Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
JKBadenhoop
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I liked this episode, but t reminded me of the better episodes of "Sliders" which often used this sort of social satire on alterate dimension Earths. In fact one episode, "Dead Man Sliding", had a similar plot: "Quinn is mistakenly arrested, tried, convicted and sentenced to death in a Hollywood where TV viewers determine the sentence and executions are televised live."
Set Bookmark
djkazaz
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 5:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Like a lot of old trek fans I was a bit ambivalent when DSC started but overall I find myself pleasantly surprised.

But Star Trek hasn't been on TV in so long and the last time it was (enterprise) it was already really behind the times, that I feel its unfair to judge this show with only four episodes in. The producers are having to re-invent a lot of story elements to make the series both trek and successful by modern standards.

So far I feel they're getting it mostly right. The idealism is there, even in the face of terrible circumstances, the passion for discovery and exploration and the moral conflicts. On top of which we get updated visuals and designs (that I mostly like), modern direction and pacing and very good acting.
I honestly don't know what people who slam the acting are talking about and who they're comparing it to. I often found the acting in old trek shows to be very stilted.

True this episode was weak, I personally liked ep3 a lot and eps1-2 quite a bit, this one not so much. Gaping plot holes that other have pointed out, left much to be diesired. And I also find myself bored by the klingons because of the language/subtitles thing. I guess it does make them more truly alien, but at some point they need to let the actors speak english and move.

Overall though DSC still holds my interest and I'm looking forward to the next one.
Set Bookmark
sfghjkl
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Honestly this episode was pretty dumb, as everyone has pointed out it was filled with plot holes and the only thing worthwhile was garak and bashir sluething around. It had that shitty "Oh you're race is your culture" crap we always saw in the worf episodes in tng (Especially the one where he literally ruins a peaceful community because the kids there didn't reflect his own grade school bully recovering manchild personality. Oh thinking about fighting and killing all the time isn't genetic worf? How horrid!)

Also Grumpy_otter: The kids were clearly not persecuted or anything for their race and yeah, while the whole anti-cardassian thing maybe makes putting defenseless children with angry victims the boy understood the difference between the race he is and the culture of cardassians.Going on and saying that its wrong to teach the boy to hate cardassians is dumb considering its the bajorans, its kinda been shown the whole show that they will never forget what happened. The rest of the kids aren't exactly sitting around going "Well mom says the cardies are space nazi's but hey, hate begets hate haha."

I mean yeah, good people can be wrong but the whole thing was just thrown to the fast lane with such little notice and I'd think the episode would be a whole lot greater if they maybe did show the kid having actual doubts about being a cardassian amongst bajorans and that maybe, he didn't find the life with his current parents all that well. Maybe the father were dead yet the law forces the kid to move to cardassia. But we've literally seen sisko throw the kid to a parent he doesn't know, with a people he's disgusted by (and lets be honest, the cardassians from their pretty much deserve all the hate they get). I mean lets take the situation in reverse, sisko finds out that jake is an illegitimate son to a asshole clearly not fit to take care of them, the first thing sisko does after a quick court session after jake begs his dad to let him stay is to say with a smile "Well then kid, fuck off. Take the fast buss you don't wanna keep your dad waiting." because oh, his real dad is white, which means jake is half white and cant be with sisko and it pisses me off so much.

Also the twist with dukat wasn't even that clever.

4/10 had some good moments, couldn't save the aneurysm inducing ending.

Set Bookmark
Jk
Sun, Apr 10, 2016, 8:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

"Closing the episode is a fabulous tracking shot of Tuvok alone in his quarters holding a candle. It's poignant and visually impressive. The special effects enhance the meaning: just one person who will ponder the fate of his friend."

Amazing scene. I like to think that he placed the lamp against the porthole so that Kes could see its light, from wherever she was. He missed her.
Set Bookmark
Jk
Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

This was Janeway's missed opportunity to demote Chakotay the Faithless from Commander to LtCmdr and from XO to ship's counselor.

I have some affection for Chakotay but he is too emotional and inconstant for the number two spot.
Set Bookmark
Jk
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

Janeway's "abandon ship" speech to the crew at the end was one of the best dramatic performances in the Trek universe. And it kinda made me love her.
Set Bookmark
jk
Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I am a little saddened and baffled that, in the future, engineers and possibly researchers will abandon the practice of testing new inventions before using them. Of course I'm talking about Kim's solution. He and Tom Paris were testing the system in the holo suite, confirmed that it didn't work, conveniently skipped trying out Kim's fix, and went out to try it (of course, the materials of whatever they had assembled would degrade if they didn't go RIGHT NOW).

Then, Kim in the future spends 15 years studying a new solution, not testing it (at least it's understandable, since he might not have had a chance at a holo projector), not making obvious plan B (aborting the flight instead of making it work), and, especially, not thinking of the obvious plan A: just send the message at a reasonable time, like, for example, before the last minute.

I do hope that I missed something vital to make everything, well, make sense. But as of now, I find myself in the rather weird position of being in agreement with the review, and disagreeing with the rating by a significant margin.
Set Bookmark
jk
Sun, Feb 8, 2015, 3:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I do fully agree that this is a great episode that goes deeper than most. But I was really let down by the resolution. Neelix is so distressed, has come to the conclusion that his life is meaningless, and has made all the preparations to end it. I found it hard to believw that a simple talk with Chakotay could have made him change his mind, and the argument of the child and the monsters didn't really make his life sound so important. Not to mention, had Neelix talked to Chakotay about his vision, which would have made sense, we wouldn't have come to the dramatic confrontation at the end.

It was still a story pregnant with meaning, and I thought that the monster was an analogy with depression, especially at the end where the child asks Neelix wether he had been taken by a monster. Except that "come on, don't you see how important you are?" is definitely NOT something you should say to someone who is about to commit suicide.
Set Bookmark
jk
Thu, Jan 29, 2015, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

The authors cheated: wasn't there supposed to be a fight to the death? Not that Spock actually died in Amok Time. I guess the death thing was some kind of Vulcan scam, like what they say about turning blind.

Also I think someone shold mention how B'Elanna knew exactly that she didn't want the bad ugly Vulcan nobody, as opposed to how she couldn't resist awesome Tom Paris. The discrimination between the two made the consent issue much less relevant for me. She seemed to know what she wanted after all.
Set Bookmark
jk
Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 4:20am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I myself find it hard to believe, but I was actually brought into the franchise by this movie.

I never watched it back in 2009, I don't think I even knew it existed. But I saw it on tv a couple years ago, and it made me want to watch the original series. Of course I already had that idea on my mind, but still. And now I'm halfway through DS9.

The point is, while I never thought Star Trek (2009) was a great movie, it provided me decent entertainment the first time I viewed it. I wasn't expecting anything from it, and I got some light-hearted entertainment.

Watching it now I can't help cringing at, well, everything that has already been pointed out. But I can still enjoy it if I manage to turn my brain off for a while, like with most of modern movies, and see it for what it's offering and not what I want it to offer.

And also, let's admit it, having watched Into Darkness makes 2009 look all the better.
Set Bookmark
Galaktikhonjk
Mon, Nov 18, 2013, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I must agree to some points Eliot made earlier (Jan 2. 2011). I don't want to say that Cirroc Lofton never did a good performance at all, especially 'The Visitor' is still a masterpiece of Trek History to me. But since I usually fully agree to your reviews, Jammer, I really have to disagree in that one here.

The episode may have its moments (some funny lines between Nog and Jake, Weyoun - of course - and also, for a change, a more likeable Kai Winn), it didn't keep me constantly entertained - neither in the way of comedy nor character development or simply bringing forward the main storyline. It didn't really catch me on either the intellectual or simply entertaining level.

According to that, I really have to agree with Eliot that Jakes response (in referrence to Picard in First Contact) wasn't funny to me at all, since it simply undermines all Star Trek (and Roddenberry) stands (or stood) for: A vision of a better future AT LEAST IN RESPECT OF HUMANITY! This is important since I am totally fine with the DS9's conduct of opening the "love, peace and harmony" universe my beloved TNG left us over (I really love that series but I wouldn't have worked for another seven years).

I didn't really understand the mood that dominated the first scene. I know they all are aware that they might be on the brink to a war with the dominion, but all of them being that depressed? And where is Dax at this moment? Perhaps I'm getting that wrong, but somehow it looks like the writers didn't want her to be around since she would never act like that (and neither would the others do, at least not in that intensity).

I also agree with Eliot on the barely (fully) convincing deceptions Jake and Nog pull on the O'Brien and Co as well as the wasted opportunities with Quark at the auction and Siskos silly reaction hearing that his 18 year old son got drunk for one time (uh-uh!). Not to speak of the 'Dr. Strange' and his entertaining chamber. The latter wasn't a bad idea at all but took much too long to establish to be a striking comedic element to me (I might be an advocate of pointed comedy, though).

That been said, I would rate this episode with 3 Stars, acknowledging its humorous attempts as well as some good pieces of dialogue (Sisko - Weyoun, Weyoun - Kai Winn). Nothing more, nothing less.
_____________

Btw, my favorite line of this episode:

"No it's not. But before you twist that into a compliment let me be blunt: I don't like the dominion, I don't like what it stands for and I don't like you."
(Sisko after beeing warmly flattered by Weyoun about their oh so good relationship)
Set Bookmark
jkeisari
Thu, Aug 1, 2013, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I actually have always really liked this episode. Already when I first saw this, long before internet, or reading any bad reviews for this I ranked it among my favorites.

I was impressed with the unusual story for being so different and shocking, the acting (Kelley) and the memorable alien woman and her planet, the little we get to see of it. And beside Scotty collapse scene LOL, this episode did not make me laugh as I generally only watch SciFi show for the entertainment and the story, not to debate is it technically possible to do this or that with the brain.. or the tricorder or the warp engine.

I also found many Voyager episodes exciting due to the risk factor i.e that they were willing to risk it and try things like "Twisted", "Tuvix" or "Threshold". While by no easy means realistic or believable these shows do offer something others don't!

I have seen Spock's Brain well over 50 times over the decades and it was very good episode from the start. When the first VHS releases came out it was among my most re-watched eps. It should be watched disregarding all the "is this possible" speculation and leave it at that.

Spock's Brain: 4 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
jkeisari
Wed, Jul 31, 2013, 11:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

2 out of 4
and if it would have been a 2-hour show with no canon mistakes, a real chance of 4 of 4!!
Set Bookmark
jkeisari
Wed, Jul 31, 2013, 11:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

They should have made this a 2-parter as it just was too short ending to cure it all in 5 minutes!

Abandoning their offspring, not using the technology / giving it more study again later to help getting home, the "infinite" velocity and warp 10 canon issues clearly more or less destroyed the story, but I was impressed with the acting and I generally only watch SciFi show for the entertainment and the story, not to debate is it technically possible to do this or that.

I found many Voyager episodes exciting due to the risk factor i.e that they were willing to risk it and try things like "Twisted", "Tuvix" or "Threshold". While by no easy means realistic or believable these shows do offer something others don't!
Set Bookmark
jkeisari
Mon, May 27, 2013, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

This episode was quite horrible to watch, yes, but the idea about sexual harassment and women's rights was not that bad: As Quark learns what it is to be a woman, he thinks twice before asking for sexual-related services from his employees again.
Set Bookmark
jkeisari
Mon, May 27, 2013, 1:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

What about the time portal? It is stated in the beginning that it is unstable, yet in the end it seems to work in and out very fluently with the little Molly there unaged, unharmed. O'Brien sees it his right to destroy it with maximum-setting phaser? Just for the benefit of his family, as he originally plans. Ancient and valuable site of incredible technology - a stable time portal.
Doesn't the portal deserve some study - or preservation at least?

And if your kid is 8, has lived all her life in the comfort of her parents and then 10 years passes in solitude, while traumatic definitely yes, you don't forget all the talking and the faces of your parents. If it would have been Yoshi who goes through the portal and returns at 18, it would have made sense.

Interesting idea, but very badly written. Among the worst of episodes.
Set Bookmark
JK
Sun, Jun 1, 2008, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Outstanding episode!!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.