Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 69 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

When I saw the name of this episode appear as I booted up Netflix I thought-oh no-I remembered this one with appropriate dread.
I hated it at the time and with good reason,
it is another implausible hour of silliness.
Come on guys-Saul Rubinek's pantomime villain would barely hack it for a 1980's remake Twilight Zone episode.
The deranged giggling and mincing about in that idiotic costume do not aid the suspension of disbelief.
I agree with Jammer on one point-there is no plot.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Barclay is a great character.
Although written as just painfully shy I wonder whether Dwight Shulz was trying to suggest someone on the low end of the autistic spectrum.
Anyway his awkward interactions in the early scenes permit us to see what an utter thug and bully Riker is-grabbing his arm in the cargo bay and threatening him.
In the modern workplace Riker would be suspended for that.
If the stone age commander got away with that his sexist behaviour later in the holodeck would get him the sack for sure.
Did I say that Riker is my least favourite TNG character?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Time loop stories are not my favourites-the Lost in Space Movie suffered for it but this episode was good for developing the characters in a teen prom movie kind of way-are they all supposed to be seventeen?

So Harry Mudd was a homicidal galactic menace ten years before Mudd's Women?

I don't recall high treason on the list of charges the Enterprise's computer reads out and why didn't Stella yell
'Harcourt Fenton Mudd!' at him as soon as she materialised?

Burnham's personal log read over at the end of the episode reminds me of something Stan would not have said on South Park-no we did not learn anything new today.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 2:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Tam was one of the Tomorrow People -he needed help breaking out and this episode reminded me of that 1970s ATV show that attempted to give Doctor Who a run for its money.
Even Tin Man could have come out of those juvenile TV shows .
Still, there were some good scenes with Data and Troi.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Hey its the Vogons from Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
Oh well, it might have been fun if it was them but unfortunately we get to see Risa-where all those bimbos and lugs from Season 1's 'Justice'-where people 'make love at the drop of a hat'- seem to have wound up having still forgotten to get dressed before leaving their apartments.

Patrick Stewart has a shiny speedo disaster and I hope he got a lot of stick on set for that ,manages to snog some floozies face off and almost seems to have had his head turned before sussing out her femme fatale plan in the last reel.

Riker is at least consistently and relentlessly thinking with his trouser snake throughout his bits and he always has that pervy smile on his face when he does that.

Not a great episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

This is showing promise isn't it?
We all knew that TOS was set against a backdrop of a recent war with the Klingons but the moral dilemmas of war are abstracted into a relatively recent past allowing for the more enlightened philosophies of Trek with which we are familiar.
Now here we are confronting the moral compromises that debase us all during a war.
It is pretty obvious that the giant space woodlouse is being killed or driven crazy having to navigate toadstool space( surely the spore drive must rank as the most ludicrous idea in Star Trek ever) but we can assume Captain Lorca will just get Burnham to clone a few more replacements when this one dies.
The Federation will probably end up abandoning the drive when the war ends for that reason or maybe they will use up all the space mushrooms.

This necessary abandonment of 'Boldly Going' for the duration is exemplified in the contrast between the value systems held by Captain Lorca and Captain Georgio (deceased).
The late Phillipa leaves Burnham her telescope but this is a fat lot of use for the time being.

Georgio would have fit right in a decade later but was the wrong Captain in the wrong place at the Binary Stars.

Lorca is the right person for the job at present but when the war is over we can see he is going to be prosecuted for war crimes if he keeps channelling General Patton .

Of course the bitter lesson is that Georgio was completely wrong , the Admiral commanding The Europa was completely wrong and the bloodthirsty sods are right.

I can see why this is a wee bit too much for the true Trek fans.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

As my dear old dad would have said ' What a lot of hokum'
It wasn't just the faux Picard who was a bit off if you ask me.

Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

As a big Dr Who fan I think this episode is TNG's 'Deadly Assassin'.
Just as that classic fourth Doctor story told us more about Time Lord society,corruption and political intrigue than any story that preceded it so does 'Sins' perform an identical function for the Klingon Empire.
The bond between Picard and Worf of course plays out in the subsequent Klingon Civil War two parter but it works really well in the same way that Kirk and McCoy's support for Spock works in 'Amok Time'.
Smashing episode worth the full 5 stars I think.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I was bored by this episode almost all the way through until the last scene where I allowed my heart strings to be manipulated as the writer intended.
This must have been felt to have been a great success as the concept was re visited in the equally emotional Voyager episode in which the holographic daughter has a virtual family.
In both cases the daughter dies tragically and it seems to be the only way to enhance your quasi humanity if you are a robot or hologram is to have your offspring expire in a scene worthy of an opera.
An awful lot of nothing .
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Another truly transcendent episode.
The use of lighting was brilliant in subtly conveying the changed timeline.
The moral dilemma and its personal dimension affecting the doomed Tasha is compelling and everyone loves a bit of heroic sacrifice.
Guinan is used very well indeed and Whoopi Goldberg 's debate with Patrick Stewart may be some of their finest work on the show.
There are a few matters that didn't spoil it but jarred :
There is a retcon error that isn't this episode's fault but subsequently turns up in 1991 at the end of ST:VI: The Undiscovered Country when we discover that peace broke out 60 years before Narendra.
We also have the amazing completely variable size and power of the Klingon Bird of Prey class ship again.
I mean come on-those ships could have been swatted like bothersome flies.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Well this does not look like it is happening about the same time as The Cage does it?
Why are these people all wearing the insignia for the USS Enterprise pre-movie era on their very unfamiliar uniforms?
I am absolutely not one of those fans who think that they should have further explored the 24th century-that is a completely played out seam as far as I am concerned and I am afraid that I just don't much care for TNG anyway.

However I am one of those fans who would much rather have had a few more seasons of ENT.

I award this an unspecifed but provisional number of wormholes but am open to being persuaded.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I am with Jay on this-it is not possible to reconcile Riker and Manua's accounts and it is not simply a matter of perspective when one gets down to who was coming on to whom and whether the intimate contact was forced or consensual.
This was the core failure of this episode-one of the two deponents is lying .
In civil and criminal jurisprudence ( at least over on this side of the pond) a judge will give herself a 'Lucas' warning to remind herself that there may be many reasons why someone may lie: to protect others, to avoid the embarassement of admitting their wrongdoing, out of duress eg and that just because someone lies on one occasion that does not mean that all of their evidence is tainted by falsehood.
Logically Troi should have been able to detect that Manua was lying but hey-there would be no episode.

TOS 'Court Martial' is better drama.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

De Lancie brightens up any episode of TNG and Spiner worked very well with him.
I still don't like the Guinan / Q thing but at least we didn't have the daft hissing and posturing Skeksis impression nonsense that happened last time they clashed.
I loved the Mariachi band.
Q is just brilliant at lampooning the dull, self important twits of Starfleet.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

More evidence for Crusher's court martial.
Her unrestrained hippocratic oath observance and ,more to the point, disobedience, results in her capture by terrorists and the deaths of several anonymous shipmates.
Bones would have had more sense.
The discussion of terrorism and all that was unengaging for me.
'No more killing'-one imagines as soon as the kid lowered his weapon the trigger happy nazis running the planet would have dropped him
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

What do we do with our soldiers when the war is over?
I guess that varies a bit .
As the theme for an episode of Star Trek this begins with good enough intentions but the TNG formula gets in the way.
Picard is at maximum arrogant pomposity at the silly denoument when the space heroes essentially leave the two sides to make peace or kill each other.
Thanks for your application for membership-we'll get back to you in about a thousand years-great.

agree Jammer's rating.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

5 stars?

No way-this was another real yawn fest with excessive pompous drivel spouted by Picard ( 'You are a traitor,Suh!'), Riker barely able to keep his finger off the phaser button (I'd prefer to fight my way through'-says the guy who 2 seasons ago was scoffing at those primitives who actually fought each other) and the ace-in-the -hole Klingons we could not even bother naming:
'Mr Worf-please extend my thanks to 'the Klingons'.

Andreas Katsulas-same comments as before-best as G'Kar.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 23, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

The episode starts off as a rather lacklustre plod through unconvincing ' Cloud Minder' territory but in the last Act transcends this admittedly dull premise.
The final scenes are great.
As to the idea that Riker could have rendered Yuta unconscious -well I thought that it was made clear that she has been transformed on a cellular level to complete her task ( incidentally a very similar idea crops up in an episode of UFO from 1970) so disintegration was the only way to stop her.

4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I think the high point was the discussion about respective ethical positions over candlelit dinner.
Ral ended up coming across as a weak slug of a guy damaging his credibility and initial promise.
It is almost impossible to believe that the show's writers had not ,after so many slaps in the face, realised the Ferengi's limitations as villains but potential as rogue traders.
The Ferengi became the equivalents of Cyrano Jones and Harry Mudd but not until DS9.

Having been critical I loved the focus on Troi and thank goodness that her silly mother was not in this.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

The 'Enemy Mine' scenario became so ripped-off in later Star Trek that it is quite probable that when this was first shown the audience could live with it-I don't remember .
However watching this now we just know that Geordi will be captured by Louis Gosset Junior's Romulan understudy.

Clearly Picard would have had to order Worf to donate his cells to the dying Romulan. That would have been the decent thing to do as it releases Worf from the agonising decision and it might have avoided a war.

Andreas Katsulas is sorely missed-he brought so much to this modest role as a sort of Romulan version of TOS' Captain Koloth:
'My Dear Captain Kirk...My Dear Captain Koloth..'

2 stars
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

It was nice to have a Geordi episode but I don't really think much of the holo girlfriend stuff.
I am not sure I agree with Jammer's comments about believable technobabble.
I think the point is that any technobabble should be kept to an absolute minimum. A good start is none at all and yet TNG all too frequently spins an entire episode around this meaningless gibberish.
'Of course , I've got it-if we reverse the polarity of the neutron flow?'
'Yeah then we can reconfigure the matter anti matter field harmonics and integrate them with the deflector manifold resonance...'
'That's right ,then by applying the anti neutrino particle wave in timed packets...'
etc etc ad nauseam.

2 stars
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

Ron Moore got much better ,so say we all.
This was ruined by the Trek cliches of powerful energy force being thingies invading the ship, the usual 'it is getting into the computers Captain' and illusions.
It was a riff on Charley X from TOS,surely?
I agree that the Worf scenes are best but ,for once, I did not mind Troi's involvement.

Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

The episode with the duck blind idea later bolted wholesale onto the tedious movie Insurrection.
I agree that this was an ok episode although Picard's solution to the dilemma reinforces the breach of the Prime Directive.
So what if the Mintakans now appear happy knowing that one day they will reach the stars-I'll bet that two months after the Enterprise leaves the planet cultural damage from being exposed to a superior culture will destroy the planet's population of half a dozen people .
Surely Star Fleet should have Picard and Crusher court martialled?
I would vote for life on a penal colony for Crusher for causing this mess.













Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

I am quite torn by this episode.
On the one hand I instinctively want to dislike the appearance of yet another immortal super being but on the other hand there was great power in Kevin's confession of genocide.
I agree with Jammer's review and rating and I think the Twilight Zone classification is spot on.
My only beef really is that this is a variation on an over visited theme.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 5, 2017, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

This story succeeds where the previous story fails.
It doesn't matter about the A and B plots-they are both pretty pedestrian.
Picard's solution to the problem is entertaining in a way I suppose but it isn't the reason for the success of the episode.
It all comes down to this:
Finally the program makers have grasped that we primarily are interested in the characters and treating two of its principals with care and precision is what this episode was all about.
Picard 's nature is expressed well here, pomposity notably absent and ,for once, Data's non-human nature is treated with some respect.
In that context who cares if the guest cast are lacklustre?
Four stars from me.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

So the oft shared view is that Season 3 begins the improvement that saved the show.
Jammer rather dares us to say anything negative about the show.
I don't mind distancing myself from whatever it is TNG stands for.
That is easy since it doesn't seem to be able to stand for anything much at all unless its the rather unwarranted idea that everyone and everything is basically decent unless you have to phaser its head off of course.

Gates McFadden returns with a whimper and no explanation of the displacement of the vastly superior Dr Pulaski.

With the nanite plot we have yet another tedious Wesley the genius messes up story that retreads old ideas and the astrophysics premise seems a bit unconvincing too.
No, I don't know the numbers but why does the mad scientist not have access to hundreds of binary systems with neutron stars that he could send his probe into.
I guess the writers don't really care anyway as we have no idea what the egg is supposed to do.

1.5 stars from me
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.