Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 208 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Gretchen

"At least 'Genesis' was watchable"

"Genesis" allowed is not -- is episode forbidden!
Set Bookmark
navamske
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

@Justin

"How is it they didn't detect Ferengi life signs, but they did pick up the power signature of a replicator? "

They probably weren't scanning specifically for Ferengi life signs.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

In the 1990s, the TV critic for the New York Daily News used to write about what he called "Extras," subtle allusions to other, usually connected in some way, shows. For example, in an episode of "Frasier," Frasier, Niles, and Martin were stuck in a cab during a traffic jam. The driver radio'd for help and identified herself as driving Cab 804. This was a subtle allusion to an episode of "Taxi," "Memories of Cab 804," which was written or produced by the same guys who later wrote the "Frasier" episode.

I wasn't sure if the Alara simulation began before or after her conversation with her parents, but if it was before, she could have told them about it afterward and her father could have said, "You mean I was only a holographic simulation?"
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Jack

"I almost stopped watching after they killed Nurse Park (who apparentky doesn’t have a first name)"

Asbury
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Dave in MN

"Maybe in the 24th Century, we humans (after being exposed to alien biologies) will have a different group of sexual mores than we have now."

I've wondered that too, in light of the TNG episode in which Dr. Crusher slept with Commander Riker while he was carrying the Trill symbiont, and the DS9 episode in which Sisko slept with Mirror Jadzia. That's got to affect their professional relationships with each other.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

"with family members appearing out of the blue just to be used as cheap plot devices"

"Not sure how they would introduce family members otherwise"

I think in the first episode, when Captain Ed was getting to know his new crewmates, would have been a good time for a reveal that Dr. Finn was a mother and that her children were with her on the ship.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@Benjamin S

"Isaac was great. I disagree that it was a mistake to have his face covered. Good actors can carry the weight of their character even when they can't use facial expressions. So much can be conveyed with head tilts and hand gestures and vocal leanings, and a good actor can still humanize even a robotic character with just these traits."

This may already be obvious to everybody, but I wouldn't be surprised if there's a Darth Vader situation going on with Isaac, meaning that one guy is doing the voice and another guy is doing all the physical aspects of the character. They probably have to coordinate their performances so that they're in sync, e.g. that the vocal aspects "match" the physical movements.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

When the smaller child was trying to wake Clair at the beginning with "Mom. Mom. Mom. Mom." did anyone else think of the "Family Guy" scene in which Stewie does that to Lois? MacFarlane cribbing from himself? The clip is probably on YouTube but I don't know if we're allowed to post links here.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

The best acting I've seen in any incarnation of Star Trek was William Windom's anguished "The third planet" in "The Doomsday Machine." Penny Johnson's anguished "I can't just sit here and watch [her younger son] die" was on a par with that, all the more so because she was repeating something she'd just said. Brava to Ms. Johnson.

Also, I don't advocate or practice violence toward children (or toward anyone), but I really wanted to smack those kids.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I typically don't post comments like this, but I'm surprised no one has said (unless I missed it) how hot Adrianne Palicki looked in this episode. She's about 18 times hotter than that annoying red-haired woman on "Star Trek Continues."
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

I have a good sense of humor and think a lot of things are funny. But that's as far as it goes -- my thinking, "This is funny [or clever]." I actually laughed out loud at "Avis . .
we try harder." I can't remember the last time I did that. And "Humans worship their own god, called Hertz."

They were using the names of hundreds-of-years-old car rental companies -- it's a good thing they didn't try to get away with "Enterprise."

James Horan, who played the Krill priest guy, was in two episodes of TNG: as Lieutenant Barnaby in "Descent" and as Jo'Brill in "Suspicions" (aka "The Episode in Which Dr. Crusher Gives Whoopi Goldberg a Tennis Racket").
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Someone in this episode mentioned the planet Pollux V. That's where Apollo lived in TOS "Who Mourns for Adonais?"
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Trek connection: "a creepy Robert Knepper" (almost a redundancy) appeared as Wyatt Miller in the NG episode "Haven" and as Gaul in the Voyager episode "Dragon's Teeth" (the one with the Vaadwaur).
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Also, I know that Majel Barrett is dead, but I wish they could have found a way to make the computer sound like her. Maybe a voice-double or some electronic trickery based on existing audio of her.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@Chrome

"Yes, it would be nice if there had been a cameo, of course, but I'm troubled to think of an actor with enough viewer appeal from the franchise who would also make sense in this era. I mean, in ST:2009, Leonard "I am Spock" Nimoy made a cameo and it still wasn't enough to please some old school fans. Would some random ST: Enterprise cameo really help that much?"

It didn't have to be anyone particularly noteworthy; just the appearance of whoever it was would have been a nod to Star Trek history and continuity and respectful of the tradition that started with DeForest Kelley's cameo in "Encounter at Farpoint." It could have been Phlox; we don't know how long Denobulans live. According to his bio on a Defiant computer screen in "In a Mirror, Darkly," Archer lived long enough to see the launch of the Enterprise NCC-1701 -- but that onscreen text is supposedly not to be taken as canon, as the writers didn't intend for any viewers to actually read it.

I think Nimoy's role in the 2009 film was integral to the plot and not a cameo. His appearance in STID, though, was a cameo -- and it was totally pointless and gratuitous. He had said his goodbyes to the role in the 2009 film and should have left it at that.

I'm a big fan of Bryan Fuller's work, but I would not have believed this production came from him if I had not learned it beforehand. What I would have liked in a new series would have been a show set in the Kirk era, using the sets and costumes from "Trials and Tribble-ations" (but current-day special effects). The surviving TOS cast members could have done cameos, as long as they weren't seen (i.e., if the cameos were audio-only).
Set Bookmark
navamske
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 7:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Every Star Trek production (except for TAS, probably) after TOS has featured in its premiere episode a cameo by a character from a previous incarnation of Star Trek: McCoy in TNG, Picard in DS9, Quark in Voyager, and Cochrane in Enterprise. I was disappointed that the new show did not follow this tradition. (Sarek doesn't count, as his role was more than a cameo and apparently he's a regular or recurring character.) Why not have an elderly T'Pol do a walk-on?
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 7:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

They have warp -- er, quantum -- engines. They have replicators. They have holodecks. The ship has phasers, or at least "cutting beams." They have shuttles. They have tractor beams. But they don't have transporters? Why would they mimic Star Trek in so many ways but not in this one, especially given that the Star Trek transporter is so iconic?

The joke would work only once, but a character could ask about the transporters and another character could say, "The transporter won't be installed until Tuesday."
Set Bookmark
navamske
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 7:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

This is just a random comment, not a criticism of the show, which for the most part I am enjoying: Seeing the ship in the premiere episode made me think of something it resembled, but I couldn't figure out what, until I saw this episode. The rear of the ship (where the nacelles would be if this were Star Trek) looks like a cross between the Prometheus (from "Message in a Bottle") and a toilet seat.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

@Paul M.

"Everything I watched with [Brannon Braga] at or close to the helm was terribad: Voyager, Enterprise, that Dinosaur thing a few years back, Salem..."

By "that Dinosaur thing," do you mean Bossa -- er, Terra -- Nova? I thought that was pretty good and was disappointed when it was canceled.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Tue, Jul 11, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@Rick

"They missed a real opportunity to take Prof. Gegen with them. Voluntary exile on Voyager. He would have made an excellent addition to the ship, both as crew and as a story character."

True, but the show might have found it cost-prohibitive to put the actor in that dinosaur costume/makeup every week.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

@Kotas

"Another solid season finale."

Also, another changeling season finale.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

For the record, I don't practice or advocate violence aainst women (or against anybody). But after about the fifth time Troi called out, "Where are you?" I wanted to smack her.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

@dave johnson

"Perhaps you will learn one day that when guys get into their 50s and 60s, they often gain weight in the mid-section."

Learn it one day, like when I turn, say, sixty-two -- which I did three weeks ago? And BTW, I'm a sixty-two-year-old man with a thirty-four-inch waist.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

"These questions put 'Doctor Beverly' through the ringer in fairly interesting fashion"

wringer
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Nov 19, 2016, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

If Future Alexander killed Present Alexander, wouldn't Future Alexander cease to exist?

And if he ceased to exist, then he couldn't have traveled back in time to kill his younger self -- right?
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.