Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Crossfire"

***

Air date: 1/29/1996
Written by Rene Echevarria
Directed by Les Landau

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"People see you as the guy who always gets his man. Now you're becoming the guy who tears up his quarters and sits alone in the rubble. And no one is going to want to place bets on how long someone's going to sit around in the dark." — Quark to Odo

Nutshell: Not riveting, but quiet and sincerely performed. Some particularly good dialog between Odo and Quark stands out.

Well, it's been almost exactly one year since we last saw this thread. I'm referring of course to the buried feelings of love Odo has for Kira, which seemed to climax in the so-so episode "Heart of Stone," before that episode revealed in its closing scenes that the entire show was, in essence, a Dominion trick on its outcast shapeshifter.

And finally the creators have decided to return to it and deal with it—once and for all. While, admittedly, seeing whether or not two members of its cast are going to pair up is one of the last reasons I watch DS9, "Crossfire" deals with the material effectively and plausibly, and without getting too trite in the process. This is a very, very simple episode. There's not much plot here to occupy your brain, but that's not the episode's purpose. What is "Crossfire"? (Well, besides an episode with a somewhat misleading title that sounds like an action/adventure outing?) "Crossfire" is, in a word, "pleasant."

The show was written by Rene Echevarria, who worked with Ron Moore in writing this season's other love story, "Rejoined." And while this story is not as captivating as "Rejoined" was, it does have some great character moments and well-written dialogue scenes.

The plot (what little of it there is) surrounds around the arrival of First Minister Shakaar (Duncan Regehr)—Kira's close friend and leader of the resistance cell from the occupation days, established in last season's episode, "Shakaar." He has come to the station to negotiate with Federation representatives regarding Bajor's entrance into the Federation. But with rumors of an assassin on board, Odo and his staff become the secret service, making sure everywhere Shakaar moves about the station is clear of danger. While on the station, Shakaar begins spending time with Kira, which begins to really get to Odo; he suddenly has to return to facing the reality that he's in love with Kira, and can't bear to see her with someone else.

It doesn't sound like much, but "Crossfire" is a very well-executed character story that takes a rare glimpse at the softer side of the usually curmudgeon-like Odo. Virtually all the credit goes to the performance of Rene Auberjonois, who does a wonderful job of looking distracted, confused, and anguished over his rather unwelcome situation. There are a few standout moments in "Crossfire" where we can, for one brief second, understand that Odo does have the capacity for a full range of humanoid emotions. It's the discretion of those emotions that disappears here.

Take the scene where Shakaar reveals to Odo his feelings for Kira. Kira isn't even aware that she's caught Shakaar's eye, thus Shakaar doesn't know if the possibility exists that they could get together. So he talks to Odo about it, which puts the shapeshifter in a rather uncomfortable position. Odo stays in character; revealing nothing to Shakaar that indicates his feelings, yet the audience can see Odo's pain as clear as day.

"Crossfire's" best scene, however, is not anything that includes Odo talking to Shakaar or even to Kira. The creators wisely fall back on the always-reliable camaraderie-in-code between Odo and Quark. After Odo destroys his quarters in rage over his situation, Quark gives him some advice on his troubles. Yet, Echevarria keeps Quark plausibly in character by disguising his concern for Odo's feelings behind the usual seemingly self-serving priority of his own profits. (And I like the "manhunt pool" angle. It seems...appropriate.) Quark hasn't seemed as sincere as he does in this scene in a very long time. This is the Quark we saw in the earlier seasons, and the Quark I want back.

"Crossfire" is a welcome rarity in that it features a character story without a forced action or jeopardy premise. For once, the writers don't throw us the typical ending. The conclusion, surprisingly enough, does not hang on the would-be assassin being foiled at the last second; all of that, rather, is resolved by the fourth act. Even the show's one moment of jeopardy—the falling elevator bit—is more of a character issue since it deals with the fact that Odo's distraction causes him to make mistakes in his job. This shows faith in the characters' ability to get us through the show on their own. Kudos to Echevarria.

On the other hand, I would have liked a little more discussion concerning why Shakaar is on DS9, other than to fall in love with Kira. His visit concerns Bajor's entrance into the Federation, which is not a lightweight subject by any means. It's one of the fundamental goals of the series—or at least used to be. Limiting the topic in this episode to, seemingly, throwaway lines is a mistake—probably the only really glaring flaw in this episode. I like the fact the creators still acknowledge this aspect of the series, but considering how rarely we see it nowadays, I would have hoped that one of those few times would be a little bit more substantial than this.

But I suppose I shouldn't complain. This is intended as a character outing, not a political development—and on its intentions it delivers. Still, I'll have to admit one thing about this thread. Quark has a fitting line: "I don't care if you and Kira end up living happily ever after or not; I just want to see the situation resolved." I must say that I feel the same way, because topics like this that encompass entire A-stories should be few and far between on DS9. "Crossfire" resolves this thread, and with some dignity.

Previous episode: Paradise Lost
Next episode: Return to Grace

Season Index

19 comments on this review

Jayson - Mon, Jun 29, 2009 - 10:57pm (USA Central)
Jammer, I got the feeling the reason the reason for Shakaar visit wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things in DS9 was because it was just "another" meeting. I think are supposed to assume that the process for Bajors admitance to The Federation entails a seemingly endless string of meetings and negotiations. Though it would have been nice to elaborate on this. Anyway I really enjoyed this episode, a painful tale of unrequited love.
Destructor - Sun, Jul 19, 2009 - 7:39pm (USA Central)
I hated this one on it's original airing, but rewatching it recently with my partner we both really appreciated it for it's subtlety and charm.
Larrylongballs - Thu, Nov 19, 2009 - 8:33am (USA Central)
There is only so much that they can do in 43 minutes. Besides this, it was Odo's story and the negotiations had nothing to do with him. This was one of the rare DS9 non action episodes without a B story of another character. I also think Shakaars scene with Odo was Auberjonois finest acting moment in the series.

Firestone - Mon, Dec 21, 2009 - 4:43am (USA Central)
Maybe I'm a sucker for romance, but I really found this episode to be both good and heartbreaking. You don't always need a complicated plot or quote-worthy dialogue. Seeing Odo going through all that made me feel almost like watching Visitor. Especially the scene with Shakaar and where Odo 'asks' Quark if he was concerned as a friend after which we get a firm negation. You could really feel his pain. Kudo's to Auberjonois for accomplishing all this under that make-up.
Nebula Nox - Wed, Jun 6, 2012 - 2:13pm (USA Central)
You can tell that Kira is already pregnant in this episode...
Jake - Fri, Jun 8, 2012 - 8:53am (USA Central)
While I'm happy Odo thanked Quark for telling him to snap the hell out of it, why doesn't he also thank Worf for saving his shapeshifting ass when he catches Shakaar's would-be killer while Odo's too busy moping about Kira?
Lt. Fitz - Wed, Jun 27, 2012 - 9:02am (USA Central)
The elevator scene really bugged me. How tall are those elevator shafts?! I felt like they had already traveled the height of the entire station BEFORE they started falling! Also, when did Odo get super strength? In any difficult situation in the past, Odo never showed any signs of being able to just push through metal walls. I remember when Kira was being engulfed in some form of crystal, he never even tried to morph into something like a pick and just break the crystal up. I figured that he didn't really have any strength, or just enough to replicate the solidity of lighter materials like bone. Suddenly, he can form steel hammers and apply tremendous amounts of pressure? That scene just seemed so over the top.

Other than that, I was really moved by Odo's troubles. I once had to watch another man win the heart of a girl I longed for. I got her in the end anyway. :)
Cail Corishev - Mon, Sep 17, 2012 - 8:14pm (USA Central)
Standing guard outside your crush's door while she spends the night with another guy is a pretty harsh cure for one-itis, but whatever works.
Chris - Thu, May 16, 2013 - 8:43am (USA Central)
Odo's love for Kira is a comment on the phenomenon of love itself. Odo is a being who doesn't succumb to primitive humanoid emotions. He isn't interested in the day-to-day 'petty' lives of solids. But his feelings for Kira transcend all that. His love is a noble endeavour that goes far beyond a mere emotion.

I also think it's telling that the only person on the station that can see past Odo's impassive facade and see the deep longing and pain in his eyes - is Quark.

Four stars.
Paul - Thu, May 16, 2013 - 10:56am (USA Central)
@Chris: Um, no.

I'm a fan of the Odo/Kira pairing. But I don't like this episode at all. It's trite and has far too many plotholes/illogical points.

DS9 was probably the Trek that came closest to being a soap opera. That's usually OK, but this episode is just too far over the top.
Paul M. - Mon, Jul 8, 2013 - 7:11am (USA Central)
What is the definition of soap opera, if I may ask?
Josh - Mon, Jul 8, 2013 - 10:22am (USA Central)
Apparently it pertains to any show in which characters display emotions or complex relationships. DS9 is pretty far from being a "primetime soap". Current examples of such include Grey's Anatomy. Character-driven drama != soap opera, but then that rebuttal would put a kibosh on Paul's anti-DS9 spamming.
T'Paul - Wed, Jul 10, 2013 - 2:06pm (USA Central)
My favourite part here was the Odo-Worf dialogue about rooms and people dropping in "perhaps if I am more--- inhospitable, he will stop."

They're a good pairing those two, a far more interesting bromance than the Kira-Odo story!
Corey - Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - 5:32pm (USA Central)
This one was a great, slow burning masterpiece.
Kotas - Wed, Oct 23, 2013 - 1:01pm (USA Central)

So-so Kira and Odo ep.

5/10
Dusty - Sat, Feb 15, 2014 - 9:45pm (USA Central)
An authentic and moving character piece. Love has rarely been conveyed more eloquently on Star Trek. Kira is a little too one-dimensional and Shakaar's visit a little too convenient, but this is an Odo episode without a doubt, and Auberjonois gives a deeply touching performance. In an episode full of good scenes, none was better than the talk between Odo and Quark at the end. Rene deliberately left a few strands of his hair out of place in that part. Not only does it illustrate angst in the typically spotless and unflappable character, in the DS9 Companion he notes, "I was trying to evoke an image from a Japanese print I'd seen of a warrior in defeat."
Vylora - Mon, Feb 24, 2014 - 2:16am (USA Central)
This is a fantastic episode on every level. It is a credit to the writing team and the acting to show how romance can work well in Star Trek - a medium where it seems to falter more often than not. While "Rejoined" was more of a bottle episode and this is more part of an ongoing character arc, I feel they stand toe to toe in their respective qualities. And I'm not even a huge fan of romantic stories in general.

3.5 stars
Alex - Sun, Mar 16, 2014 - 9:01pm (USA Central)
This was a great episode highlighted by Rene's performance. Personally I've never been in a situation like this but I felt every bit of pain Odo was experiencing. His talk with Quark is definitely one of the DS9's best moments.

3.5 stars

And TBH, this should have been the end of the whole ODO/Kira love fest.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 6, 2014 - 10:25am (USA Central)
I enjoyed this one.

Loved Odo's belt.

Loved these exchange: (lol)
"KIRA: It's just Quark's luck that you would be assigned quarters right above his.
ODO: Luck had nothing to do with it."

"QUARK: I heard some noise, and when I went to complain, I found a work crew installing soundproofing in the floor. I have to say, Odo, I'm touched that you would do something like that for me.
ODO: I'm having the floor reinforced. The fact that they're soundproofing it as well is incidental. If you think I'd put up with three days of construction for your sake, think again."

Nothing epic here, but enjoyable. You really feel for Odo when Shakaar reveals his feelings for Kira.

2.5 stars for me.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer