Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Dax"

***1/2

Air date: 2/15/1993
Teleplay by D. C. Fontana and Peter Allan Fields
Story by Peter Allan Fields
Directed by David Carson

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Jadzia Dax is charged with the murder of a military hero from a non-Federation world that her symbiont's previous host Curzon allegedly committed 30 years ago. Now an extradition hearing may decide whether Jadzia can be held responsible for the actions of a previous life.

"Dax" is a captivating drama that successfully accomplishes a great number of things. First is the Trill background, as the episode poses and answers numerous questions involving the intriguing implications of a joined species. Then there's the emotionally probing exploration of the relationship between Sisko and "Old Man" Dax—highlighting a bond shared between Curzon and Sisko that both characters hope will survive the change in the host. Curzon's colorful backstory ("not the model Trill citizen") is also of interest.

Then there are the courtroom scenes, written with finely-tuned dialog and plausible arguments. Anne Haney as the 100-year-old no-nonsense extradition arbiter is a priceless gem. Odo's investigation proves almost as fascinating, as he locates the widow of the military hero and observes her problems and her concealed role in the matter. The plot unfolds on realistic terms that make plenty of character sense, highlighting personal regrets and sentiments. Every performance is praiseworthy, and the way the courtroom and character issues fit together with the intrigue-like plot is successful without ever colliding in discord. An exemplary effort overall.

Previous episode: Q-Less
Next episode: The Passenger

Season Index

18 comments on this review

Jay - Fri, Mar 12, 2010 - 8:53pm (USA Central)
DS9 was okay with its courtroom episodes, but that is one category where it actually comes in third, behind both TNG and VOY. "Dax" was pretty good, but I didn't care for "Rules Of Engagement" (especially the Ron Canada character, who was ridiculous), and neither can compare with "The Measure Of A Man" (the first and still the best), "The Drumhead", or "Author Author".
Hank - Tue, Mar 27, 2012 - 2:05am (USA Central)
I agree with all the the positives in the review, especially Anne Haney's performance as the judge. But, I also felt the episode was a bit marred by Dax's unwillingness to say anything at all in her defense to anyone. That choice is explained by the story, but you would expect her to at least maintain her innocence, if nothing else. I found those scenes frustrating to watch, and it felt like a crutch to maintain some suspense in the murder investigation.

Also, while I found the ending satisfying, it was probably best the story didn't dwell on the details. The murdered man's wife confesses to sleeping with the defendant, who were two of the people who could have given his location to the rebels -- not a great alibi. If anything, the affair would provide a motive for murder, which would seem to make the prosecution's case stronger...
John - Sun, Jul 1, 2012 - 3:18am (USA Central)
For me, one of the best character exposition stories for a first season of Trek.

And some of the dialogue is as brilliant as you'd expect from Peter Allan Fields. But interesting too that original series writer DC Fontana was also involved. Given that she was originally Roddenberry's secretary, would it be sacrilegious of me to suggest the keeping-the-affair-secret-to-preserve-the-great-man's-legeacy part of the story may be a reference to her and the Trek creater?...
William - Tue, Jul 24, 2012 - 11:14pm (USA Central)
I liked this episode. Not quite as much you, but I think you make a great case for your enthusiasm. Loved the exploration of Trill society (what is a Trill?) and Dax's background.

Maybe Jadzia's colorless response to the situation dampened it for me.
Van_Patten - Fri, Aug 10, 2012 - 5:43am (USA Central)
The strongest episode of the season thus far, and a welcome antidote to the insubstantial 'Q-Less'. Ths grabs you from the very beginning when the Klaestrons attempt to abduct Dax, right through the courtroom scenes until the eventual denouement at the conclusion.

Jammer mentions the performance of Anne Haney as the Arbiter, who is superb, but also worth singling out is the excellent Gregory Itzin (Who appears in episodes of Voyager and Enterprise by my recollection) as the prosecutor. The regular cast's performances seem stronger as well - This is probably Avery Brooks best performance yet, and Odo (still for me in 'Blunt instrument' - to quote 'Duet' - mode) is driven and as relatively dispassionate as ever. The following exchange is for me a classic:

Sisko: 'It's nonsense, I Tell you Constable, I knew the man!'

Odo: 'Yes, but did you know the symbiont inside the man?'

As far as courtroom dramas go, for me the Standard, as I think for many was set by the TNG episode 'Measure of a Man', and whilst this isn't quite as compelling as that episode , it does prove a very strong outing. Arguably only Terry Farrell's slightly dispassionate response to her plight, as pointed out by William jars somewhat, especially when viewing the episode now. Agree with the 3.5 star rating - for me a very strong episode.
Arachnea - Sat, Nov 3, 2012 - 9:55pm (USA Central)
I'm astonished that no one mentioned a huge problem with this episode:
The delegation from Klaestron IV attacks and kidnaps a Federation officer, knocks down another, sabotages the station (tractor beam) and knows how to override the all the codes.

Are they arrested, put in custody or questioned ? Bah, no, security here doesn't seem to be an important matter to Sisko or anyone else for that matter.

Although this is an interesting episode, I'd have done without the first act. It's annoying and unnecessary because the issue is not pursued. Also, I'd rather have had anything else than a love affair: for example, Dax preserving the "honor" of a traitor for friendship's sake. And it'd been much more interesting if the (very enjoyable) arbiter had to take a decision. I feel like I've been cheated beacause there has been no resolution at all.
Eric - Tue, Mar 12, 2013 - 12:14am (USA Central)
I thought Avery's (Sisko) acting has been pretty bad so far, but it was particularly bad in this episode. I'm only getting into DS9 now, but I heard that the acting gets better later, so I'm looking forward to that.
grumpy_otter - Tue, Apr 9, 2013 - 4:36pm (USA Central)
I agree this was very good, especially learning more about the Trill, but I was very bothered by one aspect.

Enina knows the truth, and she explains that her son has been "obsessed" with the murder of the father he never knew. Really? She allowed her son to become obsessed with this when she could have told him so many things that might have satisfied his curiosity?

I understand that she wanted to protect her son from the knowledge his father was the traitor, but certainly she could have concocted some story to prevent his obsession.

But that is a small matter that only bothered me at the end--until then, this was a great episode. FINALLY, the accused has a decent reason for staying silent. I hate those "have to stay silent for honor" crap things--this one actually made sense.

RD GEEK - Sun, Jun 9, 2013 - 12:21am (USA Central)
So, wouldn't the legal question of culpability of Trills and their hosts have been long settled by Trill society? Instead of having the back and forth of the extradition hearing, couldn't they just cite (or even the Trill minister just cite) the relevant legal standard? Why didn't the prosecutor just ask him how it worked on the Trill home world?
azcats - Fri, Sep 6, 2013 - 1:00pm (USA Central)
I like odo's cynicalnesss.

to answer a question below.

when the prosecutor hears from his MOM, that curzon is innocent. wouldnt it be kinda hard to keep on pursuing the matter?

good episode. i think they just have farrell not say anything the last few episodes so she can learn to act...
Snitch - Sun, Oct 13, 2013 - 7:49pm (USA Central)
It was a good episode, the mystery was nice, the court scenes dragged a bit. The plight of the widows of military of political heroes was a niche touch but was not investigated enough 2 1/2 Stars
Kotas - Tue, Oct 22, 2013 - 1:45pm (USA Central)

An important character development episode for Dax, reminiscent of the TGN episode where data goes on trial. A good episode overall and well above average for a Dax-centric episode.

6/10
spmsmith - Sat, Oct 26, 2013 - 7:59am (USA Central)
Knowing what comes later with the suppressed host, perhaps Jadzia also stayed silent because her sense of guilt was so strong, even if she couldn't pinpoint why. She might have assumed it was Dax's memories of the affair that created such an overwhelming sense of guilt that she had to risk extradition and death to protext the widow - whereas, really it is the suppressed memories subconsciously giving her that sense of guilt.

I know they didn't have the later episode in mind when they made this one, but I think the two hang together nicely. I *think* - I haven't seen the series in a long time, and only intermittently then; I'm rewatching the first season now.

The very first DS9 episode I ever watched? "Let He Who is Without Sin...." Is it any wonder I took so long to continue? :)
Paul M. - Sun, Jan 26, 2014 - 5:13pm (USA Central)
@RD GEEK: "So, wouldn't the legal question of culpability of Trills and their hosts have been long settled by Trill society? Instead of having the back and forth of the extradition hearing, couldn't they just cite (or even the Trill minister just cite) the relevant legal standard? Why didn't the prosecutor just ask him how it worked on the Trill home world?"

Agreed. Maybe I'm a stickler for minutia, but this is a thing that really bothers me about the episode. The legal question of culpability of joined Trills for the crimes of previous "entities" is something that should be a basic and well-known issue of Trill criminal law. Wouldn't the very first thing on the agenda be to consult the Trill legal sources and simply apply the relevant standard?
Dusty - Tue, Feb 11, 2014 - 10:22pm (USA Central)
RD Geek and Paul M are correct. I'm no nitpicker myself, but there are problems here that even I can't ignore. The idea that the Trill wouldn't have their OWN procedure for this--and that neither the general's son nor DS9 bothered to refer to them--is quite a stretch. The beginning, in which the son and his henchman tried to kidnap Jadzia like thugs, bothered me even more. It made the station's security look like a joke, and the guy's tactics completely undermined whatever integrity lay in his cause. (And apprehending his own father's alleged killer? Talk about a conflict of interest!)

Despite all that, I enjoyed everything that happened afterwards. The hearing scenes made this episode in a big way. The arguments were logical and compelling, and the 100-year-old arbitrator was a delight. All in all, a good outing for DS9.
Yanks - Tue, Jun 24, 2014 - 10:20am (USA Central)
Another "court" episode in trek that gets WAY too much credit for being good. (see Measure of a Man)

The whole reason for the extradition hearing is crap. It doesn't matter where Jadzia is serving, she's a member of Star Fleet and Trill is a member of the Federation. All Tandro had to do was submit the request to the proper authorities. The whole Bajor involved mumbo-jumbo is crap. The fact that Odo and Sisko didn't arrest Tandro and his thugs for any number of crimes is crap.

The most interesting point of this whole episode was this:

"SISKO: Exactly. From one host to the next. A different host, a different person. So I submit that the person he wants to extradite no longer exists, and I challenge him to prove otherwise.
TANDRO: That's ridiculous.
RENORA: It would have been easier on me, Commander, had you not raised that particular point. But the penalty for these crimes on your planet is death, and that is rather permanent. So before I grant extradition, you will convince me please, that the person named in your warrant is the person who is standing here now."

We learn that Jadzia remained silent in her defense because Curzon swore to be silent, but we never do learn if a Trill or new host can be punished for a crime one of the other hosts commit.

I think Sisko made a great argument in this hearing that wasn't necessary.

"SISKO: ... Madame Arbiter, how can anyone justify trying her for a crime allegedly committed by another entity before she was even born?"

I don't know that we ever learn the answer to this question. I do remember that one of Dax's previous hosts was a psychopath/killer... guess no one ever prosecuted, eh?

I thought Anne Haney was superb in her performance. I also liked Odo's persistence and the performance of Fionnula Flanagan. Sisko also gave a good performance during the hearing.

But this hearing should never have taken place.

How hard would it have been for there to have been no treaty between Klaestron Four and the Federation? Then this hearing would have been required. Oh, then we don't have action and technobabble to kick things off. I thought the DS9 writers we so good…

This episode falls short because we don't get an answer to how Trills are treated within the law and because the writers were so stupid in setting up this hearing.

All we really learn about Jadzia Dax is she was an outstanding student.

Much like TNG's Measure of a Man, the performances elevate this episode to heights that when you break it down it shouldn't achieve.

2 out of 4 stars.
Robert - Tue, Jun 24, 2014 - 10:52am (USA Central)
@Yanks

I think the biggest problem with the setup is that if the Federation has an extradition treaty the Federation would eventually order Dax to report for extradition. And then she'd have to resign her commission and be stuck on Bajor forever. Better than dying of course, but if Sisko won his court case Dax would still lose her career, be imprisoned, and never be allowed to report back to Trill when she died to have the symbiont joined.

Just because Bajor refuses to extradite a person in their jurisdiction, doesn't mean that the Klaestron government would not eventually force the Federation to force her to leave Bajor. And yes, the absolute easiest way to have slowed the extradition would have been to require a new extradition party to show up because the old extradition party were all in prison cells for sabotaging a Bajoran space station. It was out of character for Kira (ESPECIALLY S1 Kira) to not be ready to hurl them out an airlock for that....
Yanks - Tue, Jun 24, 2014 - 11:09am (USA Central)
@ Robert - Tue, Jun 24, 2014 - 10:52am (USA Central)

There is no reason why she would have to resign her commission or be stuck on Bajor. She would have to report for trial, that's it. Jadzia isn't a citizen of Bajor. She's a Star Fleet Officer that is a member of the Federation. The treaty was already in place.

Sorry Robert, none of your implications are valid. The treaty was there. She should have been ordered to appear in court. Simple as that.

This wasn't a court case, I do not understand what you’re saying about Sisko winning and Jadzia having to lose her career... If Sisko wins here (extradition hearing) she never sees a courtroom.

That's the crux of what's wrong with this episode, a court case would have revealed how a trill can be judged for past hosts conduct. (but we never got there, so we are left guessing)

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer