Jammer's Reviews

Jammer's Notes

December 31, 2005: I was really hoping — and fully intending — to have my brief review of "Encounter at Farpoint" ready for posting right now so I could satisfy, in a very perfunctory way, my promise to start the TNG reviewing project before 2005 was over. But real life is simply more important; I'm busy right now, and I'm a few hours short of what I need to get the review done before my end-of-year activities commence. That's the way it goes. My final hours of 2005 are going to be filled with stuff more fun than meeting an arbitrary deadline. The good news is that I will be launching the TNG section in the next week (that is to say, seven days or less — honest), and the breaking of the logjam will mean TNG will become a part of my focus, even alongside Battlestar Galactica, which returns from hiatus next Friday, January 6. In the meantime, as a token of my commitment, the TNG section is officially open for season one, even though actual reviews won't start for several more days. Until then, have a safe and happy new year.

December 29, 2005: Well, here it is, only six months late: my final review for Star Trek: Enterprise — the Fourth Season Recap. I'd like to pretend it was worth the wait, but honestly it's nothing you haven't seen before.

November 20, 2005:

Following a full six weeks of silence, which is pretty rare on this Web site, this is just a quick update on where I am and my progress on things.

The Enterprise season four recap is still in the works. Regrettably, I'm not nearly as far along on it as I'd hoped to be. Honestly, it's barely started, because I simply have not been writing the past six weeks. But I am getting back to work and with some vacation time during Thanksgiving week I hope to make some serious headway. The fact of the matter is that it may not be as thorough as in past seasons, because I simply have to get the thing finished.

After that, it's on to The Next Generation. Yes, I had promised that reviews would be "coming in 2005." I still intend to make good on that, although exactly how many reviews for TNG's first season will be written before year's end remains to be seen.

Stay tuned.


October 8, 2005: Here's the review for the Battlestar mid-season finale, "Pegasus."

September 29, 2005: I've posted the review for "Flight of the Phoenix."

September 15, 2005: Back on schedule, here's the review for "Final Cut."

September 11, 2005: I've finally posted the reviews for "Home, Part 1" and "Home, Part 2."

September 4, 2005: The aftermath of Hurricane Katrina ongoing in the Gulf Coast region is tragic and harrowing. Much like after 9/11, I've been glued to CNN for hours at a time watching compelling and sad news footage, wondering how many thousand have died and what lies in the future for the displaced living. The notion of New Orleans being evacuated, shut down, and with such a difficult and uncertain road ahead is particularly mind-boggling. I urge everyone to donate to the American Red Cross by following this link or by clicking the banner at the top of the main page.

Anyway, here's a general update on all things review related, since I don't expect to be posting anything for probably a few more days.

Battlestar Galactica: I'm doing my best to not get too far behind. Fortunately, this week there was no new episode, giving me an extra week to get back on track. I should have the reviews for "Home," parts 1 and 2 posted by the time the next new episode airs.

Enterprise: People have been asking me when (and if) to expect the season four recap. Yes, there will be a recap written, but I haven't even started and don't expect to until Battlestar goes on hiatus in a few more weeks. So it may be October before you see my final review for Enterprise.

ST: TNG: Likewise, don't expect to see TNG reviews until after BSG goes on hiatus and the Enterprise recap is written. Sometime before the end of 2005 you'll see TNG reviews start, but I can't be more specific at this point.

August 25, 2005: I'm running a full week behind, alas, but here's the review for "The Farm" at last.

August 11, 2005: Here's a review for the tough and compelling "Resistance."

August 9, 2005: A random look at some bad comedy.

August 4, 2005: Here's the review for BSG's "Fragged."

July 31, 2005: In my latest revenue experiment, I'm linking to Amazon.com with some product placement links. I'm a frequent customer of Amazon's handy services, and I thought I might try out their associates program. I'm hoping that these links will be useful to anyone who wants to buy Star Trek or Battlestar Galactica DVDs, books, etc., and maybe generate a little revenue in a way that does not compromise the site. After all, if you don't generate revenue from a popular Web site, you're a fool. (At least, that's what they're always telling us.)

July 28, 2005: Here's the review for BSG's "Valley of Darkness."

July 20, 2005: Rolling right from one season into the next, here's the review for the season premiere of Battlestar Galactica: "Scattered." Looks like no summer hiatus for me.

Also, to those wondering if there will be an ENT season four recap, the answer is yes, but it will be a while. There will not, however, be a BSG season one recap; the season recap tradition ends with Enterprise.

July 12, 2005: Here are the reviews for Battlestar's first-season finale, "Kobol's Last Gleaming," Part 1 and Part 2.

July 5, 2005: I've posted the review for Battlestar's meaty "Flesh and Bone."

June 24, 2005: I've posted the review for Battlestar's "Colonial Day."

June 16, 2005: Here's a review for Battlestar's standout offering, "The Hand of God."

June 15, 2005: I'm finally jumping on the RSS bandwagon. For details on this new method of delivery, see the RSS information page.

June 9, 2005: Well, here it is folks: My major catch-up update. I've posted a review for Battlestar's rerun last week of "Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down," and I've posted the last three reviews for Enterprise: "Demons," "Terra Prime," and series finale "These Are the Voyages..." I've also updated the Plain-Text Edition with Battlestar reviews.

June 3, 2005: I hate falling behind, and I'm trying to dig myself out of a hole before Battlestar's ongoing schedule buries me. I'm working on the last three reviews for Enterprise, which should all be posted in the next 3-7 days, but to tide you over in the meantime, here are reviews for Battlestar's "Litmus" and "Six Degrees of Separation."

May 18, 2005: Due to my recent trip to New York and Enterprise airing two episodes in one week, I find myself suddenly behind on reviews. I hope to catch up soon, but I'm not going to be as timely as in recent weeks, I'm afraid.

May 11, 2005: Here's the review for Battlestar's "You Can't Go Home Again."

May 6, 2005: I've posted a review for Battlestar's wonderful "Act of Contrition."

May 2, 2005: The Battlestar Galactica section of the site is now open! Included as of right now are reviews of the miniseries and first three episodes. Read the introduction for details. Also posted is the review for ENT's "In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II."

April 25, 2005: That's more like it. Here's "In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I."

April 16, 2005: Wow, "Bound" sure was a loser.

April 15, 2005: The DVD fundraiser was successful, and surprisingly swift.

April 9, 2005: I'm doing an experiment in advertising, seeing if it's worth my while to utilize Google AdSense for some small revenue opportunities. Google ads aren't obtrusive, but if they don't net at least a little bit of revenue, I'll probably pull them. Like I said — an experiment.

April 5, 2005: The possibility of ST:TNG reviews is raised with this fundraising effort.

March 22, 2005: I mark the site's 10th anniversary with a few words.

March 9, 2005: Posted the review for "Divergence."

February 25, 2005: Posted the review for "Affliction."

February 21, 2005: Here, finally, are the reviews for the three episodes in the trilogy featuring the Romulans and several other Trekkian aliens: "Babel One," "United," and "The Aenar."

February 10, 2005: Seeing as a new Enterprise episode is on its way tomorrow and three unwritten reviews will officially constitute a pile-up, I should probably quickly explain where I am and when I'll be back on the reviewing beat.

I've found myself idled with a mild review-writing malaise stemming from (1) work getting busy, (2) my distraction with Homicide season 6 and Wire season 2 DVDs, (3) Enterprise being particularly plot-heavy of late and my dread of writing so much synopsis (which, by the way, will likely be pared down noticeably the next few weeks), and most significantly, (4) the excitement surrounding my alma mater's basketball team being top-ranked, undefeated, and simply too fun to miss. A special shout-out to all my fellow Illini folk out there. Also, (5) my attempt to catch up on Battlestar Galactica episodes I've missed, since I think I'm going to become a regular viewer of that series. When will I be caught up with Enterprise? Hopefully not too far in the future.

January 28, 2005: I've put up the review for ENT's "Observer Effect."

January 20, 2005: And finally, at long last, here's my review for Star Trek: Generations, which completes my Trek movie review series.

January 18, 2005: Here's the review for ENT's "Daedalus."

January 3, 2005: Let's start the new year out with something really weird.

Jammer's Reviews aka Star Trek: Hypertext went online in March 1995.

Site Info

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer