Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 690 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 28
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 3:07am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I was really intrigued by the first half. I loved the doctor cackling and warning about what's coming. It made me think they were teasing some serious baddie that's yet to come. Like there was some malevolent reality warping aliens they were getting close to. Almost reminded me of TNG teasing the Borg. I kept thinking "this better not be all in her head".

Basically was. Very let down with that ending. Good character work, but it bums me out that the cool ominous warning didn't really happen.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

jesus christ what a drama queen
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 9:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

"I think they should've setup in a previous episode that Alara WASN'T feeling totally secure in her position."

typo fix'd
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 9:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Solid episode, enjoyed it more much than last week's Blue Cosby story. Only two little quibbles are the Psycho-esque ending where they just sit around and explain the entire episode and I think they should've setup in a previous episode that Alara was feeling totally secure in her position.

They touched on this back in episode 2 but after that she seemed completely confident in every episode, especially last week's. Orville's an episodic show but the character beats do have some serialization, so it'd be nice to see them take advantage of it.

That aside though, again a strong episode and my favorite joke was Malloy, John and Bortus showing up for a Georgian era pistol duel.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

This was still a bit clunky for me. Most of the characters/actors/dialogue remain only so-so (with the exception of perhaps Lorca and Stamets) and I'm not overly optimistic about where all this is going. But still, let's join the positive vibe here - I agree that it's the best episode so far.

3/4.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 12:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

This is an interesting episode, largely because it fools us, and especially because at the end we find that Alara has asked to have her memory wiped.

This is especially interesting because before she chose to do that she did some things that could be worthy of insubordination.

And so then the question that fiction sometimes asks, should someone with no memory and maybe no inclination to commit a crime be responsible for a crime that they previously committed? Becomes extra tricky because this Alara is not only "innocent" in the sense that she has no memory of doing these things, yet she conspired to wipe her memory...

So while this is not a key question addressed in the program, it makes for an interesting quandary.

Does being in a state of "innocence" make you innocent? And if it does, does it matter how you got to that state? In a way it is like a baby conceived through rape, the new consciousness is innocent no matter the wrong doing involved in it's creation.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Yanks

I'm with ya, I am continually baffled by people who insist Star Trek has ever remotely had its fictional tech function in a remotely realistic manner.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@karatasiospa

Romulan ships have singularity drives in order to pump out enough power to cloak, this concept goes back way before Discovery

also the cloak has always been technobabble.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Jammer

They mentioned in the battle of episode 8 that they can detect they're in the area but not exact locations, it's a much more primitive cloak than later eras.

https://youtu.be/bVpGxtuqBaU?t=43
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Jammer it makes my heart happy that you're still passionate about the site. Your reviews are a highlight of my week. Always fun and informative to read. Reading your reviews has taught me, in a way, of how to be critical and what to look for in quality writing.

To answer your question about CBS All Access, it works fine for me now. I watch on my PS4 app. My PS4 is connected directly to my modem. I haven't experienced any stuttering or buffering for several weeks now.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Damnit! Stamets was just one spore jump away from retirement!
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Wolfstar

I was also very impressed with the direction in this episode, there were so many cool compositions! I hope they bring back Chris Byrne for another episode.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I choose to take Lorca at more face value than a lot of people, I love the twist that he really is interested in exploration and has been doing interdimensional research the entire war.

People see the worst in Lorca but he keeps coming through for people on a moral and emotional level. Lorca seems to me to be a good guy with rough edges, his goals are noble but his methods cross the line in some ways.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

@Skuckle Starling didn't invent anything. The mobile holo emitter was obviously 29th century tech. When he said Doc wasn't that sophisticated he meant in comparison to 29th century tech.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 3:02am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Such bad timing with the subject matter of this episode. Especially now with the George Takei allegations...
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Josh

The pheromones specifically make people have sex
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Josh

I'm failing to see how tricking two people into sleeping with each other via what is basically a drug is not a huge moral red flag.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Josh

they very clearly drugged the ambassadors
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Hugh

I dunno, they roofied the ambassadors into sleeping with each other
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 1:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

The review is taking a long time. I can just picture Jammer trying to get all of his thoughts organized for this episode. Not sure where his rating will fall but I look forward to reading his thoughts on it.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 11:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Well, he did use his powers to explicitly trick the ambassadors and it's pretty screwed up not to tell anyone that he's in heat. I find it hard to believe this would be the first time this has come up if he's a xeno-archaeologist.

I get that it's a comedy ep, but eh even ignoring all that I'm not a fan of the divorce plot in general.

I liked how weird Finn and Yaphit having sex was though and the cold open was funny. The plot was just pretty weak and Ed/Kelly's divorce remains a dull plot point.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 10:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

uh, was Rob Lowe's in heat stuff supposed to come off as sort of rapey?
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Trent

I can genuinely say I wasn't expecting this conversation to go in this direction.
Set Bookmark
Lobster Johnson
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@OmicronBetaDeltaPhi

I appreciate open questions but I'd ask you to consider a quote I've found very profound for all the Discovery and Orville discussions:

"Comparison is the thief of joy"

I personally really hate that it's become so hard to discuss either show without mentioning the other because I enjoy them both so much. It feels like a disservice to both shows.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 1:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

In After Trek, the actress who played Admiral Cornwell mentioned that there were deleted scenes from the episode of her character and L'Rell talking more and getting to understand each other more.

Why was this deleted??? You're outside the restraints of network programming and you cut the episode to be even shorter than it would be on network TV? Why? Let it be as long as it needs to be.

Also in the latest After Trek that same actress seemed like she stumbled over her words talking about her character not being dead. The host tried to save it. That caught my attention.
Next ►Page 1 of 28
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.