Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 71 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Nov 30, 2016, 1:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

The one saving grace is the interaction between Lincoln and Uhura, when he says "What a charming Negress", then immediately apologizes for calling her that. And she responds (I'm paraphrasing) "why should I take offense at a word? [regardless of how it was used in the past] I'm happy with who/what I am." That's a classic Roddenberry vision of the future.

Yeah, the "let's examine good and evil by making them kill each other" is absurd. It's possible a truly alien race wouldn't know any better, but surely KIrk or Spock could have quickly pointed out the flaw in their experimental design.
Kirk: "Both sides can fight -- to find meaningful differences, you need to examine *why* they fight..." or something to that effect would have been a good start.

@JPaul - I like your notion of having the evil group implode with infighting. Maybe that's what was shown at the end. The good guys don't "win because Kirk is a good fighter" (and how lame is Spock here? you'd think he could easily kick butt of any of his foes, but can't seem to get the upper hand....); the good guys win because, despite a nominal 4 -to- 2 advantage, the "bad guys" weren't willing to commit their own skin to battle. Col Green comes across as a classic "lead from the rear" commander.
Though I'm not sure history indicates that the "good guys" exhibit bettery unit cohesion than the "bad guys".....


Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

@Alex
In case someone hasn't said it first:
Mark Lenard was the Romulan commander in Balance of Terror, then
Sarek (Spock's father) in Journey to Babel.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Yep, love the episode.

Kirk: "I didn't start this war, but I'm liable to finish it."

And no, he didn't violate the Prime Directive - for all the reasons elaborated on above. I also find it amusing that TNG is accepted as *the* canon for all things Trek -- as in "Picard said this, Kirk must be wrong." Maybe Picard got it wrong? Or maybe things just changed in the "generation" between TOS and TNG.

Great satire on making war too sterile and antiseptic -- probably more timely today than it was then.

Finally, something I like to point out (usually commenting on a DS9 episode) is General Order 24: "Blow up the whole planet." That's some *serious* badassery.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, Sep 17, 2015, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

First: I liked the show, despite all the exposition.

@Jammer
I don't think this episode explained any of the mythology of BSG: That there's way too many outlandish coincidences, there *MUST* be a higher power actively pulling strings. That's what many of us have problems with-- that the show drifts from SF to fantasy. It's as if -- in TNG -- the Q meddled in every third episode, but we were never introduced to Q.

This episode explained the actions of the Cylons -- it did not explain the actions of the universe they live in....
I'd say Cavil/Anders explained the backstory, not the mythology.

The really confusing thing about the backstory is this: If the Final 5 created all of them (and Ellen clearly interacted with 7), how comes only Cavil remembered the Final 5? We know how Cavil wiped the Final 5, but how about all the other models?

RE: 4 months. Maybe between Hub and Revelations? It was never defined how long it took the rebels to rejoin the fleet after blowing the hub. I can't imagine Adama sitting in a Raptor for 4 months....

Great scene between Adama and Tyrol at the outset: Tyrol: "I'm a Cylon" Adama: "It's OK. So's my XO"
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Sep 16, 2015, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

@ES
There was a point in the trial where he had mentally started working with the defense team, but was acting (to Roslin etal) as if he was a neutral facilitator -- a baliff, if you will.
He finds out that Roslin was taking kemala again -- which he later used against her in the trial.

If the rules of the game are that he's an biased advocate for Baltar, fine, but he needed to be open about it. As it is, he was manipulated by Lampkin into betraying her friendship and trust.

Maybe he wasn't on the wrong side (well, I think he was because I don't like Baltar, but that's a harder case), but IMHO, he crossed a line he shouldn't have crossed.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Sep 16, 2015, 12:46am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

Zarek: I don't see Zarek's ending arc as particularly out of character. He was always an opportunist. I think the term I'm looking for is demagogue, a self-serving person who talked populists positions because they sold well. He's certainly never shied away from assassination in the past. Once the Quorum turned their back on him, their usefulness to him was ended.

@Michael
You're right, Zarek needed Adama and the quorum dead. Even more than the Cylons on New Caprica, Zarek needed to eliminate opposition.

@Bryan
Regarding the military value of a better FTL. When the whole series is about retreat and pursuit, how could superior mobility not translate to a military advantage? The thing that made Blitzkrieg so effective was that German armor could get in the defenders rear positions faster than the defender could. "Evasion has never been an issue". Seriously? How many episodes have had Cylons show up halfway through some crucial refueling, or planet survey or.....

Military decisions: Again, unless someone has read the Articles of Colonization, we can't have a legal opinion on the subject. Maybe Section 31 states that "....the senior military leader has absolute authority to determine what is and is not a military decision." Something that affects fleet mobility and Adama's ability to defend the fleet, sure, that could be a military decision.

Regarding the quickness of Gaeta's mutiny -- and Adama's counter.
In a mutiny (or any chaotic situation), I think there's some "perception is reality" at work. By controlling communications, Gaeta was able to take the ship with what may have been a very small force. And, announcements like "Admiral Adama has been placed under arrest" will certainly discourage all but the most hard-core Adama supporters. On the other hand, the voice of Laura Roslin probably put a lot of nominally Gaeta supporter back in the wait-and-see camp, and encouraged Adama/Roslin supporters to fight back.

But, yeah, I think it should have been a 3-parter. Too quick to wrap up, way too many loose ends.

Over-the-top Laura. "I'M COMING FOR YOU!" (now, if the villian had just been named Khan....) Best scene of the episode, maybe of the season. Great to watch, but I wonder what the Cylons think of her? If I were, say, a Leoben, I'd be terrified of what she might be capable of. Do they still want citizenship? Do they want anything to do with those crazy, vengeful humans, or are they going to quietly leave and hope the humans don't pursue ;-)

@Niall
Spot-on on Roslin / Admiral Adama's "benevolent dictatorship" vs Gaeta / Lee Adama's naive idealism. Lee, in particular, often seems to get his buttons pushed and get sidetracked, even to the wrong side (ie. his betrayal of Roslin's trust in Baltar's trial).

Baltar: Maybe this is Baltar's redemption. He passes up Six/Sex to try and do something... though we never see what....

I still sympathize with Gaeta. He was an honorable person.

@Michael
Granted that Adama and Roslin have their flaws. Who do you nominate for Admiral and President?

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

@Micheal
As I pointed out in my comments on ADFMS, we don't really know the relationship between the military and civilian govt. Adama may be perfectly within his rights to challenge a civilian who questions a military order. Civilians may appoint admirals, but have little authority over the military (kinda like the Supreme Court). And the fleet is hardly at peace. Adama has authority over military matters -- and may get to decide what is a "military matter".

And you really dislike Roslin. But she (somehow) is the legal President after Zarek stepped down after New Caprica. So, do you think there's a more popular candidate? I can't imagine Baltar would get much popular vote. Though he has his fringe devotees (I'll refrain from drawing any comparisons to current Presidential politics). Zarek -- maybe, but I think Roslin would still beat him in a head-to-head race.

But we could talk "who should be President" (since democracies are notorious for not getting the officials they need). Yep, Laura's dirty. But cleaner than Zarek and definitely cleaner than Baltar. I'd vote for Helo as the "cleanest" character on the show. I disagreed with him on the genocide virus (I probably would have used it), but still had to respect his motives.

So... who gets your vote?

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 12:40am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

The key question we don't know the answer to is the relationship between the civilians and the military. When Adama says "It's a military decision" and Gaeta asks "Do you get to make that call?", Adama replies "Yes, I do.". And maybe he does. I've never read the Articles of Colonization. So, we simply don't know who's legally correct -- Adama or Zarek.
Tactically, Adama's made a huge blunder. He can't enforce his will on the whole fleet. Period.

Adama and Roslin may have earned the right to relax, but they've got a tiger by the tail and don't get that option.

And I *like* Gaeta. And it sure looks like Adama sold the human race out to the Cylons.

Jammer - I think you exaggerate Cap-6's importance. As far as the fleet is concerned, she's just another 6. Only Baltar knows for sure, and he's not talking.

I always thought it was pretty clear since Kobol that Zarek was dirty (Maybe not as dirty as Gov. Rod....)

The big bit about Ellen is that (as someone else pointed out), she must have resurrected on New Caprica and be alive somewhere in the Cylon fleet. That should be big news... at least to Tigh. And lead to some obvious spoiler questions.....

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Jun 3, 2015, 9:19am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

I liked the music for the battle scene. It's a very somber moment. Yes, it's a tremendous victory, but there's a price to be paid in a bit of everyone's soul. If you take a race of immortals and make them mortal, aren't you're an accessory to murder for every Cylon death in the future? From a human survival perspective, it's the right thing to do, but it's not something you do lightly.

I didn't like Roslin ordering Helo to bring D'Anna to her. Roslin says "It's what the Cylons would do", to which Helo's answer should be "So, we're no better than they are? Who takes the first step?". I can see Roslin wanting to control the interrogation, but I think a Cylon should have been present as well.

@Tloser
It's one thing to show religious feelings and actions. It's another to continually have divine intervention driving the plot forward. That crosses the boundary between SF and fantasy.

I really don't care if Baltar is sorry..... he may be sorry for yesterday's sins, but anyone want odds of him "going forth and sinning no more"? Isn't "God loves me because I'm perfect" a perpetual "Get Out of Jail Free" card? He needs to be reined in before he screws humanity over again. And I haven't forgotten giving the nuke to the 6...

And finally Adama and Roslin. At first, I didn't like his "About time" line... but on reflection I think it was perfect; the subtext was "I've loved you for a long time already..." And it's *nothing* like Leia and Solo, Hans was just being a smart-ass, Adama is revealing real vulnerability.
One of the best on-screen romances. Period.

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Jun 3, 2015, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

I don't think Adama is acting like a tyrant to the civilian govt. I just don't think the military is completely under control of the cvilian govt. Recall early on (miniseries? Season 1?), when Adama and Roslin are talking, and Adama asserts complete authority in "military decisions"? The last US general who tried something like that was MacArthur, and he lost to Truman (even though MacArthur was way more popular than Truman).

So, I don't think the civilian govt. can order Adama around. It's not clear he *has* to take Zarek's calls. He's ignoring Zarek, which may be perfectly within his powers under the Articles of Colonization(?).
But, I do agree, he's ordering the civilian fleet to support his military operations....

The problem is, they're at war; the civilian govt. needs the cooperation of the military to gain legitimacy. When Galactica jumps away unexpectedly, the Quorum almost has a cow.... they're scared to death of being abandoned by the military.

Adama has no interest in dealing with the civilian govt., particularly under Zarek. He wishes Lee would keep them off his back.


Adama and Tigh. Priceless, particularly Tigh's look when Adama points how much Tigh has changed....

What I still think is out of character is Tigh keeping it a secret. Adama is his oldest friend, who's always tried to support Tigh and he's his commanding officer. With Tigh's fears of pulling a Boomer, I think Tigh would tell all -- that's what the old Saul Tigh would do. Particularly if Tigh doesn't want command: "But Bill, you can't put me in charge -- I'm a Cylon....."
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Jun 2, 2015, 6:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

@Michael:

Once more into the breach....

Funny, the '.. fallible and non-omniscient, non-omnipotent, and non-omnipresent interventionist "god,"...' sounds EXACTLY like the ancient Greek gods, or any number of polytheistic religions. There's a great scene in the Illiad where Diomedes (with Athena's assistance) wounds Aphrodite and chases her away, and even holds his own against Ares, before getting taken out by Apollo. And they get away with it because Zeus is sleeping after, IIRC, a wild night with Hera.

The multiuniverse theory seems to be invented to explain away what seems like an *amazing* coincidence. Obviously, there's some personal bias here, but requiring a huge number of additional universes doesn't seem to be the simplest theory from an Occams' razor perspective. It's as if I flipped a coin a hundred times and got all heads -- then postulated that a bunch of other people *must* have performed the same experiment and gotten other results; rather than simply acknowledging that the coin is not random.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Mon, Jun 1, 2015, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

@Michael
OK... here goes, at least until Jammer kicks us off ;-)

Imagine a being -- we can call them "wormhole aliens" if you like ;-)
that does not exist in time as we know it. (Maybe our time dimension corresponds to one of their physical dimensions, and vice-versa; the how doesn't really matter.) They know what act we're going to take, because they've seen it. I don't think that takes away the choice. If I flip a coin, and they say "I've seen this, it comes up heads", that doesn't change the physics or make the flip any less random. Christianity at least (can't speak to other religions) describes God as eternal, which is consistent with a being that exists outside of time. He could know what we're going to do, not because we have no choice, but because, in some sense, it's in his "past".

Why does god have to be omniscient? Can we have a god (meaning an entity that cannot, even in theory, be adequately explained by a materialist approach -- i.e. science) who isn't omniscient? Or infallible?

For the full disclosure: I try to keep an open mind: The universe is the way it is, not the way we might hope it to be. People who ignore that do so at their peril. And, yes, I do believe in God; if nothing else, I think there's enough fundamental questions about the nature of the universe (values of physical constants, the big bang, etc.) that the scientific explanation starts to violate Occam's razor -- or at least it does in my mind.

Thanks for the quick and thoughtful reply!

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Sat, May 30, 2015, 11:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

(By this point, everything's been said... I can only echo...)
Religion:
@JR said it best about DS9 and Trek in general, it's a scientific perspective where, by definition there are material explanations and therefore, no supernatural divinities. We get "straw gods" which we can see are just more advanced aliens.

@D Albert Yes, BSG is *not* like our world. BSG is full of evidence of divine intervention. We call them the "Plot Gods", but any character in the show who doesn't see direct physical evidence of divine intervention isn't paying attention. To be an atheist in BSG is to willfully ignore reality. They can quibble about the nature of God, but anyone with half an open mind has to admit that *something* is pulling the strings.

@Michael It's waaay too deep of a discussion for this forum, but I'm not sure there's such an obvious contradiction between human freewill and a "somewhat" interventionist God. Constraining choices -- limiting your exercise of freewill i
s not incompatible with freewill. There's a lot more I'd love to discuss with you over a beer, but this forum isn't really the place for it....

Yes, the interaction between Adama and Roslin is just soooo well done... it's the only decent relationship that didn't feel forced since Dee and Billy.



Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, May 28, 2015, 12:09am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

I don't think Tyrol would shake hands with Baltar. It's a completely 1-way exchange: Galen gives Baltar legitimacy... but what does he get in return? What's Baltar have to offer? Even if he is sincere -- so what?

Kara -- yeah, the crew should have been fully briefed by Adama: "I'm putting a lunatic in charge and I expect you to follow her orders, no matter how insane. Do I have any voluteers for this mission?"
Helo was loyal to a fault -- but he should have tried harder (in private) to talk some sense into Kara. At least tried to warn her (again, in private) that she was walking over a cliff.

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, May 27, 2015, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Escape Velocity

Great scene between Tyrol and Adama. Yeah, Galen wanted to be relieved before he fracked up big time. He must be thinking: "Did I forget to change (the whatever) on the Raptor, or is it just a hidden program?"

Baltar's speech sounds nice, but only if you don't think about it for more than, say, 5 seconds... after which point it's obviously absurd:
"I think I'm not perfect." Can a perfect being be fallible? Am I perfect?
Still as slimy and self-serving as ever.
I can't take his harem seriously.....

It's hard to feel any sympathy for Tory. Let's look at the current Cylons in the fleet. One's in the brig (but apparently getting better treatment than Baltar did), one is an officer in the fleet. So, self defense is a pretty poor excuse. Nit pick - I always thought Tigh would have gone straight to Adama -- he's not the sort to keep a secret like that from Adama -- and certainly not if it might put the fleet in danger.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Sat, May 23, 2015, 1:36am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

@Ryan
You're enraged by Roslin, you want her to "stop trying to pull all this devious shit...." but Baltar is the only likeable character left? Now there's a character who's always on the up-and-up.....


Roslin clearly admits that Order 112 is draft legislation she's working on, not some hold-over from Zarek.


Kara -
Maybe people should cut her some slack, she's always been messed up, particularly since New Cap. But, sorry, she's the CO. She doesn't have the luxury of being messed up. She acts like this, sooner or later she'll have a mutiny.


Cally:
I *liked* Cally. No, she wasn't a main character, she was just sketched in, not fully developed, but she was the young innocent who just signed up to get dental school paid for. And she did her job. Better than many.

Cottle did not imply she was taking opium. She was taking anti-depressants, and he (in his usual acerbic way) wanted her to stop taking the meds, go home, and get some sleep.

Clearly, she should have gone to Adama. But, she's totally sleep deprived, her life has just gone from a nightmare to her worst nightmare, and she's totally strung-out. Had Tory not shown up, she probably would have calmed down and gone to Adama. (Oh, here's a deus-ex-machina -- how did TORY find her -- how did Tory even know to look for her? Jammer calls this the inevitable conclusion and I don't disagree -- but it's a plot hole you could fly Colonial One through....)

I was really sorry to see her airlocked.... and I was feeling neutral about Tory until this.... now I'm ready to see her roasted over a slow fire...

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

I second the comment about the interaction between Adama and Roslin.... it's so touching.
That and the scene a couple of eps. back where Laura calls Bill asking him to order her out of bed.
They've become like the old married couple without ever being the married couple.
It's been so subdued and so well done.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:06am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Regarding the Baltar worship "making no sense." Can one even say (regarding an aspect of BSG) "this makes no sense" with a straight face? God (aka the writers) want it so.

Not all the characters have descended into the cesspool. I trust Athena *completely*. Who's not human, but who's counting.

And while the show had religious themes from the beginning, there's a big difference: Initially, religious belief was a huge part, but direct intervention by "God/the gods" was not. The first "miracle" was "The Hand of God" -- and the simplest explanation at that time was that Baltar was a sleeper Cylon. "Kobol's Last Gleaming" started to have more "miraculous" elements, but it wasnt' until Season 3 that we started seeing the miracle-of-the-week.

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, May 21, 2015, 1:10am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Three words:
Deus Ex Machina

Again, it's hard to care about plot when the story is so obviously directed from above.

And, while some object that SF without mythology is uninteresting, the flip side is that at some point it stops being SF and becomes fantasy. And some of us *like* SF. And even fantasy has to have some sense that characters have control over the situation. Imagine the Lord of the Rings if, every time the Fellowship or Sauron made some major gain, the Valar got directly involved to change things around. Or DS9 if the Q started micro-managing the Dominion War.

And here's one for you. 12 colonies. Let's say 40 billion people. There's now 40,000. So, the chances of any ONE person surviving the attack are 1 in 1 million. What's the odds that 4 of the final 5 would survive? Add that to the list of mysteries to explain.

How could Baltar be found guilty when everyone else was granted amnesty? He wasn't around when amnesty was granted, he was off collaborating with the Cylons..... I don't think the amnesty included *future* actions. If you really want to follow Lee's speech to it's logical conclusion, there are no laws, we have a state of anarchy, which - as a practical matter -- would be followed by a military coup -- and there's no "legal" basis for objection.


Yeah, it's getting harder to find charaters to like.
Athena comes to mind. I can't find *any* fault with her.
Helo is good -- aside from his questionable decision to prevent infecting the Cylons.
Adama is good, but is a tyrant when it comes to his perogatives of command (but what do you expect from a military leader)
Roslin has her flaws and bad moments, but she seems to recover (like ultimately listening to the Chief about working conditions) and genuinely cares about the people (something you'd never accuse Baltar of....)
And there's a whole host of good / bad complex likeable characters (the Chief comes to mind)

So, I still like enough characters to stay very interested... I still love this show.


@Ryan "spectacularly ballsy asspull" Well said!

@Elliott
Interesting comparison to Return of the Jedi. I found that to be mindless entertainment precisely because of the silliness of the mythology. And the reference to Gilgamesh -- I can imagine Picard saying that humanity has grown up and is not so enthralled by Gilgamesh as it once was.

I believe the universe is (mostly) knowable, and I expect things to (mostly) make sense. I'm hoping the BSG universe makes sense, but the prosecution is building a pretty compelling case against it.

Final thought. There were a lot of posts on the DS9 board objecting to the wormhole aliens and the explicitly religious aspect of the show. Wonder what those people think of BSG?

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, May 21, 2015, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

My biggest disapointment is with Lee. He can be so idealistic AND naive -- and that's a dangerous combination. He lets Lampkin (a brillant character by the way) lead him by the nose and ends up seriously compromising himself. Lampkin tells him: "The system requires you to tell what you know about Roslin". Really?
Is that why Lampkin tried to talk the Six out of testifying?
Lampkin certainly isn't above abusing the system. Lampkin is a consummate player of the game. Lee becomes, essentially, a spy for the defense.

If Lee wants to work for the defense, fine, but he should openly announce that fact and not be allowed access to CIC, Adama, Roslin, etc.. As is, he ends up looking like a turncoat with a massive betrayal of trust.

(Minor spoiler)
Nice speech at the end about everyone else getting amnesty. He left out one detail: Why didn't Baltar get amnesty? -- he was off collaborating with the Cylons at the time (why wasn't that charged as treason?)


In the BSG universe, I think showing Roslin taking chamalla strengthens her case. The first time she did it, she had *accurate* vision. In the world we live in, we dismiss people with visions. But her visions came *true*. I'm enough of a realist to acknowledge that the world is the way it is, not the way I'd expect it to be. So, the defense has just shown that Roslin has access (through some unknown process) to accurate information not available to others. In any case, her testimony was about events on New Caprica, when she *wasn't* taking chamalla.


Let's see what actual crimes we, the audience, can pin on Baltar:

Leaking classified information when he allowed Six access to the defense mainframe. Not treason, but enough to get him locked away for a long time. And, given the ultimate impact, I'd give him the maximum sentence possible.

Identifying Sharon as a Cylon, then not telling anyone. That's willfully helping the enemy. Treason

Giving Six a nuke. Treason

Helping the Cylons find the Eye of Jupiter. Treason.

He's GUILTY, even if the prosecution can't prove it.

Sympathetic? Really? Entertaining, yes, but never sympathetic. I understand we look at fictional characters differently than real ones, but I always try to think "if Baltar was someone I had to interact or work with, what would my feeling be?" I'd hate the fracker.

One of my favorite lines in the whole series, one I just can't get out of my head, is when Tigh refers to "Gaius Fracking Baltar". I can't help but hear that every time I think of Baltar.


What's really interesting about this is the HUGE range of opinions about Baltar. We've all seen the same things, including his inner discussions with Six, yet our opinions of him are all over the map. It probably says something really good about the ability of the writers to create a complex character, but it seems to also say something disturbing about some pretty huge differences in how we evaluate people. Would some of us look at, say, a Charles Manson and see a sympathetic character? Would others look at an Abraham Lincoln and only see a unscrupulous tyrant?
Why the huge range of opinions about Baltar?
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, May 19, 2015, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Here's where it became clear to me that BSG had jumped the shark.
But they didn't just jump the shark, they brought in Evel Knievel (aka Katee Sackhoff) to jump Sharktopus. And told you for months that the jump was coming.

And yet somehow managed to keep it interesting.

It's at this point that I started comparing BSG to Lost. In both cases, the "plot" went on its own pre-determined path, regardless of what the characters did.
"All of this has happened before, and all of this will happen again." At which point, the characters may as well kick back, pop a cold one, and go along for the ride. Hide from the Cylons? Why bother -- they'll show up as required by whomever / whatever is pulling the strings. Fly CAP? Again, why -- the Cylons will do whatever damage is required to push Galactica into whatever action is required.

BSG has made deus-ex-machina into a theme of the series.

I lost all interest in LOST -- I neither cared where the plot was going, nor did I care much about any of the characters.

I think BSG is going somewhere; I struggle with caring where. I'm mentally preparing myself for an epic FAIL, but maybe the writers will have a good resolution to this mess. And I do like the characters, so I care about what happens to them.

Regarding this episode..... I have mixed feelings. If you buy the whole "Starbuck has a destiny" angle ("would you look at the size of that shark!"), then it hangs together well. If you don't, then it's about Kara's final descent into madness -- with WAY too much time spent on her private delusions. There should have been more aftermath -- how does Lee deal with his horribly bad decision to let her fly?

Don't get me wrong.... I still love BSG (this is like the 4th or 5th viewing for me)...
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Focusing on Baltar's signing of the death warrant on New Caprica is like convicting Al Capone of tax evasion. You know he's guilty as sin, but the death warrant is the only thing you can make a solid case for.
Circumstantial evidence:
-- Allowing Caprica 6 access to Colonial defenses
-- Giving Boomer a pass on the Cylon detector
-- Giving a nuke to a Six
-- Giving Cylons navigational assistance
-- collaborating with the Cylons on New Caprica (he should have resigned well before the death warrant thing...)

And I'm not even charging him with being a lying, self-serving, slimy SOB.....
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

Starbuck to Kat: "You lied your way into the company of good people."
Starbuck should be tossed out the airlock.

Sorry to see Kat go.

Minor continuity goof:
After the 4th mission, Kat's radiation badge is black. Then, when she sees Enzo on the balcony of the hanger deck, it's white. Later, when she switches badges, it's black again....

Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

One of BSGs worst (which is still watchable).

1) The implasuibility of the whole thing. How does a virus infect a software download? And how would it infect all Cylons -- there's Cylons back on the colonies out of range of this ressurection ship; for all we know, there's Cylons back wherever-they-went-between-wars. The idea that you'd get them all is silly. (And maybe that helps the moral argument -- you only kill the Cylons coming after you...)

2) The MASSIVE reset button. No consequences for Helo. And no attempt to try again. They have the virus. Surely they can come up with some scheme to capture some Cylons and infect them?

(Now for a rehash of a thread discussed on the DS9 board about the Federation's use of a bio-weapon against the Founders. Another example of ST using genocide...and I won't even mention General Order 24 -- whoops, I did it again.)

It's self defense. Which goes beyond mere survival -- my starving doesn't justify stealing food -- in that case, it would be "nobler" to starve than to steal. But when you're continually *fleeing* and being threatened with genocide, it is morally acceptable to use genocide in self defense.

Yes, it probably haunts you the rest of your life. But you live with it. There's nothing "noble" about not resisting extermination.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

In the opening, Dee is talking to Adama how people are getting sloppy and things not getting taken care of. I think Adama is frustrated, and when he sees the Chief and his deckhand (who should be fixing a bird) at the boxing, he realizes *he* needs to take out some aggression. For the whole premise to work (and I don't think it would), it has to be about hitting someone, not necessarily winning the fight.

And I don't think Adama "sucker-punched" the Chief. The bell went off and Tyrol didn't have his guard up. He should have; he didn't, and he got decked. I thought that was a point Adama wanted to make -- there are times you can't let your guard down.

Lee and Kara. Yawn. Yes, they're hoplessly in love. But Kara is so messed up..... If I were Lee, I'd take up drinking; in the long run it will do less damage. And yeah, Lee should have stomped her.

Dee. I don't understand the dislike here. I like her, I liked Billy. I liked her and Billy much more than her and Lee. I don't think she was unfaithful, or unkind, or whatever to Billy. I think Billy read in something that wasn't there and maybe moved too fast. I think she was truly blind-sided when he proposed to her. When Lee and Dee are in the bar and Billy comes in and Dee says "It's not what you think", I believe her.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.