Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Enterprise

"Harbinger"

**

Air date: 2/11/2004
Teleplay by Manny Coto
Story by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga
Directed by David Livingston

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"The last thing I need is to hear that two of my senior officers have been admitted to sickbay because they suddenly regressed to the level of five-year-olds!"
"Captain—"
"Don't try to tell me who started it!"

— Archer, Reed

In brief: Glib characters, glib plot, glib everything.

"Harbinger" is like Star Trek for the Instant Gratification Generation. Watch it and maybe be amused by the crazy and goofy and silly things happening on the screen, but certainly do not to give them a moment's thought. Scratch the surface and there's a void beneath. Or endless cliches, maybe.

In a disposable pop-culture society for people with terminal ADD, "Harbinger" is perhaps the Star Trek outing we deserve. It features trashy and superficially amusing character-based antics, and a general commitment to exploring the Xindi arc (albeit in its mostly nonsensical way). It has these things, but that's not to say it makes any sense of them.

The show is like the ultimate passive-aggressive pissing contest that's just waiting to turn active-aggressive — and then does.

What can you say about an episode where two characters have sex that is apparently so meaningless as to be inexplicable, while two other characters beat the living crap out of each other in a scene that looks like it belongs in 48 Hrs.?

One diagnosis could be that Enterprise has officially jumped the shark. Another could be that this was intended as silly fun gone over the top. I will do my best to argue some form of a middle ground, since the actors somehow manage not to embarrass themselves in this material.

In Character Situation #1 (situation, not story), we have Lt. Reed and Major Hayes in an escalating conflict over the administration of the training regimen for the Starfleet personnel. Reed feels threatened by what he perceives as Hayes encroaching on his turf. A pissing contest ensues that is fueled by an ever-increasing level of testosterone and posturing. Reed, frankly, asks for it. Hayes is juvenile enough to take the bait. It all leads to a scene where the two pummel each other with the gloves off, literally.

As male posturing for the Fight Club generation (I happen to love Fight Club, by the way), this is kind of fun, and features some superb stunt coordination — but is really, reeeeeally dumb. At least Fight Club knew it was ridiculous and had Intelligent Percolating Irony. Reed and Hayes, by contrast, are written like walking alpha male cliches. What does this add up to? Not much. It allows for an admittedly satisfying scene where Captain Archer reads them the riot act for their teenage-level behavior. Good for him. (The storyline is shallow but scores some points, I guess, for histrionics and general mayhem.)

In Character Situation #2, we have a Love Triangle [TM]. Actually not, because there's nothing remotely so meaningful brewing here as love. No, we have a Would-Be Sex Triangle, with the vertices being Trip, T'Pol, and MACO Cpl. Amanda Cole (Noa Tishby). Trip has taken to giving Vulcan neuro-pressure to Amanda, which drives T'Pol into some form of Vulcan jealousy, which turns her into the ultimate passive-aggressive personality — one who claims to be above the kind of behavior she is obviously engaging in.

Since neuro-pressure is a Vulcan discipline Trip isn't skilled enough at performing, T'Pol insists on taking over the sessions with Amanda (to "undo the damage"), which she uses as a feeler to gauge Amanda's feelings for Trip. It turns out that Trip and Amanda have some things in common, like both being raised in Florida, etc. Certainly they have more in common than Trip and T'Pol do.

My thinking is that Amanda and T'Pol should've just duked it out, winner gets Trip. You see, that way we'd have had plot parallelism with the Reed/Hayes story — I mean, situation. In such an event, my money's on Amanda, because she's pretty athletic-looking. Catfight time!

No such luck. Instead we get T'Pol turned into a muted passive-aggressive that is superbly performed by Jolene Blalock, but absolutely a wrongheaded characterization as written. Do we really want to see a Vulcan reduced to such shallow jealousy and such calculated, subtle verbal assaults, no matter how coolly delivered?

Consider the scene where T'Pol asks Amanda about her interest in Trip. T'Pol essentially then uses this information to beat Amanda to the punch. One is tempted to wonder what Amanda might feel about such a violation of trust perpetrated by the ship's first officer, no less. Not to worry: The writers promptly discard Amanda as a character immediately after this scene, since she's served her purpose as a catalyst.

And consider the scene where T'Pol makes the first move on Trip. It's a complete and utter contrivance, with no basis in human or Vulcan behavior. It has a basis only in sitcom one-liners. The tit-for-tat dialog between Trip and T'Pol may sound clever (or, more likely, corny), but it has zero psychological believability. They're like two pawns in a game of amusement for and by the writers. What is this supposed to be about? The writers are clueless. It's about only the fact that it happens, and not why it happens. If that's enough for you, then enjoy. Personally, I think it's BS.

The next day, T'Pol dispassionately writes the whole thing off as a Vulcan lab experiment in human sexuality, something that's been on her list of things to try ever since resigning from the High Command. Uh-huh. (I wonder what else is on the list. Maybe "Get a tattoo.") All things considered, Trip takes it pretty well. If it were me, she'd have just lit a powder keg.

In the past I've asked for risk-taking. I've asked for characters that have sex rather than engage in lame TV pseudo-sex. One could say "Harbinger" is the end result I deserve. But no, because "Harbinger" is reckless at the expense of all credibility. You can tell the writers didn't take any of this remotely seriously and aren't really expecting us to, either. It's the very definition of a glib payoff, delivered with a smirk.

Anyway. I'd better get to the sci-fi plot here. It involves an alien found in a gravimetric field (or something) that looks like a growing expanse of bubble gum. The plot provides some interest by explaining that the field lies equidistant from five spheres. An alien with weird sci-fi properties is found in a small pod just inside the sci-fi field. Archer pulls the pod out; the Enterprise is nearly swallowed in the process.

Given everything else that has happened in the Delphic Expanse, I must question the wisdom of Archer stopping to pull an unknown sci-fi alien out of a dangerous sci-fi field to ask a bunch of questions with no apparent sci-fi answers. Never mind the ethical issues of his interference; is it really worth the risk when you're already on course for the red giant where the Xindi weapon is supposedly being built?

Of course the alien gets loose and threatens the ship with destruction. "He's disrupting systems as he goes. We can use that to track him." Yeah, sort of like tracking a tornado by watching the damage path! The alien, which looks kind of like a Suliban, finally tells Archer, with an evil smile, "When the Xindi destroy Earth, my people will prevail!" Then he vanishes to Never-Never Land or into the Temporal Cold War timeline/continuum or who-knows-where. Your guess is as good as mine.

The problem with this aspect of "Harbinger" is that ... well, the Xindi arc already has too many friggin' harbingers. Everything is a harbinger that keeps us in the dark while portending ominous doom. There's only so far you can go with pseudo-clues before the audience begins demanding answers. To be fair, there are nods to continuity here — the spheres, as I mentioned — but too much of the Xindi arc is based on facts in an incomprehensible void. Maybe I'm wrong and this will eventually make sense. One can hope. But for now I'm not particularly impressed, because anything can happen, there are no rules, and none of it has a need to matter. The alien here doesn't obey the laws of physics. Unfortunately, I have no idea why that is and, more importantly, I don't much care.

There's a reason I quit watching The X-Files, which was its general tendency to exist as a series that pretended the whole plot was only one or two or maybe 17 twists away from almost making half-sense.

"Harbinger" is not boring, but at what cost to logic or understanding or characterization or plausibility or any sense that anything happens for a reason beyond the purely random assembly of characters and facts and behavior patterns and plot pieces?

Argh.

Next week: The fate of the ship lies in Phlox's hands.

Note: This episode was re-rated from 1.5 to 2 stars when the season recap was written.

Previous episode: Stratagem
Next episode: Doctor's Orders

Season Index

26 comments on this review

Brian - Thu, Dec 20, 2007 - 11:20pm (USA Central)
The "harbinger" in this episode seemed like an afterthought. The main crux of this episode is to get more SEX, SEX, SEX on the show.

I wonder, did ANY fans enjoy the "pressure point" Trip/T'Pol crap?

Enterprise also keeps up with sh*tting on the Vulcans in this episode with T'Pol jumping Trip's bones, as well as being jealous.

Why is it that Leonard Nimoy is the only actor who seems to be able to make a Vulcan charismatic and interesting? Why must every other actor/actress playing a Vulcan just act like a blank slate? Spewing lines mechanically?

Throughout this series, the Vulcans have gone from an interesting, private, proud race into a bunch of sniveling, uptight jerks.

Next time, instead of the soft core pressure point crap, just put out a Star Trek TOO HOT FOR TV! DVD for the people who want that, and don't stuff Star Trek with this kind of cheap garbage. If sex is organic to the story, by all means, include it, but, don't crowbar it in. With the wealth of porn available at the world's fingertips, no one is going to watch TV just to see the top of Jolene Blalock's ass crack.
Alex - Mon, Mar 3, 2008 - 4:01pm (USA Central)
Not a great episode, but what a beautiful ass crack. Jolene's hot!

At least some of her crazy behavior gets explained when she is revealed to be a drug addict. And then in the next season with the Vulcan trilogy.

This series could've used better dialog. A lot of cheese in this episode.
Steve - Mon, Feb 9, 2009 - 9:38am (USA Central)
This episode was bad. One comment that I didnt see was that we keep hearing about Reeds security team. His trained team and best team. He arranges traing between his team and the MACOs. Yet, we we get to see who is on his team, who do we see....Trip, Travis, T'Pol, Hoshi. Thats his team?
Chris - Thu, Feb 19, 2009 - 5:48pm (USA Central)
Godawful. This horrible excuse for fanfiction...I'm sorry, I mean an episode of Star Trek deserved the initial 1.5 star rating, and even that was too generous.

Aside from the stupidity of the B and C plots, there *have* been way too many harbingers by this point of the season. By the time this episode aired, how many idiotic filler episodes had this show seen? It's no wonder Enterprise was cancelled.
tc - Tue, Sep 8, 2009 - 2:16pm (USA Central)
Be that as it may, It was a very good day at the office for Conner Treneer, filming the nude scene.
RussS - Fri, Nov 12, 2010 - 1:49am (USA Central)
Sorry, I liked this episode.

T'Pol's soft new look and vulnerability has grown on me. The idea that she is jealous is kind of appealing. But it is distracting that not too long ago she spent 12 straight years as Archer's wife and nursemaid. Whatever happened to vulcan loyalty?
Carbetarian - Tue, Dec 28, 2010 - 2:11pm (USA Central)
This episode was kind of like a very, very cheap, poorly done knock off of DS9's "looking for Par'mach in all the wrong places". But, oddly enough, I can't say I totally hated it.

There were a few things I enjoyed about this episode on a purely superficial level:

1. Travis is kind of hot. I guess I never noticed that before because, well, where is he most of the time? Poor travis never gets any screen time. But, at least in this episode his screen time was not wasted. There's a lot of talk about T'Pol's ass crack. But, for me the highlight of this show was Travis in a sparring match.

2. When Reed jumped on Hayes like a some kind of Sunday morning cartoon character, or a deranged cat, I literally almost spit my drink out and actually yelled "WHAT THE F*CK?!?" at my computer screen. I hate to reward that kind of idiocy, but I thought it was hilarious.

3. Archer's speech at the end was also funny. I got the impression Reed was trying not to laugh along with me though. That's not probably not a good thing. But, I enjoyed it in a fluffy kind of way.

4. I wasn't exactly thrilled about the way Trip and T'Pol got together. But, I'm glad they did. I've been rooting for them to get together since the first season. I really like Trip and T'Pol as characters. I'm not always so fond of the rest of the crew. So, the idea that they're admitting their feelings to each other worked well enough for me to forgive some of the "WTF???!??" nature of how the writers accomplished it.

5. T'Pol's face at the end of her last scene was also hilarious. As Jammer says, it was totally wrong headed characterization. But, Jolene Blalock manages to act the part with a lot of subtle emotion and humor.

Ok, now here's where I get negative. I kept assuming throughout the episode that this would wind up being a "the crew is being all wacky because of spatial anomalies... Again." type of story. But, no. We were expected to believe that this is how the crew actually behaves on a day to day basis! For me, that was the biggest "WTF??!!?????!!" thing of all. I think two stars is actually fairly generous, even though I got some good laughs out of this one. But, those laughs came at the expense of a lot of the good will this season has built up for me. That's not good.

I would say the line at the end about the sphere guys controlling the Xindi war is kind of intriguing. But, I'm still too busy wondering what kind of crack the writers were smoking during the other forty minutes of this episode to really care about anything else.
Carbetarian - Tue, Dec 28, 2010 - 2:18pm (USA Central)
Oh, and Archer continues to be an idiot. Considering that way he withholds pain medication from the alien before we actually determine that the alien is any kind of threat (let alone whether or not Enterprise should have rescued him in the first place), tells me that he is continuing a season long trend towards making him a psychotic idiot. Not good.
Larrylongballs - Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:19am (USA Central)
Reed's Team of Trip, Hoshi, Travis and T'Pol and their mismatched training uniforms reminded me Vince Vaughn's 'Dodgeball' Team.

I actually found this episode to be pretty funny.
Marco P. - Sat, May 7, 2011 - 8:52am (USA Central)
This episode deserves 1 star.

I'm sorry Jammer, but even if the harbinger/alien plot supposedly pans out later in the series, a viewer watching this for the first time will just ask himself "WTF just happened?!". Viewers don't have the gift of foresight: an episode should not be judged based on its place within the season or series, but rather individually or at least, in continuity with the episodes' normal order.

That is, in itself this episode is a very poor outing because on the one hand it leaves us confused (as far as the alien story is concerned: zero answers or information provided), on the other only *mildly* amused by the B and C storylines. Pissing contests and cheap soap opera sex, THAT's the meat what we're getting here.

How about some characters worth giving a damn for? Some REAL characterization for Hayes or Amanda (whose background is only skimmed and for the case of Amanda, rapidly discarded when she's no longer needed)? A romantic relationship that actually HAS consequences (perhaps within the command structure, or at least in future interactions between characters, instead of conveniently swept under the carpet -Reset Button[TM])?

Zero psychological believability indeed.

And don't get me started on Reed's supposed "security detail" in need of training. As Steve already noted, who does his team consist of? Trip, Travis, T'Pol, and Hoshi????? Why? Just to give these actors some screen time??? Why not show the REAL security team instead, the one which takes action should sh*t happen on board (like aliens boarding Enterprise) during which all the above mentioned characters are at their post (Trip in Engineering, Travis at the helm, etc. etc.). Just utterly ridiculous.

When Archer reads Reed & Hayes the riot act, he should have appropriately added" "...and the ship's captain is an incompetent idiot, much like the writers of this show".
Jasper - Wed, Nov 9, 2011 - 4:05am (USA Central)
Jammer, I'm feeling you just didn't see what was happening here.

For the Reed-situation (as you are opposed to calling it a story): There are two guys where tension is rising and rising, and in this episode it hits the top. Then they battle it out - an event in which they gain mutual respect and a strong friendship is born.

For the Tucker/T'Pol situation: Clearly, Tucker was interested in Amanda, but mostly superficially considering that he drops her for T'Pol when given the opportunity. It isn't the writers that are taking Amanda out of the story, it's Tucker. And about that romance, it's been brewing ever since they started the pressure technique. Heck, in Similitude the mutual attraction is even admitted by the two of them when they knew that there wouldn't be any lasting (improper) consequences. Oh, and don't be too gullible when T'Pol says it meant nothing to her (and in fact, Tucker is also pretending it meant nothing to him).

As for the Harbinger-story, it's not very well worked out, but you have been screaming to get more information on the Xindi's mission to destroy earth. You have also been (correctly) stating that the spheres are more interesting characters than the Xindi. Now you are telling me you aren't seeing that they are connecting the two here? I mean, it's not glaringly obvious, but I am pretty certain that here, they are telling that the ones commanding/coercing the Xindi to attack earth are the sphere creators.
darwinawards - Wed, Jan 11, 2012 - 2:12pm (USA Central)
Is it me, or is Malcolm Reed one of the worst characters on this series? I've been trying to like him, but this episode put me over the edge with his ridiculous pissing match with the major.

When I think of a security officer, I think of a huge, menacing dude who kicks butt and loves weapons (e.g., Worf). The security officer is the person you do not F with. Ever.

Reed is a small, slightly effeminate, thickheaded British guy with a serious chip on his shoulder and absolutely no personality.

In the first place, there is no reason for him to have such an unpleasant demeanor. Worf was all business, but he had an interesting personality and had some funny and lighthearted moments.

Secondly, his only qualification for being a security officer is that he comes from a military family. They should have given him something that actually makes him qualified, such as being a former British SAS operative.

And where the hell is his "team" of security personnel that he is always talking about? Does his team consist of just Travis and T'Pol and the random redshirt we see get instantly shot every time there is a security threat?

Frankly, I think the MACOs are much better qualified than Reed's "team" to do anything security-related. They have better weapons than Reed's team and they actually don't get themselves shot within the first 5 seconds of screen time.


Paul - Thu, Apr 12, 2012 - 2:05pm (USA Central)
So, did Cole die at Azati Prime? Later in the season, we see a bunch of Macos (when Reed tells them Hayes has died). Cole (and Daniel Dae Kim from Lost) are not among them and there's no indication that someone was absent. Cole and DDK's character were the Macos with the biggest roles (other than Hayes and Hawkins, who appeared in a few episodes).

Enterprise was usually pretty good about this kind of thing (whereas Voyager was just terrible at it). But ENT struggled with the Macos in season 3.
Milica - Tue, Jun 26, 2012 - 11:13am (USA Central)
I liked this episode and I generally think that ST Enterprise is so unfairly underrated.
I loved the way TPol and Trip acted this out - the same goes for the confession scene in the Similitude. And it didn't happen overnight, we had this long coming. As TPol was later intended to be discovered as half-Vulcan (unfortunately this was planned for season 5), this would have made sense regarding her Vulcan characterisation.
As for Reed/Maco situation - so uninteresting and predictable. Good acting from Archer though in the reprimanding scene at the end.
Tiarfe - Fri, Oct 26, 2012 - 10:00pm (USA Central)
I think Travis is a beautiful man and glad he was given something to do in this episode even if minor.

I also think Malcom character sucks. It just was not believable that he could hold his own against the MACO guy's butt.

Trip and T'Pol were funny especially during the "talk about last night" scene.
Cloudane - Sat, Dec 1, 2012 - 8:07am (USA Central)
Now we've got this out of our system and come to the conclusion that T'Pol is one of those "I was only showing interest because I was curious" girls who takes you for a ride (ugh) I wonder if we finally move on from padding out episodes with endless massage scenes!

Malcolm and the Mako guy, oh dear. A classic "resolve our differences and become best friends via beating the crap out of each other" cliché. This is the first time I've liked (or even not-disliked) Archer for pretty much the whole of season 3, when he gave them a good yelling-at! They were asking for that.

Can't argue with the review. It wasn't terrible, but was shallow, 2 stars seems about right
Annie - Sun, Dec 16, 2012 - 4:01pm (USA Central)
Also not a fan of Reed nor the actor who plays him. His scenes should have been scrapped in favor of more Travis.

I also hate how Phlox continues to be watered down into a doormat who will obey the captain's dubious orders with only a meek protest. "Wake him up." "Captain, it would be unethical to wake him up without a treatment, he'll be in excruciating pain!" "I need answers, wake him up." "Well OK."
mrchrstn - Wed, Dec 26, 2012 - 10:12am (USA Central)
Apparently, I like juvenile fisticuffs, because I enjoyed the Reed/Hayes arc quite a bit. Partly because it had the most realistic h-t-h combat I've ever seen in Trek. (That's always been a weak spot.) But also because it brought out some personality in the woefully underdeveloped Reed, and the new Hayes. Sure the emotions were petty, but, I thought, realistic given the stress of the situation. It's also the first scrap of competence they've given to their security officer. He's been kind of lame up until now. Also, Archer's dress down rant was fun. I see I'm a minority in that I think Reed (and that actor) actually have a lot of potential. As opposed to Travis, who I didn't care for as an actor. I guess the ladies think he'd pretty, though.

I would have liked the T'Pol/Trip more if it had more weight. I feel that Trek does too many events that get negated by the end of the episode to throw in your typical let's pretend that didn't happen. Also laughable that they're sex scene goes to fade-out that it has far less skin than your average Vulcan pressure-point session, every decom, or even the sparring sessions before. Big props to Blaylock and Trinneer for their acting in that scene, even if T'Pol's passive-aggressive pursuit of Tucker makes no sense whatsoever, and seems destined to be ignored as the plotting mistake it was even before the end of the episode. Blaylock, in particular, made it work while I watched it, but the more I think about it, the less weight every event in this episode has in terms of affecting story around it, and that's always a shame.

I love reading these reviews, by the way. Even the comments I don't agree with seem well thought-out.
John the younger - Thu, Jan 10, 2013 - 6:05am (USA Central)
Terrible. One of the worst of the season so far.

Some of the continuity works ok and I'm hoping that it stacks up more as I continue to watch season 3 play out. I hear it gets better. Here's hoping.

Great review Jammer. You only missed the bit where Malcolm's 'team' constitutes a linguist, a pilot and the ship's engineering and science officers.

1 generous star.
CeeBee - Sat, Jan 12, 2013 - 8:38pm (USA Central)
Jammer tells us "If it were me, she'd have just lit a powder keg."

What do we think now about a _man_ sexually taking advantage of a _woman_ just because he wants to hump or experience how a hump goes?

Even in our times we are growingly aware that this is sexual abuse. And especially amongst friends and colleagues. This is disgusting behavior.

I wonder what it tells us about the ethics of the writers. Really. I don't think they have caught up with civilized society, giving their script.
Arachnea - Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - 1:53pm (USA Central)
2 stars is about right. This isn't an intellectual episode, but it wasn't boring. The setup for the Spheres makers was a bit lost in between the goofy scenes and I agree that Archer and Phlox's twisted ethics are abhorrent.

About the Maco training, Archer says that it should be setup for the security team AND the senior officers. So, what was wrong wasn't the presence of those officers, but the lack of the security guys. Malcolm is again depicted as an unreasonable/no compromise/I'm the Alpha kind of man. I have to say, Hayes comes off as more reasonable and doing his job until the fight.

T'Pol and Trip's "romance" didn't come out of the blue, but wasn't cleverly handled. The way T'Pol dismisses the sexual encounter is obviously her way to take distance, but the message it sends isn't very palatable.
mark - Tue, Feb 26, 2013 - 1:28pm (USA Central)
T'Pol and Trip's relationship was used as a toy by the writers instead of being explored in a meaningful way, and I thought T'Pol's casual dismissal of the fact that they slept together the night before really did some damage to her character. I liked the Reed stuff though, mostly because it showed him, for once, as a relatively effective (though rather thin-skinned) security officer. Considering the number of times the ship has been boarded and the captain has been taken hostage, it would have been nice if Reed had managed to be an effective security officer before now, but he was of course at the mercy of the writers. If they had cut the T'Pol/Trip stuff and given us a different subplot focusing on another character instead (Hoshi could use some more fleshing out, for example) this could have been three stars for me. As it stands, it's half a good episode and half a pretty offensive one.
Lt.. Yarko - Fri, May 24, 2013 - 3:12am (USA Central)
Bah. I wanted Archer and T'Pol to get together eventually out of mutual respect. I was afraid that these massage sessions would lead to a T'Pol/Trip thing, which would have been OK, as long as it was meaningful. But no. They stretched out the massage scenes over several episodes, then squeezed an unbelievable, totally shallow, purely skin-deep soap opera sexcapade into a single episode. I was more moved when T'Pol kissed Sim. Very disappointing.

And, yeah, Malcolm was being an idiot. I don't like cartoon characters in my Trek.

Boy, I hope all this Xindi stuff comes together. Any more Harbingers and I will completely lose track and interest.
Markus - Wed, Jul 24, 2013 - 3:22pm (USA Central)
At least good fight scenes and the dialogue between T'Pol and Trip was nicely written. And I found the plot about the spherebuilder quite engaging. It was not great, but not as bad either.
Steven - Fri, Feb 21, 2014 - 3:09pm (USA Central)
I have to agree with the review on this one after just watching it again for the first time in ages.

One thing they could've done to make it watchable would be to switch the results of the 2 plots (situations). A cat fight with T'Pol and the Maco girl and then Reed getting it on with Major Hayes would've been much more interesting :)
SnookyTLC - Sun, Jul 13, 2014 - 1:56am (USA Central)
I thoroughly loved this episode. Back when TNG was on, I was often bored because everyone behaved so perfectly. Reed and Hayes having it out was hysterical -- because some people DO act like that.

Trip/T'Pol -- I loved that, too. A romance has been simmering between them for a long time. Obviously T'Pol has feelings for Trip. About time she acted on them.

I had no problem with her day-after pretense that it was only her curiosity. Obviously she's fronting. She doesn't want him to know how much it meant to her -- probably realized the next morning how badly she betrayed her Vulcan stoicism by letting her feelings rule her. If she was really only using trip like she claimed, she never would have agreed to continue the neuropressure sessions -- Trip sees right through her excuse, too -- that's pretty clear by both of their expressions. Besides, WE know it's more than "curiosity," or there never would have been any jealousy. I thought their conversations were funny and sweet (the way she cited back to him things he'd just said were particularly well done.)

The harbinger thing... eh, not so impressed with that, but I don't care because the "day in the life" stuff was so well done.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer