Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Fascination"

*

Air date: 11/28/1994
Teleplay by Philip LaZebnik
Story By Ira Stven Behr and James Crocker
Directed by Avery Brooks

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Marta was a mistake. She was too young, too immature for me. Major Kira is a woman." — Jake

Quite simply the most ludicrous episode of Deep Space Nine ever created (and quite possibly the worst), this one begins in the realm of plausibility then turns ridiculous by the end of the second act—only to be one-upped by over-the-top-ness with each succeeding scene.

Though it has a few laughs and two respectably plausible subplots involving (a) the problems of the O'Briens' marriage and (b) the affirmation of Odo's affections for Kira, "Fascination" features some of the hokiest moments in Star Trek history. Most of this show ranks right up there with the scene in Star Trek V where Kirk, Spock and Bones sing "Row, row, row your boat."

Where did this script come from, and what was its intention? It appears to have been conceived as a joke. Apart from the aforementioned subplots, there's not a moment in this episode that can be believed. Here lies a plot where Jake asks Kira out, Vedek Bareil starts chasing Dax around the station, Dax comes on to Sisko, and Kira and Bashir fall into each others arms. It could've been interesting or, at least, hilarious. But the plot wastes the premise on cornball jokes instead of using the characters' personalities to explore these strange, impulsive crushes in halfway intelligent ways.

The episode culminates in the wardroom where a party hosted by Sisko turns into a ridiculous romp where Dax decks Bareil because he keeps annoying her. (Bareil's part in this is quite stupid, and the usually honorable character instead comes off looking like, well, a complete schmuck.) The insanity balances very unevenly with the B-story resolution between Miles and Keiko, who kiss and make up in the same room where a disappointed Jake utters "Nerys doesn't love me."

Why is this all happening? Because, of course, Lwaxana Troi's amorous feelings for Odo are being projected to others who come near her, due to a Betazoid virus she happens to have at the moment. Uh-huh. Welcome to Contrivance 101.

Avery Brooks, a veteran stage director, has proven capable of directing DS9 with successful episodes such as "Tribunal" and "The Abandoned." He works with this crazy teleplay, but he's way off the mark. He ultimately has a convoluted mess, missing humor opportunities too many times—the Kira/Bashir scenes are horrendously inept. But even though dead from the start, "Fascination" has a sort of manic energy that, ironically, might be most appropriate on stage.

Previous episode: Defiant
Next episode: Past Tense, Part I

◄ Season Index

58 comments on this review

Eddy
Sun, Dec 23, 2007, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
I find it interesting that you call it the most ludicrous and possibly worst. Was this review written before "profit and lace"? Just wondering.
Jammer
Sun, Dec 23, 2007, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Yes, this was written three years before the "Profit and Lace" review. Pretty much all the DS9 reviews, except seasons 1 and 2, were written in order before the later episodes aired.
admirable chrichton
Fri, Mar 14, 2008, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
I don't agree that this was the worst episode this season. That award must go to the dire "Meridian". It's silly and utterly forced, but it does get better (I don't know why) after a few viewings and the scene where Bariel gets decked by Dax is (moderately) amusing, and Lwaxanas parting comments to Odo are quite nice as well
AeC
Thu, May 8, 2008, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
I've always liked this episode. It's inconsequential, but I always thought it worked as farce, and Brooks gets in some gorgeous camerawork during the Renewal Festival, including some complex, sweeping crane shots that tie several of the storylines (such as they are) together. I wouldn't want a full series of this, but for a one-off, it made me grin.
Dirk Hartmann
Sat, May 31, 2008, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Horrible, horrible episode. I hate it when characters have their personalities and behaviour changed so gratuitously. Feels like a rape to me. Zero stars.
Gatton
Sat, Dec 27, 2008, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
It's DS9's "Naked Time" (or "Naked Now" if you like.) Did Voyager have a "the crew get stupid" episode? They should have. It could be a Trek tradition :-).
Jakob M. Mokoru
Mon, Jan 12, 2009, 2:01am (UTC -6)
Well...I have said it before. At least episodes like "Fascination" trigger a response from the viewer, resulting in outbursts of humor, anger or the desire to post a comment on www.jammersreviews.com, while episodes like "Equilibrium" or many, many Star Trek Enterprise-episodes couldn't interest/anger/entertain people enough to do so.

It's one kind of success...
Destructor
Sun, Jun 28, 2009, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
I watched this with my gf last night and we laughed pretty much the whole way through the episode- we must be the perfect audience for it. Sometimes you just need to go along with the silliness. I'd rather have this frothy fun than 'Meridian', which was just a waste of time.
Jahy
Sun, Aug 16, 2009, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
This episode was totally 'orrid...worse even than Profit and Lace and Let He Who Is Without Sin...I enjoyed both of those on a superficial level at least...this one was just painful.
Nic
Wed, Sep 16, 2009, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
What amuses me most about this episode is that Nana Visitor (Kira) and Siddig El Fadil (Bashir) actually started dating around the time it was shot. Maybe there is such thing as a Contrivance 101 virus in real life?
David
Sat, Jan 30, 2010, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
What bothers me in this episode even more than the tone deaf, ham-handed lunacy, is the B-story involving Miles and Keiko. Their emotions run the gamut, yet neither is affected by Lwaxana's virus. Thus, the grand farce is undermined by the gravity of the O'Brien's marriage. Because every character was acting so nutty, I automatically chalked up Keiko's bizarre and sudden mood swings to whatever mystery element was at work on DS9 during the festival. When it turns out that Miles and Keiko--aside from suffering from headaches--are in fact acting "normal," as a viewer I felt befuddled. Are the O'Briens headed for divorce? Were the screenwriters too intoxicated themselves (intoxicated with lunacy) to accurately write Keiko's emotions on the page? "Fascination" ends up feeling like a mish-mash of various unsuccessful bits forced to coexist together. I'm all for silly episodes, but this silly episode made my head swim.
Mike
Sat, Apr 17, 2010, 11:05pm (UTC -6)
By far the worst episode of DS9. What a total waste, and a big joke. I don't mind little bits and pieces of humor once in a while, but I prefer my sci-fi to be more serious, otherwise I'd just watch a stupid mindless comedy or something. Almost makes me want to stop watching the series, if not for the fact that fans say it gets darker and more serious as the seasons progress. Wow, what a major turnoff though. Makes me now look at the DS9 crew as a bunch of clowns!
Nic
Tue, Apr 27, 2010, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Mike, hang in there, you're almost to the good part. If you want an even better viewing experience, just skip the following episodes:

Bar Association
The Muse
Let He Who Is Without Sin...
Ferengi Love Songs
Profit and Lace
Jeff O'Connor
Fri, Oct 1, 2010, 7:09pm (UTC -6)
Mike, surely by this point you've seen such classics as "Duet", the Circle trilogy, "The Maquis" two-parter, "The Wire", "Crossover" and "Second Skin". Surely you should know that few shows don't have some unfortunate duds. Just know that there are far more hours closer to the masterpieces than there are hours within sensor range of "Fascination".
Jay
Sun, Dec 26, 2010, 12:32am (UTC -6)
This is the kind of episode that the ridiculously inaccurate UPN promo for ENT's Cogenitor seemed to be for.
Josh
Mon, Mar 28, 2011, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Jammer,

I sort of think you've missed the point of the episode. You talk about how bad and over the top it is. That is the point. And since that probably WAS the point, then they hit the nail right on the head. I think it was made for laughs, and it is pretty funny.
Nathan
Fri, Oct 14, 2011, 12:04am (UTC -6)
"Did Voyager have a "the crew get stupid" episode?"
No, they had seven entire seasons.
Pogo
Sat, Oct 15, 2011, 2:06am (UTC -6)
I wish I could "like" Nathan's comment 39258923852 times.
Matt
Wed, Dec 28, 2011, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Contrivance 101. Ha, so true. The whole thing felt contrived, and that wasn't even the worst part about it. It was just awkward to the point where the actors looked embarrassed. Fascination had a few good moments but they were sparse and as as Jammer said it really fell apart after the second act.
Lt. Fitz
Mon, Jun 25, 2012, 6:37am (UTC -6)
Keiko has annoyed me before, but in this episode, she finally pissed me off. I, too, was surprised when it turned out that she was not affected at all by the virus. I thought, wow, Keiko really was just being a bitch when she got off the transport. And, O'Brien was so excited to see her too. What a let down for him. Actually, it reminded me a lot of my experiences with my own ex-wife. Couldn't please her even if I gave her what she wanted. Guess that's why she's my ex.

Anyway, yeah, the whole Lwuxana thing was contrived, and, quite frankly, I had hoped I had seen the last of her when I finished watching TNG. I guess because she has been such a big part of Trek and probably owns it in some way being the widow of Gene, I have to keep putting up with her obnoxious character.

I did laugh my butt off when that annoying, smarmy sex priest tried to attack Sisko with punches that could have come from a 9-year-old girl, and Sisko just blocked them effortlessly. Then when Dax punched him out, I cheered! That's how you deal with "spiritual" frauds. I know, he's supposed to be the good priest and all, but I just can't stand self-important religious nuts who constantly speak in a calming voice and walk around in robes.
Cail Corishev
Sat, Sep 15, 2012, 9:02am (UTC -6)
It's painful to watch Chief doing everything wrong. Guys, if you want your wife to get bored with you and start sharing intimacies with her exotically-named co-worker, be a submissive, jealous, weak-willed tool just like Chief here. Compare and contrast with the later episode where he yells at the Cardassian scientist and she practically molests him. He should've told Keiko that she was being a bitch, and that he was going to dinner and expected her to show up -- in that red dress. Maybe I should just tell myself it was Troi's virus acting on him after all, because he wasn't this bad in other episodes.

Other than that, I didn't think the episode was terrible, but I don't have any need to see it again. That's true of most Bareil episodes, frankly.
DG
Tue, Nov 27, 2012, 8:48am (UTC -6)
My "excuse" for this episode's existence is "Bajorans are 'real' humans. I got the idea from a forum I read recently, and now, watching religion/Bajor is like watching Mormons/Utah culture. (guess where I'm from...)


So... The Gratitude Festival is Christmas. (it's not very Thanksgiving-y)

I watched it once and this time around I skipped over most of it. Gag gag gag and gag. Ew.
Late_to_Party
Thu, Jun 27, 2013, 11:54am (UTC -6)
One of my favorite episodes, with a few lines that really tickled my funny bone. Jake:"You told me I could meet someone at the Festival" Sisko: "I did not mean Major Kira"

It's the rare slapstick episode of ds9, and I enjoyed it. Since most everyone was sick, they are not responsible for their behavior, thus no character assassination.

The Miles/Keiko stuff was painful, though. Everytime we see M/K they are miserable -- not a good advertisement for marriage! I wish they had been shown as a happy couple occasionally in the series.
ProgHead777
Wed, Jul 17, 2013, 2:21am (UTC -6)
I agree with Admirable Chrichton completely. The scene where Bareil attacks Sisko and Sisko defends himself effortlessly while sporting nothing but a mildly irritated expression on his face was laugh out loud funny (I liked the Bareil character okay as just a religious figure but his expanded role as Kira's lover in his later episodes was always downright off putting in my opinion).

Lwaxana's words to Odo at the end were quite touching and the kiss she gives Odo was the only one (besides those shared by Miles and Keiko, of course) in the entire episode that didn't make me cringe.

Overall, I can't deny that the episode as a whole was silly and mostly pointless. I would add one more star to Jammer's rating, however. And no, this was not the worst episode of the series, even only up to this point.
Grumpy
Wed, Jul 17, 2013, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
"[Bareil's] expanded role as Kira's lover in his later episodes was always downright off putting..."

Agreed, though perhaps not for the same reason. Kira's relationships turn her into some kind of interplanetary Eva Peron. They elevate our humble militia major to a ludicrous, improbable status. Imagine if Riker had been shown knockin' boots with the runner-up for space-pope and the UFP president! (Well, he did seduce the queen of Angel One...)
ProgHead777
Fri, Aug 2, 2013, 12:36am (UTC -6)
@Grumpy, Actually, I think it was for exactly the same reasons. I just didn't bother to articulate it as well as you. Well stated, sir.
nic
Tue, Aug 13, 2013, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
If meridian was 2 stars this should be at least the same. Although the premise was somewhat silly I thought the backdrop of the festival on the station was kind of interesting to see. Overall I would say that I am surprised that by this point trek in general has not moved away from this type of episode.

If you haven't figured it out yet, any time you see Lwaxana just change the channel.
Kotas
Tue, Oct 22, 2013, 6:46pm (UTC -6)

Absurd episode. The infatuations were funny enough to keep it bearable for me. Jake hitting on Kira was hilarious.

5/10
Cheyne
Fri, Nov 22, 2013, 7:21am (UTC -6)
It was silly, but as far as silly episodes go, not toooo awful.

The Sisko-Bareil fight was amusing, the Lwaxana-Odo scene at the end was at least a tiny bit moving, and all the characters did their crazy roles reasonably well.

Plus I think the Keiko-O'Brien scenes are reasonable, these tensions arise in couples sometimes.
Bravestarr
Tue, Dec 31, 2013, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Jammer you are crazy, this episode was laugh out loud hilarious. A little humourous episode now and then breaks up the monotony and let's us know the show doesn't take itself too seriously.

I got to admit when I saw Lwaxana I groaned but this hour left me grinning from ear to ear. Just a side note though, does anyone find Kira's hair to be atrocious? I know it was the 90s and all and we all had crazy hair then but geez woman, get a stylist!
Dusty
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 4:03am (UTC -6)
QUARK: "Commander, you throw one hell of a party."

This one wasn't as bad as Jammer says. Granted, there were a lot of things dragging it down. As usual, Keiko and Lwaxana are unbearable; Lwaxana because she bothers Odo way too much, Keiko because of her painful acting and shrewish behavior. It seems to me that Miles suffers way too much to make her happy, when she's just a naturally unhappy person. Bareil trying to act seductive around Kira (and Jadzia) is just plain creepy. I liked him better as a simple priest.

But let's talk about what DID work here. Jake falling in love with Kira was pretty funny, because she understandably doesn't know how to react. Dax coming on to Sisko was even funnier, because it's the one pairing that would have a tiny chance of working. Bashir and Kira making out was great, and I laughed my butt off when Jadzia finally decked Bareil. That guy always did get on my nerves.

What's actually interesting about this, and not just amusing, is Bashir's note that all of the spontaneous crushes here come from latent attractions on a subconscious level. "Best not to think about it too much." If there was ever an episode begging to be followed up on in silly fan fiction, this is it.
Quarkissnyder
Sun, May 4, 2014, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
I didn't mind the episode as a whole, but I hated the Keiko/Miles subplot. They are always annoying but their interactions were completely out of (their already annoying) character, and also overlooked the fact that Miles had encouraged Keiko to take the job on Bajor and that he promised that he would visit. So why hasn't he seen her for two months? And why doesn't he know anything about what's going on in her life on Bajor? Don't they talk while she's away? And seriously, a four year old kid who hasn't seen her dad for two months isn't going to immediately warm up to him, or she's going to be totally clingy. She's not going to go quietly to her room, again, to play with her stuffed animal.
Dave in NC
Sun, May 11, 2014, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Poor Miles. He could have done SO much better . . .
Yanks
Thu, Jul 17, 2014, 10:34am (UTC -6)
I'm one that actually like Lwaxana... I think her moments with Odo are precious. I think she was key in Odo realizing his feelings for Kira.

But this is a skipper for me. Bad actors trying to be funny just doesn't work.

Some funny lines yes, but damn...

Keiko is cringe-worthy once again, and this time Obrien is stupid too.

Having the crew be overcome by something that turns them into sexual predators seems to be just like having to have a "Nazi" episode.

Overused, old, blah - blah...

The words “Peldor joi” make me want to puke every time they are used in the series.

1.5 stars for me, because once again Mrs. Roddenberry graces the screen.
SoSoOdo
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Why did the writers bring Keiko to ds9? They should have dealt with divorce which does exist in Star Trek. I understand couples have fights but 90% of the time Keiko is mean. Why did the writers write her like that? They should have had miles divorce her. I could have seen obrien and Kira hook up but they wouldn't have done that because of Odo. They could have had obrien be single. I mean there were so many times on ds9 where he went on missions where he was told there was a good chance he was never coming back. It's just a shame to see a nice guy with that woman. What did he see in her? They should have put him with a woman that was nice and knew how to have fun. Oh well
Diane
Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 7:17am (UTC -6)
I really enjoyed this episode, especially when Dax decked Bereil, I screamed when he hit the floor. I love Lwaxana Troi she is hilarious. I think they should have kept Jennifer Sisko and killed off Keiko.
Icarus32Soar
Wed, Feb 25, 2015, 3:37am (UTC -6)
Yeah, Keiko was always a bad idea that should have been nipped in the bud, but for the rest of it, you guys literally missed the point of this episode. It's a spoof of Midsummer Night's Dream. Magic dust and mischievous fairies, in this case the gorgeous stupendous magnificent Majel, mistaken identities and everyone falling for the most improbable person, I was in 5 minutes into the episode. It surprises me how often Star Trek fans of all series loathe certain episodes because they can't identify the allusions these episodes make to other elements of western English speaking culture. It is one of the great strengths of the whole Star Trek that it does this.
DVMX
Wed, Mar 18, 2015, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
If they sold a DS9 box set, this ep and "Profit and Lace" should be separate from the rest and put on one disc as a "free coaster". At least that way you'd technically have all eps if you're a completest.
Del_Duio
Fri, Mar 20, 2015, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
"If they sold a DS9 box set, this ep and "Profit and Lace" should be separate from the rest and put on one disc as a "free coaster". At least that way you'd technically have all eps if you're a completest" - DVMX

Hahahaha, 100% agree! Though this one is crappy I feel it's much more watchable than Profit and Lace is. That is painful to watch, this one is just "regular" bad.
Gul Sengosts
Fri, Mar 27, 2015, 6:24pm (UTC -6)
"Yeah, Keiko was always a bad idea that should have been nipped in the bud, but for the rest of it, you guys literally missed the point of this episode. It's a spoof of Midsummer Night's Dream. Magic dust and mischievous fairies, in this case the gorgeous stupendous magnificent Majel, mistaken identities and everyone falling for the most improbable person, I was in 5 minutes into the episode. It surprises me how often Star Trek fans of all series loathe certain episodes because they can't identify the allusions these episodes make to other elements of western English speaking culture. It is one of the great strengths of the whole Star Trek that it does this."

An allusion alone doesn't make a worthwhile episode though. You could argue that a female Ferengi taking off her fake ears was an allusion to Vincent van Gogh, but that doesn't make the episode any more pleasant or significant.

There's a lot of humour in Star Trek, in the case of DS9 mostly with Odo and Quark, or even better, Garak. I couldn't find anything funny in this episode. Just a "wtf was this for?" episode, like TNG's "Justice". A waste of time without any saving grace whatsoever.
MsV
Sat, Apr 11, 2015, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Regardess of how annoying Keiko is, she sure looked good in this episode.
Azdude
Tue, May 5, 2015, 3:25pm (UTC -6)
With all respect to the memory of Majel Barrett, any show the writers create with her in it is a dud. They always cast Lwaxana in the same role, be it with Picard, Odo, or whoever, as a desperate over the hill slut.
It's a shame, Majel deserved better.
Robert
Wed, May 6, 2015, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Over the hill and desperate maybe... but slut? That's pushing it don't you think?

And Mrs. Troi has had good episodes (although not many). Her scenes in "The Forsaken" were the highlight of the episode and "Half a Life" was particularly well done (especially for a Mrs. Troi episode).

The problem was that she was often TNGs version of "The Ferengi Episode" and Trek doesn't do comedy all that well (with some exceptions of course). When they gave her some elevated material she ran with it.

And I'm probably alone in this, but I loved her in the much maligned "The Muse". I just thought the whole thing was really nice for her character and Odo's. It was a better followup to "The Forsaken" than this episode...
Nathan B.
Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:00pm (UTC -6)
I chuckled along when reading this review, because most of what Jammer criticised in this episode, I enjoyed. And I love Lwaxana Troi, who is my favourite minor character.* I like all the Ferengi episodes I've seen, too.

The episodes I don't care for are most of the Mirror Universe episodes, and--the worst: Meridian. I don't hate the last with passion. I just really dislike it.
--
*TNG's Half a Life is probably my favourite episode in that series.
jason
Sat, Aug 1, 2015, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
is it just me or does this have a lot in common with the naked and the naked now, especially with the crew losing their minds and trying to have sex with each other?
methane
Thu, Aug 6, 2015, 6:42pm (UTC -6)
Yes, there are similarities to the Naked Now. But the Naked Now was about lowering the character's inhibitions, revealing things they're hiding about themselves. If a crush comes out, it's significant; after all, there could be many other things on their mind. At the end of that episode, we've learned a bit about their characters.

The fact that the only thing that's revealed here is crushes means you can't really take any of them seriously. Adults know they may have one or more passing crushes at any given time; simply having one is no indication that you give it any weight. So this episode doesn't really tell us anything about our characters.

The fact that this wasn't followed up at all after the virus passes (you don't see Bashir & Kira hooking up again, nor do you see Dax confronting any hidden feelings for Sisko), confirms that none of these 'crushes' had any significance.

If you find it funny, it's worth it anyway. If you don't (like me, and most people here), it's a bad episode.

I will echo one of the above commenters in saying Brooks did have some nice camera-work during the festival. Watching the series on a TV that would have been considered gigantic in the 90's (not especially big in 2015) has given me a new appreciation for how big the DS9 set was, especially once they built that 2nd level.
S. Kennedy
Sun, Aug 30, 2015, 6:19am (UTC -6)
Awful. Reminds me of an extremely bad Season One Next Gen episode.
William B
Wed, Sep 9, 2015, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Against the backdrop of the Bajoran Gratitude Festival, which is about, uh, gratitude, and whose primary ritual is the writing of one's troubles on a paper and burning them away (isn't "please make the things I dislike in my life disappear" sort of the opposite of gratitude?) are introduced four romantic plots: the unrequited pair (Lwaxana and Odo, and subtly Odo and Kira as well), the happy relationship (Kira and Bareil), the troubled marriage (the O'Briens) and the relationship ended (Jake and Marta, off screen). A love spell (sorry, Betazoid zinthi fever) shuffles these affections around. What insights will we and the characters learn about love?

Well, uh, not much, is the answer. A classic influence for this type of love-spell stuff is "A Midsummer Night's Dream," and I think the episode is maybe trying to capture some of the zany energy and "Lord, what fools these mortals be!" commentary on the arbitrariness of human affections of that play. I'm not opposed to that in principle, but the problems are 1) the episode is not very funny, 2) there are no insights into the characters affected by the spell themselves besides Bashir's very brief statement that there had to be some residual attraction followed by "Best not to think about it!", and 3) the show is too earnest and stolid about love most of the time for jokey commentary on lust-as-overwhelming-force to take hold. The episode could have gone the route where the crushes are revelatory of the characters' inner lives along the lines of "The Naked Time" (or "Now"), funny because they are satirical takes on the way the characters usually behave, or even the way *humanoids* usually behave, and I could imagine a version of this episode something like those, uh, classics like "Dramatis Personae" or "The Game" where an Outsider character (Odo, Wesley & Robin) observes the weird, crazy behaviour of a larger group (humanoids, adults) -- and, well, I don't really buy those episodes (except for "The Naked Time") as great Trek, but they hold a certain appeal. In this episode, the beginning and end to why it's funny is because, I guess, Jake doesn't normally hit on Kira, and now he does -- along with some straight-man reactions from the unaffected characters, which are also generally not funny. So as is, it's mostly a slog.

Another big problem is that it doesn't seem as if the spell, er, zinthi fever, should totally change people's personalities and their ability to perceive reality, like Bareil starting to punch Sisko or Jake not understanding why Sisko would disapprove of him dating Kira -- the type of distortion which does *not* prevent Bashir from diagnosing the illness and restraining himself from seeing Kira later on. (I could forgive some of this as just being spell having inconsistent effects if it were funnier, though.)

Worst directing moments: Jake runs and twirls around posts, then STOPS, then Sisko grabs him and spins him around and tells Jake to slow down. The Bareil punching Sisko thing struck me as very awkward rather than funny, like Bareil was pulling his punches (which no doubt he was). The whole comic-climax dinner scene felt like people milling around a room waiting for their cue.

One of the Trek precedents for this episode, which also demonstrates what is wrong with this, is "Sarek," in which Sarek's emotional imbalances lead to arguments among the crew and eventually a fistfight in Ten-Forward. This was, however, part of a larger story -- and had the metaphorical function of revealing how the strain of a great elder figure losing his emotional control creates ripple effects of instability among those near to him. I guess older women's horniness *maybe* causes people to get improbable crushes and fall into lust, but I kind of doubt it. Either way, though, as with *most* (but not all!) Lwaxana episodes, the pathos of her character is left mostly unexamined. The sadness of her emotional attachment to Odo (and Picard), who cannot and will not return her affections, is sort of gestured to at the episode's end, but only for a moment. Also what the heck is with her hairstyle? Poor Lwaxana. Poor Majel Barret. On a purely plot-mechanical basis, I'm not sure why Lwaxana's overwhelming *and unwavering* attraction to Odo and Odo alone makes other people get attracted to random people, though I guess a whole station's worth of people crushing on Odo would be a bit much for Odo to handle...though, well, I kind of think that would have made a better episode.

Lwaxana intuiting Odo's feelings because she is both fixated on him and recognizes unrequited love when she sees it is a moment I appreciate -- as is their earlier conversation where Lwaxana tries to console Odo on finding out his people were heading up that "awful Dominion," and Odo continuing to be the brave little soldier about his decision not to be with his people is good groundwork for the revelations later in the season that Odo is not as certain as he is making out. Odo's entering the Gratitude Festival for the first time seems to be both a way of getting closer to Kira and as a way of his trying to commit more to being a part of the solids' way of life -- so that he is not so badly tempted to rejoin the changelings.

The O'Briens material works okay-ish for me; I know a lot of people strongly object to it, but I take Keiko's standoffishness early on as being the result both of being tired and of trying to figure out how to bring up the idea of staying for another few months. I don't particularly see why Keiko shouldn't stay an extra few months, though I get why it bothers Miles; I'm also not quite sure why their visitations are so few and far between (Bajor is not *that* far by shuttle). I do think the presumption that Molly automatically stays with Keiko the whole time could really have been reexamined. Anyway, Miles' disappointment that their brief vacation time isn't happy and Keiko's fear and inability to brighten her spirits combining to make their time unpleasant is believable. I don't really think that the intensity things get, where Miles resigns and then Keiko *still* doesn't respond to that, makes sense to me; I get that emotions are running high, but they sort of act like they're on the verge of a divorce because of one argument, which reads to me as somewhat forced conflict, given where they were in "House of Quark."

Finally, Philip Anglim is so hard for me to watch. I do not know what it is, but I get kicked out of every scene he's in even when not under the spell. It may just be that I have trouble not guffawing at the whole sexy-monk thing. The Kira/Bareil scene in her quarters is so awful I can't begin to describe it, and this is before the spell! Kira changes her clothes before she and Bareil are horizontal in her quarters, but he's still wearing his vedek outfit, his earing dangling like it's about to swing and hit her ear. He says "We've both been so...BUSY," with BUSY said in a faux-sexy voice as if he's implying they've both been doing other people, then he spontaneously starts talking about Kai Winn while he and Kira are about to make out, then starts weirdly saying that he doesn't get why she and Dax are friends because Dax is unpredictable (?). I know the line is there to set up Kira taking it the *wrong* way, but what was the right way to take that? I mean, I guess he is already starting to perv on Dax, is what we are led to believe, or maybe he is already affected by the spell (?), but, you know. What?

Anyway, 1 star is fair -- but I will say that I don't find this episode as hard to watch as the A-plot in "Meridian."
Odo Ito
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 12:48pm (UTC -6)
Lwaxana isn't a slut, she's a harasser. What she's been doing to Odo is nothing but sexual harassment.

Nana Visitor on the other hand is the worst kissing actor I've seen. Whether it's Bareill or Bashir, what she sells as kissing looks like it's from the 1950s. That's why the scenes with her working even less than anything else - you can clearly tell she's not comfortable doing this. And not just in this episode.

Overall, I find this episode at least watchable. The plot is stupid, but gets some laughs out of me.
"Meridian" on the other hand doesn't work at all, with it's forced romance and Dax being all kinds of silly. Here at least everybody has an excuse.

But yeah, it'S another totally pointless episode that doesn't advance characters or plot, just 45 minutes of filler that should have been used for more important things.
Diamond Dave
Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 1:53pm (UTC -6)
Well that was a desperate, desperate misfire. All we needed was a vicar with his trousers falling down for the full farce experience. And you have to say that after an episode full of unlikely hook-ups that to say they were underpinned by a level of latent attraction....? You say what now? Justifying the unjustifiable!

Ironically, the Keiko/O'Brien story felt much more grounded in reality. Indeed, on such a farcical episode as this it almost seemed too grounded. Neither of them come out of it looking good, which really makes you wonder what the point was.

Best moment - when Dax punches out Bareil. But still only 1 star...
Luka
Wed, Feb 3, 2016, 1:30am (UTC -6)
Anyone else felt kinda bad for Lwaxana? She was a beautiful and charming woman and kept getting turned down. It's sad that Majel Barrett is no longer with us.
James
Wed, Feb 3, 2016, 4:36am (UTC -6)
Luka - not really. Lwaxana was an attention-seeking drama queen who, as we find out, was married the whole time.

RIP Majel Barrett. Who will play the voice of the computer in the new series?
Jason
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 11:39am (UTC -6)
You people are way too serious. I had fun the entire way through.
icarus32soar
Mon, Feb 15, 2016, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Ta Jason,indeed some need to lighten up; some people on this thread, like Henry James in TS Eliot's famous words "have minds so finely tuned that no new thought can possibly penetrate them". They have no sense of humour, and mistake a fun ep for a bad ep, just because, without a shred of narrative, dramatic or cinematic evidence. Some ST is positively wasted on some Trekkies.
JC
Mon, Feb 15, 2016, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Ha, I actually really liked this episode. I wouldn't ... recommend it to anybody, but it was kind of funny and a change of pace. It was more like a complete DS9 parody. I was actually a little bummed that we didn't get to see any awkward post virus closure between the characters; I think the ending was the biggest missed humor opportunity.

I always enjoy Miles and Keiko, as well, it was nice to see them on the screen together even in a joke episode.

Regardless of how ludicrous this episod, by the time the credits rolled I had more laughs and facepalms than any other episode, and even though DS9 isn't supposed to be a comedy, and this wasnt exactly the best job of it, I think it's fair to give the writers one or two joke episodes among a series of dozens.
Luke
Mon, Mar 14, 2016, 12:42am (UTC -6)
"'Fascination' has a sort of manic energy that, ironically, might be most appropriate on stage." I've never thought about it that way but that's exactly right. This might make a half-way decent stage play.

I'll confess - I don't hate this episode. It's certainly not good by any stretch of the imagination, but there are things I like about it. The punchlines almost universally fall flat (Quark's "Commander, you throw one hell of a party" is about the only exception. The match-ups are actually kind of disturbing - Dax knocking Bareil to the floor especially so (basically this virus causes people to give into their subconscious desires and hers is to assault people who annoy her?) The Bashir/Kira make-out scenes are cringe-worthy in the extreme. Seriously, that has to be the worst "kissing" scene I've ever seen in any TV show or movie! And Lwaxana Troi is once again used inappropriately after being used really well in "Dark Page" and "The Forsaken".

But, I do really like watching the characters having a sort of celebration. Trek has never really done holidays before. There's no Space Christmas, no Space Thanksgiving, no Space Halloween, no Federation Day (which I would assume would be the equivalent of the Fourth of July). So it's nice to see something like the Bajoran Gratitude Festival (even if it's not very well developed - all they do is write notes and then burn them?!). It gives us some good camera work, more "energy" than normal and even a more vibrant color scheme. And, it's just downright enjoyable to see these people just taking a day off, kicking back and having a good time. Not everything has to be work, work, work. I mean, who wants to imagine a future where you'll never have the prospect of a three-day weekend or a good old-fashioned St. Patrick's Day style party? Well, I mean aside from Gene Roddenberry that is. :-P

The B-plot, on the other hand, suffers no problems. This quote from O'Brien says it all...."You're right. I'm an idiot, sometimes. When I don't get my way, I can be selfish and childish and pigheaded. I said some things to you that were pretty stupid. I wish I could take them back. But even if it's too late for that, there's one thing I want you to know, Keiko. I love you. I always have, and I always will. I want you to know I've left a letter of resignation on Commander Sisko's desk. I'm ready to move down to Bajor with you tomorrow, if you'll have me. And after that if you want to move back to Earth, that's okay too. I'll do whatever it takes. I just don't want to lose you."

MAGNIFIQUE!! I wish I spoke French so I could adequately express how much I love this. After all the complaining I've done about Trek never having characters sacrifice their careers for a relationship I want to make love to this scene and be the father of its children! Even if it doesn't end with O'Brien leaving with Keiko (because we know that wouldn't, couldn't, happen), just the fact that the writers were willing to have O'Brien make the offer was wonderfully satisfying.

So, please don't hate me for this, but....

5/10
Robert
Mon, Mar 14, 2016, 9:44am (UTC -6)
@Luke - LOL, no... you can give it your 5/10. I don't like this episode and 5/10 is a bit high, but I don't hate it either and O'Brien's plot is a nice focus on a relationship that sometimes doesn't work well.

But people hate Lwaxana and the O'Brien's relationship so this is going to be panned HARD in Trek, when the reality is that it's a perfectly good 2 star episode.

2 stars is far from "highly recommended" or anything, but I'd never suggest to anybody that it's a waste of an hour or that they should skip it.
Dinner Jacket
Sun, Apr 10, 2016, 12:23am (UTC -6)
I'll take this episode over Meridian any day of the week. At least Terry Farrell was good eye candy in the dress if nothing else.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.