Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 39 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Apr 3, 2013, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Just re-rewatched this episode -- hadn't noticed before the number of scenes with Riker and Picard walking, moving in sync, shoulder to shoulder, mimicking the Bynars. Well done. Even sitting at the computer station, they turn toward the Bynars at the same time. Nice direction, and it adds to the theme. Humans, too, work better in teams.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Mar 12, 2013, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Worst. Episode. Ever.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Feb 24, 2013, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I disagree with the rating. I like the various plot lines that come together at the end. No big philosophical statements, but better than long, drawn out one strand plots. I was surprised at Nguyen's ability to pull off this part, one note that it is.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Oct 11, 2012, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Agreed. Worth the clumsy fighting and lame romantic music for the poignant last words of Spock.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Oct 9, 2012, 8:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

The fight scene was well executed? Not even by 60's standards. Mrs. Prickley's doubles got full-on face shots--very amateurish.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Sep 4, 2012, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I may have been the only person bored by this episode. The editing was slow and the acting tepid for a mirror universe. Bakula came close, but everyone else was too mild. And as I come close to the end of this series, and possibly the franchise, I am disappointed to have this interruption to the arc. I did like seeing the TOS set and uniforms.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sat, Aug 25, 2012, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

While some might question the lack of advancement for this group, you have to wonder how far our own west would have advanced with no influence from the east, who brought in the European ideas along with a constant influx of new people. No universities, no education beyond eighth grade. And, may I say, there weren't nearly enough women. It was women who were the civilizing influence on those wild western towns!
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Aug 23, 2012, 3:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I've been trying to get the rest of my family to watch the ST series with me, touting the ideals, acting, action, and technical effects. Then an episode like this comes along. I'm embarrassed to be watching it, for me and for the actors.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Aug 23, 2012, 10:09am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

I liked the new, fiercer Archer. This reminded me of the DS9 episode where Sisko had to make a similar, ethics-bending decision. He, too, said he could live with it. I think leaders frequently have to do this. Mr. Rogers would never make a good president or starship captain.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Aug 21, 2012, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

One of the fun things about rewatching a series is being able to stop and research some of the guest actors, most of whom are not household names, but who are able to lift an otherwise static scene, and to do so from under layers of makeup. Henry Stram did that lying on his back. I'll probably never get to see him onstage, but I enjoyed his brief performance here. And to think he's the son of the great coach!
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Aug 19, 2012, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

Let me get this straight: Good music, good direction, good action, good special effects, good dialogue equals two stars? All because you weren't, what? The lack of movement on the story or character arc maybe takes one star, but that equals three for me. The chatty guy was a cute addition. My only complaint is Travis ... Can't a brother get a line or two?
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I agree, Captain. Any episode where the main characters don't end up devolving into amphibians deserves at least a star or two.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Aug 15, 2012, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

So so. I think when the writers pull complete story lines from other sources, they ought to at least allow a character to say, "Hey, I watched this movie once where they moved a whole town ...." I mean, it's not a very esoteric allusion, so why not acknowledge it? Also, please use Travis! He is too much of a hunk to waste!
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Fri, Aug 10, 2012, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Episodes like this are best watched while you're doing something else. I reconciled a bank statement. They are interesting only in watching how well the actors rise above their latex.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Aug 9, 2012, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

I agree with the Captain -- the story here is not the politics of the planet, but the growing closeness between the captain and his first officer. Her "instinct" to protect him by saying he was a cook was a good example. The tied up scene was just tossed in for us ladies, who had a secret wish to see the two get together, but watching it years later I understand that it was more just getting to know each other, having each other's back. Later when Archer defends her helps cement the respect they have for each other. Sure, there's not as much technobabble for the hardcore nerds, but the character arcs are right on target.
And how could you be disappointed in Shram / Combs? He's totally adorable. I didn't pay as much attention to actors back when this first aired, but I knew I loved this character. Now that I've seen all the second gen treks, I appreciate him in every guise.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Aug 7, 2012, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I watched the series when it was new and am going through again. I am actually impressed with how on the mark these are, or should I say on the arc. Writers are definitely preparing us for events and relationships down the road, much more than was done for Voyager. Oh, and I would be quite flattered if someone went to this much trouble to find out my favorite food.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Aug 7, 2012, 8:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Just because they didn't end with a trite discussion on ethics doesn't mean they didn't learn something. These are the experiences on which the prime directive was later verbalized.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

I used to consistently defend Voyager episodes, but this one was hard to take. I want endings, resolutions, not recycled faux native cultures. I groaned every time I heard the wood flute, knowing they were once again reducing Chakotay to a cliche. Prime deflective.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sat, Jul 14, 2012, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

@Elliott, et al.: Once again I feel I must come to the defense of Garrett Wang. I love his performance here. I especially like the scene when he compares his disease to Janeway's loss -- he's forceful and mature -- I really think her response should have been more pronounced. I wonder whether we're watching the same episode. Maybe he's not chewing the scenery a la Picard and Sisko, but don't put him into the same category as Troi, who seemed to avoid any facial expressions at all for fear she might wrinkle. I do agree that the writing is weak, and that Charles Rocket just phoned his part in, but basing the episode on Harry was not the problem.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Fri, Jul 13, 2012, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

It's been several weeks since I watched this episode, but I keep going back to it and agree with Josh G. that Jammer's rating does not seem enough. The discussion about poverty, Seven's growth, and the amazing love scene put it at least 3 stars, if not 3 1/2. Required watching, IMO.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Fri, Jul 13, 2012, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Reading over the comments, it seems all the complaints with this episode (except the idiotic pleas for more boning and the uninformed dissatisfaction with Petty -- seriously, guys, this is Tank Girl!) could have been remedied by making this a two-parter. The extra time could be spent by having B'Elanna react to the fact that Tom is having to suffer for a longer period of time, to the worry that they might have given up on Voyager, and to demonstrating that the language problem was more of an issue than they have time for in this condensed episode. It would also give more time with Petty, whose mercurial style needs more space to breathe in. Here, she just seems inconsistent, due to the heavy-handed editing. And yes, I would like to see some of the things Tuvok had to do to overcome his emotions. It would also make Tom look like less of a jerk, because more time had gone by. The difference in time between the two scenes just doesn't come off in one episode.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Jul 11, 2012, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I love Drunk Seven!
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Jul 4, 2012, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I don't know that I'd give these episodes any more stars, but I would like to agree with those who see the episode as fun. I also think it's very Trekkian, with its portrayal of the good guys as cleverly subversive, always the rebels. Americans have always pictured themselves as underdogs, fighting for freedom. We're at our best when we're captured, behind the 8 ball. Hence Hogan's Heroes, Star Wars, and characters like Han Solo, John McClane. Hell, Harrison Ford and Bruce Willis wouldn't have careers without that character. Science fiction is not about science; it's about people, society, politics, philosophy, religion, just hidden in an unfamiliar but safe world of the future.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Jul 3, 2012, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I would like to defend Garrett Wang's portrayal of Kim -- he has definitely changed from the bright-eyed, over-eager pup to a child who has been abused. He's seen too much, and though he's had the experiences, he's not yet jaded. Hence, I think it's understandable that he wants his parents. Go back and watch him in the first season and compare him to now. You can see it in his eyes.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jul 1, 2012, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Yes, the two weaknesses were showing the murders first and the doc's lack of reaction. We didn't need the preview -- one look at Orsen told us the story. And we missed some nice character development not knowing more about the doctor's reaction other than his decision to lighten up. But there were so many other gems I'm surprised you didn't give it the full three stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.