Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 388 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 12:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Nievesg "IAMD" is In A Mirror Darkly, the Mirrorverse two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Hank: Oh right. Discovery can win diversity AND animal rights awards now. This show is so God Tier, omg.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 12:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The one scene that sums up the JJ Trek movies for me: Kirk, after the saucer crash in the third film, goes back to the crash site to retrieve something from the ship with, Chekov I believe? And he's shooting his phaser into the ship at baddies then makes some dopey, cartoony comment about not knowing what he just accidentally shot, which triggers absolute mayhem. Lol. Caption of a starship doesn't know what he's shooting at within his own vessel?

The same level of idiotic storytelling is present in Discovery when it tells you to feel emotion over a decision (that Starfleet and a revered ambassador sanctioned??) to blow up the entire Klingon home world, while only one person is able to talk everyone down from it all. Sigh.

There are plenty of dumb story ideas and episodes in past iterations. No doubt. But after 50 years, there's plenty of great material to help guide new show ideas, too. Bringing back Star Trek without the weight of thought-provoking storytelling is such a miss, IMO.

And this is what I'm saying-- where are the IDEAS? Enough of the inane plot lines. I wrote this kind of shit when I was in grade school, pretending to write Star Trek scripts. Where are the well-thought-out, intellectually-challenging IDEAS that give life to compelling plot lines, characters, drama and discussion?

Man, post-modernism sucks.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Hey, question-- what do you think Nick Meyer's ultimate role was at the start of/during this season? Do you think his input even made a dent?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Very interesting to watch how the franchise owners/marketing agency tackles online feedback--it's obvious that they'd do this, but the main handles are constantly ReTweet the gushing and fan fawning, in addition to the excitement from actors/producers--and boy does that not make one feel as if this show accomplished something noble? What, just being on the air is an achievement worth celebrating? I guess so. Who am I/who are we to be judgmental pricks and rain on the parade.

But, this diverse cast and glitzy presentation aren't enough to assuage the fact that the writing, the point of the show, is objectively devoid of intellectualism. Klingons are the "Make America Great" crowd, but did we learn ANYTHING at all about their wishes and dreams, their struggles or their viewpoints that is worth a damn? We really needed Michael, Saru and the bridge crew to stand up and say NO to genocide?? Or that a Mirror Universe barbarian shows us how horrible humans can be to one another (and even that was half-assed). Come on, where are the worthwhile IDEAS?

And I suppose this is where (my) internet outrage comes from-- seeing a hyperbolic "omg this is the best ST series EVER" tweet then RTed by the same writers who came up with these gimmicky, totally nonsensical plot points... I'm not saying I got hired by Hollywood to produce TV and I know best, ok? But, come on, there have been 50 years' worth of Star Trek and there was a lot of outstanding material there to aspire to, to borrow from beyond just elements for fan service. This show missed the mark on what I think a good number of folks out there wanted to see from a new Trek TV show: a discussion of IDEAS.

Am I just too old to be able to ask for the action AND the allegory? :(
Set Bookmark
Chris
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 3:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Tim, that may be true but let's not forget about the myriad of other character-centric stories DS9 DID offer up. The Siege of AR 558, It's Only a Paper Moon, In the Pale Moonlight, Rocks and Shoals... even Homefront/Paradise Lost have some strong allegorical elements. I think the Section 31 arc is another good example of exploring war time, not just telling about it. Sure, sounds like DS9 towards the end of the show had throw-in lines that extend the scope of the war without much dedication, much in the way the Discovery exposition has been offered up, but there are so many more instances where DS9's writing far surpasses the characterization and allegorical storytelling regarding war and its effects than Discovery's.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 8:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

The CONSTANT cutting to reaction shots of the bridge crew is so annoying, haha. But, this episode actually felt like a Star Trek episode. Lots of character analysis, for once.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I didn't mean radio, but that counts too!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Fox local television, home of Married With Children, The Simpsons and Family Guy itself, has a much broader audience than cable's Fox News radio.
Set Bookmark
chris
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Eye of Jupiter

“This is Gaius Baltar” and “it feels like I am back in home”.

“We come in peace” and “we are throwing in Baltar” by Brother Calvin,

some of the coolest and most hilarious lines of this season.

As for the cliffhanger, indeed nobody believes Adama will nuke the planet next episode. As nobody buys the Pegasus cliffhanger or the “Mr Worf, fire” line. But still I think they are all well acted and add a lot in the series feel.

...
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Am I missing something here? All this talk about whether or not they would have left part of Cardassian OS running but surely, if they did, as part of the treaty there would be some sort of long term support agreement with the Cardassians to help if any bugs cropped up? Why the hell did they not simply contact the Federation and/or Cardassian command about this issue as soon as it arose and get someone to given them the override codes they needed?

I couldn't find any indication during the episode that the security protocols had cut-off external contact. If they had, it would of helped maintain my suspension of disbelief. As it was, it seems like they made a mountain out of a mole hill on this one.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

There is one HUGE plot hole here that I haven't seen mentioned, making this one of the silliest episodes, regardless of the decent drama. The defiant was supposed to have gone back 200 years to that planet to create the colony. BUT, this defiant, does not, it is purportedly in the present time. Meaning, it could not have created the colony even if it stayed, the colony had already been created and existing for 200 years at the point at which this episode's events are taking place. It means NONE of this episode makes sense! How the crew, and inhabitants of the planet, and the watching audience, don't see that, amazes me.
Set Bookmark
Chris Papadopoulos
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 7:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think 2.5 stars is generous. This is a very poor episode that treats the viewers as idiots. Fancy production value can only get this series so far.
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Bastille Day

Janeway would have just beamed the ice in Voyager's tank, job's done, lol. :P

I dont get it, there are thousands of people onboard the ships, why only the prisoners should risk their lives to extract the water? And what if a prisoner is old or unable to labour, won't he get "freedom points"?

The elections idea was neat on the other hand, so we can have a political drama aswell!
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I can explain. It sucks because... well, it DOES and I am sure it will be cancelled next year while DIS will get a second season!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

@Dexter Morgan JJ Abrams is considered "The Next Spielberg" and Donald Trump is president. Standards are looooooooow.
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 6:51am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Please allow me a lame question. At some point Adama says "Jesus"... was there a Jesus in Caprica world aswell?
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Amen, @Startrekwatcher. You said it all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

War drums right out of the gate, huh? Broken Bow was better, and I could feel Akiva Goldsman's influence throughout this thing.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Thanks for the heads up, Alexandrea. I've been gauging reaction to see if this is worth following, but I'm glad to not have bothered past the first episode.
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

1. - Wisq and Andy's Friend are a credit to what human wisdom can look like and should be examples to aspire toward for most of the rest of the commentators on this site. It's been very sad for me to see so many people show so little imagination or recognition of what they're seeing and instead choosing to just draw comparisons to previous episodes, tell us how they feel, or, worst of all, insert their 20XX political views into their perception of what they saw in the episode. Some of all of that seems okay, but it makes up such a great portion of what gets typed in these episode followups that it leaves me feeling that the entire point of Star Trek and science fiction remains beyond the viewers, who seem instead to want to subject matter to cater to their personal ethics.

To have the occasional folks use their minds to delve deeply into the philosophy of Star Trek and to imagine the future uncolored by the present is great fun. I recommend reading the posts by Andy's Friend in the comment thread for Season 2: Cogenitor.


2. - You can use the keypad to break out of quarantine?

3. - Either nobody had ever left a buoy until the humans or the Organians were preventing it. Either way, the Star Trek Universe is just as - if not more - tumultuous and brutal as the Warhammer 40k one.

4. - There's no way for the doctor to do surgery while in a bio-hazard suit? We can do that in 2017...
Set Bookmark
chris
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

As of today's viewing of "End game", it completes my watching of everything that is Canon all shows. 62 years old and still trekking!
Set Bookmark
Chrissy
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I disagree about the anecdote that Tom and Harry shared in the opening. It was another bit of childishness by Tom in particular, those pranks are only funny to elementary school students. I was happy when Janeway brought it back to a mature conversation.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

Good catch Trek Fan. I like to think that Spock removed only Kirk's love for Rayna, not the entire experience of meeting Flint. Maybe since she was an android and he may have felt embarrassed at not having detected her non-humanity, Spock though it prudent to remove his unrequited love so he wouldn't angst over it needlessly.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

"I SAID DIG!" *POW!*

I don't know why I love this so much! I keep rewinding - best moment of the entire episode! 😅
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.