Jammer's Reviews

Jammer's Notes

December 28, 2000: My long-delayed review for ANDR's "The Ties That Blind" is finally available. This means I'm officially caught up and there will be no new reviews until new episodes resume in mid-January. However, look for a return of my column, The Deeper Side of Trek, in a few days.

December 13, 2000: The review for VOY's best effort yet this season, "Flesh and Blood," is now available.

December 7, 2000: E-MAIL PROBLEMS, continued: Between Friday and early this morning, e-mail was not being processed through my regular e-mail address. This is due to continued problems with Epsico.com's hosting provider, which I'm not particularly happy about. All mail sent during that six-day period, as far as I know, was bounced back to the sender as undeliverable. The e-mail problem seems to be fixed for the time being, but remember that if you can't contact me through my normal address you should use the backup address jamahl@worldnet.att.net. As always, watch the notices here for details. In an unrelated matter, I expect my backup e-mail address will be changing in the next 30 days; I will post that info when it happens.

I've posted the review for ANDR's ultra-weak "A Rose in the Ashes."

December 4, 2000: The review for VOY's "Nightingale" is now up.

November 30, 2000: I've posted the ANDR review for "The Banks of the Lethe." Note: I have temporarily skipped over "The Ties That Blind" and will post that review later in the week.

November 27, 2000: Thanksgiving has come and gone, and I'm thankful for finally getting some reviews posted. I've got three new reviews for you: ANDR's "Double Helix" and "Angel Dark, Demon Bright," and VOY's "Body and Soul." Whew. Plenty more to come, hopefully soon. I'll be much more thankful in another week or so when reruns will afford me a real break. It's been one hectic November.

November 20, 2000: As you probably noticed, I'm behind on ANDR reviews. And yes, I'm catching up, slowly but surely. Stay tuned.

November 15, 2000: MAIL UPDATE — Early this morning my e-mail at jammer@epsico.com came back on-line, so please resume sending mail to that address, unless you find you still have problems, at which point you can use the backup address.

November 14, 2000: MAIL PROBLEMS — Since approximately 11:30 a.m. CST (GMT -0500) on Monday, my e-mail server has not been accepting incoming mail. All e-mail, to my knowledge, has been bouncing. I do not know why this is, and attempts to contact my hosting provider have so far been unsuccessful. If you want to e-mail me, send mail to jamahl@worldnet.att.net until further notice. Please keep checking back here for an all-clear update on my real address, because the Worldnet address is my backup and I intend to go back to my Epsico.com e-mail once the problem has been resolved. If in the past 36 hours you've sent e-mail that has bounced, I apologize; please try my backup address.

And here's a pair of reviews for you at last: VOY's "Critical Care" and "Inside Man."

November 11, 2000: So where are the new reviews? They're in progress. I've fallen a bit behind, as you may have noticed. The main reason: Election Day. Since I work at a newspaper I had certain preparations I had to make for the election, which has turned out to be one of the most interesting elections we could probably ever hope to see. I hope to get back on track soon; until then, your patience is appreciated.

November 10, 2000: A milestone — ST:Hypertext gets its half-millionth main-page download since the installation of the counter on March 1, 1997. Thanks for being repeat customers everyone!

November 7, 2000: My latest Deeper Side column is available, looking at the crossroads status of the franchise as Series V remains a mystery.

October 30, 2000: The review for ANDR's "D Minus Zero" is up.

October 27, 2000: New review for VOY's "Repression" now available.

October 24, 2000: I've posted the review for VOY's "Drive."

October 19, 2000: The review for ANDR's first major stumble, "To Loose the Fateful Lightning" is now available.

October 18, 2000: The review for VOY's "Imperfection" is up.

October 12, 2000: The review for ANDR's second half of the series premiere, "An Affirming Flame," is now up.

October 9, 2000: I've posted the review for VOY's season premiere, "Unimatrix Zero, Part II." Also, I've finally gotten around to setting up a simple search engine that will search ST:Hypertext for user-specified keywords. This is set up with freepolls.com IntraSearch, which is quick to configure and very easy to customize. If you need a simple site-searching tool and don't feel like messing with CGI scripts, I recommend this one based on my short experience so far! (Note: When entering multiple words in the search field, the engine automatically assumes Boolean "and.")

October 6, 2000: My latest, somewhat pithier Deeper Side column, this one on Trek warfare, has been posted over at Space.com. I am of course also working on the VOY season premiere review.

October 5, 2000: Hit counter surpasses 475,000 hits.

October 3, 2000: Welcome to the beginning of review season! Let's start it off with the series premiere of ANDR, "Under the Night." As always, beware significant SPOILERS, especially since this review is coming out well before the show is airing in most markets.

September 28, 2000: You can take your pick depending upon how cynical and/or anti-"The Man" you are. Today is what I'm opting to call either Long-Deferred Payday or Jammer Sellout Day. (You can choose your favorite.) The reason for this is because I've just closed a deal that will make my Voyager and Andromeda reviews this season available via syndication through Space.com. Do not fret, however, because reviews will be posted as usual here at ST:Hypertext (as well as through the Review Mailer) in addition to over at Space.com. (In fact, I could've gotten paid more if I'd granted exclusive printing rights to Space.com, but I wouldn't presume for one second to do that to the faithful readers of ST:Hypertext. This will still be the official site of the Jammer Review.) Review formats will not be changing for VOY; the format for ANDR remains to be seen and will be determined once I've seen the premiere. I'd expect it would be similar in format to the VOY reviews. Versions of my reviews at Space.com will be subject to editing, and therefore might not be exactly the same as the versions posted here. I thought I'd clear the air here by putting it on record — that way we can avoid possible confusion once the reviewing season gets under way here in the next week.

September 19, 2000: A new edition of Deeper Side has been posted. Another somewhat lightweight column, this takes a look at Trek technology.

September 14, 2000: Opening day! The Andromeda section here at ST:Hypertext is officially open. My Andromeda introduction article is now available here as well as over at SlipstreamWeb. I've also put up the Voyager season seven page and updated all the menus accordingly. On a more personal note, in addition to openings, I'd also like to announce the official closing of the long-inactive JCF, with a series-finale posting. Find out what I mean by clicking here.

September 13, 2000: We're approaching season premiere time. My introduction to Andromeda and an interview have been put up over at SlipstreamWeb.

September 1, 2000: The latest installment of Deeper Side is available. This one is a somewhat tongue-in-cheek look at Trek's lack of the non-elite.

August 17, 2000: The second installment in my Deeper Side of Trek column series is now available over at Space.com. This installment looks at the Star Trek movies.

August 4, 2000: My new biweekly column series, The Deeper Side of Trek, has been launched over in the sci-fi section at Space.com, with the first of hopefully many-to-come installments having been posted. This first edition serves as an introduction, and provides an important definition of "the franchise" as I see it.

August 1, 2000: I've got some stuff in the works. With any luck, there should be at least one new article posted here (and perhaps more) within the next week.

July 29, 2000: Happy 50th birthday, Mom!

July 18, 2000: Counter surpasses the 450,000 mark.

July 7, 2000: So who says summer rerun season had to be boring around here?

Where to begin... First with the new look: Welcome to the new-millennium edition of Star Trek:Hypertext (yes, we can still cash in on The Year 2000 Cliche even halfway through the year). After almost 18 months of the previous design, I decided it was time for another Web site redesign. Most of the changes are cosmetic and not exactly huge; I've changed the primary font to the more modern-looking and always-popular Verdana on many of the info pages (though I've opted to leave the review text alone). I've also updated the logos and headers to be a little sleeker.

The most dramatic change is on the main page, where I've tried to fix some of the clunkiness in the old design by continuing the widespread design trend of cramming as much text into as little space as possible, while still doing so in a way that's attractive and readable. Also note the more "aggressive" style of the design. Yes, it's the new sports car edition of ST:Hypertext. The ads are also more logically located at the top, rather than under the logo where they used to interrupt the page's flow. Personally, I like it all a lot better. I hope you do, too. Comments of course are welcome, as long as they're positive! (Just kidding — though I won't be making major reversals if you don't like it; sorry.) Change is good. Really. Rest assured that I've kept the overall design philosophy the same, and a great many things (most, really) have been retained. Like the January 1999 redesign, more is the same than is different.

There are some other minor changes to some of the infrastructure formatting (the Trek movie review pages have gotten some new design attention), as well as updated text on various pages like the copyright page, FAQ, and overview. It's not worth a blow-by-blow; just know that I spent a good chunk of time on little things that you might not even notice (like "top" links at the bottoms of pages, etc.) but these probably needed attention from a person who claims to be a self-respecting, responsible Web editor. Should you notice any broken links or such, please drop me an e-mail at jammer@epsico.com.

Next order of business is an announcement. After months of toying with the idea, I've decided that, barring a major change in my schedule in the next few months, I will be reviewing Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda when it premieres this fall. Either I'm a masochist or I'm just looking for something fresh on TV so I can go back to my days of reviewing two series instead of one (yes, I will of course also still be reviewing Voyager). How exactly these new reviews will look remains to be seen. The format may be somewhat shorter — who knows. I won't know until I dive into the actual task of writing them. Starting from ground zero should be interesting and somewhat challenging. I hope you'll join me in trying out this new sci-fi series.

This might also explain why I've changed the subtitle under my main logo to say "extensive reviews of Trek episodes and other sci-fi." Andromeda is likely to comprise the bulk of the "other sci-fi," but I also hope to include semi-frequent reviews of non-Trek sci-fi movies (and possibly other fantasy or genre pictures). To jump-start this idea, I've written and posted a review of the recent animated sci-fi adventure Titan A.E. I've also ported over several sci-fi reviews from the now-defunct Jammer's Movie Reviews Web site, which never got off the ground because of a lack of time and the simple fact that I just didn't go to enough movies. These materials can be found in the miscellaneous section, which I hope will be more active in the future. (Look for a review of X-Men after it's released.)

I have also finished writing up my Los Angeles trip report. Finally, at long last, Days 2 and 3 are now posted, along with photos from those days and also Day 1. I should warn you, however, that Days 2 and 3 (especially 3) are not nearly as interesting as Day 1 (which is partially why I've been putting them off so long). Day 1 is what the article was about. The other two days are simply like a free bonus prize. So if it's a matter of it "being worth the wait" and it now going on four months since I actually went to L.A., then I hope you aren't disappointed. The photos, I'm guessing, are probably what will be of most interest.

And finally, I'll mention that I'll be writing some summer feature articles about Trek (and possibly other sci-fi topics) in the course of this rerun season, beginning in the next couple weeks. Interestingly, these articles will not be posted here at ST:Hypertext but instead over at Space.com, where I'll be a columnist in the sci-fi section. I'm looking forward to it, and will post links here whenever I have new material up.

So summer used to be a time when I'd get a break, but it seems that this summer I'm likely to be nearly as busy here at ST:Hypertext (and Space.com) as I typically am during the fall. Stay tuned!

 

June 14, 2000: Happy 50th birthday, Dad!

June 12, 2000: I've posted my very lengthy and thorough Sixth Season Recap article for VOY. With this finished, I do indeed still intend to post the rest of my L.A. trip report. Keep an eye out the next few weeks.

May 28, 2000: The review for the VOY season finale, "Unimatrix Zero," is now available. Now that the season is over, I will be working on a sixth season commentary (to be posted sometime in the next month or two, hopefully sooner than later), as well as finishing my L.A. trip report and posting additional photos as I promised. Stay tuned!

May 23, 2000: It's technically Tuesday morning, but I'm calling it Monday night (and therefore in compliance with my promise) because I haven't gone to sleep yet. Here are reviews covering both ends of the spectrum — "Life Line" and "The Haunting of Deck Twelve."

May 21, 2000: I know I said Sunday night, but something came up. Give me another day.

May 20, 2000: Apologies for the delays. Fortunately, reviews for both "Life Line" and "The Haunting of Deck Twelve" should be posted sometime Sunday evening.

May 8, 2000: I've posted the review for VOY's sorely disappointing "Fury."

May 7, 2000: I've finally posted the review for the intriguingly self-reflective "Muse." My continued report on Los Angeles is being postponed for the time being. I plan to get "Fury" to you in a more timely fashion.

April 26, 2000: I've finally posted a significant chunk of my personal travel report of my trip to Los Angeles in March. This is a totally self-centered article (but definitely on-topic) that I've been writing off and on since mid-March (in between long bouts of procrastination — you know me). There will be more on the rest of my trip posted in another week or so, but the most interesting Trek-related parts are in the segments I've posted now.

And the new run of episodes, the last batch for the season, has begun. I've posted my review for "Live Fast and Prosper."

April 2, 2000: It has come to my attention that some e-mail sent to jammer@epsico.com has bounced. Unfortunately, I have no idea how frequently this has been happening, because from my end my e-mail account seems to be working normally — I've still been getting e-mail every day. If you have sent me mail at epsico.com that has been rejected and returned to you, please let me know by sending another message to my backup address, jamahl@worldnet.att.net. I would greatly appreciate it so I can learn about and solve any possible e-mail problem. Note: Please use that address only in the event that mail sent to epsico.com has FAILED. Continue sending to jammer@epsico.com unless you have received rejected, returned e-mail. If it's a matter of me simply having not yet answered your e-mail, it's probably a case of my procrastination allowing it to sit in my inbox more than a case of technical difficulties. Thanks.

Also on April 2, 2000: The 400,000th hit on the main index has been logged!

March 26, 2000: This is a first as far as I know, but a Brazilian Webmaster has translated my "Good Shepherd" review into a Portuguese version.

March 20, 2000: AT LAST! Jammer gets caught up and you get a slew of reviews! VOY's "Ashes to Ashes," "Child's Play," and "Good Shepherd" are now all posted. Enjoy!

March 13, 2000: DELAYS — Yes, there'd be delays here at good ol' Jammer's Review. (Nah, c'mon, me?) But I have a good reason. I was out of town for three days, and was way busy before that. I'll be working this week to get caught up again. I'll also be working to catch up on backlogged e-mail. I'm about 40 behind, which for me is quite a bit since I'm generally on top of e-mail. If you requested a response and still haven't gotten one, I will be responding; it's just a matter of getting caught up.

March 7, 2000: Star Trek: Hypertext celebrates FIVE YEARS on the Web! I've posted a brief retrospective about some of the changes this site has gone through over the years.

Also note: There's a very good chance the "Ashes to Ashes" review will be significantly delayed (possibly into next week). I've got a lot going on this week (which you'll probably hear plenty more about in the near future) and I'll be out of town from Thursday through the weekend. I've also been preparing for this weekend trip and haven't yet gotten around to the "Ashes" review. I sincerely doubt I'll have time to write on Wednesday, so the review will not be posted until after I return. On the upside, my local UPN affiliate DID finally begin broadcasting last week, so from now on (except this week, since I'll be busy) I will actually see Voyager on Wednesdays. This means when things get back to normal I'll actually be posting reviews earlier — possibly as early as the weekend immediately after the airing. Can you believe it? That's okay, because I don't ... yet. :)

February 28, 2000: Actually somewhat more timely for a change: VOY's off-its-rocker "Spirit Folk." If all goes well, I might actually get to see Voyager this Wednesday on our area's new UPN affiliate. This might mean more consistently earlier reviews, since I'll no longer have to wait until Saturdays to see the episodes.

February 25, 2000: Here you go, a little late: VOY's "Collective."

February 16, 2000: Are you ready for a smackdown? Because VOY's "Tsunkatse" is here.

February 10, 2000: I've put up the VOY "Memorial" review.

February 2, 2000: The review for VOY's "Virtuoso" is now posted.

January 27, 2000: The review for VOY's "Blink of an Eye" is now available.

January 20, 2000: I've posted the review for VOY's "Fair Haven," as well as an off-topic film review of Supernova.

January 14, 2000: And a very happy birthday to my sister Jill, who turns 20 today.

January 13, 2000: Jammer checking in — It's been a nice little break, I must say. But Voyager has returned with a new episode, "Fair Haven," which I will be reviewing after I see it on Saturday. The new year has still not brought with it the long-promised UPN affiliate to my area, so first viewings for me will still not be until Saturdays, and posting reviews will not be until several days after those Saturday airings. It also seems the Lives of Dax book review will probably not be posted until after I've also started back up on the Voyager reviewing. (I've taken a break from the book as well.) Not to worry, though, because I'll be back to work soon enough.

January 7, 2000: Jammer turns 24. And doesn't touch the Web site.

Jammer's Reviews aka Star Trek: Hypertext went online in March 1995.

Site Info

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer