Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 81 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Interesting someone mentioned Dr Who:

Contrast-Classic Dr Who with New Who: classic has slower direction,plastic sets but superior drama-with old vs new trek:
Same slower direction and plastic sets on TOS ( although they spent more on their show than the BBC did on theirs) but in terms of quality...
Discovery simply goes from strength to strength-it easily holds its own with the best of the previous shows in its and is superior to some of its predecessor shows,particularly ...ok-I won't .

Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

Super episode-great link to Sins of the Father and good introduction to Gowron.
I agree that Suzie Plaxton played her character brilliantly and a shame they bumped her off.

This was a brilliant Worf episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 6:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

The perils of the internet age include the probability that every plot development has already been anticipated and detailed long before any on screen revelation occurs.

Lorca being from the MU was considered almost before his first on screen appearance but it was nicely handled.

This continues to be an enjoyable show and ,naturally, we are all now awaiting the return of the PU Lorca ( presuming that MU Lorca cannot have killed him because if his MU self died so would he?)


Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I remembered this episode as one I had enjoyed when I first saw it.
Having an episode that focuses on one of the more secondary characters in the show was nice -I would have to confess I am not a great fan of McFadden's portrayal but here she was convincing as her universe descends into nightmare.

I am not sure that bringing back The Traveller was such a good idea -although 'Where No One Has Gone Before' is one of the very few good points in Season One the TOS novel it is adapted from-The Wounded Sky-is vastly superior so having him pop back up dispensing metanonsensical physics is a bit of a trial to say the least.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 4:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

Forgive an old lawyer but actually Jean Luc -stabbing someone in the chest with a dagger constitutes a crime in my book while advocating for one party in a custody dispute is probably ,at its worst, unwise but not any sort of crime ( unless things have radically changed in a few centuries).

I think the problem with this episode is that they missed the story-it ought to have been another court room drama but then again no one would have been invested in the guest characters so it would have been a huge bore-wait a minute it was a huge pointless bore anyway.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

Brent Spiner had an awful lot to do in this episode and I would like to say his performance was superb.
I prefer his portrayal of Soong's 22nd century ancestor in Series 4 of Enterprise to the 'professor Littleoldman' impersonation here.

I agree with Startrekguy's observations-after this mutinous farrago Starfleet ought to conclude that Data is too easily subborned and far too dangerous for active service.

The Data Lore switcheroo was infuriating and how come Soong didn't spot the difference when he opened up the android's head-he would have seen the serial number 001 next to the Intel badge surely.

Two episodes ago Dr Crusher manages to wholly reverse Picard's cyborgisation ( probably not a word) in a few days-a total medical science miracle but two weeks later she can't remove a few parasites accidentally ingested by a child-that is a ridiculous inconsistency.
Also leaving dangerous fauna near a playground should result in a prosecution for corporate negligence and while we are at it if Riker is supposed to be looking after these kids he can be charged as well.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Jan 4, 2018, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Gosh-lukewarm praise from Jammer for this episode which must be one of the best episodes of TNG.

The good:

The entirety of Picard's visit with his older brother's family.
One of the main reasons this works is the use of Jeremy Kemp against whom Stewart is superb.
The climax of the mud fight may seem simplistic to our informed eyes-today's audience would say -'Jean Luc -you have years of therapy ahead of you to address your PTSD and you can forget about returning to duty ' but back in 1990 I think it would have worked.

Worf's visit with his parents-homely yes but enjoyable

Not so good

The late Jack Crusher's inane and schmalzy holomessage .BTW what happened to the undersweater for his tunic?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

The tightness of the direction in this second part assist in glossing over the plot holes but the wrap up doesn't bear close inspection.
Patrick Stewart carries it off very well and his 'Almost Human' comment nicely indicates the deep psychological scars that are explored further in the next episode ( and in First Contact).

The trouble is that the Borg would likely sweep up the federation without breaking a sweat so having them so easily defeated just does not seem convincing no matter how much technobabble is chucked at the problem.

Still-it gets the job done.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 4:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

At last -after almost three seasons of almost nothing to write home about (with exceptions eg Sins of the Father) we have this , I think, faultless episode.
The direction is taught and the tension relentless.
I entirely agree with Jammer on this episode .
I really feel this is a transcendent instalment.

It is a shame that the Borg subsequently had their teeth pulled too easily really but Best of Both Worlds part 1 is the zenith of TNG.

So : that is season 3.
My verdict on the season:
95% mediocre, forgettable ,flawed missable tedium and 5% great.
Those ratios are about to improve though.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

I am pretty sure I had given up on TNG when this was on the first time around as I could not remember it at all.
This was a tedious collection of overused Trek themes as has been remarked upon already.
God knows what the heck Geordi's new mojo has to do with anything at all and no , please,please Mr yawn fest-in-a-hilarious-full body condom-don't transform into a glowing superbeing.
Yep-series 3-hmm-at least the Borg are coming to kick the Federation's arse next week.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

So I really did not want to find anything to like in this episode but it seems to me to be important for a couple of reasons:

1. This seems to be a step in the right direction for the Ferengi-they are a bit more nuanced here and it is the first we see of their salvation as something other than irritating Space Goblins which is eventually realised in Quark.

2. I think the Wesley sub plot is relatively successful although ,of course, Data should have spotted the signal.I liked his promotion scene.

Against that:

1. Lwaxana Troi -relentlessly tiresome.
2. Daft 'comedy' wrap up-not funny.

I guess I can't complain at Picard's ham acting-Stewart is acting Picard acting Shakespeare so of course it seems Hammy.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 29, 2017, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

This was a good episode with its frank exploration of the debilitating betrayal of the self that is Altzheimer's disease.
Patrick Stewart's emoting scene recalls Leonard Nimoy's emotional breakdown in TOS episode The Naked Time -I think it is almost identical.

Mark Lenard lends TNG some class and gravitas and I loved Geordi and Wesley's fight about who was the most useless Lothario.
Great that Wesley reminded us of Geordi's creepy holo love affair.



Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

When I saw the name of this episode appear as I booted up Netflix I thought-oh no-I remembered this one with appropriate dread.
I hated it at the time and with good reason,
it is another implausible hour of silliness.
Come on guys-Saul Rubinek's pantomime villain would barely hack it for a 1980's remake Twilight Zone episode.
The deranged giggling and mincing about in that idiotic costume do not aid the suspension of disbelief.
I agree with Jammer on one point-there is no plot.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Barclay is a great character.
Although written as just painfully shy I wonder whether Dwight Shulz was trying to suggest someone on the low end of the autistic spectrum.
Anyway his awkward interactions in the early scenes permit us to see what an utter thug and bully Riker is-grabbing his arm in the cargo bay and threatening him.
In the modern workplace Riker would be suspended for that.
If the stone age commander got away with that his sexist behaviour later in the holodeck would get him the sack for sure.
Did I say that Riker is my least favourite TNG character?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Time loop stories are not my favourites-the Lost in Space Movie suffered for it but this episode was good for developing the characters in a teen prom movie kind of way-are they all supposed to be seventeen?

So Harry Mudd was a homicidal galactic menace ten years before Mudd's Women?

I don't recall high treason on the list of charges the Enterprise's computer reads out and why didn't Stella yell
'Harcourt Fenton Mudd!' at him as soon as she materialised?

Burnham's personal log read over at the end of the episode reminds me of something Stan would not have said on South Park-no we did not learn anything new today.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 2:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Tam was one of the Tomorrow People -he needed help breaking out and this episode reminded me of that 1970s ATV show that attempted to give Doctor Who a run for its money.
Even Tin Man could have come out of those juvenile TV shows .
Still, there were some good scenes with Data and Troi.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Hey its the Vogons from Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
Oh well, it might have been fun if it was them but unfortunately we get to see Risa-where all those bimbos and lugs from Season 1's 'Justice'-where people 'make love at the drop of a hat'- seem to have wound up having still forgotten to get dressed before leaving their apartments.

Patrick Stewart has a shiny speedo disaster and I hope he got a lot of stick on set for that ,manages to snog some floozies face off and almost seems to have had his head turned before sussing out her femme fatale plan in the last reel.

Riker is at least consistently and relentlessly thinking with his trouser snake throughout his bits and he always has that pervy smile on his face when he does that.

Not a great episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

This is showing promise isn't it?
We all knew that TOS was set against a backdrop of a recent war with the Klingons but the moral dilemmas of war are abstracted into a relatively recent past allowing for the more enlightened philosophies of Trek with which we are familiar.
Now here we are confronting the moral compromises that debase us all during a war.
It is pretty obvious that the giant space woodlouse is being killed or driven crazy having to navigate toadstool space( surely the spore drive must rank as the most ludicrous idea in Star Trek ever) but we can assume Captain Lorca will just get Burnham to clone a few more replacements when this one dies.
The Federation will probably end up abandoning the drive when the war ends for that reason or maybe they will use up all the space mushrooms.

This necessary abandonment of 'Boldly Going' for the duration is exemplified in the contrast between the value systems held by Captain Lorca and Captain Georgio (deceased).
The late Phillipa leaves Burnham her telescope but this is a fat lot of use for the time being.

Georgio would have fit right in a decade later but was the wrong Captain in the wrong place at the Binary Stars.

Lorca is the right person for the job at present but when the war is over we can see he is going to be prosecuted for war crimes if he keeps channelling General Patton .

Of course the bitter lesson is that Georgio was completely wrong , the Admiral commanding The Europa was completely wrong and the bloodthirsty sods are right.

I can see why this is a wee bit too much for the true Trek fans.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

As my dear old dad would have said ' What a lot of hokum'
It wasn't just the faux Picard who was a bit off if you ask me.

Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

As a big Dr Who fan I think this episode is TNG's 'Deadly Assassin'.
Just as that classic fourth Doctor story told us more about Time Lord society,corruption and political intrigue than any story that preceded it so does 'Sins' perform an identical function for the Klingon Empire.
The bond between Picard and Worf of course plays out in the subsequent Klingon Civil War two parter but it works really well in the same way that Kirk and McCoy's support for Spock works in 'Amok Time'.
Smashing episode worth the full 5 stars I think.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I was bored by this episode almost all the way through until the last scene where I allowed my heart strings to be manipulated as the writer intended.
This must have been felt to have been a great success as the concept was re visited in the equally emotional Voyager episode in which the holographic daughter has a virtual family.
In both cases the daughter dies tragically and it seems to be the only way to enhance your quasi humanity if you are a robot or hologram is to have your offspring expire in a scene worthy of an opera.
An awful lot of nothing .
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Another truly transcendent episode.
The use of lighting was brilliant in subtly conveying the changed timeline.
The moral dilemma and its personal dimension affecting the doomed Tasha is compelling and everyone loves a bit of heroic sacrifice.
Guinan is used very well indeed and Whoopi Goldberg 's debate with Patrick Stewart may be some of their finest work on the show.
There are a few matters that didn't spoil it but jarred :
There is a retcon error that isn't this episode's fault but subsequently turns up in 1991 at the end of ST:VI: The Undiscovered Country when we discover that peace broke out 60 years before Narendra.
We also have the amazing completely variable size and power of the Klingon Bird of Prey class ship again.
I mean come on-those ships could have been swatted like bothersome flies.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Well this does not look like it is happening about the same time as The Cage does it?
Why are these people all wearing the insignia for the USS Enterprise pre-movie era on their very unfamiliar uniforms?
I am absolutely not one of those fans who think that they should have further explored the 24th century-that is a completely played out seam as far as I am concerned and I am afraid that I just don't much care for TNG anyway.

However I am one of those fans who would much rather have had a few more seasons of ENT.

I award this an unspecifed but provisional number of wormholes but am open to being persuaded.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I am with Jay on this-it is not possible to reconcile Riker and Manua's accounts and it is not simply a matter of perspective when one gets down to who was coming on to whom and whether the intimate contact was forced or consensual.
This was the core failure of this episode-one of the two deponents is lying .
In civil and criminal jurisprudence ( at least over on this side of the pond) a judge will give herself a 'Lucas' warning to remind herself that there may be many reasons why someone may lie: to protect others, to avoid the embarassement of admitting their wrongdoing, out of duress eg and that just because someone lies on one occasion that does not mean that all of their evidence is tainted by falsehood.
Logically Troi should have been able to detect that Manua was lying but hey-there would be no episode.

TOS 'Court Martial' is better drama.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

De Lancie brightens up any episode of TNG and Spiner worked very well with him.
I still don't like the Guinan / Q thing but at least we didn't have the daft hissing and posturing Skeksis impression nonsense that happened last time they clashed.
I loved the Mariachi band.
Q is just brilliant at lampooning the dull, self important twits of Starfleet.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.