Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Distant Voices"

**1/2

Air date: 4/10/1995
Teleplay by Ira Steven Behr & Robert Hewitt Wolfe
Story by Joe Menosky
Directed by Alexander Singer

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"I've had enough of this. I am not some figment of your imagination!" — Kira to Bashir

"Distant Voices" is strange, atypical, offbeat and often quite interesting. What more could you expect from a Joe Menosky concept? He's the guy who brought us TNG's "Darmok," "Masks" and "Emergence," as well as DS9's "Dramatis Personae" and "Rivals." Sometimes Menosky concepts can be terrific stories, like the dramatic "Darmok." Sometimes they can be bizarre works which seem to beam in from other galaxies, like the laughably horrendous "Masks."

"Distant Voices" is a mixed bag. It has some good moments, and it keeps one intrigued. But there just isn't enough substance from scripters Behr and Wolfe to keep Menosky's concept moving along. Perhaps the concept alone can't sustain an entire hour.

The concept: A telepathic attack by a Lethean criminal (Victor Rivers) leaves Dr. Bashir dying in a coma. The story is told from inside Bashir's mind. Each facet of his personality is represented by one of his DS9 comrades. In order to survive, he must use the different parts of his personality to repair a dead Deep Space Nine. (The station, of course, represents Bashir's own mind.)

The episode begins in a cloud of mystery as Bashir apparently wakes up from the Lethean's attack to find the station dark and empty. As Bashir roams the station, he finds his fellow DS9 officers, though the crew and civilians are all missing. Quark sits cowering behind his bar while the Lethean tears up his establishment. Bashir runs into Garak while looking for Odo. Bashir finds Dax, Kira, Odo and O'Brien arguing in the wardroom on how to stop the Lethean. Through all this, Bashir goes through an accelerating aging process.

In this opening act, the cloud of mystery successfully begs attention. Aside from the senior officers, why is there no one on the station? What is the Lethean up to? Why are all the station's systems down? Why does Bashir suddenly have grey hair? But when Menosky's concept is revealed—that this is all a very wild hallucination Bashir is having—the episode begins looking for what next to do with the concept, with only limited success.

Like "Emergence," TNG's inept attempt at highbrow symbolism (also written by Menosky), "Distant Voices" begins throwing a number of symbols at us, hoping that we genuinely care. The Lethean represents Bashir's inner struggle with elements of his past. If he loses this struggle, he will die in the coma. So the plot takes Bashir on a mission to get to Ops and repair the station. Symbolically, if he can repair the station and destroy the Lethean, he will survive the coma.

The story's apparent intention is to combine all these symbols in order to (1) show each DS9 character turned into a single personality trait, (2) set each scene with a creative, surreal visual and (3) milk Bashir's inner struggle for character development.

This all works to a point. The cast's personality manipulations are interesting, but hardly astonishing given the premise. The fresh visuals grab attention, even if they are a bit gimmicky. And this is really the only episode so far this season that spotlights Bashir.

Unfortunately, this episode takes too long to get where it ends up, and where it ends up is relatively underwhelming. One problem is that the climax hangs on Bashir confronting himself (represented by the Lethean), which reveals character backstory we've already heard before. (That old pre-ganglionic fiber thing again, eh?)

Another, perhaps bigger problem with this story is that it presses the symbolism factor on us by trying to explain every symbol in some concrete manner. Explaining every piece of what the station stands for in Bashir's mind is an excessive step the writers take that doesn't give the audience enough credit. It's almost like they're condescending. Symbolism is a device that requires subtlety—and subtlety is definitely not present here. Consequently, the episode's symbol angle falls apart, just as it did in "Emergence." Maybe the problem is that Joe Menosky is so far out there on some of these ideas that no one is really ready for it, including the writing staff.

Hey, I like original ideas. And "Distant Voices" has an original concept with sporadically interesting moments. But there's just not enough meat here.

Previous episode: Visionary
Next episode: Through the Looking Glass

Season Index

18 comments on this review

AeC - Sun, May 11, 2008 - 11:57pm (USA Central)
One thing that caught my interest here on re-watching was the faux-Lethean's accusation to Bashir of subtly sabotaging his future, purposely "mistaking" the pre-ganglionic fiber for the post-ganglionic nerve and so forth. It's an interesting comment given the later revelation of Bashir's genetic engineering and his purposely dumbing himself down so as not to attract undue attention. Of course, you would think that the faux-Lethean would make specific mention of that genetic engineering, but obviously, it wasn't a plot point that the writers had yet come up with. Still, while it's been a while since I've seen "Dr. Bashir, I Presume," I wonder if this was an episode they referenced when writing that ep.
Dirk Hartmann - Sun, Jun 15, 2008 - 7:20am (USA Central)
I liked this one very much and would give it 3 stars (which is penalty enough for it could have been even better).
Alexey Bogatiryov - Thu, Mar 19, 2009 - 3:08am (USA Central)
I loved this episode simply for the sheer horros and suspense in the first half when the station is abandoned and falling apart. The LEthian legitimately scared me when I first saw it (commeon - I was 10). The foreshadowing for Bashir's generic engineering here was pretty well-thought out.
Durandal_1707 - Sun, Sep 13, 2009 - 3:06am (USA Central)
This episode creeped me way the hell out when I was younger, so I was surprised at how boring it was when I watched it now. Oh well.
Jayson - Thu, Feb 11, 2010 - 6:22pm (USA Central)
Regarding Jammers comments about the TNG episode "Masks" that is really one of my more favorite and cerebral episodes of TNG. Not sure why but "Masks" is a really cool concept. Anyway "Distant Voices" is not as cool as "Masks" but it's just as entertaining. I think this episode more than any other to this point really got into Julian is as a person. For me that little bit of character insight is worth the price of admission. Oh and you can't go totally wrong with any episode with Garak, real or not.
Zack - Wed, Aug 25, 2010 - 8:58am (USA Central)
I am of the opinion that the entire vision Bashir experiences is actually the holosuite mystery Garak gave him at the beginning of the episode. The Lethean pretending to be Garak was, in fact, Garak pretending to be the Lethean. The "Happy Birthday" scene in Ops was the biggest contributor to this interpretation. Of course, this is probably just wishful thinking to make the episode more interesting than it actually was, a kind of Star Trek version of Total Recall.
Nic - Wed, Mar 23, 2011 - 8:57am (USA Central)
This episode doesn't improve upon second viewing. There are a few interesting bits of dialogue, but otherwise I couldn't really bring myself to care for Bashir's struggle because it was so contrived.
Marcel - Sat, Mar 26, 2011 - 2:14pm (USA Central)
One of my least favorite episodes, only scenes I did really like were the lunches in the beginning and at the end with Garak. Although I do not really care for the episode I do not skip it when re-watching.
John - Sat, Jul 14, 2012 - 4:23am (USA Central)
Joe Menosky rubbish.

Incredibly boring and ruitine. DS9 does bad TNG/Voyager.

I always hated big patches of Season 3.
eastwest101 - Mon, Aug 26, 2013 - 5:33pm (USA Central)
One of the few DS9 episodes I personally had to use the FF button, unbearably pedestrian and boring.....
Kotas - Wed, Oct 23, 2013 - 8:55am (USA Central)

Not a bad episode if you can get beyond the absurdity of the premise.

5/10
Cheyne - Fri, Nov 22, 2013 - 12:46pm (USA Central)
I agree with Zack... best to view it as on purpose by Garak.
Elliott - Thu, Dec 26, 2013 - 2:03pm (USA Central)
Sisko represents Bashir's professionalism.

BWHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH

At least the writers were honest enough in their choice for agression (Kira).

Joe Menosky. Let's look at the good, the bad, the middling :

Bad :
Interface
Masks
Emergence
Dramatis Personæ
Time's Orphan
Cathexis
False Profits
Darkling
The Fight

The Middling :
Legacy
In Theory
Hero Worship
Conundrum
TIme's Arrow
Suspicions
Rivals
Distant Voices
The Gift
Concerning Flight
The Voyager Consipracy
Unimatrix Zero

The Good:
Clues
The Nth Degree
The Chase
Future's End
Alter Ego
The Killing Game
Hope & Fear
Night
11:59
Equinox
Blink of an Eye
Dragon's Teeth
Good Shepherd

The Great :
First Contact
Darmok
The Thaw
Scorpion
Year of Hell
Living Witness
Drone
Timeless
Latent Image
Dark Frontier
Tinker Tenor
Muse

The only character-oriented episodes he wrote that were either good or great dealt with the VOY cast, with the exception of the Nth degree, and Barclay was a guest character. Most of the time, his successful stories deal with larger archetype themes and mythology. This episode kind of makes use of that, but the archetypes suffer that pervasive DS9 syndrome which turns the intimate into the mundane. None of Menosky's DS9 eps were particularly good and most were just bad. This episode was doomed.
Shawn Davis - Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 5:30pm (USA Central)
I agree with AeC about them not mentioning or at least making a subtle reference to Dr. Bashir's genetic engineering. I aslo agree with Zack about the reference of the faux-Lethean and Garak in Bashir's mind.

What I do not agree with is how the episode uses the other characters as virtues of Dr. Bashir. For example, Kira representing anger or O'Brian representing cowardice or something like that (sorry that it's been a while since I've seen this episode). There is nothing wrong with that idea by itself. However, it is how they did it that made it seems totally ridiculous. I also did like the 1st and especially the 2nd act where Bashir found himself in a run down DS9 space station (which actually represents his mind being destroyed by the attack from the real Lethean at the end of the first act). After the 3rd act where Bashir and gang discovered they all exists in his mind, it went downhill from there). I agree with the 2 1/2 stars rating. I only recommend this episode if you are fans of Siddig El Faddil's character "Dr. Julian Bashir" and/or if you like to see one of my favorite characters "Garak" in action.
Robert - Wed, May 7, 2014 - 8:49am (USA Central)
They basically DO make a direct reference to the genetic engineering even though that's not what it meant at the time.

"ALTOVAR: Why not? Isn't that what you've always done? Remember, Doctor, I'm inside your head. I know all about you. When you were younger, you wanted to be a tennis player, didn't you.

BASHIR: I wasn't good enough to play professionally.

ALTOVAR: Don't lie to me. Not in here. You were good enough. But you knew your parents wouldn't approve of it. So you gave up and you became a doctor instead. "

With future information you "realize" that his parents wouldn't approve because being a god-like tennis player would give him away.

"ALTOVAR: But pre-ganglionic fibres and post-ganglionic nerves aren't anything alike. Any first year medical student could tell them apart. You purposely answered the question wrong.

BASHIR: That's ridiculous.

ALTOVAR: You didn't want to be first in your class. You couldn't take the pressure. "

This exchange falls apart a drop, because it clearly wasn't the pressure he couldn't take, but that he wanted to seem less perfect. Although perhaps the whole point is that it's less pressure/easier to hide when you're snuck away on some backwater space station as the salutatorian.

It's interesting anyway, and whoever wrote "Dr. Bashir I Presume" clearly intended to retroactively explain this conversation as a product of the genetic engineering.
Quarkissnyder - Wed, Jul 9, 2014 - 10:02pm (USA Central)
I found this episode fairly engaging until the end. The big reveal is that Julian gave up a dream to be a professional tennis player and chose medicine instead? Was that written by a fifteen year old?
Yanks - Fri, Aug 1, 2014 - 12:37pm (USA Central)
This episode stinks because Alexander Siddig's acting is horrible and the aging make-up isn't much better.

Interesting concept that most likely would have been pulled off by someone like Garak.

Always a skipper for me.

1.0 stars.
Beast - Sat, Aug 23, 2014 - 8:16pm (USA Central)
How is it that no one finds the scene with the tennis balls pouring out of the station as patently bizzare as I do?

Seriously, I think that those ten seconds -- prying open a random panel only to have Alexander Siddig topple over under a small rain of neon green fuzz exclaiming weakly "My tennis balls..." -- have to be the lowest point in all of Trek, for me.

Which is made all the more interesting by the fact that Zombie-Keevan's shamble into the pylon in "The Magnificent Ferengi" is one of my favorites, as an example of absurdism done absolutely right. (And Quark's "Can't you please shut him off," delivered through barely contained laughter, cracks me up every time.)

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer