Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,536 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 62
Set Bookmark
Pusher Robot
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I was completely enthralled by the scoring. Really superb work.

I couldn't decide if this being a real spatial-anomaly-enabled physics thing, like the episodes of TNG and DS9 when thoughts became real, or some kind of mirror universe or simulation, up until Gordon bit it. Though losing the nurse would have been a gut punch, I believed they would do it.

I really enjoyed the episode. It was a different tone and effective at ratcheting up the tension and it was really fun to see the ship in a much different and more ominous way, like when DS9 was dressed up as Terok Nor.

RSVP ensign Payne.
Set Bookmark
Other Robert
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lots of things point to Lorca being from MU:

1. He kills the prison shuttle pilot to acquire Burnham. What Starfleet captain does that?

2. Landry, his previous right-hand woman was a total psycho--we all noticed how not-Starfleet she was, though her character couldn't be any better-suited to the MU. So maybe she came across with Lorca.

3. He always fills positions from outside the organization to maintain absolute control--especially security chief.

4. What Starfleet captain doesn't go down with his ship? Probably Lorca Prime went down with his ship and Mirror Lorca stole his identity.

5. MU villains are always trying to steal advanced technology to get the upper hand.

6. Cornwell says his personality has totally changed. He gets rid of her as quickly as possible, delivering her into immense peril.

7. Opportunistic sex (with Cornwell) is a hallmark MU behavior. Speaking of that scene,

8. He keeps a phaser under his pillow.

9. He's not super-stoked to find out they rescued Cornwell. He gets rid of her again asap.

10. His menagerie is full of grotesque dissected corpses, something we saw Mirror Phlox doing. The deadliest weapons collection is much more befitting a MU character.

11. He has no interest whatsoever in science or exploration. The Stamets "I didn't know you cared" line reminds us that he doesn't care, unless the info is of direct interest to him--which of course getting back to the MU would be.

12. He manipulates everyone into doing what he wants--something Mirror leaders do constantly--with no regard for their safety.

13. He is always trying to keep Burnham out of harm's way--very illogically as she points out--and went out of his way to pick her up in the first place... guessing they have some MU history?

14. He likes to keep the lighting... really dark.

15. He already has a tribble.

Seems like a lot of stuff to clear up in one episode. Especially since we also have to do the whole Tyler/Voq thing too.
Set Bookmark
Robotmaria
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Regarding Vulcans, I found the mind-meld scene disturbing but it reminded me that Spock forces a mind-meld on Valeris in The Undiscovered Country. I was quite young when I first watched UC and always found Spock's actions made the tone of the film much darker. As Leonard Nimoy played it, Spock himself was very shaken by what he had done, although he acted out of need to save Kirk and McCoy, not out of anger like Tolaris. It makes me wonder if Vulcans ever had laws about mind-melds.
Set Bookmark
Pusher Robot
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 2:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Minor goof: when they first connect to the master feed, if you freeze frame and read the comments, the screen shows comments about the dog even though they haven't come up with that story yet. Some of the comments in the other freeze frames are really hilarious too.

But overall good episode and a timely one. I'm really happy that they seem to toss every character a little bit of characterization in every episode, even if they aren't playing a central role in the plot. I'm hoping they can find that sweet balance with a little bit more creativity in the plots without going totally off the rails like Star Trek Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Robert Other
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Sorry, I missed that there is already a resident Robert--the comment above @9:59 is not from prime universe Robert.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Wow, so this show can definitely work--that's a great sign.

I love that this has a completely different vibe from "Cause and Effect", and a completely different purpose. A Trek plot can be revisited many times so long as the opportunity is taken to explore the concept further.

This ep gave me a reason to warm up to Tyler, and if that trend continues the Tyler/Voq thing (if it happens) will retroactively sabotage his character in good episodes like this. I really hope he is not Voq.

Half a star off for the dark matter gobstoppers--pretty dumb and unnecessary. Seems it would have been more dramatic in both cases if the person had just been phasered. "It's the most painful thing in the universe! Seriously! It's so painful you don't even think to scream! Or curl up! Or wince! Or anything!" This blip momentarily pulled me out of an otherwise absorbing episode.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 1:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

WTF people? I'm gone for like 5 episodes and you all are calling it DISCO now? I was calling it STD on purpose... :P
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

@DLPB - "Generally, Robert has gotten a bit of a raw deal with me simply because I am extremely angry and frustrated with how our world works, and he represents, to some extent, the embodiment of the root of many of the causes."

Just wanted to restate a bit of what I said up top. At the end of the day we're both here because both like Star Trek. And that's not all we have in common. We're both coders. We're both enjoy video games. We both like Final Fantasy. We're both the same age. I think some of that stuff is more important.

I actually gave you a hard time earlier on this particular thread not because I dislike you, but the opposite. There are some epic level trolls on these boards sometimes, and most of them I don't even care enough to respond to. I guess what I mean is... you can't be aggravated by something you don't care about. I was happy hearing from you after the attack in your hometown.

And although we often disagree on many, many things I still appreciate hearing from someone who views the world differently than I do. IDIC is a good thing. Even when you occasionally want to shake the other person :)
Set Bookmark
Real Human Robot
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 11:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

And I'm done. After this episode was over, I canceled my subscription to CBS All Access so I wouldn't be charged for another month. I've watched every episode and movie of Star Trek (except TAS), but I just can't do it anymore. I can't pay for a show that I don't enjoy and that doesn't make me feel like Star Trek used to.

A few parting thoughts...

So this episode highlighted that Discovery has created a story in which the Vulcan Science Academy is more racist in its admission policies than public US Southern universities and colleges were in the 1960s. So much for Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations.

I'm surprised at the amount of praise -- coupled with intolerance for dissent -- there is lately for Discovery on the Star Trek subreddit. It seems like a lot of people have adopted a Star Trek: Love It or Leave It attitude. Which I suppose sort of mirrors the lack of choice CBS, by only making the show available through All Access, is giving those of us in the US.

Lastly, I first started to really feel this way about the franchise with the reboot movies, and so it's interesting to see how many people connected with JJ Abrams and friends there are working on Discovery: Alex Kurtzman, Akiva Goldsman, Heather Kadin, and Jesse Alexander, as well as Craig Sweeny and Aaron Baiers (the last two via Kurtzman and Orci on Limitless).

Thanks to Jammer for hosting this site and providing a forum in which to discuss so many episodes of Star Trek. Agree or disagree, I've enjoyed reading the diverse range of thoughts, opinions, and analysis that so many people have shared here.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 1:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Mal/Peter - I never really thought about it before, but I think you are 100% right. I've always wondered why I liked early VOY better than later VOY when early VOY really wasn't nearly as good. Late VOY clearly had some amazing sci-fi episodes. It's because the characters stopped wanting stuff.

Janeway wanted to make her makeshift crew work together, both sides. Wanting to bring Torres into the fold was the first indication of that. And she wanted coffee. And it was in that nebula. LOL. (I'm joking but only sort of). And Chakotay wanted Janeway (and GOD that didn't pay off).

In the earlier seasons Paris wanted redemption, a home/family, a second chance and Torres. And she felt like she wanted a second chance and a place she belonged too.

In the earlier seasons Kim wanted to get home, more than any of them, in a way that was defining.

Neelix wanted a family, somewhere to belong. He lost his (FWIW I actually think HIS arc is pretty satisfying. He does find a place to belong on VOY and find a family that's important to him. And in the end he finds a different kind of family. And he gets one episode per season that lends good insight to all of this).

Kes wanted to explore, both herself and the universe. I missed her.

The doctor started off wanting nothing and ended up wanting everything (he also ended up well off).

They really had good, strong characters, but they let them all spoil. It was a shame. And that's probably why I like early VOY better even though it was worse. They hadn't spoiled yet.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I will admit, that even when DS9 S1 was using recycled TNG garbage (often poorly) that it was still world building in a big way that'd pay off later.

The thing is, at the time I felt VOY was doing the same thing. It felt like it was building a world too. The fact that they didn't capitalize on in is the fault of later seasons though.

And ENT was building a world but it wasn't really building it's characters, which was a big problem.

A good example of a bad episode of DS9 that still worked in a million little ways is "A Man Alone". The episode itself pretty much sucks. Odo isn't Odo, the Bajorans are too quick to make a lynch mob (which isn't really very Bajoran-like) and the murder plot is uninspired at best. Dax isn't Dax. Steamed azna? Really? Raktajino chugging Dax wouldn't touch that crap (although I like the rest of that conversation). That said, Keiko opens a school, Nog and Jake start up their friendship, Sisko is racist against Nog, Kira is fiercly loyal to Odo... the plot is seriously bad but the episode turns a million little cogs that pay off later.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Reign1701A - I agree with you about ENT, the first time it was on I stopped watching, not because any single hour was unworthy of my time, but just because Star Trek lost it's status as "appointment TV". I just wasn't dying for more every week. So I missed an episode here and there and by the middle of S2 I just found that I wasn't watching it.

But that said... there is a case to be made for it having the most solid first season of all the modern Trek shows anyway. TNG's first season was awful. And it's held up to modern scrutiny not at all. If we had 7 seasons of that I wouldn't even be a fan of the show.

Jammer rates only 7 of the episodes at 3+ and if I'm being really honest that's incredibly generous. He gives Hide and Q 3 stars (the same as he gave True Q, which was better) and he only gave Cupid 1 star, which was far more entertaining. Even something like Datalore (also 3 stars) really sucked. It's only good for Lore/Crystaline Entity origins... but the episode itself is awful. Wesley and the viewer solve the puzzle what feels like hours before the "brilliant crew". I'd give "Coming of Age", "11001001" and "Heart of Glory" all 3 stars and everything else less.

DS9 is easily the most mixed bag. It ends ridiculously strong. "Duet" and "In the Hands of the Prophets" are 2 of my favorite episodes of the series, both high 4 stars for me and would both be contenders for a top 10 list (and definitely end up on a top 20 list). And the pilot is really strong. But that said.... almost every character needed to be reinvented after this season in order for the show to be truly great (Odo in "Man Alone" bears little resemblance to later Odo, Rom might as well be a different character, they haven't found Sisko yet and Dax is totally rebooted in S2), and they had a lot of middling garbage that felt like TNG castoff episodes. Still Jammer gives 10 episodes 3+ and I only disagree with 2 of them ("The Storyteller" and "Dax" aren't really 3 stars for me) and I'd add "Babel". So I give 9/19 and Jammer would give 10/19. So let's say roughly half are good.

VOY is also significantly better. "Caretaker" was solid enough, "Phage" was interesting (and the first time it felt like VOY was truly paying off it's premise of giving us something altogether NOT Alpha Quadrant), "Eye of the Needle" was decent, "Prime Factors" and "State of Flux" were both excellent, and "Faces" and "Jetrel" were at least 3 also. So that's 7/15. And I MIGHT give "Emanations" a 3 also, I liked it better than Jammer. So about half. Same as DS9. Though I'm a bit torn because as VOY changed also after S1/S2 I felt like it changed mostly for the worse. But the first season was solid enough. And probably with less total clunkers than DS9. Current ranking for S1s VOY > DS9 > TNG.

Which brings us to ENT. Jammer gave 12/25 episodes 3+ stars. I actually don't disagree with any of those and I'd give 1 more episode 3 stars that he didn't (I personally feel his 2 stars for "Shadows of P'Jem" is way too low). I feel like in a lot of ways the problem with ENT is that I never fell in love with the cast. Even on days when I hated VOY I loved the characters. But there is a case to be made for ENT having the strongest first season... and I think I sort of made it. TNG's first season sucked, DS9's first season was largely only mediocre until the final 2 episodes elevated it (a lot IMHO), VOY's first season was solid and ENT's first season might have even been a drop better than that.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@Michb -

"Is it so bad to not be the risk-taker, the captain? Surely, that's better than being dead?"

It wasn't really about that in a vacuum. Picard is an older guy. What it was saying is that he'd rather die the man he was than live as the guy Q changed him into.

It's not about "not being the best" equals failure. The point of the episode is that the man Picard was, our captain, wouldn't have been happy with the life lived by this other Picard.

"That being a d#ck will eventually lead to success, so just go ahead, who cares about behaving decently? "

I actually think that was the opposite of the message. He learned something about how short life was (which lead him to be bolder and more of a risk taker) BUT he also learned to be more decent, more careful, less of an ass and less reckless. In "Samaritan Snare" Picard tells Wesley.

WESLEY: Really? Then what happened?
PICARD: Nothing. I was no hero, Wesley. I was an undisciplined, loud-mouthed, opinionated young man who was way out of his league. I learned a very hard, very painful lesson that day, but I learned it well. I hope you never have to learn it the same way. Care for another sandwich?

He learned to take risks not because this one "paid off" in some way, but because he learned how short life is. It's like cancer survivors who turn over a new leaf. His life was improved by getting a glimpse of his mortality, not by being an ass in a bar fight.

The message is not "go get into bar fights and your life will work out". It's "if you like your life don't fret your mistakes so much, they lead you here as much as your successes, if not more".
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

"I think it's fair to ask whether that's anachronistic, especially in light of Uhura not even realizing why having her colored referenced could be insulting. But even if it's anachronistic, I think it's still on point. "

100,000% this, couldn't say it better. It's anachronistic for the time period. But if Brooks wants to say it for the benefit of our time he's probably earned his soapbox.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I agree with you about Brooks. And I don't begrudge him his line. But I still can say I don't think Ben would have said that without being racist, which is kind of the whole point.

I never started ANY of these conversations. I chimed in, but didn't start them. The first one I responded to said

"I think it's incredible that so many commenters, who I'm sure are white, have a problem with Sisko's questioning of the airbrushing of history going on in Vic's holodeck program. "

And my response is that I kind of thought the line was odd too. Not because it was "out of left field" or "didn't belong in a fun heist episode" but just because I genuinely don't think Ben would have said that.

And if someone actually reads through the posts they'd see a lot of reasons why people feel that way. I'll copy the version of my answer that I like the best

"So his problem is that him and Kas don't belong in there. And pretending they do is somehow insulting to the people who lived through a tough time. It's true they don't belong there.... but I don't see how it's insulting. As I said... can the girls never join the boys for the Battle of Britain? Or the Alamo? Should Troi not have been allowed to be a deputy in the old west? Isn't that insulting to women for her to pretend that such a thing would have been ok? Or Troi and Crusher serving on that 18th century boat in Generations?

The reason it's odd is because nobody has ever before remarked about how the holodecks are unrealistic in their lack of oppression. "

That's all. I think it's weird because it's a video game and it seems strange to me to want your bar holodeck program to be perfectly historically accurate instead of fun.

But then I'm a dood that wants electricity when I go camping. And flushing toilets at the Renn Faire. Sherlock Holmes couldn't have had a black Watson. But Geordi didn't care. And Chrome earlier talked about baseball and the problems with Sisko and baseball and race.

But if Avery wanted to say it that's totally cool. It's also totally cool to believe that Ben wouldn't have. On the other hand I also thought it was stupid that Tom Paris wanted to watch a small black and white TV. The characters were a little too obsessed with our time and our issues. What, nothing cool happened in 2200s?
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

@John Harmon

Did you actually read the comments? Go ahead, tell me which ones are racist, please. Because on the whole this issue is a Star Trek one, not a race issue. Do I have a "problem" with the line? No, he spent some time as Benny and likely has a chip on his shoulder over it. But do I think Ben Sisko would have said this? No. It felt like words that the writers put in his mouth. I genuinely don't think Sisko would have a problem playing a historically inaccurate video game with his friends. The same way that Troi didn't have a problem playing one with Worf. Apparently I've talked this issue to death, but damn, the next time you complain about comments could you actually, you know, pick something somebody said and attempt to refute it?
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

"Though, with baseball, it seems more Sisko (baseball) specific, yet they play a whole game with Vulcans(!) in the holosuites. "

That's still Sisko specific though. The Vulcan captain has a strange grudge against Sisko and aims to train his crew to beat him at his own game. I doubt baseball is going to start catching on with Vulcans.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 6:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

"I'll wait and see what comes of the transporting spores (transpores?) or whatever they are. "

Just throwing this out there....

If you all are right about Section 31, rewatching the DS9 section 31 episodes certainly makes it seem as though Sloan comes and goes as he pleases. Right up to being killed in front of Bashir and yet easily teleported away.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 6:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

@DLPB - I assume you're not a fan of the Anticans and Selay then? ;)

I get why they were trying to do it, but the tech wasn't there for aliens that were that alien yet. I think my favorite really weird looking alien (not just a forehead or a nose crinkle) on TNG were the Nausicans. They looked pretty decent.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Ben Sisko - VOY is better when you don't rewatch the whole thing in short order. It has a lot of fantastic hours, but it doesn't hold up as a seven year long saga. That was it's biggest problem.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 11:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Dick

SoHvaD ngaq maH
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 11:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

I think this is the last page that is appropriate to discuss this on, because in essence, this is the true pilot. Which is why I said my peace here before heading out. There's really no need for me to keep chatting about it on future episode threads. I think some of this discussion belongs here though.

"Second, we wait for a viable alternative (which will most certainly *not* be an official Star Trek series) to fill the niche that Trek used to fulfill. "

I can get behind this plan. Orville seems to be coming close and it won't be the last.

@Del_Duio

If that ends up being the case I will reconsider watching this at the end of the season. LOL. If they fix most of the canon issues with a time ship I'm in!
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I've decided not to watch, so this is going to be my last post here on the merits of ST:DIS, though I may still chime in to see how things are going. I've made a few posts of late wondering if I would watch this (and in what form since I don't plan to get CBS's streaming service).

The truth is Discovery, it's not you, it's me. I've been much more moved by all the negative stuff I hear about the series (the look of the Klingons, the Klingon ships, the fact that these Klingons don't fit into Kirk's Klingons or Archer's Klingons, basically the fact that they decided they wanted the Klingons but not really... hey, VOY did that with the Kazon too :P).

And then there is the tech. ENT tried, they really did. They couldn't look more advanced than now (2000s) without looking more advanced than Kirk. But they did it in a way that made you feel like the problem was TOS, not ENT. That TOS had a limited 1970s budget, but if not for that ENT would be right before it. They had no shields, they had a junky transporter, they had a real live translator because their universal translator was new, they had a warp limit that was lower than TOS. ENT had other problems (for sure) but they made it feel for the Trek fans that this was before Kirk.

Nothing I hear about this show makes me believe the writers wanted to do a show before Kirk. They didn't want to use the established Klingons, they didn't want to use the established tech from ENT and expand a bit. They wanted to use holocommunicators that are beyond DS9. It's like when JJ added a subspace transporter. WTF?! They didn't want to use established ship designs. Or uniforms. We know approximately what the stuff from that era should be. And the answer is overwhelmingly... NOT THIS. So why not just set it in the future with a new set of aliens, unconstrained by all of this? Her mentor could be Tuvok instead of Sarek? I feel like whomever decided this needed to be a prequel isn't the person who is writing it and whomever is writing it resents those shackles... but maybe I'm wrong.

So what to make of a show that people are obviously enjoying? This is where we get to the whole, it's not you, it's me. I am more interested in the bad news than the good because I kind of knew in my gut all along that this wasn't the Trek I wanted and I was looking for confirmation. Well I have it, I just didn't want to accept it. I want new Trek, I really do. But we're 15 years out from VOY's ending and we've now gone back to Kirk and pre-Kirk three times and boldly forward ZERO times. Why? I'm not really sure.

But I don't think I can turn my brain's complaints off and try to pretend that this is what I want this time. I watched half of ENT before I got off that train (though I eventually went back to it years later and it isn't as bad as I remembered and some of the later stuff was downright good). I haven't watched the latest JJ movie. I just don't think I can bring myself to watch anything else with the Trek name on it just because I want more Trek and they don't want to give it to me. My Trek was the TNG-era Trek. I liked TOS, but that's not what I grew up with. I have no nostalgia for it. I'm ready for the Enterprise F or G. And I'd like it while my Trek characters are still alive enough to give a cameo or two.

But that's what it's about. Me and my brain and my wants and my inability to put those things aside and try to enjoy this. And it sounds like it doesn't suck. So what to do now? I could hope it fails miserably and that the powers that be learn the right lessons (stop trying to peddle your crappy ass streaming service and let's go back to the future already). But I feel like even if it fails they won't learn the right lessons. And wishing for failure seems kind of mean since so many of you are enjoying it. So meh.

We can have X-Files back, Will and Grace, Full House, Boy Meets World, even Roseanne is coming back... all these 90s staples... but not TNG-era Trek. WHY??!!!!!! 2017 has been an important life lesson for me in the sense that any time you think something is bad life will eventually make something worse enough that you miss the old thing. Not going to get into everything else I miss in 2017 (some personal, some not), but damn, I miss VOY and their inconsistent plotting, their characters that never learn anything, their dismissal of their interesting premise and their bi-polar Captain. Because despite all that when it was firing on all cylinders you could still get fan-freaking-tastic TNG era Trek. Come back Berman and Braga, I'll even forgive the first 2 seasons of Enterprise. I miss you guys!!!

That said... I'm with karatasiospa. Let's not argue about if this is Trek or not. TNG started out in the vein of TOS, even directly cribbing some episodes, but by the end they took TOS' western in space and flip flopped it on it's head. And DS9 was much maligned during it's run for not being Trek either. So I'm just going to leave on a high note and say I hope those of you who are watching it are enjoying it and if you're not... take a lesson from me and get out. Life is too short to watch something that's not what you want.

Live long and prosper all. I'll see you out there.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 8:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Is ST: Enterprise a pre-cursor to TOS/TNG/DS9/VOY? Or did the temporal cold war erase all of our Trek and leave this in it's place? :P
Set Bookmark
Real Human Robot
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

@Darren, hear, hear. My wife and I are also enjoying The Orville as a fun romp down memory lane which is often laugh-out-loud funny. I think the fact it doesn't take itself so seriously is quite refreshing, especially conpared with the tone of Discovery so far, which projects a sanctimony I'm just not buying yet. Maybe after 50 years of canon, it's more fun to see homages done in its spirit (even if they smack a bit of fan-fiction), than it is to see shoe-horned-in additions to it (especially when they try to "modernize" its spirit).

By the way, the premise of "For the World Is Hollow..." is hardly original when compared to the set up of the 1963 book Orphans of the Sky by Robert Heinlein. And actually, David Mack even pointed out that "For the World..." cribbed many of its plot points from the previous Star Trek episode "The Paradise Syndrome." I mean, TOS could be accused of repeating others and itself. At least so far, The Orville can only be accused of repeating others.

@Jammer, is it really worthwhile for you to continue reviewing this series if nearly every episode is going to be "two stars/too much like Star Trek/too not funny?"
Next ►Page 1 of 62
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.