Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine



Air date: 5/22/1995
Written by Gordon Dawson
Directed by Jonathan West

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"I didn't fight the Cardassians for 25 years just so I could start shooting other Bajorans." — Shakaar

When the First Minister of the Bajoran Provisional Government dies, Kai Winn steps up into his place with intentions of running for office and becoming Bajor's government leader for the next six years. Shortly thereafter, she visits the station and requests Major Kira to convince Shakaar—one of Kira's closest friends and allies from the resistance—to return some rare government-issued farm equipment to be put to more urgent use.

At last, a meaty return to the Bajoran political arc, something that hasn't been directly explored since the opening trilogy of the second season. It's an interesting but slightly unfocused story that doesn't further develop the arc but only presents a short-term problem which is solved within the hour. The long-term effects of the show are negligible.

Beginning as a recap of "Progress" in which Kira is forced into taking the side of the common good over the side of the struggling individual, the episode turns into a confrontation when Winn refuses to listen to the proposals for compromise Shakaar wishes to present. Instead, she sends security forces after Shakaar to arrest him. Kira joins him and finds herself on the run with Shakaar and a number of allies.

"Just like old times," someone comments. Shakaar ends up with a formidable team of followers. As they are chased through a number of valleys and terrain, these characters seem to fall right back into the cat-and-mouse routine of the Cardassian Occupation. Kira's reunion with old friends Lupaza (Diane Salinger) and Furel (William Lucking) talking about old times proves quite absorbing, particularly the early scene at Shakaar's simple residence. However, they recognize the difference between fighting Cardassians and fighting other Bajorans, many of which they battled alongside during the Occupation.

Tensions mount, neighboring providences start taking sides, and an armed militia unit led by Colonel Lenaris (John Doman) begins zeroing in on Shakaar and his team. This is all due to Winn's misguided attempts to be sure order is restored without embarrassment to herself. Winn has the nerve to request Starfleet security backup. Sisko tells her no, then speaks his mind (albeit diplomatically), telling Winn that she is risking civil war over some farm equipment. She retorts with a threat to withdraw Bajor's application to the Federation. At this point, I seriously doubt Winn's ability to be any type of leader of Bajor, whether spiritual, political, or whatever. She's totally incompetent and looks downright evil as she voices that Shakaar will be stopped by any means necessary.

Shakaar and Lenaris' teams meet, and what could've been a deadly phaser fight fortunately ends in a plausible, nonviolent fashion. These two leaders both realize what's at stake, and after 25 years of war with the Cardassians, they know what needs to be done.

The resolution is negotiated off-camera, in which Lenaris disbands the two forces and lets everybody walk, allowing Shakaar and Kira return to the capital with him to talk to Winn. They inform Winn of Shakaar's decision to run for First Minister, and threaten Winn not to enter the election or they will make the entire incident public and destroy her reputation. While it's nice to see Winn get put in her place, the whole showdown is much too neat.

Meanwhile, the story brings up several questions that don't really get answered. For example, why is Shakaar so popular with so many Bajoran groups—enough to be elected their next leader? Why does Winn so extremely overreact to this incident? Why is she willing to risk a civil war? It seems to be for no apparent reason other than to force the confrontation, leading to her being ousted from her newfound position. Unfortunately, this makes Winn even less likable, nullifying any sincere wishes of progress for her world she seemed to have in "Life Support."

Also, why is it Sisko seems completely unannoyed that his first officer goes running around Bajor? I would have liked at least a line concerning the issue in one way or another. And was O'Brien faking his shoulder injury? If not, why didn't he throw the dart with his left hand to win his 47th game?

"Shakaar" has its moments—a welcome return to the political territory, a good vehicle for Kira, and a change in music by freshman composer Paul Baillargeon—but the somewhat unsatisfying conclusion doesn't offer enough in terms of developing the political canvas.

Previous episode: Family Business
Next episode: Facets

Season Index

39 comments on this review

AeC - Tue, May 13, 2008 - 8:23pm (USA Central)
While I still think Winn was painted a little too one-dimensionally in this one, events of the previous seven years have made her depiction as a leader more concerned with power than effective leadership and the drive to attain her goals "by any means necessary" a bit unnerving and almost prescient. Were this episode shot today, Winn would almost certainly have said something to the effect of, "You're with us or you're against us," instead of (somewhat inappropriately) co-opting Malcolm X.

Beyond that, it was just strange to see Commissioner Rawls in a Bajoran uniform.
robgnow - Wed, Aug 13, 2008 - 7:55pm (USA Central)
Actually, I think this episode represents Kai Winn pretty well. If you consider all of 'her' episodes, I think you can see a clear character flaw within her: She is over-filled with personal pride.
This issue wasn't about the farm reclamators (or whatever the techno-babble name of them was), but was about the fact that the Province said 'no' to her.
I remember a line of hers (to Sisko, I believe) where she told Opaka that she would gladly look on the faces of God (the wormhole aliens) and the Kai told her to go to her room and meditate... 'And rightly so,' Winn states.
Unfortunately, the lesson appears to not have been learnt by her. Her self-pride continued to taint everything she tried to do until it finally leads to her death.
Destructor - Tue, Jul 7, 2009 - 8:19pm (USA Central)
Agree with robgnow- I like this episode almost precisely because of Winn's no-compromises attitude. And if you don't think a person like that can be a political leader, you don't follow politics.
AeC - Tue, Jul 7, 2009 - 9:12pm (USA Central)
Destructor - never said a person like that couldn't be a political leader; we've seen enough in the last decade alone (to say nothing of far longer in the past) to demonstrate the contrary. My objection was more of a dramatic one - Winn has been depicted in other episodes as having many, many shades of gray that made her a far more interesting character than was on display here. Sure, there are countless instances of monomaniacal insanity and delusion sprouting from people in places of power, but if I want to see that, I'll turn on the news or open a history book. Part of what made DS9 so wonderful was getting to see the inner workings of these monomaniacs and perhaps glimpses of, as Tom Lehrer said about mathematicians, how they got that way. Unfortunately, there just wasn't enough of that shown from Winn in this episode, and I felt it suffered as a result.
vince - Wed, Jul 15, 2009 - 10:41am (USA Central)
I think they are deliberately making Kai Winn into a stereotype, just like Quark. This gives the audience the benefit of always knowing exactly how both will react to a given situation. Yes they are both one dimensional, but it's how the other characters react to them that matters.
Durandal_1707 - Tue, Sep 15, 2009 - 6:26pm (USA Central)
The thing that bugs me about this one is, weren't Shakaar and Kira *also* risking a civil war over some farm equipment?
gion - Wed, Feb 17, 2010 - 10:59am (USA Central)
Yes, they were, but then they had the justification that Winn stabbed them in the back by trying to arrest Shakaar.
I though it was weird that Sisko informed Kira over the first minister's dead. She's supposed the be the liaison officer after all, and surely she ought to be contacted by her own government and she would have to be the one to the relay the message to the DS9's CO.
Half-Blood Time Lord - Wed, Dec 29, 2010 - 8:20pm (USA Central)
RE: Shakaar and Kira *also* risking civil war over some farm equipment.

No, actually, they aren't. They are clearly risking civil war because the current govt is reneging on deals with its own people to satisfy a desire to open commerce with other worlds.
On the face of it, the idea that Bajor could start being a land of commerce is fine, but as Shakaar and the other people showed, that is a few steps away from where the people are. Winn is trying to run before she can walk, she isn't interested in what is best for Bajor, she is concerned with what is best for her place in history.
Lest we forget, this is the same woman whose first episode had her part of a plot to kill Vedek Bariel, her next couple of episodes aligned her with "The Circle", a terrorist group, so she would almost be guaranteed the position of Kai, and then just before this episode, she clearly wanted Bariel to continue the negotiations at the cost of his own life so if they failed, she had a scapegoat, while if they succeeded, she could reap the benefits and kudos.
The only episode she even closely seems to be in the right about is regarding Bariels activities during the Occupation as the evidence does seem to suggest he was a collaborator.
Jay - Sun, Jan 16, 2011 - 3:21pm (USA Central)
Three years in and the government is still "provisional"?
Travis - Thu, Feb 17, 2011 - 10:18am (USA Central)
Jay, they stop calling it that after this episode.
Nic - Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 10:08pm (USA Central)
Every time I watch that scene, I get the impression that O'Brien is faking the illness to get Quark off his back. But we never actually know for sure, so I guess it's open to interpretation.
Rysik - Wed, Oct 19, 2011 - 2:38pm (USA Central)
It's obvious he is popular because of his sculpted wavy hair. I just skipped all the Bayjor stuff and tried to figure out Miles dart playing luck which wasn't explained. Good blog on this show. It's on netflix so I just stream and skip the annoying parts which can get fairly great. With your guide I usually guess 60% skip for 2 stars, 40% for 3 and 20% for 4. I haven't seen any 5 star yet but unlikely I would not skip any.
Sam - Sat, Oct 29, 2011 - 6:35am (USA Central)
It's out of four stars, not five, buddy.
Cail Corishev - Sat, Sep 15, 2012 - 10:28pm (USA Central)
Winn is pretty one-dimensional here -- that dimension being pride, as someone said -- which is funny, because she had a point until she twisted it. The farmers are wrong, because the reclamators don't belong to them. They were loaned to them by the government, which like all bureaucracies, was late and reneged on its promises. So they didn't get to keep the tools as long as they thought, but that doesn't give them a right to steal them.

Winn was wrong too, on a different level. As someone else said, you shouldn't be trying to export fancy foods when your own people are hungry. That's what happens when the elites get caught up in the game of trade and diplomacy between nations/planets and forget that the ordinary people need things like food and jobs too.
Nick P. - Sat, Nov 3, 2012 - 12:47am (USA Central)
I am going to disagree with all on this episode. Not only do i find Winn interesting, I find her position sympathetic! Look around our own planet right now, countries on every continent that if only that could get the hillbillies to at least pretend they like the rest of the world how much better they would be off.

I am not saying she is completely right, or that Shakaar is NOT sympathetic, but at the end of the day, as someone above pointed out, those ARE government-loaned generators. Winn is correct, at some point you have to face down the anti-government problems on your planet, or you will never get into the federation. How many times on TNG did Picard say some planet or another couldn't get in because one faction disagreed with another faction. I completely sympathize with Winn in this EP.
Jack - Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - 11:06am (USA Central)
I have to agree with Nick P, and for the same reason as I agree with the Son'a over the Baku in Insurrection...as Spock himself said..."the needs of the many...". That's why it was necessary to make the Son'a so mustache-twirlingly evil (and here too, Winn is made more "evil" than usual), to mitigate the fact that they are actually in the right.
Blake W - Sun, Apr 21, 2013 - 8:36pm (USA Central)
I strongly disagree with anyone who says Winn was one-dimensional. She's exactly like SO many politicians in America.. Meaning, her character was very realistic, and it seems insane for people to ask for more than that. She is who she is, and DS9 was such a phenomenal series because the writers didn't sit around saying, "no, we need to make her more this." The characters were who they were
Kotas - Wed, Oct 23, 2013 - 9:04am (USA Central)

I dislike the Bajorans so I have a hard time getting into this type of episode.

Cheyne - Sun, Nov 24, 2013 - 11:14am (USA Central)
My main criticism here would most definitely be the music... awful.

Besides that, Kai Winn is an awfully loveable villain!

And Kira becomes more and more attractive character-wise as time goes on.
Bravestarr - Fri, Feb 14, 2014 - 2:38pm (USA Central)
I was under the impression that Bashir/O'brien had a deal going on where they would bet against themselves and take all the money that would've been Quarks. The way O'brien seemed annoyed and bemused about finding out about the bet made it seem all the more valid.

While they never showed that this happened I still like to believe that they made off with a substantial profit :)
Eric - Mon, Mar 31, 2014 - 8:44pm (USA Central)
Did it not bother anyone else that the Bajorans don't have division of powers in their society? Wynn can be the pope of the whole planet and its prime minister at the same time. For a species that had civilizations back before man walked upright, they're pretty backward.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Apr 22, 2014 - 12:37am (USA Central)
What bothers me most about this episode is that Bajor is a PLANET. Provinces should be roughly the size of Earth countries. But it feels like Bajor could comfortably fit inside a midwestern state....

It's a fairly common fault (e.g "Shadowplay"), but it's distracting when Bajor is such a big part of the show. It makes it hard to take the whole premise seriously.

1) Kira describes Recantha province as "the farming community"
2) Shakaar and friends seem like small-time farmers (did you see any machinery?) -- yet they tie up Bajor's entire inventory of land reclamators.
3) Shakaar is going to walk from one province to another.
2piix - Tue, Jul 8, 2014 - 3:23pm (USA Central)
Sisko wasn't annoyed at Kira because of what his mission is. Sisko is a diplomat. And so is Kira. They definitely make decisions for DS-9, the Federation, and Bajor but neither of them are really necessary for the daily running of the station. That's what the Chief of Operations is for.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 5, 2014 - 9:11am (USA Central)
Not a favorite here. Winn's decision to pit Bajorans against Bajorans militarily is just pathetic and unrealistic. No one, not even Winn is that stupid. (I think)

Finally level heads win the day, but I can't fathom this fight would have ever taken place. They should have stormed Winn's place and dealt with her incompetence.

1.5 stars.
Moonie - Mon, Nov 3, 2014 - 1:58pm (USA Central)
I just don't care about Bajorans. And even less so about Bajoran farming communities.


Carl - Mon, Feb 9, 2015 - 4:57pm (USA Central)
Kotas and Moonie; You might be better off watching any other television show ever produced as they are less Bajor-centric than Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.
MsV - Sun, Apr 12, 2015 - 7:37am (USA Central)
Very interesting episode. Kai Winn is evil, she will do anything to get power. Remember: Her attempt to assinate Bareil? She will do and say anything to get her way. Again remember: In Life Support," she said his mind has started to wander, he's in pain, give him more of the drug. All of this just so Bareil could continue to help her. The woman is not fit to run a junkyard.
Teejay - Wed, Jun 24, 2015 - 1:52am (USA Central)
Kira left that fire burning in her room THE WHOLE TIME SHE WAS GONE? That's pretty irresponsible of her.....

This whole episode makes Winn look pretty bad. How is it that she thinks compromising with Shakaar would've made her look bad? The ability to compromise when called for is a sign of a good leader. the way she handles the situation, even if it had worked out in her favor, would've just made her out as a tyrant.

William B - Tue, Sep 29, 2015 - 6:05pm (USA Central)
I have finished season three in the past few days, and this episode is the one that is occupying the most mental real estate at the moment. I feel it is hard to put into words what I actually *saw* watching this show.

Kira is still sad Bareil is dead, and prays to a candle for him. Bajor's First Minister dies. Bajor being the near-theocracy it is, Kai Winn, not a minister, is named the new First Minister of the planet, just like Italy will appoint the Pope as the new Prime Minister in the event of unexpected death in our world (?). There are presumably other Ministers in Bajor's Parliament or whatever, though we do not see any others. She is running unopposed in the next election, so none of those other ministers have any interest in running for the job, nor do any other of the, let's assume billions of people on Bajor. Maybe it's only tens of hundreds of millions.

Winn asks Kira to go get two (2) reclamators back from Shakaar in Dakur province so that she can use those reclamators to get the exports going in another province. I am not sure what these reclamators do exactly, but Winn makes clear at this point that she believes that the government has a full claim to them, and that Shakaar is essentially committing theft by refusing to send them back. She asks Kira to please talk to Shakaar because he will listen to her, and despite her reluctance and her personal feelings about Winn -- she blames Winn for Bareil's death -- she agrees to go talk to Shakaar.

There, Shakaar says that they need the reclamators more and the government had originally loaned them the reclamators for several months. Kira insists that he and Winn can work out a compromise if they only talk together. Shakaar reluctantly agrees. So she goes back to Winn, who expresses dismay that Shakaar is continuing to hold onto the reclamators, which she considers government property. Winn snarkily says that she guesses she has no choice but to agree to Kira's meeting, but seems to be seething over it, and sends Kira back to DS9. I can't help but quote the exchange in full:

WINN: A pity. Shakaar sounds like a prideful and arrogant man. It also seems there's no reasoning with him.
KIRA: Shakaar is not an unreasonable man. He's desperate. They all are. You should see what they're up against. The condition of the soil, the harsh weather. I'm sure if you talk to him, you'll be able to work out a compromise.
WINN: It would seem that I have little choice.
KIRA: So I can tell him that you'll discuss it with him?
WINN: You can tell him that. And then you can return to Deep Space Nine.
KIRA: But I can still serve as an intermediary between you and Shakaar.
WINN: That won't be necessary. You've already done enough. And please give my best regards to Commander Sisko. That will be all, my child.

Then, while Kira is with Shakaar, some militia are sent to arrest Shakaar for stealing reclamators, at which point Shakaar and Kira punch out the militia.

Shakaar tells Kira that tis is not her fight, that she can run away. And I quote:

KIRA: I am home, Shakaar, and I have been lied to by Kai Winn for the last time. She wants a fight, I'll give her one.

Oh, good. They run and then get their secret cache of weapons (!), and we learn that the civil police are looking everywhere for Shakaar and Kira, fugitives, have gotten other former Shakaar cell members, and also:

LUPAZA: The authorities have seized your farm and they've brought in a scanning machine to hunt for the reclamators.
SHAKAAR: Let them scan. There's nothing there to find.

As far as I can tell, we never find out where the reclamators actually are. The plan is for them to continue to run as armed fugitives resisting arrest until the civil police give up. When Kira points out the civil police might not give up so easily, Shakaar says:

SHAKAAR: Maybe. But I really don't think they want to hunt down a group of fellow Bajorans who are just trying to defend their homes.

Homes, AND GOVERNMENT EQUIPMENT. And I hate to say it, but if they are running in the mountains, they are not exactly "defending their homes," which have already been seized. And I know that these people are used to short-term strategizing, but really, assuming that Shakaar is right and the police stop looking for them after ten days...then what? If they go back to their farms, they will be arrested. If they change their names and move to a different province, or leave the planet, then they stop defending their land, which is the primary goal of all this.

Further, let's review: Kira's STATED beef, for which she beats up militia members and starts running, here is that *WINN LIED TO HER*. The episode has reminded us how much Kira hates and distrusts Winn. The episode also sets up Kira's attachment to her home and to Shakaar, so her secondary reason is loyalty (to home and to Shakaar). But the episode (perhaps unintentionally) twists around itself. Kira's anger with Winn is that Kira put Winn in a position where Winn felt she "had to" do it ("It seems I have little choice"), and Winn then sent Kira home and went to arrest the man whom Winn has already identified as a criminal -- Winn behaved in keeping with her stated reasons, *except* that she misled Kira to get her to leave after Winn was clearly disappointed. So upon this discovery, Kira moves straight to "armed fugitive." Now let's turn this around: Winn asked Kira to talk to Shakaar, and Kira came back with a meeting set up where they can "compromise," which was hardly what Winn had asked her to do. So Winn was pissed off that Kira did not do what Kira agreed to do, and then sent Kira away and exerted her considerable authority to get things done herself, at which point Kira then broke the law and punched some dudes out. From each of their perspective, the other is a betrayer and they get angrier and angrier. Kira escalates toward anarchy, Winn toward totalitarianism, but both are reacting at least in part to anger that the other person failed to behave in the way they wanted.

Now, Winn's initial beef with Kira is less significant than Kira's WINN HAS LIED TO ME FOR THE LAST TIME bit. Kira did not promise she would get Shakaar to agree anything. However, I can see why Winn would see Kira coming back with a plan already in motion for them to meet for compromise as a betrayal of Winn's request. And I can certainly see why Kira sticking around on the planet to knock unconscious the men Winn sends to arrest Shakaar so she can get her reclamators back would be more of one.

So things are escalating. How bad will they get?

Meanwhile on Deep Space Nine, O'Brien was good at darts and then he stops being good at darts and Quark is sad.

Back on Bajor, while we were away, dozens of people have joined Shakaar's cause in "defiance" of, uh, something, and Winn has declared martial law. Pretty boring stuff, good thing we got all that O'Brien is good at darts stuff going on. But seriously, the two-weeks escalation in which "defiance" increased and Winn imposed martial law sounds like it may have contianed some events that would be worth knowing to understand the situation better. Sisko has not seen Kira in two weeks. Winn asks Sisko down so she can talk to him, at which point he coyly says that he's surprised Winn would be interested in his advice, or speaking to him. Ha ha, I wonder why Winn would be interested in talking to Sisko, when his first officer has gone rogue? In case we weren't sure who we were supposed to root for in this episode, we get this exchange:

WINN: And they've yet to catch sight of Shakaar or any of his followers, let alone take them into custody.
SISKO: I guess now you know how the Cardassians must have felt.


What is the Bajor-Cardassia equivalent of Godwin's Law? I know that it has not happened yet, but I can't help but quote Winn from "Rapture":

WINN: But it is what you think. Those of you who were in the Resistance, you're all the same. You think you're the only ones who fought the Cardassians, that you saved Bajor singlehandedly. Perhaps you forget, Major, the Cardassians arrested any Bajoran they found teaching the word of the Prophets. I was in a Cardassian prison camp for five years and I can remember each and every beating I suffered. And while you had your weapons to protect you, all I had was my faith and my courage. Walk with the Prophets, child. I know I will.

Look, call Winn an attempted murderer, a liar, an opportunist, a zealot, an extremist, a tyrant. Those are all pretty accurate. But to compare Winn's difficulty finding Shakaar to the Cardassians', and thus to imply that Winn's desire to find one group of people who have defied the law in her eyes to a systematic project to strip Bajor of its resources, killing millions of people, is seriously fucked up. And Winn, incredibly, just lets it go, without pointing out what a horrible thing this was to say.

Of course, this is one of the Big Themes of the episode, but more on that in a second. What I will say is that whether it's appropriate or not for Shakaar and Kira to make the comparisons of running from Winn as being akin to running from the Cardassians, at least they are people who lived under the Cardassians' rule and so have some reference frame to make comparisons.

Sisko refuses to get involved because of the Prime Directive. Normally I'd say fine, but it is not as if he takes it that seriously in eps like "Through the Looking Glass." But okay.

Sisko says that he thinks Winn is badly mishandling the situation, at which point Winn makes a speech about anarchy which puts her in a low-angle frame with huge Bajor symbols/icons hanging from the ceiling, and then she starts spouting off about her as the Prophets' Will, to emphasize how crazy she is.

Back in the hills, Kira and Shakaar and their really big band of people running from the militia. It's looking tough -- they may have to get out of Dahkur finally but it might be risky. Furel and Lapuza, old Shakaar resistance cell members, say that they should do what they did with the Cardassians pursuing them: turn around and fight them. Shakaar thinks about it for two seconds and agrees that they might as well go start blowing some heads off. They come up with a plan to trap them in what seems to be a large canyon, and then get ready to start shooting the heads off some of the senior military officials. At the last minute, Kira and Shakaar realize they can't shoot them. I want to emphasize how bizarre this is in execution, though. Yes, they talk about the people they are about to shoot, and how they know them, but before they fail to pull the trigger there is no actual discussion of the fact that they are about to FIRE ON OTHER BAJORANS; they just get right down to it, without any qualms. These are arresting officers coming after them because Shakaar defied arrest, and the cost-benefit analysis of whether or not to start shooting people trying to arrest you is something that criminals and revolutionaries may have to make, yes, but they do not even *talk* about it. The scene seems structured to imply that it is essentially reasonable and a natural consequence that Kira and Shakaar start shooting the militia, and their loyalty to Bajorans helps them resolve the situation which, by Winn's actions, had gotten very bad. But it is in no way obvious that shooting the militia persuing them is a reasonable course of action.

The head of the militia sent after them is played by the actor who played Rawls on the TV show The Wire, which is an excellent and careful look at politics and crime in a realistic, believable way. So let's just call him Rawls. And in what I would not describe as realistic and believable, Shakaar says that he wants to leave, and off screen they have what I would imagine is the following conversation:

RAWLS: There is no way I am going to let you walk out of here. We are armed. You almost tried to shoot us after ambushing us, and you JUST admitted that this would lead to civil war. This all started because you didn't want to give back some farm equipment. I have to take you in.
SHAKAAR: I'm thinking of running for office.
RAWLS: Oh, cool! You've got my vote! Let's go tell the Kai we've got this problem sorted out!

Meanwhile on Deep Space 9 Bashir is good at darts now. Quark's getting ideas. HERE WE GO AGAIN :D

They go tell Winn how everyone will vote for Shakaar, especially if Winn continues to run and they reveal how Winn almost started a civil war over a couple reclamators. Apparently this whole incident will be made public if Winn continues to run! Which, wait, wasn't the whole planet raising their voices in support of Shakaar? What part of this incident was *not* public? Then Kira goes back to the station, where carefully neutral Sisko who implied Winn was like a Cardassian says nothing about Kira's weeks-long absence. Kira goes to her quarters blows out her Bareil candle which has been burning all this time, happy to realize now that her grief for Bareil was actually just a desire to stick it to Winn, which has now been sated. And credits.

Look, Winn is in the wrong here. Sending in militia to arrest Shakaar was an overreaction to a situation that could have been resolved more peacefully; it is good to be able to compromise. And obviously she mismanaged things once they started to get out of hand -- declaring martial law and suspending local government is a bad idea. She lost the people's confidence. And she did lie to Kira. More to the point, it does seem as if Shakaar had a point that the government should not renege on its deals, and Winn's attempt to move the reclamators straight to exports seems to indicate that her priorities are about Bajoran image rather than the health of Bajoran individuals. Winn's failure to make efforts to deescalate suggest that she was indeed willing to risk civil war over a few reclamators, or, more accurately, over her wounded pride.

But seriously. Winn was clear that she considered Shakaar a criminal. Kira sympathized with Winn's belief of where the reclamators should go. And the reclamators, as far as I could tell, were government property. In cases where the government loans out equipment, especially pro bono, the government usually then has the "right" to reclaim it. Whether it turned out that the deal with Shakaar et al. was more binding in the first place or not is something that could, and should, have been fought out metaphorically and with words in civil court, if not at the negotiating table...but even if Shakaar were arrested, Bajor being a non-torture regime, it would presumably have been not that hard to get him out and to argue for mediation. Not to mention the fact that Winn's popularity would drop.

Now certainly there are times -- a LOT of times -- in which unfair arrests absolutely must be opposed; tyranny cannot be let to stand forever, etc. But the continued assertion that Winn almost started a war over "farm equipment" basically confirms that there *are* no larger systemic forces at work. Winn wanted the government's farm equipment back, and Shakaar and Kira played chicken with Bajor's political stability with her over that equipment. Shakaar kept equipment that was the government's because he felt he had a reasonable claim, and he *had* to know where this would go -- that it would eventually pit him and the government against each other. And he is not exactly Rosa Parks here; Shakaar is keeping property for himself that was already on loan, and then resists arrest by punching and then arming himself. Are we seriously to believe that another leader who wasn't Winn would *not* send police after them, or wouldn't continue trying to apprehend him, even if they would likely not impose martial law? If civilian police pursued Shakaar, would he have nearly shot them? Shakaar kept government property when he was told to give it back, and so he had to expect that at some point he would be arrested if he continued keeping them (especially if they were in SECRET HIDING PLACES as the dialogue at one point suggested), so he either was not thinking clearly or believed it was worth going to jail for them or -- if indeed he thought through futher -- that it was worth, ACTIVE resistance against the government to keep them. And maybe it was -- maybe the Dahkur province members really would starve to death without those damn reclamators. But Kira was frankly on the fence about where the reclamators should go before Winn pissed her off an extra amount, and so I am kind of doubtful that lives really were on the line (livelihoods being another story), and if so, well, Kira has a job liaising with the Federation, who could probably help with their food problem, except oh yeah they are too busy playing darts.

But anyway, that two week gap really hurts the episode. Did they *try* sending scouts out to carry messages to the pursuing officers with offers to negotiate to de-escalate the situation? Did Shakaar, the least selfless man Kira knows or whatever she said, offer to turn himself in in order to allow the rest of them to get off their resisting arrest / aiding and abetting charges or whatever? Remember the Kira from Defiant, who told Tom Riker that he is not a terrorist and to recognize that he has to do what he can to prevent a bad situation from getting worse? Where was that Kira in this episode?

After two weeks (or more) of running around, with talk about civil war brewing, Kira and Shakaar decide not to kill off the officers who are performing their legal and military obligations to arrest fugitives who were charged with a crime, and at that point they rather improbably come up with the idea that Shakaar being First Minister is their solution to their problems. I don't really know what to say. If Rawls had *no obligation* whatsoever to carry out his orders, to the point where Winn has no power whatsoever to reprimand him for explicitly defying her, why was he chasing Shakaar and Kira in the first place? Did he just lack the confidence to stand up to Winn? In what way does the fact that Shakaar is going to run in an election change whether or not he is a criminal? And finally, the episode ends with Kira and Shakaar not compromising at all; indeed, as everyone criticizes Winn's rigidity and unwillingness to compromise, Kira and Shakaar manage to avoid shooting some people basically by having Shakaar become Bajor's political leader, so now he can order as many pieces of farm equipment to stay in Dahkur province as he likes.

If I am going to believe that Shakaar would make a better First Minister than Winn, I would have to have more evidence that he put some real effort into long-term planning, seeing beyond his own IMMEDIATE needs, and worked hard to de-escalate a situation. And he did none of those things, at least not until he agreed to talk at the last minute with Rawls after marginally avoiding shooting him in the head. Maybe I would still prefer him as a leader to Winn, because Winn is terrible, but it's frankly pretty close. He still seems like a terrible candidate, who would probably get himself into all kinds of wars if he were the leader, refusing to budge himself if he believed he was RIGHT. "I don't give a damn how other people see us!" is not the kind of foreign policy sense you expect in a leader. And, I keep going in circles, but seriously Winn was running *unopposed* until Shakaar came in, and Shakaar's time of sticking it to Winn is sufficient to make him the popular choice?

I really don't know what to make of this episode as a Kira show. Kira eventually decides that they should talk their way out of the situation, but what she gets with Rawls et al. is hardly a compromise or evidence that, as in "Defiant," Kira is thinking more diplomatically and anticipating large-scale consequences and recognizing which battles to choose. She and Shakaar just realize that they can win because everyone agrees Winn is entirely at fault. That Kira blows out the Bareil candle at the end is really gross -- it seems like either it is implying that now that she has Shakaar back in her life she doesn't need Bareil, or that her unresolved feelings about Bareil really *were* just being pissed off at Winn. Generously, maybe Kira believes that she was helping right some injustices committed against Bareil by knocking Winn out of office, which, um, okay, maybe, but seriously that does not sound exactly like the kind of thing Bareil would have taken as a necessary step to allow him to pass into the Prophets' loving arms or whatever. The general episode seems to be Kira reconnecting with her resistance roots and using resistance tactics against a new enemy, and on some level it makes sense that Winn is cast as the danger who may represent some of the same risks as the Cardassians (in terms of totalitarianism etc.) -- and there is I guess the suggestion of progress in that she finds a solution without violence at the end. But really, for all the reasons I have laid out I find that solution wholly unconvincing and hardly any indication that Kira has grown from her resistance days. I think this episode really sets Kira's character back several seasons.

As a piece about Bajor, it makes Bajor seem like the entire planet is a solitary backwater community; no one of a *whole planet* opposes Winn in an election, and then a couple of reclamators are enough apparently to start a "civil war." Meanwhile, Shakaar's rebellion apparently gets support from the whole planet, but still there are like twenty people in charge of looking after them and about twenty people running. It's like the episode wants to be Braveheart, where Shakaar is William Wallace who just wants to protect his home! but somehow becomes the symbol of a whole revolution against an autocratic leader, but it also wants all this to happen in two weeks in a couple of hills with no people getting hurt after those two militia guys got hit. That Shakaar could reasonably go from only caring about his own province and his friends to being a plausible First Minister without us actually seeing the point where Shakaar decides that he *wants* that job or why he thinks he would be good at it reflects the similar lack of grasp of scale in the whole thing. Maybe Bajor really has like five thousand people on it; that would certainly go some way to explaining what happened.

I don't mind fluffy subplots for the most part but this episode is one case where the subplot *really* hurts the episode, because the darts story, one of the most banal in Trek history, fills up time in a rushed piece attempting to depict Bajor nearly going into civil war, where we get no indication of what anyone save Sisko thinks of Kira's going rogue, and very little indication of Sisko's take.

Its overall execution is off-kilter, with particularly blunt script and direction and bizarre plotting and characterization. There are some good moments early in the Dahkur province scenes, which bring a bit to the story. Ultimately my initial reaction after watching the episode was that this was terrible, but I do not entirely trust this reaction. It may be that Winn's handling of the situation really was so terrible that Kira and Shakaar's responses were reasonable. However, you know, I doubt it. As far as I can tell, Winn was awful but Kira and Shakaar were essentially just as myopic and aggressive, but the ending suggests that the whole of Bajor will rush to support Shakaar and thus that Kira and Shakaar were absolutely right. It makes for an episode with bad characterization, bad directing, bad politics, and a series of bizarre choices. I really feel like this episode deserves 1 star, though perhaps it is closer to 1.5.
William B - Tue, Sep 29, 2015 - 6:08pm (USA Central)
PS Sorry for the longer-than-usual review. I really had a hard time expressing how bizarre this episode was for me, watching it. It is not even that I hated it, though obviously I disliked it quite a bit, but it seemed like it was WRONG somehow, like the whole show had been written in a parallel universe. I don't know what it is exactly about "Shakaar," but it feels like one of the strangest episodes I've ever seen, mostly in a bad way.
William B - Tue, Sep 29, 2015 - 6:13pm (USA Central)
OK OK one more point:

I actually can't tell whether the security officers who were there to arrest Shakaar were supposed to be militia or not, and maybe it makes some difference if Shakaar is being arrested by militia or civilian police...but IMMEDIATELY after this scene we hear that civilian police are searching for them. Obviously Winn declaring martial law, as I said, is crazy, and should not have happened. But still, again, just because Winn is crazy does not mean that Kira and Shakaar have to continue whatever they are doing, culminating in planning on shooting militia rather than agreeing to turn themselves in given that they have been breaking the law by resisting arrest and punching out officers in the first place. Aspects of this episode made me think that it's like if Thelma & Louise at the last minute decided to have Thelma run for president and that would solve their problem. I maybe am not even correctly arguing what is wrong with this episode because everything in it makes no sense to me. Sorry if this is really incoherent.
Easter - Thu, Oct 1, 2015 - 11:29pm (USA Central)
So. I am going to admit that the main reason I enjoy this episode so much is because I hate Winn's stupid fucking face and I needed her to lose to be able to keep watching this show without grinding my teeth to dust. She had gotten away with EVERYTHING up to this point and become the Kai and the fact that her being relegated to "only" the SPIRITUAL leader of a hugely religious planet instead of the spiritual and political leader counts as a major loss against her is kind of telling of how well she's done up to this point.

I have some replies for some of the problems you saw in this episode but first I want to address your Rapture point. Rapture didn't exist when this episode came out. It wouldn't exist for 2 more years. If Rapture says that Winn was in a prison camp that's fine, but when this episode came out our best information was that the church did pretty ok during the occupation. The Kai did her Kai thing (regular references were made to her being an inspiration to her people during the occupation). Hell, Bariel was on a RETREAT during the massacre (remember, that's why he couldn't have been the one to sell out Opaca's kid) which means they were still able to take vacations and then he got called back from his retreat to preach to the priest who took the fall, presumably not is secret because he had to retroactively delete official records saying he was doing that to frame himself. So at this point in the series any claim that the Vedick Winn suffered in a camp for preaching her beliefs is nonsense and I believe the writers of this episode were operating under that assumption. Rapture sounds retcony to me but I'll find out when I see it. At this point in the series though there is little indication that Winn has that sympathy trump card up her sleeve.

So with that out of the way, let's look at the political landscape of Bajor. Winn, who is NOT, as you said, a minister gets mysteriously appointed to the position of First Minister with no opposition. Which is suspicious, especially for Winn who is a known (to us) liar, political opportunist by any means necessary and criminal who has already supported one civil war to get what she wants. On the other hand let's look at Shakaar and co. These are people who have spent the last 20+ years fighting an oppressive tyranny who unfairly ousted their government. So the idea that an atypically appointed leader breaking preexisting agreements in a way that shows a lack of concern for their wellbeing, an unwillingness to compromise and a willingness to overtly lie to her people about what she is doing and why. The fact that Shakaar and Kira fell back into the life they led for most of his... well.. life isn't that surprising. Nor is the fact that the people are still primed to support a plucky underdog. Kira may have had the "you're the man now kid" realization when she had to kick the old man off the moon, but the rest of the planet wasn't there. The Bajorans were ready to start a civil war over the Federation being... around? just 2 years earlier and in that time they have lost both their political and spiritual leader and had both replaced on a very short timeline with Kai Winn. Tensions are likely high. They led those Bajorans into the canyon because those are the tactics they used for decades. That's what they automatically revert to and yeah, it took them a second to go "wait a second. these aren't the cardassians. These are jsut bajoran's doing their job." And it's not like they haven't killed Bajorans before either. Kira killed at least one Bajoran sympathizer.

As for whether the police were militia or not? Doesn't matter. Kai Winn said "I will negotiate with Shakaar" and then tried to arrest him instead. She has shown herself to be duplicitous and underhanded. And the Bajorans DO still torture people. The circle did it to Kira. I mean, maybe not publicly but who the hell is going to trust Kai Winn to follow the publicly written rules after the underhanded stunt she was literally in the middle of pulling to pull off the underhanded stunt she was trying to get Kira to help her pull. And that's what they're going to "tell everyone" Kai Winn didn't tell the people "I agreed to negotiate with Shakaar about holding onto the equipment he has a contract saying he's allowed to hold on to and then arrested him instead" she was all "He stole farm equipment and then attacked the police"

As for Sisko's bit. I don't think he really cared if it was fair. As far as he's concerned she blew up a school on his space station and attempted murder. Their entire relationship up to this point is based on her making political overtures in his direction and him showing the most barely covered contempt for her that he needs to in order to fulfill his starfleet duty and now she's asking him to help her capture and arrest someone under his command he cares deeply about that he knows she has actively antagonised several times. He doesn't give a shit about the prime directive. He's just telling her to go fuck herself in more diplomatic terms.

Again, my opinion on this is probably slightly biased because I just hate Winn so fucking much and want her to die and I admit this episode could do with some better exposition and B Plotting but all in all I feel that as someone who hasn't seen how any of this ends, I really needed a win here against Winn.
Robert - Fri, Oct 2, 2015 - 6:35am (USA Central)
Props to Louise Fletcher for inspiring that much fury though, eh?
William B - Fri, Oct 2, 2015 - 8:00am (USA Central)
@Easter: Thanks for that! Yeah, I mean, Winn is awful and needs to be deposed, and it is a *very* good point that Bajor's humanoid right situation is precarious -- the Circle tortured, Winn's appointment may have been suspicious, etc. And I guess I should be more fair and not quote future episodes which the writers had not made yet when evaluating this stuff -- though, *I* still felt pretty offended at Sisko no matter what Winn has done.

I guess my take is: armed revolt against an oppressive government can be justified, if the government is sufficiently oppressive. However, Winn's power is such that it more or less takes one person running against her for her reign to end. Now, that Shakaar has military support is significant, but Shakaar still seems like a terrible choice to me.

I guess the idea is that people either believed Winn to be pious or were *afraid* to run against her, because of rumours about her actions against her opponents in the Kai race. So okay: in that case, it might make sense that they need someone brave enough to step up, and only when they have full military support (and, implied, protection) can they go up against her.

I'm not wild about Winn's lying about negotiating with Shakaar, which Winn no doubt did not consider a lie ("you can tell him that"), but the state and its representatives claiming they will negotiate with criminals and then arresting them anyway is really common, and the criminals then (eventually) killing the apprehending officers generally are not considered justified. If Winn hadn't lied, then...well, she might have said "I won't negotiate with him, he is a thief," and then...well, presumably the same thing would have happened, except without Kira (an important distinction). Winn made it clear to Kira that she believed Shakaar's actions to be criminal, holding Bajor's future hostage, and that type of thing. From Winn's perspective, Kira agreeing to talk to Shakaar and coming back with a "let's negotiate!" solution was also a betrayal. Maybe representatives of the state *ever* lying about negotiating with people they consider to be criminals is not justified, in which case the bar for becoming armed fugitives and eventually (nearly) shooting arresting officers would be a lot lower.

In any case, Winn's perspective is: government property being held illegally by Shakaar -> attempt to reason with him by asking Kira to talk to him -> Kira comes back with an offer to "negotiate" over the return of government property -> tell Kira to leave with a polite "fuck you" ("you've done enough already child") -> arrest the guy to get the government reclamators back -> the guy and Kira resist arrest, get armed, and run in the hills -> the local police can't find them, nor the government property reclamators that Shakaar is not even using for his farm anymore -> other communities start "defiance" (undefined in the episode) -> (two weeks) -> martial law. OK, so, it's hard to believe that last step could be justified. But starting with the initial premise that Shakaar is a criminal who is holding government property hostage, it all (before the two week time jump) pretty much makes sense from even an average politician from my perspective, which means that it should not have been completely impossible for First Officer Of Deep Space Nine Kira to anticipate, nor should it have been difficult for her to recognize that the situation would continue escalating (which she did) -- and that she or Shakaar is going to have to de-escalate the situation if they don't want it to get worse. And they do, *eventually*, but they were on the verge of pulling the trigger before they got to that point. Since the episode started with a "grey area" premise (can the government recall its equipment before the loan period is over?), where it is mostly a grey area whether Shakaar's continued keeping the property is wrong (i.e. illegal), the escalation is the fault of both sides, both of whom are behaving "reasonably" from their own perspective, and I have my doubts that Shakaar's last minute decision not to shoot his pursuers and to talk to them is sufficient to see that he is a far superior potential leader based on the events of this episode. Better -- well, maybe. But so much so that the military all throws their support behind him? Huh?

However -- if we take into account the whole of what Winn has done up to this point, things do shift a bit. I maybe sound unfair. I do take it as read that Winn is a villain, but still felt that this episode failed to justify (to me) Kira and Shakaar's actions, because I hold Kira and Shakaar, as characters who go largely uncriticized by this episode, to a higher standard.
Easter - Fri, Oct 2, 2015 - 9:40am (USA Central)
So I do have to agree that given the way the show likes to push its own morality Kira and Shakaar are not properly criticized since my main reason for being on their side is, much like Kira and Sisko, "Fuck Winn". However, much like with the Cardassians and Ferengi I find my social science education taking over and viewing this as whether what happens makes sense in the context of the society in which it occurs rather than how it works as a cohesive narrative that functions thematically.

(I would also like to mention at this point, because I seem to end up arguing with you about this stuff a lot, that I do love your reviews. I am on this site at this point as much for what you have to say as what Jammer does and you do make your points very well and enjoyably and I enjoy these back and forths immensely)

Which is why the Rapture point is important. Because besides the narrative/sociology view the other main difference between the two of us is that I'm watching this show for the first time. I have no benefit of retrospect about where this is all going. I know only what the people who watched this show as it came out knew. So from where I'm standing the scenario is basically that Kai Winn's big failing in this episode is that she doesn't understand the political climate she is trying to control. She's been off in her church this whole time where structure and order have always been a common and positive force even during the occupation and is trying to impose that same order on a people who have been conditioned through ~3 generations of fighting against oppression to react as badly as possible to an attempt by a new power to impose those things. There's a heavy implication to me that Winn is losing this one because for once she doesn't understand the rules of the game she is attempting to carefully manipulate because she was in the church the whole time. If they retcon that later, that's the fault of the later episode.

Are Shakaar and Kira's choices right given the values and climates our society hold them to? Probably not. Are they understandable given the climate on Bajor? Absolutely. Does the people throwing their weight behind a plucky known freedom fighter even though they don't have the most legitimate beef make sense on Bajor? Given that anyone over the age of 3 spent most of their life viewing themselves as an oppressed underdog: Absolutely. Especially given Shakaar's repuations. Does the army backing Shakaar make sense? This one's iffyer but I'd say yes. Shakaar is not a nobody. It's pretty established that the heads of various cells are well known. They semiregualary mention "oh yeah, so and so was in this cell and now he's a minister. I met so and so who was in that cell etc" so Kira's cell which has been described as "infamous" or "famous" by Cardassians and Bajorans respectively probably has some weight behind it and he LED that cell. We know Bajor has a bit of a hero worship problem, as we saw with Li Nalas, and holds its ex-freedom fighters up as saviors. This episode is basically the Pope deciding to pick a fight with William Wallace 3 years after William Wallace was instrumental in freeing Scottland and expecting people to just kinda go with it. I know you already discounted the William Wallace analogy but remember, he doesn't need to become William Wallace in two weeks with no killing. He already was William Wallace with a hefty body count before this episode even started. This episode was just him playing 80s action hero and coming out of retirement for one last job.

I feel this episode is ultimately about two people in new situations (Kai Winn in legitimate political power and Shakaar in a post occupation Bajor) trying to keep doing things the way they always have and having to come to terms with the fact that they can't. Shakaar ultimately wins because he backs down first. He was perfectly willing to be arrested by Rawls if the only alternative was a shootout and when Rawls saw that was when he decided to back Shakaar.
Easter - Fri, Oct 2, 2015 - 9:42am (USA Central)
oh absolutely. she's an amazing actor in that role with amazing material to work with. Kudos to her.
William B - Fri, Oct 2, 2015 - 2:31pm (USA Central)
@Easter, don't worry, I didn't think you were "arguing" with me out of dislike or anything :)

And I guess I should modify this to say that the rebellion itself makes "sense," insofar as I believe that Shakaar would do this and would get people on his side. What you write about Winn's failure to read the political climate also strikes me as correct; and it does help a fair bit to recognize that despite Shakaar's styling himself a guy who wants to farm, he is also a major public figure, which the episode does remind us of (Rawls mentions his freeing of Gallitep). The episode is pretty clear throughout that the Shakaar cell are using the same tactics they used in the Occupation to hide away.

That the Bajoran political situation is this kind of powder keg I do find believable, and that Winn has no respect for the situation she's walking into even more so. And if I thought the episode were taking a more...neutral stance on the Winn-Shakaar conflict, particularly as it escalates over weeks, most of my problems with the episode would be resolved. However, the episode does paint Kira and Shakaar as justified (or, at the very least, as the level-headed ones reacting to Winn's madness), and therein is the problem. Even if I actually felt that the episode *did* show Shakaar actually "folding" first, things might be different, but Shakaar certainly did *not* consent to be arrested, but merely, uh, consented to run for public office. Now, I can see how this Hail Mary could actually play out in a way that would make me see Shakaar showing leadership qualities: basically, if they did a Li Nalas type story with him, where Shakaar really, *REALLY* did not want to be placed in any position of power, but essentially had no choice but to take on a quasi-martyr role he did not want, I might be more comfortable saying that Shakaar comes out the better man. And it may be that is the underlying idea; I certainly can imagine a Shakaar who has no interest in politics reluctantly agreeing to put himself in a position of authority and responsibility because he is the only person people can trust to outmaneuver Winn. However, I found no indication of that in the episode.

I am a bit hypocritical, in that I do tend to follow gut-instinct feelings about what deeper motivations exist in the characters when I happen to like an episode, and I try to admit and own up to that rather than counter it, if nothing else because I like liking the things I like. So I can see one's mileage varying on this point.

Anyway, the difference between a first-time viewing and a full-series perspective is another good point. The thing is, I did not particularly think this episode was an instance in which the two would be so far apart, but I guess I forgot that later episodes really did succeed in at least partially softening Winn, which did change my perspective. And that is pretty interesting.
Easter - Fri, Oct 9, 2015 - 1:30pm (USA Central)
@William B

I think one of this episodes big failings is that it assumes we know a lot (as it was at this point in the series) and therefore feels it can leave a lot unsaid and just assume we'll fill in the blanks with stuff that honestly shouldn't be left to that. Like, the show never really says or even properly implies that Winn used underhanded dealings to get the First Minister position and be in a situation where nobody is running against her, but since every time we've seen her thus far she's been using underhanded tactics to get power we're supposed to assume that this was no different and just treat her ascension to first minister as the result of illegal maneuvering and duplicity and her lack of competition is from the same kind of stuff she pulled to get Bareil out of the runnig for Kai. We never see her actively lie to the people of Bajor but again based on who she is I think we're supposed to just infer that she didn't tell them the whole story which is something Shakkar can leverage and most importantly, we never actually see or learn the specifics of the contract Shakaar has with the government, we never know if it says "You have use of this equipment for X time" or if it says "you have provisional use of this equipment for X time unless we ask for it back" but since Kira believes Shakaar is justified we're supposed to assume it's in his favour since we're on her side rather than Winn's and Winn is OBVIOUSLY acting inappropriately, because that's what she does. We also never see Shakaar act reluctant about being first minister but since he was, up to this point, a farmer with no interest in politics and we have a definite Li Nalaas parallel I think we're supposed to assume he's doing it for the good of Bajor even though all he really wants to do is farm some space-rutabaga or whatever.

These are all really important plot/character points that the show just kinda assumes we'll infer from past behaviour and how the character's we're supposed to like act. Which is a major failing of the episode and how those blanks get instinctively filled or not filled by our respective brains probably plays a huge part in how we initially react to the episode.

I actually just went back and read the script and I was misremembering the scene in the valley. I thought shakaar initially gave up. Having reread it I take it more as him accepting that this situation is out of control. Even if he gets arrested and the Kai "Win"s, even if his entire cell gets taken down, it won't stop the civil war from coming. The fuse is too close to lit. Once one side fires at the other it's over. The government will have their justification and/or the resistance will have their martyr. The only way to end this is to find a way to have both sides "Win" which is by making Shakaar, the face of the resistance, and Winn, the face of those opposing them, publicly making good together and getting on equal footing. The solution then is to make Shakaar the First Minister and official head of Bajor and leave Winn the Kai and spiritual head of Bajor so that the people can feel like this has been resolved to everyone's satisfaction.

I get the feeling this episode was planned as a two parter and then when it didn't get it had to try to cut details everywhere it could and hope we would fill in the blanks. So yeah, as much as it's visceraly enjoyable for me to watch I'm gonna have to agree that this was a pretty poorly written episode which requires almost fanfic levels of headcannon from implied scenes to work.
Grumpy - Sat, Oct 10, 2015 - 11:20pm (USA Central)
Hey Niners! I finally tried the thing I've mentioned here a few times before: re-imagine sequential DS9 episodes as soap-style multi-plot stories spanning several weeks. In this instance, I tried to weave together "Explorers," "Family Business," and "Shakaar."

Bad choice for starters, maybe, 'cause the pieces don't fit easily. Shuffling scraps of paper representing each scene, I can sorta reconstruct three new episodes, each with a teaser and 5 acts. Unfortunately, they don't have the same pacing. I mean, the source material supplies six "act out" beats apiece, and the reconstructed episodes need them, too. However, as the stories all run basically in parallel, they all want to climax at the same time.

Worse, for these three, they can't run exactly parallel. Notably, the B-plot of "Family Business" (meeting Kasidy Yates) directly follows the A-plot of "Explorers" (when Kasidy is first mentioned). So that A-plot has to be the climax of part 2 of this triptych so the B-plot can fill part 3. Unfortunately, by this point in "Shakaar," Sisko goes to Bajor to meet Winn -- serious business interrupting his romantic comedy plot, even assuming his travels are logistically plausible within the timeframe.

Furthermore, the B-plots of "Explorers" and "Shakaar" involve Quark's bar, which is closed during "Family Business." That limits options for shuffling the bar scenes. Of course, I'd rather ignore the B-plot of "Shakaar" altogether; notice Jammer's review has only two brief sentences about the forgettable "O'Brien is unbeatable at darts" story. I'd rather replace it with the Nog plot from "Facets" (which didn't have time for a B-plot, anyway), but that doesn't make the reshuffling any easier.

I dunno. Maybe I shoulda started with "Equilibrium," "Second Skin," "The Abandoned" instead.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer