Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Rejoined"

***1/2

Air date: 10/30/1995
Teleplay by Ronald D. Moore & Rene Echevarria
Story by Rene Echevarria
Directed by Avery Brooks

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"You came here for advice from a friend, and that's exactly what you're getting." — Sisko to Dax

Nutshell: A beautifully crafted love story with some intellectually astute subtexts. Very nice.

I know there are going to be people out there who are going to be watching "Rejoined," and when the moment comes when they see two female characters kissing on the screen, they're going to immediately label the show as preachy, liberal, politically correct dogma that sides with homosexual tolerance. If they don't, they'll probably say the show is trying to stir controversy in a cry for attention.

The episode really does neither of the above.

While I would have nothing at all against a Star Trek story that deals with homosexual issues, this is not really the focus of "Rejoined." This episode is a love story—plain and simple—and it's one of Trek's better love stories. It has a fresh Trill twist that proves to be a very effective storytelling conduit. (Leave all the Trill manipulation up to Rene Echevarria, DS9's resident expert on Trill customs and culture.)

A brilliant Trill scientist, Dr. Lenara Kahn (Susanna Thompson), comes to the station to test some possibly ground-breaking research: the attempted formation of an artificial wormhole. Dax knew Kahn in a previous life—they were, in fact, married. At that time, Dax was Torias Dax and Kahn was Linale Kahn. Torias, however, died in a shuttle accident, leaving Linale a widow. The Dax symbiont was passed to a new host, and Dax never saw Kahn again...until now, several host lifetimes later.

And in the present, there is room only for discomfort. One of Trill's strongest taboos forbids "reassociations"—that is, the active pursuit of reestablishing intimate relationships from past lifetimes. The taboo makes sense from what we know about Trills; since each host is supposed to lead its own life and live new experiences, it stands to reason that turning around and living and old life a second time would be counterproductive to a symbiont's interests. Furthermore, pursuing a reassociation is grounds for exile from the Trill homeworld, and means the symbiont would die with its host since it would not be able to be joined again.

So Kahn and Dax find themselves reunited for the first time in generations, and it takes neither of them much time to realize they still have feelings for one another. "Rejoined" isn't about whether or not they have these feelings, it's about what they choose to do about it. And the reason this works so well as a character show is because it feels like rational people trying to make rational decisions. There isn't excessive plot getting in the way here, which is refreshing.

From the moment the two set foot in the same room everyone is staring at them—as if to make sure they stay out of trouble. In an early formal party scene, the two can't come within five feet of each other without the entire room casting a suspicious eye in their direction. And on the bridge of the Defiant during wormhole experimentation, Lenara's aide Dr. Pren (James Noah) begins to notice what he suspects is a more-than-simply-professional relationship. Pren tells Lenara's brother Bejal (Tim Ryan) what's going on, and this leads to a very sensible and relevant scene where Bejal tries to dissuade his sister from playing with fire.

Lenara tells Bejal that there's nothing going on and that she has no intention of allowing anything to come out of her past relationship with Dax. But as she says this it's obvious she's on the fence—that she wants to succumb to her desires but hasn't decided whether she can do it or not.

Dax, on the other hand, "with that little bit of rebellious Curzon in her," barely has a doubt about what she intends to do. She wants to throw herself at Lenara even if it means being exiled from Trill and causing her symbiont to be condemned to die when she dies. Dax goes to Sisko for advice, which leads to a scene that really hits home where Sisko forcefully reminds Dax that a Trill's most important responsibility is safeguarding the best interests of the symbiont. This scene is the show's best—it highlights what an asset the Sisko/Dax relationship can be to the series. When Dax tells Sisko that she didn't come to him for a lecture, Sisko's response "You came here for advice from a friend, and that's exactly what you're getting," is perfect in both delivery and content. It goes a long way to highlighting the severity of the consequences Jadzia would face should she go through with this. When she does indeed decide to pursue it, it feels like a dynamic and refreshing turn of the character, and allows Terry Farrell to display more depth than she is often permitted in plot-driven episodes.

The question becomes whether or not Lenara is willing to face the consequences. Simply put, she isn't. She wants to be with Dax, but the price for going against the custom is just too high for her to deal with.

The interesting thing about "Rejoined" is how all of this comes together and what all of the characters represent. Dr. Pren is the character who believes in the custom. Jadzia is the one who wants to thwart it. Lenara wants the benefits of thwarting it, but can't accept the punishments. In complicated issues as such, all of these sides exist. Avery Brooks' direction of these complex characters feels right on target.

As for the much-ballyhooed kiss: It's not what this show rides on. "Rejoined" is about a situation and how the characters deal with it. Those who see the show as "my god—two women are kissing" are completely missing the point. I think the kiss was put in there simply as a contemporary metaphor to get the point across of how the reassociation is taboo in Trill culture. Obviously (as demonstrated by the dialogue between Kira and Bashir), no one in the 24th century has a problem with same-sex relationships.

"Rejoined" isn't a particularly ground-breaking hour in the way it ultimately affects the characters or the series. Instead, it's an example of plausible, compelling, character-driven storytelling. The characters drive the plot instead of the plot driving the characters. The result is an episode that feels dramatically real and believable.

Previous episode: Indiscretion
Next episode: Little Green Men

Season Index

63 comments on this review

Mark Oates - Sun, Oct 12, 2008 - 11:01pm (USA Central)
Well, I certainly didn't expect this episode. It reminded me of "Plato's Stepchildren" from TOS with the interracial kiss. Also a side note, Starship Down is the next episode, then Little Green Men.
David Payne - Tue, Oct 21, 2008 - 8:16pm (USA Central)
Just watched this episode for the first time in years. Very good but I hated the long exposition scene at the start between Kira and Bashir that telegraphs the whole episode. This seemed to happen a lot after Ira Behr took the reins. Did he think we're all dumb and need everything explaining slowly?
Lenore - Mon, May 4, 2009 - 9:12am (USA Central)
It's been a while since I saw this episode, but the injunction against taking up with previous partners always seemed to me to be very contrived and irrational.

Consider the illogic of the premise: "The continuation of the symbiont is paramount to Trill society. It must not be allowed to stagnate by reassociating with previous partners. If you do this... we'll banish you. Thereby, um, killing the symbiont." What?

And if they feel so strongly about reassociating with romantic partners, why is there no injunction against reassociating with friends, as Dax and Sisko have, or as Dax does every time the Klingons show up, or as Ezri does when she basically adopts Jadzia's life? It's exile and symbiont-death to sleep with your ex, but okay-dandy-fine to hang out with all your other old buddies?

Someone did NOT think this through. Whatever other positives the episode had, the illogic just kills it for me.
Destructor - Sun, Jul 12, 2009 - 8:01pm (USA Central)
I love this episode. Quick side note, however: Lenara Khan's previous host was Nelani, not Linale.
Carl - Sat, Oct 31, 2009 - 8:07pm (USA Central)
As David states above, the exposition scene in this episode is awful. I couldn't concentrate for the next 10 minutes because I was fuming so much for being presumed dense, and by then I had lost interest in the episode completely. I can understand why clumsy exposition is sometimes necessary, but there was nothing stated in that scene which I couldn't have figured out based on the remainder of the episode. Furthermore, it really was clumsier exposition than any I have ever seen before, and I'm a 'Captain Scarlet' fan!
Sam - Fri, Nov 6, 2009 - 6:21am (USA Central)
I couldn't stand this episode. All issues aside, the soap opera acting/dialogue between Dax and Kahn in their final scene was truly cringe inducing. People who made a big deal about the lesbian kiss (including the producers, who went out of their way to mention it well in advance of the show's airing) were in my mind ranting much ado about nothing, as the whole affair was too soap opera-y to even be worthy of controversy. And unfortunately, it seemed like they did cook up this clever sci-fi concept to try and appear controversial... which seems sort of counterproductive given that homesexuality isn't supposed to be an issue in Star Trek's 24th century. Anyway, I just watched this episode again hoping I could be repersuaded. But I wasn't.
Humuna Humuna - Fri, Nov 20, 2009 - 5:35am (USA Central)
Terry Farrell is hot! Nana visitor is not!
Nic - Tue, Dec 1, 2009 - 9:27pm (USA Central)
THIS is it. THIS is the episode, in seven years of DS9 (along with "Duet") that moved me to tears. Both Farrell and Thompson deliver flawless performances (Avery Brooks too) and I think the episode managed to have its cake and eat it too by not having any character ever mention that the relationship is homosexual (thereby showing that in 24th century it is a non-issue) and by using the Trill taboo to address a 20th-century situation.

As for those who think the taboo is implausible, maybe Michael Piller (who came up with the concept in the second season) can convince you:
"I feel they'd have a very strict taboo in order to avoid an aristocracy of the joined. Otherwise, they'd only want to hang out with each other, their dear old friends from five hundred years ago, and it would become a really screwed up society."
Patrick Stewart 4 President - Fri, Dec 4, 2009 - 12:31am (USA Central)
It must be that I'm getting older or something, but upon recent viewing this episode actually moved me very much. For Dax's character, this is a tragedy of huge proportions. The first really good Dax character piece, much better than any previous attempts. And finally an opportunity for Terry Farrel to show off her acting skills. They were there all along, who knew? Agree with 3.5 stars (looses half a star for too much technobabble and some hokey scenes).
Jeff - Fri, Mar 12, 2010 - 3:48pm (USA Central)
On it's own merits this is a great episode, but the taboo of reassociation just doesn't make sense in the long run. If that were true Jadzia would never have been assigned to DS9 in the first place.

That aside, I appreciated the depth of the love story and I was pleased to see a lot of passion in their kiss. It made sense for the kiss to portrayed the way it was, because here are two souls finding each other again.

A great episode, but for the long term continuity glitch.
Nic - Mon, Nov 1, 2010 - 1:23pm (USA Central)
Why would the taboo prevent Jadzia from being assigned to DS9? Curzon and Sisko were never in an "intimate" relationship, and I don't think he knew anyone else assigned to the station. If any future episodes ignoreed the taboo (Worf/Ezri comes to mind) then that's a problem with the series and definitely not with "Rejoined."
Jacob Sisko - Tue, Dec 7, 2010 - 4:39pm (USA Central)
This episode seemed so contrived. It seemed like the writers were just looking for an excuse to be daring and controversial. Why should the symbiant's former hosts have such dominance over the current host? Shouldn't Jadzia have the freedom to pursue her own love interests? I was a big Jadzia fan in the early seasons, but lately it seems her individuality and personality have been completely buried by the symbiant. Which brings up another thought; the more hosts a symbiant has in its lifetime, the less impact each host brings relative to the total number of hosts.
jon - Fri, Feb 4, 2011 - 12:13pm (USA Central)
I think the taboo with reassociation could be read as an allegory surronding people's attidudes to homosexuality.

Incidentally it's very sad that for a show that prides on being progressive LGBT people have been ignored.
Elliott - Sat, Jul 16, 2011 - 2:42am (USA Central)
Agree with the soap opera acting comment.
Agree that the Trill Taboo is constantly in danger of collapsing on itself as a concept given the dialogue here.

The only thing making this episode watchable is Worf's line about Klingon dreams.

I think the whole character of Dax simply needed a vessel which could convince the audience of its superhuman personality, something Farrel never came close to realising.
Fortyseven - Sun, Jul 31, 2011 - 7:04pm (USA Central)
Huh. I didn't realize the kiss in this episode was a "thing". The scene came and went and I didn't really think too much about it. Well, outside of what any other straight male might think, of course. :P

I guess I just assumed this episode was aired outside of that whole "you can't show THAT on TV" era. :P
Nathan - Sun, Oct 16, 2011 - 2:55am (USA Central)
The Trill are going to be fucked in a million years after they've run through all the combinations of romantic couples.
Krysik - Thu, Oct 20, 2011 - 1:37pm (USA Central)
Ok, so how did the Trill become wormhole experts? Why is it a good idea to create an artificial wormhole? I felt a little concerned there wasn't some approval process by the Federation. I didn't buy into this love thing unless love is just another program based on memory that could be on a holosuite program. But love isn't only memory so it makes no sense to me, it was just an excuse to have girls kiss.
Rentahs - Fri, Jan 6, 2012 - 11:36pm (USA Central)
Worst. Episode. Ever.
Tom - Fri, Apr 27, 2012 - 8:06pm (USA Central)
Great episode, great acting from Terry Farrell and Susana Thompson.
Jeri - Thu, May 3, 2012 - 7:05pm (USA Central)
I love this episode. The performances were phenomenal(Terry Farrell was outstanding and so was the actress who pLAYED Kahn).
Sam - Sun, Jun 24, 2012 - 5:01pm (USA Central)
A beautiful and thought provoking episode with excellent performances. A stand out episode for the series!
TMLS - Tue, Jun 26, 2012 - 11:57am (USA Central)
Beautiful episode, and really can't believe in this day and age (and even the day and age in which it was broadcast) that it's such an issue.

But I know that it was, I was about 18 when this was first shown - and we'd had a big furore in the UK a couple of years earlier when a major continuing drama had a similar kiss.

Oh and I know that it is - I love America, but the fact that there are still so many states against same-sex unions (formalised or other) saddens me - and I say that as a straight male, have no bias forming my opinion.
Gaius Maximus - Sat, Jul 7, 2012 - 8:13pm (USA Central)
I thought this was an excellent episode. Just rewatched it and thought it was actually a lot better than I remembered.

As for the reassociation taboo, this is not (I think) ever spelled out, but it seems clear to me that it applies only to romantic partners and only to other Trill. It's okay for Jadzia to hang out with Sisko and Ezri with Worf because Sisko and Worf will die and not be reincarnated, so there is no danger of the symbiont going back to be with them forever, as there would be with another Trill. Furthermore, Dr. Kahn tells her brother that she and Dax are only friends, and seems to expect that to be acceptable, so it seems clear that it's only romantic relationships that are a problem, not any relations at all. It would probably be impractical to keep formerly involved symbionts from ever crossing paths again in any case, especially given that joined Trill seem to occupy the upper echelons of Trill society.
Pike - Sat, Jul 14, 2012 - 8:41pm (USA Central)
That was an excellent episode!
The Emissary - Sun, Aug 5, 2012 - 11:48am (USA Central)
Great episode! I love Jadzia Dax!
Steve - Mon, Aug 13, 2012 - 11:57am (USA Central)
The episode had its strong points (i.e. Worf's comments about Klingon dreams), but I agree with those who say that scene near the end was a little soap-operaish. Dax just comes off as completely unreasonable. Exile and death are, um, pretty big deals. No normal-thinking person would get that upset over someone else choosing to avoid those fates. Thus, the drama seems forced.

But I will stick up for this episode on one point. I noticed several posters commenting that the taboo against rejoining was implausibly "contrived and irrational." Hey uh, contrived and irrational social taboos? Wasn't that the point? Did you guys hear woosh sound as this episode went over your heads at warp speed?
Cail Corishev - Mon, Sep 17, 2012 - 4:04pm (USA Central)
I hate to agree with Elliot, but the Trill concept is always in danger of falling apart, and it would have taken a much better actress to have any chance of conveying multiple lifetimes of emotion. (To be fair to Terry Farrell, I'm not sure anyone really could.)

Star Trek done well uses alien situations to comment on the human condition. But take two humans out of their bodies and put them in two different ones -- different sex, even -- and they won't be drawn to each other. We (especially men) don't work that way; odds are we'd be too creeped out to even be around the person. Our bodies aren't hosts; they're part of who we are. So there's nothing to relate to here; it's not analogous to any human experience.

As for the hott girl-on-girl action, they could have had Dax's ex be in a male host. So they clearly chose to play it for controversy with the audience, while writing the episode as if that were irrelevant. Kinda cheap, but whatever. I suppose by today's standards, to get a rise out of the audience, the two ladies would need to have a nekkid three-way oo-max session with Quark.
Nick P. - Mon, Jan 7, 2013 - 11:48pm (USA Central)
OK, so I will say what at this point is blindingly obvious, Terry Ferrel is a terrible actress. I was really into this episode until every scene in which Dax said something. Honestly, that last scene in the quarters I started laughing and woke my wife up, that was awful. And it is too bad, that actress opposite her was actually doing a good job.

Further, why is going back to Trill for a little while to think about whether or not love is worth DYING a BAD thing? The last 10 minutes of this one sunk an already sinking ship in my opinion.
Xariann - Sat, May 18, 2013 - 7:21pm (USA Central)
I just watched the episode for the first time and it moved me very much. Maybe it was because it touched some things that are close to home for me, but I thought it was great.

I did think the exposition was a bit long. I think they were trying to spell out the reasons for the taboo and convince the audience of its validity because it was a weak point.

I don't agree with the fact that the last dialogue was bad however. But I don't really watch soap opera so I can't compare ;)
Ginger Malone - Wed, Jun 5, 2013 - 4:54pm (USA Central)
This is the episode that I realized that it was ok to be me. I knew I liked women when I was 10 years old. This episode aired my senior year of high school.

Even though the focus of this episode is not "lesbians" or bisexuality, up until this episode aired, I thought there was something wrong with me. I thought I had been born wrong.

This episode made me realize that love isn't right or wrong, it just is. And that that was ok.

And that meant that I was ok. This episode made me believe in and love myself for the first time.
ProgHead777 - Mon, Jul 22, 2013 - 12:09am (USA Central)
I agree with Jammer that the scene where Dax goes to Sisko for advice is the best in the entire episode. It was especially moving when Sisko tells her that, if she decides to pursue a relationship with Kahn, he will "back [Dax] all the way." The emotion in his voice and in his eyes was completely real and put a lump in my throat. Avery goddamn Brooks, man. What an actor.
Sean - Fri, Aug 16, 2013 - 4:44am (USA Central)
@Ginger Malone:

Wow - that's awesome, Ginger!

I really, really like this episode - and now, after reading what a difference it made for you, I'll think about your story every time I think about the episode :)

Wonderful to realize that something I enjoy watching has made an ACTUAL, positive, life-changing difference in another viewers life!
ZurielSeven - Mon, Aug 19, 2013 - 9:45pm (USA Central)
So - what *do* Klingons dream about?

"Things that would send cold chills down your spine... and wake you in the middle of the night. No, no - it is better that you do not know!"

And all delivered deadpan? Michael Dorn nailed that!
eastwest101 - Sat, Sep 7, 2013 - 10:57pm (USA Central)
Cringeworthy and predictable 0 out of 5
dikelove - Wed, Oct 9, 2013 - 4:42pm (USA Central)
I wanted to watch them scissor each other and I loved the episode
Kotas - Wed, Oct 23, 2013 - 12:47pm (USA Central)

A decent episode that was likely quite controversial at the time of its release.

5/10
Jack - Tue, Dec 31, 2013 - 9:14pm (USA Central)
All the breathless melodrama during the chat with Sisko about exile being a huge price to pay falls a bit flat when you consider what Jadzia was willing to do in "Meridian". I don't even think it was mentioned in that episode that she had a symbiont, and there was no indication that the guy she fell for had any idea that she did either.

As others have mentioned, the whole Trill concept is chronically on the verge of falling apart. It is stated that the symbiont is of the highest concern, but Jadzia not only was willing to self-exile in "Meridian", but she allowed herself to "have her molecules scrambled in the transporter for 6 hours", which can;t have been too healthy for the Dax symbiont.
William B - Tue, Dec 31, 2013 - 10:11pm (USA Central)
"All the breathless melodrama during the chat with Sisko about exile being a huge price to pay falls a bit flat when you consider what Jadzia was willing to do in "Meridian"."

Ah, I think I've spotted your problem. The correct answer is always: never, ever consider "Meridian." :)
K'Elvis - Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - 8:28am (USA Central)
The Trill taboo on reassociation seems like a big bluff. The number of Trill who wish to be joined is far greater than the number of available symbionts. We already know that far more people are capable of being joined than the Trill government admits. Would they really forbid the symbiont from taking a new host? And even if they did, they couldn't actually prevent the symbiont from finding a new host - there would be a great many people who would accept an unapproved joining, it's not that complicated a procedure. We've seen that there exist Trill who will steal a symbiont, there would certainly be many more who would be joined without the approval of the Trill government.

Taboos are often not wholly arbitrary, they generally make more sense the more you understand about the culture. The Trill taboo on reassociation makes sense. Reassociation would result in joined Trill becoming increasingly walled off from the rest of Trill society, which could result in an unhealthy concentration of power.
Jack - Wed, Jan 29, 2014 - 11:16pm (USA Central)
@ William B

believe me I try not to ;)

Jons - Sun, Feb 2, 2014 - 12:04pm (USA Central)
"I wouldn't have a problem with star trek dealing with homosexual issues"

Really, Jammer? You mean like episodes dealing with Black issues when we see Jake and Sisko? Having gay characters isn't being preachy or being "about homosexual issues" - it's just, you know, life.

Star trek's refusal to have characters that are also gay is ridiculous and offensive, but understandable since Bergman is a well-known homophobe who did everything he could to censor possible gay content.

I know straight people don't understand why it's important. But what would ypu say if the show only had white males in it? If in 28 seasons not a single female or non-white human had appeared? Would that be "staying neutral and family-friendly" or racist and mysogynistic? I'm sure in 1967 Mississippi the answer to this question we would now find unacceptable...
Dusty - Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - 8:25pm (USA Central)
It's really not logical to complain about soap opera acting and clumsy exposition, when Star Trek has always been a serial drama in space meant to appeal to a wide audience. Those things are going to happen. xD

Anyway, I think is a great episode that has nothing to do with gay relationships, and everything to do with love. It brings up the classic theme of forbidden attraction and explores it in the DS9 universe--successfully, I might add (unlike some other episodes I could name). Asking "why don't the Trills realize this custom is unreasonable?" is like asking "why don't the Montagues and the Capulets just kiss and make up?" It's not meant to be reasonable; it's meant to be an insurmountable obstacle that makes their relationship compelling.

Once again, the character of Jadzia is most interesting to me when she's reminiscing about past lives and showing some of that strength and defiance Curzon had, and she certainly did so here. Lenara just wasn't ready to deal with the consequences of rejoining, and that's why she left. In the long run, I think it was the best thing for both of them--not because they had that history, not because they're both women, but because both of them had far too much to lose.
Vylora - Sun, Feb 23, 2014 - 1:45am (USA Central)
Ginger, I don't know if you still view this site, but your comment really moved me. I actually feel honored to have read your post and thank you dearly for posting it. :)

As for the episode - great example of a Star Trek bottle-episode love story that can be done well. And is done very well.

3.5 stars.
Corey - Sun, Feb 23, 2014 - 7:17am (USA Central)
TNG also had a similar "homosexuality/transvestite" allegory episode, though I forget the title.

I've always viewed Dax as an attempt by the series' creators to make a statement on non-heteronormative sexuality and gender-identity. Aside from REJOINED and PRODIGAL DAUGHTER, DS9 really didn't explore this issue, which is good in a way. It simply accepted interspecies relationships and transexuality as perfectly normal.
Today's - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 7:40am (USA Central)
What ruins this episode for me is the casting of the two trills: both very pretty, young, slim, feminine. In other words, the stock "lesbian fantasy" of many men.

Far more daring would have been to bring back Dax's old flame in an unattractive form: a pudgy matron or a balding guy with bad teeth. It is a disturbing dishonesty that the two women fall all over each other at first sight and never admit (as the episode never admits to the audience) "Isn't it great our new hosts are physically lovely? I probably wouldn't want to break taboos with you if you were sixty, disfigured, or fat.".

We are supposed to think the ep breaks barriers by showing "gender doesn't matter" but it sure does a fine job of tacitly shows us exactly what DOES matter. This is especially jarring coming so soon after "Facets," in which a whole lotta people told Jadzia that her beauty was her major attribute.

Elliott - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 9:27am (USA Central)
It isn't fair to fault this episode in particular for bating the young Herero male audience as EVERY female character in the franchise (except Pulaski) is portrayed by a gorgeous woman. It's TV.
Yanks - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 9:37am (USA Central)
Reloined is nothing more that Hollywood liberals forcing homsexuality down our throats. The exact same story could have been told with a male.

Not ground breaking at all.

Elliott - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 9:40am (USA Central)
Okay, new rule : homophobes have to use a different turn of phrase to decry homosexuality than "shove it down our throats." I'm just swimming in the irony which is dripping here.
Paul M. - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 7:22pm (USA Central)
@Elliott: "EVERY female character in the franchise (except Pulaski) is portrayed by a gorgeous woman."

Hey, hey, hey there! Diana Muldaur is a very pretty woman. Reconsider your position or I will be forced to resort to punitive measures.

www.startrek.com/uploads/assets/articles/Diana-Muldaur1.jpg
www.fanphobia.net/uploads/actors/19584/Diana-Muldaur-in--Alex-Cord.jpg
Andy's Friend - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 7:59pm (USA Central)
@Elliott and Paul M.: Hehe, sorry, Elliott, but I have to agree with the M. man on this one: Muldaur was hawt back in the 60s ;)

About the gay issue: there will be no gays in the 24th century. Just like any other "abnormality", we will have eradicated it by the 22nd century at the very latest as soon as genetic engineering becomes widely available. No fat people, no short, bald guys, no albinos, nothing. The real Picard will have forgotten how to say "Vive la différence!". Such is the vanity of men. And women. And parents. Alas, future mankind will be a poorer one...
Andy's Friend - Mon, Mar 10, 2014 - 7:12pm (USA Central)
@Ginger: although I stand by my previous comment (I hope you understood that it was no criticism), I would like you to know how much I, just like Sean and Vylora above, appreciated your comment. Thanks for sharing. It warms my heart to know that the franchise I care so much for actually has meant just a little more than that to some people out there. Thank you.
Guy - Sat, Mar 15, 2014 - 10:23pm (USA Central)
"You mean like episodes dealing with Black issues when we see Jake and Sisko?"

It's most certainly important to have depictions of all kinds of people in the media, but I think the reason the word "issue" was used is because, this being Star Trek, a depiction of gay love probably WOULD be an issue - there would be some social commentary to it. Gay marriage is, unfortunately, a controversial topic in America today, even moreso in the '90's, and thus it would actually be an issue. Two guys weren't just going to kiss on DS9 as a piece of characterization; it would be politicized, even if only as a throwaway comment. That's what Star Trek does. On a different note, it would entail an actual plot point - Odo having sexual relations with another man, or other characters referencing that Odo is gay in dialogue, i.e., something that actually happens on the show. Ben and Jake's dark skin aren't a plot point because it doesn't have to be pointed out to be noticed. I think you're making way more out of the word "issue" than is warranted.

"I know straight people don't understand why it's important."

Since you made a passive aggressive on double standards in your post, I suggest you try replacing the word "straight" in the above sentence with "gay" or "black" and see how that sounds. Don't make sweeping generalizations, especially if you're just quibbling semantically over a non-issue.

Guy - Sat, Mar 15, 2014 - 10:23pm (USA Central)
passive aggressive attack*
Trekker - Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 2:12pm (USA Central)
It's a fine episode for introducing a bisexual character to Star Trek franchise, Star Trek is not as groundbreaking with its lesbian characters as Babylon 5 in the 90's. I prefer B5 for its human stories in this regard, but liked DS9 for its racial issues point. Both had good points about religion, fanaticism, and government.

America today is moving towards tolerance and acceptance of everyone in our society, including homosexuals. If we are going to remain a free society, we can't hold double standards for one group versus another.

As for the gay marriage issue; I personally have nothing against it. I also don't think we can create a "Separate, but equal" mentality in our society to give religious observances exemptions, because it creates too many holes for economic and social issues, in a way that is antithetical to free market principles and more akin to a theocratic state. Socially, I find it kind of disturbing that the same people that talk about free markets would impose restriction based on arbitrary concepts such as the word of a human intermediary interpretation of religious text and doctrine.

For the overall love story, it is fine and works well; except for the exposition.

I would give it 8/10, good episode, but nothing groundbreaking
Rivus - Mon, Apr 28, 2014 - 9:30pm (USA Central)
Welllp... While this may not be an 'obligatory politically correct gay pairing episode' in the traditional sense, it's obvious that, by the backwards and imposing Trill customs and reaction, that it's meant to be an allegory for current issues in our own society. That being said, that's not what killed it for me (quite the contrary, I thought it was a clever and novel clusterfark of an idea). It was the all-too-predictable plot and overuse of technobabble early on in the episode. Hell, I'd be the first to say that technobabble doesn't bother me in most of Trek, but in this episode it felt considerably more forced than I remember it.

Great scenes at Quark's in the early scenes, Worf not elaborating on Klingon dreams, and of course the Sisko giving advice scene, though... The latter two bringing back fond memories of TNG. I'd say this warrants 2 and 1/2 stars, but could have been more had the execution been better.

Also, re:'Terry Farrell can't act'...
She's not *terrible* (oh hi Marina Sirtis and Wil Wheaton's doofy smile), but when you look at her along with her resume that she has being a fashion model under her belt, the fact that Trills were completely redesigned for her character, AND she gets the 'lesbian' make-out scene... It's more than a little obvious why she has the part, and that's because provided eye candy. Not to mention the fact that she consistently is surrounded by broadway and shakespearean actors in Visitor, Brooks, and Rene's characters probably making her look worse in comparison.
Paul - Tue, Apr 29, 2014 - 11:47am (USA Central)
@Rivus: Sorry, it sort of IS that Terry Farrell can't act. She's by far the weakest actor in DS9 -- even deBoer was stronger, IMO.
Joseph B - Sat, Jul 26, 2014 - 3:10am (USA Central)
Just finished viewing the first season of "Arrow" which is a new super hero series based on the "Green Arrow" comics series. The show utilizes the tone of "The Dark Knight" movie to good effect and is reasonably entertaining as a result.

While viewing the eps it seemed to me that there was something hauntingly familiar about the actress playing Oliver Green's mother. Sure enough, it’s the same actress that played Lenara Kahn in this groundbreaking (at the time) DS9 ep. It seems incredible that this episode aired almost twenty years ago. And Susanna Thompson is still a very capable and attractive actress even after all this time.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 2:24pm (USA Central)
This episode is a tough one to accurately review because you will get labeled and criticized for speaking the truth.

Bashir: “So when the hosts die, the symbionts die with them. So you see, even if Dax does harbor feelings for Lenara, she can't take that risk. For a joined Trill, nothing is more important than to protect the life of the symbiont. Nothing.” – except in Meridian I’m guessing, right Jadzia?

Jammer: "I know there are going to be people out there who are going to be watching "Rejoined," and when the moment comes when they see two female characters kissing on the screen, they're going to immediately label the show as preachy, liberal, politically correct dogma that sides with homosexual tolerance. If they don't, they'll probably say the show is trying to stir controversy in a cry for attention.

The episode really does neither of the above."

That's just plain incorrect Jammer. If none of the above was applicable, why cast a female instead of a male to play Kahn?

Jammer: "Those who see the show as "my god—two women are kissing" are completely missing the point."

I'd say those that don't see it for what it is are intentionally blind to the obvious.

The exact same story could have been told with a male as Khan and/or without the kiss. Exact same story. Knowing that, just what is the point of this episode? Oh, …. A taboo… got it. (wink)

@ Elliot. I'm not a homophobe.

Let's think this through.

Moore: "Hey, I have a great idea about a trill episode. We have said that trills revisiting past love interests is taboo in the trill culture, so let’s visit it!"

Echevarria: "Yeah, that sounds great. I'll start looking for a good looking guy to play..."

Moore: "No, no , no… (snicker)... let's put Jadzia's old flame in a FEmale body!! (rubs hands together)...

Echevarria: "But that will come off as a homosexual, something Berman..."

Moore: "... don't worry. We can hide it under the guise of a "love story”... we can talk our way out of this one, let’s call it ‘reassociation’…, you know – it will be kind of like when Kirk was “forced” to kiss Uhura” All the LGBT Trek fans will finally be vilified and we won’t have to listen to them complain anymore.”

So they cast the wonderful and beautiful Susanne Thompson who acts circles around whomever she’s with in this episode (including Terry by a long shot). Totally agree with Sam above, the last scene between Dax and Khan was almost unwatchable.

This has to be considered a titillation / attention grabbing thing because as a homosexual statement it falls flat. Taboos win the day! All the LBGT community gets is a lesbo kiss! Why not add the Lenara character as a reoccurring character? Let this play out for a few episodes even if it doesn’t last? What’s another reoccurring character in DS9? ... especially one of the talent of Susanne.

This was homosexuality delivered in prime-time. Hell, they (Trill) even label the taboo “unnatural”. What upsets me is they (the writers) don’t own it and everyone else deflects/dodges the issue. Hell, they are so worried about it that Bashir and Kira all but tell us what’s coming right up front. (Here it comes…. get ready to hide the children!!) This is no different than showing T’Pol’s buttcrack in Harbinger.

Sure hope Joran doesn’t influence Jadzia so easily…

Interesting story, and Susanne was fantastic as always. The reassociation/taboo thing actually makes sense (as stated above) and should have been elaborated on in the episode; especially because of how it ended… Just how broad of an experience would being married to the same person (trill) for 250 years be? etc… hmmm….. couldn’t the argument be made that joined Trills should never marry another joined Trill?

... good thing Jadzia wasn’t a dude, eh?

3 stars because I love Susanne Thompson. Trek almost made a statement here, but again devolved to the lowest common denominator. It’s hard to believe that folks complain about Seven & T’Pol’s catsuit and can’t see that this is the same thing

P.S. ..... and Ginger, good for you.
Peremensoe - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 4:16pm (USA Central)
Cail Corishev: "But take two humans out of their bodies and put them in two different ones -- different sex, even -- and they won't be drawn to each other. We (especially men) don't work that way; odds are we'd be too creeped out to even be around the person. Our bodies aren't hosts; they're part of who we are. So there's nothing to relate to here; it's not analogous to any human experience."

This strikes me as a pretty narrow view, most especially for a science-fiction fan. Have you never heard of a human relationship that survived a massive, body-changing trauma to one of its members? Have you never enjoyed speculation about what the (post-biological?) future of human consciousness might be?

"As for the hott girl-on-girl action, they could have had Dax's ex be in a male host. So they clearly chose to play it for controversy with the audience, while writing the episode as if that were irrelevant."

But that's exactly what makes it clever, that it *works* both ways.

If a man had portrayed Dax's past-life love interest, it would not have been so clear that their bond was not about the bodies they presently inhabit. It would have looked like Jadzia's other dalliances (all heterosexual, though often cross-species, IIRC).

Certainly the writers were aware of their/our real-world social context at the time, but the commentary on same-sex relationships we find here operates on a different level than the significance for the characters.

Nic: "I think the episode managed to have its cake and eat it too by not having any character ever mention that the relationship is homosexual (thereby showing that in 24th century it is a non-issue) and by using the Trill taboo to address a 20th-century situation."

Exactly.


Yanks, if you're not a homophobe as you say, then how does a brief appearance of "homosexuality delivered in prime-time" constitute "Hollywood liberals forcing homsexuality down our throats"? Whatever their reasons were, then, for framing the story this way, why does it upset you so now?

Also, please check on that word "vilified" before using it again. I'm guessing you meant either "vindicated" or "mollified."
Yanks - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 4:58pm (USA Central)
@ Peremensoe

"Yanks, if you're not a homophobe as you say, then how does a brief appearance of "homosexuality delivered in prime-time" constitute "Hollywood liberals forcing homsexuality down our throats"? Whatever their reasons were, then, for framing the story this way, why does it upset you so now?"

I thought I was pretty clear. They didn't own it. Having their cake and eating it too is a cheat. You call it clever. To each his own.

"Also, please check on that word "vilified" before using it again. I'm guessing you meant either "vindicated" or "mollified.""

Yup, you're right. Thanks.

Peremensoe - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 5:36pm (USA Central)
What would "owning it" look like? Must there be bigotry expressed by a character on screen?
Yanks - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 5:50pm (USA Central)
Forget it, it was a Garak quote.
don joe - Sun, Nov 9, 2014 - 5:28pm (USA Central)
I see a lot of discussion of homosexuality here, but I actually thought that the strenght of "Rejoined" was that it was never mentioned. It was only about love. That's for the best in my opinion, you can't get over prejudices if you don't stop labeling some things (or people).

It did seem to me a little over the top, the kind of passion that was portrayed. I can imagine having memories of a lover from a past life, and being attracted to them even if they changed body, but, with Trills, we've been repeatedly told that it's not just about the bodies. The symbionts retain the memories and traits from their hosts, and Jadzia Dax has always been the first to say that she 'is not Curzon', and things like that. I guess this was unimportant - who says Lenara Kahn and Jadzia Dax can't feel for each other like Torias Dax and Nilani Kahn did? In any case this didn't ruin the episode for me, the message went through very clearly.

Also it occurred to me that this is something of a character trait of Jadzia: she falls fast and deeply.

As a side note. Some days ago, here in Italy, people actually protested (standing silently in the town square I understand, very civilized-like, like wasn't happening in a while) against the new laws pro homosexual unions. Yes, no gay marriage here yet.

Just think about the contrast between a story like this, about a romance outside of gender/sexual boundaries, and the reality where people actually go out of their way to prevent other human beings from gaining a right.

Was it preaching? I'm not saying. I guess it can't be denied that "Rejoined" criticized this kind of attitude, but I think it did it in a constructive manner: it showed, in fact, that it doesn't have to matter.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer