Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Johnny Rocketpants
Mon, Jan 18, 2016, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

Sisko would definitly be court martialled after this episode. He's been recently assigned to help the Bajoran people recover from Cardassian enslavement and one of the first things he does is take their most important religious leader on a jolly through a newly discovered wormhole out into uncharted space then kills her by crashing his space ship into a moon. What a complete tool!
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Fri, Apr 10, 2015, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

This episode is a slap in the face for reminding us about Voyager's two mysterious tricobalt weapons and then once again providing absolutely no explanation.
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Sun, Mar 29, 2015, 9:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

This episode made no sense because the simple solution would be that these people leave the planet they were supposedly stranded on and go back to their own society. They don't make so much as a mention of contacting their home planet, if only out of curiosity. Dax wanting to stay behind was ridiculous and isn't even worth further mention.

The only thing that saved this episode was the Kira/Quark storyline where he's trying to get Kira's holo image so Weyoun -1 can do her on the holodeck.
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

There were a few small things that could have been written in:

1) The crew would have anticipated Tuvix's will to live. He's trying to start a sexual relationship with Kes and everyone including Janeway (based on her log entry) is aware of it. This is clearly a sign of his plans to start a life.

2) No one, not Harry or the Doctor or anyone mentions even the possibility of using the transporter to somehow keep Tuvix around after they are separated. I understand that the answer would have to be "no", but it would have shown at least some concern on the part of the crew.

3) When Tuvix is begging for his life on the bridge, Paris should have at least spoken on his behalf. The way he just coldly sits back in his chair with a strange stare on his face seemed extremely out of character for him. Chakotay is ineffective and his reaction was not surprising, but Tom is a rebel and usually speaks up. This comes back to point #2, because Tom would have been perfect to propose the idea of somehow preserving Tuvix since his knowledge of the transporter isn't as proficient.

4) Tuvix needed a better escape plan. He is both chief of security and a former scam artist and couldn't come up with one of those classic beam - out plans? I expected him to say "Computer, initiate program Alpha-113" and suddenly materialize in the shuttle bay once they came for him. He is already aware that they're contemplating "killing" him. Watching him scamper up and down the bridge was just pathetic.

5) Janeway seemed to be too much in a rush to get it over with. It reminded me of Sim, Trip Tucker's clone on Enterprise. Except with Sim, they needed to pull out his brain tissue at a certain point of his limited lifespan, so Archer's attitude was understandable. Janeway comes off as overly impulsive and rash.

Set Bookmark
JohnnyB
Mon, Jun 23, 2014, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

I agree with the review, mostly. There are funny moments between Picard and his overly helpful crew. Vash and the Risan women are beautiful. Picard and Vash are great together.

The plot had some serious issues, all of which I think could be fixed by removing the Vorgons. Every scene with them made me cringe. And Star Trek in general uses time travel as a crutch way too often. It would have been easy to construct a similar treasure hunt story without involving creepy useless future people.

Finally, my favorite line is when the Risan hostess asks about the horg'an, and asks if he got it for 'someone you love,' and Picard says, 'I wouldn't go that far.' :)
Set Bookmark
johnny
Thu, Mar 27, 2014, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

@TH: I wonder if being bridge-qualified was simply REQUIRED for Troi to get the promotion? I agree that she was badly written here. However, she was NOT in charge of the bridge...the OOD was killed in the initial power surge.

Also, regarding Worf: he may have been the only one there with medical training.
Set Bookmark
johnny
Thu, Mar 27, 2014, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I thought Crosby was ok as Yar. I always saw the character as "damaged"...her brutal childhood left her a loner who is slow to trust and cannot forgive. She would have no friends of lesser rank, and very few, period.

Ironically, Sirtis originally read for that role (then named Marla Hernandez), and Crosby read for the role of Deanna Troi.
Set Bookmark
Johnny Archer
Sun, Sep 8, 2013, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I think the criteria the aliens would accept to initiate first contact their way would be if the subjects are smart enough to diagnose AND develop a cure for the disease AND use it successfully to cure the affected. Hefty requirements for first contact!
Set Bookmark
JohnnyW
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

@Nebula: Simply download this Chrome extension:

https://mediahint.com/install_chrome.html

(Also acailable for Firefox)

And you should be able to watch them on Hulu outside of the US!
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Wed, Nov 7, 2012, 3:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

"Successful telepathy apparently involves a really good Care Bear Stare." LOL!!! That's great!!
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Wed, May 30, 2012, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I agree with this review. I think it could have been an easy 2 episodes based around Scotty and the Dyson Sphere. I would have loved to see more of the mystery behind it.
Set Bookmark
Johnny
Sat, Feb 16, 2008, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I´ve always liked TMP thou it wasn't my favorite, until i became more wiser and mature you began to understand the beauty of this film. After i saw the DE it has become my favorite Trek film and in my opinion most accurate Trek film that depicts, Roddenberry vision of the future.
p.s. good review
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.