Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 893 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 36
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 7:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

A good, not great, episode. I agree that it had a sense of conviction and cohesiveness that previous episodes lacked. But it doesn't make up for all the shoddy storytelling that came before. And it has its own share of problems.

- I think the advantage of the cloaking device is overstated. They can't fire weapons or raise shields while cloaked, so even if Starfleet finds a way to get through the cloak, the Klingons can just de-cloak and raise shields. Which is what Kol should have done the moment Discovery started firing its weapons. Idiot.

- The sensors they place on the Sarcophagus ship are ridiculously loud, clunky and bright. How is it that no one found one and destroyed it before they finished relaying their data?

- I'm no expert, but I don't think that's how PTSD usually works.

- There should be a drinking game where you take a drink every time Lorca disobeys orders and then receives praise from the Admirals. Granted, this happened on DS9 (most notably in "The Die is Cast" and "For the Uniform"), but it bothered me then and it is much more pervasive here. I have no problem with characters doing illegal or immoral things, but there has to be CONSEQUENCES.

Still, still... This was the first time I actually cared about these characters, and the ending was the first time I felt genuiune interest in what would happen next.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

No, this was not the worst episode yet (that was “The Butcher’s Knife”), but it was definitely the most schizophrenic.

The scene between Tilly and Stamets is exactly the kind of scene we need to see to stay invested in his story and character, but I find it sad that after all the pre-release hype regarding the first long-term homosexual relationship depicted in Star Trek, Stamets and Culber have only gotten one scene together.

The planet-mission story was something we've seen countless times before, but the execution was fine. Strangely, the weakest aspects of the series are the ones that directly relate to the war.
Set Bookmark
Random Communications Officer Guy
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I'm very late to the party, but I recently discovered this website after enduring "Magic" and wondering what other people thought of it. I didn't like it for the reasons stated above, first by Skeech and then others. I wasn't sure if I was alone. While I usually avoid online discussion boards because they lower an already abysmal view of online-humanity, these were very thoughtful critiques and very insightful adulation as well. For the most part I applaud how well people treat each other (at least relative to most other sites). You should all be commended--except potty-mouth ManManMUC. Just kidding. And the original review is very thoughtful too. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

By the way, I have no objection to bringing Star Trek into the 21st century. I'm not looking for a nostalgic throwback, and I am strongly in favour of serialization if done right. I think the main reason why Discovery is failing (so far) is that it's trying to have the best of both worlds. It's trying to get Trekkies' attention by name-dropping Mudd and Sarek, but it's completely changing established canon in the process; at the same time, it's trying to please today's Game of Thrones/Breaking Bad audience, and I don't think it's succeeding on that plane either (though I couldn't say for sure; I didn't like either of those shows). Honestly, all I'm looking for is good writing. Is that too much to ask?

Non-sequitur: if anyone here hasn't seen Rectify yet, I highly recommend it. It's a well-written, slow-paced character study with surprising moments of homor despite its fairly dark subject matter. It's probably my favourite TV series of the 2010s (so far).
Set Bookmark
Nic
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Okay, so this one wasn't bad, certainly better than the last three. But it has its share of problems.

Aping TNG's "Cause and Effect" turns out to be an asset and a liability. It's nice that they try to squeeze in a few character bits in the midst of all the time/mind-games, but they feel shoehorned in and irrelevant in the context of the crisis. Burnham and Tyler's "romance" (if we can call it that) is too rushed to make any kind of emotional impact.

What hurts the story the most is the ending. The Mudd we see in "Choose Your Pain" and this episode is a sadistic bastard who enjoys killing people and cares only about making money. But at the end it seems we're supposed to believe that this is the same Mudd from the original series who just needs a beautiful wife to keep him in check.

Still, I found this one more enjoyable. It was just as silly, but the writers at least seem to have embraced the silliness.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The emotional core of the episode—Sarek’s regret at having chosen Spock over Burnham, even though Spock didn’t follow the path Sarek set for him—is actually quite good. But why did we need so much sci-fi telepathic nonsense in order to get there? Again, at least the series is consistently implausible. Not to mention the introduction of Logic Extremists, as if this series didn’t already have enough poorly-defined conflict.

Lorca sleeping with the Admiral reminded me of Riker sleeping with Beata in “Angel One,” which is not something that any writer should try to do. It’s wildly inappropriate, especially considering the circumstances. And of course the Admiral then wanders into a Klingon trap, which allows Lorca to stay Captain despite the fact that he’s more unhinged than all of the Admirals we’ve seen in previous Treks put together.

And I, for one, DO have a problem with the Holodeck existing in this century. In “Encounter at Farpoint,” it’s fairly clear that the Holodeck is a fairly new technology and most of the characters are amazed at how realistic it is. And it’s a continuity problem that would have been easy to get around—just have them wear VR masks or something. OR set the series in the 25th century and then you can do whatever you want.

On the other hand, I liked Stamets in this episode more than in previous ones. It would be an interesting twist of a Trek cliché for an alien influence to make one of the regular characters LESS of a jerk, though I’m guessing from the Ominous Music ™ at the end of the previous episode that’s not how it will turn out.

1.5-2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I’m surprised you didn’t bring out the old “Fun with DNA” trademark, as it would have been perfectly appropriate. Stamets injects himself with bug DNA to gain its abilities, which is just about as preposterous as the fact that there’s a network of Magic Mushrooms ™ that spans the entire universe and can be used for space travel. At least the series is consistently implausible!

The crew’s sentiment and eventual release of the “tardigrade” is certainly consistent with the spirit of Star Trek, but it took too long to get there. There’s no gray area here; the Starfleet I know would certainly have laws against the exploitation of sentient lifeforms. Imagine a version of “The Measure of a Man” where Picard takes Maxwell’s side, or is on the fence! Would that still be Star Trek?

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@wolfstar

Personally, I don’t see it, but I do find it interesting that the writers at Forbes relate most to the character with Aspergers. There’s nothing wrong with an audience surrogate, though. I’m hard-pressed to think of series that doesn’t insert a neophyte to help explain to new fans long-running series elements.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Well, this episode was a rapid descent into nothing that ineterests me. I told myself I'd at least watch the entire first season, but now I'm not sure I'll make it that fair.

Kudos to the writers for crafting a character death that is even more ignominious than Tasha Yar's in "Skin of Evil." I barely even reacted to it and, apparently, neither did any of the characters. If Lorca or Stamets had mourned her, at least it would have given them some depth, which they desperately need.

The more I get to know Burnham, the less I believe that she would have betrayed her Captain in the first episode, much less understand why she did it. And seeing that all seems forgiven now, why did the writers have her do it in the first place? It would barely change the overarching plot of the season, but it would make her character more believable.

And who could ever have thought that Klingons could be so BORING?

The only thing that even felt remotely like Star Trek was Burnham's curiosity and ethical concern for the captured creature which is enslaved to power the Magic Mushroom Drive [TM]. But she goes along with Lorca's plans, and so does the rest of the crew, which for me, sinks the episode and maybe even the series. I was reminded of the Voyager episode "Equinox," the main difference being that the crew of the Equinox were the villains of that episode, and that even Captain Ransom showed some regret at what he did.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 7:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

As others have mentioned, there were moments in this episode where I almost forgot I was watching Star Trek. If this series was set in the 25th Century, maybe it wouldn’t be so jarring, but I find it extremely difficult to believe that we’re 10 years before TOS.

By mentioning Amanda, Michael confirms what we already suspected: she is Spock’s foster sister, and yet we’ve never heard of her before. Groan.

I like Tilly. In fact, she and Saru are the only ones I find interesting so far; Burnham’s speech about doing the right thing was nice, but it doesn’t adequately explain her actions in the pilot. The others are just jerks (for now). This is definitely not the bridge of the Enterprise, or even DS9’s Ops. Those places were casual and agreeable, places where I would actually want to work.

I’m glad we quickly found out that Lorca was up to something, because it was obvious from the get-go anyway, especially during his monologue about a new propulsion system that’s never been mentioned in the other series.
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Wilk
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

I seriously can't believe people condem Heko for what he does here, he is the only character in BSG to consistently have and abide by a moral code, you know the kind of things that separates us from animals.

Adama earned my respect for letting the matter drop.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I think that this is an excellent episode (3.5 stars). Watching the doctor grapple with his conscience is heartbreaking. Feels like a lot of other comments are very nitpicky.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

The only thing I can say for certain based on this "prologue" is that I am not a fan of the J.J.Abrams-inspired visual style (color filters, lens flares, overuse of Dutch angles, phaser shots that sound like an 80s video game, etc.).

As for the things that actually matter (writing, acting, etc.), we'll see. Compared with other Trek pilots (especially TNG's and DS9's), this was more plot and action-oriented, so most of the characters don't make much of an impression (and obviously, a lot of the regulars haven't even been introduced yet). Martin-Green is a serviceable lead, and if previous series are any indication, she will improve with time, so that's promising.

I for one wouldn't mind not seeing the Klingons again until the season finale, giving us time to get to know the characters and, you know, do some actual EXPLORATION. But I don't have high hopes for that actually happening. When I saw the cast list, I had this idea that the story would follow both the Discovery and the Shenzou simultaneously, on different missions that would end up being interconnected. That would have been cool. But I'll try to judge the series based on what it is trying to be rather than what I want it to be.
Set Bookmark
Plot Mechanic
Fri, Aug 4, 2017, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Going through the series for the first time ever. This has a great performance by Nimoy. And for some strange reason, we get hammy bad cliche Shatner. I've found his grounded performance really impressive for most of this season, not at all the caricature that is so often parodied (except when he's pushed by melodramatic material in the episode). As others noted, he was the first to find his character. He was Jim Kirk from day one (unlike Nimoy, who took forever to create one of the best characters in the history of television). But here, most of the line readings have that weird cadence and odd gestures. I wonder if he was susceptible to whomever was directing the episode?
Set Bookmark
Nic F
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I had no idea the question of guilt or innocence in this episode was so heavily in question.

Since it was in the end a tv show, I'm willing to buy the fact that he was innocent. The problem I had was more or less with Seven's memories? Am I suppose to simply say to myself "oooookay then, they weren't real?"..... Shouldn't we get some closure as to where those memories came from?
Set Bookmark
TheMechanic
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

TNG is my series (unlike Jammer and other people who post here) but I agree with almost everything here. Aside from all the plot weakness I do want to chime in to point out what a hideous episode this is to look at. The Klingon ships are ugly by design, but both Romulus (which have we seen before at this point?) in unbelievably boring. We're either in gray caves or beige boring restaurants and offices. Even the space bar isn't all that interesting. Not sure what happened on the production design on this one.
Set Bookmark
Nicolay.G
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

While the episode in general was good, can anyone comment on the horrible and simplistic game of go they were playing?

It was well below 25 kyu. White even had much more stones than black. That game would never had even started.

It was so far from a real game it took me away from the show to the reality that everything is scripted and fake.
Set Bookmark
Dominick
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 7:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Loved this episode, I can forgive the obvious plot hole (it being practically impossible to predict Voyager's current whereabouts) because the story was fun to watch and the emotional payoff in the end was great, had me in tears :')
Set Bookmark
Nic
Sun, May 14, 2017, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Typical trek mega nerds... Everytime they try to have a fun break episode everybody be hatin!

It was funny, light hearted and a good change of pace with bonus points for watchability for folks who don't like trek.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peter G., yes, you are right. That is a pretty glaring continuity gap. That said, I can't get too upset about it because Star Wars is a franchise that has always played loose with continuity. Remember, Obi-Wan said Luke's father died, yet we later learn what he said was from a "certain point of view." Heck, Obi-Wan ages 40 years in between ROTS and ANH. Star Wars fans have always had to retcon inconsistencies. I wish we didn't have to, but for me at least the ending of Rogue One doesn't ruin the movie.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Wow. This episode was a pile of puke. So is this review. A perfect pike of puke to end a pile of puke series.
This garbage constantly tried to rip off the magic of TNG. It was never legitimate on its own. "Hey let's put the Borg in half the episodes so the detestable Janeway can defeat them again and again by compromising humanity's, Starfleet's, the Federation's, and get own values, morals and rules."
At one time, the Borg were considered one of the greatest villains in TV history. Luckily no one watched Voyager or they certainly won't be remembered that way.
As for the finale, what a blatant attempt to rip off the essence of 'All Good Things.' Ever watch Deep Space Nine and notice it had its own characters, themes and plots? Poor Voyager. You never had a chance with Braga as the principle creative driver and Mulgrew cast in the lead.
One note on Jeri Ryan. Her beauty and blonde over biguns want enough to make the show decent, just bought it the three final seasons. She was a great actress though. Voyager didn't deserve her. This is evidenced by the last episode melodramaromance/ with Seven & Chakotay. What a disservice to both characters and actors.
💩
Set Bookmark
J.B. Nicholson
Thu, Jan 5, 2017, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

In "Parallax" Torres got her superior's job (Chief Engineer) by breaking Lt. Carey's nose in 3 places and dealing him a blow to the face so hard Chakotay said if she had hit Carey a little harder she could have put bone matter into his cerebellum (almost a quote of Chakotay's dialogue). In this episode one of the former Maquis crew says he and the others will do their jobs, but do them in the "Maquis way" and Chakotay responds by punching him in the face, causing the crewman to fall off his chair and then tell the Maquis in the mess hall "That's the Maquis way too, isn't it? And if you want to keep doing it the Maquis way that's fine with me. We can do that tomorrow, the next day, every day until you report to Lieutenant Tuvok.". Then makes the crewman he just punched get up and respond to him in the way "a Starfleet crewman answer[s] a question" while also giving the crewman a light slap on the face. The difference between the "Maquis way" and the "Starfleet way" is apparently fairly thin as both apparently have fisticuffs at the center.

Lt. Carey inexplicably accepted his demotion in episode 2, he said so under duress in front of the top 3 highest-ranking crew in Janeway's ready room midway into "State of Flux" (which we're supposed to take at face value, apparently). The same inexplicable happiness infects the end of "Learning Curve" too: there's no further discussion of how things got to be the way they are, nobody complaining to Janeway about violence taking a starring role in how things get done aboard ship. I understand that at the end of "Learning Curve" the Maquis trainees just got through a life-or-death situation but that doesn't erase the very recent past, either in this episode or with Torres' rather new position.

Viewed from within the story: The Captain takes responsibility for everything that happens aboard ship, certainly when it comes to her project of bringing the Maquis into the Starfleet fold via "field training". What I described above strongly undercuts Janeway as a respectable leader. She's apparently fine with violence as a means of enforcing her will, be it promoting someone who admits she's lacking the knowledge she needs to do the job (see my feedback on episode 2 on this site for details) into a senior officer position (Chief Engineer) over someone (Carey) who was apparently doing that job without complaint and had just received a beating from the person who would be given his job, to letting Tuvok use boot camp techniques on crew Janeway admits aren't new to running a ship but are merely ignorant of Starfleet protocols, or letting her first officer (Chakotay) ignore the Maquis trainees complaints and beat and threaten the trainees with more violence until training conditions are met. These things happened in front of plenty of other crew and thus many crewmembers have firsthand knowledge of how discipline is handled in the "Starfleet way". I can only imagine the rest of the crew comes away thinking that they'd better do their job or they too will get a beating from someone. I'd think this runs right along what any Maquis would expect of Starfleet given that the Federation forcibly and in short order made them ex-citizens (the formation of the Maquis began with a treaty which instantly made some Federation citizens go from living on a Federation planet to living inside Cardassian space). Force, not negotiation based on understanding, is the way of things even in the microcosm of Janeway's ship. To me this suggests that Janeway might know she either has no legitimate authority or she's got no clear idea of how to do better.

Viewed from a production standpoint: the writing is simply horrible because the characters are punished for no reason, violence is quickly becoming the means by which some important decisions are made amongst the crew, and the characters behave in entirely unrealistic ways that make them highly unidentifiable. The identity politics-driven agenda is so clear: By this time the major point of the series is to show how a woman captain would run things given free reign (no real Federation or Starfleet oversight, her writ runs no matter how inconsistent with her stated principles it is). But this season shows the major failure of identity politics; you can't make a feminist point by validating violence as a means of rising up through the ranks or enforcing compliance. This runs right along with women being raped as a part of institutional operation (some women are offered a job if they'll have sex with their superiors in an organization and this happens in the military too, or men and women are threatened unless they comply with their unethical superiors by going along with the unethical behavior or keeping quiet about the unethical behavior). A feminist standpoint would be to challenge violence as a means of getting work done and putting people through public trials as a way of showing everyone on the ship that the "Starfleet way" is better. But the writers never write Janeway to follow through with normal Starfleet protocol; instead ship's higher-ups quickly dismiss protocol as being unrealistic. ST:VOY is vastly overrated in terms of its ability to show how evolved Federation life is or what this Starfleet captain has to offer above other empire-building Star Trek societies. DS9 was considerably more honest in this regard by creating Section 31 and the Federation's attempt to commit genocide against the Changelings. "When the dirty work needs to get done..." (my recollection of Odo's line to Sisko explaining how Section 31's choices reflect on the Federation's self-appraised superiority in ethically running a society).
Set Bookmark
J.B. Nicholson
Wed, Jan 4, 2017, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

It's not clear to me either precisely what are the rules of sentience in TNG/DS9/VOY Star Trek despite the importance sentience carries (sentience is a requirement for being given rights and responsibilities in the Federation). It's not clear to me that some computer-driven objects deemed sentient are genuinely deserving of rights when other computer-driven objects are not. It strikes me as a definitional problem where the definition of things is strategically set up so that some things qualify and others definitionally cannot. Put another way, it seems to me that the shows simply dictate that some are sentient (such as Cmdr. Data in that highly overrated TNG episode "Measure of a Man", and TNG's Moriarty, and Voyager's EMH is eventually given the respect of any other crewmember based initially on Kes' declaration it should be so in season 1 episodes) and some are said not to be (such as TNG's Cmdr. Maddox says about ship computers not being able to refuse a refit).

I get the impression the real difference comes down to physical appearance. Ultimately the argument is about flattering the humanoids who make the definitions; the more like a humanoid the sophisticated computer appears to be, the more likely it will be deemed sentient.
Set Bookmark
J.B. Nicholson
Mon, Jan 2, 2017, 8:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

"Sometimes you just have to punch your way through" doesn't make Voyager look good, it sets the stage for some ugly choices Janeway make about how to treat her crew.

It should come off as shockingly bad for the entire series that Torres got her job as Chief Engineer (a job she'd keep for the rest of the series) in the way she did. Chakotay's view of her is one-sided; he doesn't know Carey because by this episode they haven't worked together that much. But ultimately who is Voyager's Chief Engineer is Janeway's decision and she doesn't seem to care about technical things like "the latest Starfleet protocols" or professional behavior including not striking people when one has a disagreement with them.

It's also alarming how quickly injustice is laid down and what consequences come from this. By 26m3s into the episode, Tuvok tells Kim "There was an altercation, but it has been resolved." referring to the beating that started the episode. Resolved? I don't recall ever seeing Torres in the brig (she seemed to be briefly sequestered in her quarters when Chakotay yelled at her a bit, hardly a punishing place to be), being properly questioned about what happened, nor do I recall charges being handled in anything nearing an appropriate fashion. Tuvok continues "The situation may be described as tense, but one could hardly say they are about to become violent". There's already been violence, that's why Carey recently needed surgery for his broken nose (according to the EMH) which almost sent bone matter into his brain (according to Chakotay). Violent again, perhaps? The beating that launched this episode was far too quickly forgotten and ultimately serves to signal how much help Janeway needs to look respectfully authoritative. This also casts Kes' introduction in the first episode "Caretaker", obviously beaten by her Kazon torturers, in a different light now that violence is on the table as a right and proper way of resolving issues even on Janeway's ship and for something as relatively minor as a technical disagreement. Voyager does not do well to promote the idea that no trial, no punishment, denied opportunities, and job promotion are the proper consequences of violence.

Poor Lt. Carey was never told his job was on the line: he was never told that his job hinged on impressing Janeway at two senior crew meetings (one of which he was apparently not invited to) and an away mission with Janeway (to which he was also seemingly never invited). Torres got her Chief Engineer job apparently by beating up the current Chief Engineer (what is this, a Klingon ship?) and (as far as Carey is concerned) secret meeting time with the Captain. So, contrary to what Janeway told Paris about "hiding his credentials" on temporal mechanics, Janeway doesn't evaluate candidates for high-responsibility positions by technical qualification (further evidence of this is Torres' wrong assessment of which ship to dock the shuttlecraft with and why Torres got the answer wrong). We have too little input from Carey to evaluate Carey on this basis. Apparently Janeway promotes people who demonstrate they can think like her and let her in on personal problems Janeway thinks she can mold. As far as we know, Carey never got the chance to charm Janeway in this fashion.

I suspect Carey's fate was sealed when Janeway gave a nod to Chakotay at the end of that first senior crew meeting with both Carey and Torres. The next significant talk Torres and Janeway had was in a second meeting which apparently Carey wasn't invited to. In the shuttlecraft scene, Torres apologizes to Janeway(!) for the way Torres reacted to Janeway's assessment interview for Chief Engineer (a job for which she should not have been considered until after dealing with possible charges and possible brig time). There was no apology to Carey, the crewmember Torres beat. For a show so obviously concerned with showing women doing good work while in charge of important things, this mismanagement and highly unprofessional evaluation of the crew, and Torres' horrible choice of what to say to Carey when she effectively takes his job, does not speak well for the rest of Voyager. If this is indicative of how Starfleet conducts its reviews, it doesn't speak well of Starfleet and this reflects badly on the allegedly fair-minded future Star Trek wants us to think highly of.

The next time we see Torres (around 39m46s), she's being walked into Engineering by Chakotay who is telling her the Engineering crew is "your staff" to which she responds "I'll try not to break any of their noses." and Chakotay apparently agrees (repeating the dialogue two lines later), which highlights how insensitive management is to this entire appalling affair. The new Chief Engineer's last line to Carey is how she's "not up to date on the latest Starfleet protocols" (something you'd think you'd want in a Chief Engineer on a Starfleet ship!) but she "hopes that [she] can depend on [Carey]". Carey, still far more professional than anyone else involved in his demotion, replies "you'll never get less than my best" and congratulating her on her new position. If I recall correctly, Carey's undeserved demotion is not taken up again (I vaguely recall Carey look silly by having him later acknowledge he thinks Torres is a fine engineer and then later killing Carey off).

The worst thing I can say about Carey's choices here is his only line in the only meeting to which he was apparently invited: He questioned whether fixing the EMH's projectors are really the priority. I think that's a bad way of seeing things because it should always be a high priority to keep one's only medical staff (their only doctor, in fact) fully working. I don't charge Carey with much wrongdoing here though because of Janeway's horrible reaction to learning that the EMH's projectors are not working correctly. She heard about the problem (more than once), knew of its adverse effect (including how this would worsen over time), and there was no indication she chose to make good on her promise to get the projectors looked into. Since she's the captain of the ship, she sets the tone and the tone she set was indistinguishable from dismissing this as unimportant. Putting a fine point on how little they value anything in Sickbay, Janeway responds to the EMH's repeated call for someone to fix his projectors and Janeway's last line is to tell the EMH "We're a little busy right now, Doctor, but I'll send a crew as soon as I can.". The EMH has shrunk to the point where he can't possibly do significant parts of his job. We're supposed to think it's hilarious to see the circus mirror effect on the EMH (shrunken so small he's standing in a chair he normally sits in) but the obtuse writing apparently forgets when the sole medical staff is now rendered incapable of doing his job. I guess they're all fortunate that more people didn't require the EMH to be tall enough to reach the biobed, mix a new medicine, or perform surgery as is so often the case in Star Trek (and was in the start of this episode).

If Carey's and Torres's sexes were reversed, this show would have (even at the time of original syndication) been quickly dismissed as horribly misogynist; the horrible treatment I critique would be too obvious to deny. The misandry present in the episode shouldn't be taken as a social step forward for Star Trek. Making a woman benefit from violence and inequity is bargain basement feminism and is no better than the misogyny found in early Star Trek. Given how much room this show had to work with (new crew, new ship, new quadrant of the galaxy), it's sad the writers couldn't come up with anything egalitarian that would have highlighted how a skilled former Maquis engineer with social skill problems or anger management problems rose to the top after working hard in multiple episodes, thus earning respect from her peers and the audience. If I recall the rest of the series correctly, Carey will end up spending the rest of his life as an engineer serving under the unpunished criminal who beat him. Perhaps if more than two Voyager crewmembers knew how Torres got her job and knew of Carey's plight there would have been more complaints about this and they wouldn't have been so rosy serving under Torres or Janeway.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

I saw "Arrival" yesterday and found it spellbinding; I personally felt it was better than "Interstellar", though its scope was a little smaller. It had shades of "Gravity" and "Contact" (not to mention TNG's "Darmok") but it was still fresh enough to hold my interest all the way through.
Next ►Page 1 of 36
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.