Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 29 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Kahn Ongion Zing
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

There was a moment where the music was very evocative of 'The Cloud' from the TMP soundtrack. That had to be intentional. I thought it was a cool nod anyways.

On a sidenote, that's still my favorite piece of Star Trek music ever.
Set Bookmark
gion
Tue, Apr 6, 2010, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I didn't like the style of the final run of episodes. The intention was to dazzle the audience with major fireworks, and it succeed (the first time at least), but at the expense of spontaneity and thoughtfulness.
And in the end what was the point of bringing in the Breen? The Cardassian had ample reason to turn against the Dominion regardless and nobody was going to be fooled on what the outcome of the war ultimately would be. All it did was to add yet another thread to an already cramped story, leaving less time to develop the rest more deeply.
I have to think of the series Band of Brothers here, in which the major action had already finished a few episodes before the end and the last 2-3 episodes contained a lot of reflection and contemplation. Perhaps it would have been better if the Breen would have been left out of it so that the invasion of Cardassia and convincing the Founder could have been played out over several episodes. Maybe less exciting, but again, nobody was going to get fooled on how it was going to end.

The Dukat/Winn substory surely also could have been handled more subtly.
Set Bookmark
gion
Tue, Apr 6, 2010, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I thought much of the episode was contrived, melodramatic and pompous. The clear desire of the writers to end with a big bang didn't do it any good.
Set Bookmark
gion
Sat, Apr 3, 2010, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Maybe my favourite moment of the episode perhaps was Quark's insight. He's done it before, think of his root beer anology for the Federation, and he always nails it. He's at his best when provides a sober, maybe even cynical, perspective. In a way he exemplifies the difference between DS9 and Star Trek series.
Set Bookmark
gion
Tue, Mar 30, 2010, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I don't really like this episode. It's one of those that just tries to digest too much, handling major changes in not just one story arc but several.
The invasion of Cardassia exemplifies this: the planning and preparation feels as if it's done in a matter of days, like spontaneously deciding on a friday you're going on a camping trip over the weekend.
Apparently the defensive grid of just a single system is important enough to make the participation of the Romulans hinge on it, as if your buddy won't join you on your trip if it's going to rain. They decide to embark on the invasion without knowing for certain whether the defensive grid will be active, as if they couldn't be bothered to check the weather reports. And when they arrive, they find out on the spot how it functions and how it can be disabled. Like buying an umbrella in the first shop that has one when it turns out it's raining after all. It's a silly way to present a major military campaign.

The acting was alright, but this episode really should have cut one of the substories and presented the others in a proper fashion.
Set Bookmark
gion
Tue, Mar 30, 2010, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

It's an impressive battle sequence, but it's annoying how hard it is to destroy a starship when it's convenient. So in a previous episode a Klingon Bird of Prey destroys a Jem'Hadar fighter with a few disruptor shots, but the Valiant can take hit after hit from a huge Jem'Hadar battleship until it's finally destroyed. Yet Jem'Hadar can put up quite a fight against a Defiant-class ship. What's that supposed to tell us about the relative strength of Klingon and Federation ships?
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Mar 25, 2010, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Unlike anything before on Star Trek this episode gives a feel that the Federation is fighting for naked survival. Not even any of the Borg crises managed to carry that feel so well. At that point lofty principle or preserving life become pieces of embellishment and we fall back into a raw "us or them" mentality.
In a way "In the Pale Moonlight" is a logical consequence of "Statistical Probabilities" in which Bashir and his patients determined that in order to save many billions of lives, the Federation ought to surrender to the Dominion. It was the rational thing to do, yet it was rejected by all, likely including most viewers as well. Under no circumstances could it be accepted that the other side wins. By rejecting the sanctity of life means were already put before ends.
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Mar 25, 2010, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Well, I guess I'm not too much of a fan of Rodenberry's vision, since it's exactly elements like Section 31 that makes DS9 by far my favourite Star Trek series. And let's not forget that even with a more cynical view, the Federation is still a very benign force as it relies on consent rather than coercion. DS9 is just willing to expose some of the rougher edges the Federation and humans (still) have and to be critical of the Federation's moralistic tendencies.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, Mar 24, 2010, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

The episode certainly deserves at least 3 stars. I guess it all hinges on whether you find their relationship compelling. I've always found that it is so the episode moved me.

The idea that a married couple would be sent together on such an important mission is hard to believe however. It makes Sisko appear very naive that he only realises afterwards it's a bad idea.
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Mar 18, 2010, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

It's scary and even sort of sad that Dukat can be such a likeable person. It's very hard to say no to a man who's obviously making a great effort to get you to like him and Kira perfectly conveys that feeling.

The combat sequence seemed a little silly. A single bird of prey can take out 3 Jem'Hadar ships? That's making a mockery of the Dominion's supposed technological superiority, unless they're really that terrible in combat tactics.
Set Bookmark
gion
Fri, Mar 12, 2010, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

There are a lot of sublime scenes here. The starting scene alone is wonderful. Even though it doesn't have any bearing on the rest of the episode it adds a bit of character building for the rest of the series. Another such scenes is the one between Dax and Worf before he leaves for the Gamma quadrant. For the first time we really sense they have relationship and that it's a peculiar one. A lot of Garak at his finest, but also some Worf with excellent dry humor.
Just one small plot hole: why didn't the changeling infiltrator warn the Dominion Tain was sending messages from his prison? It hardly could have been outside his reach of you consider the other acts he did.
However, other than that the story is tight and perfectly paced. One of DS9's better episodes.
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Mar 11, 2010, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Oh and this: Major Kira. Does. Not. Belong. On. That. Ship. Why would a Bajoran Militia Major have any business with tracking down a Starfleet traitor?
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Mar 11, 2010, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

The acting, the scenes, the action, the tension... all good, but the inconsistenties are indeed the size of Jupiter. Even with the darker tone of DS9 (which I like), it's just inconceivable that Sisko would use WMD on a planet and not feel the consequences. Amongst others, the idea that Worf would only demur, just to push the button anyway is very hard to believe. And maybe the episode could at least have done without the premise that Sisko was tasked with hunting down Eddington.
As a final note, the CGI was really nice in here. Not just technically, but also aesthetically. Especially the view of Malinche dead in space.
Set Bookmark
gion
Mon, Feb 22, 2010, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

Maybe it's all prelude, but it's very good prelude. Garak is at the top of his game here and every scene with him and Odo s a lust to behold. I can watch their scenes over and over again.
Set Bookmark
gion
Thu, Feb 18, 2010, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

Even though the fact the fighting scenes were censored could be a fair excuses, the episode maybe should have cut those out altogether. It may have been refreshing (I don't think I've ever seen a ground combat in Star Trek that was interesting) and would have allowed to put proper focus on the part that was interesting. Show some more insights into the Dominion and some more development on how Federation officers and Jem'Hadar contrast and interact.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, Feb 17, 2010, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

It's one of the better Ferengi episodes. Linking the time accident with the Roswell incident was particularly nice touch. It somehow made the Ferengi feel more substantive to me.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, Feb 17, 2010, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Perhaps Yates' and Eddington's motives could have been explained better, but I think the story's main weakness is that the Maquis would so easily give up a compatriot, or at least a useful, sympathizing traficker, for the sake of tactical expediency. The writers should have brought up some sort of justification because the action is really more in tune with that of cynical bandits rather than zealous freedom fighter.

Eddington's claim the Federation dislikes the Maquis because they had left the Federation (on their own accord) also seems off mark. It may apply to himself, but not to the settlers. The Federation left them, not the other way around. That's exactly supposed to be the whole reason why we've seen Starfleet officers sympathize with the Maquis and join them.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, Feb 17, 2010, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

Yes, they were, but then they had the justification that Winn stabbed them in the back by trying to arrest Shakaar.
I though it was weird that Sisko informed Kira over the first minister's dead. She's supposed the be the liaison officer after all, and surely she ought to be contacted by her own government and she would have to be the one to the relay the message to the DS9's CO.
Set Bookmark
gion
Tue, Feb 16, 2010, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Indeed, Kira probably shouldn't even *be* on the Defiant, except as a passenger, nor should she have an authorisation code as seen in "Defiant". DSN sometimes tends to "forget" the distinction between Bojaron Militia and Starfleet for the sake of the story.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, May 20, 2009, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Even though I detest how the borg were declawed in this series, I enjoyed the Borg Queen's look on her face when Voyager easily dealt with several cubes. Of all the 'Borg are scared' moment, this is one was by far the best. No ingenuous tricks, just a simple face to face fight and the Borg lost hands down. Pretty shallow but it worked.

And yeah, I was also disappointing the homecoming was this terse. I don't need half an hour of people hugging with loved ones, but acknowledgment of the amazing experiences Voyager has had would have been nice. Witness Seven step foot on Earth, find out how Starfleet would receive the former Maquis... I guess those things will have to be resolved in my imagination.
Set Bookmark
gion
Mon, May 18, 2009, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Had a hard time taking the whole things seriously after witnessing the spectacle of holograms lying on a sickbed, the doctor asking whether they could move their limbs. This is comedy-material, not sci-fi drama.

Still, the story was otherwise thight, the drama was good and the battle sequences were very nice. It's just as shame the writers neglect the little things that would make it more believable.
Set Bookmark
gion
Sun, May 17, 2009, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

I can live with the idea of doing new things with the borg, otherwise they're going to get pretty boring after a while (being the same one-dimensional "you'll be assimilated" over and over again). The trouble is that Voyager turned the borg into a horribly confused mess.
Set Bookmark
gion
Sat, May 16, 2009, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

This is another of those shows that leaves me bewildered why the Doctor's program files can't be copied. The whole risk of transferring the data across the galaxy should be a non-issue.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, May 6, 2009, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Very enjoyable story. I quite like Naomi Wildman and it's not often I appreciate a child character (hated Jake Sisko and Wesley Cresher with a passion).

Regarding the observation whether a crew of +100 plus is really necessary: it seems to me there isn't any need for a crew at all. The AI obviously exists to commandeer a ship since the Doctor has illustrated on numerous occassions that he's able to be adaptive, think creatively and makes decisions on his own. Naturally, Star Trek wouldn't be as interesting if starships would be run by computers.
Set Bookmark
gion
Wed, May 6, 2009, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Excellent episode that was unfortunately detracted by Janeway's silly attempt at self-sacrifice. It's a shame they didn't stretch Voyager's tour through the Void across several episodes.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.