resume active duty was just ridiculous. Something like that should have been done in a controlled environment.

3) How the hell does Guinan in the Nexus even know who Picard is? The whole 'echo' business was ridiculous.

2) There is simply no good explanation for why Soran couldn't have been on a ship or in a thruster suit to get into the Nexus. He was in the Nexus during the movie's first scene ON A SHIP.

1) Picard picks the hardest possible time to stop Soran, when he could have simply gone back to the point where Soran came on board the Enterprise and arrested him.
Dwane - Sun, Feb 16, 2014 - 5:16pm (USA Central)
Having literally just seen this film, I can say this:

I enjoyed it, but admittedly, it could have been much better.
Rivus - Mon, Mar 31, 2014 - 4:38am (USA Central)
@paul, I think it can be assumed that echo Guinan knew Picard because of Time's Arrow.

As my first run through of everything surrounding TNG, I'd say that this probably gets me a 2.5 of 4. After seeing All Good Things for the first time a couple days prior, this feels incredibly weak. There's no a-ha moment in my head when everything really falls into place, something I cherished in the best TNG episodes. Instead, we get concepts upon duplicating concepts, arching over each other and beating you over the head repeatedly until you truly tire of it.

That being said, it was still a fun, if a little of a hollywood handholdy movie up until right around when the 1701D crashed.
Paul - Mon, Mar 31, 2014 - 11:16am (USA Central)
@Rivus: Good point re: Guinan and Picard.
Rivus - Mon, Mar 31, 2014 - 6:31pm (USA Central)
Actually, looking again at the scene, Picard asks echo Guinan if she's on the Enterprise, which she says she is... I guess the argument could be made that since the echo is a part of Guinan, and time is meaningless in the Nexus, then maybe she retains the experiences of the real Guinan. Honestly, not much is even known of Guinan's species aside from long life, abstract time sensitivity like in the Yesterday's Enterprise incident, Borg genocides and Q, so you could make all sorts of arguments about the way she interacts with the Nexus.

Also, another thing dawned on me, as I was watching the Red Letter review of this movie... The 1701-D just seems like it was run by a pre-Borg TNG crew. No effort was made to remodulate the shield's frequency... Considering the Bird of Prey's weapon capabilities, getting past the shields could ONLY have been done if they knew the frequency it was operating at. And then Riker gives Troi the helm, which honestly, should NOT have been a problem considering in Thine own Self Troi passes the commander's exam by Riker's own admission. But for the sake of the event, it's as if that never happened, and if it did, one can just look at Riker again because it's ALL HIS FAULT. It's like you can look at a silly decision made in season 7 leaking into the movie... and in a way, dooming the Enterprise.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014 - 9:07am (USA Central)
I have to say that the few bits about this movie that irked me were:

1. Geordi was looked over when he got back, but the Enterprise bridge crew was at this point intimately familiar with the Duras Sisters and what they're capable of ... and no one checked on his visor to see if it had been tampered with. ESPECIALLY after ROMULANS tampered with it in an episode of the series to add E-band capabilities so they could direct his attempted assassination of a Klingon Governor.

2. All Federation ships had an ability to rotate shield frequencies. This technique became especially critical in combat after the forced introduction to the Borg. How come after the first 1, MAYBE 2 hits from the Sisters got through the shields, Riker didn't think to say "Derrrrp! Rotate the shield frequencies?" This, in my opinion, seemed nothing more than a way to destroy the loveable (again, in my opinion) Big-D in favour of a new ship.

3. Kirk has always said he would die alone. So they decided to completely ignore that and give him the epic, lonely death he so deserved and just drop a bridge on him instead with Picard there to comfort him as he passed on. No. No, no, no, nonono! NO!
Tim - Thu, Jun 5, 2014 - 11:06am (USA Central)
"This, in my opinion, seemed nothing more than a way to destroy the loveable (again, in my opinion) Big-D in favour of a new ship."

This.
Datalore - Tue, Aug 26, 2014 - 5:55pm (USA Central)
Of all the things I remember about this movie, I recall that it is pretty fun right up to (and including) the destruction of Enterprise D. After that, it is plain boring.



Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Section Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer