Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Sanctuary"

**

Air date: 11/29/1993
Teleplay by Frederick Rappaport
Story by Gabe Essoe & Kelley Miles
Directed by Les Landau

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Three million refugees from a race called the Skrreeans come through the wormhole looking for their destined homeworld. It's later revealed that Bajor is the world they have sought, and the problem becomes finding a place for them on a torn world that can barely sustain itself.

However, before this premise is revealed the story spends its first act mired in a lot of silliness involving the Universal Translator, which ultimately has little dramatic relevance and winds up being simply implausible. (And just because there's a language barrier doesn't mean the Skrreeans have to enter every room with such overstated trepidation.) Once we're through the awkwardly played scene where the Skrreeans become linguistically comprehensible, a social allegory of sorts begins to take form. About all I can say here is that I see what they were going for, but the execution leaves much to be desired. The idea of the Bajorans denying the Skrreeans the sanctuary they request is definitely a plausible argument, and the issues of xenophobia and unwelcomed immigration are certainly relevant.

But the script is heavy-handed in its obvious messages, and the dramatic tension is forced. Even though Sisko finds the Skrreeans a perfectly reasonable (probably more reasonable) alternative planet, Haneek (Deborah May), the Skrreean who represents the refugees, remains positively adamant on Bajor for reasons that are never made clear. The episode seems to be preaching about Bajor's unwillingness to help outsiders for the sake of preaching, rather than building a solid story around the premise.

I also don't care for the completely forced and manipulative ending sequence, where the story sends Haneek's son Tumak (Andrew Koenig) charging toward Bajor in a stolen ship, for the sole reason of killing him off and driving home the would-be message. Yes, there are some valid points here. But there's also a lot of lackluster drama that wants to mean more than it really does.

Previous episode: Second Sight
Next episode: Rivals

Season Index

32 comments on this review

Nebula Nox - Wed, May 16, 2012 - 11:41am (USA Central)
The Jews returning to Palestine comes to mind ... and the dangerous consequences of bullying
John - Thu, Jun 7, 2012 - 6:04am (USA Central)
The only reason for the universal translator issues and the Skrreean's misandry is to get Kira and Haneek to bond. Overplayed and unnecessary really.

And I would agree with you Jammer that the refugee issue is poorly handled. The get out of jail card of having a perfect spare planet available for colonisation robs the Bajorans of any moral consequences and leaves Haneek looking arrogant and ungrateful.

I guess the genesis project is not needed in the 24th century.
Ian - Fri, Jul 6, 2012 - 12:31am (USA Central)
It was a bit confusing.
The Jewish people returning to their ancient homeland seemed to be part of the point.
It is muddled in its message though.
The Jewish people WERE and ARE the rightful inhabitants of the land of Israel (wrongly referred to as "palestine,")
The bullying the previous post referred to is from the "palestinians," as Bajorans I assume...
Shane - Mon, Jul 23, 2012 - 5:45am (USA Central)
"I guess the genesis project is not needed in the 24th century."

I imagine the great controversy involving the Klingons and the Genesis Device caused it to be outlawed. (Perhaps in the Khitomer Accords?) We see in TNG and DS9 that terraforming is used to create habitable planets which could be used to backup a theory on the banning of Genesis.

But you're right, in Trek there are thousands of M-class worlds anyway, so you might be right that it's not really needed.
Eric - Fri, Jul 27, 2012 - 7:03pm (USA Central)
My biggest problem with this episode is its almost complete failure to generate any sympathy in me toward the Skrreeans. I understand what they did and why they did it, but I didn't care. Ultimately, they struck me as needlessly stubborn and unreasonable.
conroy - Tue, Jul 31, 2012 - 8:14pm (USA Central)
Uhm... the previous episode "Second Sight" not only brought a dead star back to life, but the guy who did it was a TERRAFORMER. He said that his crowning achievement would bring life back to the system.

He talked about many of his creations - multiple worlds. The Genesis Project probably was superceeded, as Dax mentioned the characteristics of a terraformer, making it sound like there were more of them, and that terraforming was not uncommon.
LastDawnOfMan - Thu, Aug 9, 2012 - 6:45pm (USA Central)
One sad thing about the Trek universe, with its history of progressive messages, is that every species has the regressive effect of making you wonder which unfortunate contemporary ethnic group it caricatures.

I could see their situation sounding like the Jews in Palestine after WWII, but this would have been more compelling if, as with the Jews, there had been something to tell us that Bajor used to be their homeworld, rather than their apparently temporary and arbitrary claim that it was. Then the issue of them coming back would have been more of an ethical dilemma.

In the Trek universe, their space Jews are already horribly represented by the Ferengi anyway. So I thought maybe they were the Space Gypsies. And nobody wants them around, apparently.

As with many DS9 episodes, the story is utterly weakened by giving them an easy exit as you guys pointed out, making the whole incident a throw-away that may as well never have happened.

The universal translator is one of those Trek technologies that always breaks when it makes things more dramatic for it to. I wonder how Trek writers look themselves in the mirror when many of their tropes are just as pitifully certain as "Shave and a Haircut" in Roger Rabbit.

Could have been much worse, though. Remember the Space Irish versus the stuck-up Space British in TNG?
Elliott - Sat, Aug 11, 2012 - 1:17pm (USA Central)
I am very hesitant to pipe up on this whole Jewish allegory in the episode--it is definitely something I noticed the first time I saw it--the issues surrounding this continued problem are so thickly oppressive in their scope, that the idea of debating it alone is exhausting. However, let it be said that the only argument for any land belonging to a people who (for whatever reason) moved away and wish to return is a religious one. Otherwise, Americans would be morally obligated to return all the territory in the US to whatever native americans are still alive in our century.

That's why, I think, the social allegory works; the Skrreeans (who came up with that name?) have a perfect solution offered to them by the Federation, but insist, for religious reasons, that Bajor is the place they must inhabit, and try to curry sympathy for themselves as being victimised by the Bajorans. The only thing which would make the allegory more true to life would be arming the Skrreeans to the teeth with Dominion-style weapons which posed a serious threat to Bajor, and having the Federation back the Skrreeans.

I don't understand why the episode is lined with so much irrelevant nonsense, then--translator issues, gender issues, parental issues--the premise is potent enough on its own. 2 stars is just right.
Jay - Sat, Dec 22, 2012 - 10:38pm (USA Central)
I agree with Eric..the Skreeeeeeans had no claim whatsoever to Bajor, and thus their stubborn and unreasonable sense of entitlement to a piece of it reeked to high heaven...
Comp625 - Thu, Jan 17, 2013 - 2:43pm (USA Central)
I agree with most of the previous comments. "Sanctuary" seemed lost in its efforts in both entertaining the viewer and telling a strong story.

- The 10 minutes spent on the Universal Translator was awkward and misplaced. These 10 minutes could have been used to better develop the Skrreeans as a race.

- Similarly, there is little sympathy towards the Skrreeans. I'm not sure if that's because the acting was a bit off, or if the plot was thin, or both, but I found it difficult to care about the outcome of their plight.

- I see how this episode can be seen as a Jewish allegory. However, I still agree with "LastDawnOfMan" though; the arbitrary claim that Bajor is the Skrreeans' holy land is far-fetched. The religious tones are not properly built up, so there's no meaning behind the Skrreeans' claim (unlike the Jewish/Palestinian conflict that has a very deep backstory).

The only saving grace of this episode is the ending, which I thought was actually NOT a fast exit. A fast exit would have meant the Bajorians giving up a piece of their land to the Skrreeans. Instead, they did end up relocating to a nearby Class-M planet.

It's also important to note Andrew Koenig's appearance as Haneek's son, Tumak. He was the real-life son of Walter Koenig (Chekov from TOS). Unfortunately, Andrew took his own life in 2010 after a battle with depression. May he rest in peace.

Lastly, this comment extends beyond "Sanctuary," but I personally find the DS9 early series aliens-of-the-week to be very cheezy on multiple levels (almost equally cheezy to the Season 1 TNG aliens).

- The Skrreeans are ridiculous, not only in their demands, but also with their hair and clothing styles from circa 1985.
- The Dosi were absurd with their facepaint and American Gladiators style outfits. Conceptually, they were "OK" (two-dimensional creatures but at least their dialogues weren't hokey). However, I still couldn't take them visually seriously.
- The immortality of the warring clans from "Battle Lines" was far-fetched to begin with.

My episode rating: 1.5 out of 4 stars
Shawn Davis - Sun, Mar 10, 2013 - 5:06pm (USA Central)
I agree with Jammer and most of the comments here about this episode.

I understand with what they are trying to do here by doing the story about the "Skrreeans" and finding their home planet being similar to Jewish people trying to find Palestine. I don't have a problem with this, but it's the way that the story was written that made me feel little simpathy for the Skrreeans and their representative Haneek. As Jammer said, there is no specific reason stated on why Haneek thinks that Bajor is their home planet that they are looking for. I agree with what he said about the Bajorans being right not to allow the Skrreeans to live on their planet due to paranoia and xenophobia also.

I agree with Jammer and everyone else's comments about the translator problem during the first 10 minutes of the show. I actually glad that they brought up something like this to indicate that not all the gadgets in the world of Star Trek doesn't always work for some species and not convient or is some type of "Deux-ex Machina", but it is the way that part of the story was executed that made the translator thing look ridiculous.
Andre - Thu, Mar 14, 2013 - 5:38pm (USA Central)
@Lastdawnofman about the ferengi:
I´m not sure if I understood you correctly, but are you implying that the star trek writers created the ferengi based on their view of jewish people? Or at least your comment would be based on an assumption of yours that jews are like the ferengi, greedy profit-makers an so on.

Either way, both of the possibilities are plain antisemitic. I think you should make clearer how you meant it or you should overthink again what you have written. Because if i´m right, this kind of argumentation should have no place in a forum, especially not in a star trek minded forum.

I just doesnt want to let this rest unspoken of.

Thank you.

A.
Matt - Tue, Apr 2, 2013 - 1:23pm (USA Central)
In this episode, we learn from O'Brien that phaser beams can possibly ignite radiation.
T'Paul - Tue, Jul 2, 2013 - 10:38am (USA Central)
I really have to disagree with the comments above.

I think this episode was better than both the episode after and before it. Yes, the translator bits were awkward, and yes, it mixed a lot of issues, but overall I think it worked.

Without searching for real world comparisons, which I think is unnecessary and unwarranted, I think the real idea here is Bajorans turning down help because they have become suspicious and untrusting.

The Skrreeans could have helped the Bajorans out of a famine, but the Bajorans refused that help. Perhaps the Skrreeans could have been helpful in the problems the Bajorans were to encounter later in the series. Perhaps the Skrreeans could have really turned Bajor around... alas, they'll never know. Also, the Skrreeans were not unlike the Bajorans in their mysticism and religion.
K'Elvis - Tue, Oct 15, 2013 - 7:53am (USA Central)
If habitable planets are so widely available that they can hand them out like party favors, why bother with terraforming. Just because the Skrreeans decided Bajor was their home, doesn't mean that it is. The Skrreeans are given a whole planet of their own, and they come off as simply ungrateful because Bajor didn't give into their demands. The Skrreeans just don't have any claim on Bajor.

The sub-plot with the stolen ship seemed pointless, nothing was changed. It actually undermined the story, Tumak's belligerent behavior doesn't bode well for the Skrreeans fitting in well if they were to have settled on Bajor.

Besides, who said they interpreted their prophesy correctly? They did find their new home in he Bajoran system. It wasn't LOCATED there, but when they came through the wormhole, and arrived in Bajoran space, they were given a new home. They have a choice: they can reinterpret their prophesy, or they can stew over not being given land on Bajor. The former is healthier.
Kotas - Tue, Oct 22, 2013 - 3:42pm (USA Central)

I found the premise and the Skrreeans to be quite annoying. A bad episode.

2/10
Yanks - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 11:30am (USA Central)
"Naga dentana. Dentana. Oobay a-tal? Oobay a-tal. Keetama sootay. Shalanta Skrreea. Skrreea."

(BURP!!!!)

Boy, what a horrible episode.

Good thing the Skrreean just happened upon the "Eye of the Universe", eh? Good thing for them for sure, they'd be dead inside 2 months I guessing had they "missed it".

We see translator issues here, but not again in DS9? So why have issues now? How many other races do we meet that have no translator problems at all?

So this race is a female dominant society. So what? How does this add to the story? I guess the next time we see a "male dominant society" we should ensure they drag the women around by their hair and show the men sleeping with more than one woman. The characterization of the Skrreean males added nothing to the story, the solution... anything. eeesh...

The end of the story (kid dying) had no impact on anything at all. The way these "kids" acted, I had no problem with them dying. I didn't care!

Xenophobia was mentioned above for a reason that the Bajorans voted not to accept the Skrreeans. I didn't see that demonstrated at all. This episode might have been good had we seen the debate on Bajor and learned why they voted no. All we got was "We ran a series of projections" ... blah, blah...

Again, no replicators for some on Bajor I guess... so I guess that long winter could really be bad, you know if the crops fail, and they don't have replicators...

But it's even more stupid for "in charge women" to think Bajor is their Kentanna. All Keanna did was call up a chart of this star system and do what, compare dots? They might have had a good reason, but we never see it. (Bajor=sorrow?)

Whatever... I wonder is the real reason they turned them down was because they couldn’t stand the thought of 2 religions on Bajor?

The only reason to watch this episode is we get to hear this word:

"DOMINION"

Is this the first time it's mentioned in DS9?

½ star out of 4 stars for me.
Paul M. - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 11:43am (USA Central)
@Yanks

I really despise this "Sanctuary", it's probably among the worst episodes of DS9. Yeah, it's worse than "Let He Who Is Without Sin..." or even "Profit and Lace". I get a kick out of those two and their hilarious levels of utter badness. This one... it's insufferable. It truly is.

1 star, and only because I hate Jammer's system that goes below 1 star. It's not proportional, it bothers me! If 2.5 stars is the average, we have 3 marks above that (3, 3.5, and 4 stars) and 5 marks below. I. Do. Not. Like. That. ;)
Yanks - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 12:36pm (USA Central)
@ Paul M.

I need to write all these down I guess so someday I can get a series/season average.

3, 3.5, 4 above
2, 1.5, 1, .5, 0 below

Yup, I see your point. Is 2.5 the "average"? This being a trek centric review point, one would think that that number might be higher.
Paul M. - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 2:35pm (USA Central)
@Yanks

Well, it says so on The Rating Scale link.
Dave in NC - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 2:57pm (USA Central)
This isn't a very good episode.

First off, the Skrreeans had a lot of nerve picking Bajor as their prophesied homeworld, because basically they wanted to do the same thing to the Bajorans that the T-Rogorans and the Dominion did to them. Hypocrisy much?

Haneek, the head Skrreean, was a total bee-yotch to Kira when she tried to make amends at the end, but the way the evolution of their "friendship" was portrayed, I didn't really care what happened with Haneek. I was on Kira and the Bajorans side the whole time.

Honestly, I wish Kira had told her (in that sassy Kira way) that it was insulting to imply that the Bajorans were so inept that an alien race could come take over their land and do better at raising crops than the people who already live there could.

I also wasn't a fan of the man-hating on the part of the Skrreea, because surely they've dealt with many alien species before where men held positions of power. They came across as short-sighted and bigoted.

And what's the deal with the men in this culture? Are they buffoons? Do they only possess the intellect of a child? What exactly attracts a Skrreean woman to "her males"? The characters seem to be written as the intellectual (and physical) equals of teenage Jake and Nog. This was painted with a very broad brush, enough where I was left confused (and slightly creeped out).

Last but not least, they shed their skin everywhere and don't clean up after themselves? Yuck.

Final thoughts: I'm glad I finally got to see how universal translator works. It was nice to see a mention of the Dominion this early in the series.

That's about it.

1.5 stars



Dave in NC - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 3:22pm (USA Central)
@ Yanks

I forgot to mention this before, but the reason Bajor doesn't get replicators from the Federation is that

A) They still use a money-based economic system. (We've seen this time and again in this series: people getting their utilities turned off for not paying bills, etc.)

B) Bajor is not a member of the Federation. The Federation cannot give them technology because it would be a violation of the Prime Directive to do so.

I will admit that considering how bad off Bajor is, why it would even be a question to join the Federation is something I really don't understand. It's not as if being a member of the Federation means suppressing your cultural heritage.
Yanks - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 4:27pm (USA Central)
@ Dave in NC

Actually I was going to give credit to the actress that played Keanna. That sequence where she adds a word here or there to demonstrate the translator is working must have been hard to do. But I couldn't because there was no rhyme or reason as to why she had to do that :-)

Correct about Bajor and the Federation. I always thought the Federation could have "lent" those replicators to Bajor until they were back on their feet.

I'm trying to think if we ever got a reason why Bajor wasn't accepted or hadn't applied yet. Maybe it was mentioned in TNG.
Yanks - Thu, Jun 26, 2014 - 4:29pm (USA Central)
@ Paul M.

Thanks. Agree, I think a 5 point scale would have been more appropriate.
Robert - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 10:12am (USA Central)
"Correct about Bajor and the Federation. I always thought the Federation could have "lent" those replicators to Bajor until they were back on their fee"

They did give Replicators to Bajor, just not "enough". In "For The Cause" it mentions the Federation gave Bajor 2 CFI replicators.

EDDINGTON: This briefing will contain information considered extremely sensitive by Starfleet Command. Please, do not share it with anyone who doesn't have a level seven security rating. It seems that during their recent invasion of Cardassia, the Klingons inflicted far more damage than we've been led to believe. Two weeks ago, the civilian government on Cardassia Prime secretly contacted the Federation Council and made an urgent request for industrial replicators. And that request has been granted.
DAX: How many replicators are we talking about?
EDDINGTON: Twelve, all class four.
KIRA: The Federation only gave Bajor two CFI replicators.
EDDINGTON: With all due respect, Bajor is just one planet. The Klingons have destroyed the industrial base of literally dozens of Cardassian worlds. With twelve CFI replicators, they can at least start building new power plants and factories.

"I'm trying to think if we ever got a reason why Bajor wasn't accepted or hadn't applied yet. Maybe it was mentioned in TNG. "

They did apply, and the reason they weren't accepted was also discussed. In "Crossfire" Shakaar discusses the long admittance procedures. Somewhere in the first 4 seasons they did submit a petition to join the Federation.

ODO: I've been working with the Federation for a number of years. They claim to be open and understanding, but somehow they're always convinced that they're right. It can be exasperating at times.
SHAKAAR: I've been trying to get them to cut the timetable for Bajor's admittance into the Federation by half. But every time I think I've made them understand my reasons, they remind me that every member of the Federation has gone through the same admittance process.
ODO: And why should Bajor be any different?
SHAKAAR: I can't think of a single reason.
ODO: Unless of course, you take into account the effect that fifty years of occupation might have on a society.
SHAKAAR: Thank you.

And in "Emissary" Picard comments that they aren't ready yet.

PICARD: They've left the Bajorans without a means of being self-sustaining. The relief efforts we've been coordinating are barely adequate. I've come to know the Bajorans. I'm a strong proponents for their entry into the Federation.
SISKO: Is it going to happen?
PICARD: Not easily. The ruling parties are at each others throats. Factions that were united against the Cardassians have resumed old conflicts.
SISKO: Sounds like they're not ready.
PICARD: Your job is to do everything short of violating the Prime Directive to make sure that they are.

There have been discussions in TNG about how a government has to be relatively united to join the Federation. In TNG's "Attached"

CRUSHER: Are you worried about this mission with the Kes?
PICARD: Not worried exactly. This notion of admitting half of their planet to the Federation while leaving the other half out.
CRUSHER: First of all, the Kes are not half the planet, they're nearly three quarters of it. And the Prytt are not being left out. They themselves simply don't want to have contact with anyone from the outside. not the Federation or anyone else.
PICARD: Every member of the Federation entered as a unified world, and that unity said something about them. That they had resolved certain social and political differences and they were now ready to become part a larger community.
CRUSHER: By all indications, the Kes are a very unified, very progressive people.
PICARD: But the Prytt are not. They are reclusive to the point of xenophobia.
CRUSHER: Well, think about Earth. What if one of the old nation states, say Australia, had decided not to join the World Government in twenty one fifty? Would that have disqualified us as a Federation member?

So for a TLDR version, the Federation IS helping Bajor get back on their feet. They are offering protection, supplies and replicators and they were very much hoping Bajor's government would "get it together" enough to request Federation membership. Things worked out pretty good under Shakkar and by "Rapture" Bajor was accepted into the Federation.

Sisko convinced them not to join so that (although it was not known exactly at that point) they could sign a pact of non aggression with the Dominion, protecting Bajor if the war went poorly (which it did at one point). I'm about 100% sure that had there been a season 8, Bajor would have joined the Federation and I think putting Kira in a Federation uniform/getting a Federation commission at the end of Season 7 was a hat tip from the writers saying "we don't have time to fully resolve this plot line, but as soon as the war is over this is what will happen".
Robert - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 10:32am (USA Central)
"Honestly, I wish Kira had told her (in that sassy Kira way) that it was insulting to imply that the Bajorans were so inept that an alien race could come take over their land and do better at raising crops than the people who already live there could."

Also, this is not what happened.

HANEEK: But Bajor has more than enough room for us. The plains of the northwest peninsula are practically uninhabited. The land's ideal for farming.
ROZAHN: It used to be, before the Cardassians got their hands on it.
HANEEK: Minister Rozahn, the Skrreeans are farmers. Just give us the land. I guarantee you we can make it thrive again.
ROZAHN: Under ideal circumstances, perhaps you could. But what if the circumstances aren't ideal? What if we go through another long winter? What if your crops fail? What if the famine that has been plaguing Bajor continues to spread? What then?
HANEEK: We're willing to take that risk.
ROZAHN: I'm afraid we aren't. We ran a series of projections to see whether a Skrreean settlement could survive on the northwest peninsula. The results were not encouraging.

Nobody on Bajor was trying to farm that area. It's uninhabited. The Bajorans were worried that the Skrreeans would be a burden and the Skrreean argument is that having another peninsula being farmed would increase food supply and that they could possibly produce such a surpluss that they would assist the Bajorans instead of being a burden. It'd be like aliens landing here and asking to use Antarctica. We might say that the land is worthless and that we'll end up having to give them aid and they could say that they know they could do it. Who's right?

I liked the fact that this episode presented neither side as right.
Yanks - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 11:06am (USA Central)
Thanks Robert.

If those big "industrial" type replicators were class 4, I wonder what the home use version is?

It seems that those would be that big a deal to distribute around.

"Unified" to get into the Federation... this supports my one religion thing. Too bad we don't get to see the debate on Bajor.

Dave in NC - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 12:46pm (USA Central)
@ Robert.

It's still an insult to the Bajorans. My point is that no one would know how to farm Bajor better than the Bajorans.
Robert - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 2:59pm (USA Central)
"It's still an insult to the Bajorans. My point is that no one would know how to farm Bajor better than the Bajorans. "

I just don't see that in the script.

Robert - Hey Dave, can I use that half of your backyard to grow some vegetables, since your kids moved out you guys haven't been over there. I'll give you the extras.

Dave - To be honest, I've thought about it and I think you're more likely to screw up, crack my fiber line that runs under there and cost me a ton of cash... it really doesn't seem worth it on the hope that you'll make some extra vegetables that I can have.

The key here is that I'm not telling you I can use the land better than you. I'm telling you that you ARE NOT using the land. And your projections about what it will likely cost you have NOTHING to do with what would happen should you have chosen to put a vegetable garden there, it's what would happen if I choose to put a vegetable garden there.

Bajoran and the Skrreeans only ever discuss the pros and cons of the Skrreeans farming that land and how likely the Skrreeans are to succeed. What Bajor could or couldn't do with the land they aren't using never factors. I just don't read the insult into it.

Yes, they ARE saying they could do more with the land than the Bajorans are CURRENTLY doing with it, but like in my example, why should you feel insulted that I think I could do something cool with a piece of dirt that you haven't touched in years?
Dave in NC - Fri, Jun 27, 2014 - 10:25pm (USA Central)
Wel, if it was my land and someone else poisoned it (rendering it useless), the fact remains it is still my land.

Just because a squatter thinks it has no value doesn't give them the right to volunteer my land for their use. It is an insult to the owner to declare you know better than they what to do with their land. My response would be this: buy your own land.

The analogy is valid: The Bajorans were just getting over a 60 year occupation, which was the only reason that land wasn't farmed. Hence, it was still their land to farm/do with as they wish despite the Skrreea declaring it was worthless to the Bajorans.

Robert - Sun, Jun 29, 2014 - 4:52am (USA Central)
In all fairness I DO agree with you in the ultimate case. I'm just disagreeing on what is insulting.

"Just because a squatter thinks it has no value doesn't give them the right to volunteer my land for their use."

Right? No.... but is it really insulting to ask a question?

"Hey grandpa, I see you don't use your car anymore since your eyesight got bad. Mind if I take it? I'll promise to drive you around when you need a ride."

Asking for something someone else is not using and promising to have it be a benefit to them is not insulting.

For my personal opinions? I think Bajor and the Skreeans both screwed up. There wasn't anything wrong with asking, but when you're asking to settle on a planet you've got to respect the answer when it's no. For the "leader of a society" who was still being given a LOT of help by the first friendly aliens she had ever met she really acted like a petulant child when her request was turned down. Especially since they were helping her find a new planet (and I'm sure the bleeding heart Federation would give them aid on their new world too :) )
Ian G - Thu, Jul 24, 2014 - 10:40pm (USA Central)
There are some interesting concepts here but the episode is very poorly executed and stumbles around mostly padding out the run time. The Skrean story might have been compelling if M class planets weren't miraculously ubiquitous in the Star Trek Universe. The Skreans just come off as arrogant and idiotic since the Federation is willing to give them a whole planet. The Bajoran government's reasoning seems perfectly sound.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer