Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Just a very bad day at the office if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

. A lot of people have made comments about marina sirtis acting abilities. First run in the 90s I would agree with it all. Lately I have changed that thought. She has always acted the script she was given, and it wasnt much what she got. This episode shows it.
Also the one where she, obrien, and data take over the ship....
Pretty damn convincing to me. This one as well, she was troi acting as someone else. An actress playing 2 parts at the same time.
I always liked how embarressed she was by her mother. And how she tried to grow as a commander. She always showed her vulnerability yet trod on. Something no one here has ever said she acts with her eyes. No other actor on trek has done this as well as her. And give her the credit that between her costumes and hairdos she was given no justice by the producers.

Just something to think about....
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

This was a decent episode but I wouldn't rate it this high. But thats nitpikkin. I like q where hes taken picard but here he has too much control over one mans life and its outcome. Usually he puts them into shitty situations and observes the out come. I dont like picards friend he was a shitbag and so was the girl. Although I do like the wrapped up thread of their outcome. She just wanted sex. Not worth him.

It really was "its a wonderful life" par q.

I agree with everyone here who said he would have still become the man he was and some idiots knife through his heart would not have changed that.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

This sucked badly. The entire data string was another forced attempt to humanize data. With some random bs about crows and hey! Lets get brent spiner in here without makeup.... yahoo.
Maybe what made it worse was that they forced the DS9 Line with worf and his own totally unrelated problems on top of it. This episode was a complete sham.
If anyone disagrees pleas explain bashir and his contraption brought aboard unannounced to zap data into his dreams.

I can clearly see this was a clever attempt of the of the producers to meld 1.5 episodes (birthright) to a half episode (data) all the while tying into DS9 which had just been launched.

Great job at multi-tasking, bad execution for all stories combined.
It would have been better if they made birthright a standalone episode and tied datas dream sequence into ds9 kickoff party somehow or just drop the latter altogether.

Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

@The Man
Yes somebody cares about the skepticalMI, him his family, his friends, and maybe some posters here who respect his pov. So you might be wrong sir, or maam.

I do realize this was a stretch to shoehorn a TOS character inro the mix but damn was this so much fun!!
Right off geordi saying something was jury rigged we could smell ole scotty. I agree that where most of us lived with scotty during his grand ol time with the beloved capn kirk he wouldnt be remembered 80 years later.... he would just be an unnamed crewman.

Ya have to admit he was a little too pushy with the old stories on young people who had a task at hand with something as important as a dysons sphere. I will concede geordi was a bit short with mr scott in engineering. Downright shitty if you ask me. It was mr scott who tried to remind mr laforge that sometimes its the captains who are the babies who need to be fed their milk. God do I love this episode!
After the new breed puts scotty in his place he boozes up and heads for the one place he know and loves, the one elderly man with wisdom enough to understand scotty comes and helps an old man.

My god can you imagine STTNG without Patrick Stewart?

Beside rhe point that scotties sh**rigging saved the enterprise once again this was a story about listening to the old people. For we co u ld have not gotten here without tjem.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I did like the recreation on the holodeck and later Rikers time in the alien lab, but this episode had way too much treknobabble. So much to the point that I became irritated and the payoff was deflating.
1.5 stars.

I dont buy into alien abduction. If they are smart enough to get here they are smart enough to talk to us.

They dont need to probe our bodies time and again like all the other movies and this episode implicate.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Am I the only one here who made the connection that what attacked this station is the same alien from 1982s The Thing?
And I may have missed something but this murder was left unresolved.
The dog????

That dog had presumeably been on the station with aquiel for 9 months. We know the aliens intention was to Consume and replicate other beings. If it was the dog it would Have "ate" aquiel and the other officer laroche replaced before he arrived. Its a possibility.
A better explanation would be that laroche was infected before he arrived 5 days before the story we saw. He was only there for 5 days, long enough to learn from aquiel, copy, pass on all of the starfleet comms to whomever he was sent by. He then went to attack aquiel (as seen or heard in her logs) and her dog fought the alien/laroche long enough for her to escape in the shuttlecraft. He assimilated the dog and waited for rescue.
And then we have Morag the klingon who could have been bitten by the dog or even brought the virus himself.

My point is that any one of them could have been "The Thing" to start with, and being that aquiel and moraq have been returned to population.... wow!

I agree with everyone here that aquiel was either miscast, miswritten, or misdirected. This could have been a better episode for its implications of the possibility that thing might still be in them out there. Alas no followup.

And please quit picking on geordi, he has so much love and wants to be loved in return. Hes like most good men, hard to find love and harder to say what you feel to when you find them.

Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 12:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I havent seen this 2 parter since its first run until now. I had always remembered this as 1 episode.
I like this one a lot. Many have said that worf forced his own ways upon this colony. Simply put he offered the young ones a choice. The elders did not. And if this is not a prison why are there 2 armed romulans on standby? (3 arms including their weapons ;))
In a sense these are worfs people from khitomer. Yet if the elders accept their fate should not the young ones have the same chance as worf did to learn their heritage? I see his motivations as purely honest.
He was willing to die to give something to these kids their parents lost long ago.
I also like the love angle with worf bael. Why does it need to have some tie-in with the story? Cant it just stand on its own? She is a beautiful young woman born into two worlds somewhat like worf and I thought she played it well. Can you blame her for falling for worf? Hes the first man she has ever seen. Can you blame worf? Probably the first klingon female he has seen nude since kaylar or the holodeck.
Also it is a parallel to toq. Again the first man he has seen, and like bael, awoken dormant feelings within him. I love toqs transformation from an arrogant snitch to the young man who stood in front of worf at his execution. Also i loved how the old klingon male who wished death at khitomer stood with them, finally getting some of his lost honor back.

Iirc wasnt it toq who bael thought was spying on her skinnydip in part
1? These kids had unaddressed feelings, and worf addressed them where others would not.

There is one nit to pik someone mentioned here,.. worf would have had his ass burned by starfleet.

I know many people dont like klingons and I respect that. But I love them, you either love em or hate em.

3.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Jul 20, 2016, 11:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

@elsiskito my guess is that the yridian wasnt necessarily lying, he may have heard from other traders about the colony. ( Bael mentioned supply ships) he may have made the run himself. Being that there were klingon men there from khitomer it would be enough inducement for the yridian to try and make a quick buck off of worf.

Worf was the perfect mark for this scheme. His fathers involvement at khitomer was well known, worf was accessible via DS9, and being a starfleet officer maybe ole stretch cunningham felt that worf would be less likely to kill him once the lie was exposed. Trying to find the disgraced families on Qonos would have been hard and getting them out of there maybe harder.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Tue, May 20, 2014, 11:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Bread and Circuses

Their phasers were comfiscated by the runaway slaves, communicators/tricorder taken by the police. The only time kirk was given use of a communicator (besides ending) there were two submachine gun muzzles inches from his head.

Beam merrick up? Why? He was dead.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Last post (sorry there is many) but I will say what I would have done in picards place. I would have destroyed the ce as soon as riker told me this might be our only chance to stop it.

Like william b said there are too many unknowns and this might be our only chance....As much as I have said before about respect for life outside our sphere, and the fact we are the travelers, there is just too many things we do not know about this entity, mainly its capability to out run my ship and continue to what it has already done.

For that I would defer to my #1 and end it. Not of malice or revenge. But only because thats the only way we can be sure to protect and preserve ourselves. Would any species that we know of do different?
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Ok I am all over the board on this, all I did was try to throw out all the variables on how to deal with this ce. One thing I remember from 20 years ago for sure is I always hated lore and his giant snowflake. A couple years later back then I remember seeing previews for this ep. And I almost didnt want to watch it but I did anyway because was hooked at the time. Then and now I am so glad I did because this was a good one I would give it 3 stars plus not just for entertainment, but for even star trek, it evokes something more out of us than most episodes... what would we have done in picards shoes?

I think the amount of posts and responses on this episode should serve as a testament of maybe not how good it is... but how much it makes us think about who and what we are.

Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 9:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Oh yeah I promised I would get back to feeding the ce IF We adopted this pet... Assuming it needed only humanoids to feed upon and not planets and vegetation; OK lets do it like mr spock...

This entity needs us to feed off of. What are we? The answer is,..ugly bags of mostly water!

We all know that the ce can get water anywhere just like the huge cigar from STIV-TVH. So thats out.

So what does this thing need? Either a handful of carbon left over from one of those styrofoam blocks some a-hole crushed of one of my buddies in TOs s2, or some very small enzyme in us. The point is if we could talk to the ce maybe a burnt tree is worth a thousand humanoids in the bush or some enzyme could be replicated.

If all else failed but we gained communication I say this; We point the ce towards the romulan neutral zone, (kudos to the early poster on this lol) and tell it to come back when hungry. We will by then have found another source. This could be such a win/win situation for starfleet.

Before any pacifists attack me think about this; the romulans have made their intent clear on the our future... total dominance or destruction. whereas the ce may be blindly innocent. Im a glass half full kinda guy. Is there a flaw in my logic?
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 8:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

This is why twilight zone 1960s and TOS are my all times favorites... They both challenged my prejudice and bigotries and helped me open my mind. Much more than anyone ever did trying to yell, intimidate, or force their dogma down my throat. (Hint to the loud ones) The softest touch can be felt the most.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Another point on this; I cant help thinking about TOS 3 eps. M113, the gorn, the horta. Just like the ce they all killed us terrans and all 3 had different outcomes. But for me, the only two I felt remorse was M113 and ce. Maybe because they both died, maybe because they might have been the last of their kind and we extinguished them probably for good reason from our POV. But a part of me felt a sad when their end came. I just imagine earth decimated and I am the last one left and I am alone. Travelers come along and finish me (us all) off for their own good reasons. If I was in their tentacles I would at least wish the travelers/explorers/invaders show me the decency to try to talk to me and let me tell them who I am and what we were before they need to put me down. If that sounds cheesy to anyone, in all 4 episodes starfleet were the outsiders coming into their area or planet. On all 4 occasions we shot first (except the ce) but it still may have been her area. Not sure. But I think im sure it wasnt ours.
I truly do believe that this was GRs vision when he made this show, we were the frontiersmen bringing and maybe forcing our morality into places and people. What is right or wrong? Maybe tune in each week and decide for yourself.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, May 2, 2014, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I havent seen either of the ce eps since they first came out, so my memory of the details are few. Many blanks I am filling in from reading these posts so forgive if my 2 pennies are tarnished:

Iirc picards orders were to first try to establish communication if poss? If so that seems to remove half the arguments ive seen in these posts. He wasnt being sanctimonious or anything else, he was doing as ordered.

dr marr was wrong. Picture a civilian advisor aboard a US navy ship while tracking a known enemy... This advisor is in the fire control center, forces their way to an armed torpedo console and pushes the fire button after the captain had ordered standby. Hit and sunk. You would be in jail for a very long time and uncle sam would not give many points because your son died in said war. She used starfleet for her own end.

Back to the lore ep; did the ce conspire with lore, or did lore simply show it where the food was for his own means? I dont remember but The answer matters a lot. It gauges the malice of this entity.

Before the shoot first advocates jump me, hear me out. Im not a pacifist at all and I might add that I saw no post here (I read them all) where anyone advocated humanoids be slaughtered for this one creatures right to exist. Ive only seen a kill first vs communicate first.

Much ink has been poured and pored over what to feed this thing instead of humanoids and thats a very fair question which ill get to in a minute.

Anyone who likes trek enough to post here has to have at least a gram of respect for the term "to seek out new life"... as picard once said; "well... there it is!" Yeah this thing wiped out a couple planets and a ship, but I defer back to an earlier paragraph about the intent of this thing. It may have just been doing what it does not knowing the harm it causes. Yes I agree completely that its killing has to stop at all costs but the whole point of the matter is if we have a chance (no matter how small) to communicate to this thing and let it know we are not ants or nanites should we not try?

Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Notice khan had "5 times" the strength of kirk yet couldnt take him.

Still one of the best. Imho TWOK saved the ST movie franchise.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 11:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

Wasnt van gelder the same dude that led the comms against the yangs? Guy plays a good nut.

But not good enough as this one never broke out of the middle of the pack. Just a double.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Always loved the "cage-like" look of this ep. Both pilots have that look of 50s scifi that I always found to have a certain mystique.

Also enjoyed how gary was portrayed as essentially turning into a Q but in a much more human and believable way. 3+ for me as well.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Drug culture references indeed.

Spock hanging from the tree did this in for me.

1.237 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Too funny you two.

Never crazy about this one. Produced well and had its cute moments, but what really happened? What was the story? Beam pilot aboard, beam him back, go back to future. Yawn.

The whole time travel vehicle has been utilized very well in the trek universe, just not here, imho.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Review is pretty much dead on except I would not give it 2 stars... Maybe not even 1.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Whats not to love? Mortars, car chase, scavenger hunt, fight to death, speed vs Brawn, iconic alien.

Oh yeah, there was that androgynous liberal at the end... OK well bump it down to 3.5 stars for that. Classic trek.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

Wow, never knew this ep was so hated. I actually always liked this one.

Not the best but a good middle of pack. To each his own I guess.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 3:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Notice it was a woman that stole his brain in the first place.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.