Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Trials and Tribble-ations"

***1/2

Air date: 11/4/1996
Teleplay by Ronald D. Moore & Rene Echevarria
Story by Ira Steven Behr & Hans Beimler & Robert Hewitt Wolfe
Directed by Jonathan West

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"I can't wait to get back to Deep Space Nine and see your face when you find out I never existed." — Bashir to O'Brien, attempting to dissect a pre-destination paradox

Nutshell: Heavily nostalgic and quite fun. Motivation for the show beyond its very existence is scarce, but if you're a Trek fan you won't likely care.

Returning from Cardassia, Sisko and the Defiant crew are hurled back in time by a Klingon in disguise, and find themselves face-to-face with the original USS Enterprise and its crew, right in the middle of the events that took place in TOS's "The Trouble with Tribbles."

"Trials and Tribble-ations" comes advertised as a "special" episode of DS9. And "special" is the key word here. In many ways, this episode is about as atypical as I expect the series will ever get. There are things in this show that I never could've imagined would happen—it seems the producers of the show merely had a sudden, unrestrained sentiment of nostalgia and decided to see it through for themselves and everybody else.

It's tough to review this episode looking at the usual things that characterize an episode of Deep Space Nine. To analyze the plot would be absurd. Even scrutinizing characterization is best left in the back seat in favor of looking at the nostalgia factor.

Is there a plot here? Well, barely—just enough to serve as an excuse for the show's events. It seems awfully convenient that security would be so light on the Defiant that the "passenger" would have access to the Bajoran time orb, allowing him to catapult the ship back 100 years and set his master plan in motion—but, hey, who cares? It's what happens once the crew gets back in the past that makes the show a winner. Plotwise it's still not a whole heck of a lot—the events are perfunctory more than anything else, simply going through the motions just to give the show some semblance of a standard structure. In the episode's first few acts, Sisko and his crew go undercover (i.e., change into the uniforms of the time period and carry the contemporary equipment) to search the old Enterprise and the K-7 space station for signs of Darvin (Charlie Brill) who beamed off the Defiant to carry out his devious plan. Once they find Darvin, he reveals to Sisko that he's too late—there's already a bomb planted in a tribble, set to detonate and kill Kirk and change history to Darvin's (who was captured and dishonored by Kirk) own advantage. One rather silly notion is the fact that Darvin would reveal to Sisko what his clever plan is—for the obvious reason that it allows Sisko to foil it (but not before first searching through 1,771,561 tribbles, naturally).

But who cares about any of this plotting anyway? The point of "Trials and Tribble-ations" is its own high concept—that of the DS9 crew being integrated into footage of the original "Trouble with Tribbles" episode via the latest in digital manipulation and photography fakery. And what else can I say?—the results are convincing. Very convincing. I doubt that I could fully appreciate the amount of work and effort that went into making this episode so seamless.

One of my favorite sequences involves the reworking of the original "Trouble with Tribbles" scene where Kirk asks "Who threw the first punch?"—you know, that bar fight Scotty started by punching the insulting Klingon. (The entire brawl, by the way, has also been redone, and O'Brien, Worf, and Odo are now participants.) This time, though, O'Brien and Bashir are standing among the line of officers Kirk questions. It's odd how convincing the scene is, yet how much we're aware that the whole scene is a fabrication. I think, perhaps, that's why it's so hilarious and why we get a kick out it as well as much of the episode—visually we're stunned by how real it looks, but intellectually we're aware that the whole show is just an amiable, lighthearted hoax.

Aside from the digital tricks, the very fact that the producers reconstructed this entire old-Trek environment is a feat that's pretty astounding. Every little detail has been recaptured here, from the cheesiness of those old, low-tech sets (many of which have been painstakingly rebuilt to shoot the new footage) to the comparatively goofy costumes, '60s hairstyles, original props, starship and station miniature styles, and, of course, metal-trimmed devices. ("Classic twenty-third century styling," Dax notes—Terry Farrell delivering the line with tongue firmly in cheek.)

And that's crucial to the show's success. This is, without a doubt, the most apparent nostalgia episode the franchise has attempted, and a big part of getting the big picture right is in getting the little details right—and, believe me, these details are very right.

Another important part of working nostalgia without getting overly hokey is finding the right tone. "Trials and Tribble-ations" finds a similar tone of humor that reminds us about everything that was entertaining about the original "Trouble with Tribbles." A few scenes from the original episode have been inserted here purely for their amusing stand-alone entertainment value.

Also, part of the fun is the way the show pokes fun at those old, original Trek episodes. Really, "Trials and Tribble-ations" seldom needs to go out of its way to poke fun at yesterday's Treks—a lot of the humor is evident merely by comparing the way the new shows are and the old ones were. I think that's precisely the point. DS9 does not, for example, have a farcical bar fight every third week. TOS, on the other hand, loved getting into big, inconsequential fist fights, and seeing it break out here was a joy.

In finding the right tone, "Trials and Tribble-ations" also knows better than to try to take itself remotely seriously. Case in point: Worf's explanation of why Klingons have "changed" in appearance since 100 years ago—"We do not discuss it with outsiders." This is probably the most perfect answer that could've been written: a non-answer. For that matter, I also greatly enjoyed O'Brien and Bashir's entertaining-as-usual scenes together—especially the "pre-destination paradox" bit, where Bashir claims he could be his own great-grandfather (??!!), which in another episode might be relevant, but here is just a passing joke that pokes fun at Trek's own love for time-travel plots.

While "Trials and Tribble-ations" is a fun little package that we're all probably going to love, I wouldn't be doing my job if I didn't point out the few things that aren't quite ideal here. First is Dax's behavior. What in the world did Terry Farrell drink before some of her scenes here? She's got pep. Too much pep. At times, she seems way out of character. Her reactions to seeing Kirk ("It's Jim Kirk! Don't you want to meet him? It would be fun!") are far too excessive to be convincing. As a science officer you would think Jadzia would be a little more reluctant in threatening the time line to indulge in a little bit of "fun."

For that matter, I thought the constant references to Kirk were a little bit over-enthused. Yeah, sure, he's Kirk and he's cool and all that, but I think the legendary captain was placed on too high a pedestal at times in this episode, and I sometimes got the sense that the writers were feeling just a little too proud of their nostalgia.

That's a minor complaint—surely nothing that significantly hurts the show. And I suppose even the writers can get swept up in all the endearing Trekkian qualities considering how close to the show they are. After all, they only get one shot at it, and on an occasion as such they're trying to make it, I suppose it's better to go a little overboard than to miss the opportunity. As a quick comparison between the two "30th anniversary shows" that have appeared on DS9 and Voyager, let me add that, in the nostalgia category, "Trials and Tribble-ations" beats Voyager's "Flashback" by a mile. "Flashback" had a better character core, yes, but "Trials and Tribble-ations" is not pretending to be anything other than a special anniversary episode, and on that level it's quite a success because it's taken to a daring new level that "Flashback" didn't attempt.

"Trials and Tribble-ations" is told in flashback by Captain Sisko to two of Starfleet's official "temporal investigators" who want to know exactly how and why Sisko ended up in the past. This use of narration makes sense—considering this episode exists on circumstances so far outside the conventions of a typical episode of DS9, the narration adds an extra element of unreality—almost like a person telling a tale which is merely a fictional story. I liked this offbeat notion. I also liked the idea of temporal investigators. (As much as Trek messes with the time line, you would hope someone out there would be trying to keep track of the paradoxes.)

When it comes down to it, this installment is a paradox in itself. It's little more than a series of events that try to give it a reason for its own existence. Everything that happens here is motivated purely to feed the episode with something to do. But I say who cares? Sit back and enjoy an interesting experience, characterized by a paper-thin story and some sweeping moments of yesterday's Trek. The show is not a model of the virtues of DS9, perhaps, but it's definitely a winner and a classic, and a show I'll remember for quite a long time. A special episode it's called, and a special episode it is.

Previous episode: The Assignment
Next episode: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Season Index

46 comments on this review

idiotghos - Sun, Sep 9, 2007 - 2:08pm (USA Central)
I don't see how you gave this 3 and a half, Jammer. It does exactly what it sets out to do, as you stated in your review. It gets absurd at times, but so did "In the Cards".
Jayson - Sat, Feb 9, 2008 - 7:31pm (USA Central)
If it were up to me it would have gotten four stars for sheer ingenunity and being the classiest tribute to the original series yet.

Finally, while there are alot of great moments in this episode the one thing that I love is when Sisko just breifly ogles Dax when they are on the Enterprise just out of the cooridor.
Anthony2816 - Fri, Apr 4, 2008 - 4:30pm (USA Central)
Did watching the two "temporal investigators" make anyone else think of Penn and Teller?
dan b - Sat, Dec 20, 2008 - 7:58am (USA Central)
4 stars please re-rate this! This is an excellent job of production!
Blue - Tue, Mar 17, 2009 - 8:00am (USA Central)
I'm probably in the minority here, but I thought this episode was one of the worst DS9 eps I've ever seen. It's even worse than Let He Who Is Without Sin (the Risa ep everyone seems to hate). Maybe it's because I didn't really watch much Original Series and thus missed the relevant Tribble episode, but Trials and Tribble-ations just seemed the worst kind of pointless fan service possible. It relied on one gag- putting DS9 characters in TOS scenes. Kinda amusing the first scene, but after that, it's just beating a dead horse. The worst part is that it wasn't funny! Where were the jokes? If they're gonna do what is clearly supposed to be a comic inconsequential episode, why didn't they just go for the gusto and turn it into a total farce? I have rarely been so bored during a DS9 ep; at least the Risa outing had lots of scantily-clad women!
Chris UK - Sun, Apr 26, 2009 - 2:13pm (USA Central)
I have to respectfully disagree with Blue. I thought this was one of the funniest episodes of DS9. I prefer it to "In the Cards", actually.

For a start, there's the idea that the great Klingon Empire declared war on the tribbles. Just imagining a fleet of feircesome Klingon Battle Crusiers in orbit of the Tribble homeworld is fantastic to me. I also loved Worf's answer to the question of the Klingons' appearances.

Then there's the pre-destination paradox conversation. "Ridiculous? If I don't meet with her tomorrow, I might never be BORN!!!". I loved that they were willing to poke fun at some of the more absurd concepts in time travel.

I disagree with Jammer on the issue of Dax. I don't think she was too peppy at all. Kirk was a major figure in Starfleet history and I think anyone would be excited at the prospect of meeting someone like that. O'Brien's "Let's buy him a drink!" was hysterical, especially when it wasn't even Kirk who he had seen. I don't see why Dax is criticised for not focusing on the danger of altering the timeline when it's Sisko who completely outdoes her at the end by striking up a conversation with Kirk.

I don't think the "point" of this episode should even enter into discussion. It was a 30th anniversary show, and never pretended to be anything else. If it tried to be something other than that, then such analysis might be warranted. But in the end, it's a fun nostalgi trip with some of the better humour in DS9 that I can remember.
Masamune - Tue, Jul 21, 2009 - 12:05pm (USA Central)
The ultimate punchline would've been if an extra had noted Sisko's resemblance to a certain Gabriel Bell. But I suppose they did that with Little Green Men already.
Destructor - Sun, Aug 16, 2009 - 7:39pm (USA Central)
Watched this with my girlfriend last night and we both laughed and laughed- and she's never seen a single TOS episode, let alone the Tribble one. Which to me demonstrates that it is funny even as a standalone episode.
Donnydingbattered - Tue, Mar 2, 2010 - 8:42pm (USA Central)
The only problem I had with this episode were the extras they hired. Such as the Asian Engineer who confronted Obrien and Bashir, and the other red shirt actors in green screen roles seemed kind of wooden. But by the time I finished that last sentence I realised this was part of the joke. The red shirts were always just glorified extras and pretty wooden.

Bashir's great grandmother was a treat.
karatasiospa - Sat, May 29, 2010 - 5:23am (USA Central)
Did anyone notice that DS9 had many connections with the TOS imagery, more that any other post-TOS series? The mirror universe, Kang/koloth/kor, the genetically engenered and ofcourse this episode.
Jayson - Sat, May 29, 2010 - 12:09pm (USA Central)
Kara, I think it's no secret that the guys running DS9 were fans of TOS. While I'm not a huge fan of TOS I thought it was really neat that they chose to embrace their past rather than run from it.
Christoff - Sat, Jun 26, 2010 - 3:32pm (USA Central)
Have to say Jadzia Dax looks well hawt in this episode. its also nice to see Sisko among the original Trekkies, better than Generations in my opinion.
Callie - Thu, Jul 1, 2010 - 3:35am (USA Central)
This is one of my favourite episodes of any Trek series. I think it worked perfectly for what it was -- a tribute to TOS. The way the DS9 characters were integrated into the scenes from the original episode was brilliant, especially when you watch the side-by-side comparisons on YouTube. Even the little detail of Sisko and Dax tossing the tribbles and hitting Kirk worked perfectly!

Of course, my favourite bit is the, "Those are KLINGONS?!" piece.
doc ostrow - Sat, Dec 4, 2010 - 8:31pm (USA Central)
Sisko states that command uniforms were gold. They were not. They were actually green that looked gold on television. The remastered episodes show them as green.
ScooterGirl - Tue, Dec 7, 2010 - 10:13pm (USA Central)
Doc, the only one I saw with a green shirt was Kirk (who also was the only one showing a bit of chest!) All the other command level officers were wearing gold. Anywho, as a side note I think that "Trials and Tribble-ations" is the only episode on the entire DVD collection that has its own specialized audio on the episode sub-menu; Tribble cooing substitutes for the usual station computer beeps and boops. Like Odo says, they are very pleasing sounds!
Latex Zebra - Thu, Dec 23, 2010 - 2:45am (USA Central)
Watched this again last night. Utterly brilliant. The bit where the Temporal Investigators are talking about Kirk.

'17 seperate violations, the biggest file on record. The man was a menance.'

I was rolling up.
Garon43 - Sun, Mar 13, 2011 - 5:20am (USA Central)
The only reason kirk had a green shirt is because they had to dress him in something different for "The Enemy Within" episode when a transporter accident created the kirk double so that the audience could tell them apart. The rest of the shirts are gold.
Marcel - Fri, Mar 25, 2011 - 6:58am (USA Central)
4 stars at the least. They've done a terrific job, it's become a nice funny episode, ode to the classic trek. I love the 2 time agents Lucsly and Dulmur [aka Scully and Mulder] ;-)
Mia - Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 1:49pm (USA Central)
I absolutely loved this episode. I think that the DS9 actors struck the right chord, including Dax. I love TOS, but it was often more tongue in cheek than the later series tend to be; so if the DS9 characters were played as per usual, I think there would have been jarring differences between them and TOS characters. But this episode appears to have been lovingly written and performed. Is there anyone out there who has never dreamed of meeting their hero?
Jay - Sun, Oct 9, 2011 - 6:22pm (USA Central)
Of the forehead thing, Worf says "we do not discuss it with outsiders, but he was raised by humans and is an outsider himself...how did he hear about it?
Justin - Sat, Mar 24, 2012 - 9:35pm (USA Central)
This is nothing more than fan fiction with a big budget.

Brilliant, hilarious, and superbly designed fan fiction with a big budget. It's Trek at its absolute most fun. Loved the temporal investgations guys. Their deadpan delivery of their lines was flawless.

Dulmer: What was the date of your arrival?
Sisko: Stardate 4523.7
Dulmer: A hundred and five years, one month, twelve days ago.
Lucsly: A Friday.

Cracks me up every time.
Latex Zebra - Tue, Apr 17, 2012 - 5:09am (USA Central)
Given how old the Dax symbiote is and its place in Trek history I'm amazed that at some point it hadn't met Kirk already.
Snitch - Tue, May 1, 2012 - 4:43am (USA Central)
This was a hilarious episode and a great way to honor the TOS. Terrific job by production to make it look so smooth.

4 Stars from me.
Skywalker - Sat, May 19, 2012 - 9:14am (USA Central)
The best stand alone episode of the series. Brilliant!!!
ian - Sun, Jul 15, 2012 - 11:35pm (USA Central)
Actually, if you study the behind the scenes information on TOS you learn that ALL the command level shirts WERE green in the show. They only appeared gold on TV. This includes not only Kirk's special alternate shirts but all of them.
The photonovels and the remastering does show this.
The only scene that was really messed up is when you first see Chekhov and Uhura in the bar on the station. In the original they first meet Kirk and Spock who were already there in the bar. In this version they simply walk in and you see ODO in the backround...
Herman - Sun, Jan 6, 2013 - 11:39am (USA Central)
The special effects are on the level of Forrest Gump, which was released only 2 years earlier. Must've been quite expensive. Great writing too. I agree it deserves all 4 stars.
Patrick - Mon, Apr 15, 2013 - 10:01pm (USA Central)
I remember being filled with AWE at this episode. I have a "kinda" love/hate relationship of DS9, and this was the episode where I had no choice but to tip my hat to them--this was ingenious. There's no other word.

It characterized for all time the disparity in quality between this and Voyager during the 5 years they shared the air together. The same broadcast season, Voyager had released "Flashback", their 30th anniversary tribute episode. It was a convoluted, pointless mess. "Pay no attention to the plot--Sulu and the Excelsior is her!" In short, it was lame. And then came "Trials and Tribble-ations". An episode that's perfectly structured, layered and FUNNY! It utterly smoked "Flashback" and I'm sorry to say outclasses TNG's "Relics" in all fairness. It was an obvious labor of love from first to last frame.

Modern Trek had dipped its toe in doing meta humor with TNG's "Hollow Pursuits" (with commenting on the dangers of Trek fans who get caught up in too much escapism), and in "All Good Thingsā€¦" (with Q making his quip about Picard's 'Trek to the Stars'.) But, "Trials and Tribble-ations" does a freaking cannonball in the deep end of the meta humor pool--and it works perfectly without tearing up the fabric of Trek's fictional universe. Here they admit the absurdity of the almost ubiquitousness of time travel throughout the different Trek series with 'Temporal Investigations', and the brilliant non-answer why old school Klingons have smooth foreheads. (It's a testament to DS9's overall quality that these things were tackled with simple, adept humor than the convoluted seriousness of Star Trek: Enterprise years later). Drama is relatively easy, but good comedy is the true test.

But, beyond how cool it is to see TOS through a modern Trek lens (and face it, the CGI model work is where TOS-R was born); it is beautiful how organic the tone in humor is. The back and forth between the DS9 characters is just as breezy as the TOS characters in the original episode. "Your flap is open" is one of the best double entendres in Trek history. ("You're draining power")

And lets not forget the serendipity factor. Odo is still a humanoid at this point, which happens to let him appreciate the appeal of the Tribbles. Jadzia mentioning who her host was at that time in history and her desire to see Koloth at his prime are good uses of continuity. And of course the teeny tiny 'blink-and-you'll-miss-it' scene where Kirk sits on the Tribble in his command chair and then turns his head and "looks" at Jadzia on the bridge who just shrugs at him.

This episode is not deep. So what? Neither was the original "Trouble with Tribbles"--and it's always in the Top 10 of best of lists of TOS--if not the tippy top. It's ingenious Trekkian comedy and so is this.
Paul - Tue, Apr 16, 2013 - 8:43am (USA Central)
@Patrick: Totally agree.

This episode isn't perfect. The fact that the Defiant decloaks to beam the senior staff over and the Enterprise, the Klingon ship and the station don't notice multiple times is kind of hard to swallow. Also, Darvin gaining access to the Orb of Time and the fact that he so easily figures out how to use it is a stretch.

Also, the scene where Worf explains the Klingon foreheads doesn't make sense with Enterprise's stories a decade later. Genetically engineered Julian Bashir would have unquestionably known about Phlox's efforts to restore a genetic experiment gone bad.

But with those points put aside, this is really a great episode.
Patrick - Tue, Apr 16, 2013 - 11:53am (USA Central)
"The fact that the Defiant decloaks to beam the senior staff over and the Enterprise, the Klingon ship and the station don't notice multiple times is kind of hard to swallow."

I believe Chief O' Brien explained how they did that in the early part of the episodes involving the original Enterprise's duotronic systems...or something.

"Also, Darvin gaining access to the Orb of Time and the fact that he so easily figures out how to use it is a stretch."

What's *really* a stretch is that the Cardassian government just gives up a device capable of FREAKIN' TIME TRAVEL to former enemies. Maybe the device didn't work for them? They could've have just used that as a throwaway line.

But, this is like Voyager's "Living Witness" whose story pivots on something contradictory to established continuity. It's so damned excellent, that I can forgive a few lapses in story logic.
Paul - Wed, Apr 17, 2013 - 1:10pm (USA Central)
@Patrick: Totally agreed on the Cardassians.

As for the O'Brien line -- that worked when only the Enterprise was orbiting the station (and if you ignored the fact that the station probably had sensors). But when Koloth's ship arrives ...
Pete - Mon, May 6, 2013 - 6:53pm (USA Central)
3.5 stars?! I would give this 100 stars if I could. This is in my top five Treks of all time in ANY series! And I could re-watch this episode over and over more than ANY episode. This episode is perfection as far as concept and execution - as well as special effects - even in 2013. I put this in the elite group of episodes - along with "The Inner Light", "The Visitor", "Yesterday's Enterprise", "Timeless", etc. I would give it the precise placement of "Tied For Third Place" with "Yesterday's Enterprise." As far as it's place in DS9 - number Two, behind "The Visitor," and before "In The Pale Moonlight." Those are the "big three" in DS9 in my opinion. Oh how I wish there was another Star Trek series on par with DS9, TNG or Voyager. I have the sinking feeling that it will not happen. At least we have Abram's movies - which are pretty damn good. However, a movie every three years doesn't cut it. I need a weekly fix.
navamske - Sun, Jun 2, 2013 - 11:22am (USA Central)
Two things:
-- I wish they had acknowedged Scotty's future by having Worf say (to his companions), "Hey, I know him. He shows up on the Enterprise-D like 102 years from now after living in a transporter buffer for 75 years." Or O'Brien could have said it -- I don't remember if he was in "Relics."
-- When they remastered "The Trouble with Tribbles," they should have put some of the DS9 characters in the background. Or at least created an alternate version of the episode like that so as to keep one version 100 percent faithful to the original.
Nick P. - Thu, Jun 6, 2013 - 11:24am (USA Central)
What a delightful episode! I wasn't expecting the high quality of this episode, it is virtually seemless. Everyone on this board keeps saying how it was similar to Forest gump, are you kidding me? This is lightyears BETTER than Forest Gump. My favourite scene is the one when Sisko and Dax look momentarily stunned for a second, and than Kirk and Spock come walking up, it was filmed with such love for these characters. It would be like walking down the street and having a president out walking his dog, it was perfect. I love how it wasn't "really" sisko and Dax, it was us. If me and you had been there. That is what I kept getting from this episode, it isn't really the DS9 crew there, it is us, and it was a perfect love letter to the TOS.

I loved all the little touches. I loved how the extras mostly had 60's haircuts, I loved the machinery (like the tricorder) they obviously got out of storage, I love how they lit the scenes just like in the original series.

I love everything about this episode......except dax. Why is she a whore this season...Seriously? She wants to bone everybody on the original enterprise, she spends the next episode forgiving infedelity, and than admitting curzon died in a sex act....I am actively loathing Dax this season....
ProgHead777 - Sun, Jul 28, 2013 - 2:52am (USA Central)
Anyone analyzing the plot or even the characters in this episode is wasting their time. This was a love letter to TOS and to Trekkies of every generation, nothing more, nothing less. I suspect Dax's uncharacteristic behavior is because she's playing the role of the Trekkie, here. "ZOMG, IT'S KIRK!" I thought it was cute.

According to Memory Alpha, it was briefly considered to make this episode the season 5 premiere, partly so it could air on the actual 30th Anniversary but ALSO to set it apart from the season proper and the series as a whole. In other words, it would have made this a stand alone episode that could be considered apocryphal. Obviously that's not what happened but it's further proof that this episode was intended NOT to be taken seriously for anything other than what it is: a buttload of fun. 4 stars.
Mad - Sun, Aug 11, 2013 - 4:55am (USA Central)
@Nick P. There is no defense for the shit she pulls of in Let He Who Is Without Sin... but seriously, slut shaming much? God forbid someone would be sexualy liberated without hurting anyone.
ZurielSeven - Sat, Aug 24, 2013 - 12:42pm (USA Central)
"Another glorious chapter in Klingon history. Tell me: do they still sing songs of the Great Tribble-Hunt?"

Managed to mock Klingon culture and history with classic Odo snark! One of the best lines of the entire season. My only regret is that he didn't say that to Chancellor Gowron and the Council in the Great Hall.
Kotas - Thu, Oct 24, 2013 - 9:18pm (USA Central)

A fun throwback episode. Among the best "just for fun" eps in DS9. The time police were hilarious.

9/10
eastwest101 - Sat, Nov 16, 2013 - 7:19pm (USA Central)
A wonderful homage to TOS and a brilliant technical tour de force.

Very funny and works well on numerous levels, as an excellent technical example of superimposition, editing, lighting, sets, props, wardrobe and acting plus a brilliantly deftly handled paradox comedy, as a "fanisode", a love letter to TOS and a bit of scriptwriters navel gazing and also on deeper more interpretive/reflective levels.

Did anyone else feel that Sisko's narration to the time police had some elements of the script writers talking about their issues with working within the Star Trek "universe" and the ire of the tragic hardcore Trekker fan base?

One of the funniest and strongest episodes of DS9 and a good example of what they were capable of when it all came together perfectly.

You can tell the writers, effects, technical staff and actors had a lot of fun here.
Moonie - Fri, Dec 6, 2013 - 12:10pm (USA Central)
This was my first DS9 episode. I was sort of familiar with who's who on the space station but this waas my first full episode (I'm a reborn Trekkie and catching up - so far, I'm almost through TOS and TNG and at the begining of season 2 of ENT).

First, I gotta say that I love Sisko. I didn't expect that reaction, but, I think he's fantastic. His voice, his demeanor, his looks - he definitely won an admirer.

Second, as for the episode - I loved it. I wqatched it back-to-back with The trouble with tribbles, and at one point in the middle of it I think I exclaimed "this is my favorite Trek episode EVER!". I'm not sure that is really the case but it's definitely one of my personal favorites. I want to go out and tell everyone about it. How can people LIVE without watching Star Trek? Without knowing about Tribbles?

In short, it was awesome. I can't wait to get started on DS9 for real.
Jack - Sat, Dec 14, 2013 - 10:40pm (USA Central)
So what's the story with Trill in this time. TNG made it seem like First Contact with them was a fairly recent, since Crusher barely knew anything about them in "The Host". But Emony met McCoy according to this episode, and its implied that was rather intimately (I wonder if Leonard knew about the symbiont inside). And if the Federation of the TOS era knew about Trill, it's strange that Dax hid her spots at the beginning of the episode.
Vylora - Wed, Feb 26, 2014 - 3:19am (USA Central)
Despite a couple minor logical gaffes - this episode coasts by on more than just pure nostalgic fun and great visuals alone. Definitely a classic.

4 stars.
Yanks - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 11:01am (USA Central)
This episode is simply perfection in every way.

Best "crossover" episode of the franchise.

12 stars!!

Bravo!!
Sunil - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 4:50pm (USA Central)
By far one of the best episodes. Felt so nice to see future meeting the past. Done very well!!!
Trekker - Wed, Mar 19, 2014 - 8:36pm (USA Central)
Probably my favorite non-serious, non-drama episode of Star Trek. It is the perfect touchstone episode for generations of Star Trek viewers that no other series after it could do.

DS9 at its peak was a show with good ideas and a self reflection on its own history.

9.5/10 - Half a point off just because they didn't send the tribbles into the Bajoran sun :p
Alex - Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 11:15am (USA Central)
Anything less than 4 stars is laughable. This is about as perfect of a nostalgia trip you will ever find on any show ever made.

And OMG the ending. Capt. Sisko's "I'm still open to suggestions people" and then we pan out to see DS9 flooded with tribbles. Hilarious! A perfect end to a perfect episode.

INFINITY STARS out of 4 stars
Jim - Tue, Sep 2, 2014 - 2:26pm (USA Central)
I watched most of the TOS as a kid back in the 1960's when they originally aired on a B&W TV, no less. Color of the shirts were shades of gray!

While I watched all the TNG episodes as they aired, I missed quite a few of the DS9's due to not having the channel where I lived and no cable. I just watched the DS9 tribbles episode this years and loved it - definitely a must see for all the old school trekkies! I can over look the minor gaffs and inconsistances purely for the nostalgia! I only wish there was a trek series still being made in 2014 - c'mon Paramount - time for a new series! BTW, the HD remastered TOS series looks great - now you can clearly see those stunt doubles! Hah hah. The space scenes look like they would've if they would have had the technology. Bravo!

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer