Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"In Purgatory's Shadow"

****

Air date: 2/10/1997
Written by Robert Hewitt Wolfe & Ira Steven Behr
Directed by Gabrielle Beaumont

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Elim, remember that day in the country? You must've been almost five."
"How can I forget it? It was the only day."

— Enabran Tain and Elim Garak

Nutshell: Extremely impressive. Startling, exciting revelations, and some major character highlights. One of the series' best.

Read no further unless you have either seen "In Purgatory's Shadow" or you absolutely don't care about being spoiled, because the surprises in this episode are part of what makes it so fascinating, and I will be revealing those surprises. With that said, I'll continue.

"In Purgatory's Shadow" is a huge, encompassing episode on the Dominion front of Deep Space Nine. It's also a stellar little Garak show. The overall package is yet another hour of DS9 that I would easily put up there with the very best.

In many ways, this installment feels like the long-deferred follow-up to the "Improbable Cause"/"The Die is Cast" thread from season three. It succeeds for many of the reasons that stellar two-parter did. While "Purgatory" isn't quite as convoluted in its plot workings as "Improbable" was, what happens in the course of the hour is easily as startling and compelling, and as the events unfold to the ultimate "To be continued" sign, we wonder how in the world they will wrap it up, and must patiently wait a week to find out.

In the meantime, we've easily got ourselves the most purely substantial and consequential episode since "Rapture," the best Dominion story since "Homefront," and the most interesting Garak-oriented plot line since "Improbable"/"Die."

As the episode begins, the DS9 crew receives a coded Cardassian message from the Gamma Quadrant. Garak is able to quickly decode it, discovering that it's from his mentor Enabran Tain, the former-head of the Obsidian Order presumed dead after his battle with the Jem'Hadar in "The Die is Cast."

This is the first of many surprises. I never expected to see Tain again after his ship exploded in "Die," but now that I think about it, it's certainly possible that Tain would've had an escape plan if he's as clever as the creators have always drawn him. I always found Tain interesting, and it was definitely nice to see this character again, as well as the revelations he has in store (more on that in a moment).

From here the plot quickly begins developing, unfolding into a huge canvas. At the same time, Behr and Wolfe's script offers a variety of interesting little character pieces. The way the smaller characterizations balance against the taut, important plot is stellar.

Opening the show, for example, is a quiet scene between Kira and Odo discussing his refound shapeshifting skills. It's sensible because it knows just how much time to devote to itself. The whole scene takes no more than a minute, yet it proves the writers haven't forgotten about the issue. The same goes for a later scene between Kira and Dax about the O'Briens' new baby.

And there's more. There's some winning character interplay involving the convoluted relationships between Dukat, his daughter Ziyal, Garak, and Kira. I won't go too far into detail on this matter, but the piss and vinegar between Dukat and Garak is welcome; the complex scenes between Dukat and Ziyal are interesting; Dukat's blaming of Kira for allowing Ziyal to pursue a friendship with Garak is an eye-opener (and Kira's reaction to Dukat's attacks further drives home the much-appreciated notion of the "real" Kira being back). Heck, even the scene between Worf and Dax works fairly well (much more than can be said of the last time we saw their relationship explored in "Let He Who Is Without Sin...", that is)—although I still think Worf looks too utterly confused whenever Dax is concerned.

The story's use of these character points is wonderfully handled. They aren't directly related to the plot in all circumstances, but they never detract from what's going on. On the contrary; they add to the overall texture of the episode.

Still, plot is a key element featured in "Purgatory," and there's a lot of it. I, for one, have been awaiting a major Dominion payoff that would dare to break from the status quo for some time now, and with the end of "Purgatory," it's certainly imminent.

The plot progresses as Worf and Garak venture into the Gamma Quadrant to track down Enabran Tain's signal. En route there's a wonderfully amusing Garak scene as he practices his lying skills on Worf. Garak's dialog is about as sharp as I've heard it (perhaps since the aforementioned "Improbable," which was the dialog show of all dialog shows). The way he talks of joining Starfleet seemed so initially sincere that even I thought he meant it. (You've gotta love this guy.)

To avoid Jem'Hadar surprises, Garak and Worf pilot the Runabout into a nebula... only to find a hidden Jem'Hadar fleet already hiding there. It has to be a prelude to an invasion, Worf realizes. Why else would the Dominion hide such a large fleet so close to the wormhole? The Jem'Hadar tractor and board the Runabout, but not before Worf sends out a signal warning the station.

Worf and Garak are taken to a Dominion prison located on an asteroid. It's here where some exciting revelations come flying at us like hardballs.

This prison (where a prisoner's crime is merely being an "enemy of the Dominion") seems to also be a place where the Dominion relocate those who have been mysteriously replaced by Changelings. Within minutes of their arrival, Worf and Garak find General Martok (J.G. Hertzler)—the Klingon replaced by a Changeling infiltrator two years ago and exposed in "Apocalypse Rising"—among the prisoners. (The Jem'Hadar, by the way, always enjoy fighting Klingons in their spare time).

Martok's presence is one of many very nice and intelligent touches to the story. It builds upon past stories (like "Apocalypse Rising" and "Way of the Warrior") and brings new realizations to the surface. For example, one disturbing point that comes to mind is that the blood screenings Starfleet uses to detect Changelings may very well be useless. If Martok was replaced two years ago, it would've presumably been before "Way of the Warrior"—in which case the Martok who performed his own blood screening in that episode to "prove" he was the genuine article was really, in fact, a very clever shapeshifter.

Perhaps the biggest plot surprise is dear Doctor Bashir. You see, Bashir turns out to be in this prison—because he himself has been replaced by a shapeshifter. The Bashir on the station is a Changeling spy who has been there for, as Bashir says, over a month. Judging by Bashir's uniform and the time indications he explains ("I went to bed one night and woke up here"), I'm guessing that he was replaced sometime between "The Ascent" and "Rapture." Upon this revelation I was sincerely shocked. It's a brave move on the writers' part (though I hesitate to think that all the nice renditions of Bashir in "Rapture" were Changeling imitations)—if there's one way to get the audience so viscerally involved in a subversive, convoluted Dominion plot, this is it.

Then, of course, there's Enabran Tain—who has been prisoner on this asteroid ever since "Die is Cast." His being alive was surprise enough, but there's a bigger payoff here that goes beyond Changeling trickery and imminent invasions—and it explains so much about Garak and Tain's relationship that one might say it explains everything. Tain is dying in this prison, and before he dies, Garak has just one request: that Enabran acknowledge him as the son he is. Tain resists, almost instinctively. Garak, being the son of the head of the Obsidian Order, has always been Tain's own Achilles heel, and based on what we know of Garak, Tain, and the Obsidian Order, it makes absolutely perfect sense that Tain would exile his son from Cardassia, to protect a "bigger picture." It's tragic, yes; but absolutely wonderfully realized, and Tain's deathbed scene with Garak is played so right that I can't imagine that the situation could've turned out any other way. Andrew Robinson, as usual, is stellar; when Tain slips away his reaction is so subtle, yet so revealing in a "Garak" kind of way. The scene is moving and so nicely done that it earns four stars for the episode all by itself. And the way Gabrielle Beaumont directs this scene and then presses on with plot right afterwards is superb. High, high praise is deserved all around.

As standout as this moment is, I don't want to take away from the rest of the story, because it as well is excellent. While Garak, Worf, Bashir, and Martok are dealing with their problem in the prison, Sisko and the crew prepare Deep Space Nine (with the little time they have) for the imminent Dominion invasion. This side of the story is also consistently compelling. There are many nice little moments that make the station's situation seem genuinely urgent and fearfully real. Everything—from Kira's short Defiant scout on the other side of the wormhole to see what's brewing ("Trouble," she says ominously); to Sisko's announcement that the recent Borg attack and war with the Klingons has left Starfleet "spread pretty thin" and susceptible to an invasion; to Kira's concern that the solution of sealing the wormhole to prevent an invasion would leave Bajor disconnected from the Celestial Temple; to the fact that Bashir is really a Changeling roaming the station ready to unleash an entourage of sabotage—everything here is relevant and fascinating.

"In Purgatory's Shadow" works on just about every level I can imagine. The characterizations are flawless, as far as I can tell; the plot is riveting; the revelations are surprising; the acting, directing, special effects, photography are all top-notch; and I was pretty much absorbed from beginning to end.

Right down to the moment the crew's attempt to seal the wormhole failed and the swarm of Jem'Hadar ships came streaming out of the wormhole.

Previous episode: For the Uniform
Next episode: By Inferno's Light

◄ Season Index

61 comments on this review

HipsterDoofus
Wed, Nov 7, 2007, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
"I was pretty much absorbed from beginning to end."

Even upon my fourth or fifth viewing I was every bit as absorbed as my first. It is nearly flawless in every sense; story, script, direction, production, everything; and almost unutterably brilliant and creative.

"...and the swarm of Jem'Hadar ships came streaming out of the wormhole."

My first thought was, "LOCUSTS!!!"

Seriously though, quite possibly the best cliffhanger in the entire trek franchise.
Josh
Mon, Jul 28, 2008, 3:05am (UTC -5)
And to do it in the MIDDLE of a season. Big balls on these writers. Just another reason I absolutely love this show.
Derek
Wed, Mar 18, 2009, 2:46am (UTC -5)
From the DS9 Companion book, it's clear how little regard Ira Behr had for the TNG film franchise. Nonetheless, it was really nice to see acknowledgment that "First Contact" happened not just on our big screens, but for everyone in the Trek universe. The seemingly throwaway line about how the recent Borg attack has spread Starfleet thin helps to hold the "mythos" together, a la the more recent Trek novels.
Jake
Mon, Jan 4, 2010, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Ira Behr had little regard for TNG in general, despite the fact that, were it not for that show, he'd never had gotten his cushy DS9 job.
gion
Fri, Mar 12, 2010, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
There are a lot of sublime scenes here. The starting scene alone is wonderful. Even though it doesn't have any bearing on the rest of the episode it adds a bit of character building for the rest of the series. Another such scenes is the one between Dax and Worf before he leaves for the Gamma quadrant. For the first time we really sense they have relationship and that it's a peculiar one. A lot of Garak at his finest, but also some Worf with excellent dry humor.
Just one small plot hole: why didn't the changeling infiltrator warn the Dominion Tain was sending messages from his prison? It hardly could have been outside his reach of you consider the other acts he did.
However, other than that the story is tight and perfectly paced. One of DS9's better episodes.
Carbetarian
Sun, Aug 22, 2010, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
I love Garak. One of my favorite things about this show is it's ability to make you really care about secondary characters as much, if not more, than the regulars. I adore Garak and Nog. I also really enjoy Weyoun. Actually, I enjoy all of Jeffrey Combs' characters on Trek. He brings a great sense of humor to everything he does.

But, back to Garak. I find the scene with Tain on his death bed to be really touching. I cried the first time I saw it. When Garak tells him that line about all his enemies being dead, it reminded me of watching some of my own relatives pass away. My great aunt started to forget what year it was towards the end of her life, and started to believe her husband was still alive. Right before she passed, my family got to the point where we would sort of go along with it because it seemed to make her happy to believe that he was still there. I don't know, maybe Garak really did kill all of Tains enemies. It certainly wouldn't be totally out of character for him. But, I got the same vibe from that scene as I did from my family with my great aunt. It was a very well written segment, and a great performance by all.
Eric Dugdale
Thu, Nov 18, 2010, 10:54am (UTC -5)
A minor additional comment: If there's a Breen in that prison, then that suggests (s)he was replaced by a Changeling. Adds a bit of (otherwise lacking) background to the Dominion/Breen alliance down the road.
Jay
Sat, Jan 29, 2011, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Martok said "If you're Worf, then you must be Garak", but how would Tain know of Worf? He joined DS9 after the events in Season 3 after which they were captured...
Travis
Fri, Feb 18, 2011, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Jay, Bashir was there. He could have told Martok and Tain about everyone on the station.
Nic
Fri, Mar 11, 2011, 10:50am (UTC -5)
The revelations in this episode are great (especially Tain & Garak), and it was a great idea to save one of those revelations for Part II. But what really drives this episode, for me, is that the whole time I KNEW that the attemmpt to seal the wormhole would fail and the ships would come through. Somehow that made it more thrilling than if it was a surprise, because the characters think that everything will be fine, but the audience knows it won't be.
Marcel
Fri, Mar 25, 2011, 6:45am (UTC -5)
I really love these 2 episodes, now it's getting really started, war with the Dominion.

I regularly watch DS9, again and again, can't get enough of it. For me without a doubt the best TREK ever.
W. Scott Richardson
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
@HipsterDoofus

The locusts comment is incredibly apt, as Capt Sisko had predicted that Locusts would destroy Bajor if they signed a treaty with the Federation. This was literally what we were seeing at the end of this episode, as when the Dominion brought war to the Alpha Quadrant, Weyoun sought a peace treaty with Bajor because of their unattached status rather than subjugate them had they been part of the Federation.
Paul
Tue, Jul 26, 2011, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
This was probably DS9 at its peak. But there's something that really bothers me about this episode (and, in turn, the following one). And it could have so easily been fixed.

Bashir, in prison, is wearing the old-style DS9 uniforms (seen from Emissary to The Ascent). This indicates that since he's been captured, Starfleet started wearing the unis we see until the end of the series.

The problem with this is that it strongly implies that the Bashir changeling was on the station for some episodes that heavily involved Bashir, and required some really complex medical training.

Putting aside the fact that the changeling's medical knowledge (particularly when it comes to Starfleet equipment) is really unbelievable, the uniform issue means that the changeling was there when Odo became a shapeshifter again (and when the baby shapeshifter died), when Sisko nearly died because of his visions and when Kira was kidnapped. Bashir doesn't show up in the Eddington episode, but that's kind of meaningless.

I've often wondered if the prison camp two-parter was intended to air immediately after The Ascent, but got pushed back for scheduling reasons.

It's a little thing, but putting Bashir in the old-school uniform makes the three of the previous four episodes really strange in hindsight. The problem could have been easily fixed if prisoner Bashir had worn the gray-shoulder uni.
lizzyann
Mon, Aug 1, 2011, 1:14am (UTC -5)
@Paul

I think it just means the Bashir changeling was playing for bigger stakes. If you're willing to allow that he had acquired the medical knowledge (and I think that's not unreasonable, given that it would have been a necessary part of impersonating Bashir), his actions are perfectly logical.

I would argue he was put there specifically to make sure the Dominion invasion went off without a hitch (Dukat said he had been in talks with the Dominion for "several weeks"). He wouldn't endanger that mission by not saving Sisko--for all the fraught emotional issues, the surgery itself wasn't particularly complex, and had Sisko died, he might have been exposed. Ditto if he behaved differently in the Odo episode (although the idea that he let the baby changeling die when he might have been able to save him is evocative). I don't remember him playing an important role at all in the Kira episode.

I love the idea that the changelings are clever enough to successfully impersonate someone for that length of time (and they obviously did with Martok for a good deal longer), and focused on the big picture in such a way that they will continue to behave exactly like the people they are impersonating until their moment arrives. It really adds to the sense of uncertainty and serious threat they offer as an enemy.
Paul
Fri, Aug 5, 2011, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
@lizzyann

I get what you're saying, and I understand why the changeling would have wanted Sisko to live. But he let another changeling die AND had to fool everybody into thinking he had the medical knowledge of a Starfleet doctor who (we'd find out later) was genetically enhanced. That's pretty hard to swallow.

I think the creators just goofed here. Had they put the real Bashir in a new uniform in prison, this wouldn't have been an issue. Or if they'd waited until "For the Uniform" (heh, the irony) to change uniforms, this wouldn't be a thing at all.
Jack
Sat, Oct 8, 2011, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Bashir has the old style uniform here, so he was gone before the events of Rapture, in which the new uniform made its debut. So the "Bashir" that assisted Odo and Mora in "The Begotten" was actually a changeling.
Captain Tripps
Wed, Nov 2, 2011, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
The uniform issue pretty much HAS to be intentional, meaning they wanted to tied Bashir's abduction and replacement to a specific point in the timeline. They specifically chose that uniform, fully aware of the implications. Which were probably what Lizzy mentioned, that they play the long con.
Paul
Mon, Nov 7, 2011, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
@Captain Tripps ... whether the Dominion wanted to play the long con or not, it's just unbelievable that the Bashir changeling could have had the advanced medical knowledge to a) save Sisko in 'Rapture' b) act like a Starfleet doctor (who would have a more limited knowledge of changeling physiology than a real changeling) when dealing with the baby changeling and c) completely fooled O'Brien and everybody else for a month.

And, remember, we never see a changeling doing anything but giving orders -- i.e. there are no changeling doctors, and we've never heard anything about their super abilities to amass knowledge. They are clearly crafty. But faking advanced medical knowledge of several species?

Now, let's say the creators made a conscious choice on this one. Well, then it was a stupid conscious choice because of the points I've made. No amount of 'long-con' justifications change that.
V
Mon, Dec 19, 2011, 2:22am (UTC -5)
Comcerning Bashir, I thought the same as a lot of people here but if you go to the beginning of the episode, they talked about the O'Brien baby being 1 month old. Therefore, regardless of the uniform, they meant that 1 month has passed since "The Begotten". That fixes a lot of confusion people have. The Bashir changeling did not replace the real Bashir until AFTER the baby was born.
Norgrimm
Wed, Jan 25, 2012, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Actually they said that the baby was almost a month old, while Bashir was in the POW-camp over a month.
Justin
Sat, Mar 31, 2012, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
The Bashir-changeling was highly trained and skilled. I can believe that. But they really should have moved the baby changeling episode until after the two-parter. I just can't buy that the Bashir-changeling wouldn't link with the baby and try to heal it or something. IMO, that was a big stumble by the writers.
Paul
Mon, Apr 2, 2012, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
@Justin: Another excellent point. The fact that Odo doesn't show up in the second part (though he is mentioned) has always intrigued me. Was Rene A. unavailable for that episode? Normally, whenever another changeling is involved, Odo is a big part of the story.

As for the changeling being "highly trained and skilled", it's unbelievable that the Founders could provide such great training to approximate the knowledge of a Federation doctor with genetic enhancements like Bashir.
Snitch
Tue, May 1, 2012, 4:51am (UTC -5)
4 Stars, this exemplifies what I liked about DS-9, the War arc goes finally forward and the prison character work is great.
David
Thu, May 31, 2012, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
@Paul: Well, given that nobody knows he's genetically enhanced at this point, and Bashir was desperately keeping it a secret at this point (ie not doing anything superhuman to draw attention to himself, even while Doctoring) I don't see why the Changeling would have to mimic that specific part of Bashir. So far as anyone knows, including the station, Bashir's just a normal human Dr. It can't be too hard to prepare him for that cover.
Paul
Mon, Jun 4, 2012, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
@David: The point is, Bashir is a REALLY good doctor. Even if his genetic enhancements weren't known at this point, being able to mimic his medical abilities would have been that much tougher for his changeling replacement.

Also, interesting thing I found out the other day. Sisko mentions the recent Borg attack at one point in this episode, but the stardates don't work for that. First Contact took place in and around 50893.5. That puts First Contact much later in the fifth season (just before "Blaze of Glory").

It would have made more sense to put the events of First Contact around the time of "Rapture", and shortly before. At least, then, the uniforms AND the timing would have worked. Now, the fact it's never mentioned that the Defiant and Worf (and presumably some DS9 underlings) fought the Borg cube in First Contact is annoying.

But it's really too bad that the stardate from Picard's log entry didn't work better with DS9.
Jay
Tue, Jun 26, 2012, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Just noticed the throwaway line about the Bajoran wormhole and Dr. Kahn of Trill...a nice nod to continuity and "Rejoined".
Eduardo
Tue, Aug 21, 2012, 9:34am (UTC -5)
"At the first sign of betrayal, I WILL KILL HIM... But I promise to bring back the body."

Best line of the 5th season, by far. Worf always makes me laugh.

Gotta love Wolfe and Behr's flair for character humor and interaction, assuming that Worf line was theirs, of course.
microfish
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Garak: "I'd like to get my hands on that fellow Earl Grey and tell him a thing or two about tea leaves!" You got to love this guy.
William
Wed, Nov 21, 2012, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
An absolutely great two-parter. Builds so well on many threads from previous seasons.
Josh
Fri, Mar 15, 2013, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Rewatching this for the first time in a few years - great so far.

I just noticed an interesting detail that works as foreshadowing. When Dukat informs Ziyal that she's to leave on a ship to Cardassia, he clearly seems to know about the imminent arrival of the Dominion fleet. But Dukat hadn't yet been briefed about the situation as near as we can tell, so why would he know what was to come? Of course, we *know* why he does...
Niall
Wed, Aug 14, 2013, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
I have a workaround for the Bashir uniform issue. As others have commented, it's unfeasible to believe that Bashir in Rapture, The Darkness And The Light and The Begotten was a changeling. However, the real Bashir in this episode specifically says "I went to bed one night and woke up here".

It's simple: Bashir was wearing his old uniform as pajamas.
Kotas
Thu, Oct 24, 2013, 9:48pm (UTC -5)

An interesting and exciting episode. Things are heating up!

8/10
Jack
Thu, Feb 20, 2014, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Bashir stops Garak from leaving the station, but considering Garak seemed to be about to steal a Federation runabout, I don;t see how Garak would have gotten very far in any event.
Toraya
Thu, Mar 20, 2014, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Agree with Jammer that the major plot developments of this episode were thrilling and well done. Disagree about the effectiveness of the minor character scenes. The back-to-back "Darling must you leave me?" scenes were trite and grating. Dax/Worf have such a one-note relationship that I lIng for them to break up, and sadly the writers have done the most obvious and dull thing possible with Ziyal/Garak and Ziyal/Dukat. The last time we saw Ziyal I commented that the writers were thankfully dodging the naive-girl-in-love cliche. Guess I overestimated them.

Not four stars, but worthwhile for the suspense and excitement of the Dominion plot.
Trekker
Mon, Mar 31, 2014, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
May I also add to the answers on how Changelling gain knowledge:

@Paul: The Link is shown in later and earlier episodes to be a biological form of connection between founders and their race at large. They can share information in that state at a rate far superior to any other species except perhaps the Borg (Kind of interesting to think about, the most advanced and scariest enemies in Star Trek come from Collectives :P)

In any case, that explains how a changeling can gain advanced medical knowledge. Also, remember the episode, "The Search", Bashir, Sisko, O'Brien, and Dax's memory were all scanned into a virtual reality. They could have mind probed Bashir to get his knowledge.

_______________________

As fir the episode,

I hand it down as one of my favorite Star Trek Cliffhangers. I also love the revelation that Tain was Garak's father. It makes perfect sense between them. Tain has always been an intriguing character, spymaster et al.

9.5/10
Garrison
Sat, May 10, 2014, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
I had always figured that Changling Bashir had created the headache spasms to keep Sisko from foretelling the Dominion/Cardassian alliance.

Also that Changling Bashir had a hand in the baby Changling arriving as to analyze Odo's reactions.
Garrison
Sun, May 11, 2014, 5:52am (UTC -5)
I guess I go back to Odo's 'When I become a rock, you scan a rock.' When a Changling becomes a solid I figure they copy them, brain patterns , memories, and knowledge et al. So Changling Bashir would have the knowledge to cause the life threatening symptoms when he saw Sisko having visions that would potentially expose their plans, and then alter the Captain's brain so that he stops getting them. I forget, was there anyone who challenged his diagnosis, or did everyone (except Sisko, of course) just take Changling Bashir's word for it that Sisko would die if left untreated?
Rivus
Sun, May 11, 2014, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
@Garrison

I find it hard to believe that a changeling would sit idly by while one of its own slowly died off, considering how much value they place on their own lives... Wouldn't he want to take it back to the Great Link? Granted, maybe the whole thing was a ruse to give Odo back his abilities, but that seems as though it would go against the Founders' final decision. Granted, I haven't seen far enough into the plot yet to be completely sure, but...
Yanks
Mon, Aug 11, 2014, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Wow..... just wow. AMAZING trek here!

Tain & Garak. I had some suspisions, but BAM! :-)

Again, Garak's performance makes an episode. Wow.

We figure out Bashir on DS9 is a frellin Changling!! (me and everyone else, the first time we saw this, were going... "when/where/how?") lol

Best line?

"GARAK: Because lying is a skill like any other, and if you want to maintain a level of excellence, you have to practise constantly"

A story, B story - everything. One of DS9's best.

5 out of 4 stars.
DLPB
Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Agree with Jammer that the major plot developments of this episode were thrilling and well done.
=========

It's a fun episode, but I definitely disagree. The development that led to this episode is non existent. Basically "Yeah I saw his ship blow up, but trust me he survived, because retcon"

The rest of this episode is just shoehorned in. There is no build up to it at all in the episodes previous.
DLPB
Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Also, many of you here are treating this show like it is real. It's not. Bashir was not a Changeling in the episodes previous, because the writers were very lazy and didn't create an arc. They just made it all up in this episode.
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Sep 22, 2014, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Bashir must have been really tired that day to have fallen asleep in his uniform ;)

One of Trek's best cliffhangers of all time.

And honestly, is there any character on this series Garak does *not* interact well with? Worf and Garak in the runabout = classic.
Del_Duio
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 8:14am (UTC -5)
"Also that Changling Bashir had a hand in the baby Changling arriving as to analyze Odo's reactions." - Garrison

Maybe that was a rogue changeling who didn't agree with how Odo got his powers taken away, and whipped up this method of giving him his powers back?
Vastet
Fri, Jan 9, 2015, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Considering that Changelings have been infiltrating the alpha quadrant super powers for at LEAST a year by this point, and probably since before The Search, it is entirely plausible that one of them could replace Bashir without any problem at all. In fact, assuming they couldn't is a failure to recognise the accomplishments of the Dominion over thousands of years.

Regarding the baby Changeling, the infiltrator couldn't have saved it without revealing himself. Bashir was the last one to be informed of the Changeling baby's condition (both Odo & Morah knew before he did). By the time he could have stepped in, the baby was being watched constantly by the resident alpha quadrant expert on Changeling biology. If the station personnel knew enough about the Great Link to be able to diagnose the relation to the Link in Things Past, then they certainly would have been able to recognise what saved the baby if the infiltrator had used the Link to save it. Assuming the baby could be saved in the first place.

Regarding Tain, the Dominion does have transporter technology. If Garak and Odo had time to escape the ship, then the Dominion had time to board it and take prisoners.

As for the runabout being in proximity to the prison, there has been a consistent tendency for the Dominion, and especially the Jem 'Hadar, to overconfident arrogance. There is nothing 'odd' about the situation at all.

The only real problem with the two-parter is in how easy it is to destroy a star/solar system, which is a recurring problem in all of Star Trek. If it is so easy, then all manner of episodes in every installment of Star Trek become questionable. What point is there in any war or significant conflict when you can annihilate a species by blowing up a few stars. Only the Borg and the Q are demonstrably so advanced as to be completely immune to such a tactic.

The Founders used a rogue planet as their home in The Search, so such a tactic wouldn't work on them either, but in their case it would seem they recognise the potential threat of being close to a star. Whereas the Q don't even exist in a way to be threatened so, and the Borg have spread and grown so far that they potentially have dozens of homeworlds and thousands of self sufficient stations and vessels. A single drone could conceivably resurrect the entire collective, so even the destruction of every star in the galaxy wouldn't be much threat to them.

However, all the alpha quadrant powers would be vulnerable to a strategy of nova inducement. Blow up or otherwise destroy the stars for Earth, Vulcan, Andoria, etc.; and the Federation will start falling apart rather quickly. The Klingons and Romulans are even more vulnerable, as their empires are so centralised upon the Klingon and Romulan homeworlds.

Whether or not a nova or super nova could destroy the Bajoran wormhole is a completely pointless question. If it were so easy to render solar systems uninhabitable, some extremist individual or species would have taken advantage of it somewhere along the way.
Brian S.
Thu, Feb 5, 2015, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
In order to be effective, any changeling infiltrator would have to acquire an extensive knowledge of the replaced person's history, memories, skills, personality, mannerisms, behaviors, job description, access codes, etc. You can't have a Changeling infiltrator replace Bashir who doesn't remember basic things like his ex-gf Leeta's name, or know the basic codes/passwords for accessing controlled drugs and chemicals. Can't impersonate a doctor if you can't tell the difference between a kidney and a spleen.

That undertaking would require a significant amount of research and observation. I'd assume they hooked Bashir up to some kind of brain scanner or VR device (like the captured crew of the Defiant was hooked up to in "The Search, Pt II" to gauge their reactions to a Dominion takeover) and downloaded/memorized what they needed to know.....including medical knowledge. Changeling Bashir didn't need to be a great Doctor, just a decent enough one to fool others for a few weeks or months.

For the events in "Rapture," I'm not convinced a strong medical background was necessary at all. Hook Sisko up to a diagnostic brain scanner, read the results, consult the medical library, report. Someone with a nurse's training level probably could've done that. Even when it became evident that Sisko would need brain surgery (which, after his collapse, probably didn't take a doctor to ascertain), Bashir might not have been the one to do the surgery. Bashir wouldn't be the only viable medical professional on a station that size. Just sit back and "manage" or bark out instructions straight from a medical journal while some other staff surgeon performs the actual procedure. Dr. Crusher was involved in many important medical procedures on TNG where she had her staff do a lot of the actual tissue cutting, appliance waving, etc. Getting a staff surgeon or nurse to do most of the heavy leg work wouldn't have been too suspicious

As for the baby Changeling, perhaps the Doctor-Ling knew that the radiation level was too high and/or that the baby would die anyway (and that even Linking with it wouldn't be enough to cure it). Linking doesn't cure everything. Besides, while it's unfortunate the baby couldn't survive, the Founders sent a bunch of these infants to the far reaches of the galaxy. They had to assume some of their infant explorers wouldn't survive the journey or would be killed by whomever found them. If the Founders were that worried about these babies, they never would have sent them out in the first place. And there's no indication they are trying to track down the rest of their traveling offspring. So Doctor-ling was probably prepared to let the baby continue with its original mission unaided (even if it meant likely death) in the name of carrying out his own mission.
MsV
Sat, Feb 14, 2015, 12:00am (UTC -5)
@Niall, you're funnier than Garak, I laughed REAL loud about the PJ's.

EXCELLENT episode
MsV
Sat, Mar 7, 2015, 1:13am (UTC -5)
I have one big disagreement with almost everyone: I don't think Garak pulled this A story off alone, Martok stood out more than anyone, he played so many parts, he was so Klingon, to assist Worf, but in all other instances one would have trouble even thinking he was a Klingon, his relationships with each character was stellar.
MsV
Tue, May 5, 2015, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Why don't I just say everything at one time and not keep adding different comments.

Does anyone know why Kira is always so concerned with the wormhole being closed? The prophets/aliens can open and closed the wormhole whenever they want, which they have proven on more than one occasion. I know many ships have passed that way before and they never found nor detected the wormhole, I think they, the prophets/aliens put it there so the emissary could find it when he reached the sector.

I liked the idea that Bashir went to bed wearing his old uniform as PJs, but I think the writers got a little ahead of themselves and forgot all that Bashir had done before this episode and used the wrong uniform to make it look like he had been there for over a month. He could have used the new uniform and it would have been OK.

Needless to say in spite of the strange holes, this is one of the best cliffhangers eespecially mid season) DS9 have come up with.
Phillip
Sat, Jun 20, 2015, 4:18am (UTC -5)
@Paul It's a little thing, but putting Bashir in the old-school uniform makes the three of the previous four episodes really strange in hindsight. The problem could have been easily fixed if prisoner Bashir had worn the gray-shoulder uni.

Hopefully you still visit this website Paul. Your comments seem to suggest that you think Bashir being a changeling in those previous episodes is "strange and a problem". Even if it was an accident by the writers I like it better thinking it was intentional. Now either way it is canon now and whether you like it or not that Bashir was a changeling. He was really smart medically and an imposter. Ronald D Moore commented that Bashir must have been real tired and fell asleep in his uniform. Not the wrong uniform. Moore is stating that yes Bashir fell asleep in the old uniform while it was still in use. I think it was brilliant and o find it funny that the changeling did surgery on Sisko and helped deliver obriens baby. I hope you read this because I'm curious as to why you don't like that he was a founder. I thought it was awesome on the writers part
Teejay
Sun, Jul 12, 2015, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Ah, here it is! This episode is the reason I started watching Star Trek.

My father was a fan of TOS when I was a kid, and I remember kind of liking it, and I can remember going with him to see Star Trek IV in the theaters when it came out, but neither really got me into watching any of the spinoff series, or subsequent movies.

Then in my early 20's I got a job as a security guard which required me to work overnights. I've never been able to fall asleep right away when I get home from any job, I need a little wind down time. At this particular time, Spike TV was showing back-to-back episodes of TNG followed by back-to-back episodes of DS9. Well I happened to be flipping through channels one day and caught this particular episode(along with part two) and I can remeber being rivited! Now that security job didn't last long(man it sucked!), so I didn't get to finish catching up on all of the series at that point, but it didn't matter, I was hooked.
Teejay
Sun, Jul 12, 2015, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Now i've made it through every series, except for Voyager. Just can't find anything I like about that one, only made it to a few episodes into season 2.
Nathan B.
Wed, Aug 5, 2015, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Great review of a great episode!
Paul
Thu, Aug 20, 2015, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
@Phillip: I actually only stop by very occasionally anymore. But I'll respond to your comment.

Basically, I think DS9's biggest flaw was too regularly overplaying its hand -- i.e. stacking the odds so highly against our heroes that a positive outcome seems goofy after the fact.

Really, the creators should have set things up for Bashir to be replaced sometime after "The Begotten". He doesn't appear in "For the Uniform", and you could presume that the events of that episode cover the month in which he was in the prison camp.

Even if you figure that Changeling Bashir had the medical knowledge to pose as Bashir in "Rapture" and the subsequent Kira episode -- which just seems laughable to me -- shouldn't he have somehow found a way to take the baby Changeling to the Gamma Quadrant to try to save it? Of course, you can question the Changeling's actions in "By Inferno's Light", as causing the Bajoran sun to go supernova would have harmed Odo, who was a Changeling at that point.

Maybe the creators should have pushed "The Begotten" to after "By Inferno's Light".
Nebula Nox
Sun, Sep 6, 2015, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
I think the baby changeling was planted by changeling-Bashir. It was a test of Odo - the link is obsessed with Odo - by seeing how well he treated the baby they decided to take him back as a changeling. So the baby never died, it just became part of Odo.

When you consider how amazing it is for Odo to regain his former self, doesn't it make more sense if it is deliberate instead of random?
Nebula Nox
Sun, Sep 6, 2015, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Remember, Bashir, fake or real, did not deliver the O'Brien baby - the Bajoran midwife did. In fact, Bashir acted bored and excused himself.

I think it makes sense that Bashir was a changeling from that episode on.
James
Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
"Aren't you Klingons supposed to kill yourselves when you're taking prisoner?" "Not when there are still enemies to fight." "Or hope of escape."

That sounds contradictory and hypocritical with what we learned in TNG "Birthright". What if the Klingons captured after the Khitomer Massacre believed there was hope for escape? The Romulans certainly didn't stop being enemies afterward, even if they did sign a peace treaty (and I don't recall such a thing being mentioned in any episode). Instead, those former Klingon prisoners were ostracized from society despite meeting these criteria? Perhaps how they're treated is dependent on whether or not they're successful in escape, but if so, a Klingon who escapes and makes it back to the homeworld should be welcomed... unlike that Klingon's father in "A Matter of Honor".

Other than Klingon society proving how absurd it is once again, this episode is great. Garak is perhaps the most interesting character I've ever seen in a Star Trek series thus far.
methane
Sun, Jan 3, 2016, 11:44am (UTC -5)
A few points bothered me during the episode:

-I don't believe Garak would try and run through the wormhole with a stolen runabout. The Defiant would have been on him quickly. Instead, he would have set out to get station personnel to go along with him in the first place. (I don't think he was planning to get caught by changeling-Bashir)

-The Dax/Worf meeting should have been rewritten a bit. I buy her being worried about Worf and wanting to see him off, but I don't buy her being disappointed he was going on the mission.

-Changeling Bashir delivering sandwiches was kind of a clumsy way for the writers to try to be ominous.

Still, a strong episode, with lots of plot turns & good character moments.
Adam
Wed, Jan 20, 2016, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Anybody else notice Dax says "Sisko" instead of "Benjamin" while talking to Worf? Only time as far as I know. She also called "Ben" in one episode.
Diamond Dave
Sat, Jan 23, 2016, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Ah, stirring stuff. One of those rare first-parters where we not only get the set-up but we get some resolution too. The Garak/Tain scenes come as something of a surprise and wonderfully played, with a big revelation too. Of course, the bigger revelation is Bashir and that comes as a real shock as it's completely untelegraphed - and makes the other big reveal, that Martok is still alive, almost look insignificant. It's in the subversion of the expected that this episode excels.

It also excels in all those little character moments dotted throughout for Worf, Garak, Dukat and others. And all with the promise of a full scale invasion for next week. Doesn't get much better than this. 4 stars.
William B
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 12:09am (UTC -5)
SPOILER FOR PART 2 FOLLOW ("By Inferno's Light") FOLLOW:

Like the classic Garak and Bashir discussed in "The Wire," "In Purgatory's Shadow" is in part a multigenerational Cardassian epic, with Dukat and Ziyal on the one hand and Garak and Tain on the other as some of the major relationships that tie the episode together. The impending doom of the Dominion buildup forms the backdrop for personal family stories, and in some ways this episode (along with the second part) seals the divergent directions that Garak and Dukat go, as well as (by implication) the paths that Cardassia can take. For the nonce, Garak and Dukat are not only on the same side, but in something of the same position -- outcasts from Cardassia proper, whose primary friends and allies are non-Cardassians, both of whom caring about Ziyal -- which makes their fiery confrontation early in the episode that much stronger. Dukat's status as outcast from his own people and semi-trusted ally brings him close to his nemesis Garak, which ends up being the trigger for his realization of what the reality of his loss of status really is. Dukat does find fighting a one-man war against the Klingons romantic, somehow, and that he gave up his career and status to save his daughter's life has something to do with his conscience...but the reality of Dukat's romantic inclinations and having a conscience is that people actually treat him like an ordinary, non-dictatorial guy, which he does not want. One of the unspoken ironies in Dukat's exasperation and anger that Ziyal can find it in her heart to ignore the evils Garak did in the past and that Kira can tolerate, distantly, that Ziyal has some affection for Garak is partly because Garak and Dukat's stories -- people who did evil things long ago, killed many people, and are now outcasts -- have so much overlap; Ziyal's starry-eyed idealism is the reason she can overlook that Dukat was once an evil dictator and it also means she can overlook that Garak used to be a torturer-spy. Dukat enjoys the life of an outcast-renegade, along with the grudging respect that he earns showing himself as more than just a dictatorial opportunist, until he realizes that he is treated no differently from other ex-powerful men whom he happens to hate. Dukat does care about Ziyal, and does have some genuine desire to see her live as her own person and not just as an extension of him, but the consequence of his "generously" allowing Ziyal to choose her own life is that she continues choosing it when it goes against his interests. In a lot of ways, I might have preferred had it been declared that Dukat had not *officially* decided, before this episode, whether or not to make the deal with the Dominion, because so much of the Dukat material works wonderfully of showing a man who is on some level just now realizing the consequences of his choices to live with diminished power -- and who finds that he does not like it in practice as much as he liked it in theory.

In any event, Dukat's deal with the Dominion to make Cardassia strong again is an interesting move for the show, which I mostly approve of, and while it was revealed in "BIL" the character material to justify it is mostly in this part. What is interesting is that it really does follow in some senses from his "renegade" arc: the Klingons' war on the Cardassians, which Dukat took it upon himself to fight personally, is one of the key reasons for joining the Dominion. Dukat seems to know (in upcoming episodes) that the deal was risky and that they have lost much, and I suspect that if Dukat had had a military that was more receptive to Dukat's idea that they should fight back, that he might have tried to deal with the Cardassian leadership that existed (and which he was a part of) rather than bring in the Dominion to bring him to power and wipe out his enemies. Dukat's belief that it is worth making a deal with the Dominion to save Cardassia from its enemies makes him the villain, but it is consistent with the same motivations that made him the antiheroic renegade in "Return to Grace" and "Apocalypse Rising." It's also, of course, about Dukat believes is good about Cardassia...and yet the focus on Dukat's anger at Ziyal spending time with Garak underlines how much this is not really about "all Cardassians," after all. I don't think it's as simple as that Dukat genuinely is disinterested in anyone but himself; he does want what he believes is best for Cardassia. But what is best for Cardassia when he was feeling benevolent towards his former enemies was a Cardassia of peace; what is best for Cardassia when he feels powerless and disrespected is for Cardassia to rule the Alpha Quadrant with an iron fist, of course with him as ruler. Dukat is chasing the ghost of some past Cardassia, wanting to relive the feeling of power he had as prefect of Bajor with the whole quadrant bowing before him. It seems likely that the Cardassia he wants to "restore" never truly existed.

While Dukat chases the ghost of some past Cardassia, Garak seeks out his own ghost of Cardassia past; Tain not only basically *was* the Obsidian Order, but it seems to me that he also basically *was* Cardassia for Garak, in some ways. While Garak and Dukat are of an age, Garak does have a lot in common with Ziyal, given that we also learn here (if we didn't suspect before) that Garak is an illegitimate child of Tain's. Perhaps we did not need to find that out so literally, but Garak's status outside Cardassia has been something of an unwanted child all along, figuratively at least: like the orphans abandoned on Bajor, Garak was left outside Cardassia to fend for himself, and like Ziyal he was essentially left to wait out his days alone until his father decided to try to kill him. There is something sad about Garak’s almost entirely unreciprocated loyalty to Tain, which in general reflects Garak’s relationship with Cardassia as a whole, where he holds Cardassian culture on a pedestal while they rejected him and sent him into exile after service to them which left him with self-loathing and with blood on his hands. To do the end of the Garak/Tain story right before the reveal of Cardassia having joined the Dominion is actually pretty smart, because (SPOILERS) it is after Cardassia joins the Dominion that Garak genuinely has to start working against Cardassia in order to save it, which means putting aside his deeply held but no longer believed convictions that Cardassia is *right*. So of course he runs off to save the man who was his father and the head of the Order, and the last trace of the Cardassians who attacked the Dominion, and for his trouble he gets thrown in a cell, roundly criticized by Tain, and, in part two, almost executed, where his ostracization from Cardassia is completed by Dukat’s ascension to ultimate power.

The show has de-emphasized Garak/Bashir (sadly) lately, but in some ways I half-wonder if having Bashir at the prison camp was done solely so that he can be there for Garak to talk to when he arrives; Garak rants (in a self-absorbed manner) about Tain to Bashir, and later he allows Bashir to stay while he has his deathbed talk with Tain, which always struck me as startlingly intimate. For someone who keeps so many secrets, I think it might be that if Bashir is there to witness it, Tain and Garak’s conversation is “real” in a way it could never be if it dies with Tain, with no one else ever to hear it. With Dukat spending the episode frustrated that no one would acknowledge his manifest destiny, Garak makes the demand after risking his life to be taken seriously as a son, and relatedly as a person. It’s a touching scene, all the more so because it is such a small-scale moment played out on the brink of a major shift in galactic power that partly happens because of Dukat’s own ego. Garak’s finding the courage to press the issue and ask for Tain to speak to him as a son rather than as a protégé, and his having Bashir there to witness it, some of his secrets briefly bared, is some growth and change for the character since the events of The Die is Cast, as well as the sense that Garak recognizes that this will be his last chance to have the personal recognition that he needs from his father, which Cardassia as a whole may never give him (and, with Dukat as the new head of government, is unlikely to).

The Bashir reveal was very effective, though in the long run I wonder if it was worth it. The Worf/Garak material is very entertaining, and it’s great to be introduced to the real Martok; I like how Worf’s easy relationship with Martok both contrasts with and mirrors Garak’s uneasiness with and eventual reconciliation with Tain—especially since Garak and Worf both remain outcasts from their own people outside the prison camp. The material surrounding whether to close the wormhole was well done, and this was some of the most effective material yet at providing the proper foreboding. The episode’s main weaknesses have to do with the implausibility of the prison camp itself, but I think I can overlook that. I think this earns 4 stars.
William B
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 12:22am (UTC -5)
I've got to add -- Garak's lies about joining Starfleet as "practice lies" are both very funny in and of themselves, and also help remind us how much Garak builds his life around Tain's image, and yet on some level has maintained a kind of spirit inside him that goes against Tain's values. Being genuinely hurt that Tain refuses to acknowledge him and finally being honest with him about it, rather than lying, and rather than taking it out on the whole quadrant the way Dukat does, is weirdly heroic, especially for someone who has basically been programmed to view emotional honesty as sentiment and thus as wrong. I also like the way the episode has Garak's deceptions -- relatively minor but still annoying -- at the start of this episode, in a way that contrasts nicely with the much more damaging betrayals Dukat does.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.