Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 84 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

It was an ok episode, and definitely one of the best of the season for me.

The beginning was a tad slow (ba dum tiss?) but it got better and better when the pretty blonde came in. On one hand, I also liked to see an extended role for an actress for once, she seemed smart and on Kirk's level apart from being gorgeous. On the other hand, most of her character's motivation is the search for a good man. D'oh.

Just like WIlliam B. I also noticed they didn't seem to share the solution of accelerated life with the Scalosians. Kirk and company basically condemned them to death, "please don't bother us anymore and go die quietly in the corner of the universe". A very untrek ending, indeed.

Overall, it was a fun episode, loved the slow motion effects and actors just moving slow.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

@Randomthoughts: we had a "Constitution class" alright in this episode, lol.

But in all seriousness, this episode was sorta boring or ok-ish until those last ten minutes, then it turns into pure nonsense.

And I am from the Americas but not american, so to see in your face american patriotism on Star Trek is sorta awful. One of the things I like the most about Trek is that it pictures a future for humanity when we are above these things, after all the Federation is a federation of Planets, with many non-human races into the mix. So, it is implied the earth works as a whole, and we don't care about nations the way we do in the present. Until this episode, apparently.

In some ways, this episode is so bad it's good. I am both fearing and looking forward to Season 3 because according to internet wisdom there are many more episodes like Omega Glory than, let's say, The Doomsday Machine.

It is gonna be both painful and funny, in a bonkers kind of way.

Ready to beam up, Scotty ;P
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Mon, Nov 7, 2016, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

I'm gonna say that I felt the episode lacked "cosmetic" consistency. Ok, you want to do an episode in random TV sets, fine, but at least try to follow a theme. The main one is like old western town, then when they are in the safe spot / Jail it looks like medieval thing and, finally, the computer room/mindbreak room were the classic minimalist high-tech place. All of them looking pretty cheap and unconvincing. Plus, they never comment how similar to old earth this place is? The streets reminded me of Miri's "planet".

I liked the mistery and weirdness factor in the beginning, even when some things don't add up in the long run. Happy McCoy and Zulu were very funny as well.



Set Bookmark
Rikko
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Pretty cool episode, I agree with the rest of the crew :P this is a bit creepy. The guest actor was a good one this time around.

I think the ending is not a cop-out but thematically consistent with the story. Charlie was basically a (superpowered) teen playing around while his parents weren't looking. And I can't think of many other choices of an ending, either self-destruction or some way to stop him (his parents). He was beyond reasoning or redemption since he banished Rand.

The basic idea of the episode reminds me of the classic short story "It's a good life". Charlie would have ended up like the kid from that story if he wasn't stopped. And yeah, Charlie was a sympathetic character, unlike some other ones I've seen so far (the thing of "The Man Trap"). Overall, I am satisfied.

And btw, I think I am watching the episodes in production order, because this was my eight episode of TOS instead of the second.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Wed, Jul 6, 2016, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

It was a good episode but I agree with Cloudane in that the music was irritating. I watch this series with headphones and had to turn down the volume when the music raised.

Still, the plot was fine but a bit too stretched out, as Jammer said. The face close ups are pure padding shots, they remind me of Dragon Ball Z scenes. In that anime, every single time somebody did anything of significance you had reaction shots of every...single...character remotely related to the plot, going as far as showing characters half a continent apart.

But I digress, in general I liked this episode. The final revelation works well for me and Spock and Kirk has some nice scenes together.

Spock: "Has it occurred to you that there's a certain...inefficiency in constantly questioning me on things you've already made up your mind about?"

Kirk: "It gives me emotional security."
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

For me it is like most people said: boring and nondescript.

"John Doe" comes and goes without changing anything in particular.

On the other hand, it is notable how O'Brien is becoming more and more relevant as the third season develops, until he becomes the center of attention in "The Wounded" (next season) and, eventually, a protagonist of Deep Space 9, if my childhood's memory is right.

O'Brien is the second character to stand out after starting from very small acting parts. And, of course, the first was Worf. Both guys spent most of their early episodes just saying one or two words like "Yes, Captain".

And then, they become protagonist, or at least supporting cast and the show is all the better for it.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Fri, Feb 12, 2016, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

^ a hardcore Tolkien fan, then. hah!

The announcement of a new Trek series in 2017 put me into a Trek mood and I didn't feel like continuing TNG just yet...so I just started watching TOS instead :D

This is all new to me, unlike TNG, I barely watched TOS episodes as a child. In fact, I think I've mostly seen some movies.

About "The Cage": I liked this more than I was expecting, even when the only regular character I recognized was Spock. And his characterization was waaaaay off.

"Where no Man* has gone before" is even better, imo. Finally we get to see almost all the traditional cast. As you guys said, Spock needs a bit of work, but that's to be expected.

*(I like how they changed that line to "Where no ONE" in TNG, subtle social progress)

And I was a bit worried about my enjoyment of Kirk, after watching 3 and a half seasons of TNG, THE Captain for me was Picard. But I really liked Kirk's personality and charisma, nice acting from Shatner there.

The rest, well, you guys said most of it already. I read somewhere that "Mitchell" couldn't see all that well with those lenses. So, that's why he seems to be watching everything with a smug look on his face. It worked wonders for his character.

So far, two episodes in with TOS and I'm impressed how much stuff and plotlines were created during TOS time instead of TNG.

I hope the other 70 or so episodes are somewhat good and enjoyable.



Set Bookmark
Rikko
Mon, Oct 12, 2015, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Worst episode of the season, imo. Captain's Holiday was bad, but this is terrible.

Funny enough, this was the first time I actually liked Lwaxana. But the Ferengi and the plot around him was the worst. Actually, I think the actors weren't that bad, nobody was acting badly iirc. It was just the script that sucked, the things they had to say and do were bad because of the script.

And even then, I liked Picard's "love" speech, and Wesley has an uniform now! (No more awkward 80s sweaters, yay). But, and I said this before, enjoying just a fun speech at the end is like going back to square one. More exactly, going back to Season 1. No wonder Luke recalled "Justice", that one episode also had a nice speech near the end (and only that).
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Mon, Oct 12, 2015, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

I loved this episode!

The allegory of old age and ilness was really well done, a theme that's so universal that it makes this episode timeless. Also, the acting. I almost felt the "Irrelevant" scene was a bit over the top, as SkepticalMI said, but any doubts of this episode's quality were erased by the end of it.

I loved the mindmeld scene for all the reasons stated above and for something more: this is pure TNG optimism right here. Sarek's problem is everyone else's problems too. While they can't cure him, they can at least help him bear this burden. And you see Beverly Crusher helping Picard as well.

Btw, this is once again* a great way to bridge TNG with TOS, something the previous seasons couldn't do well at all. One of the greatest strenghts of S3.

* The other time (imo) was with the first Romulan episodes of the season. They made me care for that alien race, and at the same time, I acknowledged their importance in the overall universe of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sun, Nov 2, 2014, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

I'm just going to say that Fajo got on my nerves. I couldn't stand what he did to Data.

Which is a sign of a good actor, I guess, since that was the point. He was obnoxious and dangerous.

Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, May 3, 2014, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Now, 3 stars seems about right for this one :)

I like that this episode addresses the big elephant in the (holodeck) room: with tech good enough to imitate life, what's stopping anybody to create their own personal version of people they know in real life?

Picard seems to engage in Dixon Hill fantasies every now and then, Riker and Geordi created a fake woman to spend time with, and even Data enjoys playing as Sherlock Holmes, but what separates Barclay from the main characters is that the latter know when to stop. I thought it was due time to see a holodeck episode that deals with social issues instead of malfunctions.

It's not a classic episode by any means, but it's both fun and interesting. And Barclay is a great character and I'm glad to read he's coming back later.

Funny though, now that it's been more than a year since I've watched the episode, all I remember is Barclay's awkwardness and holographic adventures (and his trouble with the real people) but totally forgot about the critical situation of the week.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

@ SkepticalMI: What he said.

I thought the episode has good intentions and a ok execution, but ultimately didn't resonate with me.

The thing is (and this is a personal take) at this point in the series I'm more interested in the problems and general progress of the main cast, instead of random dudes that come and go so easily.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, Mar 29, 2014, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Well, this ranks pretty low on my list, it'd be the worst episode of Season 3 if it didn't have a Lwaxana Troi's one coming up soon.

My main gripe with the episode itself is that doesn't play to (what I think) are TNG's best aspects.

First, there's no ensemble. As soon as the plot begins there's only Picard dealing with a bunch of random guest actors. There are many episodes that focus on one character in particular, but they always have the rest of the main cast around.

And then, this is not an exploration of humanity and drama, it's just a random adventure (very random) with a weird feeling of being a rip-off of something else. For Jammer it feels like Indiana Jones, for William B is the Maltese Falcon (which, btw, is one of the original ideas of the script writers for this particular show, according to Memory Alpha!). And I even felt a bit of James Bond stuff going on, what with the "hot chick" of the week that Picard meets and sleeps with. She even plays a bit of both types of Bond Girl, the good girl and the bad.

All in all, the episode didn't work for me. I can have lots of fun with an episode like "The Arsenal of Freedom", but with this one I was bored.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Thu, Mar 20, 2014, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I completely forgot about the B-plot (Fake Picard on the ship) until it was brought up in the review and comments.

Isn't this the one with Picard saying "Here's to the finest crew in Starfleet!" and makes a toast for all of them? Somehow, I was convinced that was part of another episode. Because that scene was hilarious. The comic highlight of the episode, for sure.

(and it reminds me of the great "The Picard Song" that every Trek fan should check out, in youtube)

But what I did remember of the episode is rather boring, and I mean the whole real Picard bits. I don't know, it felt repetitive.

@ Nissa summed it up nicely: "Yeah, this episode was a misfire. But at least it was a fun misfire."
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Thu, Mar 6, 2014, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Excellent episode!

I loved everything in it. The way it evolved the Klingon "mythos" was incredible. They really nailed every aspect of their culture, even considering all the chances they had to drop the ball here.

They could have had a lame ritual, or they looked too simplistic as a society or something, but no. Can't say a bad thing about the plot, or the dialogue or the guest actors.

Boy. I've come to the realization the casting team does a much better job when they cast important family members of the crew (so far) than when they cast one-off guest actors.

This Kurn guy was just right as Worf's brother. Even Lwaxana Troi becomes tolerable as time goes on, in spite of the plots that always come with her.

@ Great analysis SkepticalMI!

Small complaint: I wonder why Jammer gave it "only" 3 and a half stars. His review doesn't seem to mention any negatives, in fact, it elevates the episode when he's looking at the bigger picture of the whole season.


Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sun, Feb 23, 2014, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

While I liked the concept and the guest actress, I think it was a bit rushed.

I agree with impr and xaaos when they say it'd have been better to have Lal for the rest of the season, as a semi-regular character. I could get behind the idea of a season-arc for Lal, ending exactly the same way it did here. That way, you've a slower introduction, time to get to know her and more reason to feel sorry for her unavoidable demise.

But we're talking of a drastic format change for TNG. Alas, this is what we get, and I wasn't as moved as something that lasted, say, at least two episodes.

@ Susan: No, you! LOL!
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 1:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Count me in the "What a great classic" side. I loved almost every moment of it. From the difference in tone with your usual Enterprise crew, lighting, and the dialogue of everyone.

Even Yar! She was pretty good here and I was glad to have her back (just for one episode). This is probably Denise Crosby's best performance so far (up to mid S4, I'm aware she comes back later on).


I was also bugged a bit by the mystical reasons Guinan gave in order to come back to the "right" timeline.

I'd have liked some more details, like "I can't say what's right or wrong, but I feel like there's a time when this war didn't happen, and the Federation is in an alliance with the Klingon empire". Well, maybe that's too specific, but still sounds more serious than just a feeling, no matter how strong.

Now, it seems to me that Picard decision to follow through with Guinan's idea wasn't all that out of character, in this context. Everyone was so pragmatic and moody in that universe than when somebody came in and say there's a better way, even when it applies more to emotion than reason, Picard must have thought: "Ok, it's worth a shot since we're losing the war, anyway."

Picard has a strong respect and trust in Guinan's words. And that's not out of character at all. Just remember the climax of "A Matter of Honor", when the Enterprise "surrenders" to the Klingon Ship. There was an unspoken pact of trust betweeen Captain and Number One for that to happen. This isn't any different.

It's a leap of faith, but based on mutual respect and that's very Trek, imo.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Tue, Feb 11, 2014, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Well. Not much to say. My first impression was thinking the episode was going to be very serious and talky. Only half right, the end result is very funny. Although I didn't get much of the technobabble. Overall, I liked it.

On Riker's behavior: I think he has a problem when it comes to sexual stuff. William B. you said it mostly happened in bad episodes, but what about the one with the bynars?

In that particular ep, Riker created a female hologram only to have a good sexy time. And then, they say Barclay has a problem with the holodeck...

Taking into account that I haven't seen all of TNG, I guess Riker's ways are never the crux of an episode, and this is maybe as far as they wanted to go on the matter. A shame, because that would partially explain why him and Troi didn't last long. He was always hitting on more girls.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Wed, Feb 5, 2014, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

This was so great :D

I agree with Patrick, this is the cream of the crop of TNG. If I were to made a list of awesome TNG episodes, this one would be one of them. As Jammer says, it might as well be TNG's best comedy episode.

I only have petty complaints like, for instance, Q used his powers to produce a Mariachi band (not sure why, but it feels a bit embarrassing to watch), and if I recall correctly, the other Q used to speak to our Q while he's a little tiny fairy or something. It felt a bit childish.

But those are minor complaints, as the rest of the episode was awesome! Great dialogue, and humor and drama (for Q himself, mostly, hah). The acting was superb and I even enjoyed the B-plot, since it tied into the A-plot.

Now, the episode was almost perfect until that moment when Data laughed. Then it became...beautiful. To me that was the icing on a cake. For one brief moment Data was able to experience emotions like a real human (without becoming one, as seen in the S1 episode "Hide and Q").

Data saying "It was a wonderful...feeling" is one of my favorite good lines of the entire series.

And, of course, John de Lancie is just wonderful here.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, Feb 1, 2014, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

I see William B point now, regarding this episode being Beverly Crusher's breakthrough. This is certainly a much better episode to show her personality than the one I mentioned ("Remember Me?").

But yeah, I liked the latter much more than the former :P
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, Feb 1, 2014, 2:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

So so episode. I didn't buy the premise as much as Jammer did, although I must recognize that guest actor(the guy that kidnaps Crusher) was good.

What I dont see mentioned yet is something I thought was slightly hinted at, and that is that Beverly developed a minor case of Stockholm syndrome.

At the beginning of the episode she was hostile towards the guy, and by the end she almost defended his actions. Sure, she's a humanist and a bleeding-heart and they talked enough to make their points clear (and boy, did they talk). But I think it's also interesting to consider the Stockholm syndrome side.

If we look at the episode as a whole, I think it's against Terrorism in general(in despite of what Data said about Human History) because the way the planet is dealing with the issue is a lose-lose for both parties. On one side, we have a totalitarian police state, on the other hand people that was born with a gun in their hands.

Now, that ending was very simplistic, but hey! They needed some sort of upbeat and hopeful finale or this wouldn't be TNG (post S1 TNG, at least, I'm thinking about the episode "Conspirancy", which's disturbing as hell).
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Thu, Jan 30, 2014, 9:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

I thought it was pretty mediocre. Close to Jammer rating, if not lower.

I didn't like all those chase scenes around the Enterprise. The soldier guy felt a bit overpowered, yeah, he's a supersoldier but all of a sudden he knows his way around a huge complex ship from another society.

Also, it was a bit preachy and that left me a bad aftertaste because it reminds me of Season 1 (silly, I know). But, a good episode should have a more natural way to prove its "message" than relying on The Captain (tm) scolding a bunch of planet leaders at the end of the episode. (I think it was just one guy, if I recall correctly)

The premise wasn't bad, but maybe they'd have needed to expand the concept in a couple more episodes or something. Reading Memory-Alpha, it seems their original intention was to end it with a big battle of the soldiers vs the Government.

Now, that'd have been different.
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Wed, Jan 29, 2014, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Great episode!

With this one S3 already had 3 very good episodes up to this point, including "Booby Trap" and "The enemy".

Personally, I'd say this bunch of good stories saved TNG for me, because coming from two terrible seasons I was almost giving up hope. S3 started to live up to expectations, and as the season developed even further, I realized this was just the beginning.

On the episode itself, I thought at first they made a plot mistake when Picard wanted to talk to Worf and that was never mentioned again...until the final moments. Awesome comeback. TNG's writing is getting real sharp at last!
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Sat, Jan 25, 2014, 9:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

This episode could fit just fine in either Season 1 or 2, because it's a mess with a good idea executed very poorly. Just like most episodes of those early seasons.

Honestly, one of the worst S3 eps (but not the worst).
Set Bookmark
Rikko
Wed, Jan 22, 2014, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

@ Reverend Spork (clever name, hah! I read it Spok the first time): I forgot to add this, you're totally right!

I have yet to see a good Ferengi episode in TNG. Worst permanent new race ever. It's a shame they never simply stopped doing episodes about them, just like they did with the many races and aliens of the week from the first season.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.