Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Resurrection"

**1/2

Air date: 10/17/1997
Written by Michael Taylor
Directed by LeVar Burton

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"I suppose I'm a lot more like you than I'll ever be like Vedek Bareil ... right now I don't like either one of us." — Mirror-Bareil to Quark

Nutshell: Some very good moments, but the storyline is somewhat slow, predictable, and even kind of pointless.

I've said it many times before (to the point that it's in danger of becoming a Jammer's Cliche), including last week for "You Are Cordially Invited": The success of a romance almost every time comes down to the believability of the leads' chemistry. Take, for example, this week's installment, "Resurrection," in which the alternate reality version of Bareil (Philip Anglim) from the mirror universe transports across dimensions where Kira finds herself face to face with the counterpart of her deceased lover. Here's a romance that almost works on human terms, because Kira and Bareil work so well together under the quiet, effective performances.

Unfortunately for "Resurrection," despite the believable romance provided by the initial characterizations, there's not much to the story that makes it stand out. There are good shows, bad shows, and neutral shows. "Resurrection" is a very neutral show punctuated with some nice little moments.

The most interesting driving storytelling element in this installment is the idea of an alternate Bareil who wants to start a new life in this universe. As we all know, the mirror universe is not a very comfortable place to live, and the idea of somebody crossing over to escape it has some intriguing possibilities. Considering the alternate Bareil is a thief who has never come close to religion, the differences are sure to prove challenging for Kira, who finds herself falling for this Bareil despite Sisko's warning to be cautious. (Sisko's warning, naturally, comes from his own experiences with the mirror version of his wife in "Through the Looking Glass" and "Shattered Mirror.")

Bareil's subsequent attempt to find spirituality through Kira is among the show's best notions. He respects the strength of these Bajorans' faith, and he wants to take the opportunity to obtain a new perspective on life. Bareil gets more than he bargained for when he encounters an orb and stares into his own destiny. Bareil's descent into confusion over his self-purpose following the orb experience is particularly well-conceived. Philip Anglim is good in the role, and it makes me realize that I've missed his presence on the series.

There's also an amiable scene where Kira brings Bareil as her guest at Dax and Worf's dinner. Not only is there finally some welcome evidence of a realistic relationship between Worf and Dax, but the scene also ends with Worf lightening up—acknowledging (with a reluctant respect) Bareil's theft talents when Bareil gets the better of him. As an only slightly related topic, Dax and Kira's previous discussion about the dinner reveals a lone Kira who, until Bareil enters the picture, would rather attend without a date. Dax recommends she bring Odo, to which Kira comments that neither she nor Odo are "ready" for that.

Speaking of Kira and Odo, I never commented on their lengthy, off-screen discussion in last week's "You Are Cordially Invited." I'm still very neutral about it. I do not think an off-screen discussion is at all sufficient, but since the issue, apparently, is still not rectified I'm going to keep an open mind and hope that it will be dealt with for real sometime down the road. For now I'm considering "Cordially" a stalling technique by the writers that acknowledged a problem exists (which in itself was necessary), but simultaneously delayed any payoff. In other words, the jury's still out. It's too soon to tell—but "Cordially" had better not have been the closing of the matter.

But I digress. Back in this week's storyline, it turns out things are not as they seem when mirror/Intendant Kira shows up on "our" side. She's in cahoots with Bareil to take advantage of Major Kira and steal the orb, which could give the Intendant (who wants to break Bajor from the Alliance) the power she needs to predict the future.

Working against "Resurrection" is that it moves so slowly. I wouldn't say I was bored, but nor is there very much to discuss about this episode because, really, there aren't very many events. The events are skillfully spread over the course of the hour and, in the meantime, the episode supplies us with plenty of reasonable filler. It takes a while for the story to get where it's going, and most of what happens in the story can be predicted well in advance because of the mere inevitability of it all. I don't mean to say that the predictability is a bad thing, because it does seem like a natural outcome of the characters' actions. At the same time, there are other ways this story could've been handled. The ending to "Resurrection," alas, takes the well-traveled road.

The last five minutes of the show could've either (a) taken a risk, or (b) settled into the expected routine of inconsequential, single-episode storyline results. The episode takes approach (b). Bareil's betrayal is understandable given his simple ethics as a thief, combined with the fact that he's hopelessly lodged under the Intendant's thumb. But given his experience with the orb, the creators could've given this guy another way out rather than having him admit defeat, accept his fate, and beam back to the mirror universe with the Intendant once Major Kira finds him out. Yes, he's sorry about his course of action; and he wishes he could begin a new life with the major; and he doesn't let the Intendant steal the orb as originally planned. But for him to simply return to his universe after building up all this potential for his future in a new world strikes me as a twist of fate the creators probably figured would be "unfortunate" or "tragic"—but, really, it's just pedestrian. Story- and character-wise, I suspect much more could've been explored if Bareil had remained in "our" universe. By returning him to where he came from, I'm left with almost no feelings on the matter. It seems a little ... well, a little bit pointless. An hour of slowly constructed setup to a payoff that says relatively little. It could've been much more interesting to examine more daring, long-term possibilities.

In the meantime, Intendant Kira's scenes are certainly welcome. The shallow version of Kira is just so much fun to watch on the screen. The key phrase here is "body language"; Nana Visitor is wonderful as usual, playing the dual roles in a way so that it would be obvious to know which is which, even when she's dressed in Major Kira's uniform and not using spoken dialog. The smug, sultry, in-your-face narcissism is still entertaining. And her manipulation of Bareil is eerily similar to her power over the mirror-Sisko in "Crossover."

I also appreciated some of the small story points, like the use of Quark as the always-open-eared barkeep whose dialog with Bareil offers some insight into Bareil's identity problem. A subsequent scene between Kira and Quark is also intriguing, highlighting Kira's clouded judgment where Bareil is concerned while simultaneously demonstrating the observant skill Quark has for understanding a person who enters his establishment.

Other than the little details, "Resurrection" is a reasonable but ultimately slight episode that supplies few surprises or developments. It's a one-shot piece that has little lasting significance. It's by no means bad, but it isn't particularly great, either. It's just "there."

"Resurrection" is the third offering from Michael Taylor, the writer who brought us the emotionally-gripping classic "The Visitor" and the standout "Things Past." "Resurrection" is a step down from those two far-superior stories, and it doesn't deliver the emotional wallop that I had hoped. But like both of Taylor's previous works, it deals very respectably with the fundamentals of its characters by reopening old wounds.

Next week: Bashir and his band of crazies predict doom for the Federation.

Previous episode: You Are Cordially Invited
Next episode: Statistical Probabilities

◄ Season Index

30 comments on this review

Connor
Sat, Jun 21, 2008, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Sadly I was bored to tears by this episode. I could care less about Kira's relationship with Berial (a relationship which caused my apathy towards the Vedek) and quite frankly after coming off the epic-sweeping 6 part story arc and the fun "You are cordially invited.." it really doesn't stand up. The only plus in this episode is the evil Kira, a character which walks on a tightrope with some of the disturbing connotations and body language she gives off. Nana Visitor deserves praise for that. All that said this outing is probably one of the most pedestrian and possibly downright dull stories DS9 has done in a while.
Blue
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
One thing that I really liked about this otherwise mediocre episode is the Quark-Kira dynamic. Before the Dominion War, Kira still had fairly undisguised contempt for the Ferengi, but here, even when Quark attacks someone Kira's very attached to, she listens attentively and even trusts Quark's judgment enough to confront Bareil. She also doesn't have that usually snippy attitude toward the barkeep. I like how they show this subtle consequence of Quark's heroism during the War, though I would have liked some greater acknowledgment of it from the other characters. Here's hoping that the writers don't forget and have Kira contemptuously dismissing Quark again in the future...
Jay
Fri, Feb 11, 2011, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Well if you think about it, it's really because of Quark (with Ziyal's assistance) that the Federation was able to take the station back. Kira surely can't ignore that.
Dave F
Sun, Apr 17, 2011, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
I just watched this episode today and even if this episode had a point it still would have deadly dull.

I would rate this as *. Abysmal.

1) The story was pointless. It didn't go anywhere. You had 2 choices; 1) he was going to try and become the new "replacement" Vedek Bareil; or 2) he was going to pretend-to-get-better-but-still-really-be-a-thief. They chose #2 but since the episode moved at a glacial pace it just dragged out the expected ending that this was a cliched bottle show.

2) Without Nana Visitor this episode would have been a total loss. She was terrific in both roles, but I know I am in the minority but i felt Philip Anglim's performance was stiff as he did not intrigue me at all.

3) This episode seemed incredibly dis-jointed especially with the war going on. It had me thinking this episode was planned when they were going to conclude the war after "Sacrifice of Angels" but never changed it. Sure, we got the mention that there was no Dominion activity, but it just sort of ruined the momentum that this season created.

4) Security. How did the Intendant get on board? Sure security is not like the Enterprise or Voyager because it is a station, but come on. How did she beam in and not be detected? This episode makes Odo's security operation look inept, especially with the new security procedures that were mentioned!

5) The stock shots. It struck me as odd that they were using old stock shots from previous seasons that didn't show any Federation or Klingon ships until the end. They could have re-used the station shots from last week.

6) I know that I am discussing a lot of filler and technical elements because there is not much here in this episode. It was absolutely pointless. It would have been interesting had they kept him around as a foil to the Kira/Odo romance perhaps....or something. I just didn't see the point of bringing him over and not show his "true colors" until the very end.

7) I just don't understand that with the entire Alpha Quadrant at war we got this Mirror Universe show. The previous Mirror Universe shows were really good (especially "Crossover"), but it seemed they were absolutely devoid of ideas. "Statistical Probabilities" would have been a better choice to air. Here is where the problem began of "There is a war going on out there" that proved so frustrating to me during the sixth and seventh season.
tec
Thu, Dec 15, 2011, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
All I want to know is when Kira visited the Mirror Universe?

Her line "I know I been there" I dint think she visited there
tec
Thu, Dec 15, 2011, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Please ingore previous comment that was my mirror universe self that had no knowlage of all things ST
Jack
Sun, Feb 26, 2012, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Since Kira cut Shakaar loose merely because the prophets said so, shouldn't she have scampered off to an orb to make sure this relationship was kosher?
Justin
Sun, Apr 15, 2012, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Anglim's performance was beyond stiff, it was plain bad. The best scene he ever acted on DS9 was when Bareil was near death and the only thing left of him were the "positronic implants" that Bashir conjured up for him. And that's only because it wasn't much of a stretch for a brain dead actor to play a nearly brain dead character. If that sounds harsh, it's because it is.

I also think there's something about male Bajoran characters - they're boring. I don't know why, but they just are. Shakaar was no different. Even Frank Langella was a total bore. The only one I can recall liking was Richard Beymer, but even that performance hade its problems because it was like watching Ben Horne in space (Twin Peaks reference).

This reminds me of a Trek convention I attended back in 1996 in New Jersey. A rather socially inept fan was handing out flyers from the "Friends of Bareil," and she wanted people to sign her petition to the writers of DS9 to bring the character back. I guess she got her wish with this episode.
Jay
Thu, Jun 28, 2012, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
So after "Bareil" struns "Kira" at the end, Kira just tells Bareil she'll kill him when they get back. Uh...why didn't Kira call for security to take "Kira" into custody? They were here to steal an orb, but off they go at the end?
Moegreen
Tue, Oct 2, 2012, 8:04pm (UTC -5)
This was a real 'who cares?' episode for me. Mirror's been done to death by this stage.
William
Thu, Dec 20, 2012, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Usually, I like the Mirror episodes a lot. This was OK, that's about it. But after the six-story arc, we're used to more.

As others said, Nana V saved the episode.
Herman
Sun, Feb 3, 2013, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
I don't like the Mirror apisodes at all. The idea that those mirror persons can just hop to our universe and screw things up whenever they feel like it seems like a huge securty risk to me. Sisko or the Federation would've taken steps to (genetically) identify them or prevent them from transporting to DS9 by now.
Baron
Fri, Mar 22, 2013, 7:34am (UTC -5)
I liked this episode but thought it could have ended better. Also I was hoping to see some static with Odo since he and Kira seemed to be getting closer.
Kotas
Sun, Oct 27, 2013, 8:57pm (UTC -5)

The mirror universe is an annoyance at this point. The real universe is more interesting.

4/10
Ric
Tue, Dec 10, 2013, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Ok, the little twist in the middle of the episode is a bit enjoyable and as always, mirror-Kira is always funny/fun to watch.

But really, is it becoming that easy to travel between universes just going to the corner's bar to buy a snack? It is Star Trek - Fringe, not DS9. It is ridiculous, it is lazy.

Not to mention what Kotas has perfectly said above: the mirror universe is just less interesting than the real at this point.
K'Elvis
Wed, Jan 8, 2014, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
I didn't care for the Mirror Universe episodes, and this was no exception. I would have liked them better if there had been some sort of arc in the Mirror Universe, or if it tied in with the larger story in the "real" universe, but they just go nowhere. It would have been interesting if Bariel had stayed and joined a monastery. The MU characters should be something our characters were capable of becoming, and vice versa. Could mirror Bariel learn to follow the same path his counterpart did? Another interesting idea would to have mirror Kira look into the orb. It might make her look at herself differently.

I think the mirror universe had potential that was unexplored to shuffle the deck. The humans could have been the mirror universe's version of Barjorans. Sure, sure, the Barjorans and humans are similar in that they are (or were) oppressed people, but there is no equivalent of the Federation. Here, everyone is against the humans. In my mirror universe, the Federation would have fallen to the Klingons, and the Cardassians would become the allies of the humans.

The ability to beam between this universe and the mirror universe would have been a major tactical advantage in the Dominion War. It would let you bypass enemy defenses: you beam over to the mirror universe, go to the target, beam back to our universe and attack.
eastwest101
Wed, Mar 19, 2014, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Plodding pedestrian snoozefest. Although the idea of the mirror universe was pretty good (and characters from it) - this episode wasted all the good oportunities, full of pointless filler and slow lumbering by-the-numbers formulaic development of a very uninteresting romance, very very predicatble. The script absolutely stunk and I am not a huge N Visitor fan anyway, but her depiction of the Intendant Kira was laughably over-acted to the point of inducing winces, Anglims performance was bad as well, but they didn't have much to work with. Good scene with Quark was the only clever piece of dialoge in the entire episode, the conclusion of this episode was slapdash and perfunctory.

What a stinker - half a star.
Vylora
Wed, May 7, 2014, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
I actually like this episode a little better now than when I last saw it. Which I believe was when it first aired. That doesn't mean I actually "like" it now just that I understand it a bit more for what it is. I especially enjoyed a few of the smaller scenes like the dinner one with Worf and Dax and the scenes with Quark.

Ultimately, though, it is overall a bit mundane and the last five minutes was predictable to a fault. Nothing here played to DS9's known strengths which is a shame considering the plot elements and characters involved.

2 stars.
Yanks
Mon, Aug 18, 2014, 11:54am (UTC -5)
I detest the DS9 "mirror" eps.

Is there anyone on the planet that thought Bareil was really defecting?

Didn't Kira tell Odo he couldn’t have an "orb experience" because it "doesn't work like that, faith must come first" ... and here she just gives mirror Bareil a viewing at the earliest convenience. “KIRA: No, actually it was his. He's curious about Bajoran spirituality. It's a new concept for him.”

Am I the only one that thought Kira was having "grudge sex" with Bareil because of Odo's conduct in the previous episodes?

.5 stars. (normally a skipper for me)
msw188
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
I find it a bit interesting that I agree with basically all of Jammer's complaints about this episode, especially about how slow and ultimately pointless it feels. It also doesn't make a lick of sense to me why the dude feels he HAS to go back, and why Kira doesn't, oh I don't know, ARREST the bad Kira.

The result is that I really don't get Jammer's star rating on this one. The few 'nice' moments he mentions feel way too inconsequential to boost the score this high.

Also, if Quark was the one who decided to put those flashing lights outside of his bar, he should be shot out of a docking bay. Worst background visual ever. At one point I wondered if they were supposed to be some kind of visual cue that the audience's warning bells were supposed be going off (duh) even though Kira's weren't.
Jammer
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
The star rating on this episode is indeed too high. It should be lower, and I'm willing to concede that.
$G
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
I didn't mind the middle part of the story - particularly the scene with Worf and Dax. Not that I wanted to see Odo pine for Kira with a new Bareil, but this episode doesn't even have THAT going for it. It just happens and then it's over - completely pointless. Bareil's excuse for not staying is asinine, cliched nonsense.

Once an episode falls under 2 stars it's just a matter of how unbearable it is to watch. It's not as unwatchable as "Meridian" or "Distant Voices", so 1 and a 1/2 stars, I guess. I think I'd rather re-watch "The Muse."
Del_Duio
Fri, Jan 16, 2015, 10:41am (UTC -5)
I dunno, I liked it!

I like how it was slow-paced in sharp contrast to how most of Season 6 has been going thus far. At least the actor who plays Bareil got another crack to erase that horrid show where everybody was trying to get into each other's pants in season 2 or whatever haha.
Del_Duio
Fri, Jan 16, 2015, 10:49am (UTC -5)
"It also doesn't make a lick of sense to me why the dude feels he HAS to go back, and why Kira doesn't, oh I don't know, ARREST the bad Kira."

Hahaha, good point! Actually my 13 year old said near the same thing at the end. WHY let basically Mrs. Hitler go back and kill more people? Hasn't she committed crimes against the real universe? I think they'd probably want her in jail at the least.
Masako
Sun, Sep 6, 2015, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
I agree with the comment rating this episode abysmal. I know others praise Nana Visitor for her performance as "Intendant Kira", but I just find it outrageously overplayed and annoying. I feel the urge to shut down the TV every time that character's on screen. (And I do love Visitor's work with "our" Kira).
Aside from that, the plot was completely transparent. The minute this mirror guy was there and crossed eyes with Kira, plot elements "there will be feelings between these two but alas they must tragically part before the credits roll" were certain. I thought he would die, but it ended up being even more boring than that.
I did like the scene where Worf had his weapon stolen off him, and the short exchange between Kira and Quark. That's it.
Max
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 9:56am (UTC -5)
One of my least favorite episodes of DS9, would not watch again. So incredibly boring, is this Star Trek or Days of Our Lives?
John
Thu, Jan 21, 2016, 2:06am (UTC -5)
^Neither. It's DS9, which is the equivalent of a cross between Star Trek and Days of Our Lives.
William B
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Yeah, I think this episode is terrible and misguided from the get-go. Probably the single worst decision the episode has is to put the focus on *mirror-Bareil* rather than on Kira, which becomes increasingly the case as the episode wears on. This would not, in itself, destroy the episode if mirror-Bareil was an interesting character (he isn't), but I think it goes to show the mistakes in the thought process behind the episode. This universe's Bareil was never really even the focus of his own episode when he was alive, his story being almost entirely told through Kira's (Sisko's in "In the Hands of the Prophets") POV, with the exception of some Orb experiences in "The Collaborator." The mirror Bareil is not even the same guy, given that he has nothing in common with Vedek Bareil from what I can see -- so that the "Yesterday's Enterprise" model of giving focus to an alternate universe version of a dead main character also falls through. (The Tasha in "YE" was very similar as a person to the Tasha in our universe.) In any case, (a) Bareil being back alive is important *for Kira*, and if the episode were to happen at all the focus should be primarily on Kira's perspective of him, whether she trusts him, how she deals with him being the same/different from the man she knew. The episode lets that drift into the background to focus on Bareil feeling guilty that he's a pathetic thief instead of a Vedek, which is maybe abstractly interesting but requires significant investment in a totally new character. Even then, Anglim can't play Exciting Rogue! to save his life, and the episode seems confused as to whether he's a low-ante thief as seems to be most of how he's portrayed, or consort to (as people observed above) Space Hitler (the Intendant, worse with each passing MU episode). When he says that he can't stay with this Kira because he only deserves the Space Hitler one, it's as if we are meant to see that his thieving ways really do mark him for life as only deserving to be loved by, if anyone, a mass murdering dictator, which is a pretty bad fudging of scale. And to the extent that Bareil's religious conversion has any impact, the episode blunts it by not showing the damn orb experience.

Kira is the person on whom the episode should have focused, and there are vague outlines of what the story is supposed to be -- Sisko and Quark basically tell her the problem, before and after it happens, that she wants to see the good in this Bareil because she misses the other one blah blah. But frankly every step of her relationship with Bareil -- with the possible exception of the mek'leth action at dinner with Worf and Dax, which I admit was somewhat charming -- is pretty unbelievable. Most of what she and Bareil bond over is that he's not like that other Bareil and talking about the Prophets, which more or less should have rung bells for Kira about weirdness -- while I don't think she forced religion on him or anything, spending all her time with this Bareil having him basically becoming a convert is a way for him to become more and more like Vedek Bareil. I've also got to say that I found her attitude toward Bareil and religion to be pretty annoying -- in particular, I laughed out loud in derision when Kira explain that he shouldn't talk about his Orb Experience, because heaven knows that it's wrong to talk about the life-altering experience that Bareil undertook partly to share with Kira, and wrong for him to talk about his experience when he is clearly deeply troubled, and apparently has just been running from his life from a traumatic dystopia. The way she tells him to stop talking about his orb vision is meant to show us something about how Kira holds this all holy, but the condescension with which she adds that he should probably go sleep and leaves, as if she is pissed off that he breached that social etiquette rule he had no way of knowing about, really makes it hard for me to believe that Kira was all that interested in this guy's feelings. (It's also the last time she talks to him before she finds him trying to steal the Orb.) It would be bizarre enough for Kira to sleep with this Bareil without fully sorting out her feelings for him vs. the other one, or even seeming to acknowledge openly that she has to do that, but it seems to go further than that, in that she talks about how she had just believed that she wanted to be alone, etc., as if she really expects that she and this guy from another universe she just met who looks like her dead ex have some sort of future together. It's like Kira really seems cool with everything that happens, and her big problem is that she didn't notice that Bareil is still a shady guy because, uh, she just wanted to believe in his redemption story so much / she wanted to date a guy who looked like her ex.

If the episode ditched the romantic element, or at least kept it much lighter, this could have worked. In some broad strokes, this episode is a little like "Legacy" from TNG, where the crew, especially Data, find themselves trusting Ishara much more than they should because she is Tasha's sister. While that episode is no classic, that mostly did work for me because there was enough plot (or semblance of plot) to justify all the time the crew spent with Ishara, as well as the trust they placed in her, Data was a good choice for the naif to be taken in by Ishara, and while the emotional (or, perhaps not *emotional* in Data's case, but...) reaction to Ishara was obviously clouded by feelings for Tasha, no one actually did anything that would be unbelievable if Ishara was not Tasha’s sister—her being a Yar slightly altered the dynamics, which made it easier for her to manipulate them, but they did not totally change who they were over her. Kira has always struck me as someone very reluctant to trust and is reluctant to date besides. She has a certain attraction to rogue elements (Shakaar, Tom Riker) but for the most part her relationships are taken Very Seriously; when she felt a little a-flutter over Riker, it only culminated in an end-of-episode kiss. In any case, unlike “Legacy,” there is no plot to speak of in the middle portion of the episode, which makes the episode pretty damn boring, but also prevents there from being any activities between Kira and Bareil that would make a gradual building attraction seem believable. Kira just buys that this guy who held her hostage is a great guy whom she should spend all her time with and trust completely, after betrayal after betrayal that she has gone through, with Odo’s being so fresh on her mind? The episode ends with Kira seeming saddened that she and this Bareil couldn’t make it work, but what I think was really needed was some acknowledgment that she must have been projecting her feelings for the real Bareil onto this guy, otherwise why did she attach to him so fast when it takes a while for her to warm to people usually? The ending curiously just rules out Kira/MU Bareil without really dealing with those left-over feelings for the real Bareil that, I feel, should be the whole (only) reason this episode should exist in the first place. That Kira blithely says that fortunately, this Bareil and hers were nothing alike and then the rest of the story seems to be about how she is shocked, shocked to find that the untrustworthy rogue on a road to redemption is not really on the road to redemption is just more evidence of the fundamental error in terms of where the focus of this story is placed.

To put it another way, would this episode work if Kira were taken in by a rogue from another dimension who *didn’t* look like Bareil? Or just any kind of ex-thief? The reason that “A Simple Investigation,” while no classic, largely worked is that the femme fatale was pretty tailored to Odo’s character and experiences. Nothing about “former thief, now in a better situation” seems particular to Kira’s character. The only one-episode romance for Kira before this episode was Tom Riker, which was kept mostly low-key, and much of the character interaction was about…terrorism, and about to what extent a good officer could be a terrorist (with Kira having experience as both terrorist and officer). Kira tends to be moral absolutist and to distrust people, so short of Bareil actually proving his worth to her somehow (which obviously did not happen), I don’t see her changing her liking this guy to the point of bringing him along as a date. So obviously to the extent that it is believable at all that Kira dated him, it must be that he looks like Bareil, which Kira never really seems to acknowledge is the central factor it obviously is. Nothing seems to be learned and what little material here is really substandard romance-novel fare.

I guess I should make some allowances for the fact that this is an episode *about religion*, and that by having an atheistic, MU Bareil come in and be introduced to Kira and the Prophets at once, while he's planning on basically becoming fake Vedek Bareil (new king or something?) in the other universe. (One neat detail is that Quark really did zero in on the specific plan Bareil might have had—he suggests that Bareil pose as a religious leader to trick people, which is more or less what Bareil’s plan was.) And here is the part where the outline of what this episode was maybe supposed to be again becomes clear: nonbeliever con artist pretends to be “good man, leader of community, religious icon” in order to steal religious status. In the process he meets a true believer (Kira) and starts to feel a little of what it means to be close to the gods, and realizes the error of his ways. In that sense, some of my response to this episode may be my own biases, which I cop to. Still, even though I’m not religious, there are plenty of stories that involve religious salvation that I respond to, and this is not it. The religious ceremony depicted here appears so boring, what little we see of it, and we mostly only get the vaguest, most meaningless pronouncements from Kira, and shutting Bareil down when he tried to talk about the personal transformation that was taking place within him because of the Orb. This is probably the element of the story that almost works the most, but it has very serious flaws.

Also, I’m not positive here, but why did Bareil enter the universe and hold Kira hostage, and then date her, and so on, in the first place? Wasn’t there an easier way to get to the Orb than to hold Kira hostage on the off chance that she would probably later on let him have an Orb experience because he looked like her ex, or whatever that crazy plan was supposed to be? The Intendant’s plan to have Bajor fight the whole Alliance because of one Orb is similarly ludicrous. But okay, most MU stuff hasn’t made sense in a while. At least other MU stories had stuff happening; this was incredibly boring pretty much throughout while also still not making any sense. 1 star.
Diamond Dave
Sun, Jan 31, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
You know, there was actually quite a decent story in here if we had just focused on Mirror-Bareil and Kira. I actually rather enjoyed the subtleties in Bareil's performance. Quark's role is also enjoyable.

But it all goes in the crapper when the Intendant arrives and everything then plays out very much according to the book. Even as a fan of the Mirror Universe episodes this is pretty dire. 1.5 stars.
Luke
Thu, May 26, 2016, 3:19am (UTC -5)
I've said before that the defining characteristic of the Mirror Universe episodes is "diminishing returns." With each trip we take into the MU the episodes get steadily worse and worse. "Resurrection", however, is the one that bucks that trend.

It is true that this is no masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination, but it's still a fairly enjoyable and entertaining outgoing. Credit for that needs to be placed in no small part on Philip Anglim. He does something here as Mirror Bareil that he either never or almost never did as Vedek Bareil - actually emote! I get that Vedek Bareil was supposed to be a very calm, centered person, but Anglim always came across as overly and needlessly stiff in his delivery. His performance as Mirror Bareil proves that he's capable of delivering a fine performance. So, I can only lay the blame for that on the directors of those earlier episodes, not the actor himself.

We also get a nice examination of Mirror Bareil's character - his strengths, his weaknesses, his doubts and his ultimate nobility - something that was decidedly lacking in the previous two Mirror Universe episodes. And that can probably be attributed to the number one praiseworthy element of "Resurrection" - the fact that it doesn't take place in the MU. Since the action takes place entirely in the "normal" universe, we are oh so thankfully spared all the silliness that has come to define the MU. There is no nonsense like the attempted titillation of virtually all women being either lesbians or bi-sexual, no unfunny running gag of a Ferengi character being killed and (thank the Lord!) no creepy homo-erotic BDSM role-playing between Mirrors Garak and Worf. Everything is allowed to be taken at least reasonably seriously. Even the Intendant is toned down considerably from her previous two appearances, although the over-the-top nature of the character is still present (did anybody else notice that when she gets stunned that she falls in a "sexy" manner?).

Finally, there's the wonderful scene between Kira and Quark where Quark informs her about Mirror Bareil's intentions. My, oh my... how long a way these two characters have come since the early seasons! In the first few seasons, I complained about virtually every scene these two shared together. But here, instead of Kira throwing her weight and authority in Quark's face for no good reason (or just outright threatening him for shits and giggles), they actually display a relationship of mutual respect. I guess all it took to finally fix that problem was throwing the two of them into the middle of a totalitarian occupation and having Quark save Kira's life, but I'll gladly take it. :-)

7/10

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.