Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 189 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Did you actually read the Memory Alpha article entitled "holodeck"? Try again.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

No, the recreation deck on the original Enterprise used them. Go check the guidebooks or Memory Alpha. They were just more advanced in the TNG era.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Even the Intrepid class starships in old Trek had holodecks. Why wouldn’t the most advanced Federation starship in the fleet have them?
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Okay - not great.

At this point in the first season I have still not seen what I consider to be an outstanding episode.

There are always enticing moments that tickle the Trekkie in me, but still things that make me groan each time. I don't think a crewmember has died yet which is making me think that no situations will ever lead to life or death excitement. Mayweather is the first red shirt I'd sacrifice.

Am I the only one that gets annoyed with the Enterprise being fired upon until "One more hit like that Captain and we can kiss our arses goodbye" but that last fatal volley never comes? In this episode all the Mazarites needed to do was destroy the Enterprise when they had the chance and they would have killed V'Lar; which I was led to believe was there intention. Heck they already fired on a Federation Ship. They didn't have much more to lose by finishing the job.

It seems the Enterprise is always outgunned somehow and miraculously they get spared. Give the Enterprise some weaponry that can kick some ass!!

Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I still can't get past the Contrived Mutiny in episode 1. It's a stain on the whole series for me, a complete plot contrivance on par with "Well, we had to give the Night King a dragon somehow." In fact it's a lot worse. The zombie dragon on Game of Thrones was just one aspect of a huge upcoming war story, while Discovery's entire narrative will be based on Burnham's mutiny.

And if you don't believe that mutiny for a second, what else is there to do but stop watching?

Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

The negatives outweigh the positives for me with this show.

First, I love the actress who plays Burnham. She plays her as exactly what a Starfleet first officer should be. Strong, smart, capable, bold... and then Burnham decided to mutiny for Plot Contrivance reasons and that ruined her character for me.

Let's be clear: just because the Vulcans--after the Klingons had already attacked them in a previous encounter--came up with the idea of shooting first in all subsequent Klingon encounters, that doesn't mean the same approach would necessarily work with Starfleet. Maybe the Klingons were impressed that the relentlessly logical and essentially pacifist Vulcans were willing to embrace violence--to act like Klingons, basically--to deal with them. Maybe being attacked first by Starfleet wouldn't engender the same admiration from the Klingons. Regardless, the ethos of the Federation is, "We don't shoot first." The captain said it and it's true and Moreover, this must be the kind of thing that is drilled into officers' heads over and over at the academy. For Burnham to discard this and actually stage a mutiny is bewildering, especially considering the close relationship she's supposed to have with her captain. Why do the Klingons case such a sense of panic among this bridge crew? It took me right out of the show.

Burnham's casual decision to mutiny over, essentially, a question of mere battle tactics reminded me of the Abrams movies' casual disregard for the command structure and military traditions of Starfleet. In the first Abrams movie we had fistfights on the bridge and academy graduates taking over for seasoned officers, culminating in Kirk himself mutinying but then being promoted from, at best, a lieutenant, all the way up to Captain over a matter of days. In the Abrams version of Starfleet, I can see bridge officers engaging in mutiny over a relatively small thing like battle tactics. In the real Trek universe? It would never, ever happen. Add in the Abrams-style Klingons and I think this show takes place in the Abrams continuity. Certainly, I don't consider it canon.

The new alien, Lt. Saru, looked great and had an intriguing backstory. I also liked his banter with Burnham. But his suggestion that they retreat from the Klingon ship was taking his self-preservation instinct a step too far. A Starfleet vessel, retreating from FEDERATION space at the mere sight of a Klingon ship? I'm not sure why the writers want us to see the Klingons as a menace on par with the Borg, but it's a head scratcher, and the bridge crew was acting like deer caught in headlights at the mere sight of them. You'd think this crew had never encountered a hostile alien species before.

And why are we focusing on the Klingons at all? TNG and DS9 did them to death. Why not create a new alien species rather than change an existing one? I also found it objectionable that they decided to change Spock's backstory: now he had a step-sister. Why? If the writers wanted a human character raised by Vulcans, fine, but why did they have to pick Sarek? Burnham's adoptive parents could have been any Vulcan family. Stop trying to change the canon. Create something new!

I guess the best summation of my feelings about Discovery is that I watched the first episode and didn't sign up for CBS All Access to watch the second. I'm not a fan of Abrams-style Trek, or silly plot contrivances.

And, oh yeah--I don't like the design of the new Starfleet ships--other than the saucer sections they look a lot like TOS-era Klingon ships-- and I have no idea how they could be made to fit into the current Trek design lineage.
Set Bookmark
Mark J
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Bread and Circuses

Skeptical makes a very good point about the originality of the end of the Second Season. Might it been because of the departure of Gene L Coon after The Trouble with Tribbles? (though he co-wrote and produced this episode, perhaps it was recorded earlier and transmitted later). I thought when John Meredyth Lucas took over as the producer, he maintained the feel of earlier Season 2 Trek well, and I quite enjoyed at least some of the stories. Running out of steam though? Quite possibly, even at this stage.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Why is that characters always act so incredibly unrealistically in alternate timelines? Their premature celebration over the slipstream drive made absolutely no sense and was totally out of character. They would never act that way in the "real" timeline.

Otherwise an okay episode. 2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

This episode was a metaphor for the writing staff admitting they had run out of ideas and were bored.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I feel that this is the episode where Voyager admitted it was stillborn and have up any attempt to be a successful series. With the exception of Seven, all the the characters just atrophy throughout season 4 and become caricatures of themselves.

This episode, while it would have been fine mid season, was particularly disappointing as a season finale. The reset button gets hit yet again, nothing happens, and Voyager continues on its way. The end.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

The irony being that an episode titled "unforgettable" was the most forgettable episode of the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Aug 3, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

The whole thing just feels a little too pointless. The concept they were going with just wasn't strong enough for a two parter and it has too much filler. If they'd condensed this to one episode I could see it being a solid 2.5 stars, but as a two-parter I give them 1.5 stars each.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

The thing that annoyed me most in this episode was Janeway's statement "We can't pick and choose which laws we'll follow". Janeway has done EXACTLY that many times throughout the series.

The writers really messed her character up. You just never know what you're going to get from her - it's whatever the plot demands.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Jammer must have been in a bad mood when he watched this one. This episode was hilarious and Janeway turned in a particularly solid performance. Sure, you could nitpick this one to death, but at the end of the day it was very entertaining. Solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I really liked Kes and I was sorry to see her go. Mostly, I liked Jennifer Lien as an actress. I just found her calm delivery to be a little bit "different" from what you usually see out of sci-fi women and I admired the confidence she showed in her character. I think it's a bit of a missed opportunity that her acting career never really took off after this because I found her quite talented.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

In true Star Trek fashion, all the other species on this ship are trapped there for years and years until the Federation swoops in to save the day and escape in less than a half hour.

This episode felt like it started with the idea of the crew displacement then had to find a way to explain it. The whole premise, while interesting at first glance, just made no sense. Why not just transport the entire crew at once? Why do they need to be replaced rather than just removing them? Why nine minutes and twenty seconds between displacements?

1.5 stars for a neat idea that couldn't find a way to make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Terrible episode, probably partly because I'm a Kim hater and I find his acting as interesting as a box of nails. Nothing comes out of this episode, no impact on anything, just utterly forgettable.

Complete non sequitur here, but I've seen just about enough Star Trek planets where it seems the entire population including the world leader fits into one room.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I didn't think this episode was so bad. I'm finding Jammer's reviews on Voyager overall to be fairly harsh and tending to focus strongly on plot elements. It ignores that Voyager is, more so than any of the other Trek series, primarily focused on character development. This was an important episode for Neelix and Tuvok's relationship as well as for them individually. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Marky
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

I am currently re watching the DS9 series and just watched this one today. This episode is so horrible that it is as bad as "Masks" on TNG. I couldn't wait until it was over. The story is quite simply as boring as watching paint dry. It's only redeeming qualities are Basheer's acting (of a terrible story line) and Garak is always good. Those are the only reasons I give it .5 stars instead of zero.


Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Finally! Now this is the kind of space adventure I signed up for when I started watching Voyager. A welcome adventure with a fun, tight script is a nice diversion from the mostly plodding and unfocused first two seasons of this show. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Jul 10, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

It seems this episode got a lot of negative reviews. I actually enjoyed this one, I thought the virus masquerading as a memory idea quite original and relatively easy to swallow. I thought it was hiliarious when Sulu recognized Janeway, that was way out of left field.

A solid 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

Is it bad that I badly wanted to see the crew all get wiped out by that lava eruption, just so I could see something of consequence happen on this show?
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

"Our captain was bitten by an insect on a planet 70 light years from here. I don't have any other information that I can provide you beyond that. Can you help?"

"Oh yes we know exactly what you're talking about! We'll send you a serum."

Besides the absurdity of the above exchange, it was also ridiculous that the doctor gave up when they already knew there was something in the environment of the planet protecting the patients. I'm normally not a nit picker but this episode suspended credulity beyond belief. Just pure lazy writing - they could have easily come up with a slightly more reasonable reason to abandon Janeway on the planet with just a little effort.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Jul 8, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

This was a fun episode with a few surprises that have been elaborated on well here. The reset button on this one bothers me a lot, but that's Voyager for you.

The one nitpick I have is, why didn't they evacuate everyone to the other vessel when self-destructing? Sure, it would be weird to have duplicates of the entire crew, but it seems like it would be the obvious choice before killing yourselves unnecessarily.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Jul 7, 2017, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

I enjoyed this episode a lot for the lack of a ship-destroying threat alone. Voyager needed more of these types of quieter episodes.
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.