Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 429 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

It was just boring.
Set Bookmark
Michael Hoffman
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

@ J Rich

Your post says it all right there! I couldn't have said it better myself. The reboot at best i would give 1 and a half maybe 2 stars (mainly because special effects were excellent and similarities to characters created by original actors was good. although simon pegg as nu-scotty???)

Its hard to believe that die hard fans of star trek would like this crap-fest. Its hard to believe i have to remind star trek fans (not you J rich, you are on the ball) that star trek was never about space battles (ever). All fans have to do is watch the TOS as well as the other tv shows and pay attention to the pacing of the stories.

I guess critics who love the nu-Trek would say that the tv shows make for good tv but would be boring as a movie. The first star trek movies from 1 to Nemesis were made when people used to have an attention span that didn't require explosions and space battles every two seconds. What was fun about the movies was seeing the tv show up on the big screen and the characters interacting with each other as well as a rivoting plot. Youngsters today don't even know what a plot is or are even able to listen to the dialogue. If they watched 2001: A Space Odyssey they would give it 1 star because its boring and they had to (god forbid) listen to dialogue.

Its not star trek that needs to change to the re-boot version, its the minds of those who feel the need to change star trek to space battles and everyone has to be young and beautiful.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Wow...this guy came onboard and savagely murdered dozens of people, and they made his punishment be 'banishment into an uncomfortable relationship.' I guess it's like ol' Jean-Luc said that time: "We are not qualified to be your judges." How did this incident not find its way into Mudd's records for Kirk to discover, for one thing?
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I was getting tons of buffering problems and got booted back to the android app's main screen once. I never have this issue with netflix, huluplus, youtube, or even CW. I wish there was a download option like netflix offers. I am paying for the commercial free cbs aa plan.

@WTBA
"Easter egg: Nice to see Connies mentioned (not sure if Burnham had to mention the Enterprise - there are others, right?)."

It makes sense for Enterprise to come immediately to her mind if her 'brother' Spock is serving there.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I would just like to point out that the 'mirror' in 'mirror universe' is a metaphor. As in, actual mirrors (the objects) shouldn't have anything to do with the alternate quantum reality nicknamed 'the mirror universe.' The alternate Stammets inside the mirror makes for nice imagery, but how in the world does it make any actual sense in-universe?
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Hank
"Yeah, sure, Lorca escaping so easily was a typical trope..."

I'm pretty sure Lorca's escape was part of the Klingons' plan, not merely due to his skillz. Also part of the plan was for his arrogance regarding his skillz to blind him to the fact that they let him go.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

So Lorca was dropping key phrases such as 'ghost ship,' to see who might leak info to the Klingons. He said 'ghost ship' to Ash, but later attributed it to Mudd's listening device. But couldn't Ash have passed it to the Klingons instead, as far as Lorca knows? Eh.

Lorca left a fellow prisoner behind. No other captain on any series would have done that.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode had a more of one element the show needs to express - human feeling and friendships. I hope it is a sign of things to come.

I wondered after watching tonight whether I liked this episode entirely on its own merits, or just in contrast to the dreary episodes that preceded it.

Set Bookmark
michael j
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

So many here find Satie's meltdown implausible. I disagree. It's pretty much foreshadowed. She tells Picard she hasn't seen a family member in years and that she has no friends. She lives on starbases and starships. I'm already seeing red flags.

Note the frequent references to her father. She has elevated her late father on a pedestal because that is all she has. That and the Federation. That's not much of a life. Zealots -- especially isolated and lonely ones -- have facades that don't crack easily but when they do, it's quite a scene.



Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Spore Drive might actually give them an out, if the show proves to be as unpopular as I suspect it will. Simply say that the Spore Drive can make you shift between universes and strand them in the actual Prime Universe where everything is much closer to the original TOS timeline. Destroy the ship in the process so that their technology doesn't contaminate the real Prime verse. Kill off the unpopular characters and put the popular characters on a prime Starship to continue into season 2.

Did anyone notice that they killed 'Zaphod' on the mine planet? I noticed it in the captions. Lol
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I forgot to add, I think the title of this episode refers first to the producers and second to the fans.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think one fundamental problem is that this is a show about miserable people. And nobody wants to watch miserable people. Real life is miserable enough. I'm not saying it has to be a dick-joke comedy all the time like Orville, but for God's sake, has anybody even cracked a smile once on the show? Maybe Captain G (yeah, and see what happened to her)? There's no charm to these people. They have no charisma. Jim Kirk had a sparkle in his eye that made people love him. Hell, even Wesley (the boy?!) had more likeability than any of the cast here with the possible - possible - exception of Saru. Everybody's either bland or an asshole!

I know 10 year old me is spinning in his ... uh... grave, but I just can't get any enjoyment out of this Trek incarnation so far.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

It's becoming clearer to my why we needed the first 2 episodes to focus on the Shenzhou, at least in the minds of the writers. They wanted to establish what the ship and crew of a "normal" Federation ship in the 2250s is like, in order to contrast it against the relative strangeness of the Discovery.

Judging by the comments about the show, this isn't working. People are taking the attitudes and staff on the Discovery to be typical Starfleet, and I don't blame them. I think we need to see other Starfleet ships and how the moral license on board the Discovery differs from them. Also, how could things have got so desperate in the war that the Discovery was commissioned in the first place? We're missing a huge chunk of the story that I hope will be revealed in time.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey


this was a forced comedy that disengenuously tried to be about serious weighty issues going on in the continuum.

I respect Plakson for her versatility. She's been almost every alien you can imagine in Star Trek, but in this outing I was really embarrassed for her.

"I'm not talking about the puppaaay" Ugh. And it's all downhill from here. All this finger-snapping and powers that the Q arbitrarily possess and lose. The whole contrived mess ended up like an episode of Bewitched.
Set Bookmark
michael
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Jammer was much kinder about this episode than I would have been. This episode was so bad it actually made me angry. I really can't say much about it because I simply couldn't hang in there to see how it ended it. Why would I want to?

Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

The first episode had me worrying - as I thought, all this botox in the female characters faces is going to spoil this series. Human emotion cannot force its way through a chemically induced frozen face. Interesting writing and character development cannot make up for a face that doesn't move!!!!! I'm thinking of the female captain as well as Michael to degree. MOVE YOUR FACE!!! I was relieved when I saw we we were going to get a much more interseting face to watch - Lorca. I loved the visuals and I liked the scare factor. Another vanilla star trek would probably have me swtich off. I know, for others they want that formula to remain. Well, that isn't going to happen from the looks of things. I think if Michael stops botoxing her face that we might get some interesting facial communication from her. The writing is complex but this is NOT showing on her face.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

A much better commentary unpacking the latest incarnation of Star Trek:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBb0hyuIfYQ
Set Bookmark
Michael
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

The Loony Tunes S.J.W.s screwed this one up. Star Trek used to be about imagination, probing human nature, science and fiction, and drama. Now it's about "diversity," elimination of "toxic" masculinity, and promotion of political agenda.

This video says it all:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWGho2ufMAI

Good bye, Star Trek, it was nice knowing thee.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Well, I'll say this: we have finally found someone who loves the sound of his own voice more than Dukat.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm reasonably confident that the powers that be have completely butchered the pre-show publicity. Based on that assumption, I really don't think we know that much about what the show's actually going to be like at this point.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Sep 14, 2017, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Flight of the Phoenix

What I don't get is why the Cylons are trying to wipe out Galactica in the first place - weren't they super thrilled that Sharon's baby survived in the last episode? So would they not leave Galactica alone or try and get Sharon back, instead of attempting an assault that would almost certainly kill her and the baby?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Coming from a background as a trekkie since 1985, i enjoyed it. Tonally, it has more in common with Peter David's ST: New Frontier novel series. I enjoyed the cast's chemistry, I was fine with the humor, and I enjoyed the trek references. I was actually most bored with the fights, mainly because of overload from all the years and years of trek. Most of the problems I had with the plot, I ascribe to it being a pilot.

Hey, someone here will know: where have I seen the building used in location shooting for the science outpost? Did they use it for Starfleet Command on ENT?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Sep 8, 2017, 1:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

The show itself was not well done, though to be fair it was a one hour tv show from the late 80's early 90's. The budget just wasn't there to really support the story. I think it could have been much better as a film.
It would be interesting to know where the pair went off to. It looks like that was a powerful ship.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

@Ellen
Well, on reflection, you make a strong point. Use or threat of use of the death penalty was administered very capriciously and, apparently, disproportionately (although in such extreme circumstances there is quite some leeway allowed for disproportionality in order to achieve other objectives such as discipline). SO yes, the incidents you enumerate are quite absurd for the most part.

That said, as a matter of principle, I contend that an existentially-imperiled humanity is stronger if the criminality within it is eliminated, including by executing the criminals, even if it results in lower population figures in the immediate aftermath.

Thanks for the exchange and the well-argued reply.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 4:03am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Boy, oh boy, some people really hate babies, don't they, particularly when the babies come up against third-wave feminism... *rolls eyes*

Firstly, the value and consequence of the lives of a middle-aged criminal--who, through his criminality, undermines the quality of the human race's future, which is already on a precipice--and that of an unborn baby are beyond any kind of a meaningful comparison.

Secondly, it's hysterical there are still folks out there peddling that risible canard about abortion being about a woman's "right to her body." An embryo or fetus is in no way similar to an appendix or a toenail, even in the best of circumstances. With the future of humanity at stake though, where every body (especially young body) counts, tedious S.J.W. banalities are of no import whatsoever.

But hey, let's not let any logic get in the way of the good old pro-life pro-death-penalty people are hypocrites folderol, shall we :)
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.