Jammer's Reviews

Jammer's Notes

December 27, 2001: I've posted what was an unexpected review as I turn back to writing: Star Trek: The Motion Picture — The Director's Edition as seen on DVD.

December 21, 2001: As you've probably noticed, the reviews for "Into the Labyrinth" and "Cold Front" have been delayed. They won't be posted until sometime next week, probably after Christmas. Have a happy holiday season!

December 5, 2001: I've posted the review for ENT's "Fortunate Son." Also, I've fixed the search engine — which had been nonfunctional for a few weeks — by signing up through a different search service, FreeFind.

December 3, 2001: I've posted the review for ANDR's "Home Fires."

November 28, 2001: Reviews for ANDR's "All Too Human" and "Una Salus Victus" are both available now. A review for ENT's "Fortunate Son" should be posted tomorrow. (NOT!)

November 26, 2001: Hit counter surpasses hit No. 800,000.

November 21, 2001: Three new reviews posted, for ENT's "The Andorian Incident," "Breaking the Ice," and "Civilization."

November 7, 2001: Review for ANDR's "Last Call at the Broken Hammer" is posted.

November 1, 2001: Review for ANDR's "Pitiless as the Sun" is now posted.

October 30, 2001: Review for ENT's "Terra Nova" is now posted.

October 25, 2001: Review for ENT's "Unexpected" now available.

October 23, 2001: New ANDR reviews: "Exit Strategies" and "A Heart for Falsehood Framed."

October 17, 2001: I'm officially marking this day on the calendar: Jammer Caught-Up Day. With my posting of reviews for Enterprise's "Fight or Flight" and "Strange New World," I have all outstanding reviews done, aside from episodes that have aired within the past few days. How long I stay caught up remains to be seen, but I'm pretty sure this is the first time since early January that I've had all my back reviews posted and can get back on something resembling a timely schedule. I feel very, very relieved. To celebrate today's momentous occasion, I'm going to go out and consume large quantities of beer.

October 10, 2001: Posted now — my review for Andromeda's flawed by very entertaining season premiere, "The Widening Gyre."

October 9, 2001: Here's my review for the adequate series premiere of Enterprise, "Broken Bow."

October 3, 2001: And a very big "WHEW" from me. Posted now is the last review for ANDR's first season, "The Devil Take the Hindmost," as well as my lengthy in-depth look at season one ANDR — the First Season Recap. If only this had been done two months ago I might actually feel good about it. Okay, I feel good about it anyway. Thank heavens I'm almost caught up, save my "Broken Bow" review, which I'll be working on next.

September 29, 2001: I've posted long-delayed reviews for ANDR's "Harper 2.0" and "Forced Perspective," making me much more confident I'll have all ANDR reviews posted before the second-season premiere airs a week from now in my area.

September 26, 2001: Enterprise premieres tonight at 8/7c on UPN. Are you ready for a new season? I am ... barely. I'm still working hard to get these remaining ANDR reviews (including the season recap in its entirety) done in the next week.

September 19, 2001: I've opened the Enterprise section and the second-season section for Andromeda. ENT, of course, premieres next week, with ANDR premiering the following week. I'm still working to finish up season one ANDR reviews and hope to have everything finished and posted (yes, even the season recap; keeping my fingers crossed) before ANDR's new season begins.

September 14, 2001: The nation mourns a terrible tragedy.

August 25, 2001: Finally, some new reviews for long-ago-aired Andromeda shows: "The Mathematics of Tears" and "Music of a Distant Drum."

August 9, 2001: ANNOUNCEMENT — This is a brief announcement, but a big one nonetheless: I will be reviewing the new, fifth Star Trek series, Enterprise. The show premieres on UPN on Wednesday, September 26, at 8/7c, in the United States. I have no idea about non-U.S. airdates; international Jammer Review readers will have to do their own research into the matter. TrekToday will undoubtedly keep tabs on the international information for Enterprise airings.

With this announcement also comes a minor redesign of this site's main page — call it the 2001 mini-redesign. I've made space for the Enterprise logo and moved it and the Andromeda logo to the top of the review list, making them the primary focus since they have the most amount of current newsworthiness. I've also done some other minor shuffling (to keep the spatial layout of the page balanced), including the addition of a "miscellaneous" highlight area and the addition of TrekToday headlines to the main page.

• Also, my final words on Star Trek: Voyager, the Seventh Season Recap, is now available.

• And lastly, I still plan to post the remaining season one ANDR reviews before the fall season begins.

July 21, 2001: Main-page hit counter surpasses 700,000.

July 16, 2001: It's a wrap for Voyager. The long-delayed review for "Repentance" and the series finale, "Endgame," are finally available.

July 10, 2001: The "Endgame" is almost ready for posting. It and the "Repentance" review should be posted hopefully by the weekend.

June 18, 2001: Yes, I know it's been nearly four weeks now since "Endgame" aired. Rest assured, I'm on it. And hopefully the "Repentance" review (remember that one?) will be posted soon too.

June 6, 2001: Apologies for the delay. Reviews for ANDR's "It Makes a Lovely Light" and the overblown season finale, "Its Hour Come 'Round At Last," are now available.

May 22, 2001: Three new reviews: VOY's "Homestead" and "Renaissance Man"; ANDR's "Star-Crossed." More reviews to come soon!

May 8, 2001: New reviews: VOY's "Natural Law" and ANDR's "The Honey Offering" and "The Sum of its Parts."

April 30, 2001: From various parts of the spectrum: I've posted new reviews for VOY's excellent "Author, Author," ANDR's lousy "Fear and Loathing in the Milky Way," and VOY's middling "Friendship One."

April 26, 2001: E-MAIL ANNOUNCEMENT — I don't like changing e-mail addresses. It's a pain, and I like having a stable location where I can get my e-mail. But I've had it up to here. I haven't been able to check my mail at jammer@epsico.com for three days straight now. This is totally unacceptable, and my e-mail has been unacceptably erratic for about six months now, thanks to the ultra-crap service of AllInfoSys.com, where the domain is hosted. Officially, I'm now saying that all e-mail should be sent to me through jammer@jammersreviews.com or j.epsico@verizon.net (they are essentially the same since the st-hypertext mail forwards straight to my Verizon account). Do not bother sending any more mail to jammer@epsico.com, because these days it seems there's a decent chance I'll never see it. I will be going through and changing my contact address on key places here on the site. If you've sent mail to me at epsico in the past few days, send it again to st-hypertext. Thanks, and sorry for the inconvenience on behalf of the incompetence of AllInfoSys. (And BTW, some new reviews will be posted this weekend.)

April 14, 2001: I've posted the review for the zzzzzz-worthy "Q2."

April 11, 2001: From the Missed Deadline Dept. — Yeah, I did originally say today for the "Repentance" review. Well, it ain't gonna happen. (Besides, would I be me if I was right twice in a row concerning the expected post dates for delayed reviews?) Not to worry — this shouldn't set me back any further. The most likely scenario is that I will write reviews for "Repentance" and "Q2" and post them both about the same time, probably during the weekend.

April 7, 2001: RETURN OF THE JEDI JAMMER: Welcome to ST:Hypertext's belated first major update of 2001. I promised I would in fact return — I only wish it hadn't been so long in coming. But hopefully with this mega-update — which brings me almost completely up to date on Voyager — will have been worth the wait. If not, well, too damn bad, because these reviews are still free. Apologies for my April Fool's prank; I figured I might as well take advantage of the fact I've been so quiet so far this year. Anyway, dig into a stretch of VOY with "Lineage," "Prophecy," "The Void," "Workforce" (Parts I and II), and "Human Error." A review of the temporarily skipped-over "Repentance" will be posted on or before Wednesday, which is when the new episode "Q2" airs. Andromeda, I fear, is going to take second priority for the rest of the season (I simply can't overlook the fact that this is Voyager's final season), but I will be catching up ASAP on those reviews as well. It's nice to be back!

Also today — the counter passes 600,000 hits!

March 24, 2001: I'd hoped to have new reviews for you by now, but I was in Las Vegas all of last week, and then, after my return, this week dumped a new crisis on me when I had a computer software system crash that forced me to rebuild my system setup from the ground up. I've spent basically all week reloading my software and re-customizing my computer. So ... sorry, no new reviews — still. But I do have a new off-topic gripe column if you're interested in my take on the XFL.

March 5, 2001: Greetings, and welcome to the most silent opening months of a new year this Web site has probably seen since its creation. This is just a note to verify that (1) yes, I'm very much alive; (2) no, I haven't abandoned the reviewing beat; and (3) I unfortunately have no new reviews for you at the moment, though I have several that are in the works. Being this far behind sucks beyond all comprehension, let me tell you. I don't like it, but at the same time I have other events in life taking priority at the moment. I'm hoping for a stabilization in the coming weeks. And especially with reruns on both the VOY and ANDR fronts, I intend to make some significant catching-up headway before new episodes return. Believe me, I'm very aware that this is Voyager's final season, and very aware that I'm about 500 reviews behind. But I have hope and determination that I will catch up in a halfway timely fashion. I hope that you will hang in there with me through my unplanned hiatus, and will still be here when I return with new material. It might very well be this week, though no promises just yet.

February 19, 2001: At last, I'm back from the dead with at least one new review (ANDR's "The Pearls That Were His Eyes"), though it's from weeks ago and I admit that since I'm about a bazillion reviews behind that's only scratching the surface of my catching up. I will be working as much as possible this week to turn out as many catch-up reviews as I can.

February 16, 2001: I ... am so ... screwed. :)

February 6, 2001: Welcome to my first delay announcement of the new year. Yippee. Real-life constraints have had me out of the reviewing loop for the past two weeks, I'm sorry to report. I will be returning to the keyboard soon, and hope to be catching up gradually, though I know better than to guess exact dates, since every self-deadline I set manages to get missed. Stay tuned.

Also, in an unrelated matter, my column at Space.com (as well as the syndication of my reviews) has been suspended indefinitely. It would seem they are having business/financial issues and can no longer afford to pay most of their sci-fi review freelancers, so I've essentially been laid off. The Deeper Side of Trek may someday return, either at Space.com or here — it's hard to say — but at the moment I honestly can't spare the time without the monetary incentive.

January 23, 2001: I've put up my review for VOY's "Shattered."

January 20, 2001: Happy un-hiatus! Review for ANDR's "All Great Neptune's Ocean" is up.

January 14, 2001: Here's wishing a happy 21st birthday to my sister Jill!

January 8, 2001: Feeling the need to vent, I've posted an off-topic harangue on the stupid-looking "Temptation Island."

January 7, 2001: I'm celebrating my quarter-century mark today, as it's my 25th birthday.

January 6, 2001: Happy New Year! Effective immediately, my backup e-mail address is changing. I ask that you continue to send e-mail to jammer@epsico.com as usual. But if for some reason that address is not working, send e-mail to my new backup address at j.epsico@verizon.net. Effective immediately, I am abandoning my e-mail address at att.net. Any e-mails sent there will go unanswered, and as my service eventually expires, incoming mail there will probably bounce.

Jammer's Reviews aka Star Trek: Hypertext went online in March 1995.

Site Info

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer