Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Business as Usual"

***

Air date: 4/7/1997
Written by Bradley Thompson & David Weddle
Directed by Siddig El Fadil

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"WORKS FOR ME." — Sisko just being his awesome self

Nutshell: Not bad. Not outstanding, but quite respectable.

"Business as Usual" is a very respectable Quark vehicle that uses Quark's values reasonably and intelligently to mold a story that has a seriousness that we usually don't get to see from stories crafted for the character. I welcomed that. As the resident Ferengi, Quark has been saddled with more "comedy" episodes than probably any other regular character in the Star Trek universe, and I think that's an unnecessary and even misguided approach. There's plenty of potential for milking relevant drama out of Ferengi greed and profit—in fact, I've found drama about these topics much more effective than comedy, because with comedy they're treated with such one-joke superficiality that the joke has long since become quite old.

In "Business as Usual," Quark loses his shirt when his last stock hopes fail. He's in trouble. He's in debt. And since he put the bar up as collateral, he stands to lose everything he owns—and drown in debt as his brokers foreclose. Quark may even be in danger of receiving broken legs if his brokers run out of patience.

Suddenly, Quark's infamous cousin Gaila shows up and offers him an opportunity: If Quark helps Gaila and Gaila's gun-running partner Hagath (Steven Berkoff) deal weapons through the station, then Quark will profit enough to pull himself out of debt, and then some—Gaila promises that Quark would make enough profit to own his own moon within a year.

To sidestep the legal technicalities, Quark and Gaila devise a rather clever holosuite program of weapon samples. Quark's line of logic is that since all he's dealing are "holograms," Odo and Sisko can't touch him since he isn't really breaking any laws.

Well, needless to say, that's not the point. Once Odo discovers what Quark is up to, he hauls him in for questioning. In a scene that sets the tone for the episode, Sisko and Kira realize that they can't press charges (the Bajorans owe Hagath a favor because he offered them weapons during the resistance)—but they aren't going to let Quark off easily. They both come down hard on him, and once Quark realizes what he's done in the face of the people of DS9, the message becomes clear. In perhaps the most perfect touch in the episode, Quark looks at Odo with a blank stare—and all Odo can do is stare back with an expression that says all without using a single word: "Now see what you've gotten yourself into, Quark?"

The rest of "Business as Usual" is a morality play of how Quark deals with the fact that he's trapped in a sinister situation while he suddenly finds that he's developed…scruples. Before long, Quark realizes that he cannot simply distance himself from the fact that he's selling items that are helping people kill others—and in mass volume. "They're only used for defensive purposes!", Quark tries to rationalize on more than one occasion. He tries to draw pity from Dax, who is quite disgusted with the Ferengi's willingness to indirectly cause death for the sake of his own profit motives. It doesn't work—no one wants to talk to him, no one cares about his troubles, and no one visits his bar.

And yet the beauty of "Business as Usual" is that it puts Quark in a totally sympathetic position. Quark doesn't want to sell weapons, but he had no choice when he started—Gaila's option was the only way out of his predicament. But once Quark makes enough money to pay his creditors, he finds himself in a new bind. Hagath does not take betrayal or disappointment well, and there's a very uneasy sense that if Quark "crosses" Hagath by wanting out of the partnership, Hagath may suddenly cause a mysteriously fatal "accident" upon Quark. Such things have happened by Hagath's will before.

Steven Berkoff's rendition of the Hagath character is amusing to watch at times, and I think that he was perfectly cast in this comedic sort of villain personality. But, at the same time, Berkoff sometimes goes just a little too far over-the-top, to the point that his scenery-chewing becomes a little annoying. Berkoff's performance is very evidently stylized—he should've scaled it back just a bit. I couldn't help but constantly think of Hagath as an interstellar version of Beverly Hills Cop's Victor Maitland. (I was endlessly awaiting the line, "Goodbye, Mr. Quark.")

Still, it's very easy to see why Quark—or anyone, for that matter—could be intimidated by Hagath's always-conveyed "Don't cross me" evident behind that salesman's smile. It's when the stakes really start getting high that Quark truly realizes what he's gotten himself into and decides he has to do something to get himself out. The regent of a warring, non-Federation government (Lawrence Tierney) comes to Quark and Hagath, asking for a biological weapon that would help him achieve a death toll in the range of…oh, about 28 million.

Quark's conscience knows where he needs to go, but his Ferengi greed tries to talk him into rationalizing that his peripheral involvement in this deal doesn't make him responsible.

But that's the point of "Business as Usual"—and the "episode moral" is nicely realized because it's obvious, yet not spoon-fed for the most part. (Although, Quark's dream sequence was a tad excessive and probably unnecessary) What the show understands—and Quark, as well—is that if you have involvement in something that kills 28 million people and you could've prevented it, then you helped kill 28 million people. Both Quark's conscience (something we all know he has) and the greed that tries to dissuade him from doing the right thing are within the parameters of his character. Armin Shimerman's performance is on-the-money, and some of his grim facial expressions (apparent through the prosthetics yet still subtle) show that the character is really thinking hard—particularly in one extremely serious scene where Gaila tries to convince him that 28 million "anonymous" deaths is a small price to pay considering the number of warring worlds in the quadrant bent on destroying each other. Gaila's argument strikes me as a realistic notion. No, I don't agree with it, but I can see how a weapons dealer would come to live by it being in the business for 40 years.

"Business as Usual" was written by Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, the team who also brought us the teleplay for "The Assignment" earlier this season. Both stories are effective in that they center around individuals who are trapped alone in difficult, high-pressure situations. Both also end with the protagonist using sleight of hand to escape, but I definitely like the cleverness written for Quark's solution here better than the standard ending supplied for O'Brien's problem. Quark's solution is a rather underhanded trick on his partners and prospective buyers. He invites the regent's enemies to the station as prospective buyers…and then sets all of them up to meet unexpectedly in a cargo bay. The way Quark goes about this is fairly amusing. Of course, we all knew Quark would get out of his situation in a way that would preserve his image, dignity, life, and values—but since it was all inevitable, at least the ending was amusing in its chaos while also serious in the gravity of its implications. (Gaila and Hagath flee the station after the resulting mess and will likely not be heard from again; the regent is subsequently killed by his enemies.)

"Business as Usual" is nothing particularly audacious or original; it's mostly just decent and respectable. Woven into the plot is some standard but amiable fluff concerning Chief O'Brien's baby—lightweight, but at least an acknowledgement that the kid exists. As a Quark show it has unprecedented seriousness, which is a welcome change of pace. For the most part, everyone and everything comes off well. Not too shabby at all.

Previous episode: A Simple Investigation
Next episode: Ties of Blood and Water

Season Index

38 comments on this review

AeC - Sat, Jun 7, 2008 - 8:04pm (USA Central)
DS9's writers really do like to mine classic cinema for inspiration. They've adapted Casablanca for "Profit and Loss," The Searchers for "Indiscretion," and here they basically crib Harry Lime's speech in The Third Man about "one of those little dots" for Gaila's speech to Quark about "one of those lights." Not necessarily a criticism. Just some (usually) interesting homages.
Odon - Wed, Jul 2, 2008 - 2:03pm (USA Central)
Not to mention The Spy Who Came In From The Cold for "Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges".
Vee - Fri, Sep 12, 2008 - 4:52am (USA Central)
And, as we all know, "The Magnificent Ferengi" riffs on "The Magnificent Seven".
Shannon - Fri, Sep 19, 2008 - 4:16am (USA Central)
How about "Field of Fire" as a nod to Hitchcock's Rear Window?
Connor - Mon, Jul 6, 2009 - 1:53pm (USA Central)
My favorite Quark episode.
Anthony2816 - Fri, Feb 26, 2010 - 11:55pm (USA Central)
I wasn't clear on just why Quark now has nothing to fear from revenge by Hagath...or by Gaila...who also should be fearing revenge by Hagath, since he vouched for Quark.
Jeff - Mon, Mar 8, 2010 - 7:55am (USA Central)
Steve Berkoff also portrayed the Bond villain Gen. Orlov in OCTOPUSSY. His Hagath is a more understated version of Orlov.
Nic - Tue, Mar 30, 2010 - 9:08pm (USA Central)
I was pleasantly surprised to see Laurence Tierny in this episode. "I want weapons. Are you selling weapons?" Ouch.
Travis - Fri, Feb 18, 2011 - 10:10am (USA Central)
I enjoyed most of the episode, but I thought Quark got off way too easy. Dax disowned him for being an arms dealer, but the moment he turned his back on the deal she was playing cards with him. How many deaths were caused from the weapons he sold in the first half of the episode?
Jay - Sun, Oct 9, 2011 - 11:57am (USA Central)
I agree with Travis...Quark did make enough selling weapons to climb out of debt...that doesn't change at the end of the episode.

Also ridiculous is the notion that the Federation suddenly cares about the financial cost (however that's calculated in a supposed post-currency economy) of repairing something (here the cargo bay) when the plot needs it. I don't recall it being mentioned when they had to reconstruct the pilon after the Iconian gate incident.


JD - Tue, Jan 17, 2012 - 3:48pm (USA Central)
I guess Quark could've handled everyone's disapproval, but not Jadzia's. Nice to see how she's once more the good hearth of the station. She was missed in season 7!
Chris Freeman - Sat, Mar 3, 2012 - 5:48am (USA Central)
This episode has really sloppy camera work (I assume it was Siddig's first time directing). The scene where Hagath first enters the bar is really awkwardly shot, with really crowded framing. There's a scene in somebody's quarters where Quark is in front of a candelabra so that it looks like it's coming out of his head. In the pre-regent banquet scene, the extra holding one of the food trays starts really shaking it just before it goes out of frame. And most noticably, Quark says "nobody from the federation has been in my bar all day" when THERE IS AN EXTRA IN A STARFLEET UNIFORM AT THE BAR IN THE BACKGROUND.
Justin - Mon, Apr 2, 2012 - 12:25pm (USA Central)
It seems DS9 could really use a day care center.

@Chris, the extra in the background is wearing a Bajoran engineering uniform.

Ian - Sat, Jul 14, 2012 - 9:35pm (USA Central)
Sorry, Ds9 does not work as a morality play. Considering it is one of the more serious minded and adult versions of Trek it falls flat when it over does it.
Also, as I have mentioned elswhere on these boards, considering that Star trek is the most successful television franchise in history, it really annoys me when they prattle on about how bad it is to make profit and how bad the Ferengi are in general for caring about it etc...
Gene Roddenberry was THE archtypical Ferengi history has proven...
Grumpy - Fri, Aug 10, 2012 - 9:34am (USA Central)
This episode proves, in case there was any doubt, that the problem with Ferengi episodes wasn't the Ferengi or Quark or whatever. Clearly, they only sucked when Ira Behr wrote them (with the exception of "Prophet Motive," which I liked, and "Little Green Men" and "The Magnificent Ferengi," which some others like). In the hands of other writers, Quark stories are tolerable-to-good, whereas Quark stories by Behr are a genre to themselves.

Note that the idea of using the holosuite to sell items by proxy pre-dates the advent of e-commerce. There were clearly precedents (the Sears catalog or Ron Popiel commercials) but the idea of selling merchandise without the merchandise present seemed prescient before 1999, when Amazon's Jeff Bezos was named Time's Person of the Year.
Peremensoe - Sat, Jun 1, 2013 - 8:39pm (USA Central)
The Federation does use money. Apart from transactions with Ferengi or similar, or gambling, it's usually credits rather than cash.
ProgHead777 - Tue, Jul 30, 2013 - 5:56am (USA Central)
The issue of currency in the Federation is actually a confusing one. On one hand, Federation credits were mentioned more than once in TOS and even a couple of times on TNG and DS9. On the other hand, characters from both eras have stated that the Federation doesn't use money (for example, Kirk to Gillian in The Voyage Home, Picard to Lily in First Contact).
Paul - Wed, Jul 31, 2013 - 12:57am (USA Central)
TNG is pretty steady in its stance that there's no money in the Federation. Occasionally, Starfleet officers acknowledge money (Riker in "Unification", Ro in "Preemptive Strike") but both are in sort of non-Federation situations.

I'm pretty sure there was money on TOS, but it was in the form of credits, not cash or coins. DS9 was a little vaguer on the point, but you could argue that DS9 wasn't like most parts of the Federation.

Now, Jake's discussion with Nog in "In The Cards" sort of discusses how humans don't use money. That works for the son of a Starfleet captain who doesn't interact with the Maquis, the Cardassians, etc.
Nick P. - Thu, Aug 22, 2013 - 6:28am (USA Central)
The episode wasn't bad, until its pompous star trek ending. People right here on this board have stated "what about the people that died witht he weapons Quark already sold"? Really? It is only wrong because it is a ferengi making profit. What about Kirk GIVING weapons in "A private little war"? How many died from that? How many died from Kirk, Picard, Sisko, etc....From DIRECT action? How many did Picard kill be inaction (I' Borg or Symbiosis)? Quark did not kill anybody, and if anyone died from those weapons it was indirectly. Further, if Quark had not sold those weapons, they simply would have gotten the weapons from someone else, it makes no difference.

I love Star Trek, but this is one of those issues that really makes me hate the underlying philosophy. Picard killing millions through inaction in I Borg is OK because it "feels nice" but Quark trying to make a buck where someone else will if he doesn't is somehow evil and wrong....Ridiculous.
Kotas - Sat, Oct 26, 2013 - 10:15am (USA Central)

Average Ferengi episode.

5/10
Ric - Sat, Dec 7, 2013 - 2:53pm (USA Central)
A nice character development for Quark, as he got one of the few serious episodes so far. Also, nice acting from the guest actors. Overall, good episode.

The only serious flaws, for me, are those that have become quite constant this season: the lack of consequence for misconduct of characters and the Federation/Starfleet looking not the Federation/Starfleet that exists in the standard Trek reality.

Not only is irritating to see, as someone recalled here, Dex playing with Quark just so fast as if he didn`t have helped killing thousands of people with the already sold weapons. It strikes me as dramatically stupid to the point of infuriating that is just that easy to Bajor (and the Federation next) to accept a guy smuggling illegal weapons in the DS9 just because he was the one who sold most of weapons for the Bajorian resistance during the occupation.

But let me put this right. Of course it is understandable that Bajor feel in debt with such smuggler and asks him not to be arrested after Odo finds out the illegal weapons dealing. It is credible. But really giving a free pass for the guy to keep negotiating the illegal weapons indefinitely in DS9? Common! So with they had kept with small business, not finding a 28million-death deal, would DS9 have become a well-known spot for illegal weapons?

This is ridiculous. And Federation accepting in easily and pacificly as with Bajor had just asked to paint the station wall with a different color, is preposterous.
eastwest101 - Thu, Dec 19, 2013 - 5:18pm (USA Central)
A passable to good episode, does not fall into the trap of becoming too "preachy" but still has something to say about Quark and the wider subjects of the arms trade/business and moral consequences.

Some prescient ideas in 1997 about "virtual/online" commerce as well...
Ash Pryce - Sun, Feb 16, 2014 - 11:34pm (USA Central)
Berkoff is rightly considered one of the greatest theatrical practitioners of the last 50 years. His plays are required reading on most drama courses (At least in the UK). As a wordsmith he is stunning, weaving a variety of styles together and as a director of theatre he was truly revolutionary and few come close.... However something has always let him down when he tries to do acting work that isnt his own on stage, heavily stylised mime based work- the man cant act. At all. His role in this episode was typical of that. If this was his Herod in Salome, or Mike in East it would have been great fun, but he really cant do "straight" acting. And thats disappointing. As a theatre worker I was happy to see one of my idols in DS9, but as a viewer I was dissappointed.
Vylora - Thu, Feb 27, 2014 - 11:51pm (USA Central)
"There's plenty of potential for milking relevant drama out of Ferengi greed and profit—in fact, I've found drama about these topics much more effective than comedy, because with comedy they're treated with such one-joke superficiality that the joke has long since become quite old." - Jammer

I could not have said it better myself. It's not a bad idea to do a Ferengi comedy episode per se. The problem is the over-blown silliness that happens one too many times. "Look at me - I'm a bumbling Ferengi getting into crazy antics and acting like a clown! Aren't I zany?" Har har. Snooze. No thanks. Unfortunately, this seems to be the downhill portrayal they'll have the last few seasons.

Fortunately though, this episode is most definitely not one of them. The review hit the nail on the head with this, too. However I didn't find the character of Hagrath over the top. I always saw him as that's who he is and is that way for a reason. If that makes sense.

Jadzia being seemingly too forgiving, according to some above comments, didn't occur to me as something that stood out as an issue. Quark did quit that position and did potentially, by proxy, save 28 million lives and risked his own doing so.

As for selling the weapons in the first place, well, he wasn't. He was an intermediary between the customer and the assistant to the weapons salesman. Quark's conscience got the best of him as he realized he didn't even want to be a part of it whatsoever no matter the degree of involvement. Plus Quark is known to have been a very despicable person during the Occupation. Quark has taken strides to better himself since. It makes sense that Jadzia would be that much more willing to forgive, not only to show good faith, but also to show Quark that good things come from not doing bad things. Plus it almost seemed Jadzia's cold shoulder was more along the lines of pretense rather than actuality. She was "going" to hate him if he didn't quit. Yah she was pissed, rightly so, but I didn't see it as friendship over.

Admittedly the ending was a little TOO happy but it wasn't glaring. The B-plot was more pleasant filler albeit pleasant filler I rather enjoyed. Worf holding baby = my huge grin.

I'm a softy. (:

High end of 3 stars.

Nissa - Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - 10:44pm (USA Central)
What really bothered me about this episode was the assumption that anyone who sells weapons is bad. There are those who just want to arm those in need, or like weapons as a hobby (boys and their toys), or like them for their historical value. Quark's guy wasn't bad because he sold weapons, he was bad because he sold specific weapons (those of mass destruction) to evil people. It's not as simple as this episode pretends it is.

That's the real failure of the Ferengi in DS9. Basically every real world issue they faced was overly simplistic and unintelligently stated.
Dusty - Thu, Aug 7, 2014 - 8:34am (USA Central)
I agree with Jammer; this is a very decent Ferengi episode with an entertaining (and cute) subplot. I think people are missing that the true focus was not on the moral implications of selling weapons--an issue that will never be resolved--but on how Quark himself perceived them. Quark having an active conscience was old news by this time, but I for one am glad that we learned exactly where he stands on the issue.

As soon as he had a choice in the matter (i.e. his debts were paid off), Quark got out of the business. Let that sink in for a moment. A Ferengi turning down perfectly legal and easy profits, and putting himself at personal risk to do so? On moral grounds? Either Quark has never had the stomach to be the kind of ruthless profiteer his people celebrate, or the Occupation years left a really bad taste in his mouth. However indirectly, on Terok Nor he was an accessory to one world attempting to wipe out another, and he did not want to be in that position again. Because of that, I like him more than I did before I saw the episode.
Yanks - Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - 11:16am (USA Central)
Nick P. - Right on the money, I agree whole-heartedly. Excellent post.

In Quark’s defense, the questioned changed. "I need a bio-whatever weapon to kill 20+ or so million people" is different that "I want 2000 of these". Quark was right, the latter is considered for defense of something. The 1st was just genocide.

I thought this episode was a pretty good one aside from the ending. So I can't go 3.5 or above.

3 stars for me.
Jack - Sun, Nov 9, 2014 - 11:40pm (USA Central)
@ Nick P.

I don't buy the "kill people by inaction" thing. You can only kill someone actively, not passively. If an event unfolds while you watch and that event would proceed the same way if you had been absent from the scene, you aren't responsible for that event.
Elliott - Mon, Nov 10, 2014 - 12:32am (USA Central)
@Jack :

Well, Edmund Burke would disagree with you, but he was an asshole, so, yeah, I can go along with that.
Robrow - Sun, May 3, 2015 - 10:15pm (USA Central)
I enjoyed that one, despite the overly contrived ending. And I thought Berkoff was very good as the suave, slightly camp, sometimes menacing and not so comic villain. A pity he didn't give Gaila's Harry Lime speech - would have been a nice little nod to Orson Welles from an actor who in some ways reminds me of him - but I guess creating a villain so charming and sympathetic would have shifted the focus away from Quark. So no Third Man but, to quote Jammer, quite respectable.
David - Thu, Sep 17, 2015 - 1:07am (USA Central)
I found it particularly hypocritical of Kira to come down against Quark in this episode. She used weapons the Bajorans bought from these suppliers to kill Cardassian men, women, and children. Now, since the occupation is over she gets to look down her nose at Quark and say that what he is doing is immoral?

The same goes for Sisko, who just a bit ago used two quantum torpedoes to scatter trilithium resin into the atmosphere of Solosos 3 making the planet uninhabitable for fifty years (For the Uniform). Time wasn't even spared to tell us how many casualties that decision caused; neither was time given to let someone berate Sisko for this immoral decision to put lives at risk, and all this so that he could fulfill his personal vendetta he took on while violating Starfleet orders.

The same goes for Jadzia. Has everyone forgotten the innocent hired men and women she killed in Blood Oath (season 2)? How can she really go about killing in cold blood with her own two hands, and then turn around and give the cold shoulder to Quark for simply selling weapons?

Not to mention the deaths caused by simply serving the wishes of Starfleet. I don't see anyone thumbing their nose at O'Brien for the countless Cardassians he personally killed during the war (Tribunal, season 2). It would seem that when people die, the killers aren't responsible but the people they bought their weapons from are. What kind of insanity is this?
Robert - Thu, Sep 17, 2015 - 6:47am (USA Central)
@David - You should have stopped earlier in the post. Your point decreased in validity as you moved on.

An enlisted man killing someone in war is the same as selling weapons to a despot? Really?

By that logic a US WW2 soldier is more what, evil(?), than an arms dealer supplying the Nazis (and being aware of the monster Hitler is). Hell no on that, O'Brien gets a pass.

Likewise... if Hitler's armed guards were mercenaries you'd be morally terrible to kill them? Jadzia went after a man that murdered children in cold blood. One might debate if revenge killing is moral, but if it were this guy deserves it. You're closer to the mark here than the CHASM away you were in the O'Brien comment, but still pretty far off the mark.

The episode with Sisko and the trilithium resin doesn't mention deaths because there weren't any. Plenty of poisons have been shown to be fixable in Trek unless you reach a specific level and length of exposure. They evacuated and switched planets with the Cardassians. Period. The episode does not support your theory any more than it does mine and yours is horrible so why have that be your head canon unless you're disturbed? It's still a morally questionable decision, but nothing on the level of selling weapons to a genocidal maniac.

Now Kira... see now THAT would have been interesting to explore a bit. She may see him as evil and dealing with him as a necessary evil, but it would have been a cool B plot to have her face up to some of the darker people she had to deal with in the occupation.

Still though... in the vein of... does Hagath become as evil as the Regent by selling him weapons? Does Quark become as evil as Hagath by letting him use the holodeck? Were the scientists that made the atomic bomb guilty at Hiroshima? Does selling weapons to an evil man make you evil? Could a story about Kira have fit into that? Maybe it could.
Robert - Thu, Sep 17, 2015 - 7:15am (USA Central)
As a followup thought, while there are Kira things to mine here we already have a previous season story about her committing murder as a "Necessary Evil".

So I think perhaps the answer was that this would have been a rehash for Kira, and a less interesting one.
Chrome - Thu, Nov 12, 2015 - 5:46pm (USA Central)
"if Quark had not sold those weapons, they simply would have gotten the weapons from someone else, it makes no difference."

"As for selling the weapons in the first place, well, he wasn't. He was an intermediary between the customer and the assistant to the weapons salesman."

You both are falling for Quark's defense he tried to give to Odo. You seem to forget that Quark's position on a legitimate Federation station literally made sales possible for Haggath that weren't possible before due to regulations in other areas. It's quite possible none of the sales Quark made would have been made at all without his help dodging the authorities. That's what makes Quark culpable. It doesn't matter if he was an intermediary, he literally made more weapons sales possible which logically led to the deaths of more people possible.
methane - Tue, Jan 12, 2016 - 4:39pm (USA Central)
This could have been an excellent episode if they admitted that sometimes selling weapons is justified, and examined the shades of gray. Sometimes wars need to be won, and sometimes peace can only be maintained through strength. The episode only briefly acknowledges this when they mention they sold arms to the Bajorans during the occupation.

Other commenters have referred to the hypocrisy here, as Star Trek characters (not just DS9 characters) have consistently needed force to save lives and maintain peace.

That said, even acknowledging the hypocrisy, Starfleet would never approve of a group under their jurisdiction selling truly powerful military weapons to outsiders without their approval. They would want to decide which outside group gets weapons and which doesn't.

An episode that was truly interested in an honest discussion of weapons-dealing would have had the group selling to people we have some sympathies for, one the Federation itself refused to arm. The characters could then take different sides even as Starfleet is asking Sisko to shut down Quark's group. You could have sensibly had Dax against Quark while Worf & Kira supported him (an inversion of the usual order).

Towards the end of the episode, the question of whether it is right to sell arms isn't really an issue any more. The dictator at the end isn't looking to win a conflict or prevent a conflict. He simply wants to kill people to make a point. Few people would see that as acceptable, but it's not the same thing as, say, selling weapons to the Bajoran resistance.

That said, I don't think this is a bad episode. You can overlook the failed moral "lesson" and still appreciate Quark's dilemma. The fact that Starfleet would oppose him is sensible, as is the fact that people who work outside the law (like Quark's associates), sometimes end up going way-outside the law. It was good to see the Dax/Quark relationship brought up, as it's been mostly ignored since Worf joined the show. The B plot isn't really funny, but isn't really awful.
James - Thu, Jan 14, 2016 - 5:53am (USA Central)
Sisko is absolutely hypocritical in this episode. Quark selling WMDs are no different to him launching those two torpedoes a while back. Both actions MIGHT have resulted in massive deaths, which is what makes them criminal.
Diamond Dave - Sun, Jan 24, 2016 - 8:10am (USA Central)
Quark becomes an arms dealer and discovers a conscience. After the Bashir and Odo episodes, we are definitely in that mid-series run of character pieces now. Again, this is a fairly well worn theme and is handled competently enough, with a jaw-dropping scenery chewing performance from Steven Berkhoff to add a little piquancy to the process. But Quark is definitely in lovable rogue mode now than the highly dubious antics of Season 1 so it all plays out broadly as expected.

The B-story is some fun fluff. "Perhaps he's become prematurely aware of life's existential isolation" indeed. 2.5 stars.
William B - Mon, Jan 25, 2016 - 2:32pm (USA Central)
Quark is one of the characters who was rendered an outcast from his people in season four, and like most of those characters there is one or so significant episode regarding their new predicament that deals with it effectively. For Worf, that was *most* of "Sons of Mogh" (depending on how one interprets the ending) and some of "Rules of Engagement," for Odo it was "The Begotten," for Dukat it's "Return to Grace" and "In Purgatory's Shadow." The headline episode for Quark is "Business as Usual," which I think is one of the show's stronger Quark vehicles. Rather than putting put Quark’s conscience against his greed, as in some of the other (sub)standard Ferengi episodes, this one puts him through the paces as a result of desperation: he is utterly broke, about to lose the bar and his livelihood, with the implication that his debtors may literally kill him (“nothing but a greasy spot on the Promenade left”). Gaila comes and offers him a lifeline, and essentially his choice is between doing nothing and losing everything, maybe even dying, or sacrificing one of his relatively few cardinal rules for himself (no weapons) and becoming rich beyond his wildest dreams. On top of that, Quark is disconnected from the consequences of his weapons selling, and so can very safely rationalize the damage away. That Quark basically agrees with Gaila is not a surprise and it also reflects essentially the compromise that most people make at some point or another in their lives.

I agree with commenters above that the episode might have benefited more strongly from letting the question or whether or not weapons sales were actually immoral be a bit more ambiguous—that Hagath sold weapons to the Bajorans during the Occupation is a really nice touch, and one which the episode could have expanded on more—but I think that part of what makes this work is that selling weapons is, ultimately, not just morally but somewhat personally offensive to Quark’s code and values. Quark traffics in *pleasure*: he makes money by letting people eat and drink, have sex and other forms of recreation on the holosuite, and have the thrill of trying themselves to strike it rich at his casino games. He is very selfish, but does operate on a sort of Golden (Gold-Pressed-Latinum?) Rule, looking to benefit and be happy and acquire and get various pleasures and taking some sort of joy in making money by selling the same to others. When he was willing to bend his usual rules and sell weapons to Sakonna in “The Maquis,” he fairly quickly started explaining to her why she could take advantage of the opportunity to make peace. He is, as he and Gaila discuss, a people person, and he prefers dealing with people who want to eat and drink and be happy and get laid rather than people who get excited by the prospect of mass killing.

Quark feeling the chill from the others on the station, especially Dax, is pretty affecting. I agree that there is a level of hypocrisy to their extreme reaction to what he is doing when, after all, Hagath sold weapons to the Bajorans; the point, I think, is that they do not believe that Quark is selling weapons based on any kind of moral appraisal of how those weapons will be used, which for a time is pretty accurate. But anyway the real change is when he meets the Regent, by which time he is already in too deep to get out easily. The Regent really is just a psycho killer, without any of the rationalizations (some of which may even be accurate) that Quark can use about his business. Gaila gives the Harry Lime speech to Quark pretty effectively, when he talks about whether anyone would mind if one of those stars blinked out of existence. But that’s not Quark, who can’t himself let one of those lights blink out.

Part of what I like about the solution is that it plays on Quark’s limited abilities. Basically all the power Quark has is to negotiate and to use his people-person skills to manipulate people into going different places and to appraise how they will deal with that situation. It is actually a pretty morally dark thing for Quark to do, to put the Regent and his enemy in the room where they will probably kill each other, even if he protests that he did not expect that to happen. But it’s also about the only option open to him where he survives, and, importantly, the only option where the weapons don’t get sold. Let the crazy people kill each other and hope that the people who replace them in the chain of command are slightly less crazy. The episode’s decision to show Quark’s perspective on what happens, while Quark waits and watches security arrive, is pretty cool; Quark played a very dangerous game here, and did not even get the comfort of seeing it happen and play out. Unlike in “The House of Quark” (or “The Magnificent Ferengi”), there is not even the comic sense of satisfaction at heroism; Quark misses the action entirely, which makes Quark’s big risk play out without quite the heroic fanfare. It gives Quark’s pretty genuinely heroic action—he basically risked that he would be killed should the Gaila or Hagath or the Regent or the Regent’s enemy find out what he was doing ahead of time, let alone that he might go to jail if it went badly, for the sake of lives he did not know himself—a kind of humility, that Quark still basically has to hide and hope for the best. I think the somewhat unusual ending helps me deal with the fact that the episode still basically has Quark working for a psychopath helping other psychopaths kill people just until his own debts are wiped out; Quark ends with a self-sacrificial action, and one that earns him back a bit of what he lost socially in the meantime, but he does not get to play the traditional hero at the end by any means. It’s somehow just the right key for me.

I thought that Gaila was pretty effective, and Hagath was a weird, brazen joy. Laurence Tierny’s presence as the Regent was great as well. I have little to say about the subplot, but it was cute and I appreciate the chance to see a bit of everyday life for O’Brien and for Kirayoshi. I don’t think the episode quite achieves greatness, because the morality of weapons-selling is oversimplified and because, while I like the ending, in some senses Quark does get off too easy (his debt being wiped out before he has to parachute out). A solid 3 stars overall.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2016, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. This site is an independent publication that is in no way affiliated with any company or entity that produces the subjects reviewed here. | Copyright & Disclaimer